View Full Version : Steve Staunton
cavan_fan
18/10/2007, 8:07 PM
I know this has been said before, but I've just seen Delaney's interview and I can't remeber ever seeing such a spineless showing.
I didn't hire him
The board will fire him
I'm in charge of construction work and paperclips (unless we win in which case it was all me)
Ireland4ever
18/10/2007, 8:16 PM
Delaney's a c*nt....Like a snake trying to slither out of this mess....:mad:
Can't believe it's news to people that Delaney is a self serving double dealing slimey toad faced oscar wilde haircut of a toerag. Did we not already know this ?
geezer
18/10/2007, 8:33 PM
word has it that a phone call between a midlands and west member of the board this evening were livid with delaney squirming and laying blame at everyone else door. He picked the 3 man committee to select stan. Anyway it looks like 4 of the 10man board are considering a cu. The annual infighting commences, tonight
onceahoop
18/10/2007, 8:46 PM
making it clear now that 3 people made the appointment.....not him'his main job is landsdowne road, eircom league....not fair hes linked personally to appointment.....
fair play, O'Donohue pushing for an answer, "u have to do something"
delaney making excuses trying to change the subject...i think hes gonna make a scapegoat of stan somehow...
GO ON TOD>..legend
Delaney just proving what a self serving pri@k we know he is. Now he's hanging poor Blood and his cronies out to dry.
Reckon O'Donoghue got some inside info but can't repeat it. Probably from Son Of Joe trying to curry favour with the national broadcaster because he knows he's sitting in McCarthy's bacon slicer.
I nearly puked my dinner up watching the slimey, snakey, perfrmance he put on.
The spin has started.
Fcuk off Delaney. I know you read this, so remember, they who wear two faces end up bewildered. :mad:
sonofstan
18/10/2007, 8:47 PM
Anyway it looks like 4 of the 10man board are considering a cu.
being dense, probably, but what's a cu?
18/10/2007, 8:49 PM
being dense, probably, but what's a cu?A coup on bebo I'd say.
sonofstan
18/10/2007, 8:53 PM
A coup on bebo I'd say.
:D a cu D-ta, even
onceahoop
18/10/2007, 9:09 PM
:D a cu D-ta, even
If it is, I'll believe it when I see it.:rolleyes:
But I'll be delighted to be proved wrong.:)
18/10/2007, 9:09 PM
And who appointed the boards? And what do you think would have happened to board members who went against Delaney's choice?
The Board of Management is constituted according to the FAI Rules (Rule 23 explains the composition). The CEO (John Delaney) has no say in who is appointed to the BOM.
The Board of Management reports on its activities to the full FAI National Council (Rule 14 explains the composition). Rule 15 explains the role of the National Council. This probably best enshrined in the very first paragraph:
The Council shall be responsible for monitoring the activities of the FAI and for monitoring the Board’s governance of the Association.
There are 61 members of the National Council, 55 of whom are appointed by the various clubs, leagues and those associations that run schoolboys, colleges, universities, junior and womens football and a representative from the referees society. The CEO (John Delaney) is not a member of the National Council nor has any say in who is appointed to the council.
If you look at the back of the match programmes you will see the names of each of the individuals and who they represent on the Council.
Perhaps you ought to ask whoever your own club has appointed to the National Council about the workings of the BOM and the National Council.
18/10/2007, 9:12 PM
Can't believe it's news to people that Delaney is a self serving double dealing slimey toad faced oscar wilde haircut of a toerag. Did we not already know this ?
Its news, not new to us.
TerryPhelan
18/10/2007, 9:16 PM
Lads, can someone please post up a link to footage of the Delaney interview on RTÉ tonight? I can't find anything on the RTÉ website.
monutdfc
18/10/2007, 9:28 PM
I deleted the above message because I don;t want to get anyone in trouble, let's just say Superhoops don't be so naive.
