View Full Version : Stephen Ireland pulls out of squad
09/10/2007, 3:47 PM
He obviously is a very disturbed lad, or an arrogant c**t. One or the other. I think I know which one too...:mad:
mackannovic
09/10/2007, 3:48 PM
Stephen Ireland you are an absolute tosser and a disgrace to your country!!This guy should never EVER receive another international call up.The FAI and Staunton charter a plane home for this guy after he makes up a story about his "dead" grandmother then he lies to them for a second time and eventually tells the truth and is forgiven by the Ireland management.How does he repay the loyalty shown by Stan and co he goes and does this!!!
Little prat..........I wouldnt like to be him on his next visit home to Cobh!!!!
I suppose you've got the inside track on this whole story..........or is this just another sensationalist rant hoping to generate a response???
Congratulations you've got one but I genuinely believe there's more to this than just Ireland not wanting to play because he feels "he won't do his country justice". Should a player have to be forgiven for lying to leave a squad to be with his partner who had just had a miscarriage??
Something tells me that there's a lot more to this. The FAI haven't even released a statement yet, they've just posted the Man City one on the website, which I think is a bit strange.
If the lad is having problems then he should be left alone in Manc to deal with them. He lost his baby (probably his first) not so long ago and that would take its toll on the best of us and would certainly knock me for 6 for quite a while. .
He has 2 kids already according to my Man City supporting mate
09/10/2007, 3:53 PM
If the lad is having problems then he should be left alone in Manc to deal with them. He lost his baby (probably his first) not so long ago and that would take its toll on the best of us and would certainly knock me for 6 for quite a while. In truth, playing in 2 meaningless international games would be pretty insignificant if you were in that situation.
It was his third, first with this girlfriend. Story in the paper yesterday saying his ex turned up at his door and left him the other two to look after. He released a statement to say he had gained custody of the other two through custody proceedings.
He's obviously a very messed up young man, his personal life is a mess and football seems to be far from his first concern. He really needs to sort his life out and hopefully, one day become a top player for his country.
I suppose you've got the inside track on this whole story..........or is this just another sensationalist rant hoping to generate a response???
Congratulations you've got one but I genuinely believe there's more to this than just Ireland not wanting to play because he feels "he won't do his country justice". Should a player have to be forgiven for lying to leave a squad to be with his partner who had just had a miscarriage??
Something tells me that there's a lot more to this. The FAI haven't even released a statement yet, they've just posted the Man City one on the website, which I think is a bit strange.
Where did I say I had the inside track.I can only work from the statement provided and his words were "I don't feel I would do my country justice".How is that repaying loyalty shown by his manager etc?
There is nothing sensationalist in what I have said I am furious with him end of story.How can you blame anyone who has travelled all over the world with this country and would give anything to represent their country being angry when you see something like this?
As for leaving the squad and forgiveness....no he doesnt need to be forgiven for lying once but for lying a second time two days later after he has had time to think about it and then refusing to join up with the squad the next time around, yes he does need to be forgiven and I wont be forgiving him!
He's obviously a very weak individual, and worse - a quitter. We've all done things we've regretted, you don't quit though, you dust yourself down and try to do better next time. These choices define what you are - a man or a boy.
Is it too late to get this lad an English passport?
mackannovic
09/10/2007, 4:02 PM
Where did I say I had the inside track.I can only work from the statement provided and his words were "I don't feel I would do my country justice".How is that repaying loyalty shown by his manager etc?
There is nothing sensationalist in what I have said I am furious with him end of story.How can you blame anyone who has travelled all over the world with this country and would give anything to represent their country being angry when you see something like this?
As for leaving the squad and forgiveness....no he doesnt need to be forgiven for lying once but for lying a second time two days later after he has had time to think about it and then refusing to join up with the squad the next time around, yes he does need to be forgiven and I wont be forgiving him!
If you don't know the full facts how can you call him a prat, a tosser and a disgrace to his country?
brine3
09/10/2007, 4:05 PM
This just in, there's been another withdrawal and another dodgy reason :eek::
Republic of Ireland manager Stephen Staunton has withdrawn himself from the Republic of Ireland's squad for their upcoming Euro 2008 qualifiers because he has not done "his country or himself justice".
He's obviously a very weak individual, and worse - a quitter. We've all done things we've regretted, you don't quit though, you dust yourself down and try to do better next time. These choices define what you are - a man or a boy.
Is it too late to get this lad an English passport?
AH, but I bet his grannies are dead proud of him ;)
ramblers
Lads its a game of football!!!
