View Full Version : Roy Hodgson (new Fulham manager)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8

30/12/2007, 8:02 PM
was furious when this story broke on sky sports news the other day. At this rate Big Ron will be the only managaer available in Western Europe.....God Terry Venables will even find another job before our panel get round to interviewing.

30/12/2007, 8:06 PM
Hodgson has just been appointed Fulham manager, Houllier was offered the South Korea job

Hodgson walked out of the Swiss job to manage Inter Milan. He also walked out of the Finland job. How many other teams has he managed? Houllier has turned down an international job already. What we need is someone who a) wants the job, and b) will hang around to make the side competitive. So it's important that time is taken and the right appointment is made.

As for your comment about the system, that's just bull****.

Irish players can only play 4-4-2. That's what they play in, every week. They can't handle any other system. When they're used, they struggle to cope.

31/12/2007, 2:19 AM
Hodgson walked out of the Swiss job to manage Inter Milan. He also walked out of the Finland job. How many other teams has he managed? Houllier has turned down an international job already. What we need is someone who a) wants the job, and b) will hang around to make the side competitive. So it's important that time is taken and the right appointment is made.

Irish players can only play 4-4-2. That's what they play in, every week. They can't handle any other system. When they're used, they struggle to cope.
All that's irrelevent to any point that I made. And Hodgson wanted the job and would have hung around long enough to make us competitive, even if it would have been one campaign.

Remind me what formation we used when we beat Sweden 3-0? Stephen Ireland plays in a system different to 4-4-2 every week, as does Lee Carsley. Care to give a reason as to why our players wouldn't be able to cope with 4-5-1 or 4-2-3-1 or any other system you want and give an example to back up your last point?

eirbhoy, sorry for last few off-topic posts, should probably be merged with Irish manager thread.

31/12/2007, 5:28 AM
Hodgson wanted the job and would have hung around long enough to make us competitive, even if it would have been one campaign.

One campaign is not enough, imo. The boss will have to stick it out for 2-3 campaigns, in order for him to turn the side around, become competitive, and then build on it in the next campaign. You won't get that with Hodgson. He'll be off soon enough, as he's a club-orientated manager, possibly before the end of the campaign. Also, with his record, I don't expect them to be with Fulham for the next two years either.

31/12/2007, 8:53 AM
Some interesting stuff I read over the weekend:

The Times says Venables was not even considered by Fulham.

Patrick Barclay of the Sunday Telegraph says Hodgson could have done the England job in his sleep, his critical problem being that he's English. Barclay is a Scot so he has no baggage in that regard.

Hodgson has said that Fulham have good players but too many similar players in midfield . Getting the blend right is the key. Sounds simple, but this is excatly what I think about Ireland.

We have many very good players: Robbie, Doyle, Hunt, Duff, Ireland, Reid, McGeady, Dunne, Finnan, Given, Carsley. How do you get them to blend properly?

31/12/2007, 9:32 AM
The FAI really dropped the ball with Hodgson here, he was by far and away the most suitable, willing, candidate for the job. Good track record at getting average teams to perform above themselves. Either way it's been obvious for weeks that El Tel has the job lads if you know the way media manipulates. First came the pro-Terry blitz, we are currently in the dampening down period where we all get used to it, and in about 3-5 weeks he will be announced as the manager to minimal fuss, as Joe Public will already be used to his name being associated with the Ireland job.

31/12/2007, 9:36 AM
Kevin Gallacher was on R5 Live saying how he felt Hodgson was a very good coach at Blackburn and was well regarded by the players. A severe run of injuries was what caused their demise, but Gallacher said that maybe Hodgson's training methods were a contributory factor. He said that he introduced twice daily training which, while appropriate in Italy, maybe wasn't ideal in the depths of winter in the Lancashire moors. One of the daily sessions was a pure technique session.

I saw MOTD on Saturday. Shearer said he had heard that the Blackburn players liked him, but Lawrenson's comments irked me in the extreme. He said that he had done well with Finland only losing out narrowly on Euro 2008 qualification. I'd love to know how he squared that up with his comment in the Irish Times that Hodgson should not be considered for Ireland because Finland failed to qualify. In the same article he said that Venables would be a good choice because players like him.

