View Full Version : Steve Staunton
Armando
18/10/2007, 5:27 PM
Oh my God! I can't believe what Delaney is doing to Staunton here! What a ****ing snake:mad:
GET HIM OUT NOW
Edit: Delaney - 'this is the 4th crisis now in Stauntons tenure...we've become conditioned to it'' ...UNBELIEVABLE
biscuit
18/10/2007, 5:28 PM
making it clear now that 3 people made the appointment.....not him'his main job is landsdowne road, eircom league....not fair hes linked personally to appointment.....
fair play, O'Donohue pushing for an answer, "u have to do something"
delaney making excuses trying to change the subject...i think hes gonna make a scapegoat of stan somehow...
GO ON TOD>..legend
mattie
18/10/2007, 5:29 PM
Delany equivocating all over the place.
Goodbye stan at least you had some guts, unlike Delaney.
youngirish
18/10/2007, 5:30 PM
On the plus side it looks to me from that interview that Stan is not going to be in a job by the time we play Wales. He should definitely not be in charge for the WC qualifiers and thank God for that.
Delaney unfortunately will still be there, however.
Armando
18/10/2007, 5:31 PM
On the plus side it looks to me from that interview that Stan is not going to be in a job by the time we play Wales. He should definitely not be in charge for the WC qualifiers and thank God for that.
Delaney unfortunately will still be there however.
And this we cannot allow to happen.
Rebel11
18/10/2007, 5:35 PM
That Delaney makes my blood boil he is such a C*** he was making it clear its not hes fault Stan was hired.
Delaney OUT
I feel sorry for stan in ways he is trying hes best but he is just not up to it we all know it. But if Stan goes that C*** Delaney has to go.
Philly
From what I took from the interview, Stan's gone. No way could Delaney distance himself like that unless he thought Stan was gone.
Maroon 7
Delaney distancing himself from Staunton.
18/10/2007, 5:39 PM
Delaney: "it's disappointing that I've been linked personally with the appointment. ...made by a three man board". Whoever called him a snake had the word.
What a complete c0ck. :rolleyes:
SUB of the day
18/10/2007, 5:41 PM
T O D gave him ample opportunity to back Stan, especially when asking would the Louth Langer be in charge for Cardiff, his sidestep on the issue looks ominous for Stan...thank God
18/10/2007, 5:43 PM
So the pair of them are still in charge. No change then. :rolleyes:
mattie
18/10/2007, 5:43 PM
On today fm they're saying that Delany was the diving force behind this "three man board"
Delany is sickening
Delbertt
18/10/2007, 5:46 PM
Make sure and bring delaney out banners to cardiff, wat a tool
Bungle
18/10/2007, 5:47 PM
Stan is effectively gone. If the FAI were behind him, Delaney would have publicly backed him like he has before.
Essentially, Delaney is doing what he does best;surviving. By suggesting that the board will have to meet to discuss Stan's future, he is also trying to suggest that it was the board and not just him that appointed Stan.
calling a board meeting spreads the blame. What a ****!!
Anyhow, at least its 99.99999999% likely that we'll have a new manager for the world cup campaign.
18/10/2007, 5:47 PM
On today fm they're saying that Delany was the diving force behind this "three man board"
Delany is sickening
Head first no doubt.
18/10/2007, 5:48 PM
When Stan does go, it needs to be made very clear that the heat is not off and the calls for Delaney to resign should be made louder than ever.
Banners at all LOI grounds would be hard to ignore. The inevitable fines that will be imposed on each club should be used as another nail in the coffin. If the media can finally grow a spine on this they would not allow such a move to pass without exposing the FAI for the cowards they are.
mattie
18/10/2007, 5:48 PM
fair play to Tony O' Donoghue
"culture of excuse around here"
Staunton "sacked..next 48 hours" he thinks
Rebel11
18/10/2007, 5:50 PM
T O D just said that Stan will be out of a job within 48 Hours.
sonofstan
18/10/2007, 5:54 PM
Does anyone know where I could find the constitution of the FAI online? do they have one?
18/10/2007, 5:57 PM
making it clear now that 3 people made the appointment.....not him' ..........
I don't think he is distancing himself from it all. I think he is merely clarifying the point that the decision to appoint Steve Staunton's was not made by him alone. A three man sub-committee, of which he was a member, made a recommendation to the 10 man Board of Management and that recommendation was ratified by that Board.
