View Full Version : The Sam Maguire

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8

ollie
31/07/2008, 12:44 PM
Galvin's actual championship match game ban has been reduced from a max. of 5 games to a max. of 4 games.
Unless Kerry get to the final, Galvin won't see another championship game this year.

Will the Kerryman lead with 'Galvin Available for Kerry in the Final' :rolleyes:

He'll be available for a lot club games though now as most(or at least a lot of) games are played after September so while his intercounty year is over pretty much his club season isn't.

31/07/2008, 4:03 PM
I'm sure Galvin is relieved he doesn't have to tog out against Monaghan after getting battered black and blue last year and meekly retreating off the field in the 2nd half. He is more of a pseudo hard man, probably better suited to playing against the likes of Dublin than a genuine hard bog team like Monaghan.
But Daragh O'Sé will be like a pig in muck against his old nemesis Dick Clerkin.

02/08/2008, 2:51 PM
I'm sure Galvin is relieved he doesn't have to tog out against Monaghan after getting battered black and blue last year and meekly retreating off the field in the 2nd half. He is more of a pseudo hard man, probably better suited to playing against the likes of Dublin than a genuine hard bog team like Monaghan.
But Daragh O'Sé will be like a pig in muck against his old nemesis Dick Clerkin.

I can't wait for tomorrow I really can't. I hope to God our lads don't let us down, cause I'd love to ram some of the shyte I've been putting up with for 3 weeks (and the past week in particular) back down peoples throats.

Shocking first match between Down and Wexford. Down were absolute gash, and the fact they pushed Tyrone all the way would make you wonder about the quality of these sides.

02/08/2008, 4:14 PM
I can't wait for tomorrow I really can't. I hope to God our lads don't let us down, cause I'd love to ram some of the shyte I've been putting up with for 3 weeks (and the past week in particular) back down peoples throats.

Shocking first match between Down and Wexford. Down were absolute gash, and the fact they pushed Tyrone all the way would make you wonder about the quality of these sides.

The beat Tyrone in a replay didn't they?

02/08/2008, 4:32 PM
Tyrone have beaten Mayo by 1 point.

Not a great game at all.

02/08/2008, 4:33 PM
Great to see Wexford bounce back. Terrible game of football. Did what was needed, never gave Down a sniff of a goal and without goals they were never going to win it.

02/08/2008, 4:43 PM
The beat Tyrone in a replay didn't they?

Yes I phrased that one poorly to be fair. Its not been a great championship at all. The GAA putting the 4 qualifiers in croker has been a ridiculous decision. Tyrone took 65 mins to show the country the Tyrone we're used to seeing.
Armagh will be loving this. They still aren't recognised as the favourites which I believe they should be. The quarter final draw is going to be very interesting.

Armagh Dublin Cork Galway
Wexford Tyrone Kerry/Mon Fer/Kil.

Jinxy
02/08/2008, 5:19 PM
Thanks a lot Mayo for ruining my predictions with your pathetic attempts at kicking the ball over the bar. Tyrone not much better.:mad:

02/08/2008, 5:20 PM
Yes I phrased that one poorly to be fair. Its not been a great championship at all. The GAA putting the 4 qualifiers in croker has been a ridiculous decision. Tyrone took 65 mins to show the country the Tyrone we're used to seeing.
Armagh will be loving this. They still aren't recognised as the favourites which I believe they should be. The quarter final draw is going to be very interesting.

Armagh Dublin Cork Galway
Wexford Tyrone Kerry/Mon Fer/Kil.

Not sure about Armagh being favourites. If Fermanagh could kick a point they'd have won the Ulster final easily.

Going on performances alone Cork or Dublin should be favourites but if Kerry get past Monaghan tommorrow they'd be hard to beat.

02/08/2008, 6:39 PM
Not sure about Armagh being favourites. If Fermanagh could kick a point they'd have won the Ulster final easily.

Going on performances alone Cork or Dublin should be favourites but if Kerry get past Monaghan tommorrow they'd be hard to beat.

you see thats the thing no one team has put in performances you could call exceptional, apart from the Dubs, and their performances have to be balanced with the quality of the teams they faced.

