View Full Version : Foot.ie Music Exchange
Pages :
[
2]
Jebus, when you have a list of all Names and addresses, how about e-mailing/pming the list onto the next person up etc. etc.?
Good idea
As for my playlist, I'm torn between playing it nice and easy for the first CD, or just throwing in a pile of weirdness.....it's the fun of the decision that makes this idea worthwhile :)
30/05/2008, 10:13 AM
*Running after bus*
No, wait, come baaaacckk!
Is it too late to get involved?
My list...
http://www.last.fm/user/DerryCity/
30/05/2008, 10:23 AM
I'll send you out one, 11 people and that's it so, end of....and all that jazz. Send me on your address
12 actually. Any more will make it a bit unwieldy.
30/05/2008, 10:39 AM
12 actually. Any more will make it a bit unwieldy.
Does Paul want in though?
kingdom hoop
30/05/2008, 1:44 PM
You're the boss/bouncer around here! I wouldn't have any narrow-minded folk admitted to my club though. :(
I'd leave it all up to the compiler so as to enshrine the surprise factor. Ideally I suppose a narrowish common theme ought prevail, but once it works in your opinion then it doesn't matter, IMO. Top marks will, however, be awarded to those efforts with an imaginative, left-field title, and with a logical, cohesive, progressive structure. :D
30/05/2008, 2:55 PM
It might make it easier if this is just get to the irish isle. So ill opt out and he can take my place!
lostinbrum
30/05/2008, 10:02 PM
This sounds like a great idea..don't worry I'm not going to ask to take part. I just wanted to suggest a couple of alternatives if people didn't want to mail cds. Ye might already be aware of them, so hey ho.
http://muxtape.com is a site for creating and posting mp3 mixtapes that can be streamed, but not (as far as I'm aware) downloaded.
www.multiply.com (http://www.multiply.com) is a really good site for sharing media. You can create music playlists and make them available to anyone, or to specific contacts. It does same for photos and video. Playlists open in WMP and can be downloaded. Some people post albums, but its a handy way of sharing a selection of music with a large number of people. You need to register to play the songs and of course to up and download.
stann
02/06/2008, 11:05 PM
Weirdness works for me anyway jebus, will be a nice counterpoint to the tameness of my own selection. :D
On that note, I'll bagsy the next spot if that suits everyone, 5th I think?
Address PM sent too.
02/06/2008, 11:12 PM
I've pmed my address too.
03/06/2008, 10:23 AM
CDs will be with ye by Friday lads. Have the playlist done, just gonna burn the CDs tonight and post them tomorrow (delay was the good weather and me being on the beach :)). Anyway the CD very much reflects my happy, sunny mood over the weekend so I hope you all enjoy it
I have 7 addresses at the mo, so if the rest on the list want a CD send on your postal address and I'll get one out
03/06/2008, 10:43 AM
... 7 addresses at the mo, so if the rest on the list want a CD send on your postal address and I'll get one out
Done. cheers Jebus.
04/06/2008, 11:56 AM
8 CDs gone out lads, Wangball has his, I'm guessing the only other Dub Block will have his next and the rest should have yours by Friday, An Post permitting.
19 tracks in all, and it's one more for a smokey Wednesday night rather than a banging Saturday :)
04/06/2008, 12:03 PM
Nice One, I'm working on my play list as we speak. as I said earlier a little something for everyone. Was in O'Sullivans Bar on westmoreland St. yesterday and a classic 80's tune(not saying which one it's a surprise) came on the radio so thats deffo going on, along with a few of my personal favs and 1 from the score of a movie
I'm saying no more
and a classic 80's tune(not saying which one it's a surprise) came on the radio so thats deffo going on
It had better be Tiffany, or I'll be most disappointed.
Jebus, good man. Looking forward to it.
Wangball
04/06/2008, 10:06 PM
Have listened to Jebus mix cd and have to admit to being very impressed, am not gonna spill on the tracklisting until everyone has the cd but its a good varied mix!
04/06/2008, 10:11 PM
Have listened to Jebus mix cd and have to admit to being very impressed, am not gonna spill on the tracklisting until everyone has the cd but its a good varied mix!
Did the songs run into each other like they were meant to? Didn't know if that was a Mac trick that would translate to CD
Just arrived half an hour ago. I'll have to wait 'til later to give it a listen. Looks good.