18/10/2007, 9:33 PM
Lads, can someone please post up a link to footage of the Delaney interview on RTÉ tonight? I can't find anything on the RTÉ website.
http://www.rte.ie/news/6news/
onceahoop
18/10/2007, 9:33 PM
Try this
http://www.rte.ie/news/6news/
and scroll down
4tothefloor
18/10/2007, 10:28 PM
Paddy Power betting on next Irish manager. What do you all think:
Dave O'Leary 2/1
John Aldridge 6/1
Paul Jewel 11/1
Roy Keane 12/1
Graham Souness 12/1
Martin O'Neill 16/1
George Graham 16/1
Chris Hughton 16/1
Liam Brady 16/1
Ray Houghtan 20/1
Martin Allen 20/1
Don Givens 25/1
Peter Reid 25/1
Stephen Kenny 25/1
John Sheridan 28/1
Glen Roeder 28/1
Gerard Houllier 33/1
Glenn Hoddle 33/1
Ruud Gullit 40/1
Kevin Moran 40/1
Ronald Koeman 40/1
Didier Deschamps 40/1
Mick McCarthy 40/1
Johnny Giles 40/1
Kevin Keegan 50/1
Steve McClaren 50/1
John Toshak 50/1
Brian Kerry 66/1
Eamonn Dunphy 200/1
Jack Charlton 500/1
Martin O'Neill or Roy Keane for me but I am not holding my breath
Out of that list a lot of those 'candidates' are unrealistic and unachievable. Gerard Houllier would be by far and away my first choice. Houllier would actually be quite a coup, doubt he'd take the job though.
Didier Deschamps is also a very good coach. Paul Jewell wouldn't be bad but he wouldn't go for international at this stage of his career. It's a pity Steve Coppell isn't available. Terry Venables would have to be looked at, has all the credentials. I hate O'Leary's attitude. He'd be 100 times better and more astute than Staunton but he's just smarmy, couldn't see myself taking to him. The rest on the list are all s**t or ridiculous.
We need a decent coach who knows his tactics and how to organise a team and win games. Especially away from home. This is why I'd choose Houllier hands down. But any coach with those credentials will at the very least have us competing at the top of the group again...
Ordinary Fan
18/10/2007, 11:08 PM
Stan will be gone for financial reasons. The FAI need to sell 10000 10 year tickets to finance Lansdown road, with the numbers not turning up last night after paying at least €50 and others walking out before the end, this is not going to happen.
Delaney was on the pitch last night at the end of the game and there was no support for Stan after the game. Todays interview was used to distance himself from the appointment. So the game will be up after the Wales game.
Just on the news that Delaney has had his contract extended until 2012, that will stop any cu.
Bald Student
18/10/2007, 11:31 PM
Off Topic but it's interesting to note that Stephen Kenny was 80/1 to get the Ireland job 2 years ago and he's 25/1 now.
sonofstan
18/10/2007, 11:59 PM
So you reckon he'll be 6/1 after Venables goes?
Noelys Guitar
19/10/2007, 12:28 AM
Steve Copell has publicly expressed an interest in managing an international team. Can't see him getting the England job if McClown gets the boot. So he would be my first choice to be approached.
dodgycanadian
19/10/2007, 1:10 AM
who are you all kidding, why would coppell, houllier, or deschamps want to manage ireland... its a deathtrap
Colbert Report
19/10/2007, 1:28 AM
John Sheridan will be the next Ireland manager.
theworm2345
19/10/2007, 2:30 AM
John Sheridan will be the next Ireland manager.
Isn't he managing Oldham? Do we really want a League 1 manager (even one who took his team to the playoffs last year)? Don't get me wrong, he'd be better than Stan, but I think we can do better. I love McAteer, but his experience is about the same as Stans was (player-coach...I can't remember who mentioned McAteer). Even Mark Kinsella would be better as he has some knowledge working in Charlton's backroom.
Student Mullet
19/10/2007, 4:29 AM
.....Stop pretending to be clever, you made a spelling mistake. It's no big deal but don't try to cover it up.
onceahoop
19/10/2007, 7:02 AM
Stan will be gone for financial reasons. The FAI need to sell 10000 10 year tickets to finance Lansdown road, with the numbers not turning up last night after paying at least €50 and others walking out before the end, this is not going to happen.
Just on the news that Delaney has had his contract extended until 2012, that will stop any cu.
Tickets that will work out at €200 per game :eek:
No chance!!!!!!!!!!!!!
antrimgreen
19/10/2007, 7:35 AM
At this point, i don't really care to much about the next manager just that the current manager gets booted out da fcuk. When i seen this thread my heart started beating like a dog with 2 dciks, but soon after entering the thread i felt like a dog that just had his balls cut off!!
