View Full Version : Foot.ie Music Exchange
Pages :
[
4]
stann
17/06/2008, 10:11 AM
Yeah Brewer next, then yourself, then meself. :eek:
Thought I'd posted earlier on BGR's one, but I hadn't, sorry. Some good tunes there. The Joy Division one is an absolute classic of course, but Pedantic Pat said to tell you to drop the 'again'. ;) (Oh, and it's Nena, he said to say! :D )
Liked the Beach Boys one too, hadn't heard that before, don't know why. Good end to it too, even though I can't stand The Doors, I do like that tune.
anto1208
18/06/2008, 10:19 AM
Is this not illegal lads ? copying music and distrbuting it ?
18/06/2008, 10:20 AM
Is this not illegal lads ? copying music and distrbuting it ?
NARC!
Anto, this is all hypothetical talk.
(Damn, they're on to us. IMRO must have stormed Sligobrewer's house.)
19/06/2008, 3:57 PM
Lad's I've been laid up in bed for the week with Streptococcal Throat so haven't been online. Do you need me to forward the addresses to sligobrewer or has he vanished?
Not sure, he hasn't been on so what to do?
You may as well forward them on to me. I'll get them out on Monday.
19/06/2008, 10:47 PM
I'll probably be slaughtered for this but are mix tapes not something you do for chicks you fancy when you're sixteen? Is there something going on here?
19/06/2008, 10:50 PM
I'll probably be slaughtered for this but are mix tapes not something you do for chicks you fancy when you're sixteen? Is there something going on here?
Sssshhhhhhhh!
You mean you people aren't all sixteen year old chicks? Man, you can't trust anyone on the internet these days.
Hate Crime!
Obviously you can also send them out if you are the type of character who wishes they were in a perpetual American indie film, like d'uh
20/06/2008, 2:36 PM
You may as well forward them on to me. I'll get them out on Monday.
Done..
Cheers. Do Jebus and Lionel Ritchie have 'real' names, or is it a Limerick thing?
20/06/2008, 11:03 PM
Sorry Lads.
My laptop has bitten the dust.
I'll take the last week on the roll as although I have the playlist done out, my music wasn't backed up.
I'll have to get the necessary funds for a new lappy and dump the music from my iPod on to it.
Keep the Cd's comin':)
BGR's was a classic.
Jebus' was brilliant as well, La Ritornelle, brilliant choice.
22/06/2008, 6:35 PM
Cheers. Do Jebus and Lionel Ritchie have 'real' names, or is it a Limerick thing?
I've PM'ed you jebus real name
I just put L. Ritchie on the envelope with my cd:o
Cheers. After I engaged my brain I realised I know Lionel's name.
I'll be posting them at lunchtime.
23/06/2008, 7:47 AM
I've PM'ed you jebus real name
I just put L. Ritchie on the envelope with my cd:o ...and it got here -that's because I AM Lionel Ritchie. :confused:
Cheers. After I engaged my brain I realised I know Lionel's name. ...yes -Lionel Ritchie, the famous Commodore and worst type of EL supporter out there. :)
Sorry for my lack of commentary and general chucking my orb about in review of the music I've had sent on. Been a busy week -had some musical equipment stolen and have spent most of the time on ebay trying to replace it.
So that's:
Lionel Ritchie,
The Ceiling,
Limerick.
Grand.
Sorry to hear about your stuff being nicked.
Posted yesterday. Eight cds, is that right?
Anyhoo, I'm forwarding the addresses onto Stann, the next up, as I'm away Thursday for a week, and might forget tomorrow.
I'll post up the track list when I get home this evening.
25/06/2008, 9:34 AM
CD Well Received Noby. I've not listened to it all yet but got to say I'm looking forward to listening to the rest of it. oh yeah and the Novelty Track is classically hilarious
kingdom hoop
25/06/2008, 1:23 PM
This morning returned from a sojourn in warmer, sunnier climes, Noby you, with Getafix powers of concoction, have prescribed and dispensed the ideal anodyne tonic! This 16 year old girl's heart is fluttering - see you in the park on Saturday! :D
Hmm, yeah I like it, an awful lot: maybe 9.4/10! I'll reserve further, more specified comment 'til all the others have had a chance to listen to it. But I must say the KLF track was an inspired (and inspiring) choice. :)
Oh yeah.... bon voyage!
Track list available lads? Have swimming after work so won't be back til late tonight (probably too late and tired to listen to the CD) and I am very bored at work and need something to talk about on the forums here. Welcome back KH aswell, check your text messages too!! :)
kingdom hoop
25/06/2008, 1:30 PM
I'll type it up there Noby, your work is done.
I'll turn on my phone now Jebus. But what the hell, you have swimming??
