View Full Version : Stephen Ireland pulls out of squad

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

Rambler1
10/10/2007, 3:58 PM
Stephen Ireland, Roy Keane, Eddie O'Sullivan......spot the connection ;) Ya great sporting brains....and earning more then you at a living..Im sure Ill think of a few more...

MojoPin
10/10/2007, 3:59 PM
i have noticed that alot of posts are being erased by dahamsta including one of which was my own when i defended ireland in relation to a claim he had 4 kids already. is this a touchy subject dahamsta

im not taking a pot shot i understand that the forum needs moderation my post was a fact and i know it is a fact as i know him and his family not too well but more than alot here, well at least i used to know him.

MojoPin
10/10/2007, 4:04 PM
P.S. Why do people from Cork all have to support each other even when it's clear one of them is in the wrong? Do they really think everyone else in Ireland has it in for them? .

im from his home town and i think he is doing wrong from what we know! but in all fairness if i was too put half the stories that are heard around here he is a serioulsy messed up boy and not in a spoilt brat sort of way to be honest i expect him to have a break down pretty soon the way he's getting so much media attention wouldnt be surprised if something may happen in the not too distant future.

btid1
10/10/2007, 4:09 PM
Shame no gentlemen support Bohs !

Beating up four old men and a woman, brave fellas !:rolleyes:

Very clever and you know that no gentlemen support Bohs how exactly?!!

Back to your barstool!

Scram
10/10/2007, 4:13 PM
Ya great sporting brains....and earning more then you at a living..Im sure Ill think of a few more...

:D Anyone who thinks Stephen Ireland is a sporting brain must be drinking water from the Lee!

carloz
10/10/2007, 4:25 PM
I would find it very suprising that anyone who is suffering from severe
depression could play in a high intensity Premiership match in front of 40,000
people.

I hate ppeople who look at depression like this. Sebastian Deisler was one of Europes best midfielders until he suffered depression, it effectivly ruined his career. Money cannot save a person from depression or prevent them from suffering it.

youngirish
10/10/2007, 4:27 PM
because he never had to deal with a girlfriend suffering a miscarriage after any of those caps? (don't want to appear insensitive or flippant to anyone who's suffered a miscarriage here, if my statement offends you then I'm sorry)

This was over a month ago and it didn't stop him turning out for any of his recent Man City games so your argument doesn't hold water.

possibly, although I'd like to see you walk out in front of 80,000 people ready and waiting to criticise you

I seriously doubt 80,000 people will be slagging him. A small minority may have given him some slight abuse as a result of him lying stupidly in the first place at a crucial point in our qualification. And yes, if I had been silly enough to put myself in the same situation I would be prepared to face a few of the fans and their frustration instead of just making the whole thing worse by hiding and waiting until everything blows over.

we're not definitely out, we're more than likely out

We are out in everything but a mathematical sense even if you would like to think otherwise.

Unlikely, apart from his debut, he's started every game he's been in the squad for

Until he ran out last month. Possibly this could change things. Maybe Stan decided to keep Reid in the team. Who knows? Not me but it's far more likely than Ireland having a rare but severe mental disorder that doesn't affect his club career in the slightest but only rears it's head when he has to play an International match.

he's so sh*te he's our top scorer in the qualifiers? And scored the winning goal in 2 of the qualifiers?

Who cares? We've been overrun in midfield in every game he's been involved in and conceeded goals on many occasions that have cost us results. I'd rather have a player in midfield that sticks his foot in and gets involved in the game rather than a plonker that pops up occasionally with a goal but does nothing for the other 89 minutes of the match.

And if you're going to try and start an argument, try to back it up with facts, the word "probably" has no place in any convincing argument.
Finally, attack the post, not the poster. We are none of us "plonkers" or "muppets".
If someone seriously believes Steven Ireland has a severe mental problem that only affects him when travelling to International games but isn't a problem when travelling sometimes greater distances for away matches at club level then they are indeed a gullible plonker.

carloz
10/10/2007, 4:28 PM
he's so sh*te he's our top scorer in the qualifiers? And scored the winning goal in 2 of the qualifiers?

