View Full Version : Dunphy

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

Shelsman
16/10/2007, 12:50 PM
Dunphy said after the game against Germany that Ireland have a 'Great Squad' and that they deserve a better manager etc.

Does anyone remember him saying at the start of the qualifiers that Ireland have an 'Ordinary' squad??????

Seems to be changing his tune a bit to me ( depending on who we played and how we played ).

Obviously there is terrific potential after we look at the performance on Saturday.

16/10/2007, 12:52 PM
Dunphy contradicts himself more often than Aertel getting a result right.

There's a collection of stuff out there on him.

Clifford
16/10/2007, 12:54 PM
Do people still even listen to this clown? Outdated, one eyed buffoon with nothing constructive to offer.

16/10/2007, 12:55 PM
Maybe he's changed his mind in regards to the overall ability of our squad throughout the course of this campaign? Or maybe he has lowered his expectations of what an Ireland squad should be? Either way its no reason to hang the man, people's opinions change, even football pundits, deal.with.it.

Gotta love the anti-Dunphy brigade that go one and on about how he goes on and on about Staunton/Ronaldo/Gerrard/etc. without realising that they are going on and on about Dunphy :rolleyes:

Shelsman
16/10/2007, 1:02 PM
Maybe he's changed his mind in regards to the overall ability of our squad throughout the course of this campaign? Or maybe he has lowered his expectations of what an Ireland squad should be? Either way its no reason to hang the man, people's opinions change, even football pundits, deal.with.it.

I agree. But he should say he has changed his mind -and hang him anyway ( negative git ). He was saying after the Czech game that we haven't had a good manager in years ( meaning that in his opinion that Kerr and McCarthy were crap managers too ).
He hates Charlton so you can be damn sure that he wouldn't have said that he was the last good manager Ireland had if Bill O'Herlihy had the presence of mind to press him on it -so the end result, I'd imagine, is that he would say that the last good manager Ireland had was Johnny Giles, coz he's sitting near him! ( even though Giles never got us to a finals and Charlton got us to three! ). :rolleyes:

Dr. Ogba
16/10/2007, 1:14 PM
Feck it, like him or hate him i don't care, i'd still much prefer to watch the lads on rte ahead of the mindless drones on either of TV3 or Sky...

16/10/2007, 1:17 PM
This is my favourite (from Sept 2001) courtesy of Owlsfan.

"An incredible achievement by the manager and players. Credit to the manager and to the atmosphere and to the family feeling, the feeling of belonging, he has created. That is why the manager and coaches deserve credit. That's a cumalitive thing and very, very impressive. A vindication for the manager who's had a rough time."

16/10/2007, 3:28 PM
Dunphy contradicts himself more often than Aertel getting a result right.

Exactly. I always find it odd that it seems the majority of people don't realise this.

Ireland4ever
16/10/2007, 3:45 PM
...........if Bill O'Herlihy had the presence of mind to press him on it .........

Woo woo woo....dont be slagging off Bill the legend :D

Aldini98
16/10/2007, 4:06 PM
Sure hes just as bad sasd the rest of them. They all collectively agreed the other night that Germany only lost the World Cup semi final on penalties FFS !

16/10/2007, 4:10 PM
Feck it, like him or hate him i don't care, i'd still much prefer to watch the lads on rte ahead of the mindless drones on either of TV3 or Sky...

Agree much prefer RTE's analysis. Dunphy does know the game but courts controversy.

16/10/2007, 4:23 PM
Agree about always prefering RTE.

Dunphy's always been inconsistent.

The quote above after the Dutch game was the best of all time.

Another gem was him saying Ireland were a better team for Mick McCarthy's presence (after losing 2 late goals to draw 3-3 in Poland with O'Leary in the team) despite having derided McCarthy for years and lauded the out of favour David O'Leary. In fairness, this was a begrudging but honest acceptance that Mick's character rather than his skill level was a critical part of that team.

