View Full Version : Stephen Ireland pulls out of squad
ramblersnb1
11/10/2007, 1:06 PM
boycotted internationals at underage level
he never "boycotted" an international game under age he came over from manchester and wasnt even put on the bench in his home town despite being told the team would be built around him .
I think he did as it goes. Wasn't there some kind of issue with Brian Kerr before he took charge of the full side
Read my post again. I didn't say that. I said do you know if he is feeling like that? Answer = No. Therefore, you don't know the full story but feel well placed enough to know that 80,000 fans would have felt apathy for him :eek:
I love this attitude.The old "you dont know the full story so dont comment"!!Its absolute nonense.We can only call it on the facts we have.If Stephen wants to clear the matter up he is more than welcome to do so but until he does I can only judge this case on its merits and they are the facts that he says he couldnt do himself justice in a green jersey but he can in a blue one!
Why would he get any reaction other than apathy?Despite the fact that this issue has commanded a 9 page story he really is not that important to me or to the national team.Lets be honest hes no Richard Dunne or Shay Given and my bet is that 80,000 punters in Croke Park wouldnt even acknowledge his presence!!If he thinks they would then he has a very high opinion of himself.
11/10/2007, 1:34 PM
I think there's been enough mentioned about his personal life being in a mess for the guy to be given the benefit of the doubt.
dr_peepee
11/10/2007, 1:51 PM
I love this attitude.The old "you dont know the full story so dont comment"!!Its absolute nonense.We can only call it on the facts we have.If Stephen wants to clear the matter up he is more than welcome to do so but until he does I can only judge this case on its merits and they are the facts that he says he couldnt do himself justice in a green jersey but he can in a blue one!
I see what you're saying, but the facts came out the last time and there really wasn't any need fer the whole of Manchester and Ireland to know that his partner miscarried. I think everyone said at the time that personal reasons would have been a sufficient statement, and that's the case now... It's strange, but the tone from the FAI doesn't appear to be bitter or begrudging.
Post the link there please
11/10/2007, 2:31 PM
"post the link there" as in with the fairies
Hasn't this Bebo brain dead discussion gone low enough for most people's standards?
11/10/2007, 2:33 PM
Hasn't this Bebo brain dead discussion gone low enough for most people's standards?Obviously, but not by recent foot.ie standards.
Bottle of Tonic
11/10/2007, 2:37 PM
Lim till I die,
For someone who seems to hate the Irish international team you appear to have a serious interest in the (mis)fortunes of our players. Why bother posting on this supporters forum? Why is your signature concerning the teams woeful display in san marino? Whats that all about if you don't support the team? Do you 'not support' Ireland ahead of all other football interests?
And what is this 'Oirish' shyte? thats the sort of stuff Sun/Mail hacks use when ripping the pis$ out of the 'micks'.
Its a commonly used term when talking about anything fakely Irish (eg Tom Cruise's accent in "far & away" was Oirish)
have yet to see it being used in any other way, and fail to see how it could be.
No need to get into the specifics of Lim's use, as its fairly obvious
jmurphyc
11/10/2007, 2:49 PM
I heard the same thing yesterday off a friend. How can we believe a word Ireland says?
I'm sorry but without a real source/backup that comment means **** all.
Seriosly lads, back that last claim up or it gets deleted...
The most depressing thing about this campaign is that with 3 games to go Steven Irelands personal life is the hot topic.
Bottle of Tonic
11/10/2007, 4:23 PM
Its a commonly used term when talking about anything fakely Irish (eg Tom Cruise's accent in "far & away" was Oirish)
have yet to see it being used in any other way, and fail to see how it could be.
No need to get into the specifics of Lim's use, as its fairly obvious
I have seen it used here in Britain in a manner intending to cause offence.
I'm not easily offended BTW. Don't see what it's got to do with Irish soccer team though, unless having 2g and 3g players in the squad validates its use?
11/10/2007, 5:56 PM
[QUOTE=btid1;788201]I love this attitude.The old "you dont know the full story so dont comment"!!Its absolute nonense.We can only call it on the facts we have.If Stephen wants to clear the matter up he is more than welcome to do so but until he does I can only judge this case on its merits and they are the facts that he says he couldnt do himself justice in a green jersey but he can in a blue one!
QUOTE]
Steven Ireland is hardly going to come out and say "I'm on medication - two tablets a day, I have difficulty sleeping, I'm seriously depressed and anxious and sometimes am scared of leaving the house because the world feels like it's going to fall in" etc etc. If the lad is depressed then the last thing you'd want is the whole country reading about how your private life is causing you so much distress and turmoil. People taking the mick saying "how can you be depressed earning 30 grand a week blah blah blah". Look how much ridicule Stan Collymore got for admitting he was suffering from depression. Front page news in the English tabloids.
