View Full Version : Stephen Ireland pulls out of squad

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

ruben_sosa
09/10/2007, 9:40 PM
i'd say he doesn't want to face the other irish lads in the squad after the daddy dick story.

09/10/2007, 9:42 PM
After the episode last month, he should have been banned from playing for us ever again. His problems don't affect his Manchester City games. He has withdrawn voluntarily from 3 Ireland games, and it's time that we looked at other options, players who will bust a gut to play for their country.

09/10/2007, 9:48 PM
If the lad is having problems then he should be left alone in Manc to deal with them. He lost his baby (probably his first) not so long ago and that would take its toll on the best of us and would certainly knock me for 6 for quite a while. In truth, playing in 2 meaningless international games would be pretty insignificant if you were in that situation.

I'd go along with that especially with whats staunton (pr!ck) has said about it!! (and nobody including me knows all the facts so we can only give an opinion on what we think is happening ie is he not bothering playing or is theres something personally going on with him)

Good luck to him, his head seems to be appeared to be all over the gaf at the moment - hope he sorts himself out soon - not for his footablling abolity for his own self

Ceirtlis
10/10/2007, 12:24 AM
If he wanted to pull out to stay at home with his family he should have just said so, i think people would understand like they did last month when the original thing happened. Saying he couldnt do himself justice is a kiss my arse effort especially when he has played well for Man City in the last few weeks and it leads to exactly the sort of reaction that ya see here. Is there anyone advising this fella?

Kivlehan
10/10/2007, 2:48 AM
If he's pulling out of the squad, his head and heart wouldn't be in the games, so better to give someone like Liam Miller who is on good form in the Premiership an opportunity.

10/10/2007, 6:38 AM
I would find it very suprising that anyone who is suffering from severe
depression could play in a high intensity Premiership match in front of 40,000
people.

Neil Lennon did it.

10/10/2007, 6:49 AM
Why was he called up to the squad in the first place? If Stan knew there was problems and Ireland didn't want to be with the squad at this time, then why did he pick him? This latest withdrawal only makes things worse in the long-run because there's only going to be a greater media attention on him at future dates.

I obviously don't know the ins and outs of Ireland's personal life but it seems to me that he is just "afraid to face the music" and get his ego hurt.

10/10/2007, 8:18 AM
Well Stan appears to have 'grudges' with other players for next to nothing, so i dont expect to see Ireland in the squad for a good while to come.

ruben_sosa
10/10/2007, 8:57 AM
i'd say he doesn't want to face the other irish lads in the squad after the daddy dick story.

from Today's Indo.

"While it eventually emerged that the reason for his shock exit was a miscarriage suffered by his girlfriend, one of the more persistent mumblings was that the player was not exactly enamoured with some of the banter in the camp. Particularly when it was aimed in his direction."

noby
10/10/2007, 9:09 AM
Why was he called up to the squad in the first place? If Stan knew there was problems and Ireland didn't want to be with the squad at this time, then why did he pick him?

My thoughts exactly. Not to shift the 'blame' onto Stan, but surely between the three of them (including SGE) this could have been ironed out in private, before the squad was announced.

btid1
10/10/2007, 9:43 AM
Neil Lennon did it.

He also played for his country through it!!

lionelhutz
10/10/2007, 9:59 AM
Neil Lennon did it.

Nicolas Anelka has been doing it all his life

BradyIsMyHero
10/10/2007, 10:21 AM
David O'Leary was thrown out by Jack for missing what looked like a meaningless friendly at the time, and took a long long time to get back in. Harsh on O'Leary, but after that, everybody showed up for games - they knew who was boss.

If Stan is to show any leadership as to who is "the gaffer", he should never have picked Stephen Ireland for the current squad, after his antics last time out (personsal problems or no personal problems), and let it be known publicly

Eire06
10/10/2007, 10:21 AM
Nicolas Anelka has been doing it all his life

Paul McGrath too - Who regularly went missing without any excuses or apologies, yet was welcomed back with open arms every time.

Look leave the lad alone, he made his decision for whatever reason, its his own personal choice if he wants to play or not.
YA he's let people down but I'm sure we'll all get over it, enough of the witch hunt and the personal abuse directed at him.

