View Full Version : The Sam Maguire

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

11/05/2008, 8:39 AM
Thing is starting today, ao might as well get the ball rolling:)

W meath V Longford
Westmeath should win this game easy enough, even if its in Longford. They have a newish team and are at last trying to play in a more attacking style than the usual hand passing rubbish they have been doing for years. Which is funny since they are playing the master of the hand pass back to the goalie tactic - Luke Dempsey. Good manager but his teams are so easy to read and obvious styler of (boring) football

Leitrim V New York
Wouldnt it be great if NY could win. they came close the last time they played Leitrim, but doubtful

Maybe Derry could do it this year?
Wexford for Leinster?

sullanefc
11/05/2008, 8:42 AM
(boring) football

I agree with this.

Rovers fan
11/05/2008, 10:12 AM
Wexford for Leinster?

no to both. Westmeath will win leinster,galway will winn connacht and kerry will probably lift sam in the end

11/05/2008, 1:13 PM
I'm hoping to God we give Westmeath a good game of it in Pearse Park, great day for a game, massive crowd expected. Anything can happen!

beautifulrock
11/05/2008, 2:04 PM
I agree with this.

Go to another thread then and dont waste yours or anyone else time here :rolleyes:

11/05/2008, 5:38 PM
I'm hoping to God we give Westmeath a good game of it in Pearse Park, great day for a game, massive crowd expected. Anything can happen!
Well we didnt do it, or deserve anything from the game. Terrible marking, and jesus the passing but Good atmosphere in Pearse Park though, great weather. Few bevvies now and the championship has begun! :D

theworm2345
11/05/2008, 8:58 PM
Leitrim V New York
Wouldnt it be great if NY could win. they came close the last time they played Leitrim, but doubtful

Correct me if I'm wrong but last time they couldn't have afforded to keep playing

By the way, was Chicago in this tournament?

11/05/2008, 9:01 PM
I'll be interested to see how Mayo do this season. MacDonald seems to be gone which has its positives and negatives. He slowed play down and drifted deep but he was an excellent player. Perhaps the other individuals will raise their game without him? Also there won't be the nonsense of the manager being in the middle of an election campaign this time.

11/05/2008, 10:32 PM
Poor enough game.
Still, it was a lot better than the EPL shype on Sky.
There looked to be a very good crowd (there is a parallel universe).
Unfortunately for Longford their goalkeeper had a dreadful performance and it's rare that I would ever ascribe that to an amateur. For the next 10 years he will be screaming out in his sleep, if not, he should be.
Also unfortunate for Longford, that the 2 goals were gifted to Westmeath.
The first due the goalkeeper doing his level best to get out of the way of the second worst penalty in GAA history.
The second goal happened when the ref fell into a temporary state of unconciousness while counting the steps made by the Westmeath forward , was it 10 or 12? before an audacious throw up in air, then neatly striking the ball under the goalkeeper who had helpfully jumped up to allow plenty of space. So after violating the 2 most basic rules in the GAA rule book with embarrassing ease, an impossible goal was scored from an impossible angle.
Longford came back with some good scores and got close enough at the end but
it's no use looking for some points in injury time against a cynical Westmeath, they will roll around the floor in mock agony at the merest touch.

sullanefc
12/05/2008, 12:08 AM
Go to another thread then and dont waste yours or anyone else time here :rolleyes:

Meeow!! Saucer of milk for that man!! :D

12/05/2008, 7:38 AM
Poor enough game.
Still, it was a lot better than the EPL shype on Sky.
There looked to be a very good crowd (there is a parallel universe).
Unfortunately for Longford their goalkeeper had a dreadful performance and it's rare that I would ever ascribe that to an amateur. For the next 10 years he will be screaming out in his sleep, if not, he should be.
Also unfortunate for Longford, that the 2 goals were gifted to Westmeath.
The first due the goalkeeper doing his level best to get out of the way of the second worst penalty in GAA history.
The second goal happened when the ref fell into a temporary state of unconciousness while counting the steps made by the Westmeath forward , was it 10 or 12? before an audacious throw up in air, then neatly striking the ball under the goalkeeper who had helpfully jumped up to allow plenty of space. So after violating the 2 most basic rules in the GAA rule book with embarrassing ease, an impossible goal was scored from an impossible angle.
Longford came back with some good scores and got close enough at the end but
it's no use looking for some points in injury time against a cynical Westmeath, they will roll around the floor in mock agony at the merest touch.
Yeah Dennis Glennon it was, he took 10 steps before the 2nd goal. They scored some magnificent points yesterday, they made it look easy. Our boys tried to walk each ball into the square instead of taking their points. In the last 5 mins Peter Foy (25) was hanging inside on his own and no one looked up and gave it to him, one ballooned wide and the other went over the bar. I'd rather them to go wide than in to the keepers hands which happened quite alot yesterday. what is it 10 weeks now til the qualifiers....god only knows what will happen between then and now.

