View Full Version : Steve Staunton
SUB of the day
18/10/2007, 4:24 PM
Lads, would you give a 250k a year job as a heart surgeon to a guy off the street who had never done it before?
Don't feel sorry for him, he's a MULTI-MILLIONAIRE and he's taking the pi$$ out of all of us. Shame on you Staunton.
Couldn't agree more, for Christs sake, just go!
Armando
18/10/2007, 4:24 PM
Bloody hell, I told you it was like living under communism.
There was nowhere near as much stewards in front of us over the far side of the Canal end. There was a heavy presence of stewards in that corner because thats were the little knackers were acting the maggot.
18/10/2007, 4:26 PM
Did anyone see the Georgia - Scotland game? Some idiot ran onto the pitch, and got immediately surrounded and hauled off by about 4 security guards. I reckon they were fearing a repeat performance.
18/10/2007, 4:26 PM
People have been executed for less
maybe, just maybe, you are exagerating a little here?
onenilgameover
18/10/2007, 4:28 PM
media swarming merrion sq at the mo...
18/10/2007, 4:34 PM
I might head up to Merrion Square for the craic.
Someone who works for the Mirror seems to think it's on and will be announced tonight or tomorrow.
If you fancy a bet he's 11/10 on Betfair to not be in charge for the Wales match.
SUB of the day
18/10/2007, 4:35 PM
media swarming merrion sq at the mo...
All good, 2 heads would be nice,Stans will do for now!
18/10/2007, 4:36 PM
Just announced on Today FM that FAI are to make statement at 6pm.
I don't just want Stan gone. Del-boy has to go too!
18/10/2007, 4:36 PM
Delaney will be on 6.01 news according to someone on boards. That's not a good sign. Is it?
TheBoss
18/10/2007, 4:37 PM
I want Delaney gone more than Stan.
Eire06
18/10/2007, 4:38 PM
Delaney will be on 6.01 news according to someone on boards. That's not a good sign.
He's reading a statement at 6.
Rumurs are that Stan is getting paid off - Delaney has to go to :mad:
18/10/2007, 4:39 PM
The BOSS my sentiments exactly, delaney is a beeeep beep
SUB of the day
18/10/2007, 4:40 PM
Just announced on Today FM that FAI are to make statement at 6pm.
I don't just want Stan gone. Del-boy has to go too!
doesn't sound like the news we crave:mad:
CharlesThompson
18/10/2007, 4:43 PM
I want Delaney gone more than Stan.
Too right. Delaney is the fundamental problem at the FAI and until he is dealt with then we all may as well throw our hats at it. He is a cancer that has been ever present since the decline of our national team. Quick to take the credit for work others had done e.g. television deal negotiated by Fran Rooney but not big enough to say he's ****ed up the last two big decisions he's had to make.
To John Delaney: Fück off you self serving floppy headed gombeen! You are a cancer on our game. You are an embarrasment to our game. Go back to making money and stop playing fantasy football with our national association!
18/10/2007, 4:46 PM
just back from the airport and this is the best news I have heard all day (if true).
18/10/2007, 4:47 PM
Betfair activity has jumped. $2600 matched in the last few minutes. Odds on him leaving drifted slightly to 2.34. That just went straight in to 1.27.
18/10/2007, 4:49 PM
Or Sean Connery? He'd make a great Ireland manager, the women would love him.
You're the Stan now, Dog! (http://www.yourethemannowdog.com/)
18/10/2007, 4:59 PM
He's reading a statement at 6.
Rumurs are that Stan is getting paid off - Delaney has to go to :mad:
Reckon it will say that 'it is with regret the FAI has accepted the resignation of Stephen Staunton which will take effect after the Wales game in Cardiff'.
Hibs4Ever
18/10/2007, 5:03 PM
Reckon it will say that 'it is with regret the FAI has accepted the resignation of Stephen Staunton which will take effect after the Wales game in Cardiff'.
I reckon it'll say "the FAI are fully behind their manager"
SUB of the day
18/10/2007, 5:03 PM
STAN STAYS....for now,
Metrostars
18/10/2007, 5:04 PM
STAN STAYS....for now,
but why?
charliesboots
18/10/2007, 5:04 PM
STAN STAYS....for now,
elaborate
18/10/2007, 5:05 PM
STAN STAYS....for now,
is that official??