BradyIsMyHero
10/10/2007, 10:26 AM
Does Stephen Ireland have the same "problems" as Paul McGrath?

Sligo Hornet
10/10/2007, 10:26 AM
Paul McGrath too - Who regularly went missing without any excuses or apologies, yet was welcomed back with open arms every time.

Look leave the lad alone, he made his decision for whatever reason, its his own personal choice if he wants to play or not.
YA he's let people down but I'm sure we'll all get over it, enough of the witch hunt and the personal abuse directed at him.

I more or less agree with you....initially I was annoyed and disappointed, but now I am getting bored with the whole story and realise we have to carry on without him

old git
10/10/2007, 10:28 AM

stephen ireland not fit to lace paul mc graths boots .... leave the legend alone.. :ball:

10/10/2007, 10:28 AM
I think what annoys more than most is that the vast majority of us here would give anything to play five mins in the green jersey however more and more of our current squad are giving me the impression that they couldnt give two fcuks about representing their country.

Sligo Hornet
10/10/2007, 10:31 AM
stephen ireland not fit to lace paul mc graths boots .... leave the legend alone.. :ball:

Paul McGrath wasn't fit to lace the boots of Paul McGrath......that was the major problem at times!;)

citizenerased
10/10/2007, 10:33 AM
whats this whole 'daddy dick' thing..must have missed that

10/10/2007, 10:43 AM
whats this whole 'daddy dick' thing..must have missed that

Thats his bebo username

10/10/2007, 10:47 AM
The kid obviously has problems, and if being close to his personal support network (councillors or whatever) helps him more than being away from that for 10 days so be it. McGrath is the most obvious example where supporters took a compasionate view of what was going on, and continue to do. Is it that people can more readily comprehend alcoholism rather than mental problems?

Real problem is the fact that Staunton named him in the squad in the first place if he knew he didn't want to come, and then created this storm around the player again. The cynic in me would suggest it's convenient that it shifts all talk about these games now being meaningless, his failure to call up certain players and now gives him an out if we get hammered.

I wish this would just stop so I'm not forced to defend a blue untc time and again!

KildareRed
10/10/2007, 11:04 AM
He played for city the last few weeks so whats wrong with him. I suppose if I was getting 50000 a week i would just about be able to play for my club.

kingdom hoop
10/10/2007, 11:05 AM
I think what annoys more than most is that the vast majority of us here would give anything to play five mins in the green jersey

I think that's an important point and helps explain a lot of the compassionless posts on this thread. Richie Sadlier had a good article in the Sindo this week, with the headline revealing the main point; Envious friends make it hard to admit that your love for the game is not what it used to be. Just because you would love to do something another person has rejected does not entitle you to lambast them, especially if you don't know their reasons for the decision. None of us know what, if anything, is going on in Ireland's mind so I for one won't be directing any ire towards him.

As more of an aside, two people quite close to me who had mental problems but were reasonably ok suffered breakdowns when they went on holidays - ie out of their familiar surroundings for an extended period. It may be the case that Ireland was advised against travelling for this reason.

10/10/2007, 11:12 AM
He played for city the last few weeks so whats wrong with him.
At most 1 night away in their games since the last internationals - certainly not 10 nights away.

cavan_fan
10/10/2007, 11:21 AM
Stephen Ireland is an average player in the team. On the plus side he scores goals but he does very little else. He is benefitting from playing in a good City side but that has little to do with him. Most impartial opinion is that it is largely down to a good defence and Elano/Petrov.

I dont mind him pulling out doe to psychological issues. However I am annoyed that he can still play regularly for his club. He doesnt seem to fear doing himself justice there. That combined with his under-age boycott and his behaviour last time (lying twice about dead granny's) says he is not all that committed.

That would be fine if he was McGrath (or even Richard Dunne). But I dont believe we should persist with him when he is not even a clear first team choice. We are in danger of becoming the Stephen Ireland show.

Billsthoughts
10/10/2007, 11:26 AM
why has our national team become such a farce? why are players even having to make statements? could they not just have dropped him from the squad or had him pull out with a knock. Its become such a pathetic soap opera. Why does staunton feel the need for explanations like this when he couldnt be bothered explaining why this campaign is a complete write off already with 3 games remaining.

