View Full Version : Is Ronaldo the best in the world?
Pike B
07/04/2008, 11:48 AM
I never mentioned the Brazil game. That was someone else. I was the first person to have a go at Zidane so we're kind of in the same boat.
Whilst Ronaldo has been excellent this season for him to prove himself as the best player in the world (at the moment) he would need to produce a quality match winning performance either in the CL final (or possibly the semis) or in the final/semis of the European Championships.
At last we agree on something!! He needs to do it in the Barcelona semi and in the Final if United get there. In the biggest games Christiano Ronaldo has played in so far (World Cup Semi Vs France(2006), Champions League Semi 1 and 2 Vs Ac Milan(2007) and in the Fa Cup Final Vs Chelsea(2007) he has been a bit part player. If he is to become a true great ( like Zidane ;)) then he needs to be brilliant and influential in the Biggest games. We've already seen Henry and Ronaldinho fail this test. How will Ronaldo do?? Time will tell...
07/04/2008, 12:34 PM
Well it's between Messi, Kaka and Ronaldo at the moment, personally I think if had all three playing injury free than it goes Kaka, Messi and then Ronaldo. This season Ronaldo has been the best, largely because he's been the one to stay injury free (anyone remember the start of the season when he was playing rather badly by the way?)
Anyone who doesn't rate Zidane knows very little about football I feel as well :)
jmurphyc
07/04/2008, 12:54 PM
Anyone who doesn't rate Zidane knows very little about football I feel as well :)
Oh FFS I'm not saying he's s**t or I don't rate him. I just think that he's overrated by people who are talking about all time legends. Yes, he kind of carried the France team to the final in the last World Cup, but Real Madrid proved that they could win Champions Leagues without him, he was by no means one of Juve's most influential figures on their path to the final in '97 and '98 and IMO France would still have won the World Cup in 1998. As I said before, they won it due to a world class and excellently organised defence.
07/04/2008, 12:56 PM
I don't recall directing my comment at you in particular, in fact if you do rate Zidane then it shouldn't have bothered you at all
jmurphyc
07/04/2008, 1:08 PM
I don't recall directing my comment at you in particular, in fact if you do rate Zidane then it shouldn't have bothered you at all
Okay. I guess I'm just getting a little worked up with the criticism I'm getting. Anytime I mention this to most people they immediately start having a go so I always think the abuse is directed at me.
Pike B
07/04/2008, 1:35 PM
Oh FFS I'm not saying he's s**t or I don't rate him. I just think that he's overrated by people who are talking about all time legends. Yes, he kind of carried the France team to the final in the last World Cup, but Real Madrid proved that they could win Champions Leagues without him, he was by no means one of Juve's most influential figures on their path to the final in '97 and '98 and IMO France would still have won the World Cup in 1998. As I said before, they won it due to a world class and excellently organised defence.
Real Madrid won it because of him bud.
Not a central figure at Juve?? Rubbish.
And in 98 as good as France were, in the Final, Zidane stepped up and showed what the best always show, TESTICULAR FORTITUDE..
Cometh the hour Cometh the man stuff...
You just proved to me in one post that your opinion is not worth a damn...
Sorry bud, but you are talking utter nonsense..
jmurphyc
07/04/2008, 1:53 PM
Real Madrid won it because of him bud.
Not a central figure at Juve?? Rubbish.
And in 98 as good as France were, in the Final, Zidane stepped up and showed what the best always show, TESTICULAR FORTITUDE..
Cometh the hour Cometh the man stuff...
You just proved to me in one post that your opinion is not worth a damn...
Sorry bud, but you are talking utter nonsense..
I have? Really? I thought I outlined perfectly good reasons as to why he's not a true great. He was definitely a big game player of course. I think that's one of the main reasons why he's so highly rated. However, there were a few other players who were more important to Juventus, for example. For Juventus, Del Piero was the main player during Zidane's time at the club. When Del Piero got injured during the 98/99 season they finished 7th I believe and for the first time since 1994 they didn't make it to a Champions League Final.
During the '98 World Cup Zidane missed 3 games I believe. France didn't need him during those to get games due to their solid defensive platform. Their star player during that tournament certainly wasn't Zidane IMO (although I can't remember which of their defensive players stood out the most seeing as it was so long ago).
