View Full Version : Foot.ie Music Exchange
Pages :
[
1]
I was reminded of a playlist exchange I was involved with on a different forum once upon a time (Weezer boards) and was wondering if anyone here would be interested in the idea. Basically you get a group (or groups I guess) of between 10-20 people and each member of the group takes it in turn to make a mix CD for the other members of the group. Say if myself, Dahamsta, Kingdom Hoop, LtiD, Gael, SLK, Bluebeard, Raptor, Dodge and bella were a group, I'd do a playlist, make 9 copies of it and post them to the other members of the group (or whatever method of delivary is decided on). The week after that Dahamsta would do the same, Hoop the week after and so on til it gets around to myself and the cycle starts again.
When I was involved in one before it was a good way of hearing about new music, and getting classic tracks that you may love but may not have on CD. There probably is an easier way to do it than through CD in this day and age, but honestly the excitement used to come through not knowing what was gonna be on the CD until you open the package. Plus you get the sense of self satisfaction when you get praised for your mix CD making abilities :) Whats people's thoughts on this?
28/05/2008, 3:29 PM
i would but i dont think anyone would listen to my playlist. And more importantly I don't think i'd listen to anyone elses given the amount of threads on all these one year wonder hippie indie esque bands that appear on this forum and never to be spoken about the following year. I'd love to be able to influence ppls choice to focus on music as well as the lyrics, hence the reason bands I listen to are so much bigger in non-english speaking countries ( or at least english as a foreign language ), but I don't think people in general have "that" opened a mind when it comes to listening to music.
Jebus, it sounds like a good idea though for the group mentioned ;)
I think you'd be surprised Paul, I'd have anything from Common to Daniel Johnston to Yeah Yeah Yeahs to Chopin to Amadau et Miriam on in my place, and often people would ask what it is and can they borrow it. People like different things given the chance
PS. You're not into metal are you? The only form of music bar that hampster dance stuff that scummers listen to that I just can't stand :)
28/05/2008, 4:07 PM
I think you'd be surprised Paul, I'd have anything from Common to Daniel Johnston to Yeah Yeah Yeahs to Chopin to Amadau et Miriam on in my place, and often people would ask what it is and can they borrow it. People like different things given the chance
PS. You're not into metal are you? The only form of music bar that hampster dance stuff that scummers listen to that I just can't stand :)
Point in case proven. :)
I cast thee out! :)
28/05/2008, 6:13 PM
Paul might say he's into metal, but I've crossed swords with him on the subject of old and, frankly I'd call much of it false metal. :D
I'd be interested in this. I can send you some proper metal and I can send Paul HMHBs Upon Westminster Bridge the lyrics of which include...
"Oh help me Mrs Medlicott
I don’t know what to do
I’ve only got three bullets
And there’s four of Motley Crue"
28/05/2008, 6:19 PM
i'd certainly be interested
Jebus, Lionel and Reiteoir so far. Not looking good for Paul on the recommendation front but if he wants in he is in I guess! :) Anymore takers?
28/05/2008, 6:41 PM
Ah yeah sure stick me in.
I'll post up my Last.fm so people can take a gander at what i listen to.
28/05/2008, 11:14 PM
Paul might say he's into metal, but I've crossed swords with him on the subject of old and, frankly I'd call much of it false metal. :D
I'd be interested in this. I can send you some proper metal and I can send Paul HMHBs Upon Westminster Bridge the lyrics of which include...
"Oh help me Mrs Medlicott
I don’t know what to do
I’ve only got three bullets
And there’s four of Motley Crue"
Remember I said I am open minded, all types of everything Lionel ;)
Flawless
29/05/2008, 12:15 AM
I'd be up for it, very varied taste though!!, from hip-hop to acoustic, to punk and trance, indie and rock, ah i just love a lot!
Wangball
29/05/2008, 7:14 AM
I am interested also, sounds like a great idea
Count me in if it happens.
I'm guessing Adam wouldn't be too keen on us posting download links, so maybe the old fashioned postal method might suit best.
Are these going to be themed mixes, or anything goes?
