View Full Version : The Sam Maguire
Pages :
[
7]
25/08/2008, 4:37 PM
This holier than thou stuff, particularily from Ulster people I find funny. I don't defend that some Kerry players take things to the edge, Galvin and D O Sé in particular, but they have got their cummupence. But I hope to God geysir you're not trying to put our men on a higher plane in the cynicism stakes than say Dick Clerkin? Or Brian Dooher? O r Ryan McMenamin.
And to you Shakermaker, I suppose Trevor Mortimer was talking to himself when he came onto the field the last day, cause he did no different to declan, both men felt they were wronged and both men voiced their opinion.
I'm happy to admit our lads pull things to the wire at times. Some of ye aren't by the seem of it?
so im interested in your opinion on the diving ability of a few of your players:)
not the first time we have seen kerry cheat this year:)
Ordinarily I have no interest in the GAA but caught few minutes on TV when they were showing the Kerry lads "simulation". As bad as anything Ronaldo & his ilk would get up to. At least will never need to listen to some GAA supporters rant about the diving footballers & real men of the GAA.
26/08/2008, 12:04 AM
so im interested in your opinion on the diving ability of a few of your players:)
not the first time we have seen kerry cheat this year:)
I've no case to make to you bennocelt, I've no interest in what you've to say on Gaa.
Its hard to defend the indefensible, but I'll be apologising to those who contribute to this thread. O'Mahony was out of order no two ways about it, he'd no reason to fall down like that. Karma came back to bite him on the ar$e and hopefully the stupidity of what he did will make him cut it out, cause as far as I'm concerned he's the best centre back in the country by a mile.
I think its gas the way football people in general slate the Sunday game, yet seem to accept the perceptions (AOM = macho) without question. Aidan isn't macho, nor does he portray himself that way, but he's a Rathmore man (border) based in Cork and a large contingent of the Cork squad would be border men too.
I like Donncha O'Connor and he's a superb footballer, Cork will miss him if its not rescinded.
I'm glad Dara got the line. He's been acting the gowl for too long and its effects the team as far as I'm concerned against Cork. Although O'Neill hit the deck fairly sharpish himself for a dig to the chest.
Its a question we've asked for a while now, what will Kerry do without Dara in the middle. I imagine Tommy Griffin will move out and Dan Bohane will take Cussen. I'm happy with the play and we're unlikely to have as poor a finishing sextet again in Croker. Looking forward to it again.
26/08/2008, 7:27 AM
I've no case to make to you bennocelt, I've no interest in what you've to say on Gaa.
Its hard to defend the indefensible, but I'll be apologising to those who contribute to this thread. O'Mahony was out of order no two ways about it, he'd no reason to fall down like that. Karma came back to bite him on the ar$e and hopefully the stupidity of what he did will make him cut it out, cause as far as I'm concerned he's the best centre back in the country by a mile.
I think its gas the way football people in general slate the Sunday game, yet seem to accept the perceptions (AOM = macho) without question. Aidan isn't macho, nor does he portray himself that way, but he's a Rathmore man (border) based in Cork and a large contingent of the Cork squad would be border men too.
I like Donncha O'Connor and he's a superb footballer, Cork will miss him if its not rescinded.
I guess the truth hurts!!:)
man don't take it so personally, are all Kerry folk so touchy!
i would love to support kerry, but I really don't understand why such a talented team play such cynical football - cheating, diving, pushing, shoving, arguing all the time with the ref, moaning
Jeez compared to Tyrone who seem to play lovely football and get on with it.
26/08/2008, 9:44 AM
Ordinarily I have no interest in the GAA but caught few minutes on TV when they were showing the Kerry lads "simulation". As bad as anything Ronaldo & his ilk would get up to. At least will never need to listen to some GAA supporters rant about the diving footballers & real men of the GAA.
pete you manage to find yourself in these strange situations where you just happen upon GAA. :)
I think it was a reflex looking for the Olympics. :p
I didn't comment on the other sending off as nothing unusual in that. Even you must accept that was some dive.
26/08/2008, 10:03 AM
im not sure which diving you are refering too, but tom daley was good for a young fella in fairness.
O'Mahoney looks like galvin and reminds me of galvin, at the end of the day he got slapped, striking motion, its a sending off. O'mahony did upend the cork fella though for the penalty, there is no denying that he tried to make it out like he was falling over but he knew what he was doing. Both were sending offs and the penalty was a penalty.
To qualify that further, they don't dive without actual some form of a slap or kick or whatever, in football non-contact can still cause a dive.
dublinred
26/08/2008, 10:32 AM
I was at the game at was surprised by the amount of off the ball handbags going on all over the pitch which probably wouldn't of been seen on tv , also every sub seemed to get a nice welcome from the markers , there were several tasty flashpoints as well. I had 2 young american nephews with me and their highlights of the whole thing was the amount of fighting going on ,they thought it was cool having never seen the likes of it before in any of their girly non contact sports. Overall I have to admit it was a great days entertainment , I feel sorry for the thousands of ****ies who snook out early with their heads low in shame.
