View Full Version : Elvery's Super League 2008
Pages :
[
3]
Whipitin
02/04/2008, 7:08 PM
Predictions on superleague games for the weekend????
the grape vine
03/04/2008, 8:16 AM
BallinrobeTown v Iorras Aontaithe (AWAY)
Bangor Hibs. v Snugboro (DRAW)
Claremorris v Ballyheane (DRAW)
Westport Utd. v BallinaTown (HOME)
My Txt has been deleted by the 12 man and fair enough. so ill put it another way. I heard that Stevie gavin was kicked round the pitch sunday. Thats really ****ed me off cos its gonna happen to him all season.(that ok:o) my point was that this wont be the first or the last time he experiences this here. I think the only 2 clubs that will have respect for stevie will be Celtic and maybe Ballyheane.
Ive met Stevie Alot of times when the spotlight wasnt on him as i followed the LOI and dont forget he went to snugboro N.S and people knew we had 2 stars there. Anto Heally and Stevie.Thats a story 4 another day but A/c to the 12th man ill just say this. If stevie Gets the same treatment as he did in Conway Park last week.............. Well its a discrace 4 mayo soccer that jealousy is still a factor...... look at the mayo team.
Well Done Yohan And the Boys
You "heard" Stevie Gavin was kicked round the pitch on Sunday. I presume you weren't at the match?
You chose to rely on hearsay in order to launch an attack on Mayo Soccer.
Your comment regarding respect does not make sense. does respect mean clubs avoid making challenges on Stevie whilst playing against him?? I'm not sure how Celtic & Ballyheane will show "respect" when all other clubs in the M.L will not.
Its foolish & niave to assume players should respect S.G any more just because he has league of Ireland experience.
All competitors in the M.L respect each other equally regardless of their playing standard or experience.
This is junior football and we all have to go to work on a Monday morning.
The mayo league does not reserve special treatment for ex LOI players.
Snugboro United have made a good signing in S.G and have set the standard in recent years as to how community spirit and hard work can pay dividends. They are a credit to their village and to the Mayo League.
I suggest you go watch S.G play for Snugboro F.C.
threefivetwo
03/04/2008, 2:04 PM
My Txt has been deleted by the 12 man and fair enough. so ill put it another way. I heard that Stevie gavin was kicked round the pitch sunday. Thats really ****ed me off cos its gonna happen to him all season.(that ok:o) my point was that this wont be the first or the last time he experiences this here. I think the only 2 clubs that will have respect for stevie will be Celtic and maybe Ballyheane.
Ive met Stevie Alot of times when the spotlight wasnt on him as i followed the LOI and dont forget he went to snugboro N.S and people knew we had 2 stars there. Anto Heally and Stevie.Thats a story 4 another day but A/c to the 12th man ill just say this. If stevie Gets the same treatment as he did in Conway Park last week.............. Well its a discrace 4 mayo soccer that jealousy is still a factor...... look at the mayo team.
Well Done Yohan And the Boys
stevie gave as good as he got in the game he wasn't singled out in my eyes!! stevie did well, he got stuck in when he needed to. as 4 celtic showin him respect????? i don't think so, it's a game of football and whoever your opponent is, he's your enemy 4 90 mins i myself wouldn't show any player respect!! afterwards i'd shake their hand and then show them respect!!
03/04/2008, 2:50 PM
In fairness pixie, i know you weren't at the game so its your informant whos at fault. SG didn't get any special treatment. His quickness of feet meant that he was caught late a few times, but it was never malicious. The game was a physical one on both sides. I doubt anyone will go out to hurt SG this year, he may be manmarked in a few games, but there aren't many hackers around the super league. You get a few thumps down in the lower divisions, especially if you have a bit of pace but again, I don't see much wrong with that side of the game, we're all men and able to handle ourselves, SG will take care of himself.
spinster
03/04/2008, 6:38 PM
BallinrobeTown v Iorras Aontaithe (AWAY)
Bangor Hibs. v Snugboro (DRAW)
Claremorris v Ballyheane (DRAW)
Westport Utd. v BallinaTown (HOME)
ballinrobe v erris(draw)
Bangor v snugboro(away)
claremorris v ballyheane(Away)
Westport v ballina(home)
couchpotato
03/04/2008, 7:24 PM
ballinrobe v erris(draw)
Bangor v snugboro(away)
claremorris v ballyheane(Away)
Westport v ballina(home)
Ballinrobe v Erris - ballinrobe to hold them to a 1-1 draw and pick up first points
Bangor V Snugboro - Bangor to sneak a last minute dra 1-1
Claremorris v Ballyheane - Ballyheane to pick up from last week 1-3
Westport V ballina - solid 1-0 home victory
Thunderblaster
03/04/2008, 11:08 PM
Well done lads? I hope the covies haven't got their solicitors on the case.
