View Full Version : Roy Hodgson (new Fulham manager)

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8

22/11/2007, 11:09 AM
Here's the UEFA Technical Committee's page on uefa.com: http://www.uefa.com/uefa/aboutuefa/committespanels/committee=1024.html

livehead1
22/11/2007, 11:11 AM
We should be looking for a top class candidate for the position. It's the biggest job in Irish football and international jobs carry a prestige beyond their salaries.
The people we should be looking at are:- Jose Mourinho ( if you don't ask him you'll never know) Fabio Capello, Marcello Lippi, Roy Hodgson . Any one of those four would be a very credible candidate with the players and anyone of them is the calibre of candidate we should be seeking. No disrespect to Paul Jewell intended but that's what is needed at this level.

Complete and utter delusion! We are around 35th in the World. That show's we are Shi*e. I would love Hodgson but failing that it will be someone around the Paul Jewell mark which would be about what we can expect.

We have just had Steven Staunton, whoever we get can surely not be as bad.

22/11/2007, 11:18 AM
Andy Roxburgh´s name isn´t on the Technical Development Committee,
Maybe Technical Director role is something higher

Juanace
22/11/2007, 1:49 PM
This is a great thread. Hodgson would be perfect choice. Heaps of international experience and getting the best out of mediocre teams (Finland, Switzerland). Lets face it Ireland are in this bracket.

Plus managed in the Premiership so knows the league and thus our pool of players very well (though, correct me if im wrong, didnt he sign Kevin Davies for Blackburn for a club record fee and he only scored 1 goal! Sure we all make mistakes!)

Noelys Guitar
22/11/2007, 2:00 PM
I want Hodgson as manager but it has to be pointed out that he is still hated at Bristol City from his stint as manager there. And he was not a fans favourite at Blackburn rovers.

jmurphyc
22/11/2007, 2:04 PM
I want Hodgson as manager but it has to be pointed out that he is still hated at Bristol City from his stint as manager there. And he was not a fans favourite at Blackburn rovers.

Most of the candidates being mentioned have some kind of blemish on their CV. As far as I can recall at international level he has consistanly done the business, which is what really matters.

22/11/2007, 2:05 PM
A Italian mate in work is a big Inter fan. He says the only error Hodgson made at Inter was selling Roberto Carlos to Real, thinking he wasn't good enough for Italian football.

Dr. Ogba
22/11/2007, 2:22 PM
A Italian mate in work is a big Inter fan. He says the only error Hodgson made at Inter was selling Roberto Carlos to Real, thinking he wasn't good enough for Italian football.

i'd see that as a plus point! never rated Roberto Carlos meself to be honest.

Imagine what he thinks of Ian Harte then! :p

Drumcondra 69er
22/11/2007, 2:32 PM

Qualified them for Europe in his only full season there after them avoiding the drop by 2 points the year before. Had a bad start the following season and got sacked in November. They'd have stayed up that year had he not been sacked and brought Brian Kidd in.

Blackburn fans had ideas above their station back then, he didn't have money to spend like his Dalglish et al, he actually made them a net profit of £7m that season. Spent a bit the following season on Dailly and then Blake but it was Kidd who blew the last of their fortune and brought them down.

Sligo Hornet
22/11/2007, 2:59 PM

Who cares what Bristol or Blackburn fans think?

eekers
22/11/2007, 3:27 PM
blackburn had an injury crisis at the start of his second season. then you had players like tim sherwood stirring us crap because he wasnt allowed to move to a london club.

look at the team he had left at the time he was sacked

Filan; Kenna, Henchoz, Peacock (Davies, 72), Croft (Marcolin, 53); Johnson, Sherwood, Dailly, Duff; Gallacher, Blake. Substitutes not used: Wilcox, Broomes, Fettis (gk)

blackburn definately had ideas above their station at the time

Newryrep
22/11/2007, 6:34 PM
i am more than convinced now that Hodgson is the best realistic candadate.

