View Full Version : The Sam Maguire
Pages :
[
2]
16/05/2008, 11:02 AM
It's possible that Micko has been playing a cute preparation game with the Wicklow boys and they could all be looking world beaters in training and ready to ambush Kildare.
They can be tenacious and sometimes a good team will have to beat them repeatedly with a stick to shake them off.
Micko gets a whiff of Sam.
"I love this time of year. Long days, good grounds, real championship weather - you can’t beat it. I’m as excited about next Sunday’s game as I was when I first took charge of Kerry all those years ago. I’m told Wicklow have never won a Leinster senior championship game at Croke Park so there’s an incentive. I’m still as mad about football as I ever was."
"My job is to get Wicklow playing to their full potential and see where it takes us. League form doesn’t count in the championship."
I think theres a big chance of an upset in this game and in the Cavan game.
Kildare have been gash and if Johnny Doyle wasn't playing for them nobody would give them a hope. McGeeney hasn't shown that he's going to be anything of a saviour, while the 21's were absolutely crushed by Kerry, and according to the Kildare people I know played for themselves throughout the championship rather than each other.
beautifulrock
16/05/2008, 1:08 PM
Usually I would come on here and lie ( beautifulrock you'll like that admission :D )
haha Paul too right, but I usually say spoofing rather than downright lying.:)
However, I think Roscommon may have a decent chance this weekend due mostly to the fact that the pressure is off them. I agree too that the winners of Derry/Donegal will win Ulster, personally I think that will be Derry who have done everything right so far this year. Perhaps a question mark on when they peak but never the less should take Ulster and push hard for Sam. I still think that Kerry will get their 3 in a row though. Leinster is a lottery but would say Galway will come out of Connaught.
16/05/2008, 1:33 PM
love to see francie grehan back
Ah the four roads man :D fantastic hurler and handy footballer too, maybe the new man might encourage him back.
Agree about Seamie, one of the best fielders of the ball in the country.
I don't think anyone can doubt the ability of footballers in Ros, Brigits being a fine example 2 years ago, discipline is the biggest factor imo. (I know Ironic coming from a Donegal man :p )
16/05/2008, 1:52 PM
Ah the four roads man :D fantastic hurler and handy footballer too, maybe the new man might encourage him back.
Agree about Seamie, one of the best fielders of the ball in the country.
I don't think anyone can doubt the ability of footballers in Ros, Brigits being a fine example 2 years ago, discipline is the biggest factor imo. (I know Ironic coming from a Donegal man :p )
discipline and arrogance sam heggy, ye had it a few years ago but it was beaten out of ye. For example a mate of mine at home is a delegate for one of the bigger clubs at home, he was helping raise money for a new stand one day for the club when one of the players passed him and said "that money would be better spent on a players holiday", this fella also played county football, and he has the arrogance to think that a club team in roscommon who have done fcuk all deserve to be getting the community to fund them to play willie pool and the likes abroad, what a fcuken joke. But he had the tenacity to expect a fella in his 20s to go out fundraising for the club to fund HIS bloody holiday, thats not a joke. Until that changes ros football will be in the same doldrums it is now.
At least in soccer the players themselves go out and get involved in the fundraising and have to sell a certain number of tickets, whereas these fellas think they are untouched on a pedastal.
to be honest sam heggy, brigids aside ( and they should have won a connaught championship this year bar) the standard in ros is poor bar a handful of 5/6 clubs.
16/05/2008, 2:29 PM
discipline and arrogance sam heggy, ye had it a few years ago but it was beaten out of ye. For example a mate of mine at home is a delegate for one of the bigger clubs at home, he was helping raise money for a new stand one day for the club when one of the players passed him and said "that money would be better spent on a players holiday", this fella also played county football, and he has the arrogance to think that a club team in roscommon who have done fcuk all deserve to be getting the community to fund them to play willie pool and the likes abroad, what a fcuken joke. But he had the tenacity to expect a fella in his 20s to go out fundraising for the club to fund HIS bloody holiday, thats not a joke. Until that changes ros football will be in the same doldrums it is now.