Sepp "Thousand Bad Ideas a Day" Blatter is dealing with it.!!:D:eek::D
Thunderblaster
03/04/2008, 11:09 PM
In fairness pixie, i know you weren't at the game so its your informant whos at fault. SG didn't get any special treatment. His quickness of feet meant that he was caught late a few times, but it was never malicious. The game was a physical one on both sides. I doubt anyone will go out to hurt SG this year, he may be manmarked in a few games, but there aren't many hackers around the super league. You get a few thumps down in the lower divisions, especially if you have a bit of pace but again, I don't see much wrong with that side of the game, we're all men and able to handle ourselves, SG will take care of himself.
Snugboro played a quicker game than us and tackled harder than us.
juan pablo
03/04/2008, 11:32 PM
ballinrobe v erris(HOME)
Bangor v snugboro(HOME)
claremorris v ballyheane(AWAY)
Westport v ballina(DRAW)
Cloggs
05/04/2008, 1:00 PM
Ballinrobe Town v Iorras Aontaithe-home
Bangor Hibs. v Snugboro Utd.-draw
Claremorris v Ballyheane- away
Westport Utd. v Ballina Town-home
gunner1
05/04/2008, 2:03 PM
Ballinrobe Town v Iorras Aontaithe-draw
Bangor Hibs. v Snugboro Utd.-away
Claremorris v Ballyheane- draw
Westport Utd. v Ballina Town-home
renovater
06/04/2008, 1:15 PM
You "heard" Stevie Gavin was kicked round the pitch on Sunday. I presume you weren't at the match?
Your comment regarding respect does not make sense. does respect mean clubs avoid making challenges on Stevie whilst playing against him?? I'm not sure how Celtic & Ballyheane will show "respect" when all other clubs in the M.L will not.
Its foolish & niave to assume players should respect S.G any more just because he has league of Ireland experience.
All competitors in the M.L respect each other equally regardless of their playing standard or experience.
Snugboro United have made a good signing in S.G and have set the standard in recent years as to how community spirit and hard work can pay dividends. They are a credit to their village and to the Mayo League.
Well I have to agree with every word you said, S.G. will only get respect from every player when its deserved.As for The Galway support club, he will have too drink some pride
pixiehead
06/04/2008, 2:50 PM
For now hear say is all i can go on. Uve missed my point entirely. Any good player who is a class above the rest , LOI or not will always get unwanted attention from other players (and managers) in a negative way...Am i right???
Ive been in many a dressing room at half time where " take that pr**k out" is the order of the day. If You think that style of football is dead in mayo your head is under water my friend. As you said yourself it amature (work on a monday morning) Ya. AS for "launching an attack on Mayo soccer" calm dowm and grow up. This site is for the nity gritty as well as the rosey fields of Mayo foootball. This site should be a debate and not an ultimate lick arrse of MLF
pixiehead
06/04/2008, 3:29 PM
Well I have to agree with every word you said, S.G. will only get respect from every player when its deserved.As for The Galway support club, he will have too drink some pride
Pls Read top post as regards GUFC supporters. S.G only played one season with us under Steven Lally and did not not make too many apperances so he is was not that well known in terryland!!! Ill drink your stout but thats it my friend:cool:
renovater
06/04/2008, 5:18 PM
Pls Read top post as regards GUFC supporters. S.G only played one season with us under Steven Lally and did not not make too many apperances so he is was not that well known in terryland!!! Ill drink your stout but thats it my friend:cool:
You describe him as L.O.I player now you want to water it down. I drink to that.
By the way things are not going to well in Galway? any new manager about to take over a sinking ship.:D
Leveller
06/04/2008, 9:15 PM
Stevie Gavin was the best player on the pitch against Westport, he had a great game against us, it is good for the league to have a player of his quality. He is tough, but neither dirty nor a cheat, anyone who has seen him play will know this.
pixiehead
07/04/2008, 3:47 AM
You describe him as L.O.I player now you want to water it down. I drink to that.
By the way things are not going to well in Galway? any new manager about to take over a sinking ship.:D
Hopefull RICO will accept an offer. Billy cleary in as caretaker
spinster
07/04/2008, 9:51 AM
no real surprises at the weekend so? taught ballinrobe might hold erris to a draw first game at home and all. Good win for snugboro away to bangor, hard place to get a result. looks like it will be a good season for snugboro.
For now hear say is all i can go on. Uve missed my point entirely. Any good player who is a class above the rest , LOI or not will always get unwanted attention from other players (and managers) in a negative way...Am i right???