This doesnt excuse anything. he scored against Slovakia buyt after mcgeady was the worst player on the pitch. Too often he has completly disapeared while playing central midfield. Dont let his scoring record take away from his poor all round play. I felt really sorry for Carsley in Bratislava trying to do the job of two men in central midfield

youngirish
10/10/2007, 4:38 PM
Ya just giving the previous post the respect it deserves....none..If we want to start slagging one another off then Im as good as dishing out insults as anyone....

You should be used to defending yourself after all everyone is against you aren't they being from Cork in all? When is your new book coming out 'Stephen Ireland - The Sun Shines out of your Arse?'

Is it an autobiography?

Rambler1
10/10/2007, 4:50 PM
:D Anyone who thinks Stephen Ireland is a sporting brain must be drinking water from the Lee! Thats Right...he is only our top scorer after all....thats says it all really.....dont play him for Ireland again....he'd be so lucky with some of the "expert" posts on him here.

youngirish
10/10/2007, 4:56 PM
Thats Right...he is only our top scorer after all....thats says it all really.....dont play him for Ireland again....he'd be so lucky with some of the "expert" posts on him here.

Yes because kicking a round ball into a net demands a level of intelligence on par with the greatest minds of our time.

10/10/2007, 4:56 PM
I've never seen any thread about Stephen Ireland that didnt result in ****e going on at the moment, Jealous, bitter spiteful comments, Accusations with no evidence, its a joke. Treat the lad like ye treat the likes of Joey O'Brien i hate the way comments bout cork come into it, its the lowest form intelligence, embarassing. "Ya but he's from cork their all the same"-Stupid ****e, says more about the posters than people from Cork, some poeple are having a pop off Ireland in a intelligent civilized manner, fair play. thats the way to do it. If you have a problem with the boy go about it in a educated way.

Dahamsta is deleting threads for good reasons i reckon Mojo, i seen one that is deleted now that was ridiculous.

MojoPin
10/10/2007, 5:36 PM
i havent seen the ones that are being deleted only my own one that was clearing up that ireland has 2 kids not the 4 that people are saying on here. i wasnt giving out about dahamsta just wondering was he deleting threads that he didnt like...

FarBeag
10/10/2007, 7:13 PM
If he is suffering from depression to the extent where he has pulled out of the Irish setup then there is no way he could play for Man city the way he has played the last few games. He has played better than he has ever played in a blue jersey but who am I to judge? If it is the case that he is unwell then I wish him the best of luck and I really hope he recovers quickly and comes back to play for Ireland again. We as Irish supporters are a very forgiving lot imho and I think he would know that.There just appears to be so much going on in this guy’s life considering his very short international career.

Maybe its us as a group of supporters who are depressed and considering the results in the last few games and rightly so. There just does not seem to be any passion and pride left any more.The rugby was a typical example with its in house conflict and maybe the same applies within the current football camp.

Just look at the passion in the Scottish camp, a team that on paper is not as good as ours. Even the English players have now more pride in playing for their country than us. Now that’s not saying much but it’s true. Look at Michael Owen just back after a big stomach operation, John Terry with a broken jaw, Steven Gerrard with a broken toe.

The Irish players need their passion back and start to punch above their weight like they used to. I just wish we had more of the Given, Dunne, Kilbane, Keane, MacShane attitude and we may finally get it right.

10/10/2007, 7:16 PM
It matters little whether he plays anyway, afterall he played and scored when we lost to Cyprus, so whilst we may miss his goals we may also miss 5 going in the other end :D.
I'm not saying Stephen was responsible for them of course but he is hardly what I would call a key player.

10/10/2007, 8:03 PM
i havent seen the ones that are being deleted only my own one that was clearing up that ireland has 2 kids not the 4 that people are saying on here. i wasnt giving out about dahamsta just wondering was he deleting threads that he didnt like...

