View Full Version : Derry City applying for Grant Aid
Greenforever
25/04/2008, 8:25 PM
EG - I can't work out if you're being more of a WUM or a muppet over this.
Derry City didn't join the Republic's league for fun. Remember - the biggoted idiots who run your league constantly refused to let the club back in for 13 years - even when assessments said there was no security risk playing at the Brandywell. We had no choice but to turn south.
So when you can name me one other club on the island that was based in one jurisdiction and forced to play football in the other, then I'll give your point some credence about taking funding from both jurisdictions. Until such time, I suggest you dry yer feckin eyes, or take your sob story to one of the rabid Irish League forums where it'll be warmly embrased with further bile....
Hate to say it but it's attitudes like yours that turn people away from the game, from reading EG's post he never wanted to see Derry not play in the IL it was circumstances from the PAST, he has a very fair point in objecting to any club getting funding from either 2 governments or 2 football associations.
It is you who refers to the bigots of the PAST not EG
Greenforever
25/04/2008, 8:27 PM
Derry City are entitled to funding from the Irish Government the same as any other EL club and they should milk the NI executive for whatever they can get.
**** the begrudgers like EG!!!!!
No they are not entitled to money from our government no more than are Queens University Rugby Club or the Armagh County Board.
However queens are entitled to money from the IRFU as they are affiliated to it and the Armagh County Board from the GAA for the same reason.
To put this in perspective- the IL has been given 8 million to be paid out over a number of years. Derry are looking for 5 million in one go from each government.
pól-dcfc
25/04/2008, 8:29 PM
No they are not entitled to money from our government no more than are Queens University Rugby Club or the Armagh County Board.
However queens are entitled to money from the IRFU as they are affiliated to it and the Armagh County Board from the GAA for the same reason.
Who are you to say who the Irish Governement can and cannot give money to?
25/04/2008, 8:31 PM
I suppose Derry City FC saw that the Irish Gov. were funding redevelopment of the A5 from Derry to Aughnacloy to the tune of £320m+ and thought - why not ask for for a few million to be thrown in their direction. You never know, if you don't ask you won't get it.
The Irish government is funding a growing list of projects and organisations in the North, including :
- £400m investment in NI's infrastruture (incl belfast to Larne corridor, as well as roads radiating form Derry).
- £36m into an 'innovation fund' for the north.
- The Orange Order
- The Apprentice Boys of Derry.
- Policing Board for their new college in Cookstown.
- The mid-Ulster 'Friends of the Somme' group for trips.
Now I don't recall a clamour from Ealing Green and the little Ulsterites in certain Irish League forums complaining about other organisatioons or infrastructure in NI getting funding from both northern and southern governments. No, it's only when their favourite hate-figure, Derry City - you know, the club that had to cheek to get on with its life without them, and then finds itself doing a lot better than most of them put together as a result, thank you very much - has the temerity to follow suit and seek funding from both governemnts to reflect its unique dual status.
It's like a mix between a cheesy Disney High School movie and Cinderella. The ugly Irish league sisters (with, as usual in the pantomime's, an unhealthy amount of Orange make-up on...) make life hell for nerdy fellow pupil 'Candy-erella' from the wrong side of town/the Bann, forcing her to move school where much to their annoyance she blossoms into a popular and attractive lady and ends up dating the best looking kid in town. In other words - it's all just petty bitchy jealousy from a bunch of whinging drama queens.
We're based in the north and we play in the south. "Get over it...!"
The Irish government is funding a growing list of projects and organisations in the North, including :
- £400m investment in NI's infrastruture (incl belfast to Larne corridor, as well as roads radiating form Derry).
- £36m into an 'innovation fund' for the north.
- The Orange Order
- The Apprentice Boys of Derry.
- Policing Board for their new college in Cookstown.
- The mid-Ulster 'Friends of the Somme' group for trips.
Now I don't recall a clamour from Ealing Green and the little Ulsterites in certain Irish League forums complaining about other organisatioons or infrastructure in NI getting funding from both northern and southern governments. No, it's only when their favourite hate-figure, Derry City - you know, the club that had to cheek to get on with its life without them, and then finds itself doing a lot better than most of them put together as a result, thank you very much - has the temerity to follow suit and seek funding from both governemnts to reflect its unique dual status.