05/06/2008, 10:56 AM
Just to give a heads up, I think I put down that the Shins track I included was Red Rabbits but its actually Turn On Me
kingdom hoop
05/06/2008, 11:46 AM
Got mine too! Four songs in and the best thing about it, Jebus, is the shiny package it arrives in. :p Nah, very good so far, definite 'driving to the beach, smoking a joint' feel to it. I've opted for the gratification-delaying tactic of not looking at the tracklisting so not sure what else is in store, tús maith leath na hoibre though. Excellent marks (that is if we're giving marks, no need to make things competitive) for presentation by the way.
Great idea all round, and the traditional CD option was the right one - fierce exciting!
05/06/2008, 11:48 AM
I'm currently designing an inlay card for my CD so I hope you'll all be impressed by both CD and swanky graphic design
kingdom hoop
05/06/2008, 11:49 AM
Did the songs run into each other like they were meant to?
They don't. No major delay at all though.
kingdom hoop
05/06/2008, 12:01 PM
I'm currently designing an inlay card for my CD so I hope you'll all be impressed by both CD and swanky graphic design
Maybe I was a little hasty in complimenting Jebus's presentation!
Fair play Raptor. If nothing else, I'm sure we're impressed you're making the effort. :)
05/06/2008, 1:39 PM
Maybe I was a little hasty in complimenting Jebus's presentation!
Fair play Raptor. If nothing else, I'm sure we're impressed you're making the effort. :)
Conceptual design for cd cover
Ah jees, people are really upping the ante. Week 4 could be a real anti-climax.
05/06/2008, 1:55 PM
Ah jees, people are really upping the ante. Week 4 could be a real anti-climax.
Don't worry Noby. Graphic design / Photoshopping is a bit of a hobby for me so I don't expect anyone else to do this sort of stuff. hand written track lists on a bit or paper are perfectly acceptable
05/06/2008, 2:09 PM
Conceptual design for cd cover
shouldn't that be vol 2?!
05/06/2008, 2:13 PM
No volume 1 of BGR presents ? i can make it vol 2 if everyone agrees that the album should be called the foot.ie sessions
anyhow I've 20 tracks selected for your listening pleasure I might still tweek it a bit and I'm not settled on the order of play yet but don't worry I'll have them all burnt by Saturday and posted monday
if you wanna start PMing me with addresses when ever
I was (anally) going to catalogue them that way anyway (foot.ie volume n). Sub-headings, of course, are welcome.
05/06/2008, 2:19 PM
I was (anally) going to catalogue them that way anyway (foot.ie volume n). Sub-headings, of course, are welcome.
okey day. Vol 2 it is so
05/06/2008, 2:20 PM
It had better be Tiffany, or I'll be most disappointed.
Not this week I'm afraid but you are surprisingly close with that guess
I was going to do up a cover for mine, but sadly time didn't allow it, next time though. As for names, I'm quite happy with Jebus In The Mix Vol. One, might just stick with that :)
kingdom hoop
05/06/2008, 3:40 PM
if you wanna start PMing me with addresses when ever
As Noby previously suggested, it'd be handiest if Jebus could collate them in entirety and send the list to all of us at once. Alternatively, the baton/list could each week be forwarded, in a symbolic gesture of control, as one's turn arrives.
Jebus, you think you could do 3 minutes of ctrl-c ctrl-v'ing to save us individually going through the PM rigmarole each week? Don't forget yourself in the complete list!
05/06/2008, 3:41 PM
As Noby previously suggested, it'd be handiest if Jebus could collate them in entirety and send the list to all of us at once. Alternatively, the baton/list could each week be forwarded, in a symbolic gesture of control, as one's turn arrives.
Jebus, you think you could do 3 minutes of ctrl-c ctrl-v'ing to save us individually going through the PM rigmarole each week? Don't forget yourself in the complete list!
Can I nominate Kingdom hoop for the most sensible poster on foot.ie award
05/06/2008, 3:45 PM
Better yet, you think you could design me a hat with that exalted title, to wear whenever I log on? I'd love that.
05/06/2008, 3:47 PM
I'll post it with your CD
Billsthoughts
05/06/2008, 3:47 PM
His humour is deffo starting to grow on me alrite....
kingdom hoop
05/06/2008, 4:02 PM
His humour is deffo starting to grow on me alrite....