Oh i know ya i was just on bout the other comments, one of mine were deleted too

10/10/2007, 8:24 PM
Are you Irish?

Sigh :rolleyes:

I was born in Limerick

Do I follow the Oirish national side?? Not on your fcukin life

Jealous, bitter spiteful comments

Why would anyone be jealous of the poor tortured soul??

HE'S STILL PLAYING FOR MAN CITY

The apologists are looking increasingly pathetic

Only in Oireland.......

onenilgameover
10/10/2007, 8:34 PM
I would have thought fair enough if he is really shook up over the miss-carriage and the foolish events afterwards but he's playing for city. This is a fupping joke. Man things are getting pretty bad....

Rambler1
10/10/2007, 10:26 PM
If he is suffering from depression to the extent where he has pulled out of the Irish setup then there is no way he could play for Man city the way he has played the last few games. He has played better than he has ever played in a blue jersey but who am I to judge? If it is the case that he is unwell then I wish him the best of luck and I really hope he recovers quickly and comes back to play for Ireland again. We as Irish supporters are a very forgiving lot imho and I think he would know that.There just appears to be so much going on in this guy’s life considering his very short international career.

Maybe its us as a group of supporters who are depressed and considering the results in the last few games and rightly so. There just does not seem to be any passion and pride left any more.The rugby was a typical example with its in house conflict and maybe the same applies within the current football camp.

Just look at the passion in the Scottish camp, a team that on paper is not as good as ours. Even the English players have now more pride in playing for their country than us. Now that’s not saying much but it’s true. Look at Michael Owen just back after a big stomach operation, John Terry with a broken jaw, Steven Gerrard with a broken toe.

The Irish players need their passion back and start to punch above their weight like they used to. I just wish we had more of the Given, Dunne, Kilbane, Keane, MacShane attitude and we may finally get it right.Good sensible post at last.....Maybe he thinks that he had/has the backing of the City Fans but wouldnt be able at this point in time for the possible grief he was going to get from a section of the fans at any irish game. Maybe we just dont know and are too quick to judge when we dont obviously know the whole story.....

Morbo
10/10/2007, 11:09 PM
The Ireland apologists are friggin hilarious, not one of you has given a reasonable explanation as to why he can continue to play for Man City but not Ireland

Rambler1
10/10/2007, 11:27 PM
The Ireland apologists are friggin hilarious, not one of you has given a reasonable explanation as to why he can continue to play for Man City but not IrelandBecause he's loved there and ye hate him.....I mean ye probably have never even forgave yer mothers for not letting ye watch and give out about something related to the Irish Squad..... when ye were in the womb...

11/10/2007, 4:08 AM
Did his pinky have another miscarriage?? :confused:

Stephen Ireland should not be allowed to be in the Ireland squad again, simple as. The nature of his "explanations-lies" to get out of the game in Prague were so disgusting, the amount of money wasted by the FAI to fly him back on false pretences, the inconvenience that he caused to the team and his boss as a result, should have warranted a tough response from his boss, and the FAI. It's time players like him, were made an example of. Who do we think he is, Roy Keane?? We have other options in his position, it's now time to use them.

11/10/2007, 8:01 AM
The apologists are looking increasingly pathetic

As are you. You have him hung, drawn and quartered WITHOUT knowing the FULL story.

Play's a blinder for city in the last few games and now all of a sudden he's depressed?

Again do you know the full story? If so provide a link please other than the brief statement that was released. I might add the word depresion has not been given anywhere. The word seems to have been pounced upon without ever having been used officially.

The fact that he is having "problems" and will have "treatment" can be a whole host of different things.

co. down green
11/10/2007, 8:23 AM
Richard Dunne's take on the Stephen Ireland situation.

"I chat with Stephen about everything," remarked Dunne.

"If he tells me he does not feel right to play for Ireland, it`s not up to me to be prying into his personal life and convincing him he should be going.

