View Full Version : Georgia game at risk?

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

11/08/2008, 12:55 PM
Personally, can't see the "war" continuing for much longer, as the Georgians have left the region, and can't fight the Russians much longer, so the game should be able to go ahead in Tbilisi on the stated date.

It's important that no panic decisions are made for another 10 days or so.

Sligo Hornet
11/08/2008, 2:48 PM
The Russians certainly haven't finished with their agenda!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/7554507.stm

11/08/2008, 2:48 PM
The FAI have asked FIFA to move the game

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3406

I can't see a decision on this for at least a week or more likely 2. flights will be a nightmare if it is moved.

Georgia will have to play all home games in the same country too so Turkey is the only realistic option I can see with Trabzon the obvious venue.

No doubt the Georgians will be really ****ed off too with us for asking for this.

The UEFA Cup tie in Tbilisi on Thursday is being moved too but no confirmed venue yet.

11/08/2008, 2:57 PM
It's hard to tell the difference when FIFA trod the fine line between not panicing and avoidance of a decision.

The fairest for all is that the game is played in Georgia and if that means a postponement now, then so be it. I don't like when the FAI is prematurely looking to squeeze some advantage out of a countries troubles.

The FAI should send be sending a message of strong message of support to the Georgian people in their honourable struggle against Russian imperialism :D

11/08/2008, 3:06 PM
It's hard to tell the difference when FIFA trod the fine line between not panicing and avoidance of a decision.

The fairest for all is that the game is played in Georgia and if that means a postponement now, then so be it. I don't like when the FAI is prematurely looking to squeeze some advantage out of a countries troubles.

The FAI should send be sending a message of strong message of support to the Georgian people in their honourable struggle against Russian imperialism :D

Absolutely but if the Russians want to invade Bulgaria and Italy please be our guests.

Those of us with flights booked would like to see the game played in Tbilisi on September 6th though. A few inflatable hammers a half dozen bodhrans will keep the Red Army at bay without too much difficulty. We could always fly in the FCA if things look like they are really difficult over there in September. :D

Sligo Hornet
11/08/2008, 3:08 PM
The political pressure is increasing on Russia.....but they don't seem concerned that the situation is worsening

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/7553508.stm

citizenerased
11/08/2008, 3:09 PM
World Cup qualifier 6th September
August 11th, 2008
Further to discussions with the Department of Foreign Affairs, who are currently advising against non essential travel to Georgia, the FAI has today written to FIFA, UEFA and the Georgian FA, to indicate that its preferred option would be to find an alternative venue on the same date for the Group 8 World Cup qualifier against Georgia in Tbilisi.

11/08/2008, 3:17 PM
The away team doesn't get preferences. We agreed to the fixture taking place at that time in the fixtures meeting. So we have to go there and deal with the situation.

At this stage, I don't think the fixture will be affected, barring a significant escalation in the battle, which looks unlikely.

Newryrep
11/08/2008, 3:25 PM
The fairest for all is that the game is played in Georgia and if that means a postponement now, then so be it. I don't like when the FAI is prematurely looking to squeeze some advantage out of a countries troubles.:D

That exactly what it looks like, and if I was in the Georgian FA I would tell them to go **** themselves (apart from the fact they may have slightly more important thing s on their mind right now). A decision doesnt need to be made for at least 2 weeks with a postponement the likely outcome if the game isnt going ahead.

Dont think this will last much longer, Russia has made it point, Georgia has overplayed its hand and they both know it.

With regards refund whether the game is switched or postponed is nothing to do with the airlines. Worst case scenario is the game postponed to be on the safe side but the airlines are still flying - how does a refund work then you will be cancelling a ticket.

Best Scenario - it quietens down and the game goes ahead
Worst Case - Lose money on Tbilisi leg of flights, cancel Hotel Tbilisi, use Riga as a base from Wed to Mon

Are acts of War not one of the get out clauses used by Insurance companys to avoid paying out ?

