View Full Version : FAI Cup final may not go ahead?!

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

Erstwhile Bóz
10/11/2007, 9:38 PM
Up Cork!

I love a good scandal.

10/11/2007, 9:39 PM
how much can the RDS hold lads?

kdjaC
10/11/2007, 10:59 PM

kdjac

kdjaC
10/11/2007, 11:01 PM
The FAI have told ticketmaster to release the tickets to the final early in order to use the paying fans as leverage against City in any arguments. They're on sale now.

http://www.ticketmaster.ie/event/18003F69B9C9354C?artistid=959748&majorcatid=10004&minorcatid=10004

tickets for last years final were on sale the following monday after our semi final, but hey let not get in the way of a good RRS thread.

kdjac

10/11/2007, 11:43 PM
tickets for last years final were on sale the following monday after our semi final, but hey let not get in the way of a good RRS thread.

kdjac

Fair play, i'm glad for you.

Why did the FAI tell clubs it would be next week before the tickets went on sale? And why are both clubs none the wiser about which stands are for them? So is it the case there is no segregation this year and the atmosphere will plummet?

Also, did the FAI fawk of to Durban on some junket after your semi-final last year? Oh that right, they didn't .... but sure dont let that get in the way of making a stupid post :rolleyes:

Seriously man, put more effort in willya. Engage the brain before you type, it works out better for everyone that way.

sonofstan
11/11/2007, 12:00 AM

kdjac

The final wasn't in December last year

soccerc
11/11/2007, 12:03 AM
The final wasn't in December last year

That's right, 3 December 2006 wasn't in December :D

11/11/2007, 12:15 AM
tickets for last years final were on sale the following monday after our semi final, but hey let not get in the way of a good RRS thread.Irrelevant.

a) The FAI stated the tickets would not yet be for sale.
b) The tickets have gone on sale rushed, with open placing in any stand.
c) The date and venue of this year's final were not confirmed until after this years semi finals.
d) Last years final took place in Lansdowne road and accordingly the FAI would have been at pains to sell as many tickets as early possible in an attempt to justify the capacity.

kdjacstop signing your posts. thats what your signature is for.

11/11/2007, 12:25 AM
Fair play, i'm glad for you.

Why did the FAI tell clubs it would be next week before the tickets went on sale? And why are both clubs none the wiser about which stands are for them? So is it the case there is no segregation this year and the atmosphere will plummet?

Also, did the FAI fawk of to Durban on some junket after your semi-final last year? Oh that right, they didn't .... but sure dont let that get in the way of making a stupid post :rolleyes:

Seriously man, put more effort in willya. Engage the brain before you type, it works out better for everyone that way.

WTF a face? he simply stated the facts. Tickets went on sale early last year. Relax man...

11/11/2007, 12:32 AM
WTF a face? he simply stated the facts. Tickets went on sale early last year. Relax man...
And yera he only made a sly comment about "RRS". Thats a fact I suppose? We're only on here complaining because sure thats what Cork fans do, complain.

Do you not get that this affects yourselves next year as well as us? You might never win the cup but allowing the FAI to break their contract and give the clubs whatever deal they feel like giving at the last moment is not a precedent any eL fan should want set.

11/11/2007, 12:35 AM
And yera he only made a sly comment about "RRS". Thats a fact I suppose? We're only on here complaining because sure thats what Cork fans do, complain.

Do you not get that this affects yourselves next year as well as us? You might never win the cup but allowing the FAI to break their contract and give the clubs whatever deal they feel like giving at the last moment is not a precedent any eL fan should want set.
And where did kdjac state anything contrary tpo that. he pointed out that one of your conspiracy theories was wrong. Nothing more. get a fecking grip lads...

11/11/2007, 12:45 AM
And where did kdjac state anything contrary tpo that. he pointed out that one of your conspiracy theories was wrong.How, exactly? I've already stated why his nugget of information is irrelevant.