It's like a mix between a cheesy Disney High School movie and Cinderella. The ugly Irish league sisters (with, as usual in the pantomime's, an unhealthy amount of Orange make-up on...) make life hell for nerdy fellow pupil 'Candy-erella' from the wrong side of town/the Bann, forcing her to move school where much to their annoyance she blossoms into a popular and attractive lady and ends up dating the best looking kid in town. In other words - it's all just petty bitchy jealousy from a bunch of whinging drama queens.
We're based in the north and we play in the south. "Get over it...!"
Ah come on Steve- DCFC are looking for almost as much money in one go as the whole of NI football over a few years. I don't think you can pass all this off as anti-Derry sentiment.
25/04/2008, 8:36 PM
Hate to say it but it's attitudes like yours that turn people away from the game, from reading EG's post he never wanted to see Derry not play in the IL it was circumstances from the PAST, he has a very fair point in objecting to any club getting funding from either 2 governments or 2 football associations.
If we are based in one jurisdiction and play in another, why shouldn't we seek funding form both sides ?? Apart from a whinge based on the fact that you personally don't think we should, give me one good reason why a club forced into that unique position should not therefore seek unique fundign arrangements to reflect it ?
It is you who refers to the bigots of the PAST not EG
The bigots of the past are largely the same bigots of today in the Irish League. It took until this year to change the sectarian block on Sunday football, for example, and it was still supported by almost 20% of those League members who voted on it.
Shall I assume that you and Ealing Green will be complaining to the NI Executive about the roads, Police Schools and 'cultural organisations' in the north that are also being dual-funded. Oh no wait- it's just Derry City you don't like it happening to.....:rolleyes:
25/04/2008, 8:39 PM
To put this in perspective- the IL has been given 8 million to be paid out over a number of years. Derry are looking for 5 million in one go from each government.
Why does this have to be a 'zero sum' game....? :confused:
£8m between 16 Premier and 24 First/Second Division teams in senior football ?
Perhaps the answer is for the Irish league to be given more - not Derry City less...
Buller
25/04/2008, 8:39 PM
So will the other Eircom clubs be happy at one of their Members receiving double lots of Government aid, whilst they have to make do with one?
Yes. :D Simple answer to that one...
Sure, its better then it going to the gah heads...
25/04/2008, 8:47 PM
So will the other Eircom clubs be happy at one of their Members receiving double lots of Government aid, whilst they have to make do with one?
That's the difference between football in the north and the south, you see EG, and why we're glad to be long shot of the Irish League
Football in the North is like watching crabs trying to escape from a bucket - dragging each other down and climbing on top of each other. The league is riddled with petty turf wars, grudges and jealousies. If one club benefits it can only be seen as a bad thing by fans of every other one (e.g. Linfield's arrangement over Windsor).
Conversely in the south, fans are just pleased to see any money going into the league - regardless of source. Hence, for example, there was no uproar here at South Dubnlin County Council putting money into Shamrock Rovers new Stadium.
I guess if you approach things with the mind-set of an Irish league supporter it must be diffiuclt to appreciate that there are other ways of viewing the footballing world...
kingdomkerry
25/04/2008, 8:48 PM
Dont listen to them lads, its jelousy and/or biggotry. Hope ye turn the brandywell in to a top class venue
pól-dcfc
25/04/2008, 8:48 PM
Dont listen to them lads, its jelousy and/or biggotry. Hope ye turn the brandywell in to a top class venue
Top fella. Always liked the Kerry people :D
25/04/2008, 8:50 PM
Shall I assume that you and Ealing Green will be complaining to the NI Executive about the roads, Police Schools and 'cultural organisations' in the north that are also being dual-funded. Oh no wait- it's just Derry City you don't like it happening to.....:rolleyes:
You'll be waiting a long time to get a response to that one. We're still waiting on a response to the fact that Institute got a grant from the South for floodlights.
pól-dcfc
25/04/2008, 8:52 PM
You'll be waiting a long time to get a response to that one. We're still waiting on a response to the fact that Institute got a grant from the South for floodlights.
Of course we are. The tide of bile is not halted by the mere elucidation of relevant facts.
