View Full Version : Is Ronaldo the best in the world?

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7

14/04/2008, 9:12 AM
I think thats his fourth goal against the Arse in 9 games. Man Utd on the whole were very disappointing yesterday. Even Scholes gave the ball away which happens once every blue moon.

Junior
14/04/2008, 10:17 AM
hahaha.. hes a genius - total footballing god... he scored a penalty yesterday - not even that, he scored it twice!! oh wowwww...
total genius - its been proved.. close this thread lads, the debate is over :rolleyes:... its been proven beyond doubt how good ronaldo is after he scored a penalty yesterday...

by any chance, does anyone think that clichy totally had him in his pocket any time that clown was near him... only for the penalty, you wouldnt have known he was playing :p

haha. Im only kidding you're right he had no influence on the result at all.

someone put this eejit back in his playpen.........

lionelhutz
14/04/2008, 11:40 AM
Ronaldo was very much average against Arsenal. He tried to get into the game by drifting around the pitch but the Arsenal team knew how to handle him. They got close to him every time he got the ball and didn't let him turn and run at them. Plus the gunners have speed all over the team which means Ronaldo couldn't outpace them. And if he can't outpace the opposition, he's got nothing.

14/04/2008, 11:52 AM
Ronaldo was very much average against Arsenal. He tried to get into the game by drifting around the pitch but the Arsenal team knew how to handle him. They got close to him every time he got the ball and didn't let him turn and run at them. Plus the gunners have speed all over the team which means Ronaldo couldn't outpace them. And if he can't outpace the opposition, he's got nothing.

other than his skill, tricks, heading ability and shooting. Yeah take away his pace and he's crap!!!

Junior
14/04/2008, 12:12 PM
and we will all see why, in the next few weeks against arsenal, chelsea and in the champs league semis when he goes hiding as usual..

Plus the gunners have speed all over the team which means Ronaldo couldn't outpace them. And if he can't outpace the opposition, he's got nothing.

Apart from a decent sized pair of gonads perhaps? Hardly hiding was he?

I seem to recall Ruud Van Nistleroy not being so cool at a recent Arsenal game at Old Trafford.

cartman
14/04/2008, 12:21 PM
Apart from a decent sized pair of gonads perhaps? Hardly hiding was he?

I seem to recall Ruud Van Nistleroy not being so cool at a recent Arsenal game at Old Trafford.

welcome to the land of the plebs- captained by our very own foot.ie andy capp Junior...
look, this thread is about whether ronaldo is the best in the world at the moment... well, once more yesterday - in another big game - he had no impact whatsoever...average is kind way of describing his performance...
there must have been at least a dozen players at old trafford yesterday who totally outshone him???? i said he goes hiding in the big games - and he continues to do that...
he scored a penalty though - he must be a genius junior[aka pleb]

jmurphyc
14/04/2008, 12:29 PM
welcome to the land of the plebs- captained by our very own foot.ie andy capp Junior...
look, this thread is about whether ronaldo is the best in the world at the moment... well, once more yesterday - in another big game - he had no impact whatsoever...average is kind way of describing his performance...
there must have been at least a dozen players at old trafford yesterday who totally outshone him???? i said he goes hiding in the big games - and he continues to do that...

Welcome to the land of bans. Who do you support today by the way? I happen to agree with you but I don't see why you have to insult people whilst making your point.