11/11/2007, 1:03 AM
And where did kdjac state anything contrary tpo that. he pointed out that one of your conspiracy theories was wrong. Nothing more. get a fecking grip lads...

Dodge, come off the stage man ... conspiracy theory it is NOT.

You do realise the FAI, aside from this fiasco, the FAI will change the rule when the 2007 competition is over and in 2008 no club will get gate receipts and tv money. Do you not realise the impact of that?

Also, he tried to make light of the situation and i reacted to it.

Edit: Bare in mind the final is 22 days after the last league game. Gate receipts and tv money could pay players for this imposed delay.

Tis-smeee
11/11/2007, 4:39 AM
whinge bags

11/11/2007, 8:01 AM
stop signing your posts. thats what your signature is for.

Jesus, what a whinge.

11/11/2007, 8:39 AM
whinge bags

At first (without realising all the facts) i has sympathy for cork. Then I saw this posted on he drogs forum by someone that was actually involved in our arrangements for that glorious day 2 years ago:

'Lads when we got to the Cup Final we, as a Club, worked with Cork City to ensure the best commercial deal for the two Clubs (by insisting on Lansdowne Rd). I cant and won't mention figures but trust me if the RDS holds 14,000; then after expneses I would doubt (even if it were full) there would be enough left to pay put €175k to the two Clubs.

The rules are or at least used to be that the clubs got 30% each of the gate in the final after the expenses.

Also, cup finals (up to our one whic had the largest domestic attendance in 15 years!) were not that lucrative for the competing Clubs - largely due to relatively poor attendances and very significant overheads in staging the matches.

trust me when i say, Longford if they lose and pick up €75k are still very very much ahead of the "take" they got for winning the Cup the last time around! '

Cork shooting themselves in the foot and being too greedy it would seem

11/11/2007, 2:40 PM
Cork shooting themselves in the foot and being too greedy it would seem

It Cork abiding by the rules and fighting everyone elses corner.

Tis-smeee
11/11/2007, 3:05 PM
It Cork abiding by the rules and fighting everyone elses corner.

Cork are fighting there own corner dont be on any morale crusade on our behalf.

higgins
11/11/2007, 3:07 PM
The FAI are a sick joke at this stage. Cork are 100% correct in what they're saying here. This is just the latest episode of a club having to fight the FAI in order to implement their own rules.

The league deserves better...

11/11/2007, 3:19 PM
Cork are fighting there own corner dont be on any morale crusade on our behalf.

Well we cant leave it to Waterford anyway, sure aren't ye in Delaney's pocket anyway :rolleyes:

12/11/2007, 9:40 AM
Yep, UCD v Bohs final.
Town punished for both breaking the rules and insisting on sticking to them in the same season...

12/11/2007, 11:42 AM
Edit: Bare in mind the final is 22 days after the last league game. Gate receipts and tv money could pay players for this imposed delay.

You have a full time squad.

The timing is irrelevant.

Ceirtlis
12/11/2007, 12:03 PM
The other side.

At a meeting in Portmarnock on Wednesday, October 10, between the FAI and representatives of the four semi-finalists – Bohemians, Cork City, Longford Town and UCD - the financial package for the finalists was outlined in detail and accepted by the clubs.

Is this true?

bigmac
12/11/2007, 12:06 PM
Well we cant leave it to Waterford anyway, sure aren't ye in Delaney's pocket anyway :rolleyes:
Tough to think of a response to such an intelligently constructed and articulate argument :rolleyes:

Anyone have the text of the original announcement by the FAI that the winners would get 100K?

12/11/2007, 1:59 PM
Yep, UCD v Bohs final. Wouldn't say no!

Though I fear the viewing public would........! :eek:

12/11/2007, 2:02 PM
Is this true?
It's irrelevant anyway, since it's not in the FAI's or those 4 clubs power to make such a change, as per FAI rules.

bigmac
12/11/2007, 2:08 PM
Just wondering - hasn't tv money always been included in the prize money amount, and if so, why are Cork saying that the FAI won't give them any TV royalties?