"Yes, he`s been very good, and he has scored some very important goals, while his all-round ability and play has been excellent.

"Within himself, he needs to make sure he is happy and completely committed and ready to play for Ireland before he can be away from home for 10 days."

11/10/2007, 8:35 AM
The Ireland apologists are friggin hilarious, not one of you has given a reasonable explanation as to why he can continue to play for Man City but not Ireland
Because playing for city equals zero nights away from home (and whatever may be going on there), playing for ireland equals 10 nights away from home.

11/10/2007, 8:49 AM
As are you. You have him hung, drawn and quartered WITHOUT knowing the FULL story.

HE'S STILL HAPPY TO PLAY FOR MAN CITY

Pathetic Oirish fans

11/10/2007, 9:08 AM

Pathetic Oirish fans

YOU STILL DO NOT KNOW THE FULL STORY.

11/10/2007, 9:13 AM
YOU STILL DO NOT KNOW THE FULL STORY.

*Stops shouting* :)

He is still happy to play for Man City

11/10/2007, 9:13 AM
Did his pinky have another miscarriage?? :confused:
That's way out of line

11/10/2007, 9:16 AM

Pathetic Oirish fans

what's pathetic about fans waiting to hear the full story before condemning and ridiculing the lad?

FFS you'd think he has a raped a bus load of nuns by some of the reactions on here. He has decided that at this moment in time that he isn't well enough mentally to come over to Dublin and play in two games of football.

11/10/2007, 9:19 AM
He has decided that at this moment in time that he isn't well enough mentally to come over to Dublin and play in two games of football.

He's still playing for Man City

FFS you'd think he has a raped a bus load of nuns by some of the reactions on here.

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

11/10/2007, 9:42 AM
He's still playing for Man City

...which doesn't involve being away from your family for 10 days.

11/10/2007, 9:55 AM

Pi$$ poor argument people are trotting out.

He's not being asked to go to Baku and Yerevan for two games

It's Dublin :rolleyes:

I'd wager there are away games in the Premiership further away from his family (which family btw?? The one he was happy to have living in Cobh or the new one)

Away for ten days my Aras

btid1
11/10/2007, 9:59 AM

Dublin is really is the outer frontier of the universe alright!!

So he was happy to go to Prague and Bratislava and felt mentally right for that but no a short hop HOME!!Because remember this is supposed to be his home.

Premership teams often take 4 or 5 days away from their bases at a time to travel and prepare for away games in London or the North East.How is he able for these?

No matter what Richard Dunne says publically you can be assured that the Irish team as a whole are not impressed with his behaviour.Why should they bother their ****** coming over if he cant be arsed?!!

11/10/2007, 10:00 AM
Do you personally know what frame of mind he is in? Do you personally know if he feels he can be away for 10 days? Do you personally know if he feels dragging himself away for 10 days to potentially get abuse from people like yourself is something he can handle?

I suspect not. Either do I btw which is why I'm not jumping to conclusions or presuming him guilty of anything without knowing the full story.

youngirish
11/10/2007, 10:06 AM
The bottom line regarding this as far as I can see is that if Ireland at the age of 21 can't handle being 50 minutes on a plane from his familiar surroundings for a little over a week then he is certainly not the sort of player we want battling for us in central midfield in future campaigns when we will often be away from home in hostile surroundings and up against it.

This shows a lot about his lack of mental strength which is something that is not going to suddenly increase dramatically in the next few years and to me it goes a long way to explaining his disappearing act on the pitch in many of the away games in the current campaign irrespective of his odd goal or two.

Judging how Stan handled Paddy Kenny who was the last high profile Irish player that suffered from personal problems then I'd be surprised if we see Ireland playing under du Gaffur for a long time. Here's hoping Garvan, McCann and J O'Brien step up and show that bit of the passion we so clearly lack throughout our team at this moment.