If he does not feel he will do himself justice then that is his decision. Its a pity Staunton couldnt do the same and we might have qualified!!
irishyop
09/10/2007, 4:06 PM
The little pri*, let him off, I would not let him near an Ireland jersey again the arrogant little wan**r
IF he can play for Citeh he can play for Ireland, next time don't give him the choice. Pity as he could have added a lot to the squad.
Theskinloyal
Boo...
Thought he was great for City at the weekend.
"Doesn't feel like he can do himself justice", ******.
Hope he never plays for Ireland again.
back of the net
all - we should hold judgement till we know the full facts of what is behind this
he has been through a bad time recently and i dont think every1 jumping on the anti-steve ireland bandwagon is right.
he lost a baby - there maybe other things going as well
ppl react to trauma in different ways - some ppl are tougher than others and can handle difficult issues better than others
i dont know what his reasons are - but maybe all lets hold off b4 we throw the book at him...
galwayhoop
09/10/2007, 4:08 PM
MUPPET!!!!
his grandmother will turn in her grave....
oh, hold on a minute sure theres nothing wrong with her!
If you don't know the full facts how can you call him a prat, a tosser and a disgrace to his country?
Because as I have said already I am working off the facts as they have been presented where as you are hoping there is more to the story and NOT working from the facts provided!!!
Listen I dont know if you are related to him or a friend of his or even Stephen himself but not even the most ardent of Stephen Ireland fans could excuse his behaviour over the last number of weeks it has simply been disgraceful!!
ppl react to trauma in different ways
If he had stopped playing football all together you might have a point. But he hasn't stopped playing for City...
Either he doesn't want to come back to Ireland, or he doesn't want to play for his country.
Knowing what we know about him, and his circle of friends, he should have a long hard look at his life and make a decision as to whether he wants to be a professional footballer or not.
WembleyGreen
09/10/2007, 4:14 PM
It's a shame to lose a player of his quality but he obviously has issues he needs to deal with and lets be fair if he isn't going to be able to concentrate on the job in hand and give 100% then he and us are better off without him and someone else can come into the squad who will be up for it. Of course Stan has now chosen Alex Bruce??? I can't quite see the like for like but I'm sure that somewhere on planet stan there is some logic in this. If this is the end of young Ireland then we at least ought to be thankful that he saved our lousy arses in San Marino and in an International career consisting of 6 caps he's scored 4 times, surely that makes him one of our most prolific goalscorers does it not? If only Robbie could score 4 in every 6. I hope he sorts himself out and is ready to play a part in the WC qualifiers because in spite of what has happened we are not in a position to leave him out should he want to come back, beggars, choosers and all that!
Actually it's hs grannies that wont let him play. To quote one of them.
Youse will be the death of me telling people I'm dead and me readin about me own death in the paper - how do you thing that made me feel. Your not to play any more of them games - you bold pup.
back of the net
09/10/2007, 4:16 PM
It's a shame to lose a player of his quality but he obviously has issues he needs to deal with and lets be fair if he isn't going to be able to concentrate on the job in hand and give 100% then he and us are better off without him and someone else can come into the squad who will be up for it. Of course Stan has now chosen Alex Bruce??? I can't quite see the like for like but I'm sure that somewhere on planet stan there is some logic in this. If this is the end of young Ireland then we at least ought to be thankful that he saved our lousy arses in San Marino and in an International career consisting of 6 caps he's scored 4 times, surely that makes him one of our most prolific goalscorers does it not? If only Robbie could score 4 in every 6. I hope he sorts himself out and is ready to play a part in the WC qualifiers because in spite of what has happened we are not in a position to leave him out should he want to come back, beggars, choosers and all that!
100% agree
ppl react to trauma in different ways - some ppl are tougher than others and can handle difficult issues better than others
Exactly. That's the point. When the chips are down, when we're not getting any breaks, when we're playing away, to a hostle crowd in a playoff, when there's boo's and chants and calls for blood do you really think this boy has the mental strength to focus and do what it takes?
He shouldn't be picked again until he shows he's grown a spine.
The Legend
09/10/2007, 4:20 PM
And still NO Miller? this has gone beyond anger into Twilight Zone territory.
Speechless.
09/10/2007, 4:20 PM
I think the Bruce logic is that Stephen Carr is definitely out. Liam Miller must be seriously out of favour with da gaffur though. You'd think a like for like replacement would be easy enough to make.
mackannovic
09/10/2007, 4:22 PM
Because as I have said already I am working off the facts as they have been presented where as you are hoping there is more to the story and NOT working from the facts provided!!!
Listen I dont know if you are related to him or a friend of his or even Stephen himself but not even the most ardent of Stephen Ireland fans could excuse his behaviour over the last number of weeks it has simply been disgraceful!!