Denis The Red
14/04/2008, 12:30 PM
its one thing doing it against villa or fulham but look how poor he was in the cl semi final last year v milan when he came up against top quality opposition. i actually think torres, fabregas, messi and kaka are currently better players and im sure there are others out there that i dont see regularly

Torres, Fabregas, Messi or Kaka won't win world player of the year, I think Roanaldo will and he'll deserve it.
Last year against Milan was a bad night for the whole team who were just outclassed by a very inspired Milan team on the night. Not entirely Ronaldo's fault.
And as for yesterday against the gooners, you can't expect the lad to be exceptional in every game he plays.

cartman
14/04/2008, 12:31 PM
Welcome to the land of bans. Who do you support today by the way? I happen to agree with you but I don't see why you have to insult people whilst making your point.

because junior is a pleb.. its not an insult... its a fact..;)

jmurphyc
14/04/2008, 12:34 PM
Torres, Fabregas, Messi or Kaka won't win world player of the year, I think Roanaldo will and he'll deserve it.
Last year against Milan was a bad night for the whole team who were just outclassed by a very inspired Milan team on the night. Not entirely Ronaldo's fault.
And as for yesterday against the gooners, you can't expect the lad to be exceptional in every game he plays.

I still don't think he's proved himself fully against top sides yet. However, he's still quite young and he will eventually start to do this.

cartman
14/04/2008, 12:47 PM
I still don't think he's proved himself fully against top sides yet. However, he's still quite young and he will eventually start to do this.

is there anyone out there who thinks someone like fabregas is a better player than ronaldo???
personally, i think theres no comparison at the moment - fabregas is a much more intelligent player who has a huge impact on every game for arsenal..and he never shies away in the big games...
i wonder is it a case of the sky sports generation on here ranting about how good ronaldo is?? all hype and bluff - very little substance though...

and before people start ranting on about himscoring 30 odd goals as substance - two things :
[1] how many of those were penalties?
[2] the likes of darren bent scored 20 odd goals last year - so scoring goals alone doen't prove you are a great footballer

Roadend
14/04/2008, 12:48 PM

You left out "big" between "every" and "game". ;)

jmurphyc
14/04/2008, 12:54 PM
is there anyone out there who thinks someone like fabregas is a better player than ronaldo???
personally, i think theres no comparison at the moment - fabregas is a much more intelligent player who has a huge impact on every game for arsenal..and he never shies away in the big games...
i wonder is it a case of the sky sports generation on here ranting about how good ronaldo is?? all hype and bluff - very little substance though...

and before people start ranting on about himscoring 30 odd goals as substance - two things :
[1] how many of those were penalties?
[2] the likes of darren bent scored 20 odd goals last year - so scoring goals alone doen't prove you are a great footballer

Fabregas is another player who I feel is overrated by many. There's no doubt that he's an excellent player but he's had a poor second half to this season. I know Arsenal have been poor overall but anytime I've seen him recently he has been relatively anonymous. I don't feel he has the experience to impose himself in almost every game yet.

Junior
14/04/2008, 1:01 PM

Thats simply not true (whether he performed at Sunday League standard or not on the day). He scored a pressure penalty (twice) at a crucial time. You can think that is insignifcant all you want, Im not saying it makes him world class either but I am saying "he didnt hide as usual" as you say he does.

Now back in the pen - good boy.

as opposed to the XBOX / FIFA07 generation I supose - yer some man (boy) cartman!!

cartman
14/04/2008, 2:44 PM
oh sorry lads... he didn't just score a penalty yesterday - he scored it twice!! ooooooooh wow... get a grip junior...some awful shi*te being spouted here... if i recall correctly tony cascarino scored a penalty in the shootout against romania in '90.. he must have been a world beater.. point being - this penalty stuff is totally irrelevant

he did nothing of note in the game yesterday in general play - yet he is being considered the greatest player in the world.. how can you be a bystander in so many games and yet be considered a great player... it just doesnt add up

14/04/2008, 3:06 PM
he did nothing of note in the game yesterday in general playHe did a wonderful break dance type dive at the end in the corner. :o

lionelhutz
14/04/2008, 3:37 PM
oh sorry lads... he didn't just score a penalty yesterday - he scored it twice!! ooooooooh wow... get a grip junior...some awful shi*te being spouted here... if i recall correctly tony cascarino scored a penalty in the shootout against romania in '90.. he must have been a world beater.. point being - this penalty stuff is totally irrelevant

he did nothing of note in the game yesterday in general play - yet he is being considered the greatest player in the world.. how can you be a bystander in so many games and yet be considered a great player... it just doesnt add up

Jaysus cartman you'd want to relax and take a chill pill. Your blood pressure must be sky high and i bet the veins are bulging out of your skull!!

