View Full Version : Protest against Venables?

Deckydee
04/12/2007, 1:03 PM
As they say in Norn Iron 'Hows abuot je?

I was wondering would anyone be interested in holding a demonstration against any possible hiring of Venables or Brady next week

Fcuk sake I am so sick of this

Engerland get 'The Special One' and we get 'Very Terribles'

Jeesh! :mad:

P.S - By the way cant attend, based in Belgium, but would be there in spirit

04/12/2007, 1:12 PM
brilliant

LOL

Wolfie
04/12/2007, 1:18 PM
P.S - By the way cant attend, based in Belgium, but would be there in spirit

The worlds first existential spirit to take part in a protest.

Juanace
04/12/2007, 1:27 PM
Whats with protesting bout El Tel!!

All this bleedin media hype slaggin him off..its ridiculous.

Look at the managers who we've got a hope of signing and he's gotta be one of the better one's - personally id go for him or Hogdson, sure who else do ye think were gonna get?? Mourinho, Capello?? Lets come back to the real worlds lads. Who do we think we are - Were not Brazil were bleedin Ireland!!

Dr. Ogba
04/12/2007, 1:29 PM

Look at the managers who we've got a hope of signing and he's gotta be one of the better one's - personally id go for him or Hogdson, sure who else do ye think were gonna get?? Mourinho, Capello?? Lets come back to the real worlds lads. Who do we think we are - Were not Brazil were bleedin Ireland!!

ah begorrah to be sure to be sure!

Drumcondra 69er
04/12/2007, 1:37 PM

All the media slagging him off?? Have you been reading the indo or the herald recently??

Other recommended reading would be 'Terry Venables - The last 10 years'.

citizenerased
04/12/2007, 1:40 PM
so lads lets organise a protest outside lansdowne!!!!!!!

Juanace
04/12/2007, 1:44 PM
Who do you want then lads, lets protest FOR somebody?

Dr. Ogba
04/12/2007, 1:46 PM
so lads lets organise a protest outside lansdowne!!!!!!!

hard-hats and hi-vis vests provided! :D

Schlooooomp
04/12/2007, 1:47 PM

Are you for real, it is the media that is hyping up venables!

04/12/2007, 1:48 PM
The FAI are using the media to promote Venables. Does anyone know what the media get in return?

citizenerased
04/12/2007, 1:51 PM
who knows, they all have their own agendas anyway!!!....Arie Hann all the way...we need an anti-venables protest..

galwayhoop
04/12/2007, 1:52 PM
i was just saying to the missus recently (while watching reelin' in the years) that people used to love a good old protest!!

nowadays people rather just moaning as it is too cold/far/boring/time consuming to protest. yet back in the 80's we could do it weeks on end!

although i wouldn't bother wasting my time protesting to merrion sq (or is it abbotstown??) about not appointing venables - delaney would probably come on the 9 o'clock news and say 'we had thousands marching up here today to tell us to appoint Venables' - a la the czech game and the crowd staying behind to cheer on da gafhur......

Sligo Hornet
04/12/2007, 1:52 PM
The FAI are using the media to promote Venables. Does anyone know what the media get in return?

Ireland jersies without the feckin Orange Splurge!

Drumcondra 69er
04/12/2007, 2:00 PM
i was just saying to the missus recently (while watching reelin' in the years) that people used to love a good old protest!!

nowadays people rather just moaning as it is too cold/far/boring/time consuming to protest. yet back in the 80's we could do it weeks on end!

although i wouldn't bother wasting my time protesting to merrion sq (or is it abbotstown??) about not appointing venables - delaney would probably come on the 9 o'clock news and say 'we had thousands marching up here today to tell us to appoint Venables' - a la the czech game and the crowd staying behind to cheer on da gafhur......

We had no money in the 80's. Had to protest. Used to live in a hole in t'ground with a sheet of Tarupaulin over it and all that! :D

co. down green
04/12/2007, 2:05 PM
We had no money in the 80's. Had to protest. Used to live in a hole in t'ground with a sheet of Tarupaulin over it and all that! :D

You were lucky you had a Tarupaulin :D

citizenerased
04/12/2007, 2:11 PM
yeah its obvoius people are discontent with the supposed venables appointment so we should get off our arses, put on our colours, invite some press and protest ina suitable location!

Ur right people are too lazy to protest these days...we must get our voices heard

dr_peepee
04/12/2007, 2:20 PM

OMFG... Dunno what rock you crawled from under but any frequent visitor to this board would acknowledge the the majority here are objective grounded fans.... What you've just posted is typical of the FAI's attitude to Irish fans over the last four year.. We're all ill-informed sheep of the media with too high expectation apparently...