10/10/2007, 11:33 AM
Wsan't Gerry McDermott hired to do PR?

This forum alone poses so many questions that need answering on an ongoing basis and yet confusion continues to reign at every opportunity. It's clear that one of the obvious Saipan lessons hasn't been learnt.

Sonic
10/10/2007, 11:34 AM
Is this guy for real. Why would we give him abuse. We are not scum like England we can distinguish between family and the importance of an Ireland game. Id tell him either play in this game or you will never play for Ire again ya little twirp!!

btid1
10/10/2007, 11:48 AM
At most 1 night away in their games since the last internationals - certainly not 10 nights away.

Well if this is the case then he could at least have the bottle to come out and say this rather than hiding behind lame excuses like he has done.

It's just one thing after another with this lad and my patience has run out with him and if he's not careful his former agents prediciton of his demise before he is 25 may come through!!

10/10/2007, 12:31 PM
You Ireland fans crack me up:

"You can't call him a disgrace, you don't know him"

Swiftly followed by:

"He obviously has personal issues"

He is a disgrace, a coward and a liar and he's is pi$$ing all over ye.

But shur the worse you treat some people the more they'll kiss your ar$e :rolleyes:

Pathetic.

Only the Oirish public would tolerate such nonsense

Btw comparing the stupid, selfish little pr**k to McGrath is borderline sick IMO

10/10/2007, 1:07 PM
Stephen Ireland is an average player in the team. On the plus side he scores goals but he does very little else. He is benefitting from playing in a good City side but that has little to do with him. Most impartial opinion is that it is largely down to a good defence and Elano/Petrov.

I find this attitude slightly bemusing. I'm not suggesting he's a great player but he certainly has all the attributes to make him a vital player for us in years to come (if he chooses to come back).

I could understand that comment if he was 27 but he has only just turned 21 and has probaly not evn touched on his potential.

Lets look at the facts. He's 21 and can only get better. He has scored 4 goals in 6 internationals. By Sven's own admission he is an important member of a Man City team that is playing it's best football in years and occupying it's highest league position in years. Yet we slate him for being average??

God help any other young players coming through if they're not automatically one of the best players on the planet.:rolleyes:

as_i_say
10/10/2007, 1:09 PM
Well if anyone has even watched just the highlights on MOTD of his performances for city-he's been absolutely outstanding for them. And Ercisson would not have him near that team if he wasnt up for the job. The whole thing smacks of brutal man management from staunton and a lack of balls from Stephen Ireland.

Yes he lost a baby that is terrible but if it had really been affecting his work life theres no way he would be playing so well for city. I'm very disappointed, we really needed the little fu cker this week.

I also don't buy any cr@p about players in the ireland camp slagging him off-and i mean has the camp even had a session since he announced he was outta there? very annoyed :mad:

Rambler1
10/10/2007, 1:11 PM
Seems to me like he doesn't want to play for Ireland. He didn't want to play under Kerr too did he? Better off without him anyway.He didnt want to play under Kerr because Kerr brought him over from Manchester promising that he would be building team around him for the competition and then not playing him, dropping him out of squad completly, to play all his english boys and Dublin buddies and not only that the match was sold in Cobh on the basis that he would be playing, as there was at least a couple of thousand in his home town that night paid in to see him playing.We saw him playing all right with his bag over his shoulder outside the dressing room after getting shafted by Kerr....Get your facts right buddy before you judge people.

10/10/2007, 1:29 PM
He didnt want to play under Kerr because Kerr brought him over from Manchester promising that he would be building team around him for the competition and then not playing him, dropping him out of squad completly, to play all his english boys and Dublin buddies and not only that the match was sold in Cobh on the basis that he would be playing, as there was at least a couple of thousand in his home town that night paid in to see him playing.We saw him playing all right with his bag over his shoulder outside the dressing room after getting shafted by Kerr....Get your facts right buddy before you judge people.

Jesus, talk about one sided. According to Kerr he made no such promises and Ireland walked out in a huff when he wasn't named as a starter...

Its clear now who was telling the truth...