Cork were gash against Limerick who in turn got knocked out by an utterly brutal Kildare. Cork only played well for 35 mins so far. Galway haven't played well. Fermanagh if they face a team willing to work as hard as them will be beaten. Kerry ? Who knows. Same with Monaghan.

02/08/2008, 6:51 PM
I can't wait for tomorrow I really can't. I hope to God our lads don't let us down
And I thought the Champions would be able to handle a wee bit of pressure.
All my Kerry cousins are shíttin bricks.
Why would you be worried? still 1-4 red hot favs and everyone knows Monaghan were just a one season team who Kerry will play around with, like a cat with a wee mouse, tomorrow :rolleyes:

Actually I have no expectations from Monaghan tomorrow. Unlike most counties, Kerry have the resource of skill, experience and depth of squad to fall back on over these past 4 weeks to get their championship campaign back on track.
They should have too much for Monaghan.

On the other hand, you can expect Banty has them mentally well prepared and ready to split rocks.
If Monaghan are not already burnt out, they will be just as fit, if not fitter than Kerry.
Imo they have a bit better team than last year, better subs
and as a team are playing better football. Beating Donegal this year was a much bigger achievement than last years at a neutral ground.

Jinxy
03/08/2008, 5:41 PM
Wexford, Kerry, Mayo and Kildare will all come through this weekend. Get down to the bookies and don't say you weren't told!

Leinster football rules! If Mayo weren't such damn chokers I would have had the full set.

03/08/2008, 5:45 PM
When is the draw for the quarter finals.?

03/08/2008, 7:49 PM
QF draw

Cork v Kildare
Dublin v Tyrone
Galway v Kerry
Armagh v Wexford

seanfhear
03/08/2008, 7:57 PM
Leinster football rules! If Mayo weren't such damn chokers I would have had the full set.
You took a flight of fancy backing mayo.I say this as a mayo man.Another year another broken heart.When will it end I beg you???????????

03/08/2008, 11:06 PM
It was a black weekend for football, 3 awful games and then Kerry win :)
Fortunately the last game had everything the other 3 games put together couldn't come close to matching.

Like last year, Kerry not only stood up to the challenge but came out of the blocks this time spitting lumps of iron. They were not going to let Monaghan get a head start on the scoreboard. This Kerry team want a three in row more than they want to live.

People did not rate Kerry's q/f win enough last year, this year this game had a semi final intensity about it. Kerry have that championship ambition, a 70 minute physical combativness to match the best, plenty of quality along with a few players still to hit real form.

The ref did very well, he read the game, treated the players with respect and took the heat out of a few situations, (apart from that gift of a penalty of course :))

05/08/2008, 6:56 PM
:D:D

Yes yes yes. At last that was sweet. It was good to see them beat a tough tough team.
The tactics worked well. As someone said to me today, Kerry seemed to get their scores easier than Monaghan got theirs, and I'd agree. Eoin Lennon had a fine game for the Farney as did Freeman, thats the worst game I've seen from Marc in a long time. delighted to see clerkin leave the field early unless it was for injury. Bring on Gaillimh and a change of tactics again.

05/08/2008, 7:00 PM
It was a black weekend for football, 3 awful games and then Kerry win :)
Fortunately the last game had everything the other 3 games put together couldn't come close to matching.

Like last year, Kerry not only stood up to the challenge but came out of the blocks this time spitting lumps of iron. They were not going to let Monaghan get a head start on the scoreboard. This Kerry team want a three in row more than they want to live.

People did not rate Kerry's q/f win enough last year, this year this game had a semi final intensity about it. Kerry have that championship ambition, a 70 minute physical combativness to match the best, plenty of quality along with a few players still to hit real form.

The ref did very well, he read the game, treated the players with respect and took the heat out of a few situations, (apart from that gift of a penalty of course :))

It was no gift lad, fully merited, and which I don't particularily like Deegan he was fair extremely solid and sensible.

It would be nice to see this Kerry team get the bloody credit they deserve. In this day and age to win two on the trot and be on the road to another and still not get the credit they deserve is hard. I'm saying this from the perspective of lucky all-irelands, lump of a full forward and the rest being crap as excuses.