Is he goin to the WC draw in south Africa? maybe the FAI could drag him into a side room and make him an offer

eekers
22/11/2007, 6:44 PM
are the fai going to south africa on sunday?
bit of a waste of cash
its only a draw like

Newryrep
22/11/2007, 6:53 PM
are the fai going to south africa on sunday?
bit of a waste of cash
its only a draw like

I would be astonished if noboby from the FAI went to the draw, free trip , the words rat up a drainpipe springs to mind

Noelys Guitar
22/11/2007, 6:59 PM
I posted a queston on the Blackburn board to find out what they thought about Hodgson. Almost all positive.
http://boards.rovers.co.uk/viewtopic.php?t=13815

backstothewall
22/11/2007, 8:34 PM
I would am really starting to lean towards Hodgson. No one really seems to have a bad word to say about him. And he ticks all the boxes. I am still keen on Jewell but one would be as good as the other. Both excellent choices imo

eekers
22/11/2007, 9:12 PM
for what its worth he's come in from 18-1 to 14-1 today

Drumcondra 69er
23/11/2007, 8:52 AM
Bi piece from Daniel McDonnell in the Indo today deriding Venables and backing Hodgson for anyone interested. At last, a dissenting voice!

El Tel

By Daniel McDonnell
Friday November 23 2007

Never has it seemed more appropriate to pluck out that old saying about England sneezing and Ireland catching a cold. These are ripe times for infection.

It's rare that the failure of the English national side could have such a knock on effect for those on this side of the pond. Normally, the tragi-comic collapse of our neighbours provides a certain amount of comfort in the summers where we have become accustomed to watching major championships from afar.

Perhaps it's an immature kind of pleasure but then it's hard not to smile at the reaction to what unfolded on Wednesday night when you consider that the BBC's three wise men of Hansen, Wright and Shearer all predicted facile victories for McClaren's band of brothers.

When Hansen had the temerity to suggest that it may not quite be a stroll in the park for the Wembley hosts, Wright even scolded him for taking a trip to 'negative town'. With such brazen and misplaced confidence, the subsequent capitulation became devilishly enjoyable.

Worrying

What is worrying, however, is that there were Irish people celebrating England's demise for a very different reason. For them, the silver lining of a European Championships without England is that it smoothes the way for Terry Venables to become the man to replace Steve Staunton.

It's remarkable really. While people revel in the inexplicable failure of an English side to qualify for the first time since the disastrous reign of Graham Taylor, there is a willingness to take a key component of that management staff and thrust him with the responsibility of leading Ireland forward.

If the common consensus is that we need a leader to bring the best out of the players we have and possibly look for them to perform beyond their abilities to make it to South Africa in 2010, then it makes little sense to turn to someone who was a member of a set-up that has somehow succeeded in bringing the worst out of their vaunted stars.

But wait, it's not that simple. Or so we are told. The mess is apparently nothing to do with El Tel. After all, he wasn't the manager and had a strained relationship with McClaren long before they were handed their P45's yesterday.

So that's alright then. What that argument ignores, unfortunately, is what is understood to be a key reason behind their fall-out.

When McClaren was appointed, he turned to Venables because he was believed to be strong in the area of tactical flexibility. It was a common theme put forward at the time; Venables had been in this game before so his knowledge of systems would be an asset. During his time as England boss, he had experimented with a degree of success.

The problem was that Venables did not negotiate England through a qualifying group when he was in the hot-seat. Considering they were the hosts of Euro '96, he had the luxury of spending two years dithering around with various formations in a non-pressurised environment.

In the competition itself, the enduring memory is England's agonising penalty kick defeat to Germany in the semi-finals of the competition. Never mind that they should have lost to the Spanish but triumphed by the same method at the quarter- final stage or needed a missed penalty from Gary McAllister to help them past Scotland. Sure, it's a tad harsh to take away from his side's performances in that competition but host countries rarely fail to threaten in such tournaments.

Anyway, this is where we move onto this campaign where at an early stage the influence of Venables was apparent. England switched to his favoured 3-5-2 for last year's qualifier in Croatia and flopped. The root of the breakdown in the relationship between McClaren and Venables lies there. Since then, it has consistently leaked out that El Tel is unsatisfied with not being consulted properly about formations and team selection.