19/10/2007, 8:52 AM
I'm in charge of construction work and paperclips (unless we win in which case it was all me)
Cavan_Fan QUALITY :D :D
thats exactly what i read as well from the interview, plus that big dopey head on him like he got caught in the sun and is trying to look away. He is such a little weasel on a one man crusade to right his fathers stupid doings. Stupidness clearly runs in teh family. What i didnt like was giles making out he was a great man, for the "average" fan they will take that as gold.
co. down green
19/10/2007, 9:23 AM
Three people made the appointment," said Delaney. "It was a sub-committee of the FAI of three people who made the appointment of the management team. "It's unfortunate that I've been personally linked to the appointment when there was a sub-committee of three which was ratified by the board of the FAI, which is a committee of 10."
"As the association's top official, Delaney led a three-man sub-committee charged with finding a successor to Brian Kerr whose reign ended two years ago tomorrow. FAI president David Blood and the association's honorary secretary Michael Cody were the other two officials involved"
Delaney is a snake alright, how can he distance himself ?
http://www.ireland.com/sports/soccer/2007/1018/1192705838775.html
19/10/2007, 10:18 AM
Even Mark Kinsella would be better as he has some knowledge working in Charlton's backroom.
I think Kinsella is involved with the Academy at Charlton
co. down green
19/10/2007, 10:29 AM
I think Kinsella is involved with the Academy at Charlton
He's reserve team coach this season.
Drumcondra 69er
19/10/2007, 10:35 AM
Please lads, whoever we get has to have at the bare minimum a couple of years coaching a first team somewhere. And even then that'd be scraping th barrell, ideally someone with international experience that can whip those in the comfort zone into shape.
Dr. Ogba
19/10/2007, 10:38 AM
Please lads, whoever we get has to have at the bare minimum a couple of years coaching a first team somewhere. And even then that'd be scraping th barrell, ideally someone with international experience that can whip those in the comfort zone into shape.
Well reserve team coach in the championship is better than reserve team coach in league 1 you have to admit...
19/10/2007, 10:45 AM
I think people still fall for the "Walsall coach" myth.
He was paid as a "coach" to disguise player costs as far as I know. I don't think he was even coach at Walsall in any capacity.
Open to correction...
19/10/2007, 10:55 AM
Get a guy who knows international football. An experienced coach who knows the international football game. Its a different skill to taking Wigan or Reading and doing well by wealing and dealing and working with your players week in week out.
19/10/2007, 10:56 AM
Three people made the appointment," said Delaney. "It was a sub-committee of the FAI of three people who made the appointment of the management team. "It's unfortunate that I've been personally linked to the appointment when there was a sub-committee of three which was ratified by the board of the FAI, which is a committee of 10."
Delaney is a snake alright, how can he distance himself ?
http://www.ireland.com/sports/soccer/2007/1018/1192705838775.html
My thoughts exactly when I saw that. Cowardly and there cannot possibly be any chance of Stan keeping his job after a comment like that.
You don't get to positions like Delaneys though without being a snake at times. Did we honestly think that he'd hold his hands up and walk? He'll be much tougher to remove.
Dr. Ogba
19/10/2007, 11:44 AM
My thoughts exactly when I saw that. Cowardly and there cannot possibly be any chance of Stan keeping his job after a comment like that.
You don't get to positions like Delaneys though without being a snake at times. Did we honestly think that he'd hold his hands up and walk? He'll be much tougher to remove.
yeah but the problem is if (BIG IF!) we get rid of him who'll replace him? It'll more than likely be another one of the backstabbers that take the helm and it'll be the same ould sh!te again...
Whatever happened to the genesis report? IMHO the FAI needs a major overhaul, get fresh blood in with new ideas for both domestic and international football in this country and actually put to good use the crazy money that is being stumped up by the fans....
This, of course, will not happen.....
19/10/2007, 11:44 AM
Cheers, wasn't sure about his exact role
citizenerased
19/10/2007, 12:17 PM
delaney threw him to the wolves yesterday...trying despeately to save his granite arse
Sligo Hornet
19/10/2007, 12:21 PM
I think people still fall for the "Walsall coach" myth.
He was paid as a "coach" to disguise player costs as far as I know. I don't think he was even coach at Walsall in any capacity.