05/08/2008, 8:52 PM
It would be nice to see this Kerry team get the bloody credit they deserve. In this day and age to win two on the trot and be on the road to another and still not get the credit they deserve is hard. I'm saying this from the perspective of lucky all-irelands, lump of a full forward and the rest being crap as excuses.

yeah:)
but wouldn't it be lovely if Kerry with all their talent played nice clean honest football????? instead of the cynical game they usually play

the Ga was shown up again this weekend......................ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
at least the Olympics and the golf will be on this weekend, and the Cork-Kilkenny cracker, thank god:)

By the way still think galway are the best team i have seen (so fingers crossed against Kerry)

06/08/2008, 7:02 AM
After what happened with Galvin you'd think the Kerry players would show a bit more respect to the officials......Declan O'Sullivan had other ideas the mouthy lout. The GAA better be careful it cracks down on this asap otherwise the game will morph into the Premier League (Ashley Cole's of this world).

06/08/2008, 7:47 AM
This holier than thou stuff, particularily from Ulster people I find funny. I don't defend that some Kerry players take things to the edge, Galvin and D O Sé in particular, but they have got their cummupence. But I hope to God geysir you're not trying to put our men on a higher plane in the cynicism stakes than say Dick Clerkin? Or Brian Dooher? O r Ryan McMenamin.

And to you Shakermaker, I suppose Trevor Mortimer was talking to himself when he came onto the field the last day, cause he did no different to declan, both men felt they were wronged and both men voiced their opinion.

I'm happy to admit our lads pull things to the wire at times. Some of ye aren't by the seem of it?

06/08/2008, 8:58 AM
This holier than thou stuff, particularily from Ulster people I find funny. I don't defend that some Kerry players take things to the edge, Galvin and D O Sé in particular, but they have got their cummupence. But I hope to God geysir you're not trying to put our men on a higher plane in the cynicism stakes than say Dick Clerkin? Or Brian Dooher? O r Ryan McMenamin.

And to you Shakermaker, I suppose Trevor Mortimer was talking to himself when he came onto the field the last day, cause he did no different to declan, both men felt they were wronged and both men voiced their opinion.

I'm happy to admit our lads pull things to the wire at times. Some of ye aren't by the seem of it?

Any backchat and you should be given a yellow, if they persist then a red. Shouldn't matter what colours you wear. I don't mind captains having a word but intimidating the ref is not on.

I didn't catch the T Mort incident but I've taped the game and will watch it again this weekend if I can bare it. The Mayo lads on the whole are too soft to do any of that stuff - that's why we'll never win anything. They couldn't play dirty or cynical if they were given the handbook - we have a lot to learn from Kerry, Tyrone, Armagh, Meath and Dublin. That isn't a dig it's a kind of compliment - playing clean and being Mr nice guy gets you nowhere.

06/08/2008, 9:30 AM
Any backchat and you should be given a yellow, if they persist then a red. Shouldn't matter what colours you wear. I don't mind captains having a word but intimidating the ref is not on.

I didn't catch the T Mort incident but I've taped the game and will watch it again this weekend if I can bare it. The Mayo lads on the whole are too soft to do any of that stuff - that's why we'll never win anything. They couldn't play dirty or cynical if they were given the handbook - we have a lot to learn from Kerry, Tyrone, Armagh, Meath and Dublin. That isn't a dig it's a kind of compliment - playing clean and being Mr nice guy gets you nowhere.

Agreed. If they came out and said captains are allowed approach the ref, that would be a step forward. I felt sorry for Mayo, I'd equate Conor Mortimer to Dessie Dolan, they're both bottlers when it really matters.

06/08/2008, 12:39 PM

I never said anything about the cynicism of the Kerry players but obviously I am much more objective and less touchy than a Kerryman about these matters :D

I would never mention such a thing as when D O'Se clocked Clerkin on the chin coming off the pitch at h/t in the Railway cup then ran away and didn't come out for the 2nd half :eek: :D

06/08/2008, 1:37 PM
I never said anything about the cynicism of the Kerry players but obviously I am much more objective and less touchy than a Kerryman about these matters :D

I would never mention such a thing ...

I know they're cynical it's stoopid to deny it. But sometimes the media (not you Geysir ;)) go on as if Kerry are the only ones at it.

To be fair to dara thats probably why he did it. I can't stand Clerkin. He's the bully boy to Lennons genuine talent.