Leaks

Ah yes, the leaks. A central aspect behind the clamour for Venables has been strong media support which has been a feature of his career to date. He knows how to play the press pack and look after journalists.

He's a smart guy and his logic made sense. Keep a couple of the more influential members in the loop and the legacy will be stronger. Consequently, his track record in handling the media and the circus similar to what the Irish job has become is regarded as a positive. We are suckers, it seems, for a bit of charisma.

The momentum behind the Venables campaign in some quarters is, literally, frightening. Sure, he ticks several of the boxes for what is wanted from a replacement with plenty of experience and some notable achievements when he was working his way up the managerial ladder.

But his recent record is appalling. The only high point was his admittedly fine effort when saving Bryan Robson's Middlesbrough from the drop six years ago. Other than that, his Australia experiment didn't work, his spells with Portsmouth and Crystal Palace were embarrassing and his stint at Leeds -- although it was a club in turmoil -- was littered with gaffes in the transfer market.

The belief that he got a raw deal with England after departing due to his complicated business dealings (let's not go there) was why there was a concerted campaign to give him another shot with the Three Lions. Now, after that experiment failed spectacularly, our desire for a big personality is obviously enough to deem his recent endeavours irrelevant.

What's frustrating is that the thrills and spills at Wembley was the wrong game for the FAI to be keeping their eye on the other night. With a bit of luck, they were monitoring affairs in Porto where Finland's goalless draw against Portugal was not enough to book a spot in Austria and Switzerland for the visitors.

The Finns never quite threatened to get the win which would have brought them to the big stage for the first time but they have come remarkably close with a limited panel. In a difficult group, they have conceded just seven goals and their lack of firepower can be attributed to lengthy injuries suffered by main men Mikkel Forssell and Jari Litmanen.

Their English manager Roy Hodgson is likely to move on and not with the stench of failure. The Finnish FA is desperate to keep him there but his career has been characterised by the desire for a new challenge and Ireland comes under that bracket. He is out of contract and therefore free to talk.

Exploits

Now aged 60, Hodgson steered Switzerland to USA '94 and Euro '96 and while his club career has had its ups and downs, his Finnish exploits prove that the international game is where he thrives. Lazily, his claims for the Irish post will be mocked due to an unremarkable stint in charge of Blackburn 10 years ago. On the other hand, we must delve into Venables' history in a search for any kind of positive.

We shouldn't be looking for just a Premiership manager though, or someone we rate because we recognise them off the telly and reckon they'd be engaging company. What we need is an international boss whose methods still seem capable of securing results in an arena where a special kind of expertise is required.

That man is Hodgson, not Venables -- yet there's far more chance of the latter being handed the reins should he want them. Baffling, but then this is the country we live in. Chilly times indeed.

- Daniel McDonnell

a.a.d
23/11/2007, 8:58 AM
Lads I think he is the best man out there at the minute to take the job and the fact that he is now out of contract means that the FAI won't have to pay any association compensation for his services.

Oh and the fact that I have €50 on him at 28-1 also sways me to thinking he's the man for the job.

23/11/2007, 9:22 AM
feck ye putting all this money, how i could do with £50 at that price. Who was it that got odds of 60-1 on him?

23/11/2007, 10:48 AM
I never put any money on him.

23/11/2007, 10:56 AM
but neil you have been backing him for ages. how come not put the money....

Noelys Guitar
23/11/2007, 10:58 AM
I have Hodgson and Houllier at 40/1 15 euros each. So its going to be O'Leary!

23/11/2007, 11:05 AM
Not much of a gambler really thats all. Also I thought he was the right man for the job but I did not think that I could ever be intune with what the FAI think. I still dont think he will get it either, but I really hope he does and Daniel McDonnells article is a great article. I have thought for a while now that he is a good young journalist who has a clear love of the game both here and abroad and is great to see him replace McDermott and he is a good counter balance to the bull****, that is Fanning and Curtis and Dervan.

Dr. Ogba
23/11/2007, 12:36 PM
he's still 18/1 with paddy powers....get on it lads!

23/11/2007, 12:41 PM
Also I thought he was the right man for the job but I did not think that I could ever be intune with what the FAI think. .

