View Full Version : The Sam Maguire

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8

30/05/2008, 3:23 PM
Lots of positive talk from the Wexford camp. I've never been so confident of a Wexford team winning in any sport. No talk of 'we'll give them a good game' or 'sure we'll try our best', it's all 'we expect to win', 'we've prepared to win', 'we're pushing on to the next level'.

Truly believe it'll be a comfortable Wexford win.

I'll be back here crying on Sunday evening if I'm wrong. :)

30/05/2008, 4:04 PM
Lots of positive talk from the Wexford camp. I've never been so confident of a Wexford team winning in any sport. No talk of 'we'll give them a good game' or 'sure we'll try our best', it's all 'we expect to win', 'we've prepared to win', 'we're pushing on to the next level'.

Its one thing talking the talk etc...
The only reason I believe it will be Meath is there was a steely, determined, fcuk-them-all look about them against Carlow. Even when they were gazillions ahead, there was no showboating. I haven't read a paper in a day or three, but I heard mention that the suspended players would not be starting on Sat if they became eligible. Thats a good tactic.
Also does anyone think that its stupid that they played their first games in Croker and now its off to Dr Cullen for the next one?

31/05/2008, 8:40 AM
looking forward to this weekends games

meath - wexford. should be a cracker. Wexford can win it but should we all be discounting those meath boys so easily?

wicklow - laois. another cracker. 4/1 for wicklow looks a decent punt me thinks

donegal - derry, another good game, derry to win

31/05/2008, 9:33 PM
Just back from a great game in Carlow tonight, Laois v Wicklow. Laois just deserved to win but did their best to lose it.

Wicklow had an awful first half but came back into it in the second half. They had 4 goal chances but unfortunately took none of them. However, they walked away with some pride after a great second half performance when they looked likely to be drubbed after the first half.

Laois had two class players on the pitch tonight Tom Kelly and Ross Munnelly and these were the difference between the teams.

01/06/2008, 9:36 AM
Donegal - Derry should be a great game, I expect the usual hard hitting game but each team has some classy forwards. Bradley is key for Derry and McFadden is massive for Donegal.

Hard to predict but ill obviously go for the biased approach :D

01/06/2008, 4:58 PM
well done to Wexford - what a comeback! Derry did their best to break the record number of wides in 35 minutes in the first half but played well in the 2nd half. Easy enough win for them in the end

01/06/2008, 8:43 PM
They will be showing the Wexford highlights on the Sunday Game.
Meath are the bottlers of the year, sure they were only a bit of a flash in the pan, winning just one game of note in the last 2 years :)
I enjoyed the Wicklow (Micklow) game, pity they were so wasteful against a poor enough Laois, at least they gave it a lash in the 2nd half and went out feeling they should have won.
The standard in Leinster isn't great.
Looks like it will be up to Ulster to stop the Kerry 3 in a row.
Anything but a Kerry 3 in a row.

02/06/2008, 12:23 PM
Looks like we can finally consign that Kerry players sideline punt against Dublin to the archives. The new standard is Matty Forde, the economy of excellence, the greater the pressure the greater the calmness. Two balls, one from each side of the pitch (one 45 - one from play), hit with height, accuracy and with an acre of distance to spare.

Line up for the first Leinster S/F
Wexford meet Laois who look more like a work in progress than contenders.

Colm Coyle the Meath manager, gave the best GAA RRS conspiracy post match interview. First it was a Wexford man on the disciplinary board now it's a Laois referee who would prefer his county to meet Wexford, the most ridiculous thing I have heard in ages. Meath GAA fans must be cringing with embarrassment to have this man leading the county.

Monaghan did well to get rid of this chancer (after just a few months) who brought nothing of substance to them when he took over the management of a county determined to rise above GAA mediocrity.

beautifulrock
02/06/2008, 3:57 PM
Colm Coyle the Meath manager, gave the best GAA RRS conspiracy post match interview. First it was a Wexford man on the disciplinary board now it's a Laois referee who would prefer his county to meet Wexford, the most ridiculous thing I have heard in ages. Meath GAA fans must be cringing with embarrassment to have this man leading the county.

Noticed that alright but he forgot to mention how his team managed to throw away a 10 point half time lead. Heads will role after this for sure, not convinced he has the team behind him either. Although it must be a tough job managing a team these days as fellows seem to come and go as they please.