12/11/2007, 2:16 PM
That's the sort of filth we're all going to have to deal with though, to think some people celebrated the FAI doing that last year is mind boggling. I remember a few people asking why the Limerick fans weren't having fund raisers and the like to help the club out, but it was never about money, or where Limerick played etc., it was always about getting rid of Danny, and since he wasn't selling, and the FAI weren't allowing him into their new shiny league we were completely screwed.

Jebus - what wa sthe full story at least from Limerick'side) about the club losing their license in the close season.

It was ostensibly to do with Fr Hogan not wanting to sell/long lease Hogan Park to the club, wasn't it ?

12/11/2007, 2:24 PM
Bottom Line, The FAI are shifting the Goalposts. Their Rules clearly state they cannot make a change while the competition is in motion.

Case Closed, yet another Own Goal by the FAIures

12/11/2007, 2:30 PM
€250,000 :eek:

I can't believe the TV Rights for the FAI Cup Final are worth €250k !?! Particularly given this year's pairing isn't that mouth-watering.

That'd probably pan-out as about €1 for every viewer on average across the show - big money !

Bottom Line, The FAI are shifting the Goalposts. Their Rules clearly state they cannot make a change while the competition is in motion.

Rule Number 1 of FAI Club - no-one talks about the Rule Book....

12/11/2007, 2:38 PM
Rule Number 1 of FAI Club - no-one talks about the Rule Book....

Except when they are forced to back down on Wednesday

12/11/2007, 4:49 PM
Jebus - what wa sthe full story at least from Limerick'side) about the club losing their license in the close season.

It was ostensibly to do with Fr Hogan not wanting to sell/long lease Hogan Park to the club, wasn't it ?

Nope, absolutely nothing to do with it.

The fact that we are allowed be in the league while playing out of the Jacks shoots this little piece of FAI spin down

The real reasons would shock and appall everyone on here :)

Seriously though, let's just say it was a sign of things to come and that if you think quibling over a few cup final euros sets a dangerous precedent..........

12/11/2007, 6:25 PM

Short story is the FAI didn't like Danny Drew, because Danny being Danny stood up to them even when there was no hope of him winning the argument (you could call him a later day Cork :p), told to John Delanay and the rest of the FAI exactly what he thought of them on a few occasions, namely when the FAI scuppered LFC's lease at Hogan Park so they could pinch it for themselves, and so the FAI booted Limerick FC out of the league to have the last laugh on Danny.

Long story is too complex and upsetting to go into, but the fact that quite a few EL clubs and their fans looked on in amusement as this unfolded is one of the reasons I half hope the FAI rides this league straight into the ground, pig humps it straight into the grave, it's about all it deserves for selling it's soul

bigmac
13/11/2007, 10:50 AM

Is the 100K prize money in the rule book as well?

The way I see it is that the FAI were trying to make themselves and the Cup competition look good so they figured that with a good attendance, the winners would end up with more than 100K. They then announced this and said that the winners of the cup final would receive 100K. The "well-supported" clubs in the last 4 met each other at semi-final stage and the FAI got worried that the gate wouldn't be enough to get over the 100K mark. Worried about headlines pointing out that the winners received less than promised, they announced that whatever the gate, they were guaranteeing that the winners would take home 100K.

Announcing 100K is better than announcing that the winners get 50K in prize-money (plus advertising, TV rights and a share of the gate that may push the total over 100K) so they just announced that the winners would receive 100K. I still am waiting for someone to post a link to where they announced that the prize-money on it's own would be 100K btw.

The one thing I don't understand is Cork banging on about the rule book if the prize money amount isn't in the rules. There's nothing there about TV money or advertising, so the FAI may just end up saying - ok, take the prize money and the gate but you're not getting any of the TV or advertising money...