Several journalists and several on here have been promoting the notion that Delaney made the appointment himself without any reference to anyone. That simply it not true and there is nothing wrong with Delaney making that clear.
upkerry
18/10/2007, 5:59 PM
Paddy Power betting on next Irish manager. What do you all think:
Dave O'Leary 2/1
John Aldridge 6/1
Paul Jewel 11/1
Roy Keane 12/1
Graham Souness 12/1
Martin O'Neill 16/1
George Graham 16/1
Chris Hughton 16/1
Liam Brady 16/1
Ray Houghtan 20/1
Martin Allen 20/1
Don Givens 25/1
Peter Reid 25/1
Stephen Kenny 25/1
John Sheridan 28/1
Glen Roeder 28/1
Gerard Houllier 33/1
Glenn Hoddle 33/1
Ruud Gullit 40/1
Kevin Moran 40/1
Ronald Koeman 40/1
Didier Deschamps 40/1
Mick McCarthy 40/1
Johnny Giles 40/1
Kevin Keegan 50/1
Steve McClaren 50/1
John Toshak 50/1
Brian Kerry 66/1
Eamonn Dunphy 200/1
Jack Charlton 500/1
Martin O'Neill or Roy Keane for me but I am not holding my breath
Rebel11
18/10/2007, 6:02 PM
I would love to see Keano get it but that wont happen.
If is going to be a Irishman to get the job then Dave O'Leary is the only one IMO
youngirish
18/10/2007, 6:05 PM
Please God not Aldridge or Souness. Replacing one clueless manager with another is not the way forward.
carloz
18/10/2007, 6:07 PM
Delaney - 'this is the 4th crisis now in Stauntons tenure...we've become conditioned to it'' This is the sickening bit from his interview. Does that make last night acceptable John you ****ing tit
18/10/2007, 6:08 PM
John Sheridan has gone some way to earning his stripes with Oldham. Not a great level I admit.
I've said before I'd have O'Leary as Manager in a shot
SUB of the day
18/10/2007, 6:08 PM
There is no chance Roy would leave the Black Cats to work for the FAI, ditto Martin O Neil at Villa, personally El TEL ticks a lot of boxes, namely experience at appropriate levels,
carloz
18/10/2007, 6:13 PM
Don Givens 25/1
Oh sweet jesus NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
18/10/2007, 6:15 PM
Does anyone know where I could find the constitution of the FAI online? do they have one?
Try here (http://www.fai.ie/pdf/FAI_Rule_Book.pdf)
18/10/2007, 6:16 PM
Make sure and bring delaney out banners to cardiff, wat a tool
Ya lads, make sure ye bring this out with ye. DEFFO>.
Noelys Guitar
18/10/2007, 6:18 PM
I don't think he is distancing himself from it all. I think he is merely clarifying the point that the decision to appoint Steve Staunton's was not made by him alone. A three man sub-committee, of which he was a member, made a recommendation to the 10 man Board of Management and that recommendation was ratified by that Board.
Several journalists and several on here have been promoting the notion that Delaney made the appointment himself without any reference to anyone. That simply it not true and there is nothing wrong with Delaney making that clear.
So who else did the "3" interview for the job? Delaney made a statement that a world class manager would be appointed. Are you suggesting that David Blood had the same say in appointing Staunton as Delaney?
Closed Account 2
18/10/2007, 6:18 PM
Igor Tudor ?
sonofstan
18/10/2007, 6:22 PM
Try here (http://www.fai.ie/pdf/FAI_Rule_Book.pdf)
Thanks
18/10/2007, 6:24 PM
if looking like a dozy fupper hiding from the son is a crime then delaney should be in prison for life.
O'Donoghue is asking the questions we want to be asked, he seems to be the most in touch.
co. down green
18/10/2007, 6:46 PM
Well Stan's gone that's for sure.
Board was not due to meet until 3 days before Wales Game, now likely to meet in the next couple of days to 'discuss' the situation.
18/10/2007, 6:55 PM
I don't think he is distancing himself from it all. I think he is merely clarifying the point that the decision to appoint Steve Staunton's was not made by him alone. A three man sub-committee, of which he was a member, made a recommendation to the 10 man Board of Management and that recommendation was ratified by that Board. And who appointed the boards? And what do you think would have happened to board members who went against Delaney's choice?
Bald Student
18/10/2007, 6:58 PM
And who appointed the boards? And what do you think would have happened to board members who went against Delaney's choice?An extract from a short story being published in STIG:
The hens spoke up at this stage, asking for details of his dream, preferably in writing but they got no useful answer. Every member of the three animal committee they spoke to answered that they had only prepared a report, the vote was taken by the ten animal committee and that's where responsibility lied. But every member of the ten animal committee gave the opposite answer. He had only voted in accordance with the recommendations of the three animal committee, that's where responsibility lied. The hens would even got these answer twice from the same animal if he were a member of both committees.
Drumcondra 69er
18/10/2007, 6:58 PM
Please God not Aldridge or Souness. Replacing one clueless manager with another is not the way forward.
The same Aldridge who brought a minnow to a major cup final, had a great record against Premier teams in the cups and had a better club record then Sanchez before he took over Norn Iron? What's your basis for that? The FAI won't get away with appointing him now but to call him clueless is way off the mark. Had he taken over when they wanted the cheap option after Kerr we'd be far better off then we are now.
I'll give you Souness alright.
