View Full Version : The Sam Maguire
Pages :
[
5]
Still think Kerry will do more than Cork in this years champs.
The referring so far has been terrible, it looks like the GA is now a bit like soccer with players diving and gettting easy frees. I thought it was awful that none of the TV3 panel mentioned anything about all the easy frees giving out in the Dublin -Wmeath game. It ruined the game for me.
And i dont think any of the 3 players yesterday deserved to be sent off. Maybe the refs are trying to make a name for themselves?
Also why do some Ga players now have gumshields? Bizarre
This is why.
http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/ImageGallery/Kerrywallop%20%282%29.jpg
08/07/2008, 8:49 AM
yeah but some of the hurlers dont even wear helmets!!!!
ollie
08/07/2008, 12:40 PM
Also why do some Gaa players now have gumshields? Bizarre
I wear one..it's a physical sport and you're going to get belts..some in the mouth...while I didn't really wear any up to a few years ago I wouldn't go on a field without one now. You'll get a knock in the mouth every now and again so why take the chance?
I got a bad knock(accidental) during a club game a few months ago where if I didn't have the mouth guard on, my front tooth(teeth) would have been knocked clean out...I still had to get a root canal on that tooth though but I'd take that over a fake tooth any day!
Also what a second half performance by Cork...and I've never experienced rain like the rain we got at half time during the game.I was almost crouched down on the ground with my umbrella and the rain was boucing off the ground and hitting my face it was raining so hard. Still though it was well worth it...like 99 all over again! Great to hear the banks being roared out after the presentation! Pride restored! Now to do a number on them in Croker!
Also why do some Ga players now have gumshields? Bizarre
My little brother who is just 13 years old, had two teeth knocked out in a game and had to under go surgery again so I'm all for gumshields.
11/07/2008, 7:17 AM
The big one has finally arrived.......the Connacht final :) I'm flying over tomorrow for it so I'm hoping we turn up this year. Galway knocked us around big time last year so fingers crossed we make amends. We have to win Sunday because we are absolutely useless in the qualifiers......the momentum is lost.
11/07/2008, 8:49 AM
My 10 year old is play both football and GAA. The GAA is starting to get competitive now. He got an elbow in the mouth last week, was thinking of getting him a gum shield. Just wondering how much they cost.
11/07/2008, 2:59 PM
The big one has finally arrived.......the Connacht final :) I'm flying over tomorrow for it so I'm hoping we turn up this year. Galway knocked us around big time last year so fingers crossed we make amends. We have to win Sunday because we are absolutely useless in the qualifiers......the momentum is lost.
be sure to cheer on the ros minors in the match beforehand.
11/07/2008, 5:04 PM
I'd make Roscommon slight favourites for that one Paul. Mayo haven't won a Connacht minors title since 2001 so maybe we are due one?!
11/07/2008, 6:05 PM
I wear one..it's a physical sport and you're going to get belts..some in the mouth...while I didn't really wear any up to a few years ago I wouldn't go on a field without one now. You'll get a knock in the mouth every now and again so why take the chance?
I got a bad knock(accidental) during a club game a few months ago where if I didn't have the mouth guard on, my front tooth(teeth) would have been knocked clean out...I still had to get a root canal on that tooth though but I'd take that over a fake tooth any day!
!
actually thats fair enough:)
i guess it was different in my day:) .jeez i remember in the old days, with my local team, running the sheep and cows off the local pitch before a game, then having to wipe the cow****e off my legs and arms after the game , and we had to change behind the bushes.....never mind wearing gumshields!!!
i guess people are softer (smarter?) these days
Or perhaps the game has just changed and become that bit tougher ;)
12/07/2008, 4:02 PM
I'd make Roscommon slight favourites for that one Paul. Mayo haven't won a Connacht minors title since 2001 so maybe we are due one?!
well yer prolly gone now, but no mayo are straight favourites, roscommon forwards are very poor.
13/07/2008, 5:59 PM
Two fairly entertaining matces today. The Connacht final was a cracker, fair play to Galway for staying cool. Mayo kept losing points as soon as they had just scored.
Tipp were too good for Clare. Delighted to see them do it so well. Cummins attitude was amazing. Saving a pointless free in the last few minutes and celebrating that way was a joy to watch.
gilberto_eire
13/07/2008, 7:22 PM
Was up in Castlebar for the game, i'm now convinced that we have the WORST midfield in the country, it's pathetic the amount of ball we lose in the middle sector, on todays game alone i'd put it at 80% of kickouts were won by Mayo, granted Mayo would have one of the strongest in the country but it's still not good enough, i reckon we would be head and shoulders above the rest if we could sort that area, we can compete with anyone even with the problem.