Rovers fan
02/06/2008, 11:13 PM
I'm bored so I'm gonna make a few predictions!

Gaelic:

Connacht:galway
Leinster:dublin
ulster:armagh
munster:cork

All ireland:kerry

Hurling:
leinster:kilkenny(no prizes for this one!!)
munster:cork

All ireland:Tipperary

03/06/2008, 12:45 PM

Well I'm not crying anyway. Looks like I picked up on the winning attitude at least, even if it wasn't the comfortable win I predicted.

They only played for about 25 mins of the game and it was enough to show the serious quality team they have become. They had a problem with first half performances in the league too, and managed to correct it in the later stages, I think they'll fly out of the blocks against Laois in the semi final. It's time to break the hoodoo now, having lost 4 semis in a row.

Laois are not as strong around the middle as they used to be, and that's where Wexford are probably most vulnerable, so I can see Wexford taking it by 3-4 points.

most likely a Leinster final against the Dubs, anything could happen there.

Jinxy
03/06/2008, 2:19 PM
Well I'm not crying anyway. Looks like I picked up on the winning attitude at least, even if it wasn't the comfortable win I predicted.

They only played for about 25 mins of the game and it was enough to show the serious quality team they have become. They had a problem with first half performances in the league too, and managed to correct it in the later stages, I think they'll fly out of the blocks against Laois in the semi final. It's time to break the hoodoo now, having lost 4 semis in a row.

Laois are not as strong around the middle as they used to be, and that's where Wexford are probably most vulnerable, so I can see Wexford taking it by 3-4 points.

most likely a Leinster final against the Dubs, anything could happen there.

It was actually more like 15-20 mins. Wexford have good forwards but I doubt you will ever find yourselves in a situation like that again when the opposition tem spontaneously combusts and loses a 10 point lead. I was disgusted with the result as we just sat back and invited you to attack, for which I blame Coyle moreso than the players. The big turning point was the substitution of Brian Meade. Up until then we were winning everything at midfield. I guess the lesson is that a 10 point lead with 20 mins to go doesn't mean you are home and hosed so don't make substitutions just to give lads a run! That said, congratulations to Wexford. The fans around me were a decent bunch and didn't rub it in at the end. Its a change that we were on the receiving end of a near-impossible comeback. Can't say I enjoyed the experience!:(

Rovers fan
08/06/2008, 4:13 PM
Anyone watch the dubs on tv3? It was painful listening to them commentators.

09/06/2008, 9:36 AM
The big game yesterday was in the Munster hurling Championship. Looked to be a good tight exciting game. The Cork captain Sean Og was interviewed afterwards, didn't know what was next, back door, qualifiers, never been there before.

It was a no win game for Dublin. I thought they did well. Margins of victory don't mean a lot, what matters is that they had Louth well beat after 45 minutes. The Dubs have some good new players and a few to come in. Louth's best player Pat Keenan in MF had been out for months injured, still forced Dublin to vary the kick outs.
The Ulster game between Tyrone and Down sprang a few surprises, open play and great fielding by Down throughout the game. Nothing to worry Kerry. Apart from 15 minutes Tyrone are not firing yet, whether it's players not fully fit, injuries, management slow to make changes during the game, no Canavan or O'Neill, or all of these, they look very beatable.

EAFC_rdfl
09/06/2008, 10:16 AM
Delighted to see Cork beat after their antics at the start of the year, but to say it was a great game is exaggerating, a lot of poor play & Tipps fitness saw them pull away in the last 10, great atmosphere tho.
As for TV3, Matt Coopers opening line was a sort of preview to the stuff that was to follow: he announced that should the Dubs win they'd be into a leinster final against Westmeath!!! Laois & Wexford must be a bit p*ssed with that :D! No real change from Dublin from last year, they get into a good lead than fall relax for the last ten, they won't get away with that against a better team than louth

09/06/2008, 10:26 AM
Laois & Wexford must be a bit p*ssed with that :D! No real change from Dublin from last year, they get into a good lead than fall relax for the last ten, they won't get away with that against a better team than louth

If we play as bad as we did against Offaly they might get a handy run through!

09/06/2008, 10:26 AM
I would love Westmeath to beat Dublin...Westmeath Wexford final would be nice and different :D

EAFC_rdfl
09/06/2008, 10:41 AM
If we play as bad as we did against Offaly they might get a handy run through!