31/12/2007, 9:40 AM
Lawreson is really clueless to be honest. He has lasted so long by saying nothing to controversial or over the top but ifyou check all his commnets, he is as inconsistant as Dunphy

31/12/2007, 9:43 AM
True, but if he says that TV is a good choice, RH is a bad choice, tens of thousands of punters will believe him. He's an important part of the PR machine, though maybe involuntarily.

31/12/2007, 4:31 PM
Lawreson is really clueless to be honest. He has lasted so long by saying nothing to controversial or over the top but ifyou check all his commnets, he is as inconsistant as Dunphy

and he laughs at John Motson's 'jokes'. It's the only reason they keep him on:D

Noelys Guitar
31/12/2007, 4:42 PM
Good press conference today by Hodgson. Sense of humour and perspective. We will never know how he would have done as our manager but I can't help feeling this was the right guy for us at this time.

02/01/2008, 9:17 AM
He was def my number one for the job out of the candidates mentioned so far. Has a proven ability to get the most out of limited players - exactly what we required!!

Torn-Ado
05/01/2008, 4:45 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/0105/ireland.html

So Hodgson was met by the lads but he couldn't be arsed fannying around. Can't really blame him either.

Interviews my hole.

05/01/2008, 4:54 PM
That's good news all the same. At least they're approaching people.

05/01/2008, 4:54 PM
****s sounded like he was interested too, fcek it anyhow. do ye think he might do both?!:(:mad:

sure taking this long they will end up with the worst ever one. overkill all the way.

hamburg paul
05/01/2008, 4:57 PM
and he laughs at John Motson's 'jokes'. It's the only reason they keep him on:D

Maybe another reason he is still at the beeb is because they have also heard about his obsession at liverpool!He used to iron his jocks before he put them into the washing machine!;)

niallsparky
05/01/2008, 5:08 PM
Hodgson was approached by the FAI (http://www.setantasports.com/en/Sport/News/Football/2008/01/05/International-Hodgson-was-approached-by-FAI/)

Newly-appointed Fulham boss Roy Hodgson has admitted that he was interviewed for the vacant Republic of Ireland manager's job.

He said he was contacted by the FAI [Football Association of Ireland] two weeks and met with a delegation given the job of finding Stephen Staunton's successor.

However, the vastly experienced coach ruled himself out of contention for the job when he took over from Lawrie Sanchez at Fulham.

"There was contact from Ireland. It came at the same time as Fulham got in touch. But I was not offered the job," Hodson said.

"I had a meeting with the people who were given the task of finding the next Ireland coach.

"It was a good meeting and I was very happy with the way things went, but I don't know if it would have led to me being offered the job. The people who saw me were meeting the other candidates as well."

Bondvillain
05/01/2008, 6:08 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/0105/ireland.html

So Hodgson was met by the lads but he couldn't be arsed fannying around. Can't really blame him either.

Interviews my hole.

My hole also.

What could The Don Brothers & Ray possibly learn from an "interview" that wasn't already common flippin' knowledge? Not just about Hodgson,but about anyone?

"Hmmmm....We have your CV here, Roy, very impressive, but we just have a couple of questions.....:

"Are you allergic to Shamrock, Roy?"
"Do you stomp on fluffy bunnies in the countryside, Roy?"
"Is green good with your skin tone, Roy?"
"We see you're a Leo, Roy. John Delaney is a Saggitarius; do you forsee any complications?" "

Jesus wept.

Whatever happened to "Hey you! Heres the money, here's the deal. Now, what do we have to do to make you take the damn job?"

Deckydee
05/01/2008, 6:25 PM
Well at least he was interviewed, that is something

05/01/2008, 6:28 PM
The one that got away....Hodgson even meeting the three amigo's suggests to me that he was keen and just needed a contract waved at him to sign. They know his record, if he was biting why not give him a 2 year deal?