Was very disappointing to throw away a 7 point lead, when they got there goal i taught that was it, battled back well from there though and never let them get back on top!:D
14/07/2008, 10:22 AM
Was up in Castlebar for the game, i'm now convinced that we have the WORST midfield in the country, it's pathetic the amount of ball we lose in the middle sector, on todays game alone i'd put it at 80% of kickouts were won by Mayo, granted Mayo would have one of the strongest in the country but it's still not good enough, i reckon we would be head and shoulders above the rest if we could sort that area, we can compete with anyone even with the problem.
Was very disappointing to throw away a 7 point lead, when they got there goal i taught that was it, battled back well from there though and never let them get back on top!:D
How much moaning would you be doing if you had lost? :)
It was a ding dong battle in the second half, really enjoyable to watch for a neutral.
The ref should have played for one of those GAA draws :rolleyes:
.jeez i remember in the old days, with my local team, running the sheep and cows off the local pitch before a game, then having to wipe the cow****e off my legs and arms after the game , and we had to change behind the bushes.....never mind wearing gumshields!!!
That still happens in my parts....but it's when we're playing soccer matches...pigs sh!te is grand..you can scatter it around a bit but but cow sh!te is different altogether..luckily I only recall playing in that once pitch where cows left their mark.:):o
My 10 year old is play both football and GAA. The GAA is starting to get competitive now. He got an elbow in the mouth last week, was thinking of getting him a gum shield. Just wondering how much they cost.
Ah you'd get a good one for under 20. I'd go with shock doctor.they're the ones I have. You can go to the dentist to get ones as well but they cost a lot more.
15/07/2008, 10:29 AM
Got back late last night and am just about recovered. For the guys who were moaning about how boring Connacht games (earlier on in the thread) are take a bow. Great game and the atmosphere was fantastic. We didn't deserve the win after a shambles of a first half to be honest, we played well in the second half and Galway were there for the taking but Heaney and co thought it would be a good idea to let Joyce have the freedom of the pitch. You give a class player like that the time to do damage and he'll win games. I'll watch the game tonight but I'm 100% certain that the meath ref was an absolute ****. Until Mayo start picking hard men and not midgets with no fire they will never win an AI. There are plenty of good players in north Mayo who are overlooked because Conor Mortimer doesn't want to play with em. Kieran McDonald meanwhile sits on his hole whilst our front 6 couldn't hit a point from 20 yards.........crazy times.
15/07/2008, 9:01 PM
Got back late last night and am just about recovered. For the guys who were moaning about how boring Connacht games (earlier on in the thread) are take a bow. Great game and the atmosphere was fantastic..
that was me then:)
still it wasnt as good as a real football (soccer) game, loads of simple mistakes and the like but im willing to put my hand up and say it was a good game:)
i think Joyce is class, but man did he have to dive like a girl?
18/07/2008, 10:25 AM
Will the Dubs turn up on time this weekend for the Leinster final clash? How difficult is it to get to a game on time? I hope the GAA do not go back on their word to throw in regardless of how many fans are still in the Big Tree. Would be nice to see Wexford win, same goes for Fermanagh.......the qualifiers would sure look tasty.
EAFC_rdfl
18/07/2008, 11:40 AM
i honestly cant see it, there will be an even bigger crowd (hence more fair weathers) so you can be sure there will still be plenty arriving in and around throw in time. Would be nice to see fermanagh win alright, but Armagh are looking like the team from a couple of years ago again. Donegal to get our season back on track tomorrow too, think there will be some big changes to our forward line as well
18/07/2008, 11:45 AM
i honestly cant see it, there will be an even bigger crowd (hence more fair weathers) so you can be sure there will still be plenty arriving in and around throw in time. Would be nice to see fermanagh win alright, but Armagh are looking like the team from a couple of years ago again. Donegal to get our season back on track tomorrow too, think there will be some big changes to our forward line as well
I plan on being there for 3 o'clock, bringing the girlfriend though (she hates pretty much all sport but would enjoy seeing the Dubs beat Wexford) so wouldn't be surprised if we end up being late. Looking forward to it, it's a massive occasion for Wexford football, it's a long way from national league games in front of about 100 people in Wexford Park.