At least in soccer the players themselves go out and get involved in the fundraising and have to sell a certain number of tickets, whereas these fellas think they are untouched on a pedastal.
to be honest sam heggy, brigids aside ( and they should have won a connaught championship this year bar) the standard in ros is poor bar a handful of 5/6 clubs.
Heard all that kind of thing in Ros alright, I spend alot of time around Athleague, Kiltoom and Four roads, its amazing the amount of folk interested in GAA (much more folk than up here imo) and yet when it comes down to the county games people just don't seem to care.
Anyways, Wicklow for the All Ireland :p
17/05/2008, 7:17 AM
No brownie points though for picking Galway 1/10 and Meath 1/20.
Kildare are a better bet at 2/9 :)
Their new man would become their old man if they don't beat Wicklow.
yeah fair enough.
Well I would take Meath with the betfair handicap of - 8 points over carlow. i see a few goals in that game
Also think kildare will win the handicap over wicklow + 5points
I actually thought Antrim would be a better price to beat cavan what with their league run, and think this will be a close thing and for that reason it would be good to see them on TV. I mean when was the last time Antrim football was on the box
Im sick of seeing dull Connaught games, boring -
yeah ulster football isnt great as well but wise up its Ga - its not the beautiful game:rolleyes:
17/05/2008, 7:23 AM
Benno, you are a very strange lad, i can remember you going on giving out about gaelic for ages and yet you start this thread....
Well yeah I guess I do. I actually have a deep interest in all sports - Golf, Cricket, Womens Volleyball....everything that has a competitive edge i will watch
Fuuny that the sport that gave me the greatest enjoyment in the last year or so was Ireland and the Cricket team which might say more about the state of sport in this country than anything else!
I have also tried to play a good few games as well - soccer for my town/college, junior Ga, rugby (which was dull), running (got to an all -ireland final in 800 m!!), cycling (which i found the hardest sport). But mostly im rubbish at sport so can only watch them!
Still doesnt mean i have a deep love for the sport. I mean i realisie that ga really is a rubbish game but it can be exciting - re Dublin - Kerry last year, and it can be interesting to see all the counties on their travels
But Football (soccer) is the beautiful game (even though I have had doubts recently!) and thats the number one. All other sports follow the great game:)
18/05/2008, 2:29 PM
Brilliant result for us. Kildare didn't turn up and we could have put a bigger difference, Stafford missing a sitter and Hannon (?) missing a goal. Delighted, can't wait for the Laois match now.
18/05/2008, 2:43 PM
we're surely due a Sam :D
I'd love to have Kieran back, on his day there is no finer player but his fitness would surely be a concern.
I'll settle for beating Galway and onto the final before getting annihilated by Kerry.;)
18/05/2008, 3:10 PM
Brilliant result for us. Kildare didn't turn up and we could have put a bigger difference, Stafford missing a sitter and Hannon (?) missing a goal. Delighted, can't wait for the Laois match now.
Jeez got that one totally wrong! Well done Wicklow. Good entertaining game of football from Mickos team. Played it near perfect (apart from a few bad misses)
Midfield was ace
Kildare might have had all the fitness training in the world but if you dont have the passion and are not prepared to get stuck in then you are wasting your time. And why are there still so many old fellas still playing with Kildare, Should have given more of the under 21s a chance.
Anyway one ga game is enough for me today:)
gilberto_eire
18/05/2008, 3:18 PM
I'll settle for beating Galway and onto the final before getting annihilated by Kerry.;)
What's your obsession with beating us?. And getting hammered in the final as an acceptable outcome if ye beat us? :confused:
We would settle for seeing Mayo getting hammered in Croker again as well:)
18/05/2008, 10:00 PM
to be honest, poor student id say Mayo should easily beat galway. Roscommon showed ( for all their weaknesses ) that galways defence is very poor. 3 goal opportunities from just running direct is very poor for a team with all ireland ambitions. Roscommons forward line is good though, but its certainly nowhere near all ireland level.