Sheesh.
Good to see the Republican ideal lives on in Dublin.
Derry lost all claim on a republican high ground, the day they declared themselves British to sign Gavin Dykes free on a Bosman
Never a truer word spoken
Krstic
25/04/2008, 9:26 PM
F**k the whole lot of ye's, I couldn't give a rats ass if some Belfast **** is unhappy at my Club for taking advantage of our unique situation.
If Lizzy's Happy to take our money, then i'm quite content to ask for some back.
Likewise if any of you 'Free Staters' are unhappy about us asking your Government for Money, look upon it as a compensation payment for deserting us and leaving us at the mercy of the Brits.
By the way, if the Irish Government give us the money tomorrow they'll save themselves a fortune as the exchange rate from Euro to Sterling has never been better.
:D£€£€£€£€£€£€:D
25/04/2008, 9:30 PM
Likewise if any of you 'Free Staters' are unhappy about us asking your Government for Money, look upon it as a compensation payment for deserting us and leaving us at the mercy of the Brits.
You were amply compensated when we took in Dana. In fact, you owe us £86.21m.
Krstic
25/04/2008, 9:31 PM
Do you take milk tokens?
EalingGreen
25/04/2008, 9:32 PM
You are WRONG though. Institute got Irish Govt funding for floodlights for their training pitch, and I believe Linfield have also taken money aswell.
OK, how much then? Five million pounds would light up Drumahoe brighter than Las Vegas. The whole of NI football was made to wait four years and jump through all sorts of hoops to get £8 million, and even then it's being paid out in tranches.
And in any case, the Dublin government can give its money to whoever it likes. This application by Derry City is to my Government - the self-same Government which has starved local NI football for decades.
EalingGreen
25/04/2008, 9:35 PM
I suppose Derry City FC saw that the Irish Gov. were funding redevelopment of the A5 from Derry to Aughnacloy to the tune of £320m+ and thought - why not ask for for a few million to be thrown in their direction. You never know, if you don't ask you won't get it.
As I've said elsewhere, the Irish Govt may give its money to whomsoever it likes. What I am objecting to is DCFC feeling it is entitled to money from two Governments: "Norn Iron" when it suits (Bosman), "Oirish" when it suits (Dublin funding).
25/04/2008, 9:36 PM
When you put it like that..... :o
Is 86.21m enough though :confused:
pól-dcfc
25/04/2008, 9:38 PM
OK, how much then? Five million pounds would light up Drumahoe brighter than Las Vegas. The whole of NI football was made to wait four years and jump through all sorts of hoops to get £8 million, and even then it's being paid out in tranches.
And in any case, the Dublin government can give its money to whoever it likes. This application by Derry City is to my Government - the self-same Government which has starved local NI football for decades.
Good subtle movement of the goalposts there.
Clearly NI bodies can apply for Southern money. That's the point. Maybe if 'Stute asked for more they would have got more.
It's also our government these days aswell. Derry is still in NI. And we pay our taxes. We are entitled to ask for some back, as are all the IL and Intermediate/Junior clubs in the province.
And its also the government of Derry and Derry City is in their jurisdiction, whether you like it or not. What I do know is John Delaney will be helping us in our quest for funding, he was at Stormont with Jim Roddy before on this isue
EalingGreen
25/04/2008, 9:40 PM
It's simple economics. It is a sensible decision for the NI Exec to plough money into the Brandywell. More jobs= smaller dole queues, and more money being contributed in taxes to the exchequer. I'd say in a few years the Govt will have made back it's money, plus some.
Fair enough. Can the likes of Newry City, Donegal Celtic, Crusaders and Glenavon each expect £5million? Or is the Bogside uniquely disadvantaged? Remember, the whole of IL football is having to share £8 million between them, over several years.
Of course, they're not relying upon this money to stay full-time, as their Chairman intimates DCFC are...:rolleyes:
Fair enough. Can the likes of Newry City, Donegal Celtic, Crusaders and Glenavon each expect £5million? Or is the Bogside uniquely disadvantaged? Remember, the whole of IL football is having to share £8 million between them, over several years.