12/05/2008, 11:25 AM
Next up for Westmeath is another toughish away game against Offaly.
You could have a Westmeath Dublin semi final. As it stands now Dublin would have to be firing on all their football cylinders to get past Westmeath.

Now that it has been scientifically proved that ice baths do not make better footballers,
the Dubs are back to the drawing board :)

12/05/2008, 11:33 AM
As long as the Dubs don't win Leinster again, I'll be happy.

We still haven't come on far enough to challenge for Leinster yet. I just hope we can get through the first rund this year.

In the grand scheme, I'm going for Kerry again (good thing my dad's a Kerryman ;)). It's still very early but I haven't seen any other team that can rival them or even contain them.

13/05/2008, 8:03 AM
Nice to see this thread back.
A relatively poor start to the championship, but good to see the games being played in the provincial grounds rather than being lost in Croker. This should be the case for all games in a province up to the final.
Kavanagh is supposedly lost to New York now, as the wait for Longford's next match is so long, which is a shame as he's a fine footballer, and would give Longford the edge over a lot of the counties of their standing. Also the Longford keeper was brutal. :D
Hoping for the 3 in-a-row this year, but I'd be worried about Munster, as O'Sé in his column 'its time for the cork players to shyte or get off the pot'.
Challengers? Tyrone, pure and simple. McGuigan is massive for them. A couple of tough Ulster championship games to ease them back in and then they can hit the ground running.
Can't say much about other counties, but I'm fairly happy with the Kerry squad. Solid backs and very good competition in the forwards, hopefully a winning combination.

Hibernian
13/05/2008, 1:09 PM
I think Carlow will win the double this year!!!!!

deecay
13/05/2008, 3:47 PM
Great time of year for the straw hat and dungarees manufacturers

13/05/2008, 6:40 PM

well only one player really. Glennon. Most people in westmeath know he is a bit of a fool (i mean he is a cop FFs), but he will get a few nice scores
Flanagan is the main man of the team, and is a joy to watch

Rocky77
14/05/2008, 1:31 PM
Luke Dempsey. Good manager

Ah now here...

14/05/2008, 1:57 PM
Ah now here...
While I think there are better than Luke, take time to have a look with what any manager that comes in here has to work with...

14/05/2008, 2:35 PM
Luke dempsey is a decent manager as far as I'm concerned. I feel sorry for him as he's widely expected to lose his best player to the $$$$ in NY, as their next game isn't till mid June if I'm right. As Maz says he doesn't have that much to work with

Off topic - The expectations of some counties are poor enough, some counties have completely unjustified expectations. Gaelic is odd as success is measured in different ways, success to waterford would be to make the provincial semi and maybe win a qualifier game

Jinxy
14/05/2008, 3:06 PM
I think Carlow will win the double this year!!!!!

No way man. The reggae boys will be dumped out by the handsome devils from the Royal County this Sunday!

14/05/2008, 6:03 PM
What's the story on that appeal for the Parnell 8?
appeal based on - that no one can/dare pass judgement on Meath :p

Still nothing much to whet the appetite this Sunday

Sunday
Leinster Championship
Páirc an Chrocaigh 2.00pm Cill Dara v Cill Mhantáin Live RTE 2
Referee: John Bannon
3.50pm An Mhí v The Reggae Boys NOT LIVE

4.00pm -- Connacht
Pearse Stadium 4.00pm Gaillimh v Ros Comáin Live RTE 2.
This might have been the one to watch in previous years but
Roscommon for various reason have been dreadful this year and Galway should stroll it.

Ulster Casement Park 3.45pm Aontroim v An Cabhán

14/05/2008, 9:02 PM
As long as the Dubs don't win Leinster again, I'll be happy.....
Dubs are only realistic chance of bringing Sam to Leinster,

14/05/2008, 9:32 PM
One young player to watch as far as Donegal are concerned is Michael Murphy, he's only 18 but he's a sublime footballer and will be one of the top full forwards about.
Donal Shine is class for Roscommon but unless Seamie O'Neill can produce the goods in midfield and supply the lad then he will be wasted there.

