View Full Version : Denis O'Briens donation

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

Drumcondra 69er
14/02/2008, 3:50 PM
Don't think there is much love to be honest. I have watched him now over the last 6 months and I find him unbearable. I normally dont see him on TV after the Ireland games as I am usually there etc. But the whole Staunton sacking he was sickening and he has been sickening on this issue too. THe press conference yesterday was a disgrace from the press. Not one of the press corp said fair play to the 3 lads for delivering a top manager. A good few of them went straight for the negatives. T'O'D articles are a lot more toned down then his reporting and they are usually more blanced but on Television he has been a joke of late.

They wouldn't have dared do that had Trap been there himself, they were like a gang of schoolkids with a weak teacher in front of them. I'm beginning to understand why Houghton had previously said that the press were worse here then they are in the UK, we really do have a gang of social inadequates writing Sports over here with a couple of honourable exceptions.

beautifulrock
14/02/2008, 3:53 PM
They wouldn't have dared do that had Trap been there himself, they were like a gang of schoolkids with a weak teacher in front of them. I'm beginning to understand why Houghton had previously said that the press were worse here then they are in the UK, we really do have a gang of social inadequates writing Sports over here with a couple of honourable exceptions.

Spot on Drumcondra, even when they were jostling for position during the live feed (before the top table came out) was like a bunch of ill behaved school kids.

14/02/2008, 4:02 PM
Ive tried getting a few things on rte, and they all keep blocking. I can access just the selected clips they release from 6-one, but thats about it.I didnt try to get the conference because i assumed it would block.

Would be useful to get aound

to assume, makes an ass out of u and me. ;)

The only things that dont stream live, are GAA games, rugby matches, and soccer matches ( not EL games, they do screen live ). I watched the news last night for example, the 9 oclock one, livey live. All things that aren't breaking broadcasting rights i.e. sports games, will be available throughout the world - well maybe not china....

14/02/2008, 4:20 PM
I didnt try to get the conference because i assumed it would block.

Press conference from rte.ie: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=JLV7KE5M
Needs realplayer, install from http://uk.real.com/player/

enjoy

Ringo
14/02/2008, 4:35 PM
Herald's headlines. eircom not renewing sponsorship deal, because of O'Brien

14/02/2008, 4:39 PM
Ooooh **** no Eircom Irish football will be ruined. ha ha, Jesus got help the Herald.

jmurphyc
14/02/2008, 4:39 PM

Seriously? No more "Republic of Ireland sponsored by Eircom" then. :(

Ringo
14/02/2008, 4:44 PM
Its the herald, probably bull$hit

14/02/2008, 4:52 PM
If the tax rates werent so feckin ridiculous maybe he would stay here..
Have to say the coverage yesterday was mind bogging. Am no fan of Delaney but I felt for him yesterday on the 6 o clock news as he was been grilled about details of the appointment. really negative tack on this from the media. Great appointment for Irish football. End of story.

The backlash over Very Tennables has started already. We're a sad little country at times we really are. The first genuinely brilliant appointment we've had and the journalists focus on an aside. A joke. We don't deserve this.

14/02/2008, 4:52 PM
We do we deserve it, just some of us dont

Ringo
14/02/2008, 4:57 PM
We do we deserve it, just some of us dont

I really thought the FAI had done a good job. But theve gone and fcuked up at the finish line. Eircom hav been a good sponsor. Did anyone in the FAI think about that?

14/02/2008, 4:58 PM
Here is the question would you rather Billy Davies and Eircom or Trappatoni or some other company that will put the money in, no contest. If Eircom are pulling out over this well then feck them

Drumcondra 69er
14/02/2008, 5:27 PM
Fukk eircom. Trust me, with Trap in charge companies will be falling over themselves to sponsor the team, that eircom logo is gash on the front of the shirts, I'd sooner have nothing but anything would be better then that orange blob.

14/02/2008, 5:31 PM
To be honest I was always surprised eircom won the rights to sponsor the FAI. What about Guinness? Bring back Adidas too!