Anyhow i lost 30 quid today betting on the eejits, not to win but for a respectable score but they couldnt even do that.
19/05/2008, 10:14 AM
What's your obsession with beating us?. And getting hammered in the final as an acceptable outcome if ye beat us? :confused:
sure your our main rivals! In the same way Cork/Kerry, Meath/Dubs, Tyrone/Armagh all want to beat each other.
I for one cannot take another Kerry beating in a final. Soundest people you could meet but they need to share the Sam now and again!!!
19/05/2008, 12:26 PM
Relax there, I was only being flippant about Mayo's regular failure in the final, usually at the hands of Kerry. The minimum target every year for Mayo is to beat Galway, nine times out of ten it would see Mayo take the Connacht.
19/05/2008, 1:38 PM
Shocking performance by Kildare, Roscommon had signs of more life about them than Kildare.
Still it should not detract from the Wicklow boys and (the GAA's Father Time) Micko, it was Wicklows day and 100% deserved.
Next weekend sees another episode of Sam.
But only one decent game on the schedule
Ulster Senior Football Championship
Enniskillen 4.00pm Fear Manach v Muineacháin, Live RTE 2 & BBC 2.
You will note that the game is live on BBC and RTE at the same time.
For a round 1 game - respect :cool:
Brewster Park should be sold out, about 20,000. A nice sunny dry day would be just the ticket.
Fermanagh got promoted out of NFL div3.
I missed their game against Wexford, I don´t know about them.
Monaghan have had problems in Div 2
But have finished games well against Armagh and Dublin.
Midfield as always will be a key. Primary possession and scooping up the loose ball. Monaghan this year have to improve in that area by about 200%.
I´d say big man Corey will be FF and the live wires feeding off his flicks and passes.
No prediction from me, not fence sitting, just too superstitious for that.
Other games
Connacht
Ruislip 2.30pm Londain v Sligeach
Munster
Fermoy 3.30pm Luimneach v Tiobraid Árann
Ennis 3.30pm Port Láirge v An Clár
Going to go with predicting wins for Monaghan, Sligo, Limerick and Waterford!
Galways midfield will be their downfall. No good having marquee forwards if you can't get the ball to them.
Anyway, following our annihilation of the scallion munchers in HQ yesterday, I'd say Sam is pretty much in the bag so the rest of ye might as well jack it in now.
19/05/2008, 3:23 PM
Go tell it to the Dubs
19/05/2008, 3:28 PM
Galways midfield will be their downfall. No good having marquee forwards if you can't get the ball to them.
Anyway, following our annihilation of the scallion munchers in HQ yesterday, I'd say Sam is pretty much in the bag so the rest of ye might as well jack it in now.
Well in fairness O'neill and mannion are big lads and on his day there aren't many if any better fielders than O'neill. However what i would be more worried about is their defence roscommon walked through, like moses parting the waves, galways defence for 2 of their 3 goal chances and when quick ball was sent in ended up scoring easily.
19/05/2008, 3:45 PM
The feckers at RTE have restricted viewing of the games and highlights to the 32 county Islanders so I can't see how Galway fell asleep for those few chances that Roscommon didn't take :rolleyes:
Though I can picture all the other unseeded teams in the qualifying draw begging to get Roscommon.
Go tell it to the Dubs
They already know....
gilberto_eire
19/05/2008, 5:30 PM
to be honest, poor student id say Mayo should easily beat galway. Roscommon showed ( for all their weaknesses ) that galways defence is very poor. 3 goal opportunities from just running direct is very poor for a team with all ireland ambitions. Roscommons forward line is good though, but its certainly nowhere near all ireland level.
Anyhow i lost 30 quid today betting on the eejits, not to win but for a respectable score but they couldnt even do that.
Easily?. Sure:rolleyes:
We just beat them in the league there a few weeks ago and we'll take them by even more when we meet in Connacht, Mayo have gone backwards while we have progressed.
We'll do a lot better this year then we have done the past 7 years!.
In all fairness your really overpushing the goal chances remark, to the point where(Geysir) would have the impression that they missed one on ones 3 times!.