Of course, they're not relying upon this money to stay full-time, as their Chairman intimates DCFC are...:rolleyes:
You talk the biggest pile of horse****e!! You just cant see the point people are trying to make. Here it is big and bold:
THE MONEY IS NOT ONLY FOR THE STADIUM, BUT ITS ALSO FOR THE REGENERATION OF THE BRANDYWELL, NOT BOGSIDE, BRANDYWELL AREA. THIS ISNT JUST ABOUT FOOTBALL, ITS ABOUT CREATING JOBS IN A DEPRIVED AREA, ABOUT CREATING JOBS ON THE CONSTRUCTION OF THE STADIUM AND THE BUILDINGS AROUND IT. YES THERE ARE PLACES LIKE DONEGAL CELTIC, ARMAGH CITY THAT HAVE POOR STADIUMS AND COULD DO WITH FUNDING, BUT DERY IS PART OF THE UK, PAYS TAXES, VAT ETC TO THE BRITISH GOVERNMENT, THEREFORE DERRY IS ENTITLED TO APPLY FOR FUNDING ON ISSUES LIKE DEPRIVATION AND CREATION OF JOBS. DO YOU UNDERSTAND THIS?????
Krstic
25/04/2008, 9:49 PM
The Brandywell is not in the Bogside, it's in the Brandywell.
Or are you another typical Belfast Bigot who thinks everyone from Derry lives In the Bogside??
And on the uniquely disadvantaged question, the answer is not unique but statistically one of the most economically & socially deprived ares of Northern Ireland.
pól-dcfc
25/04/2008, 9:51 PM
Maybe if they applied. Open your eyes and read what people are actually typing.
dcfc_1928
25/04/2008, 9:57 PM
At the end of the day, there is nothing to stop any club putting together a funding proposal and using their stadium as a catalyst for economic and social change in their local communities. Why shouldn't we do it?
Brandywell Properties has invested a lot of time and money putting together these proposals - employing Peter Quinn Consultancy and visiting community projects based around football clubs in GB, most notably Charlton Athletic.
e.g. "Derry City FC in partnership with CRJI and the PSNI are investigating the feasibility of a football-based project to divert young people from anti-social behaviour, improve their fitness and contribute to their education. It would be based on the ‘Kicks’ project which has been run for some three years in England at Charlton Athletic FC."
This isn't all about building a stadium for DCFC, it's a whole package to create facilities for the area and provide a base for a number of community-based projects with the football club being the focus.
EalingGreen
25/04/2008, 9:58 PM
EG - I can't work out if you're being more of a WUM or a muppet over this.
Derry City didn't join the Republic's league for fun. Remember - the biggoted idiots who run your league constantly refused to let the club back in for 13 years - even when assessments said there was no security risk playing at the Brandywell. We had no choice but to turn south.
So when you can name me one other club on the island that was based in one jurisdiction and forced to play football in the other, then I'll give your point some credence about taking funding from both jurisdictions. Until such time, I suggest you dry yer feckin eyes, or take your sob story to one of the rabid Irish League forums where it'll be warmly embrased with further bile....
You seem to have difficulty in distinguishing me and my arguments from those of people on other forums who appear to wind you up. Frankly, I don't post on any ILF sites, in fact, I don't even read them. That is because from what I've seen, they appear to be full of people who behave like you are doing here.
Namely, I have acknowledged and deplored the circumstances of DCFC's enforced move to the EL. You are being offensive by associating me with the "biggoted [sic] idiots" of that period, with absolutely no grounds.
As for "drying my eyes" and my "sob stories", you are the one who is still harping on about grievances of over 30 years ago, not me. That is, a time when your best known supporter was on the run from the Brits. You know, the one who is now Deputy First Minister in the Brit's local government. Or the time when a gerrymandered local council was discriminating against the Bogside and its club. As opposed to the present, when a Nationalist-dominated local Council is still discriminating against the local football club, in favour of local GAA clubs.
The fact is, I am commentating on today's events. And I think it brass-necked of DCFC to think that they can screw £10 million out of two separate Governments, when between them, the two Governments haven't spent that amount on all 40 senior clubs in NI combined, over the last 20 years. Especially since they (DCFC) are pleading that their full-time status might be jeopardised if they don't get this cash.