Ive been in many a dressing room at half time where " take that pr**k out" is the order of the day. If You think that style of football is dead in mayo your head is under water my friend. As you said yourself it amature (work on a monday morning) Ya. AS for "launching an attack on Mayo soccer" calm dowm and grow up. This site is for the nity gritty as well as the rosey fields of Mayo foootball. This site should be a debate and not an ultimate lick arrse of MLF
If you want to debate on the treatment of S.G in the M.L go watch Snugboro play.
Don't come on here and claim without any reasonable back-up that "If stevie Gets the same treatment as he did in Conway Park last week.............. Well its a discrace 4 mayo soccer that jealousy is still a factor......"
S.G is not the first and will most certainly not be the last player with a little L.O.I experience to ply his trade in the M.L.
It is you who is getting excited. Snugboro had played one game in which they beat the reigning champions and the man in question scored a goal!!
S.G is a quality signing and will be of immence benefit to Snugboro F.C in terms of the experience he will bring to the club. Once he finds his feet in new surroundings he should prove to be an invaluable signing. He is a big boy and he will look after himself on the field of play.
Jealousy is not a factor for the "Mayo League" or for any players and to claim otherwise is ridiculous. This site is without a doubt for "the nitty gritty as well as the rosey fields of mayo Football".
If you want to comment on the nitty gritty, I suggest you visit some of the rosey fields
FahyForever
07/04/2008, 6:52 PM
How in the name of God did all of the people who made predictions this week, apart from Grapevine, think that Iorras would fail to get a win at Ballinrobe??? Am I missing something here? Ballinrobe will struggle to get points in this division from anyone but Bangor and maybe Claremorris, unless they have strengthened their squad considerably. No offence to JP or any of the other Ballinrobe lads, I'm just wondering if the predictions are wishful thinking or have Iorras really deteriorated whilst Ballinrobe have improved vastly?
I know it's easy to criticise predictions when I didn't make any myself so I will put myself in the firing line for next week!
pixiehead
08/04/2008, 1:04 AM
If you want to debate on the treatment of S.G in the M.L go watch Snugboro play.
Don't come on here and claim without any reasonable back-up that "If stevie Gets the same treatment as he did in Conway Park last week.............. Well its a discrace 4 mayo soccer that jealousy is still a factor......"
S.G is not the first and will most certainly not be the last player with a little L.O.I experience to ply his trade in the M.L.
It is you who is getting excited. Snugboro had played one game in which they beat the reigning champions and the man in question scored a goal!!
S.G is a quality signing and will be of immence benefit to Snugboro F.C in terms of the experience he will bring to the club. Once he finds his feet in new surroundings he should prove to be an invaluable signing. He is a big boy and he will look after himself on the field of play.
Jealousy is not a factor for the "Mayo League" or for any players and to claim otherwise is ridiculous. This site is without a doubt for "the nitty gritty as well as the rosey fields of mayo Football".
If you want to comment on the nitty gritty, I suggest you visit some of the rosey fields
Sorry Curly Watts, Im not even in the country at the mo so i have to rely on what i hear from my former clubmate members at Snugboro. Otherwise i dont think setanta will be covering the Elverys super League just yet!!!
Anyhow we'll leave it at that!!
spinster
08/04/2008, 8:29 AM
Ballinrobe got in a few new young lads from gaa and are training hard. they might struggle but will fight for every point. from the news report they were unlucky in ballina. nobody expects taking points from the big 4 but every one loves a upset. no point going to game saying if we lose by 2 or 3 its not that bad.
Sorry Curly Watts, Im not even in the country at the mo so i have to rely on what i hear from my former clubmate members at Snugboro. Otherwise i dont think setanta will be covering the Elverys super League just yet!!!
Anyhow we'll leave it at that!!
No prob Pixiehead. Not to worried where you are getting your info to be honest. As long as you spare us all from your daft claims i'm happy.
juan pablo
08/04/2008, 10:45 AM
Ballinrobe got in a few new young lads from gaa and are training hard. they might struggle but will fight for every point. from the news report they were unlucky in ballina. nobody expects taking points from the big 4 but every one loves a upset. no point going to game saying if we lose by 2 or 3 its not that bad.
Well said spinster, nice to have a bit of support on this snugboro/covie/celtic forum. We have nothing to lose this season as i keep saying, no-one expects us to get many points at all so its better to be seen as a walkover team and if we can get back to playing soccer this weekend against ballyheane, Who knows!!