This morning returned from a sojourn in warmer, sunnier climes, Noby you, with Getafix powers of concoction, have prescribed and dispensed the ideal anodyne tonic! This 16 year old girl's heart is fluttering - see you in the park on Saturday! :D
Er, thanks... I think. That was a compliment, right?
It was kind of tricky to fit a bit of everything I like onto it, but as most of it was compiled before the weather turned wintery I tried to keep it up tempo.
Oops, forgot the track list lastnight. Type away, KH, because I'd only be doing it from memory. If it's not up by five-ish I can post it up from home.
I'll type it up there Noby, your work is done.
I'll turn on my phone now Jebus. But what the hell, you have swimming??
A lot has changed since you left Hoop, I've also been a vegan who steers clear of wheat, sugar and alcohol (bar Leonard Cohen gig) for two weeks (just coming off that detox this week), have taken up yoga, and have also started swimming on Wednesday nights :)
As of now my diet is no sugar, no wheat, minimum alcohol (gone drinking once in the past 4 weeks! and don't plan to again until Daniel Johnston gig), vegetarian (I've broken this twice in 3 weeks) and abolsutely zero dairy (so no cheese for me :(). Feel fantastic because of it, even if the first few days were hell, and I've taken nicely to Hatha Yoga and swimming because I was sick of the tedium of jogging. Super times for a super guy :D
Freak.
I have an idea for my 2nd CD Jebus' Sounds of the Dolphin :D
kingdom hoop
25/06/2008, 1:50 PM
Foot.ie Sessions vol.3 - The One Where Noby Forgot The Title
The Cardigans - Rise and Shine
Ride - Taste
Cherry Orchard - Everybody Knows
Belle & Sebastian - Your Cover's Blown
Stereolab - Variation One
Pelle Carlberg - Clever Girls Like Clever Boys Much More Than Clever Boys Like Clever Girls
The Clash - Hitsville UK
The Kinks - David Watts
The Jam - Start
Dexy's Midnight Runners - Tell Me When My Light Turns Green
Prince Buster - Al Capone
Toots & The Maytals - Sweet And Dandy
Jimmy Soul - If You Wanna Be Happying For The Rest Of Your Life
Ballboy - I Hate Scotland
Mercury Rev - Coney Island Cyclone
The Fall - Mr. Pharmacist
Barry Adamson - Still I Rise
KLF - It's Grim Up North
Wedding Present - Be Honest
Er, thanks... I think. That was a compliment, right?
Most definitely a compliment, albeit strangely delivered. I was making a joke (which you seemingly and disgracefully didn't pick up on) based on BohsPartisan's contribution on the previous page. Essentially, I have a musical crush on you. :D
Jebus, you could do with losing a few pounds alright. :p Nah, you are an inspiration. Oddly I was toying with some lifestyle changes recently, including vegetarianism. For now I've packed in cigarettes.
Aah right. It's the BP reference that I didn't pick up on. My first draft was very much a summer indie-pop compilation (basically the first six songs expanded), but decided, perhaps persuaded by the comments, that some, er, manly tunes should be put on too.
And I didn't forget, it's self titled, like all the great albums.
(Ok so, I did forget.)
Excellent work noby, have the end of it to come on the way home from work today, but brilliant so far.
Some songs I love, some I haven't heard in years, some I haven't heard yet, and some I've never even heard of - hoping mine is exactly like that.
Love that Pelle Carlberg tune, really top stuff! Dexy's, B&S, The Kinks, all highlights, and The Fall and KLF to look forward to yet. That Jimmy Soul one is just genius though. :D
Glad you enjoyed it (or the first half at least).
26/06/2008, 11:51 AM
Glad you enjoyed it (or the first half at least).
Didn't get mine yet :( No bother if it doesn't arrive cause I can get Wangball to burn me a copy. Looking forward to it, judging on the playlist, too
30/06/2008, 1:53 PM
Just a quick thumbs up to to BGR and Noby for their compilations. I've not commented on weeks 2 or 3 yet. Knew a lot of the material on BGRs already and discovered a couple of wee nuggets as well ...The Arcade Fire and Samuel Barber tunes.
Nobys has been in the car stereo all week. I used llisten to Rise and Shine on heavy rotation back in the days when I was in training for Wrist Of Fury '95.
Very much like the Ballboy tune as well.
Nobys has been in the car stereo all week. I used llisten to Rise and Shine on heavy rotation back in the days when I was in training for Wrist Of Fury '95
I shudder to think what kind of depraved sex competition you were involved in back in your youth Lionel, I really do. :)
Really liking Noby's one too, haven't listened to that Dexys track in a long, long time, very good stuff. Been working well this idea for the first 3 CDs now.
Who's up this week?
Me.
'The Foot.ie Sessions Vol 4: Declining Stanndards' is in the offing.