Scram
10/10/2007, 1:31 PM
Stephen Ireland, Roy Keane, Eddie O'Sullivan......spot the connection ;)

youngirish
10/10/2007, 1:32 PM
If Ireland has mental problems according to some of the muppets on here then why after half a dozen caps are they only causing such a serious problem now that he can't even force himself to show up for an International squad? Don't be so naive you plonkers isn't it far more likely that he's not showing up because:

a) He's afraid of any criticism he was likely to get from the fans after his last episode.
b) We are now definitely out of Euro2008 so he's probably not that bothered.
c) He was probably told he wouldn't be starting anyway and as per Kerr a few years ago has gone off into one of his tantrums.

His serious mental problems obviously haven't affected him at Manchester City in the slightest or in any of the previous international caps he's accumulated.

Ireland is a 100% plonker and the epitome of what's wrong with footballers in this day and age. He caused trouble at youth level and he's been causing trouble in his short career at senior level. Wake up and smell the sh*te including that wally from Cobh above and stop trying to ignore or explain away this obvious fact with pure speculative dribble.

Lucky he's pretty sh*te anyway or we'd be in trouble. We get overrun everytime he plays in the midfield. At least Stan the dunce will now be forced to start with A Reid.

P.S. Why do people from Cork all have to support each other even when it's clear one of them is in the wrong? Do they really think everyone else in Ireland has it in for them? As a Dub I can state that nobody in Dublin I ever met could care less about Cork so it continues to elude me as to where a large percentage of them got these chips on their shoulders from.

The Good Son
10/10/2007, 1:54 PM
P.S. Why do people from Cork all have to support each other even when it's clear one of them is in the wrong?

Why do people from Dublin have to make sweeping generalisations?

youngirish
10/10/2007, 1:57 PM
Why do people from Dublin have to make sweeping generalisations?

Sorry that should read. Why do a large number of people from Cork.

FarBeag
10/10/2007, 1:59 PM
Mental Illness or not,either way it look's like he has no interest in playing for his country.As far as I can recall he just appeared out of the blue a couple of seasons ago playing for Man City . Their fans appeared to rate him and regularly shouted '' Ireland for England'' during the games. Maybe this is what fcuked him up.

Its a shame because he is a good player with the potential to get better but i think it will be a long time before we see him in an Irish top again if ever.

10/10/2007, 2:28 PM
Mental Illness or not,either way it look's like he has no interest in playing for his country.Given the info that has come out overnight I think it's clear that he's having big personal problems & being away from a stable environment is the last thing he needs. I saw nowhere, explicit or implicit, that he has no interest in playing for his country.

This is a really badly handled PR balls up yet again. The initial statement brought a lot of criticism then the subsequent info on counselling and personal problems etc. provided some justification & grounds for compassion. Man City's media people are obviously far more sophisticated than the FAI's.

All the guy is receiving on here now is widespread vitriol. I think there's sufficient room for doubt and sufficient info for all to back off for now.

The comment I find intriguing was in the Indo where Dunne is alleged to have had words with him and found the response "exasperating". What was that supposed to mean / imply?

The rumours about disharmony in the Indo are worth getting to the bottom of. I hate the innnuendo - get straight out with it man! It may help hasten Stan's departure as squad morale was seemingly his biggest selling point at the start.

10/10/2007, 3:12 PM
You Ireland fans crack me up:

"You can't call him a disgrace, you don't know him"

Swiftly followed by:

"He obviously has personal issues"

He is a disgrace, a coward and a liar and he's is pi$$ing all over ye.

Are you Irish?

Rambler1
10/10/2007, 3:19 PM
Jesus, talk about one sided. According to Kerr he made no such promises and Ireland walked out in a huff when he wasn't named as a starter...