We're never in the running for Mourinho or Cappello... But we deserve better than a man who has left almost every team he was involved with over the last decade or so in a worse condition than he found it, and not just on the pitch either... The two exceptions in Aus and Boro hardly constitute success.

Bondvillain
04/12/2007, 2:41 PM

You are 98 fm's Mystery John Delaney and I claim my ten pounds.

Drumcondra 69er
04/12/2007, 2:43 PM
You were lucky you had a Tarupaulin :D

Wound up having to leave hole in t'ground and move to a rolled up newspaper on side of t'road. We were happy though. ;)

Scram
04/12/2007, 3:03 PM
ah begorrah to be sure to be sure!

To be shoor, to be shoor. Shoor isn't it great dat we came turd in de group and sure wouldn't it be great if Sir Terry would come over and manage us eejits............it is Wogan dey are talkin about.... isn't it lads :confused:

Bondvillain
04/12/2007, 3:08 PM
sure who else do ye think were gonna get?? Mourinho, Capello?? Lets come back to the real worlds lads. Who do we think we are - Were not Brazil were bleedin Ireland!!

That's mighty dangerous talk around these parts, pardner....We call it the "Staunton Defence".

If people in the FAI thought like that then we'd end up with a washed up bunch of uneployed has-beens, never-were's and barely law-abiding chancers as our pool of potentials......

Oh, wait...hang on a minute...

LeviathanNI
04/12/2007, 3:17 PM
OMFG... Dunno what rock you crawled from under but any frequent visitor to this board would acknowledge the the majority here are objective grounded fans.... What you've just posted is typical of the FAI's attitude to Irish fans over the last four year.. We're all ill-informed sheep of the media with too high expectation apparently...

We're never in the running for Mourinho or Cappello... But we deserve better than a man who has left almost every team he was involved with over the last decade or so in a worse condition than he found it, and not just on the pitch either... The two exceptions in Aus and Boro hardly constitute success.

That is what the FAI need to be slapped with time and time again.. very 50/50 ie if it works, it could be brilliant.. if it doesn't you could end up worse than you are now. I liked Staunton, at least you knew what you were getting with him ;):D

Hibs4Ever
04/12/2007, 3:19 PM
Engerland get 'The Special One' and we get 'Very Terribles'

Really? When did they get him? Are do you just watch Sky Sports News too much :rolleyes:;)

Dr. Ogba
04/12/2007, 3:23 PM
Really? When did they get him? Are do you just watch Sky Sports News too much :rolleyes:;)

well what we need to do now is get someone to find out where Roy Hodgson lives then send Tony O'Donoghue out there to grovel on our behalf....sure if it works for the English then must be worth a try!

Juanace
04/12/2007, 3:31 PM

Bull**** mate, its called being realistic. Name me some managers we are in the market for who would be better than TV or Hodgson??

I am no apologist for the FAI, i just dont see the point in damning TV when in my objective opinion he is one of the better candiates to show an interest in the job. Whats so unreasonable about that?

Your opinion of TV is very glass half empty as well. He acheived quite a few positives in his career, yes he has black marks but of the managers who might consider the Ireland job who doesnt??

Juanace
04/12/2007, 3:39 PM

Any time I turn on a radio programme or the tele he's being slated. I know a number of written journos are backing him but why shouldnt they. Whatever anyone says he is one of the better candidates. Im still to be convinced of a realistic better alternative to him or Hodgson. Im all ears???

Drumcondra 69er
04/12/2007, 3:41 PM

Any time I turn on a radio programme or the tele he's being slated. I know a number of written journos are backing him but why shouldnt they. Whatever anyone says he is one of the better candidates. Im still to be convinced of a realistic better alternative to him or Hodgson. Im all ears???

Post 4 on this thread for starters.

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=77234

04/12/2007, 3:57 PM
Bull**** mate, its called being realistic. Name me some managers we are in the market for who would be better than TV or Hodgson??

tbh if I was getting paid to do it I'd find 50 people I'd rather got the job than Venables and I'm sure 1 of them would take it.

Juanace
04/12/2007, 4:05 PM
tbh if I was getting paid to do it I'd find 50 people I'd rather got the job than Venables and I'm sure 1 of them would take it

Name me 5?

Juanace
04/12/2007, 4:08 PM
Post 4 on this thread for starters.

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=77234 (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=77234)

CRYSTAL PALACE 1976-80

"saw his Eagles soar from Third Division to First in three dizzy seasons" - Not bad i'd say.