18/07/2008, 12:30 PM
You should beat Roscommon easily enough. The qualifiers didn't pair up too many big clashes (bar Monaghan-Derry). Round 2 could be interesting if all the big guns win this weekend.
18/07/2008, 12:34 PM
I plan on being there for 3 o'clock, bringing the girlfriend though (she hates pretty much all sport but would enjoy seeing the Dubs beat Wexford) so wouldn't be surprised if we end up being late. Looking forward to it, it's a massive occasion for Wexford football, it's a long way from national league games in front of about 100 people in Wexford Park.
An hour early? Good lad! I just don't understand the Dubs mentality of leaving the pubs around Drumcondra two minutes before the start. Is it because they know that the GAA will just move the time to accomodate them?
I see RTE are picking Wexford to beat Dublin this Sunday.
18/07/2008, 12:46 PM
An hour early? Good lad! I just don't understand the Dubs mentality of leaving the pubs around Drumcondra two minutes before the start. Is it because they know that the GAA will just move the time to accomodate them?
I see RTE are picking Wexford to beat Dublin this Sunday.
Goddam I was hoping none of the "experts" would tip us. I think we have a great chance, it should be an open game the key for Wexford will be midfield and the full back line. If we can break even in the middle the forwards are there to win the game, the biggest danger is the full back line getting too isolated and the Dubs sneaking a few goals. Wexford used to freeze every time they got to Croke Park, but, the mentality really seems to have changed this year, the attitude reminds me of the hurlers under Liam Griffin, they just seem to be sure that this is their destiny and nobody has the right to take it away from them.
I'd say a high scoring game, maybe even a draw, Dublin 2-12 Wexford 1-15.
I hate being late. Also wouldn't mind catching a bit of the minor match.
Looking forward to our game vs Laois tomorrow. No idea how it will go, well I do but we'll see. We are without quite a few tomorrow, Paul Kelly (America), David Barden, Paddy Dowd and Enda Williams (injured). Few new lads called into the squad.
18/07/2008, 6:12 PM
ok here is what i think will pan out.................
Offaly + 6 in the hurling Versus Waterford
They were awesome last week
Galway to beat cork in the hurling
westmeath -4 to beat Tipp
laois to beat longford
fermanagh + 3 to beat armagh
Wexford +3 to beat Dublin
cavan to beat kildare
Down - 2 to beat offaly
monaghan + 2 to beat derry
limerick +4 to beat meath
roscommin + 10 to beat donegal
tyrone - 4 to beat louth
most of them are all evens except cavan and roscommin:)
19/07/2008, 10:32 AM
ok here is what i think will pan out.................
Offaly + 6 in the hurling Versus Waterford
They were awesome last week
Galway to beat cork in the hurling
westmeath -4 to beat Tipp
laois to beat longford
fermanagh + 3 to beat armagh
Wexford +3 to beat Dublin
cavan to beat kildare
Down - 2 to beat offaly
monaghan + 2 to beat derry
limerick +4 to beat meath
roscommin + 10 to beat donegal
tyrone - 4 to beat louth
most of them are all evens except cavan and roscommin:)
Kildare going well by all accounts and its in St Conleths. Cavan won't win. Waterford to take Offaly in the Hurling
19/07/2008, 4:49 PM
how do you spell roscommon? btw how the hell do you think the ros could beat donegal by +10 points?
Its horrid listening to GAA on radio. Ros have been fierce unlucky, that bannon fella is a knob, everytime ros play he is involved in controversy, sending off cregg for nothing and not giving a penalty when it was a clear pick up off the ground. Hate this we were doing well as well. Can only see it being a Donegal + 3/4. Still 2 points down at half time after being 7 points down after 14 minutes is good.
19/07/2008, 8:00 PM
how do you spell roscommon? btw how the hell do you think the ros could beat donegal by +10 points?
Its horrid listening to GAA on radio. Ros have been fierce unlucky, that bannon fella is a knob, everytime ros play he is involved in controversy, sending off cregg for nothing and not giving a penalty when it was a clear pick up off the ground. Hate this we were doing well as well. Can only see it being a Donegal + 3/4. Still 2 points down at half time after being 7 points down after 14 minutes is good.
6/10 isnt too bad really:)
sorry - it isnt to beat them by 10 points, but that they have a handicap start of 10 points , as in the bookie (ie they have a headstart with 10 points):)
19/07/2008, 8:22 PM
Limerick-Meath. Wow. It would have been a shock if Limerick just edged it but to batter Meath by that much???!!!!