Imo, the winner of Donegal - Derry will win Ulster. Donegal have meesed about a bit in the league and have blooded afew new players. Some players are only just coming into form and back from injury.
I, for once am confident going into the Ulster champoinship, if we win that then anyhting is possible.
Galway are dark horses imo along with Cork.
Looking forward to the championship, poor game at the weekend but in all honesty, it wasn't really going to be that good. Personally I think Galway - Roscommon will be a cracker, knowing a few folk in the Roscommon camp and they reckon the new manager has got the lads really buzzing.

14/05/2008, 10:30 PM
Dubs are only realistic chance of bringing Sam to Leinster,
Then I'd rather it stays out of Leinster.

15/05/2008, 8:25 AM
Luke dempsey is a decent manager

He was fairly good when he managed out Minors (1995) and U21's (1999)
to All Ireland victories but I dont thik he got the respect of the Seniors.

15/05/2008, 9:06 AM
Then I'd rather it stays out of Leinster.

Me too :p

15/05/2008, 9:09 AM

Yep he seems too nice to be a manager ( well a successful one anyway).
On the surface it would appear Pat O'Shea is similar (i.e. a nice guy) but he's as tough as nails and was a successful player in a couple of codes who couldn't dedicate to the intercounty scene as a player. He has the respect.

15/05/2008, 9:17 AM
Anyone care to predict the football?
Leinster: Laois/Meath v Dublin/Offaly - I can see Meath taking Dublin if the Dubs are looking at the bigger picture of Sam
Connaught: Mayo
Munster: Kerry
Ulster: Monaghan/Derry v Tyrone - tyrone can come through this I think. For all the talk of Monaghan last year, they still haven't beaten an established team in Championship. When they do that I'll consider them real contenders.

All-Ireland:
Honestly, Kerry. With the squad they have and its better its getting, they should be able to do the business. The Monaghan match was the pivotal game last year. It showed O'Shea that the work done in the 6 week layoff was wrong and mistimed. If the same situation arises this year, they'll be better prepared.

Rocky77
15/05/2008, 9:47 AM
While I think there are better than Luke, take time to have a look with what any manager that comes in here has to work with...

Fair point, but some of the stuff I've been hearing about the way things are being run is comical. He's lost the dressingroom and it would take a miracle run in the qualifiers to save him.

15/05/2008, 10:22 AM
Fair point, but some of the stuff I've been hearing about the way things are being run is comical. He's lost the dressingroom and it would take a miracle run in the qualifiers to save him.

Thats the problem upset people inside the camp leaking stuff. Man the shyte gossip we hear every year from bloody begrudgers in and around the Kerry squad is ridiculous.
Even my own clann were brutal for it! The reason Kerry were beaten in 01/02/03 was because there wasn't enough townies on the team! Bloody hell.

15/05/2008, 10:34 AM
Hearsay Rocky and to be honest, isnt our County Board the ones who should answer to the way things are run.
Luke Dempsey has never had an easy run of it, players are very close knit and if something is said to one you can be sure others are gonna back the player up. This is all well and good, but if a player isnt pulling his weight, management should be able to call the shots....not always the case here.
He did well enough while here but I do feel there is time for change, shake things up a bit and that includes the departure of some players.

As for qualifiers, from what I hear we will be lucky to have a team. Rumour mill is in full flow, but a few apparently going to America, plus lads are gonna go back to playing with their clubs and you have to allow for injuries and the likes, so I cant see that miracle run happening

Rocky77
15/05/2008, 11:18 AM
Hearsay Rocky and to be honest, isnt our County Board the ones who should answer to the way things are run.
Luke Dempsey has never had an easy run of it, players are very close knit and if something is said to one you can be sure others are gonna back the player up. This is all well and good, but if a player isnt pulling his weight, management should be able to call the shots....not always the case here.
He did well enough while here but I do feel there is time for change, shake things up a bit and that includes the departure of some players.

As for qualifiers, from what I hear we will be lucky to have a team. Rumour mill is in full flow, but a few apparently going to America, plus lads are gonna go back to playing with their clubs and you have to allow for injuries and the likes, so I cant see that miracle run happening

Who's gonna still be around at this stage have you heard?

15/05/2008, 11:20 AM
who will be around I'm not so sure. I have heard RUMOURS of Brian Kavanagh Jamsie Martin being gone. Also heard that Paul Barden has announced he has retired...again not sure how true that is. By and large there could be a few key players gone by July!

Hoping these rumours arent true.

Rocky77
15/05/2008, 11:31 AM
Here's a question for you: do you ever get the feeling the Paul Barden never fulfilled his potential? Don't get me wrong, he's been our best player often enough but I remember his debut year and he was arguably better when he was 19, in my opinion at least.