Bondvillain
05/01/2008, 6:34 PM
Well at least he was interviewed, that is something

With there being only a non-committal "thanks for coming" seemingly given to even those candidates considered sucessful, Im not sure what that "something" is.

We're now in ,what, week 5 of a 10/12 week process?

Isn't there every chance that those few interviewed candidates that are still unemployed at the end of this process will be the dregs , the hopeless, and the downright unemployable?

carloz
05/01/2008, 6:42 PM
Well at least he was interviewed, that is somethingI would have nearly preferred if they hadnt gone near him now. This makes me so angry. They had the best candidate in front of them, and going by what he said he wanted the job. When he was in that interview was the bloody time to offer it to him. Tell him pure and simple, as he is easily the best candidate, that the job is his to accept or refuse. That is the best candidate gone because of the stupide process that each candidate has to go through

Noelys Guitar
05/01/2008, 6:43 PM
Sums up the process. Waste of time and a sham. We are going to end up once more with a manager that no one else wants.

05/01/2008, 7:18 PM
With there being only a non-committal "thanks for coming" seemingly given to even those candidates considered sucessful, Im not sure what that "something" is.

We already know the process is a farce. I'm just happy Hodgson was interviewed. That is "something". Judging by what Houghton said a few weeks ago I worried that they were only interviewing those that applied for the job.

Bondvillain
05/01/2008, 7:39 PM
We already know the process is a farce. I'm just happy Hodgson was interviewed. That is "something". Judging by what Houghton said a few weeks ago I worried that they were only interviewing those that applied for the job.

I know where you're coming from, but the intricacies of which candidates get interviewed now count for naught.

What was the point of interviewing him at all if Don, Don & Ray simply expected him to turn off his mobile & twiddle his thumbs in a waiting room for another 7 weeks getting splinters in his hole , hoping that the FAI eventually decide that he's better qualified than Howard Kendall?
Surely they knew he'd eventually tell the story to the press, and that the FAI's moronic long drawn out process COULDN'T come out of it in a good light, possibly tainting future applicants and candidates views on the process?

That doesn't just go for Hodgson, it goes for everyone who has to sit through this embarrassment, when there are clubs and countries making considered hard cash offers to qualified managers straight off the bat.

Noelys Guitar
05/01/2008, 7:58 PM
"There was contact from Ireland. It came at the same time as Fulham got in touch" Hodson said. Please do the interview Roy so everyone won't make out this is a sham. Same thing happened with Jewell. It must be around the football vine by now that this 3 migo's thing is a joke.

amaccann
05/01/2008, 8:26 PM
Whatever about the merits of the committee process, it's worth pointing out that perhaps, just perhaps, Hodgson simply didn't want the Ireland job. It seems he had a choice of YET ANOTHER international gig, or a chance to manage a Premiership side & increase his stock there after his time at Blackburn. To me, it doesn't take too much speculation to suspect that Hodgson simply didn't want to manage another middling international team.

livehead1
05/01/2008, 8:30 PM
Whatever about the merits of the committee process, it's worth pointing out that perhaps, just perhaps, Hodgson simply didn't want the Ireland job. It seems he had a choice of YET ANOTHER international gig, or a chance to manage a Premiership side & increase his stock there after his time at Blackburn. To me, it doesn't take too much speculation to suspect that Hodgson simply didn't want to manage another middling international team.

You don't attend a job interview and answer the questions posed to you unless you want the job...or maybe you do?
I think he would have taken it had he been offered it there and then, however, once the Fulham job was on the cards there was only ever one winner. That doesn't mean that he didn't want the Ireland job.

amaccann
05/01/2008, 8:33 PM
You don't attend a job interview and answer the questions posed to you unless you want the job...or maybe you do?
I think he would have taken it had he been offered it there and then, however, once the Fulham job was on the cards there was only ever one winner. That doesn't mean that he didn't want the Ireland job.
Well not exactly the same situation, but I've attended interviews where I've not been 100% that I wanted the job; I did so out of courtesy and giving the potential employer the benefit of the doubt & a chance to argue the case, as it were. Presumably he talked to the FAI to let them see what they had to say, and then took the club option once he felt Fulham offered him something different.