Somehow, I think that claim of poverty will hardly go down well with e.g. Distillery, who had their ground burnt our from under them and had to move out of their home city entirely, or Cliftonville, who saw their traditional fanbase move out of the area and have to replace it with an entirely new fanbase, all in the midst of civil disorder at least as murderous as anything seen in Free Derry.
In the end, you can't have it both ways. You are either the Big Time Charlies, full-timers, best-supported club in Ireland etc, or you are the poor, downtrodden victims, deserving of special mitigation.
pól-dcfc
25/04/2008, 10:04 PM
The fact is, I am commentating on today's events. And I think it brass-necked of DCFC to think that they can screw £10 million out of two separate Governments, when between them, the two Governments haven't spent that amount on all 40 senior clubs in NI combined, over the last 20 years. Especially since they (DCFC) are pleading that their full-time status might be jeopardised if they don't get this cash.
The use of your word "screw" there just shows how blind you are to reason.
The money has been applied for. Legally, and not contraveening any law. It is not screwing anyone you muppet.
Krstic
25/04/2008, 10:12 PM
EG, you keep saying that Derry City are from the Bogside.
That to me shows you as a narrow minded bigot, who connects Derry City(as a Perceived Catholic Club)with Irelands most famous Catholic Ghetto.
It's like me saying that Linfield are from the Shankill, because it's the most famous Protestant area In Belfast.
dcfc_1928
25/04/2008, 10:12 PM
Taken from the funding appraisial:
Northern Ireland Priorities and Budget
"The project being proposed by Derry City Football Club is highly congruent with priority four of the Northern Ireland Priorities and Budget aims as it is concerned with redeveloping an area that is currently rundown and in need of regeneration.
Under the priority ‘A Society Based on Partnership, Equality, Inclusion and Mutual Respect’ the proposed project is highly congruent as aims to re-integrate young people back into the community, thus promoting inclusion and equality. The development of the football club will help to ‘regenerated urban neighbourhoods and strong communities’ by encouraging young people of the streets to learn through sport."
DCAL Corporate Plan
"The project being proposed by Derry City Football Club is highly congruent with the aims and objectives of the DCAL Corporate Plan. Through the development of the Brandywell, Derry City Football Club will meet aims one, two and three, to ‘enable as many as possible to experience and appreciate the excellence of our cultural assets’, ‘promote creativity and innovation, and lifelong learning’ and ‘encourage respect for and celebration of diversity’ through the proposed inclusion of the socially disadvantaged in the Derry City community. "
"Derry City Football Club is highly congruent with the Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure’s New TSN Action Plan under a number of its objectives including, ‘Increased participation by disadvantaged people’, ‘Enhanced skills and opportunities for disadvantaged people, groups and areas’ and ‘Increased economic activity in disadvantaged areas and by disadvantaged people’. The Derry City Football is targeting disadvantaged people in a deprived area encouraging integration through learning new skills."
Sports Council NI
"The Derry City Football Club will fulfil the mission of the Sports Council NI through the redevelopment of the Brandywell. Although the project is congruent with a number of the aims for the Sports Council NI it shows particularly high congruency with the following aim ‘to contribute to the positive development of people in NI, especially young people, by consolidating and improving the delivery of sport through the removal of barriers to participation’ as the redevelopment will encourage young people to get involved in sport."
"The proposed project is highly congruent with the objectives outlined above. The development of the Brandywell will undoubtedly increase the participation in sport. The project will help to increase the number of young people involved in sport and provide better facilitates for them to participate in. Therefore, it is fully congruent with the Sports Strategy for Northern Ireland 1997-2005. "
Irish Sports Council’s Strategy
"The proposed project by Derry City Football is highly congruent with the all aims of the Irish Sports Council’s Strategy but in particular with the councils two high level goals. The first of the goals is to ‘increase the number of people participating in sport and physical activity’. The project will help to accommodate this by making the involvement in sport much more attractive through skills training and improved surroundings. The second goal will be achieved by providing better facilities, in the hope that performance in sports will consequently improve."