Far cry i'm afraid, for one anyway he was closed down superbly and could only hit a tame pressure shot, another was struck from 15 yards out and to the side of the goal(and put wide) and i can't recall the third, EVERY team in EVERY sport will create chances, the stronger teams will take them and the weaker teams will not and that's why there are gulfs in class, at any rate they were hardly sitters they missed!.
Fact of the matter is we destroyed Roscommon, they may be in trouble this year but they won't be disgraced in the qualifier IMO
sure your our main rivals! In the same way Cork/Kerry, Meath/Dubs, Tyrone/Armagh all want to beat each other.
I for one cannot take another Kerry beating in a final. Soundest people you could meet but they need to share the Sam now and again!!!
I know that i've been following GAA since i was about 11/12, i said that because Poor Student ''appeared'' to be a Dub so was wondering why they wanted to beat us so badly!!
Relax there, I was only being flippant about Mayo's regular failure in the final, usually at the hands of Kerry. The minimum target every year for Mayo is to beat Galway, nine times out of ten it would see Mayo take the Connacht.
I made that remark because your location says ''DUBLIN'' not Mayo!!
19/05/2008, 7:05 PM
The feckers at RTE have restricted viewing of the games and highlights to the 32 county Islanders so I can't see how Galway fell asleep for those few chances that Roscommon didn't take :rolleyes:
Though I can picture all the other unseeded teams in the qualifying draw begging to get Roscommon.
eh geysir, didnt you know that rte can be gotten outside of ireland ;)
19/05/2008, 7:54 PM
I made that remark because your location says ''DUBLIN'' not Mayo!!
My loyalties are with Mayo in GAA.
19/05/2008, 8:19 PM
eh geysir, didnt you know that rte can be gotten outside of ireland ;)
For the NFL games/ highlights, the RTE site was open.
I have the digibox with an irish card. So I am well looked after there.
I missed that live game, the rte site blocks out the diaspora for the championship.
That means I would have to fárt around with my ISP nr. doesn't it?
How is that done? bear in mind I only have a bit of knowledge, but still more than Stutts.
gilberto_eire
20/05/2008, 12:24 AM
My loyalties are with Mayo in GAA.
As i could tell by your next comment... but it was'nt obvious before that with no indication of Mayo in sight!!
Always found it funny the way Mayo hate Galway so much, yet all the ones who used to bad mouth us when i lived there ended up moving here for one thing or another!!.
Ever since that i love it when we hammer ye!!. :)
20/05/2008, 9:37 AM
For the NFL games/ highlights, the RTE site was open.
I have the digibox with an irish card. So I am well looked after there.
I missed that live game, the rte site blocks out the diaspora for the championship.
That means I would have to fárt around with my ISP nr. doesn't it?
How is that done? bear in mind I only have a bit of knowledge, but still more than Stutts.
Sorry I thought you lived in the UK. Its possible from there but not from further afield as I found out when derry were playin in Europe.
FarBeag
20/05/2008, 10:00 AM
Ya mixer is supposed to be a good lad, old looking for a young fella though. To be honest there is loads wrong with ros football and it all stems from club football ( and an arrogance ) that I dont think I will bore people with on this forum but i have a few good stories/examples. Usually I would come on here and lie ( beautifulrock you'll like that admission :D ) about roscommon and their expectations and what not, but this year I cant see anything really. Seamie O'Neill will come on and catch 3 or 4 crows and do nothing else for the rest of the game ( if he were from kerry, he would have been one of the greatest footballers of all time ), shine is a good player and a very good golfer also but is still too young, cregg is a good player, we have lots of decent forwards to be honest, who are just young, a little inexperienced and not tough enough, but a few more years and that will change. The main problem lies in midfield and the half-backs, id love to see francie grehan back ( although over-weight and what not ) and Shane Curran to shore up the defence and breed a bit of confidence, but thats not going to happen. Still though looking forward to my rare occassion of getting to wear my ros jersey and riling the galway gobsh1tes i know over here. :D
Lol lol. What a shame!! Hope you threw that shirt in the Thames after that humiliation. Guess us Galway Gobsh!tes had the last laugh.:D:
20/05/2008, 10:13 AM
I did for a half FarBeag, I watched it in The Inn then went next door, only to eat humble pie :D
MyTown
20/05/2008, 10:54 AM
I did for a half FarBeag, I watched it in The Inn then went next door, only to eat humble pie :D
Rossies & humility? Surely a contradiction in terms.