So myself, Lionel, Reiteoir, Wangball, Sligobrewer, Flawless, Noby, Paul O'Shea (right?), so we need two more and we'll do a trial run on that
Far too expensive I know, but this (http://www.suck.uk.com/product.php?rangeID=82&showBar=1) looks deadly.
http://www.suck.uk.com/images/mixtapepack2.jpg
29/05/2008, 8:25 AM
Deadly, add me to the list
29/05/2008, 12:53 PM
One more spot left so and we'll get this moving
Meanwhile, any suggestions on the workings of this?
Is everybody happy with posting the cds?
Is downloading a possibility (if it is kept away from public forums)?
Do we post the playlists up on a thread here, for discussion purposes?
Are there subjects/themes for the cds, or is this up to the compiler?
Do I really want a mix tape from Paul? (j/k)
29/05/2008, 1:35 PM
It would be handier to create a download playlist of cd size.
I think I can provide a server for this, will have to check.
We could create a mailing list seperate to this thread for this.
We could then create a thread for each persons playlist.
No you probably don't but I wont fill it with songs of one genre. :)
That way he keeps all parties happy.
Meanwhile, any suggestions on the workings of this?
I think CDs work best, but I'm not really into downloading so someone might have a better suggestion. I do like the excitement of opening a package though :)
Is everybody happy with posting the cds?
I am anyway
Is downloading a possibility (if it is kept away from public forums)?
Anyone? Oops Paul has answered this
Do we post the playlists up on a thread here, for discussion purposes?
After we have recieved a CD/playlist I think it would be a good idea, not before though, it would ruin the surprise of how bad Paul's CD is gonna be :D
Are there subjects/themes for the cds, or is this up to the compiler?
I was thinking along the lines of whatever the compiler wants, but whatever suits
His mix tape is really gonna be the red headed stepchild in this group isn't it :D
Wangball
29/05/2008, 1:57 PM
I'm happy either way....CD's would be my preference but I can do the whole download thing too
His mix tape is really gonna be the red headed stepchild in this group isn't it :D
I reckon you'll well give him a run for his money on that count!:D
I like the relative old-schoolness of a mix-cd, just if others wanted to go the download route. Perhaps a cd would be 'safer'.
I reckon you'll well give him a run for his money on that count!:D
That from a guy who is going to fill his CD with whiny American college 'rock' :eek::D
29/05/2008, 2:08 PM
I'm with jebus, I love getting packages in the mail. I think the first round of CD's should be up to the Compiler and then maybe a Poll each week to decide a theme ?
Wangball
29/05/2008, 2:26 PM
Thats a disgusting lie and you know it is!
That from a guy who is going to fill his CD with whiny American college 'rock'
Will you be sending the requisite pills around with yours so we can "experience" the music like you do?!?!:eek::D
Will you be sending the requisite pills around with yours so we can "experience" the music like you do?!?!:D
My lifestyle is as valid as the next mans :) Oddly enough I've taken things that look exactly like that smiley icon
I can see this is going to be interesting.
Wangball
29/05/2008, 2:50 PM
My lifestyle is as valid as the next mans Oddly enough I've taken things that look exactly like that smiley icon
As you know I can hardly claim ignorance to such delights myself
I have taken things that look like this:)
Made me look like this:D
But then left me feeling like this:(
We should all hope we get our tenth member before Bellavistaman sees this thread, no word of a lie that his mixtape would be a Status Quo best of :D
29/05/2008, 2:57 PM
As you know I can hardly claim ignorance to such delights myself
I have taken things that look like this:)
Made me look like this:D
But then left me feeling like this:(
Thats very good Wangball and you too jebus. But what if you dropped dead tomorrow and yer parents read this, or in the future when you have kids and they read this?!
Still though Im still laughing :laugh:
Wangball
29/05/2008, 2:59 PM
Thats very good Wangball and you too jebus. But what if you dropped dead tomorrow and yer parents read this, or in the future when you have kids and they read this?!