Here's one of your facts as it's being presented from Sven:
“This is disappointing for everybody. Steve Staunton and I have been working together to help Stephen through a period which he is clearly finding very difficult"
“I hope that Stephen will soon feel stable enough to resume his international career.”
Sounds very disgraceful?? Not meaning to sound dramatic but there is more to life than football, obviously something is up with the lad. Can you not accept that.
back of the net
09/10/2007, 4:28 PM
Exactly. That's the point. When the chips are down, when we're not getting any breaks, when we're playing away, to a hostle crowd in a playoff, when there's boo's and chants and calls for blood do you really think this boy has the mental strength to focus and do what it takes?
He shouldn't be picked again until he shows he's grown a spine.
ppl are saying he shoul never be allowed play for ireland again - so no mate , its not the point
he could be completely spineless, but equally he may not be , - who are you, me or anyone else to say he has no spine until we know what his real reasons are
Ireland4ever
09/10/2007, 4:28 PM
Theres something up with the lad but it doesnt seem to affect him around the time Man City play....strange that.
Not the first time he let an irish manager down, doesnt say alot about the lad. His recent antics show he's not the type of player ireland need in the tough times when the chips are down.
Not meaning to sound dramatic but there is more to life than football
He hasn't given up football.
09/10/2007, 4:38 PM
Maybe he doesn't like the kit.
Irish_Praha
09/10/2007, 4:45 PM
Maybe he was told he wasn't going to start against Germany?
WembleyGreen
09/10/2007, 4:48 PM
All this 'he should never play for Ireland again' is a bit OTT. The lad is having a bad time, sure he's still playing for City but that's his job, that's what pays the bills etc. Maybe, just maybe he doesn't want to be away from his partner and kids for a week at this time. When he plays for City he goes home the same day, even if they are away from home chances are that he is home a couple of hours after the game, a week away is a whole different thing. Nobody knows what he is going through right now and if needs time to sort himself out then we as supporters should be able to give him that time, I for one would rather see him miss the remainder of this sorry campaign than not be available for the next one. Paddy Kenny had 'problems' not so long ago and he needed space to resolve his situation, He got it and he seems over his troubles OK he's not been back for us since but I don't see people giving him similar treatment. We have only got to look at the recent Rugby WC and the form of Ronan O'Gara to see what can happen to player when his mind is elswhere! Give the lad a break and he'll come good again for us.
09/10/2007, 5:00 PM
Dont think he would have the brains to operate a computer!
The Guardian published a link to his bebo page a few weeks ago. Some embarrassing pictures on it.
Tis-smeee
09/10/2007, 5:08 PM
Have to say, everyone is a bit ott here, the guy has personal problems, he could have said he was injured, but he was honest, and in foot.ie worls honesty obviously doesnt pay, I say fair play to him. Come back when he feels he can do his best, was evryone having this reaction when Paddy Kenny asked not to be selected because of personal problems.
I should imagine alot of you are grown men(or big babies) and you would always want your children to tell the truth, so to slate him for telling the truth is unfair, the guy learned a harsh lesson lieing about his granny at a difficult time in his life and now that he tells the truth he gets slated, get down off the high horses lads
Irish_Praha
09/10/2007, 5:14 PM
There's a statement on eleven-a-side from Stan and it eludes to Ireland getting some "treatment" soon, I'm not sure where their source is from though.
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/euro2008/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=29575
Anyway, I assume this is professional help from a psychologist. As I said above, if it emerges that he has some kind of mental illness and it would have been detrimental to his "treatment "to spend so long away from his familiar sourroundings, then I think once he makes the effort to overcome his problem and appologises to the fans, the players and the management he should be given one more chance to come back into the fold. Of course the fella has to show that's what he wants and if he bottles it again then his chances of making another return should not be considered lightly.
09/10/2007, 5:19 PM
The stable enough comment from sven has me quite worried.
This is baffling i have to say.
09/10/2007, 5:22 PM
initially i'm not impressed but theres probably something more behind this. we were all very forgiveing of paul mcgraths personal problems when he missed important matches so give the lad the benefit of the doubt for now until we know more
citizenerased
09/10/2007, 5:34 PM
lads does anyone know if he actually made the trip to dublin and left or just stayed in manchester, as the squad met up yesterday..seems funny
back of the net
09/10/2007, 5:49 PM
lads does anyone know if he actually made the trip to dublin and left or just stayed in manchester, as the squad met up yesterday..seems funny
i believe he is in manchester mate
i think every1 should lay off the guy until we know whats going on
i hope im wrong - but from the managers and sources comments are saying - it looks like the kid has issues - poor guy
hope he sorts whatever it is out soon and we see him back in a green jersey real soon
Dun Laoire
09/10/2007, 6:03 PM
Not the end of the world lads. If he doesnt want to play he doesnt want to play. We're bigger than that to be hacking him with abuse. Just shrug it off and move one. Good luck Stephen Ireland it's been nice knowing ya
DeNiro
09/10/2007, 6:08 PM
There's more to this I reckon. He only did an interview at the weekend in a paper saying how he wanted to get back, etc. He should have said then that he was getting treatment.