I would love Westmeath to beat Dublin...Westmeath Wexford final would be nice and different :D
no harm to the rest of Leinster but I don't see much in Dublins way to winning Leinster, but I was on about when they meet a better team from outside the province, who are both physically and mentally strong enough to match them, thats where I see them stumbling again. the problem with teams like Louth is they are beat before they go on the pitch, a good example was playing just 2 in the full forward line yet still getting over run every time the Dubs attacked. there's 3 or 4 teams in Ulster, as well as Cork Kerry Galway and maybe Mayo who will match dublin this year IMO.
did Dessie make it in time for the match Ash, and was it worth the effort or was his mind on the wedding cake he was missing!!??

beautifulrock
09/06/2008, 10:45 AM
Hurling was exciting but as pointed out not a grat game, doubt I ever saw so many wides in a game from both teams Tipp look strong and you can see the cofidence that the league win has given them. Dubs did all that was required and a little bit more, they have seemed to acquired another midfielder in the Mullins mode whic is not a bad thing. Brogan could be the forward of the Championship. Didnt see the Ulster game sadly. Crowd wise some great numbers, weather and the Dubs helped.

09/06/2008, 9:54 PM
BRING BACK THE SLOW MARCH TO THE HILL :rolleyes:

17/06/2008, 7:41 AM
Galvin - naughty naughty.

Watch him get a 2 week ban!!!!

17/06/2008, 8:48 AM
One of the controversial (if you can call it that) players in GAA. Great character and a lovely fella to meet off the field. Hot headed though usually lucky enough to get away with it. First year as Kerry captain to make matters worse

17/06/2008, 9:41 AM
Hot headed yes. But also a dirty player.

18/06/2008, 12:17 AM

:mad:
Every county team has one, some counties have a few, and while he's no angel, there are worse out there than him, Messrs Clerkin, McMenamin, Bellew, O'Leary, Whelan all come to mind.

A stupid thing for a smart person like Paul to have done. Forgive the pun, but something was to going to be needed to Galvinise the push for 3 ina row, and I've no doubt in my mind this is it. The suspension is hard but it won't be overturned. A shame because this year could have been the making of him.
Anyway it gives Sean and Darren Sullivan a full run in the championship, two very underrated players. But very good underrated players.
Roll on the Munster final. I think the wagons are circling already, and I think there could be a whoomping down by the river in a few weeks. The lads will be out to win everything for the Gal this year.

18/06/2008, 6:59 AM

didnt like this "hard man" diving like a pussy last year to get a guy sent off
wasnt it in the final versus cork?

18/06/2008, 11:29 AM
6 months. You ****ing beauty. It's about time they made an example of him - I remember him clouting an Armagh lad a few years back off the ball at the Q Finals stage.

18/06/2008, 12:28 PM
Oh thats never been done before, there are lads doing that every game they play. 6 months is far too long. 2-3 fair enough but come thats the whole year over for him.

18/06/2008, 1:18 PM
There is no shortage of hard men in Kerry, Galvin is hard but imo Dara O'Sé has 'true grit'. The suspensions won't effect Kerry too much going for the 3 in a row. Should they fail then it's a ready made excuse.
They can't use the 6 week lay off excuse this time :rolleyes:,
there is only a 5 week gap between the Munster Final (should they win it) and the 1/4 final.
Apparantly there is some mysterious lethargy which sets into Kerry teams after a 5 week or more lay off, that it takes a while for them to get going again.

19/06/2008, 9:29 AM
ya about time too, make an example of him, the gaa need to start copping onto this craic. too much of it going on and its getting annoying, im surprised macy, dodge and pete haven't come on to complain and pete say how he was just channel hopping when he "just turned on as he hit it out of his book...and i then switched over straight away again!", but in fairness i would agree with them this time.

btw galways defence again shown up against leitreim, this is going to be their downfall this year as I already mentioned.

Jinxy
19/06/2008, 11:37 AM
Looks like nobody is buying into Bomber Listons "wasp on the notebook" theory!

19/06/2008, 12:01 PM
I though Russell kept his cool just fine with the rabid Galvin foaming at the mouth and then he casually picked up his book from the ground.
I had to laugh at the Bomber Liston, delving into the surreal world of Flann O'Brian, describing it as an accident - that Galvin was just gesticulating while making his point.
And he was being serious :D
It looked like Galvin was doing his best Bruce Lee impersonation.