Another example is when France played us a few years ago at LR. From what I can recall of that game he played very well and he was certainly France's "heartbeat", but one thing that really ****ed me off was that our players were giving him far too much respect and were constantly standing off him. The man's reputation outweighs his ability. I'm starting to get sick of this argument but I just can't accept people telling me I know **** all about football. My ego just won't let it go.
Pike B
07/04/2008, 1:58 PM
I have? Really? I thought I outlined perfectly good reasons as to why he's not a true great. He was definitely a big game player of course. I think that's one of the main reasons why he's so highly rated. However, there were a few other players who were more important to Juventus, for example. For Juventus, Del Piero was the main player during Zidane's time at the club. When Del Piero got injured during the 98/99 season they finished 7th I believe and for the first time since 1994 they didn't make it to a Champions League Final.
During the '98 World Cup Zidane missed 3 games I believe. France didn't need him during those to get games due to their solid defensive platform. Their star player during that tournament certainly wasn't Zidane IMO (although I can't remember which of their defensive players stood out the most seeing as it was so long ago).
Another example is when France played us a few years ago at LR. From what I can recall of that game he played very well and he was certainly France's "heartbeat", but one thing that really ****ed me off was that our players were giving him far too much respect and were constantly standing off him. The man's reputation outweighs his ability. I'm starting to get sick of this argument but I just can't accept people telling me I know **** all about football. My ego just won't let it go.
Let's end this man.
My top 5 players in our lifetime (1990-2008) As 1990 is the year my earliest memories are from.
5:Kaka
4:Rivaldo
3:Maldini
2:Thuram
1:Zidane
List yours if you wish, and we'll let this arguement die.. I say Zidane is the best I've ever seen and say no more..
jmurphyc
07/04/2008, 2:04 PM
Let's end this man.
My top 5 players in our lifetime (1990-2008) As 1990 is the year my earliest memories are from.
5:Kaka
4:Rivaldo
3:Maldini
2:Thuram
1:Zidane
List yours if you wish, and we'll let this arguement die.. I say Zidane is the best I've ever seen and say no more..
I can't really be bothered to think up of my 5 favourite players. I'd probably leave a few out that I would rank up there. Let's just move this back to whether the Ronaldo debate...
I personally think Ronaldo is s**t and the rest of the Utd team carries him. :D
Pike B
07/04/2008, 2:06 PM
I can't really be bothered to think up of my 5 favourite players. I'd probably leave a few out that I would rank up there. Let's just move this back to whether the Ronaldo debate...
I personally think Ronaldo is s**t and the rest of the Utd team carries him. :D
Agreed!!!!! :D Scholes is better anyway, and John O' Shea!!!!!
Wangball
07/04/2008, 2:08 PM
There's only one way to reslove who the better player is between Zidane & Ronaldo....a keep up contest
Zidane was a great player, as was Pele, as was Maradonna, as was Paul McStay (had to put that in there) but Ronaldo is a great player right now & is argubly the best footballer in the world right now...whatever about Messi & Kaka, Zidane isn't even relevant to this argument
Roadend
07/04/2008, 3:36 PM
As there seems to be Zidane and Ronaldo comparisons I'll just ask, would Ronaldo be the same player if he hadn't the pace he has. Zidane didn't have pace and usually beat his man with his football abilities. Just a thought.
07/04/2008, 4:43 PM
i think if ronaldinho or henry scored 37 goals this season ye would all say there the best in the world
cartman
07/04/2008, 5:02 PM
i think if ronaldinho or henry scored 37 goals this season ye would all say there the best in the world
and yet when someone mentioned huntelaar scoring 30 odd goals - hes not the best in the world...just cos u score loadsa goals doesn't make you the best player in the world - i personally wouldnt even put ronaldo in the top 10 players in the premiership, let alone the world...
and we will all see why, in the next few weeks against arsenal, chelsea and in the champs league semis when he goes hiding as usual..
07/04/2008, 5:10 PM
As there seems to be Zidane and Ronaldo comparisons I'll just ask, would Ronaldo be the same player if he hadn't the pace he has. Zidane didn't have pace and usually beat his man with his football abilities. Just a thought.