Snugboro are going well alright, nice to see another club apart from the Top 2 challenging at these early stages in the League. Saying that it is still only early. Discipline seems to be a problem with them though with 3 sending off's in their last 2 games. Sayng that i would swap our current status for 6 points right now. :)
Would ya??? Would ya go AWAY would ya!! ;)
FahyForever
08/04/2008, 3:34 PM
Cheers spinster, was thinking ye must have a few new lads in alright. Good article in the Mayo News on ye there a couple of weeks ago. I am all on for teams from the premier league going up and doing well in the super and wish ye the best for the season.
pixiehead
08/04/2008, 10:29 PM
No prob Pixiehead. Not to worried where you are getting your info to be honest. As long as you spare us all from your daft claims i'm happy.
Got the Last dig in there Norm, well done!!
juan pablo
11/04/2008, 2:41 AM
So whats the feeling in the Ballyheane camp ahead of Sunday's Match?
Surely an easy 3 points for the heane??:D
robben 11
11/04/2008, 1:33 PM
So whats the feeling in the Ballyheane camp ahead of Sunday's Match?
Surely an easy 3 points for the heane??:D
oh it will be a dinger of a game end to end stuff....!!
whats the robe team like?? i just hope we get win get a bit of momentum going 7 points from 9 is not a bad return from 1st three games
the grape vine
11/04/2008, 1:51 PM
oh it will be a dinger of a game end to end stuff....!!
whats the robe team like?? i just hope we get win get a bit of momentum going 7 points from 9 is not a bad return from 1st three games
i say it could be a bit of a banana skin for ye !! the robe will be really up for it and looking for some badly needed point's.
Whipitin
11/04/2008, 2:14 PM
Ballyheane should win but dey are renowned for slipping up against the weaker teams....anything is possible!!!!!!
juan pablo
11/04/2008, 3:05 PM
Ah no honestly i think ballyheane will be far too strong for the 'robe'. Not worth our while going down, missing 5 of our key players through the Gaelic. It's a pure balls when players wont commit to one or the other.
Whipitin
11/04/2008, 5:58 PM
I understand its difficult when players wont commit but you should stay positive. With a negative attitude this early in the season ur half way to relegation.
spinster
14/04/2008, 5:22 PM
does anyone no where there is a current league table available?
Cloggs
14/04/2008, 8:31 PM
does anyone no where there is a current league table available?
haven't looked there this week but i think that you should be able to get them on snugboro's excellent website.i think that its www.snugboro.com
spinster
14/04/2008, 10:56 PM
cheers cloggs,
your right about both, great website snugboro.
juan pablo
15/04/2008, 2:32 PM
Snugboro have started very well, exciting times in the camp i am sure. Celtic kick off their season this weekend. Must still be very disappointed after the weekend. What is the word on Dykes?? Will he stay or will he go??
irishyop
15/04/2008, 3:52 PM
Snugboro have started very well, exciting times in the camp i am sure. Celtic kick off their season this weekend. Must still be very disappointed after the weekend. What is the word on Dykes?? Will he stay or will he go??
JP - Why exactly would he go? Have you having your ear too close to the ground again ;)
juan pablo
15/04/2008, 4:12 PM
JP - Why exactly would he go? Have you having your ear too close to the ground again ;)
Well if you do what i did and waste 5 minutes of your life reading his opinion on the game in the Mayo News this week then you will see why i asked. :cool:
hardcore
15/04/2008, 6:10 PM
Well if you do what i did and waste 5 minutes of your life reading his opinion on the game in the Mayo News this week then you will see why i asked. :cool:
Could say the same about you. anyone is entitled to an opinion.
you dont have to read it. Just like you should'nt be reading this!:)
Whipitin
16/04/2008, 8:00 PM
Predictions for games at the weekend????? Some interesting games!!!!
Thunderblaster
16/04/2008, 9:41 PM
Rumour has it that the next Snugboro home game, the team will be greeted with a ticker tape reception of red and yellow cards, given their accumulation of the cards from the Texoil sponsored referees!!:D
spinster
17/04/2008, 1:04 PM
ballina v snugboro- draw
ballinrobe v castlebar celtic - away
claremorris v bangor hibs - away
manulla v ballyheane- home
westport v erris- home.
some good games, real test for snugboro, and claremorris and bangor will see this as a 6 pointer!
any views?
any chance ballinrobe could upset celtic after there unfortunate loss in fai cup? cant see it somehow
Whipitin
17/04/2008, 5:36 PM
Bangor should be 2 strong for claremorris. Westport/Erris could be a cracker!!! Celtic easy 3, massive game for Snugboro, if they win dey will be serious title contenders. Manulla and Balyheane could go either way!!!
juan pablo
18/04/2008, 9:14 PM
ballina v snugboro- away
ballinrobe v castlebar celtic - home
claremorris v bangor hibs - draw
manulla v ballyheane- away
westport v erris- draw
Come on the Robe!!!!!!!!!!:)
Fireball
19/04/2008, 9:58 PM
Results:
Ballina Town 2 v 1 Snugboro Utd.