Quickfire
14/02/2008, 5:46 PM
Thanks for the link tetsu........

14/02/2008, 5:57 PM
Ya-hoo!

Please let Deloite and Touche sponsor us. We could put a small, green dot on the front of the jerseys.

DotTV
14/02/2008, 6:38 PM
Guinness would be good. They could just put a harp on the jersey.

Wangball
14/02/2008, 7:16 PM
I am all for a change in sponsor if it stops those horrid adverts with players and kids, especially Given telling the kid you feel 10ft tall when you wear a green jersey...wish someone would tell O'Shea that, he might start competing in the air then

Metrostars
14/02/2008, 7:28 PM

Great news. Double whamo. No more ugly giant orange dots on the replicas.

beautifulrock
14/02/2008, 7:40 PM
If its true and I very much doubt then we have had a treble top after Trap, Tardelli and now no more Eircom. As a result of the Trap appointment we are a far more marketable product.

onceahoop
14/02/2008, 9:01 PM
Seriously? No more "Republic of Ireland sponsored by Eircom" then. :(
As usual, the article doesn't quite match the headline.

My one fear in all of this is that the media will hound Trap on his views over the manner of his appointment and he'll throw a wobbler. Some of our media are becoming as bad as the Brit red tops.

As regards DOB's donation and where he got his money.

He's not been found guilty of anything.

Tax avoidance is not a crime, in fact we, as Ireland Inc., have encouraged tax avoidance with our tax free staus for artists.

Many other wealthy Irish people live abroad and /or avail of the loopholes that are there to avoid paying tax. Is anyone criticising J.P.McManus who lives in Switzerland and supports Limerick GAA and many other causes.

As many posters have pointed out, DOB could have put his money into the English Premiersh1t. Maybe his benevolence will awaken a chord in the hearts of some of our wealthy ex pats who might see fit to invest some of their wealth in the EL.

Finally, how many of us on here use drugs for recreational purposes, buy counterfeit clothing or DVD'S and buy illegally imported cigarettes. This is contributing to the greatest amount of loss of money to the state through tax evasion and criminallity.

15/02/2008, 7:11 AM
The first genuinely brilliant appointment we've had and the journalists focus on an aside.
As I said earlier, with O'Briens spat with O'Reilly and Independent News and Media this was inevitable.

Ringo
15/02/2008, 7:12 AM
Explaining the background to his intervention, Denis O'Brien said that if the FAI had to spend very large amounts of money on recruiting a manager, soccer in Ireland would suffer at grassroots level.

That raises an interesting question. Why didn't he put €1m into soccer at the lower levels, leaving the FAI to pay Trapattoni directly themselves?

http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/the-fais-wealth-belies-any-credible-reason-for-aid-says-martin-breheny-1290174.html

15/02/2008, 7:45 AM
Surprised no one has picked up on RTE's assertion last night that D O'B got involved two weeks before Staunton got his marching orders.........

Dotsy
15/02/2008, 7:49 AM
Surprised no one has picked up on RTE's assertion last night that D O'B got involved two weeks before Staunton got his marching orders.........

Who cares. Stan was always going to get the boot. The only question was whether they would wait until after the Wales game.

15/02/2008, 8:23 AM
From a corporate governance standpoint it looks atrocious as its hard to get away from the fact O'Brien paid the FAI to get rid of Staunton. That is stepping way over the line. Just say that Delaney told O'Brien then that Staunton was getting the heave, before Staunton himself had been told, which would be a complete breach of confidentiality.

The whole thing stinks to high heavens and its great to see so many people on here exhibiting "the end justifies the means"-type thinking. Don't come crying the next time you or your club gets shafted by the FAI, as there will be a large amount of schadenfraude on display from myself and a few others.

cavan_fan
15/02/2008, 8:34 AM
From a corporate governance standpoint it looks atrocious as its hard to get away from the fact O'Brien paid the FAI to get rid of Staunton. That is stepping way over the line. Just say that Delaney told O'Brien then that Staunton was getting the heave, before Staunton himself had been told, which would be a complete breach of confidentiality.