You can't make that comparison between the two because of the different positions they play.
celticV3
07/04/2008, 5:44 PM
and yet when someone mentioned huntelaar scoring 30 odd goals - hes not the best in the world...just cos u score loadsa goals doesn't make you the best player in the world
i did not say huntalaar was the best only because of his goal scoring look at my post, he has set up countless goals, when the team go behind he is the player that picks up the team and lifts them until they get the win. for example holland playing their friendly two weeks ago were 3 goals down huntalaar scored twice and they won 4-3. he adds so much to a team and for his age is a great leader an inspiration to the team
Pike B
08/04/2008, 7:30 AM
And a good point at that.. Well said...
Pike B
08/04/2008, 7:30 AM
There's only one way to reslove who the better player is between Zidane & Ronaldo....a keep up contest
Zidane was a great player, as was Pele, as was Maradonna, as was Paul McStay (had to put that in there) but Ronaldo is a great player right now & is argubly the best footballer in the world right now...whatever about Messi & Kaka, Zidane isn't even relevant to this argument
Very true. Zidane has left this thread...
old git
09/04/2008, 11:40 AM
so you are saying ronaldo has no footballing abilities other than his pace ... would have to disagree on that ronaldo is also better in the air than zidane was ... only time will prove if ronaldo can keep improving over the years :ball:
old git
09/04/2008, 11:43 AM
[QUOTE=old git;916769]so you are saying ronaldo has no footballing abilities other than his pace ... would have to disagree on that ronaldo is also better in the air than zidane was ... only time will prove if ronaldo can keep improving .. i personally though zidane was very overatted at times and at the moment ronaldo is also overated a good player in a good/ great team playing in a hyped up so called greatest league in the world .. : :ball
09/04/2008, 11:55 AM
so you are saying ronaldo has no footballing abilities other than his pace ... would have to disagree on that ronaldo is also better in the air than zidane was ... only time will prove if ronaldo can keep improving over the years :ball:
Messi's 4 yeas younger and already better IMO
And Zidane was brilliant in the air too. Scored more headers in world cup finals thatn anyone
Probably
shanman2
09/04/2008, 12:01 PM
And Zidane was brilliant in the air too. Scored more headers in world cup finals thatn anyone
Probably
That's a good shout Dodge. Seem to remember a certain cup final a few years ago where he score one. Zidane, as much as I hate him, was one of the best players of his generation along with Roy Keane.
The really strange thing is and I know its off topic, Zizu and Dugarry nearly signed for Blackburn that time often makes me wonder?:confused:
09/04/2008, 12:07 PM
That's a good shout Dodge. Seem to remember a certain cup final a few years ago where he score one. Zidane, as much as I hate him, was one of the best players of his generation along with Roy Keane.
The really strange thing is and I know its off topic, Zizu and Dugarry nearly signed for Blackburn that time often makes me wonder?:confused:
Roy Keane had a handshake agreement with Kenny Dalglish to join Blackburn as well, so their team could have had a midfield partnership of Keane and Zidane, with Dugarry and Shearer up front
shanman2
09/04/2008, 12:33 PM
Roy Keane had a handshake agreement with Kenny Dalglish to join Blackburn as well, so their team could have had a midfield partnership of Keane and Zidane, with Dugarry and Shearer up front
Ya I remember that. Christ they would have dominated for years if they had to have gotten them. Wasn't it Hodgson who tried to sign the two lads?
What are you possibly basing that on man? Zidane's control, and first touch, were incredible, the best I ever saw, not to mention the fact that he NEVER lost the ball!! (Watch any game, he was almost never dispossesed) he scored penalties, free kicks , headers, left and right foot finishes, won the World Cup, Euro Championships, Champions league, three World Player of the year awards, The Ballon D' Or, the Italian and Spanish League titles and is one of only three players (Pele being another,) to score in two World Cup Finals. He scored the greatest ever goal in a Champions League final and was beyond anything I've ever seen in my life as a player. I am 26. Pele and Maradona have both called him the greatest player of his generation, and he is a GOD in France. The truly great players do it on the biggest possible stage. What did Henry and Ronaldinho do in the Champions league final a few years ago?? Nothing.. When France and his clubs needed him, Zizou delivered. The mark of a true great. The World cup thing with Materazzi was a minor blot on an amazing career. Football is worse for his being gone..