As for your denigration of our defence, well plus ca change, but I'm happy to let the score speak for itself.
I have huge respect for John O'Mahony. He led us to the promised land twice & is more than capable of doing the same with his native county. Good luck to them - just not at our expense.
20/05/2008, 4:22 PM
the score - or lack thereof - is more to do with Roscommon and less to do with Galway ;)
beautifulrock
20/05/2008, 4:44 PM
the score - or lack thereof - is more to do with Roscommon and less to do with Galway ;)
Paul, give it up as a bad job, Roscommon were shocking at the weekend as were Kildare. Good to see a bit of "giant" killing early on, Micko is some man for a 72 year old. Lucky that fool of a camera man that tripped him up didnt do him any damage.
What the thoughts for this weekend chaps, any shocks in store?
20/05/2008, 9:41 PM
Paul, give it up as a bad job, Roscommon were shocking at the weekend as were Kildare. Good to see a bit of "giant" killing early on, Micko is some man for a 72 year old. Lucky that fool of a camera man that tripped him up didnt do him any damage.
What the thoughts for this weekend chaps, any shocks in store?
Rock, I don't think what I was trying to say came across as I meant it/wanted it to, roscommon got annihilated something I'd never try to argue and didn't. My point was for a team with the aspirations of galway who consider themselves in the favourites category for an All-Ireland, their defence is in a bad way. The point I was making above was had those chances occurred against a better side, 2 of the 3 would have been put away, add to this Galway conceded 7 goals, the second highest ( mayo had 10 ) in the league, its something that will definitely come against them further down the line. And thats the point I was trying to make rock, I thought it was clear enough, if not sorry :)
MyTown
22/05/2008, 9:17 AM
Rock, I don't think what I was trying to say came across as I meant it/wanted it to, roscommon got annihilated something I'd never try to argue and didn't. My point was for a team with the aspirations of galway who consider themselves in the favourites category for an All-Ireland, their defence is in a bad way.
Source?
We have a manager in his first season in charge.
The Roscommon bandwaggon that rolled through Galway after your deserved All Ireland minor success has gone mysteriously quiet.
I do not expect All Ireland glory. I expect us to be competitive and to play some great football. That's our tradition & (while it's always great to win) it's enough for me.
Well things here are not as bad as I had first heard. Paul Kelly is the only one at the moment who is off to America. Paul Barden has not not retired so its not too bad at all.
Also heard that Ger Brennan has dropped from the Dublin panal. Started against Westmeath in the last game, a great player when we were at college, captained Dubs under 21s and recently broke in to the Senior squad. He cited burnout as his reason according to aertel (http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/0521/dublin.html?gaa)
23/05/2008, 4:48 PM
this weekend then
fermanagh V monaghan
Should be a close game, but Monaghan should come out on top
London V Sligo, well eh.............sligo of course, maybe back them with a big handicap?
Limerick V Tipperary
Tipperary
Clare V waterford
Clare , but close (i Guess!!)
kingdom hoop
23/05/2008, 11:49 PM
All-Ireland:
Honestly, Kerry. With the squad they have and its better its getting, they should be able to do the business.