These days, 8 weeks suspension is being dished out for verbal abuse directed at the officials - (min. 4 weeks)
Mild physical interference with an official is a minimum 12 weeks ban.
It looks very reasonable that this is a 6 months ban - a max of 4 or 5 Championship games.

Rovers fan
19/06/2008, 6:47 PM
Mayo-Sligo on sunday will be a good game I hope. There should be a big crowd from sligo up for it.I can't see us beating mayo tbh but hopefully it will be a tight game and you never what might happen in the last 10 minutes, if there's only a few points in it.

19/06/2008, 9:17 PM
Cannot believe RTE are not showing the Mayo/Sligo game (you can watch it online but only in Ireland :( is it safe enough to change my ip address so it thinks I'm in Ireland?)

I'm expecting a tough game Sunday. Sligo cannot be written off, the Mayo fans have been very quiet in the build up to the game with very little buzz. Hopefully a solid winning performance will get the ball rolling but I have major doubts about our DF. We leak goals. I wish Kieran McDonald was on the panel, even if it was just to come off the bench with 20 minutes to go....

19/06/2008, 9:30 PM
Strange that Mayo fans are having big doubts.
Whenever you have your moments of doubts Shaker, just check out the Bookie's odds.
It looks to be game set and match. Sligo relegated to Div 4 winning only one game, Mayo plodding along in Div 1, playing at home.
What gives?

EAFC_rdfl
20/06/2008, 9:21 AM
what game(s) are on rte this weekend?

rebus2008
20/06/2008, 9:50 AM
what game(s) are on rte this weekend?

Lads, i hear that in the 2 weeks before the Galvin/Russell episode, Vodafone had a TV advert shot with the very 2 same men in it. Apparently, it now has been confided to a dusty shelves in sector 7G and won't be aired.

20/06/2008, 1:03 PM
Strange that Mayo fans are having big doubts.
Whenever you have your moments of doubts Shaker, just check out the Bookie's odds.
It looks to be game set and match. Sligo relegated to Div 4 winning only one game, Mayo plodding along in Div 1, playing at home.
What gives?

I respect the reigning Connacht champions plus we're missing Dillon. Sligo lose and they are out of the championship - no back door for those lads.

To be honest Mayo fans are better off playing down our chances. 1 game at a time instead of thinking of an AI Semi Final and maybe even more. Fingers crossed O'Mahony knows what he is doing because if Sligo do beat us then he'll never hear the end of Kieran McDonald.

EAFC- RTE are showing Wexford-Laois and the Hurling. Mayo-Sligo is on the net:eek::mad:

20/06/2008, 2:19 PM
I
EAFC- RTE are showing Wexford-Laois and the Hurling. Mayo-Sligo is on the net:eek::mad:

and thank god for that, connaught games should be shown late at night, just after the orieachtas report

EAFC_rdfl
20/06/2008, 2:31 PM
think i'll have to tune in to the beeb so to watch fermanagh derry, could go either way & will be the most even match of the weekend I'd say, Derry though should be too strong

Jinxy
20/06/2008, 3:22 PM
and thank god for that, connaught games should be shown late at night, just after the orieachtas report

:D:D Quality.

21/06/2008, 10:45 AM
6 months. You ****ing beauty. It's about time they made an example of him - I remember him clouting an Armagh lad a few years back off the ball at the Q Finals stage.

Would that have been John Toal? The same John Toal who was suspended for the game so they made him "Maor Uisce" for the day? The same John Toal that stamped on Gal on the ground just before Gal slapped him one.

I'm not defending what he did, it was reckless, referees have to a personal area where they are safe, and Paul violated that.
There are worse around than him.

21/06/2008, 10:50 AM
think i'll have to tune in to the beeb so to watch fermanagh derry, could go either way & will be the most even match of the weekend I'd say, Derry though should be too strong

Yep, this will be the match of the weekend. I was very impressed with how intelligently Fermanagh used the ball against the Monaghan. Its another step up though. Any of the 4 teams left in Ulster could win it this year.

Can't see past Mayo in the Connacht game, while the Laois Wexford game is fairly tight to call too. Wexford at a push.