I'd be surprised if kavangh went off too. This is his first season with a new club so I'm sure he'll fancy a bit of that.

15/05/2008, 12:11 PM
Here's a question for you: do you ever get the feeling the Paul Barden never fulfilled his potential? Don't get me wrong, he's been our best player often enough but I remember his debut year and he was arguably better when he was 19, in my opinion at least.

I'd be surprised if kavangh went off too. This is his first season with a new club so I'm sure he'll fancy a bit of that.

I got the impression from him that he wouldn't be starting for crokes.
Still I find it funny that a poor team (from Sundays viewing at least) have so many offers to play ball in America. Kavanagh exluded.

15/05/2008, 1:20 PM
Wexford have a great shot at Leinster this year. Knocking on the door for the last three or four years, but look like they have the belief to make a real breakthrough now. I can't believe people are writing them off to be honest, we've even got forwards other than Matty Forde that can score. Most of the other Leinster teams seem to have stagnated or gone backwards, Westmeath and Dublin are the obvious favorites, the Dubs have been our bogey team but Westmeath would hold no fear at all.

15/05/2008, 2:07 PM
Dublin championship doesnt get underway for a while though? So what happens here for the next 10 weeks wouldnt be of much concern to Brian?! Maybe I'm wrong

As for Paul Barden, I agree with you but to be honest I hold so much respect for the man in what he has gone through. He is plagued with a back injury and more and yet has been one of our key players!

15/05/2008, 2:08 PM
I got the impression from him that he wouldn't be starting for crokes.
Still I find it funny that a poor team (from Sundays viewing at least) have so many offers to play ball in America. Kavanagh exluded.
Not all are going to play ball, some are off travelling as far as I know

15/05/2008, 4:58 PM
Westmeath and Dublin are the obvious favorites, the Dubs have been our bogey team but Westmeath would hold no fear at all.
Actually, Westmeath are the outsiders at 9/1.
I think they are a very good bet. Not reading too much into beating a Dublin with a good 5 players missing but I like their general play and midfield strength. And as you remark they hold no fear.
On Ulster:
McGuigan's return for Tyrone has been offset by the retirement of Stephen O'Neill. Mulligan has been out since March and probably will be a few kilos over the limit:). Nevertheless Tyrone should get to the Ulster final past Down and Armagh.
The other side of the draw has the look of a Tarentino shootout,
Fermanagh v Monaghan, Donegal V Derry.
Last year Monaghan beat Derry handy enough and destroyed Donegal.
This year I have my doubts about Monaghan, the squad's limitations in numbers and quality get more and more exposed as the games are notched up but pride and effort will not be lacking.
Derry are in a stronger place since losing to Dublin last year. Then Paddy Bradley only started to play a bit in the last game, this year he looks lethal.

The form final is Derry V Tyrone with Tyrone favourites.

15/05/2008, 6:02 PM
I'll be interested to see how Mayo do this season. MacDonald seems to be gone which has its positives and negatives. He slowed play down and drifted deep but he was an excellent player. Perhaps the other individuals will raise their game without him? Also there won't be the nonsense of the manager being in the middle of an election campaign this time.

we're surely due a Sam :D

I'd love to have Kieran back, on his day there is no finer player but his fitness would surely be a concern.

gilberto_eire
15/05/2008, 6:21 PM
we're surely due a Sam :D

I'd love to have Kieran back, on his day there is no finer player but his fitness would surely be a concern.

Not a hope of that happening, when will ye realise and give up? ;)

With a bit of luck we could make it, we badly need a midfield though, have'nt replaced Kevin Walsh or O'Domhnaill yet, with Walsh gone 4 years and O'Domhnaill at least twice more!.

15/05/2008, 6:41 PM
Not a hope of that happening, when will ye realise and give up? ;)

With a bit of luck we could make it, we badly need a midfield though, have'nt replaced Kevin Walsh or O'Domhnaill yet, with Walsh gone 4 years and O'Domhnaill at least twice more!.

The Sam is turning into a bit of an obsession for most Mayo folk and the longer it takes the worse it gets.

I haven't got a clue how we'll do this year, the optimism only starts gathering momentum if we get out of Connaught as winners. you guys roughed us up big time last year and it was as if our players didn't realise how ferocious a game with Galway can be........hopefully if we meet again this summer we'll be better prepared.