Anyone here care for Ryan McMenamin?

06/08/2008, 3:33 PM
No one loves a ruffian unless he is one of our own.

I think the Galway Kerry game has a good chance to provide the best football game of the q/finals. That is if Galway aren't feeling too sorry for themselves about the luck of the draw.
Is Joe bergin fit?

06/08/2008, 6:33 PM
No one loves a ruffian unless he is one of our own.

I think the Galway Kerry game has a good chance to provide the best football game of the q/finals. That is if Galway aren't feeling too sorry for themselves about the luck of the draw.
Is Joe bergin fit?

Agreed :D
I hear Bergin won't be available at all. I would think Kerry would come through it, Tommy Griffin to start the next day and make a massive difference.

07/08/2008, 4:31 PM
The news today on Bergin is that he should be fully fit for the semi final :)
'Joe Bergin has recovered from a hamstring injury but his return was postponed by a quad strain sustained in training last week. If Galway find a way past Kerry, Bergin should be fit to feature in the All-Ireland semi-final.'

The Dublin game against Tyrone has been delayed, not by 15 minutes or 1/2 hour but by a whole week. BTW, that doesn't mean it will start on time.
The Dubs must have the omerta code imposed on their camp.
I have to admit, I am beginning to experience a strange emotion called sympathy for the Dubs.
Only one win in 25 years, you'd nearly think that it wouldn't be so bad if they got this one then we should be safe enough for another 15 or 20 years.

07/08/2008, 5:05 PM
Only one win in 25 years, you'd nearly think that it wouldn't be so bad if they got this one then we should be safe enough for another 15 or 20 years.
Yeah but then we'll have to hear about it for another 15 or 20 years.

09/08/2008, 6:31 PM
Another good win for Kerry today.

Thought they were in trouble for 5 minutes after the Galway goal but they got on top in midfield and got some great points to pull away.

Kerry full back line in trouble again but they find a way to score enough to win. Meehan was brilliant for Galway.

Can't see Cork or Kildare beating Kerry. Maybe the Dubs.

09/08/2008, 6:32 PM
Well done Wexford as well.

This proves standard in Ulster has fallen a lot. Good sign for Dublin before they play Tyrone next week.

09/08/2008, 6:45 PM
Great for Wexford. Missed it all as I was out playing ball myself. Hopefully Tyrone in the semi. The Northie teams really seem to suit them. When you consider the disaster against the Dubs it makes it an even bigger achievement.

Jinxy
09/08/2008, 9:32 PM
Great for Wexford. Missed it all as I was out playing ball myself. Hopefully Tyrone in the semi. The Nothie teams really seem to suit them. When you consider the disaster against the Dubs it makes it an even bigger achievement.

Wexford v the Dubs Take II would be a completely different game to the leinster final. Not saying Wexford would win it but they would be itching to set things straight. It's never nice for a team to have to play someone they've already beaten handily. Complacency is hard to avoid. I think Jason Ryan will secretly be hoping the Dubs take care of Tyrone. At this stage, there are no handy games. However there are only two teams left that could beat Kerry and thats Dublin & Cork.

10/08/2008, 12:09 PM
Galway Kerry was a marvelous game in the atrocious conditions.
Kerry were fitter mentally and physically in the last 1/4 and bossed Galway around then in all areas.

However there are only two teams left that could beat Kerry and thats Dublin & Cork.
If Cork get past Kildare they won't get another sniff against Kerry. Most of the problems, that Kerry had, have been ironed out.

Wexford had their homework done.
Even if I had expected them to win this one, their performance was still a surprise.
Getting to semi final these days is bigger deal than it use to be.

16/08/2008, 6:20 PM
Well, well, well, I have to say seeing the Dubs fans leaving with 20 minutes left brought a little smile to my face, the abuse they gave the Wexford fans that ducked out early at the Leinster final was unreal, that's what I call karma. :)

Wexford won't be intimidated by Tyrone, I think we might nick it and lose to Kerry by 10 points in the final. Tyrone do look like they found so me serious form though.

16/08/2008, 7:33 PM
Delighted to see the Dubs knocked out b ut I was surprised by how big the gap was. One of my Dub friends text me to say he was going home to cry.