QPR 1980-84

"winning promotion to the First Division (after three seasons) and taking the Rs to the 1982 FA Cup final" - Thats not bad either.

BARCELONA 1984-87
his team won a weak Spanish league in his first season, and made the last two of a ****-poor post-Heysel European Cup field in his second. - So he also one the spanish league title!

TOTTENHAM 1987-91

"Let's put aside the 1991 FA Cup" - thats not very fair now is it?

ENGLAND 1994-96

"England then played above themselves in their final game before going out bravely" - so he got to a semi final and only lost on penalities, hardly a disgrace.

AUSTRALIA 1996-97
"as two late Iran strikes saw them through on away goals" - i saw this game, they was very unlucky to go out.

MIDDLESBROUGH 2000-01
"truth, it was Venables who called the shots, and steered Boro to eight wins in 25 matches and clear of relegation." - so he saved them from certain relegation?

Black marks: Crystal Palace and Portmouth didnt work out, possibly Australia, we all know the difficulties Leeds had.

ALL im saying is there is two ways of viewing his career to date. He has VAST experience, and should be one of the candiates we should seriously consider. Please name me the better candidates?

Schlooooomp
04/12/2007, 4:12 PM

Unfortunately it would seem that Delaney is only interested in 1 man and that is venables.

However, I would be happier with any of the following:

Roy Hodgson
Gerard Houllier
Louis Van Gaal
Steve Coppell

Both in jobs but I'd be happy for us to wait until the end of the Euros.
Leo Beenhaker
Otto Rehagel

David O'Leary

Schlooooomp
04/12/2007, 4:15 PM
I have to say Juanace that based on some of the spelling and grammar in the comments above I am beginning to think that you might just be a journalist :D

Go on, tell us who you are?

Juanace
04/12/2007, 4:17 PM
Realistically Leo Beenhaker, Otto Rehagel, Louis Van Gaal wouldnt take the job, much as we'd like.

Roy Hodgson - yes please.
David O'Leary - im a Villa fan, eh no thanks.
Gerard Houllier - arguments for and against, id have him behind El Tel personally.
Steve Coppell - interesting one, he's defo worth an interview.

My only point is El Tel is worth considering and not jus pushed aside as so many on this forum want to do

04/12/2007, 4:19 PM
Yes, he should be considered. But the fear is that nobody else is being considered and that there is no objective debate in the public domain about Venables' or anybody else's candidacy.

I've clearly & concisely explained my stance on Venables above so I won't go over it again. I recognise the plus points on his CV but feel the negatives vastly outweigh them.

The term "headhunting" has been used by the FAI. This means candidates should be approached and that they should not just be passively mulled over.

Hodgson - very good candidate
Haan - interesting, not sold on him but should be interviwed
Beenhakker - already employed but should be approached. That's what headhunting is.
Coppell. As above, and has indicated availability.

Others include O'Leary and Brady.

Juanace
04/12/2007, 4:19 PM
I have to say Juanace that based on some of the spelling and grammar in the comments above I am beginning to think that you might just be a journalist :D

Go on, tell us who you are?

LOL, im not a journo!! So i cannt spell, im a irish footy fan who is not gonna protest against Terry V. being considered for the job.

Juanace
04/12/2007, 4:26 PM
Yes, he should be considered. But the fear is that nobody else is being considered and that there is no objective debate in the public domain about Venables' or anybody elses candidacy.

I've clearly & concisely explained my stance on Venables above so I won't go over it again. I recognise the plus points on his CV but feel the negatives vastly outweigh them.

The term "headhunting" has been used by the FAI. This means candidates should be approached and that they should not just be passively mulled over.

Hodgson - very good candidate
Haan - interesting, not sold on him but should be interviwed
Beenhakker - already employed but should be approached. That's what headhunting is.
Coppell. As above, and has indicated availability.

Others include O'Leary and Brady.

Wouldnt disagree with much of that. Headhunt away.

One point though:

"But the fear is that nobody else is being considered and that there is no objective debate in the public domain about Venables' or anybody elses candidacy."

I dont believe that the 2 Dons (well Don Howe anyway) will just rule everybody out in favour of TV and I must be listening to different radio/television shows or reading different papers cause most of what im hearing is anti El Tel.

Schlooooomp
04/12/2007, 4:31 PM
Realistically Leo Beenhaker, Otto Rehagel, Louis Van Gaal wouldnt take the job, much as we'd like.