Ronaldo has mount everest of achievement in front of him to be anywhere near Zizou. And I won't hear anyone tell me otherwise.
I'll second that.
Roadend
09/04/2008, 2:21 PM
No, but I'm just throwing it out there as to whether he would be as good if he didn't have the lightning pace he does. Oh and Zidane overated? You'r having a laugh right?
Denis The Red
09/04/2008, 2:26 PM
Lads, did anyone tell you that Zidane is no longer playing. Neither is Maradona, Eusebio, Tomas Hassler, and I heard Pele packed it in recently to promote some product to help some vital part of the anatomy. So the question was is Ronaldo the best at the moment?
Why is he being compared to Zidane and the likes?
And I do think he is better than Messi.....at the moment, this season, currently.
Pike B
09/04/2008, 2:32 PM
I'll second that.
Wise man... Very wise. You have my respect..
Pike B
09/04/2008, 2:34 PM
Lads, did anyone tell you that Zidane is no longer playing. Neither is Maradona, Eusebio, Tomas Hassler, and I heard Pele packed it in recently to promote some product to help some vital part of the anatomy. So the question was is Ronaldo the best at the moment?
And I do think he is better than Messi.....at the moment, this season, currently.
Ooooooohh excuse us!! Ya at the moment he is...There I said it..You happy?? ;)
jmurphyc
09/04/2008, 9:44 PM
Messi and Kaka have so far both shown more natural ability IMO. Ronaldo has probably been the best in the world this season but he doesn't have the ability to really control a game like Kaka has in the past (admittedly Pirlo helped Kaka a lot in this respect).
Zidane is unimportant in the debate as to whether Ronaldo is the best in the world at the moment but no matter how many stats and games you talk about it's impossible to say whether someone is overrated or underrated or not.
09/04/2008, 10:03 PM
ooooh an internet debate goes a little off centre.... who can forgive us
Billy Lord
09/04/2008, 10:42 PM
Can't believe this thread is still alive. The concept of the best player in the world is just subjective nonsense. Who here - or anywhere else in the world - can make any justifiable claims to know who fits the bill?
You might as well be debating what's the best sandwich filling in the world, though I suppose if a certain flamboyant sandwich filling was playing in England you'd all be screaming for it.
Morbo
09/04/2008, 11:14 PM
The best sandwich filling in the world is obviously Steak,Bacon, Cheese and onion, anyone who says otherwise is a plank.
As for Ronaldo, Utd wouldn't be winning the league without him and he is probably the best player in the premiership for punishing the weaker teams but he was yet to prove it on the big stage before he can claim to be the greatest player in the world, so far he kinda has gone missing against the Chelsea, Arsenals and Milans of this world
I have been fotunate to see some top players over the years, including Ronaldo.
Agree with one post about the fact that this topic is so subjective but what I can say is that when I saw Ronaldo play, at Upton Park against West Ham, he was clearly decent but did not stand out.
I had the pleasure of seeing Zidane for Madrid, in Milan on a night when Rui Costa and Zidane were simply sublime to watch.
Maldini his usual self and the likes of Seedorf, Shevchenko, Figo very classy but Costa and Zidane a league ahead
Pike B
10/04/2008, 8:47 AM
The best sandwich filling in the world is obviously Steak,Bacon, Cheese and onion, anyone who says otherwise is a plank.
As for Ronaldo, Utd wouldn't be winning the league without him and he is probably the best player in the premiership for punishing the weaker teams but he was yet to prove it on the big stage before he can claim to be the greatest player in the world, so far he kinda has gone missing against the Chelsea, Arsenals and Milans of this world
Damn.... Steak Bacon Cheese and Onion... I'm gonna try that.. Any sauce?? :D
Can't believe this thread is still alive. The concept of the best player in the world is just subjective nonsense. Who here - or anywhere else in the world - can make any justifiable claims to know who fits the bill?
I agree to an extent, but sometimes some players transcend that, I mean who can argue against Maldini being considered the best defeneder of the last 15 years?
Denis The Red
10/04/2008, 11:04 AM
Ooooooohh excuse us!! Ya at the moment he is...There I said it..You happy?? ;)
ooooh an internet debate goes a little off centre.... who can forgive us
Don't sulk you two.:D I just couldn't see what Zidane had to do with Ronaldo.