Still though Im still laughing :laugh:
I'm really quite lucky that my parents didn't christen me Wangball, besides there's a lot worse stuff they could find out about me if they started pulling this laptop apart!!!:D
Then I would hope our names would be put up beside such Irish heroes as Katy French as people who's deaths meant something to someone somewhere :D
Wangball
29/05/2008, 3:03 PM
Then I would hope our names would be put up beside such Irish heroes as Katy French as people who's deaths meant something to someone somewhere :D]
At least then we'll see justice done when they arrest the murdering filth that sold me the stuff I bought and paid for and then took myself on my own of with my own free will!:D
Seriously though...CD's??
We'll give it til tomorrow for a tenth member and then someone can bite the bullet and say they are going first and make up their playlist for sending out after the weekend I reckon
I guess by the time the first mixtape is ready the numbers will have broken the magical ten.
So, I nominate Jebus for the first round - it being his idea and all.
Wangball
29/05/2008, 3:09 PM
I second that Noby
29/05/2008, 3:12 PM
Motion Passed Jebus you're up. I'll go next week if ye want
Grand I'll mull over my choices for the weekend, burn them on to CDs and send them out next week. I'll need addresses for those wanting them so lads
If we want to keep it regular I guess everyone should use the weekend for mulling/burning, and post them out early in the week.
I'll pm my address.
29/05/2008, 3:35 PM
I'll have my CD ready for burning as well next week.
So, I'll take the 3rd week so?
29/05/2008, 3:37 PM
My last.fm as well.
I think you'll need to prepare yourselves for my week!
http://www.last.fm/user/ChristopherD/
29/05/2008, 3:39 PM
lads do ye realise ye have to spend an Airmail stamp when sending to me. This actually reminds of the rounds night where my drink is cheapest and everyone else has an expensive drink - well kind of not quite. :D
29/05/2008, 3:39 PM
My last.fm as well.
I think you'll need to prepare yourselves for my week!
http://www.last.fm/user/ChristopherD/
brewer ye can copy American Land good man. Leave the rest :D
lads do ye realise ye have to spend an Airmail stamp when sending to me. This actually reminds of the rounds night where my drink is cheapest and everyone else has an expensive drink - well kind of not quite. :D
Do you realise you have to spend on several airmail stamps? Perhaps an option for download might be more cost-effective.
kingdom hoop
29/05/2008, 5:37 PM
I'm hoping this sentence is suitably articulated so as to convey my desire to get involved. :)
On the logistics front, it's a tough call, but I think the CD option would make things much more meaningful. For one thing, the love and care I'll put in to writing out each person's address in gold calligraphic script will warm the cockles of our respective hearts.
On the other hand if we just want to cold-bloodily exchange music then it's easy to use Rapidshare. Having created a "foot.ie folder" that each person has access to, the given DJ uploads his set to the general server, and then puts it into the foot.ie folder. He posts in this thread to say it's available, so everyone then accesses the folder and freely downloads. Maybe Paul and Réiteoir could do that. The option is generally available anyway, though the CD/post option is more appealing to a "it's the little things" man like me.
I'll be tenth man so if that's OK with yiz.
Don't mind the format either way, but the CDs would have more allure alright. P&P for the outlanders would be prohibitive mind you.
Don't know about themes, though, maybe just a general 'no metal and no jazz' theme. :D
Nah that's a good idea actually, ideas forming already.
Looking at the calendar, I nominate myself for the fourth week, if that's ok with everyone. I'm going on holidays after that, and would prefer to get it done before that.
Are we going to close the door after Stann before the list gets too big? If there's enough interest I'm sure a second list could be started.
Door closed just as Hoop and Stann sneak in so, a second list can always be started after all. Right I have Noby's and Block's addresses so I'll need the rest for Tuesday/Wednesday and I'll get the CDs out! :)
30/05/2008, 9:52 AM
Can't wait now. I've already started on my playlist for next week
it'll be a fairly eclectic mix so there should be something for everyone
Door closed just as Hoop and Stann sneak in so, a second list can always be started after all. Right I have Noby's and Block's addresses so I'll need the rest for Tuesday/Wednesday and I'll get the CDs out! :)
Jebus, when you have a list of all Names and addresses, how about e-mailing/pming the list onto the next person up etc. etc.?