Derry City Council Economic Development Strategy
"The project proposed is highly congruent with the priorities of Derry City Council as shown in the Economic Development Strategy for 2000-2006. The project is especially congruent under the priority of ‘Tourism and Leisure Development’, which the Council aim to improve through ‘Realising the potential contribution of tourism and leisure to the economy, building the role of the City both as a tourism destination in its own right but also as the regional hub and gateway for the north-west of Ireland’.
The proposed project by Derry City Football Club will also include the development of a number of commercial units that will be available for leasing (for retail etc). Therefore, the proposed project is also congruent under the priority of the ‘Urban Economy’, which involves ‘Enhancing the potential of the City Centre as an economic zone focusing on retail, commercial and office uses but recognising the contribution the creative industries and even economy sectors can make to regeneration’. "
dcfc_1928
25/04/2008, 10:13 PM
FAI Development Plan
"The Derry City Football Club is highly congruent with the FAI Development Plan under a number of the key objectives outlined above. It is particularly congruent with the following four objectives:
Increase grassroots participation;
Provide a clear development structure for emerging talent;
Achieve and sustain international success;
Provide guidelines and a framework for the development of quality training facilities at local, regional and national level.
The proposed project aims to integrate people, especially young people, into sport to help develop their skills and talent, which is highly congruent with the aims of the FAI."
Safety at Sports Grounds NI Order and the Disability Discrimination Act
"At present the existing grounds do not provide easy access to services for persons with disabilities The project proposed by Derry City Football will need to be and will be fully cognise with the regulations outlined in both the Safety at Sports Grounds NI Order and the Disability Discrimination Act 1995. "
The proposals meet quite a few objectives from Government and other funding bodies - we are well entitled to apply for funding
Krstic
25/04/2008, 10:15 PM
But dcfc 1928 we cannot use any of the points listed.
We're from the Bogside.
skitz3
25/04/2008, 10:44 PM
Derry appling for grants! We should be charging them for the honour of playing down here ffs.
pól-dcfc
25/04/2008, 10:52 PM
Derry appling for grants! We should be charging them for the honour of playing down here ffs.
But where has the nicest chips? North or South?
25/04/2008, 11:38 PM
Ahhh - so now that your arguement has been exposed as flawed, it's no longer the issue of dual funding, but all about the size of that funding now Are you in training for Stormont yourself, or do you just shift goalposts mid-debate for a hobby....
EG - let me make this as simple as I can for you. It is not Derry City's fault that football in NI has been starved of money. It may have escaped your attention, but our club is based in NI too, and has therefore been a victim of that same financial famine as well.
Why do you have to turn this into a zero-sum game - the proverbial crab in a bucket trying to drag the other crabs down, least one of them get out when you don't ? Why not applaud Derry's approach, on the basis that more money for any part of football on this island is a good thing; encourage IL clubs to be just as demanding themselves; and turn your protests towards those who are starving NI football of money - the authorities ? Again - it's not DCFC's fault there isn't more than £8m going into Irish League fotball. Why not focus on those who are really to blame for there not being more money in the game, rather than keep draging those ambitious crabs back down to the level of mediocrity with you ? Hell - you might even find that something like that would unite football - DCFC with IL teams, northern and southern teams together - in creating a stronger voice to demand better funding from ALL sources.
Or perhaps that would just be too positive and progressive an idea. Perhaps it's just more soothing to be able to blame a single football club for all the ills of the NI authorities attitude towards funding football....
As an aside - this strikes me as very simnilar to the mindset that exists in certain quarters in the north that any improvement in the position of the Irish language somehow inherently represents an erosion in the position of the Unionist culture. 'Zero-sum' every time....
25/04/2008, 11:40 PM
But where has the nicest chips? North or South?
Plenty of chips on shoulders round Irish League grounds by the sounds of it.... :D
kingdomkerry
26/04/2008, 12:06 AM
haha chips on shoulder alright. Once again a certain somebody proves himself to be the biggest fool on the forum :O
26/04/2008, 12:28 AM
I say drive on and apply for grants everywhere, even iceland if you can get it. The more the merrier. I think Derry deserve it, they are a great club.
Haven't read this thread, will look tomorrow.
Greenforever
26/04/2008, 12:44 AM
Who are you to say who the Irish Governement can and cannot give money to?