Noelys Guitar
16/10/2007, 4:30 PM
"If you want entertainment go to the pictures". "Platini's a bottler" etc etc

citizenerased
16/10/2007, 4:49 PM
dunphy is a legend. :cool::)

back of the net
16/10/2007, 5:48 PM
dunphy is a legend. :cool::)

dunphy is a clown - always is , always was and always will be

Amen

Slim Pickings
16/10/2007, 7:22 PM
dunphy is a clown - always is , always was and always will be

Amen

ah lads it's a bit of entertainment. Would you be rather watching the BBC with Gary "FA Cup" Lineker, Peter "Rather be watching paint dry" Schmeichel and Ian "I've no idea whats going on so I'll shout and laugh like a mad man" Wright.

viagogo
16/10/2007, 7:48 PM
Dunphy is all hype. The more he insults people the more money he can get for his newspaper articles and tv appearances. People take him too seriously.

citizenerased
16/10/2007, 11:19 PM
although sensationalist his sentiments are in the right place...he was right when he said stan should have been sacked after the dutch match..very funny aswell..'rinky dink coach':D....brilliant

16/10/2007, 11:27 PM
Dunphy said after the game against Germany that Ireland have a 'Great Squad' and that they deserve a better manager etc.

Does anyone remember him saying at the start of the qualifiers that Ireland have an 'Ordinary' squad??????

Seems to be changing his tune a bit to me ( depending on who we played and how we played )
While I do think that he talks ****e most of the time in the case he has a point as the squad we have now has a number of improvements since then.

Doherty replaced by McShane
Carr replaced by J O'Brien
Kavanagh replaced by Carsely

plus Stephen Hunt and a few others.

reder
17/10/2007, 8:03 AM

Expection is Jeff Stelling on Sky soccer Saturday. The man is brilliant. Works on local radio midweek and comes on Sky on Sat and rips the ****.

an_ceannaire
17/10/2007, 8:35 AM
I will tell you something, I would let Dunphy pick the team before stan!

an_ceannaire
17/10/2007, 8:37 AM
Ye are all Charlton-ite McCarthy-Ite clowns! Well...some of ye
Dunphy talks more sense than Dion Fanning, Roy Curtis, Daniel McDonnell, Philip Quinn,Tom Humphries and Emmet whats his face put together!!

He was RIGHT about Charlton
he was RIGHT about Keane
he was RIGHT about McCarthy
he was RIGHT about Staunton

The day Dunph leaves RTE and stops commenting on football, Irish football, will be a sad day.
This man is a LEGEND

EAFC_rdfl
17/10/2007, 8:45 AM
the only thing he's WRONG about is Cristiano Ronaldo :D, give praise where its due!
But you're points are true, I'd hate to see him leave rte

an_ceannaire
17/10/2007, 8:55 AM
He is wrong about Ronaldo to a point. It makes me laugh to see Giles and Eamo's face when Ronaldo has a cracker and Billo goes.."right lads. Ronaldo" :D
But when it comes to matters Green......He is the man!

17/10/2007, 8:57 AM
Threads merged, no need for 2.

an_ceannaire
17/10/2007, 9:11 AM
fair enuff eirebhoy
apologies for jumping the gun

17/10/2007, 9:12 AM
Threads merged, no need for 2.

No need for even 1 thread :rolleyes: Get Coco the Clown in instead to spout off the first thing that comes in to his head with a host that laughs at everything he says and you'd do just as well.

an_ceannaire
17/10/2007, 9:20 AM
load of rubbish
people dont like him because he is harsh and tells the truth.
Charlton WAS a long ball merchant who did not utilise our world class Midfield, and McCarthy WAS a beligerent ego maniac who couldnt handle a player being more important than him so he picked a fight.

Dunphy doesnt fit the Irish stereotype of "ah sure he is a great man, doing his best, thats all we can ask" "Ah sure we are only a small country, sure taking part is all that counts"

Its a load of ****e and He was the first man with the cahones to say it and has been vilified ever since. Dunphy talks more sense then every other "pundit" put together, with the possible exception of John "The Don" Giles.

17/10/2007, 9:21 AM
he was RIGHT about McCarthy

These quotes about McCarthy you mean:

"Mick McCarthy also deserves a lot of credit for the job he's doing at Wolves. He had to sell a lot of players due to the poor financial situation at the club and looks likely to earn them at least a play-off place. The expectations at that club are very high and he's dealt with everything and deserves to be commended for the job he's done."

"An incredible achievement by the manager and players. Credit to the manager and to the atmosphere and to the family feeling, the feeling of belonging, he has created. That is why the manager and coaches deserve credit. That's a cumalitive thing and very, very impressive. A vindication for the manager who's had a rough time."

an_ceannaire
17/10/2007, 9:25 AM
i would certainly agree with that
Since leaving Ireland i think Mick has done a great job, initially with Sunderland and then with Wolves. I have nothing personal against the man. But I think he is a small club man, more comfortable with small name players. He couldnt handle the one world class player he ever "managed" and he feiced it up. But in club managment, he has shown himself to be a good championship manager, its all he ever will be, and all the best to him.