19/07/2008, 8:44 PM
Limerick-Meath. Wow. It would have been a shock if Limerick just edged it but to batter Meath by that much???!!!!
Delighted to see that result:D
We robbed Limerick in the Munster semi and good to see them recovering from that.
Amazing scoreline. Was there a few sent off?
Should have beaten Laois yesterday, such a frustrating game to watch. Leading by 2 points and then they get a goal. 13 wides... Thats it for another year!
20/07/2008, 2:59 PM
I'm torn here. Who to cheer for: The Northern neighbours or the Southern ones?
I really don't want Dublin to win again, but then again I don't want Wexford to win either.
EAFC_rdfl
21/07/2008, 8:37 AM
Time to merge connaught, munster and leinster!!!! That dublin game yesterday was a joke and something has to be done. compare it to the ulster final, which if nothing else was a close battle, and fermanagh could and probably should have won, they missed a handful of easy enough frees.
Not too disappointed with the draw, home to monaghan will be a good test, and will show us where we stand. Its one thing beating roscomon by 8 points, but if we can turn over monaghan, especially after last year, then at least we are progressing
21/07/2008, 9:09 AM
Dublin needed a challenge yesterday. Instead they had attack vs defence for 35 minutes and IMO it will not help them in their quest for an AI. They will be going into the Q finals uncooked and will probably buckle at the first difficult hurdle.
First half of yesterdays Ulster final was dreadful but I really enjoyed the second half. Armagh were lucky to hang on.
21/07/2008, 9:16 AM
Everything that could go wrong did go wrong in that second half for Wexford. Destroyed in midfield, full back line exposed, forwards froze, belief just melted away.
It was depressing to watch, although I think it hurt a lot less as a spectator to get hammered like that than it would have to have been pipped in a tight match. It'll be hard to bounce back from this, but looking at the teams we might meet in the qualifiers it's still possible.
Delighted to see that result:D
We robbed Limerick in the Munster semi and good to see them recovering from that.
Yeah I'm delighted for them also..good to see that they got a good draw as well especially now that they'll be playing at home. Have a real chance of making the quarters now.
21/07/2008, 10:17 AM
Limerick v Meath
Longford v Laois
Kildare v Cavan
Offaly v Down
Louth v Tyrone
Tipperary v Westmeath
Donegal v Roscommon
Monaghan v Derry
Jeez h chris, Westmeath were a total embaressment yesterday< when will Dolan step upto the plate:(
well i didnt do too badly there me thinks (for a guy who doesnt particularly rate Ga as a sport:))
Cavan were close too, damn
Pity to see galway losing the hurling, have a soft spot for Ger Lough and i hope he keeps at it with them
Great to see Meath lose, Coyle was a right arrogant tosser:). Jeez those meath men HATE losing
Luke was right to step down with Longford. I like the guy but he is a one trick pony
Koeghan gone with Cavan. Good, I really think they can do much more with what they have.
Sorry to say i didnt seee the Leinster Final, the golf was on. It looked awful.
Are Dublin really that good?
anyway here we go again.........
GAA FOOTBALL ALL-IRELAND QUALIFIERS SECOND ROUND
Donegal v Monaghan
Tyrone v Westmeath
Limerick v Kildare
Laois v Down
21/07/2008, 11:57 AM
Everything that could go wrong did go wrong in that second half for Wexford. Destroyed in midfield, full back line exposed, forwards froze, belief just melted away.
It was depressing to watch, although I think it hurt a lot less as a spectator to get hammered like that than it would have to have been pipped in a tight match. It'll be hard to bounce back from this, but looking at the teams we might meet in the qualifiers it's still possible.
felt very sorry for your team in the 2nd half. Your supposed to freeze in the first half not the 2nd! After playing ok in the first half I expected them to put Dublin under real pressure in the final 35 minutes yet the heads dropped after Dublin got some momentum going. The occasion only seemed to get to them in the second half. It was a bad beating and it will be hard to raise morale for the third round qualifiers.
28/07/2008, 9:21 AM
Tyrone.........what a surprise. Poor old Monaghan have had a rough deal as well so far in qualifiers.
28/07/2008, 2:02 PM
Tyrone.........what a surprise. Poor old Monaghan have had a rough deal as well so far in qualifiers.