Jinxy
26/08/2008, 12:26 PM
Yeah! "I was just minding my own business when purely by chance I happened to see something which paints the GAA in a negative light." This seems to happen to you quite regularly!:D:D
26/08/2008, 1:02 PM
To qualify that further, they don't dive without actual some form of a slap or kick or whatever, in football non-contact can still cause a dive.
ah come on Paul, surely you must recognise that Football is much more of a technical sport, and injuries are much more prevalent
Rory Fallon and the like wouldn't stand much chance in a real football game
Funny how the "hard men" in the GA always look like right pussies when they play against the Aussies - or am i wrong there too:)
26/08/2008, 3:44 PM
O'Mahoney had lost his rag totally on the sideline.
He wasn't thinking anything rational when he dived. I'm sure he regrets it.
I'm sure he will :D
Whereas this gobsh :D
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s31/geithals/314471.jpg
26/08/2008, 3:57 PM
But if your name is Brian (Roper, Dooher) contact can be optional before diving :rolleyes:
Pete passing by again :D
He's like Kilroy.
27/08/2008, 2:53 AM
i would love to support kerry, but I really don't understand why such a talented team play such cynical football - cheating, diving, pushing, shoving, arguing all the time with the ref, moaning
Jeez compared to Tyrone who seem to play lovely football and get on with it.
:confused: Tyrone have plenty of players who are dirty *****.
27/08/2008, 7:15 AM
:confused: Tyrone have plenty of players who are dirty *****.
yeah true, but not as bad as Kerry or as often
the last game V dublin they played perfect Ga, and played with great heart
27/08/2008, 3:41 PM
yeah true, but not as bad as Kerry or as often
the last game V dublin they played perfect Ga, and played with great heart
Now I know you're definitely a bluffer. You wanna know why Kerry are the way they are now? Tyrone. You wanna know why Gooch swings the elbow when an ape twice his size trys the man love? Tyrone.
There is zero difference between Brian Dooher and Aidan O'Mahony for histionics.
27/08/2008, 5:09 PM
Now I know you're definitely a bluffer. You wanna know why Kerry are the way they are now? Tyrone. You wanna know why Gooch swings the elbow when an ape twice his size trys the man love? Tyrone.
There is zero difference between Brian Dooher and Aidan O'Mahony for histionics.
yeah Dooher does go down, easy enough too, re Westmeath game, but no way in hell does it compare to o mahoney
What about O mahoney always moaning to the ref
I am sorry but i actually think Tyrone have always played reasonably fair enough
You should really take the blinkers off
kerry are an embarrassment :mad:
This style of "football" was introduced by Northern teams such as Tyrone and Armagh when they bullied most teams they played. Teams in other counties are now beating them with the same style they use/used. To say Kerry football is worse than Tyrone is or was is completely wrong in my opinion!
27/08/2008, 6:58 PM
yeah Dooher does go down, easy enough too, re Westmeath game, but no way in hell does it compare to o mahoney
What about O mahoney always moaning to the ref
I am sorry but i actually think Tyrone have always played reasonably fair enough
You should really take the blinkers off
kerry are an embarrassment :mad:
Your the embarrassment chap. What blinkers? I'm withdrawn enough not to be bluffed. I'm referring to Dooher over the course of his career. And to try and equate Kerry and the Northies you're having a laugh.
I've already stated (in numerous forums) that what AOM did was wrong. The same with O'Sé, I'm sick of his stuff at this stage.
27/08/2008, 11:03 PM
Ah now Kingdom, you're tired and emotional, already drained from watching yourselves get almost robbed blind by those langers. Don't be letting that moron be dragging you down into saying something rash.
It's like slagging a crippled old man when you disparage Tyrone now.
Especially after a depleted Tyrone led by veteran Dooher turned in a long overdue master class in total football against the Dubs.
Big Semi Final day on sunday, the minor game is worth a watch as well with Tyrone and Meath.
And Kerry attempt once again and for all time to put Cork, the Rasputins of the modern game, in their proper place.
Could be a good value for money day in Croker. I wouldn't mind putting my feet up in one of those armchair cushioned box seats and sipping a bottle of wine.