17/10/2007, 9:31 AM
The latter quote is after Ireland beat Holland 1-0 at Lansdowne and before Mick's falling out with the person whose autobiography Drunkphy was writing :rolleyes:

Your hero who stormed off an RTE Panel because he was being ridiculed by the Apres Match people I think but can hand out stick by the bucket load himself. The great purveyor of the truth until he contradicts himself 24 hours later.

17/10/2007, 9:48 AM
i would certainly agree with that
Since leaving Ireland i think Mick has done a great job, initially with Sunderland and then with Wolves. I have nothing personal against the man. But I think he is a small club man, more comfortable with small name players. He couldnt handle the one world class player he ever "managed" and he feiced it up. But in club managment, he has shown himself to be a good championship manager, its all he ever will be, and all the best to him.

Under his stewardship Damien Duff was named on the World Cup team of the tournament which would suggest that he was what you might call World class so I dont think you can say he didnt manage world class players well ,

17/10/2007, 9:58 AM
I will tell you something, I would let Dunphy pick the team before stan!

Agreed even at 4am when he is often tired and emotional in Reynards.

an_ceannaire
17/10/2007, 10:08 AM
Sure Gustavo after the world cup Kilbane was off to Italy and Finnan was the greatest full back the game had ever seen!!! Duff was very good in the WC no doubt, but Keane and Given are the only world class players we had, and McCarthy wasnt able to handle Keane. Given is a yes man. Brilliant keeper, second only to Cech in the world, but he is a yes man and hardly a challenge to a manager. Keane was anything but. He wanted only the best and McCarthy simply couldnt inspire him and went along with the ol Irish Mantra of "sure didnt we do well to get here"
Keane could not abide that, some of the players agreed, Mick saw Roy was having a strong influlence on his side and he spat the dummy out.
Dunphy saw that, and initially was the only one to say so. Funny how initially public opinion was 90% pro Mick but as the truth came out and people listened to Eamo and saw the valid points he made, it ended up 70% pro Roy and if anything its even more so today.
Dunphy told the truth. Some people didnt like it, like that LEMON so called Irish Supporters Club fella on the late late, he was an embarassment to the Pro Mick crowd and Dunphy left them for dead.
Mick has done very well since leaving the job, he has found his level.

citizenerased
17/10/2007, 10:11 AM
load of rubbish
people dont like him because he is harsh and tells the truth.
Charlton WAS a long ball merchant who did not utilise our world class Midfield, and McCarthy WAS a beligerent ego maniac who couldnt handle a player being more important than him so he picked a fight.

Dunphy doesnt fit the Irish stereotype of "ah sure he is a great man, doing his best, thats all we can ask" "Ah sure we are only a small country, sure taking part is all that counts"

Its a load of ****e and He was the first man with the cahones to say it and has been vilified ever since. Dunphy talks more sense then every other "pundit" put together, with the possible exception of John "The Don" Giles.

I agree with you, I love the way the memory of McCarthys tenure is being somewhat distorted...everyone was giving out shiiite at the time, it took him 3
qualifying campaigns before we qualified, and that was through the leadership of the man he eventually stitched up. People forget his silly substitutions against Macedonia, Turkey,
his setup against croatia away.
His persistance with playing harte in the world cup,
Dropping finnan in world cup
his refusal to play clint in the world cup
His mis management of the greatest player we ever produced
Squandering Ireland best chance ever to win a World cup

shanman2
17/10/2007, 10:16 AM
I agree with you, I love the way the memory of McCarthys tenure is being somewhat distorted...everyone was giving out shiiite at the time, it took him 3
qualifying campaigns before we qualified, and that was through the leadership of the man he eventually stitched up. People forget his silly substitutions against Macedonia, Turkey,

You must be joking. Be realistic at least, there aint any chance of Ire;and ever winning a world cup. Mc Carthy was a fraud who was eventually found out. :ball:

17/10/2007, 10:19 AM
Dunphy talks more sense than Dion Fanning, Roy Curtis, Daniel McDonnell, Philip Quinn,Tom Humphries and Emmet whats his face put together!!