I have no basis for saying this but I'm not sure that it is the case that none of these guys would be interested in the Irish job. I think a decent offer would tempt any of these guys, we may not have a large population but I'd think that we could probably match their salaries.

It would be interesting to know the salaries of international managers, apart from England, it is really a special case and we could never offer the type of money that the FA can.

Schlooooomp
04/12/2007, 4:35 PM
I must be listening to different radio/television shows or reading different papers cause most of what im hearing is anti El Tel.

Name names:

Pro venables:
John Giles - RTE - conditional support, based on venables concentrating on the Irish job and not media profile
Paul Hyland - The Evening Herald
Paul Lennon - The Star
Roy Curtis - The Sunday World
Kenny Cunningham - The Evening herald
Dion Fanning - Irish Independent
Liam Mackey - Irish Examiner
Most players or ex-players have positive things to say about venables, not gonna name names on this one.

Anti venables:
Eamon Dunphy - RTE/The Star
Tom Humphries - The Irish Times
Daniel McDonnell - Irish Independent
Kieran Cunningham - The Star

Help me add to the list please.

04/12/2007, 4:37 PM
tbh if I was getting paid to do it I'd find 50 people I'd rather got the job than Venables and I'm sure 1 of them would take it

Name me 5?
Troussier, Toshack, Brady, O'Leary, Dowie. I'm just giving you those 5 names to show you where I rate Venables. I simply don't want Venables as our manager. I don't necessarily want any of those names as manager either but if it was a choice between them and Venables it's an easy choice. Dowie being the only manager there I'd like to see considered.

04/12/2007, 4:53 PM
Name names:

Pro venables:
John Giles - RTE
Paul Hyland - The Evening Herald
Paul Lennon - The Star
Roy Curtis - The Sunday World
Kenny Cunningham - The Evening herald
Dion Fanning - Irish Independent
Liam Mackey - Irish Examiner
Most players or ex-players have positive things to say about venables, not gonna name names on this one.

Anti venables:

Giles adds a big conditional to his support for Venables.
Giles would have to state that he believes TV would concentrate on the job in order for him to be considered pro Venables.

fergalr
04/12/2007, 5:12 PM

Why not?

What makes managing Poland, Greece or a provincial Dutch club side so much more attractive?

citizenerased
04/12/2007, 5:15 PM
well poland and greece are both in the euros...were not, and realisticallly we would have to wait till after the euros to approach them, meaning a distinct lackof time to prepare for them with new coach(if we get him )

eekers
04/12/2007, 5:41 PM
we could offer more money than either of the greek or polish job. some people like money they should be considered

carloz
04/12/2007, 6:41 PM
A manager who hasguided his team to the European Championships isnt going to look twice at the Irish job at the moment, dont be silly. Unless we offer silly money neither of those gentlemen would even discuss the job

04/12/2007, 9:06 PM
I must be listening to different radio/television shows or reading different papers cause most of what im hearing is anti El Tel.Glad to hear it. I have no access to Irish radio or TV but what I've seen in the print media has been mainly one way. Maybe the pro-Venables media went out of the traps too early.

05/12/2007, 2:13 AM
Anti venables:

In the anti-Venables column I'd add foot.ie

danonion
05/12/2007, 4:59 AM
If you lot protest Venables and we get that Kendell lad i won't be to pleased with yous.

dr_peepee
05/12/2007, 7:27 AM

I am no apologist for the FAI, i just dont see the point in damning TV when in my objective opinion he is one of the better candiates to show an interest in the job. Whats so unreasonable about that?

Your opinion of TV is very glass half empty as well. He acheived quite a few positives in his career, yes he has black marks but of the managers who might consider the Ireland job who doesnt??

Dude... I'm all for being realistic about our options.. Sure I've been championing Greame Sounness on threads here, same as Roy Hodgson when Stan got the job. I'm fully aware that we're not gonna go from hiring Wallsall backroom staff and Underage managers to hiring managers with league titles and high pedigree. But I don't know how you can't see that Venables has treated every job since Euro 96 as a 'nixer'. There's no loyalty to the guy. He's a "me feiner"... He's a gangster aswell to put it bluntly.

And the positives he's achieved, yeah, you can't argue with facts.... But that was back in the early 90's... As they said on Newstalk the other night. Jack Charlton was a good manager in the 90's.. Will we bring him back aswell. The game has moved on from the 90's. We need someone who's moved with the times a bit..

05/12/2007, 7:34 AM

Ah sure we are only a poor small country ( doffing cap in subservience).:rolleyes: Juanace, get a grip and get out of the 19th Century for fcuk sake