18/10/2007, 5:06 PM
I reckon it'll say "the FAI are fully behind their manager"
It just might.
Hibs4Ever
STAN STAYS....for now,
Christ man, if you know something just say it
SUB of the day
elaborate
Delaney on 6 one headlines sayiny things are dissappointing, andthey will talk about it
biscuit
Six one news headlines, "FAI discuss stauntons future"....
then delaney the big nosed **** with some drivvle I couldnt understand
Eire06
18/10/2007, 5:07 PM
Today FM just said Stan is expected to stay so is Delaney :mad:
biscuit
18/10/2007, 5:08 PM
i wish a dose of gonorrea on both of them...
18/10/2007, 5:09 PM
i wish a dose of gonorrea on both of them...
I wish it on one of them and then let nature take its course - sharing is caring.
biscuit
18/10/2007, 5:10 PM
"Stay of execution for stan" "fai call for review" BOLLLIX>>>>>>>>
Hibs4Ever
A "stay of execution for staunton"
He's not sacked so :mad:
youngirish
A stay of execution apparently according to the news.
SUB of the day
fai announce review:mad:
Philly
18/10/2007, 5:12 PM
RTE News say the FAI Board are meeting now.
Maybe they'll announce a contract extension?
Maroon 7
Bugger. I had my hopes up for a while there. Should have known they'd try and ride out the storm. Delaney knows if Stan goes it makes him look very bad as Stan was his "world class manager".
I can't believe there is no journalist around that will fight Delaney or Staunton face to face over this. Not physically of course but verbally. Why can't any of the professional jounalists ask why there is a view? What basis is being used to keep him on? etc
biscuit
18/10/2007, 5:13 PM
4 more years....buliding.....:confused:wouldnt want that shower of incompetent bast@rds builing my house!
Eire06
18/10/2007, 5:15 PM
I can't believe there is no journalist around that will fight Delaney or Staunton face to face over this. Not physically of course but verbally. Why can't any of the professional jounalists ask why there is a view? What basis is being used to keep him on? etc
Set Sinead Kissane from Tv3 on them..
Has the statement been read out yet?
Did he answer questions?
Did he read the statement?
Was Stan or any players there?
Philly
18/10/2007, 5:16 PM
Lads who says he's safe and there's a review on? :/ Did I miss something?
18/10/2007, 5:16 PM
Set Sinead Kissane from Tv3 on them..
Has the statement been read out yet?
Did he answer questions?
Did he read the statement?
Was Stan or any players there?
Everyone has been asking him will he consider his position...thats an easy question to answer. He should be asked why he should be kept on.
mattie
18/10/2007, 5:17 PM
"stay of execution" could mean that he's gone after the wales game whatever the result.
Hope he goes. I supported him long enough but after last night's debacle I can't defend him any longer.
biscuit
18/10/2007, 5:17 PM
that was said on rte six one...will discuss it later in the show
18/10/2007, 5:18 PM
stay of execution
I choose to take this statement literally.
Try it, it'll cheer you up :)
18/10/2007, 5:19 PM
a review what does that mean?
good man tony but get Delaney gone, come on say what we are all thinking.
biscuit
18/10/2007, 5:20 PM
staying in job, pending a review.
fair play to tony o'donohue
delaney - we'll see what our board members have to say
he "didnt make the appointment"....****
18/10/2007, 5:20 PM
oh delaney is a ****, he is distancing himself from it now. its the delaney era that has to be over.
SUB of the day
18/10/2007, 5:22 PM
DEMISE OF STAN!!! before Cardiff:)
18/10/2007, 5:23 PM
Its obvious now that the FAI are trying to manufacture a position where Staunton goes but where Delaney stays. Tony O'Donoghue alluded that John Delaney is distancing himself from the appointment. If he does/has then his position should become untenable. Which will mean another large contract payoff. God damn it!
Noelys Guitar
18/10/2007, 5:25 PM
oh delaney is a ****, he is distancing himself from it now. its the delaney era that has to be over.
I'm almost certain Delaney made that same claim when cornered by journos outside of the Mansion house before the home Wales game. Some mystery "others" appointed Stan. What a sleeven he is.