28/08/2008, 7:45 AM
Yeah you are correct:rolleyes:
Kerry are a joy to watch, play honest lovely football, never complain to the ref, and never cheat and dive
Or are my eyes deceiving me
So basically if another team does it then cheating is acceptable then, grow up:rolleyes:
28/08/2008, 8:20 AM
Ah now Kingdom, you're tired and emotional, already drained from watching yourselves get almost robbed blind by those langers. Don't be letting that moron be dragging you down into saying something rash.
oh thanks, are you from Kerry yourself too:(
whatever you do don't post anything relevant
28/08/2008, 11:24 AM
lads off topic, emailed RTE about getting info on getting a particular kerry (legend)man over to london for a night, any ideas how much it would cost to have the pleasure of the mans company for one night? Fair play to RTE, I am ringing them later(at lunch when its free) to find out the story.
28/08/2008, 11:36 AM
lads off topic, emailed RTE about getting info on getting a particular kerry (legend)man over to london for a night, any ideas how much it would cost to have the pleasure of the mans company for one night?
Paul, no matter what people sometimes say about your impulsive posts they do provide much entertainment.
RTE put new meaning into providing "light" entertainment.
28/08/2008, 12:28 PM
i wrote it like that on purpose i promise :D
no overtures meant in anyway i might add!!!
29/08/2008, 4:15 PM
This mess gets better and better now that O'Conor has been let off. I've no doubt both teams will not line out as announced.
On the Cork Side - Alan O'Connor won't start, I'd expect Nicholas Murphy to start (seeing as Dara is banned) and I think McMahon will revert to bench as Donncha O'Connor is eligible.
And what of Kerry? Reidy won't start. Griffen will be at fullback with Brosnan (:eek:) in the middle. I can see Darren Sull pushing Donncha Walsh close for a start too.
I'm going for our lads again. I thought they'd annihilate Galway and they did. They played very good football the last day and with 18 wides still shot 1-13, despite having a perfectly good goal disallowed and a blatant penalty denied.
I think Kerry by 3 scores.
29/08/2008, 5:24 PM
Wonder what odds the first Kerry players to dive?:)
29/08/2008, 5:40 PM
I'm going for our lads again. I thought they'd annihilate Galway and they did. They played very good football the last day and with 18 wides still shot 1-13, despite having a perfectly good goal disallowed and a blatant penalty denied.
I think Kerry by 3 scores.
Kingdom, you're shaking the Kerry Jingo rattle again.
That's very disrespectful to Galway, they were beaten but not anihalated.
On the Cork game, the disallowed goal was perfectly disallowed. There has not been the slightest bit of a question over that, Tommy Walsh threw the ball.
Should have been a penalty, but what does a penalty mean for Kerry?
The last time I saw Kerry take a penalty it was bottled:p
Other points stand though ;)
29/08/2008, 7:10 PM
Kingdom, you're shaking the Kerry Jingo rattle again.
That's very disrespectful to Galway, they were beaten but not anihalated.
On the Cork game, the disallowed goal was perfectly disallowed. There has not been the slightest bit of a question over that, Tommy Walsh threw the ball.
Should have been a penalty, but what does a penalty mean for Kerry?
The last time I saw Kerry take a penalty it was bottled:p
Other points stand though ;)
Ok ok ok. Certainly didn't mean disrespect for Galway. Michael meehan gave 2 of our backs the run around. Joe Bergin caused a bit of hassle (I lay the blame squarely at Pat O'Shea's door, he's too slow to make decisions). Other than that (incl Joyce) Kerry were on top all over the field.
Damn you and your analysis Geysir. Damn you.
30/08/2008, 4:56 PM
nice win for the Mayo minors today. Written off all week in the media despite being the better team last week so to win by 10 points was nice.
Two interesting games tomorrow. I cannot see Cork playing as poorly as they did last week....or can they?! O'Se is a big loss so it should be a close game. Heart says Cork, head says Kerry.
If Tyrone are on their A game then they'll blow Wexford away tomorrow. Very few can match them if they are on song - Dooher is the key, he needs to be shackled and Paeder Gardner did a good job of that back in the qualifiers. Tyrone will have to be near their best though because if the Tyrone backs give as much space as they did to Mayo then Wexford can rack up the points in no time. I'd say Tyrone by 3 points.
31/08/2008, 8:57 PM
Cork failed to capitalise on the momentum we had when we levelled. Conceded a soft goal and that was that.
didn't play at all in the first half. Got more stuck in in second half.
Kerry are better than Cork though and their scoring power told. Thought Donaghy was immense today.
Is Fergie managing Kerry the way they have started the group harassing of referees?
Personally though the ref gave Kerry everything in first half and Cork everything in the second. Lovely trip by O'Neill on Scanlon in the build up to the second goal;)
31/08/2008, 11:05 PM
I have not seen so many soft scorable frees as were handed to Kerry in the first half.
I thought the ref did much better in the 2nd half :)
Have Kerry done enough to redeem themselves with a wee bit of a final flurry to take the edge of yet another incredible choke? Hard to say.
No better man than Mickey Harte to orchestrate the opposition in the final.