But it's the panel of experts who will offer the suitable candidate to the FAI so Hodgson must be in with a shout don't you think? Surprised Giles hasn't phoned him yet but maybe a long distance call to Finland is a bit pricey.

23/11/2007, 12:42 PM
I hope so.

Billsthoughts
23/11/2007, 1:05 PM
But it's the panel of experts who will offer the suitable candidate to the FAI so Hodgson must be in with a shout don't you think? Surprised Giles hasn't phoned him yet but maybe a long distance call to Finland is a bit pricey.

now thats proper "old school" :D

Drumcondra 69er
23/11/2007, 1:10 PM

Somehow can't see Gilsey being too au fait with using Skype alright!

Schlooooomp
23/11/2007, 1:23 PM
Hmm, got €140 resting in my PaddyPower account, tempted to throw it on Hodgson.

Scarily Venables is at evens, hopefully that is just idiots backing him coz he is high profile

23/11/2007, 1:27 PM
As someone said, if you laid the favourites since the start you'd make a nice profit. O'Leary (2.80), Jewell (2.00), Houllier (2.28), Venables (1.82)...

23/11/2007, 1:31 PM
now thats proper "old school" :D

Speaking of Giles being old school, I used to work in Irish Ferries and he drives a Rover that's as tatty as hell and about 10 years old.

Back to the manager I think short list for me at this stage would read:
Hodgson
Houllier
Jol
O'Leary
Venebals

Interview them all, it covers all the bases and preferably give it to Hodgson at this stage.

23/11/2007, 1:51 PM
Venebals

was that a typo, or a mis-spell, or just plain brilliance?

Lads, lets be honest though in terms of football management what the hell does an interview do/find out about a person?

Do you like Spuds? What are the endearouing characteristics of a good football coach? At the end of the day a good manager might not be able to answer these, but yet they are still a good manager due to their record. I really cant see what the point of an interview is for a football manager. They are either good or not, nothing they say in an interview ( either way good or bad ) can change that....its not like a normal profession.

jmurphyc
23/11/2007, 1:59 PM

Lads, lets be honest though in terms of football management what the hell does an interview do/find out about a person?

Do you like Spuds? What are the endearouing characteristics of a good football coach? At the end of the day a good manager might not be able to answer these, but yet they are still a good manager due to their record. I really cant see what the point of an interview is for a football manager. They are either good or not, nothing they say in an interview ( either way good or bad ) can change that....its not like a normal profession.

Whilst I mostly agree, it is important to have an interview with prospective candidates to see what direction they want to take the team in, such as what backroom staff he will bring in, his ideas in regards to coaching, tactics, what he will do to improve the underage setup and maybe the home league. However, it should only be used to give an idea of the what the candidate is about and should not be used to decide between the candidates, unless they were extremely similar candidates in regards to their managerial records and the FAI/selection committee was finding it difficult to choose between them.

23/11/2007, 1:59 PM

I'd like to claim brilliance, but more a typo/mis-spell.

I think you have a fair point about formal interview too. The only reason to have them is to ensure some sort of understanding between the FAI and the manager. As with all interviews the persona in the interview room often won't translate into the real world.

Schlooooomp
23/11/2007, 2:09 PM
At Hodgson's current odds of 18/1, Paddy Power only allow a maximum bet of €60, so I have thrown that on, for footballing and monetary reasons I want Hodgson to get the job.

jmurphyc
23/11/2007, 2:11 PM
Not really a gambler but am seriously considering putting a tenner on him at those prices. Then I'll have two reasons for wanting him to get the job.

Ireland4ever
23/11/2007, 2:16 PM

Supposedly Stan wooed the interviewing committee before he was appointed.:D Rumour has it he brought out our old favourites
''Im the Boss, the gaffer, the buck stops with me'':D
In fairness, how could they not give him the job!! He has such a way with words.:D

23/11/2007, 2:28 PM
Actually the interview went like this.

John D "Stan what do you think you can bring to the job"

Stan: "You tell me"

Spider Baby
23/11/2007, 2:31 PM

Quality!!!