You can say 'we' if you want. :)
I'd tend to agree with you. I'm quietly confident. Obviously championship is inherently uncertain (cf Monaghan last year) but I reckon the three-in-a-row carrot should be a good motivating sauce. Carrot sauce? Nice! Nah I can only see us improving on last year. No retirements, and with the u21 win giving renewed vigour to training, competition for places should be fierce. Though as Eamon Fitzmaurice said recently, "A short 12 months ago, conventional wisdom decreed back-to-back titles virtually impossible. Now, Kerry are expected to win three in a row at a canter". Cautious optimism it is then. A Kerryman's natural instinct. :)
24/05/2008, 2:09 PM
You can say 'we' if you want. :)
I'd tend to agree with you. I'm quietly confident. Obviously championship is inherently uncertain (cf Monaghan last year) but I reckon the three-in-a-row carrot should be a good motivating sauce. Carrot sauce? Nice! Nah I can only see us improving on last year. No retirements, and with the u21 win giving renewed vigour to training, competition for places should be fierce. Though as Eamon Fitzmaurice said recently, "A short 12 months ago, conventional wisdom decreed back-to-back titles virtually impossible. Now, Kerry are expected to win three in a row at a canter". Cautious optimism it is then. A Kerryman's natural instinct. :)
This has been Kerry's decade so far, fantastic football in 2000,02,04,05,06 and last year too indeed the two disaster years I put down to the ill-discipline of P O'Se, and as you say KH, the squad is topped up again this year, there's no room for deadwood, and with many of the current squad reaching their peak there is so much potential for this Kerry team. While analysts were harping on about the defeat to derry being a wake up call, that is treating an amazing collection of footballers and a solid management team with nothing but utter contempt. They were nearly caught by Monaghan but survived. Pat won't allow that to happen again.
Oh and Kingdom Hoop, when I'm part of the training squad of 38, I'll be delighted to refer to Kerry as "we"; until then I'll be happy to refer to the squad as "they" ! :D
Always thought Monaghan were a flash in the pan. Fermanagh fully deserved their win today but will be eaten alive by Derry or Donegal.
25/05/2008, 7:29 PM
well done Fermanagh and well done to London yesterday in the hurling.
The idiot who threw a punch needs his head examining.
Kerry are the big favourites this year (once again) but I'd say their main threat will be the Ulster champions whoever that may be. Ulster IMO is too tight to call. Will be see a resurgent Tyrone side? Dublin will get out of Leinster no bother and Galway/ourselves should meet in the Connaught final and then we get the qualifiers..... God I hate the backdoor system - why cannot be how it used to be?!
Going to go with predicting wins for Monaghan, Sligo, Limerick and Waterford!
Thank god I'm not a gambling lady...only 2 out of 4 correct there
EAFC_rdfl
28/05/2008, 6:51 PM
Eagerly awaiting Sunday now!! Derry in Ballybofey is as hard an opener as you can get, Devenney definetely not going to be in the squad. Will be a new look full forward line I'd say but hopefully we will have enough. Think we have a good enough full back line to keep a hold on derrys scoring power. Can't wait!!!
28/05/2008, 11:16 PM
Eagerly awaiting Sunday now!! Derry in Ballybofey is as hard an opener as you can get, Devenney definetely not going to be in the squad. Will be a new look full forward line I'd say but hopefully we will have enough. Think we have a good enough full back line to keep a hold on derrys scoring power. Can't wait!!!
wait is this harps or tir chonaill?! ;) :D
Jinxy
28/05/2008, 11:38 PM
Looking forward to the trek to Carlow on Sunday. Quietly confident Meath will do the business although Wexford are no longer the one man show they used to be.
29/05/2008, 9:15 AM
Looking forward to the trek to Carlow on Sunday. Quietly confident Meath will do the business although Wexford are no longer the one man show they used to be.
Be good to see wexford cause an upset.
hmmm geysir has been awful quite this week :D
Jinxy
29/05/2008, 10:10 AM
hmmm geysir has been awful quite this week :D
No. No it wouldn't.
29/05/2008, 10:18 AM
Would hardly be an upset.
We've beaten Meath the las 4 times in a row in League and Championship. The fact that Fermanagh went on to beat Monaghan should indicate to people just how good this Wexford team is.
I'd say a comfortable win by 4-5 points.
29/05/2008, 10:24 AM
I'd be very surprised if Wexford beat Meath.
30/05/2008, 2:22 PM
I would be surprised too. Meath can win Leinster this year I think, as the Dubs are talking about Sam too much.