At the same time, whilst not being as melodramatic as your good self, I concur with the majority of your argument. I believe Cristiano does disappear in the most significant games and has minimal impact.

In addition, it would be best advisable to cease the insults or someone will end up kicking you square in the nuts

Junior
14/04/2008, 4:27 PM
oh sorry lads... he didn't just score a penalty yesterday - he scored it twice!! ooooooooh wow... get a grip junior...some awful shi*te being spouted here

What ****e have I spouted. Please use the Quote function, good boy.

old git
14/04/2008, 4:54 PM
I never said that Cristiano Ronaldo was as good as Zidane. However, it's just my opinion that he's overrated as a player. I don't think he's one of the all time true greats. He was one of the best of his generation, but not of all time. I've held this opinion for a long time and it had nothing to do with his antics in the 2006 final. As I said, it's just my opinion and you're entitled to yours.

we are all entitled to our opinions .. lets don't forget ronaldo is still a young player he has plenty of time ahead of him to try and match some of zidane achivements which happen over the course of his career .. pike b dont forget just because you win european cups / world cups / euro champsionships does not make you a great player zidane was part are part of good / great teams to win these awards .
a lot of average players have won above competitions and a lot of great players have not even got close to winning any of above :ball:

see's it
14/04/2008, 6:41 PM

you havent a clue if you think ronaldo is on the same level as tony cascarino

15/04/2008, 1:53 PM
Ronaldo this season:

Ronaldo scored 5 goals from penalties:
- against Derby, Everton and Arsenal in the league
- against Spurs in the FA Cup
- against Dynamo Kiev in the Champs League

Scored 5 from free-kicks:
- against Sporting in the Champs League
- against Sunderland, Portsmouth, Bolton and Newcastle in the league.

So 28 of his 38 goals came from open play.

15/04/2008, 3:12 PM
because junior is a pleb.. its not an insult... its a fact..;)

Do you even know what a plebian is?

cartman
16/04/2008, 3:50 PM
Do you even know what a plebian is?

plebian??? never mentioned plebian...
i said pleb ;)

and now i ask you do you know what an andy capp is??

Roadend
17/04/2008, 9:11 AM
and now i ask you do you know what an andy capp is??
A wife beating drunk

17/04/2008, 9:17 AM
A wife beating drunk

Have you seen the cut of his wife? You'd be a wife beating drunk in that instance too I'd wager :)

lionelhutz
17/04/2008, 3:57 PM
Ronaldo this season:

Ronaldo scored 5 goals from penalties:
- against Derby, Everton and Arsenal in the league
- against Spurs in the FA Cup
- against Dynamo Kiev in the Champs League

Scored 5 from free-kicks:
- against Sporting in the Champs League
- against Sunderland, Portsmouth, Bolton and Newcastle in the league.

So 28 of his 38 goals came from open play.

Out of the hundreds of free kicks he's taken within scoring distance, 5 have gone in and the other 99% have left an imprint in the nuts of the players in the wall - some record.

I'd bet Hargreaves has a much better shots to goals ratios from free kicks

jmurphyc
17/04/2008, 4:15 PM
Out of the hundreds of free kicks he's taken within scoring distance, 5 have gone in and the other 99% have left an imprint in the nuts of the players in the wall - some record.

I'm not a massive Ronaldo fan but I think that's a very unfair comment. Before this season his free kicks were generally extremely poor and almost always hit the wall but they have improved remarkably this season. To score five free kicks in a season is IMO excellent. There aren't many players who would do much better (even Beckham didn't usually score much more than that) and he is now one of the best at taking direct free kicks.