Anyone else a bit fed up with this lumping the ball forward to the big tall front man.
At least we have a team in the final like Tyrone who know how to play real attractive attacking football which actually involves teamwork utilising an imaginative array of skills in the build up approach to the opposition's goal.
However I fear that the this crude old fashioned game of lumping it forward and feeding off the knockdowns is gaining currency :rolleyes:
If this were a soccer final, Kerry would be the Germans and Tyrone would be the Dutch;)
01/09/2008, 11:13 AM
Tyrone will put manners on the Gooch and Donaghy. I really want to see Kerry get smashed - I'm sick to death of their antics. Surrounding the ref, finger jabbing it was like watching Chelsea in their pomp.
01/09/2008, 12:24 PM
Happy enough that Wexford gave it a good go in the second half. They conceded two soft late points at the end of the first half that turned a big hill into a mountain. They coped well with losing Matty and looked for a while like they might pull it out of the fire. Tyrone always had that extra bit of class however. Lyng kicked two bad wides just as Tyrone were getting back on top and that killed any chance of a comeback, the balls into the forwards got very tired and aimless towards the end.
They will have learned an awful lot from this year, Ryan looks like the real deal as a manager, I loved the way he stayed out on the pitch at half time for an extra few minutes, just left the team to go and think about it for themselves, then gathering them together on the pith at the end, where it looked like he was telling them that if they wanted to get here again the hard work and commitment needed to be made on the spot, they could walk away happy to have ever made it this far, or come back and try to go that step further.
I expect another good year next year.
Jinxy
01/09/2008, 12:27 PM
2 enjoyable games yesterday. Just wasn't to be for Wexford. Thought Cork had Kerry by the b*lls when O'Neill got their 2nd goal. Should have known better!:D
Should be some final.
01/09/2008, 12:41 PM
Cork did enough to have you shouting wtf it can't happen here again, then the brakes were put on.
Like climbing to within 50m from the top of Mt Everest then turning back.
01/09/2008, 12:58 PM
Tyrone will put manners on the Gooch and Donaghy. I really want to see Kerry get smashed - I'm sick to death of their antics. Surrounding the ref, finger jabbing it was like watching Chelsea in their pomp.
jeez be careful now:)
I agree, but then some "experts" on this thread would have you believe that Tyrone are an awful team to watch too:rolleyes:
Jinxy
19/09/2008, 11:15 PM
Honestly think Kerry will win this by at least 4 points. Tyrone have a good record against them but that was before Donaghy came along. And now he has Walsh beside him as well. Tyrone have never liked dealing with early, high balls on top of the full back line. I expect they'll pull people back to help but this will leave gaps and Kerry have plenty of other lads that'll kick scores outside of Gooch, Donaghy and Walsh.
I think Kerry will do it and expect Galvin to make a big impact when he comes on!! C'mon Kerry
20/09/2008, 1:42 PM
Looks 50/50 to me, except if Kerry can gain dividends from their long ball game to the big men. It will be interesting to see the effect of what Mickey Harte has been planning for that scenario.
20/09/2008, 8:42 PM
Please god Tyrone, dont let the cheats win it, please:)
Today is the day!!! Found out last night my Dad gave his ticket away...Raging, I would have went in his place. Looking forward to watching the game though
Its a beautiful day here in Dublin. All set up for a savage game.
21/09/2008, 4:05 PM
Whoop Whoop! Well done Tyrone. Me Mammy is thrilled and my granny and grandad are dancing in their graves!
Rebel11
21/09/2008, 4:09 PM
Super game delighted for Tyrone
Disgusted but fair dues to Tyrone better team on the day. I'm happy for Mickey Harte after all the criticism during the year. Thats it now til next year...
21/09/2008, 4:28 PM
you beauty :)
21/09/2008, 5:09 PM
knew tyrone would win this. kerry were not t their greatest throughout the whole tournament. tyrone played well and deserved it. Well done tyrone for bringing SAM back where he belongs, up north :D
21/09/2008, 5:23 PM
lads off topic, emailed RTE about getting info on getting a particular kerry (legend)man over to london for a night, any ideas how much it would cost to have the pleasure of the mans company for one night? Fair play to RTE, I am ringing them later(at lunch when its free) to find out the story.
http://www.maleirishescorts.com/ :D:p
Well done Tyrone. Thoroughly deserved the win. The minor game was a gem. Hope Mayo didn't leave it behind them though.
Gutted - not a kerryman but was hoping they would win. Tyrone have a nasty streak - constant pulling and dragging and digging off the ball - the classic move is when a defender passes to midfield and when everybodys attention is gone he gets creamed
Like the Meath tem who invented it - terrible tripe and a huge pity because of the super players they have - dooher, cavanagh, harte, mcguigan - top class - super players but they ruin it for me by the elbos, knees and digs