18/10/2007, 6:59 PM
All this is so obvious your shock amuses me. Here's something I posted well before the Delaney interview in the Cyprus game thread in response to youngirish:
I think you would do what I think will happen when Delaney comes knocking on your door. "Listen youngirish, I don't think this is working out and we're getting terrible stick from the media and the fans". You reply "Fair enough". Delaney says "I think we have to replace you". You say "I have a 4 year contract". Delaney says "What will it take for the good of the country and my job security for you to leave?" You say "€700k". Delaney says €500k". You say "€600k". Delaney says "Done!".
Press statement: "The FAI have agreed to terminate the contract of youngirish by mutual consent. The FAI would like to thank youngirish for his unstinting hard work for the Association and the national team during the past x months. The search now begins for a new world class manager".
18/10/2007, 7:06 PM
John Aldridge had a couple of half decent cup runs with Tranmere about 10 years ago and hasnt been even mentioned for a job anywhere since. As Dunphy stated, we have had enough of 'rinky dink coaches who wouldnt get a job for any other country'. No other country would go near Adridge, why should we?? Because he was a decent player for us i think this has been proven over the last year and a half to mean nothing. Aldridge is one option to certainly avoid. I would have confidence in the FAI to hire the right man. I cant picture another monumental **** up on the manager apointment like with we had a year ago
sonofstan
18/10/2007, 7:16 PM
Bald student wrote:
that's where responsibility lied*
ahem..... 'where responsibility lay' surely?
what does the 'U' in UCD stand for again?
*although......
Bald Student
18/10/2007, 7:17 PM
*although...........
backstothewall
18/10/2007, 7:23 PM
No way on Souness, his record speaks for itself. Destroyed Liverpool. Almost got Newcastle relegated at huge expense.
No to O'Leary. I'm follow Villa, and I would prefer Staunton for another 2 years.
Paul Jewell or Roy Hodgeson would be my choice. Unless money was no object of course, then Mourinho. but we all know money is an object
Drumcondra 69er
18/10/2007, 7:29 PM
John Aldridge had a couple of half decent cup runs with Tranmere about 10 years ago and hasnt been even mentioned for a job anywhere since. As Dunphy stated, we have had enough of 'rinky dink coaches who wouldnt get a job for any other country'. No other country would go near Adridge, why should we?? Because he was a decent player for us i think this has been proven over the last year and a half to mean nothing. Aldridge is one option to certainly avoid. I would have confidence in the FAI to hire the right man. I cant picture another monumental **** up on the manager apointment like with we had a year ago
Wouldn't give him the job but he'd have been a class above Staunton and anyone calling him clueless obviously knows **** all about football.
As for having confidence in the FAI to make the right decision??? :D:eek:
viagogo
18/10/2007, 7:33 PM
I think it must be a foreign coach ie excluding any British coach as well. Someone who does not know the players and who can come in with a clean slate.
Staunton has played with a lot of the current squad and they obviously didnt rate or respect him.
The most outstanding coach (that we can afford) for me is the Dutchman Leo Beenhacker who is managing Poland at the moment. I cant see money being a problem as surely we can offer more than the Polish.
cavan_fan
18/10/2007, 7:47 PM
On the new manager I have decided on a new rule, if Stoke City wouldnt consider them then we shouldnt. (By the way that excludes Aldridge)
18/10/2007, 7:48 PM
I have to hand it to Delaney, he walks all over these journalists.
They can't hold the thread of a question in their head.
Well John the crowd were booing at the end?
John: Its tragic when they boo the team bla bla bla
The next Q from O´Donaghue´s mouth should have been, No John, a significant number were really booing you, what do you think of that?
The real leak was Delaney said that they would deal with it at the next board meeting, O'Donaghue said, but John the next board meeting will be after the Wales game will Stan still be in charge then?
then Delaney said that they would be calling a special board meeting and mentioned the 4 corners of Ireland where all the board members are in hiding.
stojkovic
18/10/2007, 7:51 PM
I would go for Frank Rijkaard but we would have to wait til June, which should not be a problem if you want a 'World Class' manager.
He will be available as The Special One will take over as Rijkaard wants a year off, part-time job may suit. And he speaks better English than most of our players.
Pay him the whatever he wants 1.5million should do it.
cavan_fan
18/10/2007, 7:54 PM
I would go for Frank Rijkaard but we would have to wait til June, which should not be a problem if you want a 'World Class' manager.
He will be available as The Special One will take over as Rijkaard wants a year off, part-time job may suit. And he speaks better English than most of our players.
Pay him the whatever he wants 1.5million should do it.
Unfortunately I think Mourinho will take the England job, good money, likes living in London, can't get a club job in England.
Rijkaard would be good, anyone think we could get Coppell?
sonofstan
18/10/2007, 8:02 PM
they would be calling a special board meeting and mentioned the 4 corners of Ireland where all the board members are in hiding.
Makes it sound like trying to organise the Easter Rising or something;sending dispatch riders with coded messages... I presume these people have telephones and maybe even computers?