Marked Man
11/10/2007, 6:28 PM
How can he play for City, and not for Ireland? Consider this:
Imagine your wife/girlfriend had a miscarraige a few weeks ago. She's upset, you're upset, things are tense/hard.
You take a few days off work to be with her, but before too long, you have to go back to work. Before too long, you have the option of doing some extra work, over and above your normal job, in a different city, for about a week.
Wouldn't you pass this up, to stay with your wife/girlfriend? Or would you say "Well, I've been able to do my regular job, despite these trying times, so there's no reason why I shouldn't go away and do this other job for a week."
11/10/2007, 6:44 PM
I don't think Stephen Ireland should be considered for another Ireland squad until he's grown up and become an adult, which seems like a fair bit away yet. His decision here is a disgrace imo.
How can he play for City, and not for Ireland? Consider this:
Imagine your wife/girlfriend had a miscarraige a few weeks ago. She's upset, you're upset, things are tense/hard.
You take a few days off work to be with her, but before too long, you have to go back to work. Before too long, you have the option of doing some extra work, over and above your normal job, in a different city, for about a week.
Wouldn't you pass this up, to stay with your wife/girlfriend? Or would you say "Well, I've been able to do my regular job, despite these trying times, so there's no reason why I shouldn't go away and do this other job for a week."
The miscarriage incident was a month ago, I really don't think I(or the majority of people) would be taking time off work a month later if my gf had a miscarriage, my mother had a miscarriage a long time ago a took a couple of days off work, my father didn't, I'm not saying you shouldn't take time off work if your gf had a miscarriage but taking time off after a month has passed is a bit of a stretch to say the least, I don't buy this as the reason he won't play.
11/10/2007, 7:29 PM
When the Czechs need 3 points from the Slovakia match Stephen might feel fit enouth to play against Wales.
danonion
11/10/2007, 7:48 PM
I don't feel right commenting on his personal life, but he is a luxury player that we can't build a formation around (so is McGeady). He isn't a defensive presence and Carsley is too slow to defend the centre of the park by himself, so we are better off without the lad at the minute.
cavan_fan
11/10/2007, 8:13 PM
http://www.football365.com/lookalikes/0,17093,8754_2792791,00.html
stunning similarity
Supreme feet
12/10/2007, 3:58 AM
This topic is going nowhere, it seems to be confusing Ireland's current fragile mental state with his footballing ability, whether the team needs him or not, whether he values club over country, how he's contributed (or not) to the disastrous qualifying campaign... This forum is supposed to be an exchange of ideas between people who care about the fortunes of the Irish Senior International Team, not an opportunity for people to express their resentment...
Coming soon on foot.ie, Stephen Ireland denies the Holocaust. Stephen Ireland took orders from the CIA to be one of the 9/11 hijackers. Stephen Ireland has enriched uranium for the Unionists...
I was talking about this thread to one of my mates earlier on - he said;
'Those arguments are like the Special Olympics. You can win, but you're still a r****d.'
I won't be back on here for a while, simply because of this ludicrous thread, and the non-direction it's taking, based on no real evidence. I support the Irish soccer team with all my heart, and if we really need this young player in the future, and if he can assist the team's effort in any way, I will welcome him back wholeheartedly. I'm not going to hold a grudge over this absolute non-event.
12/10/2007, 7:46 AM
It's the same points over and over again. This thread has gone as far as it can IMO and should be closed now.
'Those arguments are like the Special Olympics. You can win, but you're still a r****d.'
Old joke man, was funny the first few times but if you are going to make fun of the mentally challenged then it seems a tad hypocritical to take the moral high horse here.
Anyway there is nothing else to really talk about what with Ireland being virtually eliminated with 3 games to go so I say let people bitch and let off steam if they want to, if this thread doesn't appeal to you then don't read it, I'm not going to hold a grudge against S.Ireland but I do think that he shouldn't be considered again for an Ireland squad until he shows he has matured
12/10/2007, 10:31 AM
When backed against the wall you can't even come out with anything else.
LMFAO
It's all so pathetic at your end
Frankly:
He's still happy to play with Man City
Is a far stronger argument than any of the theories about supposed personal problems any of the plastic hammer wavers on here have came out with.
Theories which given my family background* I have found fairly dispicable and borderline sick. But shur what else do you expect from ill informed, leprecaun suit wearing chimps who are always, always willing to give the benefit of the doubt to their heros by adding two and two together to get five
A lot of the posts on here have made me sick and they're not the ones giving out about Stephen Ireland
Victory is sweet
If you consider the $hite you've trotted about to be some kind of victory when any unbiased person with eyes to see can see what a sick little $hit the lad is, then I actually pity you
Lim till I die,
For someone who seems to hate the Irish international team you appear to have a serious interest in the (mis)fortunes of our players.