Its clear now who was telling the truth... According to Kerr !!...Did 'according to Kerr' know that Kerr convinced Man City Manager Kevin Keegan over the phone as to what an integral part he had to play in the competition...did according to Kerr know that he was dropped for the first game (not even named on the bench) dropped for the second game ...and yes then went home before he could be dropped for the last one and spare the embarassement of walking around with your kit bag like a langer for all 3 games in front of your home town who had paid to get in and see you ......did 'according to Kerr' know that Kerr personally travelled to manchester to explain after why he shafted him..... Do u know the truth ...cause I do and theres lots more that guys like you will never know but still judge based on some statement from someone covering their arse....have all of ye people out there who say he should never play again ever been in a major crisis point in your life ...and and if so how have u done...was football on the top of your agenda at that time or was it near to bottom of the list....ye make me sick all ye so called experts who talk a great game ...Most of ye are the reason Kerr got the boot and now ye are not happy either with Staunton ... serves ye right...
Give the guy a break and act like adults for a change.Theres a reason for it and its not up to you or me to decide if the reason is valid or not...As for does he care about Ireland ?...Well what do ye experts think ?....Is he not one of the few Irish players who ran themselves into the ground for the Irish cause and did the job of the forwards in doing so...or maybe ye have conveniently forgotten all that....doesnt care about Ireland!!!...Give me a break

Docboy
10/10/2007, 3:25 PM
I think what would bother most people about the situation is not the fact that he feels unable to play for his country rather the fact that he has just signed a new contract at city & is playing out of his skin for them.

Doesn't seem to to be the actions of someone in turmoil. However, if he does indeed have demons that he needs to confront, then he should be left alone to do so.

Rambler1
10/10/2007, 3:31 PM
If Ireland has mental problems according to some of the muppets on here then why after half a dozen caps are they only causing such a serious problem now that he can't even force himself to show up for an International squad? Don't be so naive you plonkers isn't it far more likely that he's not showing up because:

a) He's afraid of any criticism he was likely to get from the fans after his last episode.
c) He was probably told he wouldn't be starting anyway and as per Kerr a few years ago has gone off into one of his tantrums.

His serious mental problems obviously haven't affected him at Manchester City in the slightest or in any of the previous international caps he's accumulated.

Ireland is a 100% plonker and the epitome of what's wrong with footballers in this day and age. He caused trouble at youth level and he's been causing trouble in his short career at senior level. Wake up and smell the sh*te including that wally from Cobh above and stop trying to ignore or explain away this obvious fact with pure speculative dribble.

Lucky he's pretty sh*te anyway or we'd be in trouble. We get overrun everytime he plays in the midfield. At least Stan the dunce will now be forced to start with A Reid.

P.S. Why do people from Cork all have to support each other even when it's clear one of them is in the wrong? Do they really think everyone else in Ireland has it in for them? As a Dub I can state that nobody in Dublin I ever met could care less about Cork so it continues to elude me as to where a large percentage of them got these chips on their shoulders from. Your young alright...and thick

btid1
10/10/2007, 3:41 PM
Your young alright...and thick

A clever and well constructed argument from the Cobh gentleman!

Aldini98
10/10/2007, 3:52 PM
Maybe the kit draws attention to his extremely dodgy barnet.... Nah everything does.

Aldini98
10/10/2007, 3:53 PM
A clever and well constructed argument from the Cobh gentleman!

Shame no gentlemen support Bohs !

Beating up four old men and a woman, brave fellas !:rolleyes:

Rambler1
10/10/2007, 3:56 PM
A clever and well constructed argument from the Cobh gentleman!Ya just giving the previous post the respect it deserves....none..If we want to start slagging one another off then Im as good as dishing out insults as anyone....

10/10/2007, 3:56 PM
If Ireland has mental problems according to some of the muppets on here
and according to official statements from himself, his manager and his club

then why after half a dozen caps are they only causing such a serious problem now that he can't even force himself to show up for an International squad?
because he never had to deal with a girlfriend suffering a miscarriage after any of those caps? (don't want to appear insensitive or flippant to anyone who's suffered a miscarriage here, if my statement offends you then I'm sorry)

Don't be so naive you plonkers isn't it far more likely that he's not showing up because:
possibly, although I'd like to see you walk out in front of 80,000 people ready and waiting to criticise you

we're not definitely out, we're more than likely out

Unlikely, apart from his debut, he's started every game he's been in the squad for

He caused trouble at youth level and he's been causing trouble in his short career at senior level.
Brian Kerr was as much to blame IMO

he's so sh*te he's our top scorer in the qualifiers? And scored the winning goal in 2 of the qualifiers?

And if you're going to try and start an argument, try to back it up with facts, the word "probably" has no place in any convincing argument.
Finally, attack the post, not the poster. We are none of us "plonkers" or "muppets".