The whole thing stinks to high heavens and its great to see so many people on here exhibiting "the end justifies the means"-type thinking. Don't come crying the next time you or your club gets shafted by the FAI, as there will be a large amount of schadenfraude on display from myself and a few others.

Oh for gods sakes, the dogs in the street knew Staunton was going to be sacked. Many of us were saying at the time that it would be great if someone came forward to part fund a new manager. It is clear an unholy alliance of the media and some eircom-league-only fans are looking desperately for a chance to have a go at Delaney.

Who got shafted here by the FAI?
What are the means which need to be justified?

Should the FAI have said, "No, no we dont want your money". I can guarantee the exact same people would be on here criticising them saying "Typical FAI, refusing to take money which could help my club (whinge whinge)"

The entire process was well handled, we got a great manager and we alienated no-one by leaking. Well done to the FAI.

Drumcondra 69er
15/02/2008, 8:48 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/the-fais-wealth-belies-any-credible-reason-for-aid-says-martin-breheny-1290174.html

This from Martin Breheny, a GAA man with an axe to grind who says nothing about the huge alltruistic donations that JP McMAnus has given to Limerick GAA for example. What difference does it make where the money goes in? That article is tripe.

15/02/2008, 10:42 AM

Why didn't he put €1m into soccer at the lower levels, leaving the FAI to pay Trapattoni directly themselves?
With the money from Denis O'Brien, the FAI can now pay Trapattoni and can distribute the money they had set aside as wages to the lower levels of the game.
Drumcondra 69er is right, that article is rubbish

15/02/2008, 11:03 AM
I dont think the fuss is about the money its about Mr. Delaney being economical with the truth yet again but hey if we let the leader of the country make a laughing stock of us all why should a few white lies here and there make any difference to us.On mature reflection of course :rolleyes:

beautifulrock
15/02/2008, 11:05 AM
Breheny sticking his oar in, this is getting embarrassing now. JP is not the only man to put money into the GAA either Kepak kept Meath going for years and there are many other examples I could use both on a local and county level. Fair play to them and fair play to O Brien now lets move on for crying out loud and get behind the most exciting team management we have ever had.

15/02/2008, 11:36 AM
Breheny sticking his oar in, this is getting embarrassing now. JP is not the only man to put money into the GAA either Kepak kept Meath going for years and there are many other examples I could use both on a local and county level. Fair play to them and fair play to O Brien now lets move on for crying out loud and get behind the most exciting team management we have ever had.

i wouldn't listen to breheny, typical galway narrow-minded begrudgery :D

But seriouslly, is he just trying to keep himself in a job all year round or what?! :rolleyes::confused:

citizenerased
15/02/2008, 12:40 PM
:DThank You Dennis:D

sullanefc
15/02/2008, 6:02 PM
It is clear an unholy alliance of the media and some eircom-league-only fans are looking desperately for a chance to have a go at Delaney.

Eh, don't paint all eL fans with the same brush. I am one and I couldn't be happier with this appointment and I don't give a fig who is paying for it.

cavan_fan
15/02/2008, 6:13 PM
Eh, don't paint all eL fans with the same brush. I am one and I couldn't be happier with this appointment and I don't give a fig who is paying for it.

I was referring to those el club fans who dont support the national team. We all know who they are!

Diarmo
15/02/2008, 7:52 PM
Sorry but I fail to see any positive in this.

I think that's one of the funniest things I've ever read.

sullanefc
16/02/2008, 2:16 AM
I was referring to those el club fans who dont support the national team. We all know who they are!

A lot of eL fans support club first. A lot of EPL fans support club first. Why do you single out the eL fans??? Doesn't mean we all want the National team to fail.

Guts&Glory
16/02/2008, 8:19 AM

What about all those ireland fans (76,000 at home games) that dont support EL Clubs.