Have them all done and parcelled up ready to post out tomorrow, unusually prompt for me actually.
No flash cover though, through a combination of artistic bankruptcy, technical incompetence, and the only colour printer at work being broken! :D
Anyway, might as well do the sneak preview now.
Am happy enough with it on the whole. Nothing weird there, but should be a lot of stuff many of ye won't have heard before, and at least two that nobody has even heard of hopefully, one or two that might jog some pleasant memories, plus a couple or three real classics.
Lot of guitar stuff, few dance tracks at the end for Hoop, sharp-dressed mods, hoary old hippies, some screeching Irish rawwwwk, a crossover rave classic, and even a wee mention for Ronnie Whelan.
Oh and a couple that might be labelled Parental Advisory so if you've young kids be advised. :)
It's thischarmingman next, addresses PMed.
Posted this morning as soon as the place opened.
Bit optimistic to think some of ye will have it by this evening, but you never know...
01/07/2008, 11:12 AM
Posted this morning as soon as the place opened.
Bit optimistic to think some of ye will have it by this evening, but you never know...
It's an interesting insight into the Irish postal system alright.
Have had my playlist done for ages but being given the actual address to send them out to has made me start questioning every decision. :o
kingdom hoop
01/07/2008, 4:12 PM
few dance tracks at the end for Hoop
Awh yeah, for me you say, as if those songs were just innocently resting in your collection all this time. :D That's excellent though, I look forward to being entranced, my day endanced, tomorrow. (hopefully they're not actually trance though!)
I suppose this means I have to reciprocate by including bass-heavy songs that get your sub- dub-woofer woofing...
'The Foot.ie Sessions Vol 4: Declining Stanndards' is in the offing.
:) Love it!
01/07/2008, 10:56 PM
Can I slip back into the running order?
I have my playlist done up from before and I should have all my music back by next week. Thoughts?
stann
01/07/2008, 11:43 PM
Awh yeah, for me you say, as if those songs were just innocently resting in your collection all this time. :D That's excellent though, I look forward to being entranced, my day endanced, tomorrow. (hopefully they're not actually trance though!)
I suppose this means I have to reciprocate by including bass-heavy songs that get your sub- dub-woofer woofing...
Oops, probably shouldn't have built it up like that. One is an old skool classic which you definitely can hop around the floor to, one has a lovely brooding keyboard riff but is hardly floor fodder, and a bit of a downtempo one at the end. Don't get your hopes up!
:) Love it!
Eyethankyawwww!
I've no objection SB, but then it's not up to me anymore. :)
02/07/2008, 1:25 PM
Sligobrewer to go next? any objections?
kingdom hoop
03/07/2008, 12:24 AM
I have an objection. Or suggestion anyway. We should stick to the schedule with thischarmingman going next, just in case Brewer hasn't got the raw materials to ferment the CDs by next week. We can't have any more disappointments. :)
Seeing as he's looking eager let's leave Brewer into the queue for the following week, vol 6. I'll go after, then Lionel, and then Wangball will have the honour of the final leg. Fair enough?
Stann, your CD arrived safe and sound, thank you. Unfortunately if you were hoping for a reaction, my evening's entertainment was instead provided by the surprisingly quite delightful Steeton (Yorkshire) Male Voice Choir (I'm not sure how it happened either) so I haven't had a chance to give Declining Stanndards a spin yet. To retain an element of intrigue I've only given the tracklisting a very quick scan too! Anyway after the massive build-up you've given it I'm sure it'll be great.
03/07/2008, 11:11 AM
Declining Stanndards arrived yesterday evening and has recieved two listens thus far. Thoroughly enjoyed it from the off being a huge Who fan. Different vibe to the previous week which is probably how it should be. Also featured a couple of artists I'd planned on including myself so that's under review now.
03/07/2008, 1:08 PM
I have an objection. Or suggestion anyway. We should stick to the schedule with thischarmingman going next, just in case Brewer hasn't got the raw materials to ferment the CDs by next week.
Lad's if it's ok, I'd rather Brewer went next, I don't think I'm going to get a chance in the next few days, bit of a family crisis. Thanks.
Settled so, Brewer is up next. Hope all's well thischarmingman
kingdom hoop
03/07/2008, 2:14 PM
Grand, and if the Brewer's having technical difficulties I'll step into the breach.
Six tracks in, Declining Stanndards is giving me pleasure. :) Loving "No Yes No" at the moment. Without any doubt in my mind. ;)
03/07/2008, 4:09 PM
Settled so, Brewer is up next. Hope all's well thischarmingman
thanks
Hope all's well thischarmingman
Yeah me too tcm. I'll PM Brewer with the addresses later tonight.
Ta Hoop and Lionel. Will put up the tracklist later tonight as well.
03/07/2008, 7:21 PM
grand. so i gots to starts idumping now.