View Full Version : Limerick Division 3B 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8

lankyboy26
21/04/2009, 3:27 PM
Good memory lankyboy with the scores, but they had won the league against Kilmallock with a 2.1 win the week before. Think Dermot Glesson was involved and when they took over most the lads had been minor B the previous year and some of them are now premier players, think Karl Meehan also played that year with them not sure of that
You're spot on. Karl Meehan played up front alongside Colin O Gorman. they scored a good few goals between them. Shane Doran was left back, Jim-Bob was in goals and was brilliant. that was dermot gleeson's last season with caherdavin, and a great way to end it. i can't really remember the rest of the team now. i think squeeky played that season. ya i remember now they beat kilmallock away. you're memory is better than mine!!! did you play that season?

Grinder64
21/04/2009, 3:38 PM
You're spot on. Karl Meehan played up front alongside Colin O Gorman. they scored a good few goals between them. Shane Doran was left back, Jim-Bob was in goals and was brilliant. that was dermot gleeson's last season with caherdavin, and a great way to end it. i can't really remember the rest of the team now. i think squeeky played that season. ya i remember now they beat kilmallock away. you're memory is better than mine!!! did you play that season?

Wish i did but i did'nt, knew some of the lads so i travelled to a lot of matches with them and i think Colin played center half for a few games

lankyboy26
21/04/2009, 3:47 PM
Wish i did but i did'nt, knew some of the lads so i travelled to a lot of matches with them and i think Colin played center half for a few games
Ya i'd say Colin did play centre-half for a few alright. Rumours he might be going back to Caherdavin next season. Adrian Cronin played up front for a few games i think and Anthony McGee was captain as far as i know. some laugh after the distillery game, everyone was hammered :) even the distillery lads joined in

Grinder64
21/04/2009, 3:49 PM
Ya i'd say Colin did play centre-half for a few alright. Rumours he might be going back to Caherdavin next season. Adrian Cronin played up front for a few games i think and Anthony McGee was captain as far as i know. some laugh after the distillery game, everyone was hammered :) even the distillery lads joined in

He would be a good signing alright for Caherdavin ;)....he's a nice lad.

lankyboy26
21/04/2009, 4:22 PM
He would be a good signing alright for Caherdavin ;)....he's a nice lad.
he was a terror for missin matches. Loved his sat nights out! Takes it more serious now, quitened down a lot. Sound lad. Might go down and watch ye in the cup. Knockainey is it?

Grinder64
21/04/2009, 9:20 PM
he was a terror for missin matches. Loved his sat nights out! Takes it more serious now, quitened down a lot. Sound lad. Might go down and watch ye in the cup. Knockainey is it?

yea its knockainey next thurs night, thats what it says in the fixtures above but jofspring is the man involved with Caherdavin:D:D:D

lankyboy26
22/04/2009, 11:32 AM
Caherdavin 3-2 Prospect.

Caherdavin 1 nil down at halftime but pushed on straight away in the second half to go two one up. Prospect drew level midway through the second half. Both teams had chances to win it after that but it finished 2-2. Caherdavin got the winner about 5 minutes into the second half of extra time. Great game and a great result for caherdavin who would have been the underdogs going into this match. Nice football played by both teams.
Great result for ye there. prospect are a very good side. it would be great to win the cup. it's good that caherdavin brought back the B team as well, very important for the younger lads. caherdavin is such a big place you'd wonder why there isn't a C team also. i remember when there was a D team!!!

Grinder64
22/04/2009, 7:49 PM
Great result for ye there. prospect are a very good side. it would be great to win the cup. it's good that caherdavin brought back the B team as well, very important for the younger lads. caherdavin is such a big place you'd wonder why there isn't a C team also. i remember when there was a D team!!!

Caherdavin is a big place but the problem is getting people to manage teams, apart from the a and b squad there is easily enough for another team.
:(:(:(

lankyboy26
22/04/2009, 7:56 PM
Caherdavin is a big place but the problem is getting people to manage teams, apart from the a and b squad there is easily enough for another team.
:(:(:(
that's been a problem for caherdavin for the last 20 years. certain people involved with the club pose a problem for managers. i'm surprised mike flanagan is doin the B team. never thought i'd see him managin a caherdavin team again

23/04/2009, 9:22 AM
i'm surprised mike flanagan is doin the B team. never thought i'd see him managin a caherdavin team again

It started as one of his sons and his friends wanting to get a team together. They asked him if he'd be interested in managing them even just for a season and see how it goes. I think he might hang around again next season. The commitment to training and match days by the lads in the team has been very good all season. Having 15 or 16 on match days and having nearly 20 down for training.