Irish_Praha
05/01/2008, 11:44 PM
Well not exactly the same situation, but I've attended interviews where I've not been 100% that I wanted the job; I did so out of courtesy and giving the potential employer the benefit of the doubt & a chance to argue the case, as it were. Presumably he talked to the FAI to let them see what they had to say, and then took the club option once he felt Fulham offered him something different.

I went for an interview once so that I could get a free trip to london and visit a mate of mine that lived there, eventhough I had no interest in the job :D Backfired in the end though because I refused their offer but 5 years later I would really like to have the job now.

05/01/2008, 11:57 PM
I'd like to know what Hodgson said during the meeting that lead to him not being offered the job. Maybe it was his refusal to wear a Venables mask for the entire contract.

06/01/2008, 1:43 AM
What he really said was "I was waiting for a club job, Fulham offered it, so I took it". :rolleyes: He'll be gone by the time our WCQ's end.

Yes, the process is shambolic, but the bloke who wants it, will wait until the appointment is made, before considering other offers.

06/01/2008, 3:17 AM
I'd like to know what Hodgson said during the meeting that lead to him not being offered the job.
Nothing. The experts have to go through 16 ****ing "candidates", even though none of them are near Hodgson. Another one bites the dust.

06/01/2008, 12:47 PM
the bloke who wants it, will wait until the appointment is made, before considering other offers.

You are joking surely?

These managers are professionals, and realists. If a job offer comes along while they are waiting to hear back from another job interview, and the terms and conditions meet their criteria, they'll take the job.

You hardly believe that there are managers out there who want the Irish job above all else and are willing to turn down actual job offers to wait and see if they're the chosen candidate from 16 applicants. Only somebody with an emotional attachment to the Irish team would possibly do that - Brady, Giles, O'Leary - and they aren't exactly inundated with other offers anyway.

06/01/2008, 12:47 PM
Meetings like that happen all the time. I remember Roy Keane was set on joining Celtic but still met up with a few of the other managers out of courtesy.

I think Hodgson would have chosen Fulham over us judging by his comments. He was contacted by Ireland and Fulham. He was confident that his interview for the Ireland job went very well but still jumped at the Fulham offer.

Noelys Guitar
06/01/2008, 12:56 PM
Meetings like that happen all the time. I remember Roy Keane was set on joining Celtic but still met up with a few of the other managers out of courtesy.

I think Hodgson would have chosen Fulham over us judging by his comments. He was contacted by Ireland and Fulham. He was confident that his interview for the Ireland job went very well but still jumped at the Fulham offer.

Of course he would choose Fulham. They offered him a job we didn't. keane's situation was different. He was offered contracts by Everton, Bolton, West ham and others. "Can you hang on for a few weeks Keano we have to interview others"

06/01/2008, 2:16 PM
This process is not good for going out and getting the best man. Its like the Civil Service Appointments Commisssion. The process is fair but does not always result in the best man for the job as the long winded process puts people who just want to be appointed.

06/01/2008, 8:43 PM
Of course he would choose Fulham. They offered him a job we didn't. keane's situation was different. He was offered contracts by Everton, Bolton, West ham and others. "Can you hang on for a few weeks Keano we have to interview others"
If Hodgson was even a teeny bit interested in the Ireland job he could have contacted Houghton or Howe and said 'Fulham are offering me €5m pa plus a bonus for not failing, sounds a lot better that what the Ireland job has to offer, what do you think?'

06/01/2008, 8:48 PM
Lads if Hodgson had of been offered the Ireland job in November after he resigned as Finland coach he would have taken it I have no doubt about that. Instead we have a slow moving process which is all about due process (or maybe its a sham and just a way to appoint Venables). Anyway it cannot react in the same way that a private business can like Fulham. So when Sanchez was sacked Fulham were able to move quickly and offer Him a contract. What could Ireland offer, just an interview and a possibilty to be the manager. If he turned down Fulham and then Ireland did not appoint him, he would be seriously ****ed off.

