View Full Version : The Sam Maguire

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]

22/09/2008, 7:40 AM
Gutted - not a kerryman but was hoping they would win. Tyrone have a nasty streak - constant pulling and dragging and digging off the ball - the classic move is when a defender passes to midfield and when everybodys attention is gone he gets creamed

Like the Meath tem who invented it - terrible tripe and a huge pity because of the super players they have - dooher, cavanagh, harte, mcguigan - top class - super players but they ruin it for me by the elbos, knees and digs

:rolleyes: man you obviously have never played Ga then
also didnt Kerry get about 5 yellow cards all for dangerous tackles - tyrone just got the one!!!!

22/09/2008, 9:45 AM
Kerry got ambushed and I'm surprised that so many pundits went against Tyrone. Kerry hate playing Tyrone. They are rough, determined and do not **** themselves when they see the yellow and green jersey, unlike our shower and Cork.

The last 5 minutes was a sight to see, Kerry went into a shell and Tyrone just kept going up the gears. Kerry need to send out a search party for some of their big stars because when it came to the crunch they disappeared big time.

Mayo-Tyrone in the minors was a brilliant game of football. We were a little naive when 1 point up in injury time but they'll learn - hopefully next weekend with a win in the replay. Aiden O'Shea looks a monster, one for the future for sure.

22/09/2008, 10:10 AM
A very enjoyable final by the two top teams.

In truth it was a credit to the resilience of Kerry, that struggling in the 2nd half with a game plan that wasn't working, also having started with an injured Donaghy that they fought back in the 2nd half before Tyrone went into overdrive.
Overall, it was a thoroughly deserved win for Tyrone and a courageous attempt by Kerry to get the 3 in a row.

Torn-Ado
22/09/2008, 3:16 PM
This fist passing the ball over the bar mullarkey should be taken away from football.

22/09/2008, 3:58 PM
Gutted, but in an unusual way. Tyrone were superb, they thoroughly deserved. I can only echo what Geysir said.

In football terms it was a brutal game of football. The amount of mistakes was laughable and the goal that ultimately decided the game was testament to that.
In the qualifiers POS was commended for his substitutions; yesterday he has to be criticised for both selection (Brosnan instead of Galvin, Griffin instead of Reidy (who himself didn't have a terrible game)) and substitutions. It was obvious early on in the 2nd half that Sheehan and Brosnan weren't up for it, while the substitution of Scanlon (instead of Dara) was unforgivable in my book.

What was really noticeable was how Kerry were out on their feet by the time they got themselves back into contention. This has been a question mark over the management for 2 years now.

The better game of football was the minor game. A truely great display of football by both teams with some monsterous scores by Mayo and some wonderfully crafted scores by the Red Hand.

22/09/2008, 6:58 PM
Gutted, but in an unusual way. Tyrone were superb, they thoroughly deserved.
Gutted in an unusual way? :) well it wasn't Cork, was it.
I'd disagree with your recollection of the goal, it was scored when O'Neill had the vision to do his sublime 280 degree pass, that pass created the comical defensive mayhem.

Darragh & Tomas O'Sé and Declan Ó'Sullivan were inspirational.
In an era of midfield congestion and knock downs, Darragh has been outstanding.
Probably his farewell at this level?

I don't know about Pat O'Shea, you have to judge him by Kerry standards and we all know ye are effin animals when it comes to things like that.
The first 2 balls in finding the Gooch in plenty of space was a cute stroke. A question may be there with Donaghy starting the game.
Remember AI 2009 Kerry are 13/8 favs :)

Jinxy
22/09/2008, 10:55 PM
In football terms it was a brutal game of football.

It's gas how it's always a brutal game of football when Kerry lose.

23/09/2008, 10:46 AM
I'd disagree with your recollection of the goal, it was scored when O'Neill had the vision to do his sublime 280 degree pass, that pass created the comical defensive mayhem.

I don't know about Pat O'Shea, you have to judge him by Kerry standards and we all know ye are effin animals when it comes to things like that.
The first 2 balls in finding the Gooch in plenty of space was a cute stroke. A question may be there with Donaghy starting the game.

its funny in training at any level, you are always told not to do that passing over the shoulder mullarkey.

Minor game was great, hopefully connaught can do the three in a row. Mayo deserved it and should have won, i spose inexperience let htem down in the end, when they should have held onto the ball and just passed it about rather than playing an upfield ball.

23/09/2008, 3:41 PM
How far out was that Mayo free kick from Walsh to go a point ahead?
It looked to be around the 45m at an angle.
Not even ace sharpshooter Bryan Sheehan could rise above that level of pressure to emulate it in the seniors.

24/09/2008, 8:50 AM
ya was some kick he is a big lad too. Mayo were alot better than they were against Roscommon in the Connaught Final when it went to extra time especially their shooting.