16/08/2008, 11:52 PM
Well, well, well, I have to say seeing the Dubs fans leaving with 20 minutes left brought a little smile to my face, the abuse they gave the Wexford fans that ducked out early at the Leinster final was unreal, that's what I call karma. :)

Wexford won't be intimidated by Tyrone, I think we might nick it and lose to Kerry by 10 points in the final. Tyrone do look like they found so me serious form though.

Its called banter and slagging but most culchies do not get it.

17/08/2008, 12:33 AM
Its called banter and slagging but most culchies do not get it.

And most Dubs, given the bandwagon nature of the support, can give it but can't take it.

Ringo
17/08/2008, 5:52 AM
Delighted to see the Dubs knocked out b ut I was surprised by how big the gap was. One of my Dub friends text me to say he was going home to cry.

As a dubliner, Your very disloyal to your county;)

17/08/2008, 10:32 AM
And most Dubs, given the bandwagon nature of the support, can give it but can't take it.
Nonsense.
Most Dubs who follow the Championship and League campaign are good winners and good losers. When they get beat they are the first to congratulate you. GAA fans all over the country will testify to that.
The base to the Dublin support comes from about a 100 senior clubs.

Brian Dooher coming off the pitch yesterday was roundly applauded by Dub fans. Unless one is a díckhead, rival fans in Hill 16 on match day have good experiences whether the Dubs win or cruelly lose.
Cruel :D

Nobody who leaves early like to be noticed do they? and not by those drink fueled soccer blow ins ;)

17/08/2008, 10:47 AM
It's a big day for Wexford football but it has been coming and it's fully deserved. Probably better that they don't have to meet Dublin so soon but another Ulster team. :)
Tyrone are the most disciplined team in the country.
Their football was perfect yesterday but won't be perfect the next day and Wexford I presume won't buckle like the Dubs.

Many Tyrone fans will already be looking ahead to the AI Final but Mickey Harte won't.

17/08/2008, 11:50 AM
Does it get any better than watching Dublin getting their a$$ handed to them once again?!

17/08/2008, 2:42 PM
Of course it can get better, if it is your county doing the kicking :)

But surely yesterday was cruel and degrading punishment that not even the Dubs deserved. We should have more sympathy for a team that is so over burdened with carrying the weight of all that hype and expectations that they collapse in a heap.
Culchies would not gloat on such a spectacle would they?

19/08/2008, 10:30 AM
i think they woudl, but i also think that most culchies ( at least those that lived their at one/some point ) secrectly like the Dubs and want them to do well. I know I do at least.

I called it that tyrone would beat them though, and I can see wexford beating tyrone now. Ryan has the experience from doing the 3-in-a-row with St Marys so he has a winning mentality, even if he has a big funny head with big funny ears on him. Would be great to see them in a final. But wouldn't want them keeling over like they did against the DUbs though, much like waterford v kilkenny. These sorta teams can produce one huge game and then be crap the next one.

Soko
21/08/2008, 4:41 AM
i think they woudl, but i also think that most culchies ( at least those that lived their at one/some point ) secrectly like the Dubs and want them to do well. I know I do at least.

Not in the slightest. I do like seeing them win Leinster though as it sets them up for a bigger fall. Till next year boys:)

24/08/2008, 10:05 AM
Secretly like the Dubs? No chance. Lived there for a while and always had a healthy dislike for them. And all the hype from Evening Herald too about the 'Mighty Dubs' every day really used to annoy me too.

24/08/2008, 5:07 PM
How did Kerry though that away?

24/08/2008, 7:01 PM
I hope O'Mahony gets a 12 month suspension. What a *****. Grow some nuts. The Gooch is no better, you'd think he had been snipered by some Russian soldier.

24/08/2008, 8:09 PM
Cork played in the second half like they hadn't a brain between them.

How Kerry didn't win by 6 or 7 points is a mystery. Thank you Messers Brosnan and O'Sullivan.

Jinxy
25/08/2008, 9:58 AM
Fair play to Hayes for tucking it away. Penalties are hard enough to score at the best of times in gaelic football. When you effectively have the last kick of the game to decide whether you live to fight another day, to stick it in the corner like that takes some b*lls.