Thats the way it appears to me anyway.

Bondvillain
06/01/2008, 9:20 PM
If Hodgson was even a teeny bit interested in the Ireland job he could have contacted Houghton or Howe and said 'Fulham are offering me €5m pa plus a bonus for not failing, sounds a lot better that what the Ireland job has to offer, what do you think?'

And they would have said :

"Roy mate, sounds canny. Im sure we can work something out. Can you stall them for a couple of weeks? We've just had Howard Kendall in. Very interesting man. It's pretty much between you and him. And Venables. Oh and maybe Dave O Leary, and we're going through the aptitude tests now & Big Don reckons we'll have a decision by February, so If you could put them off for......Hello? HELLO? Bloody Meteor phones!"

So perhaps Roy is cleverer than he looks...

Serb
07/01/2008, 12:27 AM
So perhaps Roy is cleverer than he looks...

Actually, the real reason he wasn't hired is that, after Saipan, the FAI said they wouldn't work with anyone called Roy ever again.

07/01/2008, 3:41 AM
You are joking surely?

These managers are professionals, and realists. If a job offer comes along while they are waiting to hear back from another job interview, and the terms and conditions meet their criteria, they'll take the job.

No. These managers want to, and prioritise club management over international teams. While some of them take international roles, they drop everything to get a club job, at the first opportunity. Hodgson being another example. How many club jobs has he had? No commitment, no loyalty, no point.

irishfan86
07/01/2008, 7:07 AM
No. These managers want to, and prioritise club management over international teams. While some of them take international roles, they drop everything to get a club job, at the first opportunity. Hodgson being another example. How many club jobs has he had? No commitment, no loyalty, no point.

While I agree with you on some level, Hodgson didn't leave the Finns or the Swiss mid-campaign like our friends Sanchez or Walter Smith did with their respective nations.

Personally, I don't care if he's with us for only one campaign if it means qualification, or at least close to it.

Better one campaign with the likes of Hodgson, than a decade with the likes of Kendall.

11/01/2008, 12:16 PM
If you read this quote you'd think he did get the Irish job after all:

Hodgson fears his side's lack of height is proving costly and hopes to rectify the situation by beefing up the squad during the January sales, with powerful Hornets front man King already a confirmed target.

'The imbalance in the team comes from the lack of size,' the 60-year-old said

'A lot of our players are of a similar height and not very tall, so stature will be a factor for us when we look at new players.

'But if we are to buy new players they must also be quality who will make us a better team, not just make us bigger.'

Sligo Hornet
11/01/2008, 12:37 PM

Hodgson fears his side's lack of height is proving costly and hopes to rectify the situation by beefing up the squad during the January sales, with powerful Hornets front man King already a confirmed target.

Sorry Hodg......you CAN'T have him!:mad:

11/01/2008, 1:25 PM

'The imbalance in the team comes from the lack of size,' the 60-year-old said

'A lot of our players are of a similar height and not very tall, so stature will be a factor for us when we look at new players.

'But if we are to buy new players they must also be quality who will make us a better team, not just make us bigger.'

Kinda funny considering that Sanchez likes to play the ball direct in the air a lot. Just goes to show if you dont have the players for long ball it wont work

Wolfie
11/01/2008, 3:16 PM
Kinda funny considering that Sanchez likes to play the ball direct in the air a lot. Just goes to show if you dont have the players for long ball it wont work

I can recall a few occasions when the twin towers of Quinn and Cascarino were on the pitch for Ireland at the same time!!!! Compromise rules basketball!!

Condex
22/01/2008, 11:12 AM
That didn't last long..

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/premier_league/fulham/article3228038.ece

Deckydee
22/01/2008, 11:20 AM
it would be just...............

eekers
24/01/2008, 9:50 AM
anyone reckon hodgson could be sacked and come back into the reckoning before the fai pick a new manager?