17/04/2008, 5:08 PM

He can't win. Uninformed posters claim he only scores from penalties and free kicks and when I point out that actually 28 of his goals came from open play this season....now we get comments about how ****e he is at free kicks??!! :confused:

18/04/2008, 8:18 AM
plebian??? never mentioned plebian...
i said pleb ;)
Thanks for illustrating my point perfectly.

and now i ask you do you know what an andy capp is??Read the strip every day. I don't know if thats supposed to be funny, if it is I'd say leave the non-sequitor cultural references to Family Guy. Stick to buffoonery.

18/04/2008, 8:21 AM
To score five free kicks in a season is IMO excellent. There aren't many players who would do much better (even Beckham didn't usually score much more than that) and he is now one of the best at taking direct free kicks.

Pfft....George has 2 in 8 games ;)

cartman
20/04/2008, 11:45 PM
how did the worlds greatest player get on against blackburn saturday?? was he playing???

21/04/2008, 8:04 AM
how did the worlds greatest player get on against blackburn saturday?? was he playing???He was, the usual footballing contradiction, hit the post with a superb shot and then did the usual disgraceful dive in the box.

Pike B
21/04/2008, 9:19 AM
He was, the usual footballing contradiction, hit the post with a superb shot and then did the usual disgraceful dive in the box.
That diving S..t really annoys me. Watched a super doc last week called 'Football's gone soft'. Souness would have ended Ronaldo's career, had they played in the same era.. The bloke's a sissy girl..

cheifo
21/04/2008, 11:36 AM
As a neutral I hope Wednesdays match lives up to its billing.How fit will Messi be?Another draw for Barca against Espanyol on Sat.Zambrotta is a capable defender so Ronaldo will have to be on his game but it will be fascinating.

the sparks
21/04/2008, 11:52 AM
from the football ive seen players like platini, zidane, rui costa, maradonna, and yes our own lads mcgrath and keane could be called world class. they did it year in year out and also performed at major tournaments. ronaldo is a very good player but best in the world? i doubt it. its one thing doing it against villa or fulham but look how poor he was in the cl semi final last year v milan when he came up against top quality opposition. i actually think torres, fabregas, messi and kaka are currently better players and im sure there are others out there that i dont see regularly
just had to get a comment in lads,im a liverpool fan myself so it hurts me to say it but lets be honest ronaldo is on fire at the monent but he will have to do it for another few years before he will be world class,but the real reason im writing is im astonished that with all the legends of the game that have been mentioned as in above the best player to every put on boots wasnt....romario.....the man is a god look at his record 1226 games 1002 goals i know they were not all at the top level but a lot were even the great maradona is quoted as saying he was the best finisher he has ever seen and he would have him in his dream 11 you cant get much higher praise than that

Pike B
21/04/2008, 11:58 AM
just had to get a comment in lads,im a liverpool fan myself so it hurts me to say it but lets be honest ronaldo is on fire at the monent but he will have to do it for another few years before he will be world class,but the real reason im writing is im astonished that with all the legends of the game that have been mentioned as in above the best player to every put on boots wasnt....romario.....the man is a god look at his record 1226 games 1002 goals i know they were not all at the top level but a lot were even the great maradona is quoted as saying he was the best finisher he has ever seen and he would have him in his dream 11 you cant get much higher praise than that
Big Ronaldo was better.... :D

23/04/2008, 8:00 PM
I do believe Messi is giving us our answer tonight fellas :)

23/04/2008, 8:05 PM
I do believe Messi is giving us our answer tonight fellas :)

Seconded..and Im a United fan...:o

23/04/2008, 8:06 PM
Its harsh to compare them on tonight given the amount of possesion Barca have had and how poor all United players have been.

Saying that Ive always thought Messi was the better player.

23/04/2008, 8:10 PM
Its harsh to compare them on tonight given the amount of possesion Barca have had and how poor all United players have been.

Saying that Ive always thought Messi was the better player.