Damn, looks like I won't have that hat/title for long. :D
No volume 1 of BGR presents ? i can make it vol 2 if everyone agrees that the album should be called the foot.ie sessions
Was going to protest as I have a name already but then..
Sub-headings, of course, are welcome.
..so that's OK by me. :D
Still though, mixed tracks, sleeve design, bar is so high it's out of sight now! :o
Wangball
06/06/2008, 12:17 AM
All I can say is I hope you boys all have cassette players and great imaginations
06/06/2008, 8:28 AM
Well Jebus Cd arrived y-day. had a quick listen and I'm pretty impressed on the whole. I can see this CD getting a fair bit of airtime around my place. track 10 is an old old favorite of mine that I hadn't heard in years so thanks for that (I've been humming it all morning)
Since y'all seem to have the CD by now I'll throw up the playlist for people wondering what was on it
The Shins - Turn On Me
Nico - These Days
Nightmares On Wax - Morse
Sebastian Tellier - La Ritournelle
Goldfrapp - Ooh La La
The Clash - Bankrobber
Sly and the Family Stone - Skin I'm In
Chet Baker - Mr B
Stevie Wonder - Happier Than The Morning Sun
Nina Simone - O-O-H Child
Big 5 - Monkey Man
Paul Simon - Me and Julio Down By The Schoolyard
We're From Barcelona - I'm From Barcelona
Yo La Tengo - Season Of The Shark
Supergrass - St Petersburg
Kings Of Convenience - Winning a Battle, Losing The War
Trespasser Williams - Vapour Trail
Ali Farke Toure - N'Jarou
Tom Waits - Flower's Grave
Pick of the songs for me is Vapour Trail by Trespasser Williams, absolutely love that track
Billsthoughts
06/06/2008, 9:20 AM
Since y'all seem to have the CD by now I'll throw up the playlist for people wondering what was on it
The Shins - Turn On Me
Nico - These Days
Nightmares On Wax - Morse
Sebastian Tellier - La Ritournelle
Goldfrapp - Ooh La La
The Clash - Bankrobber
Sly and the Family Stone - Skin I'm In
Chet Baker - Mr B
Stevie Wonder - Happier Than The Morning Sun
Nina Simone - O-O-H Child
Big 5 - Monkey Man
Paul Simon - Me and Julio Down By The Schoolyard
We're From Barcelona - I'm From Barcelona
Yo La Tengo - Season Of The Shark
Supergrass - St Petersburg
Kings Of Convenience - Winning a Battle, Losing The War
Trespasser Williams - Vapour Trail
Ali Farke Toure - N'Jarou
Tom Waits - Flower's Grave
Pick of the songs for me is Vapour Trail by Trespasser Williams, absolutely love that track
I love the songs in bold....dunno many of the others
is the vapour trail song the same as the josh ritter and bell x1 one?
Don't know the josh ritter and bell x1 track so not sure, its a female vocalist on this one though
Billsthoughts
06/06/2008, 9:26 AM
eh quick google reveals it isnt...
06/06/2008, 9:36 AM
Jebus you seem to have a predilection for songs with the lyrics LA LA LA or NA NA NA in them, (not a criticism, just an observation)
Am guessing from BGR's post that the Vapour Trail tune is actually a cover of the Ride classic? Hope so anyway.
Halfway through it now (other half on the way home from work) and it sounds great so far jebus. Lot of tunes I didn't know which is the point of a mix CD I think. Couple I won't be hearing again :p (thought I insisted on no jazz!) but that's good too. Excellent work! :cool:
07/06/2008, 9:34 AM
half way through Jebus' CD right now. That stevie Wonder tune is excellent. Being a person who only listens to punk rock records recorded in 76 and 77 (or so the folklore amongst my friends goes :rolleyes: ) I'd never heard it before.
07/06/2008, 11:28 AM
half way through Jebus' CD right now. That stevie Wonder tune is excellent. Being a person who only listens to punk rock records recorded in 76 and 77 (or so the folklore amongst my friends goes :rolleyes: ) I'd never heard it before.
I'd recommend picking up Stevie's Music of my Mind so Lionel, top notch songs from start to finish