This is NOT a compliment :)

To be fair, Humphries and Malone are better than him, I'd put him on a par with McDonnell and Quinn (although far, far more entertaining) and Dion Fanning and Roy Curtis don't even count as sports journalists, IMO.

an_ceannaire
17/10/2007, 10:23 AM
we would not have won it but we could have made the semis and after that...look at the english egg chasers!
McCarthy as I said is a good championship manager, thats his level. But he is no way shape or form fit to manage the Likes of Roy Keane. Remember Johan Cryuff publically giving out stink about his manager at the time of the 78 World cup....what did the manager do? Let him have his say, still picked him and they damn near won the thing!! Similar stories with Zidane/Romario/Muller. All those players were at huge difference with their managers , but the managers had the cop on and in the national interest to let them have their rants because at the end of the day, They were more important to the team than some second rate manager could ever be. Keane got Ireland to that WC and MM secretly hated the fact that he wasnt getting the credit he percieved he deserved.
Dunphy said so and he was dead right but loads of "fans" Ole Ole Ole ....didnt want to hear that. Not Captain Fantastic....surely not...no....so instead they have a go at Dunphy....because Jack Charlton told them so!!!!

(That was the last time Robbie Keane scored a meaningful goal for Ireland :mad: captain my arse!)

citizenerased
17/10/2007, 10:27 AM
[/U][/B]

You must be joking. Be realistic at least, there aint any chance of Ire;and ever winning a world cup. Mc Carthy was a fraud who was eventually found out. :ball:

well if we won our group, we would have faced

Paraguay, Usa, South Korea, Brazil Are u telling me we couldnt have at least got to the final, with Keano!?!

17/10/2007, 11:08 AM

McCarthy made a lot of mistakes. He did learn from them though.

Remember McCarthy's worst qualifying campaign was a 2nd place finish in a group an dplayoff defeat.

Maybe our level of manager will be somebody from the lower half of the premiership or top half of the championship. I'd like to think we could attract the likes of a Paul Jewell. However that is a big big step up from taking a guy who was never a leader or even a talker on the pitch and only management experience was putting out the training cones for the Walsall reserves.

17/10/2007, 11:20 AM
Remember Johan Cryuff publically giving out stink about his manager at the time of the 78 World cup....what did the manager do? Let him have his say, still picked him and they damn near won the thing!!

Cruyff didn't play in 1978 so you could say it was similar to the Keane situation. Of course, Cruyff refused to travel in protest at allegations of torture and murder against the military junta in charge of Argentina. Keane refused to play because the training ground was like a car park and they didn't have the fizzy sports drinks he likes...

("Blah, blah, sent home, he's a rebel Bill, coulda won the World Cup, stick it up yer ****** etc :p")

an_ceannaire
17/10/2007, 11:23 AM
The kinda fellas we should be looking for
Souness....yes i said Souness!!
Jewell
O'Leary
Tommy Burns
Keegan
Venables
Kendall

Would love to see Howard Kendall get a go

an_ceannaire
17/10/2007, 11:26 AM
74 of course
:ball:

17/10/2007, 12:49 PM
The kinda fellas we should be looking for
Souness....yes i said Souness!!
Jewell
O'Leary
Tommy Burns
Keegan
Venables
Kendall

Would love to see Howard Kendall get a go
Tommy Burns??
Keegan flopped at England
The last time Kendall managed a team he was in the Greek First Division and got sacked after 4 months.

citizenerased
17/10/2007, 12:54 PM
kendall no, tommy burns no, Maybe jewell, love to see a good european coach take charge with good organisational skills more so that a typical english style coach, we should be aspiring for someone like benhakker or Reneghal, maybe Philip trousier, supposedly he was inteviewed by delaney

an_ceannaire
17/10/2007, 1:01 PM
If you dont think Howard Kendall would be a good choice your mad!
2 leagues, 1 fa cup and a ECWC with an average Everton side!! When Liverpool were murdering everyone!!!
Ya thats poor alright!

citizenerased
17/10/2007, 1:09 PM
he is beyond a pensioner now, id question his current appetite, plus the game has changed significantly since his successes..he is not the man if you ask me

an_ceannaire
17/10/2007, 1:11 PM
Club football I would agree with you Citizen. International is very different. u need a man players will respect, has tactical nous, can motivate and read a game.
Kendall was a master at this and I see no reason why he could not be. Its just an idea is all

17/10/2007, 1:13 PM
If you dont think Howard Kendall would be a good choice your mad!
2 leagues, 1 fa cup and a ECWC with an average Everton side!! When Liverpool were murdering everyone!!!
Ya thats poor alright!

1986 is calling , it wants its manager back:D

17/10/2007, 1:15 PM
. u need a man players will respect, has tactical nous, can motivate and read a game.

I dare say you need a manager players remember to actually respect.