It is but you have to take into account Messi's overall play in general against Ronaldo's overall play. Say Messi gets hit with a hard tackle, he either shrugs it off or gets up and gets on with it, with Ronaldo you get the theatrics on the floor. With Messi he looks a danger attacking the goal himself, or running down the wing and getting the ball into the box, with Ronaldo I still don't think he's a great crosser of the ball. He's better in pretty much every way, even after a lenghty lay off

23/04/2008, 8:11 PM
It is but you have to take into account Messi's overall play in general against Ronaldo's overall play. Say Messi gets hit with a hard tackle, he either shrugs it off or gets up and gets on with it, with Ronaldo you get the theatrics on the floor. With Messi he looks a danger attacking the goal himself, or running down the wing and getting the ball into the box, with Ronaldo I still don't think he's a great crosser of the ball. He's better in pretty much every way, even after a lenghty lay off

I completely agree with you, I just dont think the one game face off that the tabloids have been building it up is the way to compare players.

23/04/2008, 8:20 PM
I completely agree with you, I just dont think the one game face off that the tabloids have been building it up is the way to compare players.

It's not, but I do dislike Ronaldo immensely so I'll be crowing about it tomorrow :D

old git
23/04/2008, 10:12 PM
That diving S..t really annoys me. Watched a super doc last week called 'Football's gone soft'. Souness would have ended Ronaldo's career, had they played in the same era.. The bloke's a sissy girl..

bit fond of going down the odd occasion ,, the annoying part is you then see him being brave to score a great headed goal against roma .. will add he is not the only one who could be called a sissy girl did you see his big sisters last night drogba the no 1 diver around / torres and even captain fantastic stevie gee to name a few .. unfortunatly it is part of the modern game and looks like their managers are not doing enough to stamp it out
:ball:

old git
23/04/2008, 10:14 PM
Seconded..and Im a United fan...:o

even ya ya toure was streets ahead of ronaldo tonigh :D:D

23/04/2008, 10:56 PM
On tonights evidence...........NO!

Paul Scholes, Xavi and Messi looked like orld beaters tonight. Where as Ronaldo looked like a relegation candidate with Derby.

celticV3
23/04/2008, 11:14 PM
too many people too quick to judge a man on one performance. i hate ronaldo but cannot tell if a player is the best in the world on one bad performances

cartman
24/04/2008, 12:16 AM
too many people too quick to judge a man on one performance. i hate ronaldo but cannot tell if a player is the best in the world on one bad performances

i thought it was a splendid performance by ronaldo tonight :rolleyes: - just as good as he was against arsenal...
whats that he has contributed in those two huge games - 1 penalty scored and 1 penalty missed... a lot of arms flailing about complaining and bitching at refs and teammates - and very little skill, effort, enthusiasm or any sort of workrate at all...
more huge games to come for united - and it will be more of the same from their golden boy... without scholes and ferdinand tonight united's dreams would be over..i mean is anyone shocked at all that he contributed nothing positively again to united's cause tonight?? even his diehard supporters have to give it a rest now...
seriously, who was crazy enough to start a thread asking if this clown is the best player in the world???

Morbo
24/04/2008, 11:48 AM
Yup, fully agree with that, I also think he has a much better footballing brain than Ronaldo, takes a player on at the right time, makes the simple pass at the right time, he always chooses the high percentage play whilst with Ronaldo I think he is more likely to go for the spectacular just for the glory of it, its all about making himself look good, winning is secondary

Pike B
24/04/2008, 12:19 PM
Yup, fully agree with that, I also think he has a much better footballing brain than Ronaldo, takes a player on at the right time, makes the simple pass at the right time, he always chooses the high percentage play whilst with Ronaldo I think he is more likely to go for the spectacular just for the glory of it, its all about making himself look good, winning is secondary
Ronaldo is better in the air, and gets more goals. Everywhere else Messi is better.

24/04/2008, 1:35 PM
would you say Messi is quicker than Ronaldo?