Misfortune :rolleyes:
Why bother posting on this supporters forum?
I'm a big football fan
I'm interested in all facets of football.
If there was an England forum I'd post in that.
Ditto an Italy one
Ditto a France one etc etc etc...................
Why is your signature concerning the teams woeful display in san marino?
Partially because I was gutted that San Marino had a point nicked from them at the death.
And partially to let you people know where you stand
Whats that all about if you don't support the team?
I'm entitled to my opinion same as the next man.
What a boring world it would be if we only commented on things we had a vested interest in??
Do you 'not support' Ireland ahead of all other football interests?
LMFAO
I could name you ten teams of the top of my head that I care about more than the Oirish national side.
This is not a personal attack but in my experience I've found the average ole, ole-er is a big thick moron, with a tight Celtic top, a plastic hammer and a drinking problem. They follow British clubs, haven't a clue about football and don't represent me.
The Oirish team also in no way represents me.
I must also acknowledge that there are many thousands of decent Irish fans, many of whom post on this board. I actually feel sorry for them having to throw their lot in with the gimps
*None of anyones business on here btw, if a mod thinks any of my comments are out of line let them pm
12/10/2007, 10:43 AM
LMFAO
I'm a big football fan
I'm interested in all facets of football.
If there was an England forum I'd post in that.
Ditto an Italy one
Ditto a France one etc etc etc...................
I must also acknowledge that there are many thousands of decent Irish fans, many of whom post on this board. I actually feel sorry for them having to throw their lot in with the gimps
How would you expect to be treated if you went onto an Italian or French forum and displayed such distain for their national team ?
12/10/2007, 10:47 AM
How would you expect to be treated if you went onto an Italian or French forum and displayed such distain for their national team ?
Where have I said there is anything wrong with my treatment?? :rolleyes:
Superb point though.....Pity it wasn't relevant
12/10/2007, 10:53 AM
Actually now that I think of it shouldn't you have locked this amateur mental health convention pages ago?? :rolleyes:
jmurphyc
12/10/2007, 11:02 AM
What a boring world it would be if we only commented on things we had a vested interest in??
Yes it would be a boring world if we only commented on things we have a vested interest in, but if you really do want to comment on this - and you're entitled to your own opinion - then why not have an articulate debate with people instead of degrading your own argument by using phrases such as 'oirish', 'leprecaun suit wearing chimps', and stereotyping a huge number of people. You say it isn't a personal attack, but clearly it is. I'm personally in two minds about Stephen Ireland myself but I'm not going to make riciculous comments simply because it's not my place. Maybe he doesn't have major personal problems but you don't know that, no matter how much you argue that you do.
12/10/2007, 12:14 PM
rant, rant, rant
:D:D You're a very angry man Lim! That's made me laugh, honestly. Friday fun in it's truest form!
12/10/2007, 12:17 PM
Where have I said there is anything wrong with my treatment?? :rolleyes:
You have no interest in the Irish national team, apparantly. It seems you don't want them to be successful. It doesn't even seem like you regard yourself as Irish. If I went onto the Welsh equivalent of this forum slagging off their fans at will I'd be banned in an instant. Because you were born in Limerick I don't think it gives you the right to ridicule us.
The vast majority of replies to this thread has been criticism for Stephen Ireland. You pick the people that are backing him and decide to call the entire "Oirish" support pathetic.
onceahoop
12/10/2007, 12:39 PM
This thread is becoming like Groundhog Day. Same old crap being regurgitated endlessly. Think it's run it's course.
Donal81
12/10/2007, 12:57 PM
Obviously, but not by recent foot.ie standards.
Hear hear.
Donal81
12/10/2007, 1:05 PM
The miscarriage incident was a month ago, I really don't think I(or the majority of people) would be taking time off work a month later if my gf had a miscarriage, my mother had a miscarriage a long time ago a took a couple of days off work, my father didn't, I'm not saying you shouldn't take time off work if your gf had a miscarriage but taking time off after a month has passed is a bit of a stretch to say the least, I don't buy this as the reason he won't play.
Jesus. So now we're commenting on how someone should and shouldn't deal with a miscarriage. Close this thread now, please, before it descends any further. Like the other two Stephen Ireland threads that were recently closed, this has turned into a fairly squalid 'debate'. It was always heading that way, I suppose.
I'm personally in two minds about Stephen Ireland myself
not unlike himself apparently
as_i_say
12/10/2007, 1:08 PM
Lim>>I can only speak for myself but I post on this forum only cos I support Ireland and no English team at all or bloody celtic for that matter, and I daresay there are quite a few others on here like that.
Its also a forum for discussing the international team only and since youre not a fan or interested, sod off somewhere else.
12/10/2007, 1:24 PM
Think it's run it's course.
Agreed.