lankyboy26
23/04/2009, 7:17 PM
It started as one of his sons and his friends wanting to get a team together. They asked him if he'd be interested in managing them even just for a season and see how it goes. I think he might hang around again next season. The commitment to training and match days by the lads in the team has been very good all season. Having 15 or 16 on match days and having nearly 20 down for training.
that's a great turn-out for a B team. i'd say the players like him and that makes a big difference. there's no bull-shi~t with him like. looks like prospect will get promoted again this season

Grinder64
23/04/2009, 7:30 PM
that's been a problem for caherdavin for the last 20 years. certain people involved with the club pose a problem for managers. i'm surprised mike flanagan is doin the B team. never thought i'd see him managin a caherdavin team again

Did something happen that makes you say that

Grinder64
23/04/2009, 7:32 PM
that's a great turn-out for a B team. i'd say the players like him and that makes a big difference. there's no bull-shi~t with him like. looks like prospect will get promoted again this season

Prospect are a good side and both they and Kilmallock deserve to go up

25/04/2009, 7:04 PM
Anyone know how the Killmallock vs Cappamore Cup match went this evening or even if it went ahead.

Balbec77
25/04/2009, 7:10 PM
Anyone know how the Killmallock vs Cappamore Cup match went this evening or even if it went ahead.called off kid pitch water logged

29/04/2009, 3:18 PM
Caherdavin vs Knockainey Tommorrow Night.

As it stands the match has been moved out to Knockainey as the greenhills is unplayable.

lankyboy26
29/04/2009, 3:30 PM
Caherdavin vs Knockainey Tommorrow Night.

As it stands the match has been moved out to Knockainey as the greenhills is unplayable.
i can't see knockainey's pitch being playable either. terrible pitch. wasn't yere A game v their A team called off due to it being unlayable?

29/04/2009, 4:07 PM
i can't see knockainey's pitch being playable either. terrible pitch. wasn't yere A game v their A team called off due to it being unlayable?

Ya your right there but we are hoping they get back to us as soon as possible to let us know if their pitch is unplayable so we can tell our players. We said we'd call it off today to give everyone plenty of notice so hopefully Knockainey will do the same. Because its a cup match the match had to be transfered first to see if their pitch was playable.

lankyboy26
29/04/2009, 4:32 PM
Ya your right there but we are hoping they get back to us as soon as possible to let us know if their pitch is unplayable so we can tell our players. We said we'd call it off today to give everyone plenty of notice so hopefully Knockainey will do the same. Because its a cup match the match had to be transfered first to see if their pitch was playable.
ah ya they'll probably call it off. they won't want to wreck their pitch either. its supposed to dry up this weekend anyway so hopefully the pitches will improve

29/04/2009, 7:25 PM
ah ya they'll probably call it off. they won't want to wreck their pitch either. its supposed to dry up this weekend anyway so hopefully the pitches will improve

They got back to say the pitch is perfect and the match will go ahead. Didn't think it would as the weather hasn't improved since tuesdays match was called off.

Grinder64
29/04/2009, 7:46 PM
They got back to say the pitch is perfect and the match will go ahead. Didn't think it would as the weather hasn't improved since tuesdays match was called off.

Find it strange that last nights match was called off and it was also raining today but suddenly their pitch is perfect again, fair play to caherdavin for letting knockainey know the pitch was unplayable rather than leaving them travel into town tomorrow to be told the match is off

lankyboy26
29/04/2009, 9:40 PM
Find it strange that last nights match was called off and it was also raining today but suddenly their pitch is perfect again, fair play to caherdavin for letting knockainey know the pitch was unplayable rather than leaving them travel into town tomorrow to be told the match is off
the pitch couldn't be playable, it's lashing rain tonight!!!

Grinder64
30/04/2009, 12:59 PM
the pitch couldn't be playable, it's lashing rain tonight!!!

Looks like the match will go ahead and caherdavin will be short three or four players due to work committments, (long way to come from cork)

lankyboy26
30/04/2009, 3:30 PM
Looks like the match will go ahead and caherdavin will be short three or four players due to work committments, (long way to come from cork)
it's turned out to be a beautiful evening for a game! wish i was playin myself! best of luck tonight

KilmallockYouth
30/04/2009, 9:32 PM
Any results from tonights games

Grinder64
30/04/2009, 9:45 PM
Any results from tonights games

Knockainey 2 caherdavin 3 aet

Caherdavin went ahead after five minutes but knockainey went 2.1 up before half time and it should have been more, Caherdavin scored with 20 minutes left and in the first of half extra time caherdavin scored the winner. Knockainey are a good side and Caherdavin were lucky to get the win