Can you claim back on credit card ? if you just cancel something ? (sorry never had to do it )

11/08/2008, 3:50 PM
The away team doesn't get preferences. We agreed to the fixture taking place at that time in the fixtures meeting. So we have to go there and deal with the situation..Where the DFA is advising against travel and people then choose to travel, their insurance is generally invalidated. Whatever about fans insurance, I can't see the FAI taking a bunch of multimillionaire footballers to an area of conflict exposing themselves to potentially huge claims from the players clubs if something were to go wrong.

At this stage, I don't think the fixture will be affected, barring a significant escalation in the battle, which looks unlikely.You obviously have a different news source to me. I don't know how you can say this with any certainty, particularly given the recent opening of the front in Abkhazia and the Russians move into undisputed Georgian territory.

Sligo Hornet
11/08/2008, 3:58 PM
In the present climate, perhaps it would be prudent to suspend "OneRedArmy";)

11/08/2008, 4:17 PM
I didn't know they got Hector Cuper as a manager.

Cant connect to the Georgian FA website.

There is a fans website oleole.com (http://www.oleole.com/georgia/nationalteam/nlhc.html):)
But it hasn't been updated since the war/scrap started.

It might just develop into a war of words and bluster with Russia holding all the cards.

Wasn't it the Georgians who made bits out of our Rugby team? Hardy men.

BradyIsMyHero
12/08/2008, 9:35 AM
If Sarkozy and Merkel sort out the conflict in time for the game, i'll vote YES for Lisbon

Claret Murph
12/08/2008, 9:42 AM
Latest news ,
It seems like Russia are pulling back , as they say in darts GAME ON .

Sligo Hornet
12/08/2008, 9:43 AM
Sounds very promising.....maybe we will get to Tbilisi after all!
We will probably be well received by the Georgians, being brave enough to visit their belegured Country and spend our money there to help (albeit in a small way) their economy

Mind you I will advise my brother not to wear his Ireland jersey that is emblazoned with his "handle".......MOSCOW MULE!:D:D

12/08/2008, 9:50 AM
Good point.

12/08/2008, 9:54 AM
In the present climate, perhaps it would be prudent to suspend "OneRedArmy";)I really should consider a handle change......:D

12/08/2008, 10:01 AM
I hope it stays over and the people are saved from this madness escalating.

Saakashvili's political career looking a bit dodgy now:rolleyes:

12/08/2008, 10:53 AM
althought it wouldn't be good for ye lads, for the team to play georgia on a neutral venue would be a great benefit i reckon.

BradyIsMyHero
12/08/2008, 11:05 AM
"Reuters
Tuesday, 12 August 2008

Russian President Dmitry Medvedev ordered a halt to military operations in Georgia today after five days of fighting, just before French President Nicolas Sarkozy was to hold peace talks in Moscow"

Looks like even the poor Russkis couldn't bear to have Sarkozy about the place..

Sligo Hornet
12/08/2008, 11:19 AM
"Reuters
Tuesday, 12 August 2008

Russian President Dmitry Medvedev ordered a halt to military operations in Georgia today after five days of fighting, just before French President Nicolas Sarkozy was to hold peace talks in Moscow"

Looks like even the poor Russkis couldn't bear to have Sarkozy about the place..

Nasty little garlic-smelling surrender monkey!........ allegedly;)

Closed Account 2
12/08/2008, 11:20 AM
The WIT Tbilisi - Austria Vienna match has now been moved from Tbilsi to Rize, in north west Turkey about 30 miles from the Georgian border.

12/08/2008, 11:37 AM
The WIT Tbilisi - Austria Vienna match has now been moved from Tbilsi to Rize, in north west Turkey about 30 miles from the Georgian border.

Sure if its moved we will just fly to Tiblisi so and drive down or hire a bus. Who wants to organise the bus then Not my turn !!!!!:)

Sligo Hornet
12/08/2008, 11:57 AM
Sure if its moved we will just fly to Tiblisi so and drive down or hire a bus. Who wants to organise the bus then Not my turn !!!!!:)

Got to be "OneRedArmy":D

12/08/2008, 12:12 PM
with Moscow Mule.