I get the suspicion of a row in the squad with this one. He might have gauged some reaction and thought better of it. Also, he knows that Staunton might get the heave after these games and is bowing out intermittently:D
Marked Man
09/10/2007, 6:30 PM
All this 'he should never play for Ireland again' is a bit OTT. The lad is having a bad time, sure he's still playing for City but that's his job, that's what pays the bills etc. Maybe, just maybe he doesn't want to be away from his partner and kids for a week at this time. When he plays for City he goes home the same day, even if they are away from home chances are that he is home a couple of hours after the game, a week away is a whole different thing. Nobody knows what he is going through right now and if needs time to sort himself out then we as supporters should be able to give him that time, I for one would rather see him miss the remainder of this sorry campaign than not be available for the next one. Paddy Kenny had 'problems' not so long ago and he needed space to resolve his situation, He got it and he seems over his troubles OK he's not been back for us since but I don't see people giving him similar treatment. We have only got to look at the recent Rugby WC and the form of Ronan O'Gara to see what can happen to player when his mind is elswhere! Give the lad a break and he'll come good again for us.
Finally a sensible reaction.
Colbert Report
09/10/2007, 6:31 PM
The treatment comment is very troubling. Maybe he has deeper problems than we think. Good luck to him anyway.
09/10/2007, 6:44 PM
The treatment comment is very troubling. Maybe he has deeper problems than we think. Good luck to him anyway.
It is worrying to hear but I wouldn't exactly take Staunton's comments as gospel. He said something similar about Paddy Kenny needing to get his head right when, in that case, it was really just an excuse to drop him from the squad.
“It’s just one of those things. We’ve named him in the squad and he doesn’t feel as if he was up for it. We’ve tried everything but, as I say, we have to respect his wishes.
“We tried to get to the bottom of it but it’s going to take time because he’s got issues. I think at this moment he feels safe in the Manchester environment and obviously his treatment is just around the corner, so that’s playing a vital part for him at this moment in time. For him to come away for ten days could be detrimental to himself.”
onceahoop
09/10/2007, 7:08 PM
We need to get the full facts before we start jumping up and down. What's obvious is that he's a troubled soul who neds a bit of guidance and professional help to get himself sorted. He's still only a kid and some kids are more mature than others.
Closed Account 2
09/10/2007, 7:30 PM
I heard he is suffering from very sever depression, and is still distraught from the loss of his kid. It's probably better he doesn't play in this match.
09/10/2007, 7:49 PM
The lad sounds depressed and if he is struggling then keeping him away from his home in Manchester for over a week will only make him worse. He hasn't let anybody down. He's young and should be given a bit of time to recover. If he is as bad as Stan is making out then I doubt he'll be playing for Man City over the next few weeks.
co. down green
09/10/2007, 8:16 PM
The lad sounds depressed and if he is struggling then keeping him away from his home in Manchester for over a week will only make him worse. He hasn't let anybody down. He's young and should be given a bit of time to recover. If he is as bad as Stan is making out then I doubt he'll be playing for Man City over the next few weeks.
Hopefully the kid gets himself sorted
Tir Oilean
09/10/2007, 8:42 PM
Looking at it again if he is suffering depression after the recent loss which he most certainly is he shouldn't be playing with his club either. They'll still be payin him one way or the other.
Love the people that in one sentence criticise the posts that say he is a tosser on the grounds that we don't know him, and in the next make their own 'he's a poor lad with problems' personality calls:rolleyes:
Anyway, coming from a non-international football fan I'd be up in arms if a Limerick, or Wednesday supporter pulled the kind of crap he is pulling at the moment and I'd never want them next or near the team ever again
I've defended Ireland to the last over the granny incident but am disgusted by this.
If the lad is fit to play for his club, he is fit enough to play for his country.
SuperDub
09/10/2007, 9:09 PM
The lad seems to have issues in his life that he needs to sort out and fine he should be given the privacy and space to do that. What worries me is if he comes back to the International stage at some time in the future can he be trusted not to do another disappearing act.
Patrick Dunne
09/10/2007, 9:14 PM
I would find it very suprising that anyone who is suffering from severe
depression could play in a high intensity Premiership match in front of 40,000
people.