On the contrary, poor old Kerry got a rough deal;)
It's merely a trip down memory lane for Monaghan, revisiting old adversaries. After inflicting yet another football lesson to Derry and Donegal, all of Monaghan will be relishing another go at Kerry who are in a slightly more vulnerable place than last year.
It looks very much like Monaghan will be up to speed after their "restful" period. It remains to be seen if the Kerry championship training camp has cleaned out a the rusty parts. Usually Kerry come good but this time there is quite a bit of work to have completed since the Munster Final. It's a kind of a 'you never know what might happen' type of game.
The young forwards like Gollogly and Hanratty will be facing a higher level of defending but they have come on well since last year. Woods, Clerkin and Lennon have now regained their previous standards of leadership. Finlay is shooting with calm and controlled elegance from anywhere inside the 45m line.
29/07/2008, 9:59 AM
geysir you alluded to the fact that your first love of gaa was the farneymen, but are you actually a mongan yourself?! You certainly have a keen interest in all things mongan.
I dont what it is with the breeding up that way but all those forwards for monaghan look jaded after about 10 minutes of running, big red cheeks on them, and about a stone or 2 overweight, yet their fitness levels are up their with the best of them. Big tough lads and suprisingly quick.
29/07/2008, 10:21 AM
well another interesting week in the world of Ga
all i can say is thank Christ for the hurling. Cyril was right......the best game in the world. That Cork team were excellent, the subs were perfect, and jeez that team is so fit and fast. Surely some LOI team could get a loan of those boys for a few weeks. Pity to see a decent clare team knocked out, but the Cork - Kilkenny game should be a cracker
As for the other stuff. More diving from the "hard men" that play ga. nearly every game i see now there is diving. Pity to see a great player like Doher even at it.
Also still yet to see a decent game in the championship.
Agree with martin mchugh on the BBC, i think fermanagh could go further than Armagh, even if they are in the qualifiers. i fancy them to beat Kerry.
Westmeath and tyrone were both disastrous. Think Flaherta hasn't a clue really. No good defending brilliantly if you cant get your forwards up the pitch to score.
Tyrone don't look great either
So far at this stage Galway look about the best of a bad lot:)
29/07/2008, 10:31 AM
Galway to win the Sam Bennocelt? I'd be very very surprised. Joyce will be looked after properly at the Q Finals stage. If Monaghan get past Kerry then they are going to be hard to stop.
Fermanagh should beat Kildare.
Down will beat Wexford
Mayo-Tyrone? If we turn up you never know. Another slow start like the Galway game and no chance.
29/07/2008, 1:39 PM
Agree with martin mchugh on the BBC, i think fermanagh could go further than Armagh, even if they are in the qualifiers. i fancy them to beat Kerry.
ooppps my mistake:)
but i also fancy Monaghan to beat Kerry:)
29/07/2008, 2:57 PM
geysir you alluded to the fact that your first love of gaa was the farneymen, but are you actually a mongan yourself?! You certainly have a keen interest in all things mongan.
It's Monhan or Monnon but definitly not Mongan :)
Of course I'm from Monaghan.
I dont what it is with the breeding up that way but all those forwards for monaghan look jaded after about 10 minutes of running, big red cheeks on them, and about a stone or 2 overweight, yet their fitness levels are up their with the best of them. Big tough lads and suprisingly quick
Well I don't know about the breeding. Unlike some of our compatriots out West, we didn't do abominable things to sheep and we were caned if we showed a bit of extra normal interest in our shapely cousins.
There are 4 midgets playing up front along with Corey (the steeplejack) and Rory Woods. Probably you are thinking about Woods. He is the overweight shape with legs that motor. He was MOTM against Donegal. In full flight he is impossible to tackle without fouling, it's like trying to get a grip on a speeding barrel.
Jinxy
30/07/2008, 12:11 PM
Wexford, Kerry, Mayo and Kildare will all come through this weekend. Get down to the bookies and don't say you weren't told!
30/07/2008, 4:40 PM
It would be less of an embarrassment to go down to the bookies looking for a skyhook than to go with that bet :)
Paul Galvin had his suspension shortened to 3 months today. I'm personally happy for him I know many others wont be
31/07/2008, 9:34 AM
Galvin's actual championship match game ban has been reduced from a max. of 5 games to a max. of 4 games.
Unless Kerry get to the final, Galvin won't see another championship game this year.
Will the Kerryman lead with 'Galvin Available for Kerry in the Final' :rolleyes:
31/07/2008, 10:39 AM
The North Kerry Edition or the South Kerry edition geysir?! ;)