12/08/2008, 12:17 PM
You obviously have a different news source to me. I don't know how you can say this with any certainty, particularly given the recent opening of the front in Abkhazia and the Russians move into undisputed Georgian territory.

Probably be over and done with by the end of the week. If it is, the game will go ahead as planned, and the FAI will be as welcome in Tbilisi as a Russian tank.

Greenforever
12/08/2008, 1:50 PM
Probably be over and done with by the end of the week. If it is, the game will go ahead as planned, and the FAI will be as welcome in Tbilisi as a Russian tank.

I'd disagree, I'd say we will get a fantastic welcome and in particular the fans, but like previous posters wont be wearing me russian hat from 2002:D

new chant

we hate the russkis more than you:D:D

Sligo Hornet
12/08/2008, 1:57 PM
I'd disagree, I'd say we will get a fantastic welcome and in particular the fans, but like previous posters wont be wearing me russian hat from 2002:D

new chant

we hate the russkis more than you:D:D

I think he meant JUST the FAI, as they tried to shift the game.

BradyIsMyHero
12/08/2008, 3:57 PM
Better if Delaney and Co stayed at home and let the fans be our ambassadors. After all, they're the ones who're paying good money to go there

stiofain
12/08/2008, 4:19 PM
i dont want to go anymore :(

12/08/2008, 4:26 PM
Why not.

stiofain
12/08/2008, 4:36 PM
Because i'm a coward!

12/08/2008, 4:38 PM
It won't go ahead if there is a risk of the game being bombed or anything like that so you are grand.

stiofain
12/08/2008, 4:51 PM
It won't go ahead if there is a risk of the game being bombed or anything like that so you are grand.

Well, thats true. We'll see!

zenokelly
12/08/2008, 5:52 PM
From Fifa website:

FIFA has confirmed it is monitoring the situation in Georgia, who are scheduled to host Republic of Ireland in a 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ qualifier on 6 September in Tbilisi.

"FIFA is closely monitoring the situation in Georgia. We are in regular contact with both member associations concerned for that match. However, at this time it is too early to speculate on any possibilities," read a FIFA statement.

Group 8 of the UEFA Zone preliminaries to South Africa 2010 also comprises Italy, Bulgaria, Cyprus and Montenegro. Georgia are due to play the Italians in Udine four days after opening up their campaign against Republic of Ireland.

Doesn't look like a decision is coming too soon:(

Ireland4ever
12/08/2008, 7:53 PM
As much as i hate to admit it this match isnt happening.

Sligo Hornet
12/08/2008, 8:15 PM
As much as i hate to admit it this match isnt happening.

And you base that on what?:confused:

Saint Tom
12/08/2008, 8:50 PM
fingers crossed the whole situation calms right downs and the game goes ahead. Potentially you could end up losing money on the flights to georgia and then paying to get to Prague to catch connecting flights to Montenegro. If the game was moved to Turkey (border region) would it allow enough time to get back to tbilisi airport for a four am flight out of there on Sunday morning?

12/08/2008, 9:13 PM
I think if the game is moved to Turkey it would mean that it would not be safe to get to Tiblisi

12/08/2008, 9:54 PM
Good news, Georgia seem like they are going to sign the peace deal brokered by Sarkozy with Russia and Georgia, which Russia signed earlier.

Just watching it on Newsnight on BBC2

dublinred
13/08/2008, 9:47 AM
Looks like its sorted out there now , as for the match we should hit them plenty of long balls as there are useless in the air and not very good at defending corners either.

Sligo Hornet
13/08/2008, 10:55 AM
Looks like its sorted out there now , as for the match we should hit them plenty of long balls as there are useless in the air and not very good at defending corners either.

Not quite yet!:eek:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/europe/7558399.stm

13/08/2008, 11:13 AM
Not looking good Russian tanks still around Gori. Peace deal might be a figleaf to keep the Americans and EU happy. No fighting though which is a plus however looks like they are trying to goad the Georgians into an attack.