13/11/2007, 11:34 AM
Just got a letter from FAI offering a discounted rate for GrandStand tickets
€15 Adult, €5 Child

13/11/2007, 11:37 AM
The one thing I don't understand is Cork banging on about the rule book if the prize money amount isn't in the rules. There's nothing there about TV money or advertising, so the FAI may just end up saying - ok, take the prize money and the gate but you're not getting any of the TV or advertising money...
:confused: How is the prize money not in the rules? if they, at the last moment, said "ha! no prize money for you", i'm pretty certain there'd be a fuss about it. we paid our entrance fee to the same competition as every other club and the rules have changed since we entered; that is against another state rule of the competition, the rules which form a contract since we paid the FAI for their service of organising this competition.

13/11/2007, 11:46 AM
we paid our entrance fee to the same competition as every other club and the rules have changed since we entered; that is against another state rule of the competition, the rules which form a contract since we paid the FAI for their service of organising this competition.

What's going to happen so??

13/11/2007, 11:59 AM
What's going to happen so??
Best scenario: Irish football fans throughout the country loudly protest that this isnt on, that if they want to institute changes, do it in a months time when they arent breaking rules and taking from the clubs to pay off stan. Of course, this wont happen. We're Cork. RRS and all that, eh?

Actually possible scenario: FAI realise that they havent a legal leg to stand on and back down. Next FAI cup the prize money is set properly.

Another possible scenario: The FAI refuse to back down, the FAI cup final goes ahead, Cork bring legal proceedings against the FAI for changing their rules.

Aidan Tynan's Fantasy: The owners of all the other "progressive" clubs get riled up about this. They swear blindly that they will not take part in any FAI competitions. For fear of losing their prize assets, the FAI back down, and remove the FAI wage cap for clubs with a turnover of over €1million.

13/11/2007, 12:08 PM
Just got a letter from FAI offering a discounted rate for GrandStand tickets
€15 Adult, €5 ChildGot that too, what are the normal prices?

13/11/2007, 12:13 PM
Got that too, what are the normal prices?

ANGLESEA STAND: €10.00 - €25.00
GRANDSTAND: €5.00 - €20.00
SOUTH STAND: €5.00 - €15.00
NORTH STAND: €5.00 - €15.00

Its on the day after the Christmas meet up so I might head over to it.
It'll either kill me or make me stronger ... although if Longford win it'll
kill me ;)

13/11/2007, 12:14 PM

Discounting with the tickets only just released.....?!? :eek:

The FAI don't have a lot of faith in the crowd for this one so.

13/11/2007, 12:14 PM

€25 i think. its for "loyal football fans"; i.e. people who go see the republic of ireland and pay straight into the FAI's pockets rather than through their clubs :rolleyes:

13/11/2007, 12:19 PM
Discounting with the tickets only just released.....?!? :eek:

The FAI don't have a lot of faith in the crowd for this one so.

They did the same last year afair.

13/11/2007, 12:24 PM
To boil this issue down to what I would regard as the fundamental bit- as things stand will this year's finalists make more or less than last year's finalists?

13/11/2007, 12:25 PM
Where did CCFC say they would pull out of the FAI Cup? :confused:

13/11/2007, 12:41 PM
They did the same last year afair.

But that was in a stadium with near-enough double the capacity of the RDS

13/11/2007, 1:05 PM
To boil this issue down to what I would regard as the fundamental bit- as things stand will this year's finalists make more or less than last year's finalists?

That is not the "fundamental" bit. I doubt Arkaga would be the kind to quibble over a few thousand on either side of the loss/gain line. But Arkaga have repeatedly said they arent happen with the FAIs inadequacy.

13/11/2007, 1:23 PM
Fine. So will this years finalists make more or less than last years?

13/11/2007, 1:24 PM
Fine. So will this years finalists make more or less than last years?

More afaik

passerrby
13/11/2007, 1:43 PM
jez its great to see cork riding to the high moral ground on all our behalfs ..cant see to many other clubs caring to much about this issue and neither would cork if they were not in the final..