01/05/2009, 9:41 AM
Knockainey 2 caherdavin 3 aet

Caherdavin went ahead after five minutes but knockainey went 2.1 up before half time and it should have been more, Caherdavin scored with 20 minutes left and in the first of half extra time caherdavin scored the winner. Knockainey are a good side and Caherdavin were lucky to get the win

We went 1-0 up early on alright and struggled after that. Knockainey went 2-1 up and over the course of the game could have extended their lead. A great cross to the back post from substitute Ger O Brien made an immediate impact with Gordon McKevitt vollying home at the back post which brought it to extra time. Knockainey put pressure on Caherdavin for the opening minutes of extra time but after a series of corners for Knockainey, Caherdavin broke up the pitch with Ger O Brien flicking the ball over the top for Gordon McKevitt who shrugged off the defender and rounded the goal keeper to slot the ball home. Knockainey kept the pressure on Caherdavins goal for the remainder of the game with Caherdavin mounting counter attacks. The game finished 3-2 with both teams putting in a great effort on a tough pitch.

Sunday 3rd:
Cappamore vs Killmallock

Tuesday 5th:
Caherdavin vs Cappamore/Killmallock

KilmallockYouth
01/05/2009, 10:31 AM
We went 1-0 up early on alright and struggled after that. Knockainey went 2-1 up and over the course of the game could have extended their lead. A great cross to the back post from substitute Ger O Brien made an immediate impact with Gordon McKevitt vollying home at the back post which brought it to extra time. Knockainey put pressure on Caherdavin for the opening minutes of extra time but after a series of corners for Knockainey, Caherdavin broke up the pitch with Ger O Brien flicking the ball over the top for Gordon McKevitt who shrugged off the defender and rounded the goal keeper to slot the ball home. Knockainey kept the pressure on Caherdavins goal for the remainder of the game with Caherdavin mounting counter attacks. The game finished 3-2 with both teams putting in a great effort on a tough pitch.

Sunday 3rd:
Cappamore vs Killmallock

Tuesday 5th:
Caherdavin vs Cappamore/Killmallock

Cappamore vs Kilmallock has been changed to Monday the 4th and the winners play Caherdavin Thursday the 7th

01/05/2009, 11:52 AM
Cappamore vs Kilmallock has been changed to Monday the 4th and the winners play Caherdavin Thursday the 7th

Caherdavin are down to play prospect on the 7th aswell. Why has the match been changed to Monday?

celticfan
01/05/2009, 5:20 PM
kilmallock are to play cappamore monday at 6 and winners play catherdavin on tuesday thanks to the ldmc we both wanted it changed cause alot were going to dublin for rugby

03/05/2009, 8:42 PM
kilmallock are to play cappamore monday at 6 and winners play catherdavin on tuesday thanks to the ldmc we both wanted it changed cause alot were going to dublin for rugby

Its going to be tough on the team having to play 2 games in 2 days and having to travel into town on an evening for one of them.

celticfan
04/05/2009, 10:04 AM
kilmallock and cappamore tried to get tues game called off but the ldmc wouldnt do it if we get beat we only have 2 games left this season so there is no fixture pile up:confused:

04/05/2009, 10:41 AM
kilmallock and cappamore tried to get tues game called off but the ldmc wouldnt do it if we get beat we only have 2 games left this season so there is no fixture pile up:confused:

I heard its got to do with getting the finals played in jackman. Surely league matches could have just been put aside for another week or two to get the cup games out of the way. There would have been no pile up then.

KilmallockYouth
04/05/2009, 7:45 PM
Cappamore 1-3 Kilmallock

05/05/2009, 9:22 AM
Cappamore 1-3 Kilmallock

Ingle Cup Fixtures:

Semi-Finals Tuesday 5th:

Caherdavin vs Killmallock 6:30
Summerville vs Trinity 6:30

Final Sunday 10th:

Caherdavin/Killmallock vs Summerville/Trinity 11:00

KilmallockYouth
05/05/2009, 1:07 PM
Ingle Cup Fixtures:

Semi-Finals Tuesday 5th:

Caherdavin vs Killmallock 6:30
Summerville vs Trinity 6:30

Final Sunday 10th:

Caherdavin/Killmallock vs Summerville/Trinity 11:00Fixture secatury strikes again whoever wins between Caherdavin and Kilmallock will have to play 4 games in a week. Its a bit tougher for Kilmallock tho if we win tonight we have a league game fixed for Saturday night against Knockainey, A Cup final set for Sunday and our final league game set for the following Tuesdasy can someone tell me what is there rush trying to get both league and cup over by next week

05/05/2009, 3:03 PM
Fixture secatury strikes again whoever wins between Caherdavin and Kilmallock will have to play 4 games in a week. Its a bit tougher for Kilmallock tho if we win tonight we have a league game fixed for Saturday night against Knockainey, A Cup final set for Sunday and our final league game set for the following Tuesdasy can someone tell me what is there rush trying to get both league and cup over by next week

I'd say the match saturday would be moved if ye are in the final sunday morning. Ya they really seem to be rushing the fixtures through. I understand maybe the cup what with all the finals being played in Jackman but i don't understand the league. Another week or two of league is no harm.