EAFC_rdfl
21/06/2008, 2:02 PM
Would that have been John Toal? The same John Toal who was suspended for the game so they made him "Maor Uisce" for the day? The same John Toal that stamped on Gal on the ground just before Gal slapped him one.

I'm not defending what he did, it was reckless, referees have to a personal area where they are safe, and Paul violated that.
There are worse around than him.
would agree with that kingdom, i was in that day for our game v cork and Toal was far from inocent, to think he was only a maor uisce and to be carrying on like that. that said i wouldnt be a galvin fan at all, but thats one incident he shouldn't be blamed for. on a side note it was some game, a great come back from you lot!

Yep, this will be the match of the weekend. I was very impressed with how intelligently Fermanagh used the ball against the Monaghan. Its another step up though. Any of the 4 teams left in Ulster could win it this year.

Can't see past Mayo in the Connacht game, while the Laois Wexford game is fairly tight to call too. Wexford at a push.
just noticed a wee while ago, that games on this evening at 6 on bbc2

21/06/2008, 4:10 PM
would agree with that kingdom, i was in that day for our game v cork and Toal was far from inocent, to think he was only a maor uisce and to be carrying on like that. that said i wouldnt be a galvin fan at all, but thats one incident he shouldn't be blamed for. on a side note it was some game, a great come back from you lot!

just noticed a wee while ago, that games on this evening at 6 on bbc2

That Armagh game meant a lot to so many people. Armagh have never given us a beating, I still contend that they're single win in 02 was down to Kerry's poor shooting in the second half, Brosnan must have shot wide 5 times in the second half.

Looking forward to the Fermanagh game, love their jersey, if they can get a grip of Bradley (easier said than done) they'll do well.

EAFC_rdfl
21/06/2008, 5:02 PM
they will hopefully learn from our mistake and double up on him, the form hes in its the only way to play him. or at the very least try a few different men on him, donegal bench didn't even seem to realise the need to try some one different on him when Neil McGee was getting roasted.
Reading Jack O'Connors book that point about the Armagh game and its importance is very obvious (the main reason I enjoyed the comeback was for a few older kerry fans sitting in front of me who had taken dog abuse from the mouthy armagh fans for most of the game). Oh and also cause Armagh had been hammering us everytime we played over the few years before that :D

22/06/2008, 11:42 AM
It looks to be just as hard a scrap to win the Anglo Celt than Sam.
A good win for Fermanagh, just spoiled a bit by the awfulness of Derry.
Can't remember Derry winning one midfield ball. Without Fergal Doherty, Derry are rudderless.
An exciting enough game, it was like chalk and cheese, one team with a plan that worked and the other with no direction.
Fermanagh took an age to claw back the Derry lead.
Even with their poor play, Derry had plenty of possession in the last 10 or 15 minutes to create chances to level the score, considering the ability in their team it was brainless play.
Overall I was just shocked by Derry's performance against a lively but limited Fermanagh

So far in Ulster it's Down have brought something refreshing with superb fielding, they are still the outsiders but showed a lot of balls to win the replay against Tyrone.

22/06/2008, 2:07 PM
Fermanagh did make two excellent stops in their box in the last few minutes. The keeper clawed the ball back from a certain goal then one of the Fermanagh lads threw himself in front of a shot.

Derry could easily have won that game. The amount of times they got the ball in the Fermanagh in the last few minutes was unreal. But, they had noone to knock them over. I was a bit disappointed in Derry. I got the impression they'd be a lot better.

22/06/2008, 4:22 PM
At least we're off to a winning start this year. The big test will be Galway in 3 weeks........I'll be going over for that one.

Surprised at how bad Derry were yesterday - Muldoon was non existent. Fair play to Fermanagh though - a big scalp and you cannot write them off in the final IMO.

22/06/2008, 6:17 PM
I love the way this Wexford team keeps getting underestimated. They won a trot today even with Matty Forde having a fairly wretched day. They must be one of the fittest teams in the country too, they were still running as hard in the last minute as the first, Red Barry hardly looked like he broke a sweat. Bring on the Leinster final...the football not the hurling, that could be rather embarrassing :) :(

Rovers fan
22/06/2008, 6:30 PM
Sligo-Mayo was a terrible game.After ten minutes i knew we were gonna be annihilated.We had no penetration,no direction.It was a disgrace.Mayo weren't great tbh,I think galway will easily beat them in the connacht final.