Open to correction...
Spot on Stutts....He was given the "dual role" of player/coach to allow his salary demand not to break the Club's wage structure.Merson had his own coaches.
theworm2345
19/10/2007, 12:40 PM
Kinsella does seem to be doing a good job there, but he shouldn't be our next manager...though definitely a prospect in a few years
http://www.cafc.co.uk/fixtures.ink?team=r&diary=&season=07/08
19/10/2007, 12:59 PM
Delaney reminds me of Puncius Pilot (sic). Not my problem the board of management have to make up their minds on what to do with Stan.
As regards a new manager, what about Martin Jol and Chris Haughton, who will soon be looking for work. Robbie might score a few goals.
Cant see us attracting a top European coach so I think I would go for Dave O'Leary. I know he wasted a lot of money, but he did manage to get Leeds to the semi-final of the Champions league and finish consistently high in their respective league.
In reality, you cant look further than O' Leary. He is very familiar with the irish international scene and he has plenty of experience in club management at the highest level with Leeds. People will bandy about other names but I cant see anyone else getting near the position.
19/10/2007, 1:04 PM
Why not Roy Hodgson
Armando
19/10/2007, 1:53 PM
Cant see us attracting a top European coach so I think I would go for Dave O'Leary. I know he wasted a lot of money, but he did manage to get Leeds to the semi-final of the Champions league and finish consistently high in their respective league.
In reality, you cant look further than O' Leary. He is very familiar with the irish international scene and he has plenty of experience in club management at the highest level with Leeds. People will bandy about other names but I cant see anyone else getting near the position.
Why the **** can't we look further than David O'Leary?!
This must be the same attitude the FAI have - 'Ah, sure there's no point approaching him, he'd never take the job'...'ye, you're right lets go for someone who will definitely take it because he won't be working anywhere else anytime soon'
Why not Roy Hodgson
ALLELUIA!!
He has to be asked. It's a no brainer.
19/10/2007, 2:30 PM
hmmm, i knew you had a funny sense of being, its even more apparent now.
Drumcondra 69er
19/10/2007, 2:30 PM
Why not Roy Hodgson
In a job at present, who's to say he'll want to leave? Dislikes the english media and our media has practically dragged itself down to their level over the last few years. Sending people dressed as muppets out to training gsessions ffs, who actually finds sh1t like that amusing??
Armando
19/10/2007, 2:45 PM
In a job at present, who's to say he'll want to leave? Dislikes the english media and our media has practically dragged itself down to their level over the last few years. Sending people dressed as muppets out to training gsessions ffs, who actually finds sh1t like that amusing??
Who's to say he wouldn't leave? You don't know if you don't ask.
His contract with Finland is for the Euro2008 campaign. They still have a chance of qualifying - but no matter what, his contract will have to be re negotiated sometime between Nov 17th and June 2008.
If we approach him at the end of Euro qualifying I would be amazed if he didn't show an interest...he knows his stuff and the chance of getting us to a World Cup finals and then managing on that stage again is a huge incentive and easily over rides any waryness of how the media operates.
Drumcondra 69er
19/10/2007, 2:49 PM
Who's to say he wouldn't leave? You don't know if you don't ask.
His contract with Finland is for the Euro2008 campaign. They still have a chance of qualifying - but no matter what, his contract will have to be re negotiated sometime between Nov 17th and June 2008.
If we approach him at the end of Euro qualifying I would be amazed if he didn't show an interest...he knows his stuff and the chance of getting us to a World Cup finals and then managing on that stage again is a huge incentive and easily over rides any waryness of how the media operates.
Can't argue with that but a lot of people seem to assume that if we just ask we'll get, I've seen a lot of names touted on here that wouldn't contemplate leaving their present jobs to manage us.
I think Hodgson would be a solid appointment btw, just think he might prefer to stay with Finland if he's being sucessful there.
19/10/2007, 2:50 PM
Spot on Stutts....He was given the "dual role" of player/coach to allow his salary demand not to break the Club's wage structure.Merson had his own coaches.
i heard he was only on minimum wage at walsall
19/10/2007, 2:52 PM
Sending people dressed as muppets out to training gsessions ffs, who actually finds sh1t like that amusing??
agree. its pathetic beyond words