24/09/2008, 4:25 PM

No my recollection of the goal is fine. the Mistake I was referring to was Reidy's effort at clearing it!
Tomas had a quiet enough first half, but improved, Declan did have a good game, but (obviously I'm on my own here) I don't think Dara played well, and he was out of it in the second half, and wasn't up to the pace of it. I would be surprised if he plays another game for Kerry, but its not the disaster it would have been a year or two ago. There are good options for Kerry there now, wouldn't be surprised to see Donaghy move out, with a foursome of Scanlon, Griffin, Donaghy and Moran, I'm content with that.

Jinxy it was a poor game of football, but it was damn exciting and the best atmosphere I've seen in Croker. To be fair everyone has said the last few all-irelands have been crap due to kerry winning so easily so ye can't have it every way.

24/09/2008, 6:52 PM
Cant wait for the final...oh the craic in Longford this weekend will be serious

24/09/2008, 7:35 PM
Good news, the minor final is on RTE 2 Saturday 2.30pm.

It's ladies day at Croker on Sunday and the Monaghan will be there in the senior final against Cork who are the dream team and the hot favourites.
Monaghan will be looking to turn around a defeat to Cork in the league in March by 3-16 to 0-06. But the Monaghan ladies are focussed on this prize and will not be daunted. The last I heard that there was going to be a huge exodus from Monaghan for the game in Croker.

25/09/2008, 11:12 AM
hopefully setanta will show the game for those over in England!

Jinxy
27/09/2008, 4:10 PM
Tough luck on Mayo to lose after extra-time. The Mayo keeper will be haunted by his mistake but he shouldn't be as he made one of the best saves I've seen in years to deny Tyrone a goal in normal time. Two excellent teams and I'me sure both of them will yield some quality senior players. Although Mayo folk will need to hide O'Shea in a cave somewhere so the aussies don't find him!

28/09/2008, 4:01 PM
Tough luck on Mayo to lose after extra-time. The Mayo keeper will be haunted by his mistake but he shouldn't be as he made one of the best saves I've seen in years to deny Tyrone a goal in normal time. Two excellent teams and I'me sure both of them will yield some quality senior players. Although Mayo folk will need to hide O'Shea in a cave somewhere so the aussies don't find him!

we'll just have to hope he hates the sun and money!!!

Gutted but we ran out of steam. Fingers crossed some of those young fella's make the grade at senior level. I have high hopes for a good few of em.

Jinxy
29/09/2008, 11:20 AM
we'll just have to hope he hates the sun and money!!!

Gutted but we ran out of steam. Fingers crossed some of those young fella's make the grade at senior level. I have high hopes for a good few of em.

Word is that O'Shea said he's only interested in playing football for Mayo. I'd say there was a few AFL scouts sniffing around already but I wouldn't say he's going anywhere.

29/09/2008, 5:01 PM
Have those Mayo lads stopped growing yet?

Looked like the force was with Tyrone this year. They deserved the Minor title no doubt but I can't help feeling that regardless of what Mayo came up with, it was going to be Tyrone's game.

16/10/2008, 12:11 PM
GAA all stars
G Connaughton (Westmeath)

C Gormley (Tyrone), Justin McMahon (Tyrone) J Keane (Westmeath)

D Harte (Tyrone) T O Se (Kerry) P Jordan (Tyrone)

E McGinley (Tyrone) S Ryan (Dublin)

B Dooher (Tyrone) Declan O'Sullivan (Kerry) S Cavanagh (Tyrone)

C Cooper (Kerry) K Donaghy (Kerry) R Clarke (Armagh)

A very good team. Tough on Wexford though.
Ryan the token Dub was by far Dublin's outstanding player but there is no way I'd pick him ahead of Daragh O'Sé.
I´m glad the poor performances of Cooper and Donaghy in the AIF were put into the perspective of some great performances over the championship.
Overall, every player selected did more than enough to merit an all star.

16/10/2008, 2:52 PM
wondering about westmeath.

I see the international rules panel have gone for brawn rather than skill and brain, yet they complain about the aussies being too physical. Its hypocritical to say the least.

16/10/2008, 4:37 PM
wondering about westmeath.

I see the international rules panel have gone for brawn rather than skill and brain, yet they complain about the aussies being too physical. Its hypocritical to say the least.

but to be fair Paul they both deserved an all star at least by now:)

17/10/2008, 4:06 PM
By the sounds of it Kerry are amassing a dream team on the line.

Pat O'Shea gone.
Jack O'Connor back. Fitzy selector, Pat O'Driscoll another selector. I can only imagine Pat Flanagan will come back as conditioning man(trainer) an area we were bad on in the past two years.

I'm looking forward to 2009 already.