As a taxpayer, and a football supporter im sure i represent the majority who feel that the irish government should only give moeny to projects within their jurisdiction, except where it could be deemed as charity such as 3rd world causes. I have no problem with the FAI giving Derry City money as they are an affiliated club.
I believe I am very consitent in my views, as outlined re state grants to for examole Queens or Arnagh GAA.
Greenforever
26/04/2008, 12:53 AM
If we are based in one jurisdiction and play in another, why shouldn't we seek funding form both sides ?? Apart from a whinge based on the fact that you personally don't think we should, give me one good reason why a club forced into that unique position should not therefore seek unique fundign arrangements to reflect it ?
The bigots of the past are largely the same bigots of today in the Irish League. It took until this year to change the sectarian block on Sunday football, for example, and it was still supported by almost 20% of those League members who voted on it.
IF you took the time to read my posts you wouls see i have no problem with Derry City getting an FAI grant which in reality is approved by the Irish Gov, as well as a Nor Irish Gov grant, I do not believe they shoule get grants from both the FAI & IFA or bothe the Irish Gov and the Norn Irish Gov.
I wont repeat myself but most reasonable people will fully read the other persons opinion.
Greenforever
26/04/2008, 12:55 AM
Why does this have to be a 'zero sum' game....? :confused:
£8m between 16 Premier and 24 First/Second Division teams in senior football ?
Perhaps the answer is for the Irish league to be given more - not Derry City less...
This I fully agree with.
lofty9
26/04/2008, 1:42 AM
Someone went fishing, took a load of bait. :)
pól-dcfc
26/04/2008, 10:56 AM
As a taxpayer, and a football supporter im sure i represent the majority who feel that the irish government should only give moeny to projects within their jurisdiction, except where it could be deemed as charity such as 3rd world causes. I have no problem with the FAI giving Derry City money as they are an affiliated club.
I believe I am very consitent in my views, as outlined re state grants to for examole Queens or Arnagh GAA.
Well as a football supporter, and a tax payer, I think you are wrong. The majority of people to comment on this thread are overwhelmingly positive about Derry applying for these grants.
I'm sure there will be no national outcry in the North or the South following the expected approval of these grants. If there is I'll be more than happy to wear a t-shirt saying "I was wrong over public opinion in relation to DCFC obtaining money from both sides of the border." Every day for two weeks. Maybe.
pól-dcfc
26/04/2008, 10:57 AM
IF you took the time to read my posts you wouls see i have no problem with Derry City getting an FAI grant which in reality is approved by the Irish Gov, as well as a Nor Irish Gov grant, I do not believe they shoule get grants from both the FAI & IFA or bothe the Irish Gov and the Norn Irish Gov.
So you have no problem with the Govt giving DCFC monies aslong as it is through a third body? Seems a bit silly to be honest.
26/04/2008, 11:39 AM
So you have no problem with the Govt giving DCFC monies aslong as it is through a third body? Seems a bit silly to be honest.
You are missing the point.
The argument by people who are in favour of getting these grants is that the money is not just for the football club, but is for regeneration of the whole deprived area. And as a club located in Northern Island, who pays VAT on all their tickets etc, the club and area are entitled to money from the Northern Irish government. I fully agree.
But it's hard to reconcile that with the fact that Derry City's chairman (not the chairman of some regeneration committee, but the football club chairman) are asking the Irish government for money also. Presumably this money is also for the regeneration of the Brandywell area also? In which case I'm not sure why the Irish government should be funding such a regeneration effort for a city that is at the moment in another country.
I am aware that there is a precedent for this with other dual-funded projects, however. It's been mentioned on this thread that there is cross-border money available, and Derry are looking for it.
Greenforever's point is that any money given by the government should be given through the FAI, in the form of a grant for the club, not for a regeneration project.
26/04/2008, 11:51 AM
Drive on, give them the money. I'd work another hour a week if it justified it. Give them €10m ..... go for it hi !! ;)
Derry are quite entitled to APPLY to both governments for the grants, regardless of the size.
Now whether they are granted the money are not is a matter for the governments and if NI clubs have a problem with the allocation its the government they should be taking it up with.
Derry owe IL clubs nothing, so they shouldnt even figure in tehir plans.The government on the other hand does.
I think your getting angry at the wrong group EG