I can't see FIFa making a fast decision. Then it will most likely be too late to move the game.

The UEFA Cup tie that was moved to Turkey has been postponed and will not be played as a one off tie in Vienna. Real bummer for any Austrian fans that booked flights.

zenokelly
13/08/2008, 11:22 AM
Not looking good Russian tanks still around Gori. Peace deal might be a figleaf to keep the Americans and EU happy. No fighting though which is a plus however looks like they are trying to goad the Georgians into an attack.

I can't see FIFa making a fast decision. Then it will most likely be too late to move the game.

The UEFA Cup tie that was moved to Turkey has been postponed and will not be played as a one off tie in Vienna. Real bummer for any Austrian fans that booked flights.

Any of them coming from Vienna won't really be affected as Austrian Airlines flights are thus far cancelled. Not much action in the airport, though Air Baltic is still flying, which won't be ideal if the match is postponed as anyone flying with them will most likely not get any refund as they will probably be still flying.

http://www.tbilisiairport.com/0.php?id=3

13/08/2008, 11:36 AM
THey should move the game to riga in my view. ha ha !!!

Sligo Hornet
13/08/2008, 11:41 AM
THey should move the game to riga in my view. ha ha !!!

I was thinking Munich myself...;)

Moscow Mule
13/08/2008, 11:46 AM
I will have to put some black tape over Moscow as I don't think anyone will be ofended by a Mule.

Moscow Mule
13/08/2008, 11:53 AM
Lunchtime news does not look very promising. It's ok having a diplomatic agreement but far more difficult in getting the blockheads in uniforms to abide by it.

zenokelly
13/08/2008, 12:00 PM
The request for a neutral venue seems to be down to insurance, fron the Indo:

FAI chief executive John Delaney spoke with Minister For Foreign Affairs Micheal Martin yesterday with both agreeing next month's World Cup qualifier with war-torn Georgia should be moved from Tbilisi.

The Department of Foreign Affairs has said Irish citizens should not travel to the troubled country, and the FAI has already requested FIFA move the September 6 game to a neutral venue.

Already FAI officials have confirmed that insuring Ireland's Premier League stars for the trip would be "almost impossible". In order to foster good relations with their clubs, the FAI insures its players while they are on international duty.

However, Ireland boss Giovanni Trapattoni yesterday affirmed that the game must go ahead on September 6 in a country close to Georgia -- with Armenia and Azerbaijan mooted as possible suggestions -- in order to avoid fixture chaos.

"Ultimately, it's FIFA's decision. The best we can do at the moment is to say we're looking for a timely decision", said a FAI spokesperson.

"It's correct that the insurance for the players would not be available for a war zone, that's the preliminary advice that we have been given.

"The Department of Foreign Affairs have moved their position to say not to travel there, full stop."

Trapattoni echoed the sentiments, advocating a switch to a safe country near Georgia, citing the precedent where Israel played all of their Euro 2004 qualifiers in Cyprus due to the turbulent domestic situation in their homeland at the time.

"I think it's the best decision to play in the same area, in the past FIFA have decided that you play games in other countries," he said.

"Keeping the fixture on the calendar is very important for the integrity of the rest of the calendar. If FIFA decide that maybe we can play, then we cannot say no, but they must guarantee us our safety.

"It's a very difficult moment for Georgia. For us, with a charter flight, it's possible to change the city. There are many, many countries nearby."

But the Georgian FA seem to be quite confident the match can go ahead, from the Examiner:

Meanwhile, the Georgian Football Federation is insisting that the game can go ahead.

Speaking from the capital Tbilisi yesterday, spokesman Alexander Tsnobiladze said: “We know what they are saying in Ireland but, at this moment, the game will go ahead in Tbilisi. There are no problems in Tbilisi.”

13/08/2008, 12:25 PM
I will have to put some black tape over Moscow as I don't think anyone will be ofended by a Mule.

Anthough you might get unwanted attention from drug barons and airport customs thinking you are advertising your services ;)