KilmallockYouth
05/05/2009, 10:25 PM
Ingle Cup Semi-final
Caherdavin 1-1 Kilmallock
Kilmallock won 2-1 on penalties
Was the other semi-final played tonight

L37Ultra
05/05/2009, 10:41 PM
Ingle Cup Semi-final

No, the other Semi-Final between Summerville and Trinity is on Thursday.
Summerville played Murroe in the League tonight and beat them 2-0

06/05/2009, 8:47 AM
Ingle Cup Semi-final

Was gutted by this result. Felt we had the chances to win it in extra time. One great save from ye're keeper and another shot just trickled wide. Was a good match and both teams we're evenly matched throughout and tried to pass the ball about when they could.

KilmallockYouth
06/05/2009, 2:07 PM
Was gutted by this result. Felt we had the chances to win it in extra time. One great save from ye're keeper and another shot just trickled wide. Was a good match and both teams we're evenly matched throughout and tried to pass the ball about when they could. Yea its was a very tight match and well played by both teams. A game of few chances but still some nice ball played at times. We did get tired in extra time after playing the night before aswell but ye new dat and tried to keep the game at a high tempo. Yea both teams had chances to win it in extra time but in the end we were very lucky to come out with the win. But still ye have a good young side and a big panel if ye can keep dat going for next season I know ye will do very well

KilmallockYouth
07/05/2009, 8:24 PM
Any scores from tonights games

KilmallockYouth
07/05/2009, 9:12 PM
Ingle Cup semi final
Trinity Rangers 5-3 Summerville

Final to be played in Jackman Park sunday at 11 am between Kilmallock and Trinity

10/05/2009, 5:12 PM
Ingle cup final:

Trinity 3-0 Killmallock

League:

Aisling 3-1 Summerville
Caherdavin 0-1 Prospect

Fixtures:

Tuesday:
Caherdavin v Killmallock

Thursday:
Prospect vs Aisling

Summerville vs Cappamore but i'm unsure of the day and Knockainey and Killmallock still to play each other after that. Think that will pretty much be the league over. Depending on how results go three teams are still in the relegation area or can at least all finish level on points and also Killmallock and Prospect are still fighting for the league.

Grinder64
10/05/2009, 5:30 PM
Ingle cup final:

Trinity 3-0 Killmallock

League:

Aisling 3-1 Summerville
Caherdavin 0-1 Prospect

Fixtures:

Tuesday:
Caherdavin v Killmallock

Thursday:
Prospect vs Aisling

Summerville vs Cappamore but i'm unsure of the day and Knockainey and Killmallock still to play each other after that. Think that will pretty much be the league over. Depending on how results go three teams are still in the relegation area or can at least all finish level on points and also Killmallock and Prospect are still fighting for the league.

Saw the prospect game against Caherdavin , even though Caherdavin lost they played prospect off the park and should have won by three or four. Killmallock wil have their work cut out on Tuesday cause both teams need the points for different reasons,

bigballs2
10/05/2009, 7:04 PM
Saw the prospect game against Caherdavin , even though Caherdavin lost they played prospect off the park and should have won by three or four. Killmallock wil have their work cut out on Tuesday cause both teams need the points for different reasons,
kilmallock will be on a downer after getting beat so much by their neighbours

Grinder64
10/05/2009, 10:38 PM
kilmallock will be on a downer after getting beat so much by their neighbours

From what i heard it finished 3.0 but it could have been a lot more, in saying that they played Monday,Tuesday (with extra time) and Sunday so they must have been Shattered

bigballs2
11/05/2009, 1:56 PM
but kilmallock have a panel of 17 18 players to choose from so i dont think you could blame tiredness and your dead right trinity could have won by 5 or 6.this leauge is very intersting for parties involved

celticfan
11/05/2009, 5:55 PM
Kilmallock played the same 11 that played catherdavin tues night we were a bit flat but have no complaints trinity would give anyone a beating on there day

bigballs2
12/05/2009, 7:56 PM
caherdavin 1-2 kilmallock