15/05/2008, 7:07 PM

yeah he was great for Westmeath and kind of built that senior team too
I think the players actually let him down, and then you have Dolan senior trying to run the team from afar.
After they won the Leinster a few of the players brought the trophy to Luke to thank him for their success, which speaks volumes about what they tought of him
But the style that his teams play is very predictable and will not get you any all irelands

15/05/2008, 7:17 PM
This weekend
really looking forward to Kildare V Wicklow
Surely Kildare will beat Wicklow? But will be interesting to see how Kildare play with their new man in charge

Meath V Carlow, meath to win

galway to beat Roscommin. But why the hell is this on RTE. Connaught champs games are torture to watch, really boring stuff.

would much prefer to see antrim V cavan on the box. Will be a close game, but i actually think cavan could do it, even if they are not on form

15/05/2008, 8:36 PM
No brownie points though for picking Galway 1/10 and Meath 1/20.
Kildare are a better bet at 2/9 :)
Their new man would become their old man if they don't beat Wicklow.

gilberto_eire
15/05/2008, 10:21 PM
Galway to beat Roscommin. But why the hell is this on RTE. Connaught champs games are torture to watch, really boring stuff.

Antrim Vs Cavan?? That's no bad decision by RTE, cop on will ya, not one of those counties have any prospects of winning it. We're one of the stronger counties and even the Rossies would take either of those boys!!.

Connacht games torture to watch?... over the Ulster hand-passing play which has destroyed the game down south over the past 10 years?.

Edit: Your prayers have been answered 4 games online on sunday!!

16/05/2008, 10:17 AM
It's possible that Micko has been playing a cute preparation game with the Wicklow boys and they could all be looking world beaters in training and ready to ambush Kildare.
They can be tenacious and sometimes a good team will have to beat them repeatedly with a stick to shake them off.

Micko gets a whiff of Sam.
"I love this time of year. Long days, good grounds, real championship weather - you can’t beat it. I’m as excited about next Sunday’s game as I was when I first took charge of Kerry all those years ago. I’m told Wicklow have never won a Leinster senior championship game at Croke Park so there’s an incentive. I’m still as mad about football as I ever was."
"My job is to get Wicklow playing to their full potential and see where it takes us. League form doesn’t count in the championship."

16/05/2008, 10:18 AM
Thing is starting today, ao might as well get the ball rolling:)

W meath V Longford
Westmeath should win this game easy enough, even if its in Longford. They have a newish team and are at last trying to play in a more attacking style than the usual hand passing rubbish they have been doing for years. Which is funny since they are playing the master of the hand pass back to the goalie tactic - Luke Dempsey. Good manager but his teams are so easy to read and obvious styler of (boring) football

Leitrim V New York

Wexford for Leinster?

Benno, you are a very strange lad, i can remember you going on giving out about gaelic for ages and yet you start this thread....

16/05/2008, 10:32 AM
One young player to watch as far as Donegal are concerned is Michael Murphy, he's only 18 but he's a sublime footballer and will be one of the top full forwards about.
Donal Shine is class for Roscommon but unless Seamie O'Neill can produce the goods in midfield and supply the lad then he will be wasted there.

Imo, the winner of Donegal - Derry will win Ulster. Donegal have meesed about a bit in the league and have blooded afew new players. Some players are only just coming into form and back from injury.
I, for once am confident going into the Ulster champoinship, if we win that then anyhting is possible.
Galway are dark horses imo along with Cork.
Looking forward to the championship, poor game at the weekend but in all honesty, it wasn't really going to be that good. Personally I think Galway - Roscommon will be a cracker, knowing a few folk in the Roscommon camp and they reckon the new manager has got the lads really buzzing.

Ya mixer is supposed to be a good lad, old looking for a young fella though. To be honest there is loads wrong with ros football and it all stems from club football ( and an arrogance ) that I dont think I will bore people with on this forum but i have a few good stories/examples. Usually I would come on here and lie ( beautifulrock you'll like that admission :D ) about roscommon and their expectations and what not, but this year I cant see anything really. Seamie O'Neill will come on and catch 3 or 4 crows and do nothing else for the rest of the game ( if he were from kerry, he would have been one of the greatest footballers of all time ), shine is a good player and a very good golfer also but is still too young, cregg is a good player, we have lots of decent forwards to be honest, who are just young, a little inexperienced and not tough enough, but a few more years and that will change. The main problem lies in midfield and the half-backs, id love to see francie grehan back ( although over-weight and what not ) and Shane Curran to shore up the defence and breed a bit of confidence, but thats not going to happen. Still though looking forward to my rare occassion of getting to wear my ros jersey and riling the galway gobsh1tes i know over here. :D