Guts&Glory
16/02/2008, 8:21 AM
I am all for a change in sponsor if it stops those horrid adverts with players and kids, especially Given telling the kid you feel 10ft tall when you wear a green jersey...wish someone would tell O'Shea that, he might start competing in the air then

LOl...classic re O'Shea

blobbyblob
16/02/2008, 8:41 AM
Anyone ever get the feeling that these boards are full of journo's trying to get a reaction from the "fans"?:rolleyes:

Good man O'Brien. For once a national organisation has been honest, professional and transparent. I never thought would be the FAI. Its the times we live in. Cant blame the skeptics i suppose.

I have a club who could do with a few quid if any secret millionaire wants to donate. Just PM blobbyblob. I look forward to hearing from you. ;)

16/02/2008, 10:04 AM

The ones who see the national team a either irrelevant to them because it has no relation to the Irish football they follow, or indeed harmful to their interests given its perpetuation of the idea that you can't be successful unless you play in England? Are those the ones you mean?

Ringo
17/02/2008, 8:24 AM
FIFA, the governing body of world soccer, have confirmed they are to investigate the Denis O'Brien deal which led to Giovanni Trapattoni's appointment as Ireland soccer manager, the Sunday Independent can reveal.

The significant development will cast a shadow on the appointment of the new manager and could have serious implications for the Football Association of Ireland (FAI).

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/fifa-to-scrutinise-obriens-fai-deal-1291295.html

Dotsy
17/02/2008, 9:51 AM
http://www.independent.ie/national-news/fifa-to-scrutinise-obriens-fai-deal-1291295.html

This is a joke. The FAI have done nothing illegal. Russia did the same with Hiddink. FIFA did nothing in that case.

It is obvious that the Independent have an axe to grind with DOB.

17/02/2008, 11:08 AM
From that links:
At present there appears to be no regulation to prevent the deal, but certainly we will be seeking further official details from the national organisation and we are investigating the matter. Beyond that, I cannot comment.
So in other words, FIFA are only looking for clarification and they have nothing in their rules to say the FAI cannot do it.

17/02/2008, 12:57 PM
....It is obvious that the Independent have an axe to grind with DOB.
They also don't like the fact that the FAI and Givens were always one step ahead on the new manager issue and they are also trying to deflect attention away from Fanning's outrageous article last week which the FAI are rightly pursuing.

17/02/2008, 1:23 PM
They also don't like the fact that the FAI and Givens were always one step ahead on the new manager issue and they are also trying to deflect attention away from Fanning's outrageous article last week which the FAI are rightly pursuing.

There's a retraction and an apology for that in today's paper, didn't see it online though.
Usual retraction guff, box on the bottom of a page that most people would miss

cavan_fan
17/02/2008, 1:55 PM
The ones who see the national team a either irrelevant to them because it has no relation to the Irish football they follow, or indeed harmful to their interests given its perpetuation of the idea that you can't be successful unless you play in England? Are those the ones you mean?

Yes and Yes. You know what, I don't care. In the same way Io have no interest in the eircom league as it has no relation to the team I support (Ireland). Soint he same way I wouldn't comment on someone giving Bray Wanderers money, then I wouldnt expect people to comment on Ireland being given money.

By the way the Independent is a joke.

17/02/2008, 6:10 PM
Yes and Yes. You know what, I don't care. In the same way Io have no interest in the eircom league as it has no relation to the team I support (Ireland).

And that's exactly why some of us who support our local team ( I support a team, not a league) have no interest in what passes for our NATIONAL team.

17/02/2008, 6:13 PM
And that's exactly why some of us who support our local team
It's not really tbh. 99% of people support their local team because they were brought by a family member, they live very close to the stadium, stuff like that. Even living where I do off Pearse st the kids don't know the league exists unless they're brought to watch Shels or Rovers by their parents. Anyway, we've had this debate loads of times.

17/02/2008, 6:47 PM
There's a retraction and an apology for that in today's paper, didn't see it online though.
Usual retraction guff, box on the bottom of a page that most people would miss
Thanks for that Tets, haven't seen the paper today have only read the on-line version.

BTW, who wrote the article 'Trapattoni offers guile but without guarantees', the on-line version doesn't say.