23/11/2007, 2:32 PM
However, it should only be used to give an idea of the what the candidate is about and should not be used to decide between the candidates, unless they were extremely similar candidates in regards to their managerial records and the FAI/selection committee was finding it difficult to choose between them.

Again, back to my point, do you really care who is backroom staff is, his tactics ( you should know this already, coaching ( again should know this etc) and lets be honest what manager ( from outside Ireland ) is going to try and improve the league? All I as a fan, as I assume the FAI are ( because the income side affects their choice, or so it should ) too, I want the best man for the job based on his ability not on what he says or doesnt say in an interview. I mean the whole idea of an interview in normal circumstance is to get the person who answers the questions the best ( and has a personality ), if this were the case then how did staunton get it and how would other such managers do that have done well in the premier league or Europe?! They wouldn't probably!!! Only the more intelligent ones etc....

23/11/2007, 2:34 PM

:D that is class. One of the best posts I have ever read. Not just cos of this, but it reminds me of trainspotting when spud puts the question back on the interviewers, and how I have often tried to bluff it when I dont know something. Brilliant neil. He probably did say it too. :)

jmurphyc
23/11/2007, 2:47 PM
Again, back to my point, do you really care who is backroom staff is, his tactics ( you should know this already, coaching ( again should know this etc) and lets be honest what manager ( from outside Ireland ) is going to try and improve the league? All I as a fan, as I assume the FAI are ( because the income side affects their choice, or so it should ) too, I want the best man for the job based on his ability not on what he says or doesnt say in an interview. I mean the whole idea of an interview in normal circumstance is to get the person who answers the questions the best ( and has a personality ), if this were the case then how did staunton get it and how would other such managers do that have done well in the premier league or Europe?! They wouldn't probably!!! Only the more intelligent ones etc....

I actually mostly agree with you. All I'm saying is that an informal interview should always take place. It doesn't necessarily have to mean anything in regards to getting the job. For example, the FAI might invite someone to an interview and say "look, we've chosen you, there's just a few things that need ironing out". That's not an interview per se, but it is an interview nonetheless.

In regards to the backroom staff the FAI may need to know so they can sort the budget for the new manager out (although it's highly unlikely that someone who wants an assisatant role for a country is going to be expensive). You can also never really know what a manager's coaching and tactical philosophy is until you meet him and have a chat with him about it. You can have an idea, but you won't know for certain.

JC_GUFC
23/11/2007, 2:59 PM
At Hodgson's current odds of 18/1, Paddy Power only allow a maximum bet of €60, so I have thrown that on, for footballing and monetary reasons I want Hodgson to get the job.

If you want to get the rest on you can ring up and ask 1800 721 821
For liability reasons they have limits on internet betting but if you call them they will generally give you a bigger stake.

I've backed him at 60/1 - though I may have already mentioned that in this thread! :)

Schlooooomp
23/11/2007, 3:16 PM
If you want to get the rest on you can ring up and ask 1800 721 821
For liability reasons they have limits on internet betting but if you call them they will generally give you a bigger stake.

I've backed him at 60/1 - though I may have already mentioned that in this thread! :)

Cheers for that piece of info.

60/1, thats very sweet if it comes through. Can't really count on the FAI to do the sensible thing though.

eekers
23/11/2007, 6:02 PM
he's come in to 14/1 on paddypower now

that'll be because of this thread

Schlooooomp
24/11/2007, 11:28 AM
he's come in to 14/1 on paddypower now

that'll be because of this thread

At the moment he is 20/1 at Ladbrokes if anybody fancies a punt.

24/11/2007, 11:47 AM
Hodgson was just on R5 live being asked what credentials the next England manager should have. He basically touted his own credentials, most notably experience, but I can't see England looking his way.

Schlooooomp
24/11/2007, 11:53 AM
Hodgson was just on R5 live being asked what credentials the next England manager should have. He basically touted his own credentials, most notably experience, but I can't see England looking his way.

I doubt his name will even be mentioned if the FA create a shortlist of candidates. Haven't heard a mention of him in conjenction with the England job on any program or paper that I have looked at so far.

24/11/2007, 12:07 PM
He is 66/1 last time I looked.