Let me put it this way... Does Ronaldo deserve to be FIFA player of the year?
Pike B
10/04/2008, 11:38 AM
Don't sulk you two.:D I just couldn't see what Zidane had to do with Ronaldo.
Let me put it this way... Does Ronaldo deserve to be FIFA player of the year?
Yes.., but it will take him besting Messi in the semi-finals to get it... And remember, no player playing in England has ever won it. Only Italy and Spain..
Denis The Red
10/04/2008, 12:26 PM
Will Messi be fit for the semis, because I saw nothing of Barca to pose a threat to Ronaldo or United.
10/04/2008, 12:29 PM
Will Messi be fit for the semis, because I saw nothing of Barca to pose a threat to Ronaldo or United.
Equally I saw nothing in United last night that would pose a threat to Barca. As we all saw with Arsenal-Liverpool, ties between two well matched opponants will come down to whos luck is in
jmurphyc
10/04/2008, 12:30 PM
I haven't seen their game from last night yet, but from what I saw of them in the first leg, they seemed to be playing within themselves and couldn't have beaten Schalke a lot more comfortably had they desired to.
Another factor in both semi finals will be the Chelsea-Utd game in between the 2 legs provided Chelsea keep up the pressure in the league. This could affect Utd more than Chelsea because they're playing the Wednesday-Tuesday games as opposed to Chelsea who have 8 days between games.
Pike B
11/04/2008, 11:06 AM
Just watched Enzo Zidane on youtube. Zizous son. He looks incredible. Ronaldo, Messi and Kaka have about 5 years to etch their names on world football, cos this boy's coming for them...
jmurphyc
11/04/2008, 11:14 AM
Just watched Enzo Zidane on youtube. Zizous son. He looks incredible. Ronaldo, Messi and Kaka have about 5 years to etch their names on world football, cos this boy's coming for them...
I could look good on youtube, and that says a lot because I could probably make Mary Harney look like Maradona (or should that be Andy Reid?) if I was up against her.
11/04/2008, 11:20 AM
from the football ive seen players like platini, zidane, rui costa, maradonna, and yes our own lads mcgrath and keane could be called world class. they did it year in year out and also performed at major tournaments. ronaldo is a very good player but best in the world? i doubt it. its one thing doing it against villa or fulham but look how poor he was in the cl semi final last year v milan when he came up against top quality opposition. i actually think torres, fabregas, messi and kaka are currently better players and im sure there are others out there that i dont see regularly
Pike B
11/04/2008, 11:26 AM
I could look good on youtube, and that says a lot because I could probably make Mary Harney look like Maradona (or should that be Andy Reid?) if I was up against her.
You that bad? :D
pól-dcfc
13/04/2008, 6:05 PM
He isn't near 4 years younger.
Also, does anyone actually watch Spanish and Italian football on here?
Kaka has been far from his best this season, and a long, long way behind Ronaldo in terms of goals scored and assisted.
Messi has been injured for the past 2 months, and also hasn't scored as many as Ronaldo.
This season Ronaldo is the best attacking player in the world without a doubt. Apart from maybe Pat McCourt.
cheifo
13/04/2008, 8:16 PM
Cant believe nobody has brought David Connolly into the discussion.
Junior
13/04/2008, 8:26 PM
and we will all see why, in the next few weeks against arsenal, chelsea and in the champs league semis when he goes hiding as usual..
Well if putting the equaliser peno in (twice) counts, I suppose you're right........
13/04/2008, 8:28 PM
Also, does anyone actually watch Spanish and Italian football on here?
Yes I watch plenty of Spanish football, but more importantly.......... David Connolly :D
cartman
14/04/2008, 8:56 AM
Well if putting the equaliser peno in (twice) counts, I suppose you're right........
hahaha.. hes a genius - total footballing god... he scored a penalty yesterday - not even that, he scored it twice!! oh wowwww...
total genius - its been proved.. close this thread lads, the debate is over :rolleyes:... its been proven beyond doubt how good ronaldo is after he scored a penalty yesterday...
by any chance, does anyone think that clichy totally had him in his pocket any time that clown was near him... only for the penalty, you wouldnt have known he was playing :p