Not the type of player we need. Particularly in the current setup. Next please.

lionelhutz
11/10/2007, 10:13 AM
The Irish players need their passion back and start to punch above their weight like they used to. I just wish we had more of the Given, Dunne, Kilbane, Keane, MacShane attitude and we may finally get it right.

Keane's attitude for Ireland is horrific. I'd agree with the rest though

11/10/2007, 11:07 AM
Do you personally know what frame of mind he is in? Do you personally know if he feels he can be away for 10 days? Do you personally know if he feels dragging himself away for 10 days to potentially get abuse from people like yourself is something he can handle?

I know this much:

He's still happy to play for Man City

I suspect not. Either do I btw which is why I'm not jumping to conclusions or presuming him guilty of anything without knowing the full story

Yet you can jump to the conclusion that he obviously has problems??

Keane's attitude for Ireland is horrific

OT I know but Keane breaks his ar$e playing for Ireland. Please don't confuse his frustration at the ineptitude going on all around him with a bad attitude

Morbo
11/10/2007, 11:19 AM
Because he's loved there and ye hate him.....I mean ye probably have never even forgave yer mothers for not letting ye watch and give out about something related to the Irish Squad..... when ye were in the womb...
So now its the fans fault that he can't be arsed to play?

Supreme feet
11/10/2007, 11:25 AM
If this was Shay Given or Richard Dunne dropping out for personal problems, I think we'd be a lot more understanding.

Mental illness is always scandalously stigmatized and ridiculed in this country. Usual macho bulls**t. We have a ridiculously high suicide rate because of this narrow-minded cultural attitude, and the lack of education from above. Paul McGrath's alcoholism was celebrated and even joked about over the years, even though it's pretty much destroyed him as a human being. There's obviously something wrong with Ireland's mind at the moment, as we can gather from what's been said (particularly by Eriksson), and I certainly won't hold it against him if he goes on to play for us again.

I remember Robbie Keane playing for Ireland against Albania after his father died - it was admirable, but it was obvious that he wasn't right mentally. He had a shocker, and we drew 0-0. In sport, a frail mind can be just as debilitating as a physical injury.

On the issue of footballing merits, I think Ireland is a talented player who could thrive in 'the hole' behind a main striker, as he did against Slovakia. He's worthy of a place in the squad anyway. And I hope he comes back soon, and ends this issue.

Morbo
11/10/2007, 11:28 AM
FFS you'd think he has a raped a bus load of nuns by some of the reactions on here. If he did rape a bus full of nuns a lot of ye would probably still be saying the poor lad obviously has issues. He has already said "Football is ****, why did i get stuck doing it", boycotted internationals at underage level and pulled out of 2 games for Ireland, lying twice the first time and giving an extremely weak excuse this time, WTF has he got to do before it sinks into your skulls that he doesn't give a **** about playing for the national team

Billsthoughts
11/10/2007, 11:30 AM
Have to say there is some lovely imagery on this thread....all wombs and nuns....:confused::D

btid1
11/10/2007, 11:30 AM
Do you personally know if he feels dragging himself away for 10 days to potentially get abuse from people like yourself is something he can handle?

Why would he have got abuse from as you say it people like me if he had met his obligation of playing for his country??

Its a pure cop out to say he was fearful of the reaction he would have gotten because he wouldnt have got any reaction apart from apathy!

As someone else said here he is most definitely not the sort of person you would want in the trenches with you away from home in somewhere like Turkey if he is that afraid of 80,000 of our his countrymen.

I'd say Lee Carsley is the happiest man on the planet at the moment.Now he may have some help in midfield against the Germans.

11/10/2007, 12:32 PM
As someone else said here he is most definitely not the sort of person you would want in the trenches with you away from home in somewhere like Turkey

May I just point out that football is not played in trenches (though, granted Sligos pitch has never been great:p) God, I hate that cliche.

11/10/2007, 12:35 PM
Yet you can jump to the conclusion that he obviously has problems??

Not my words. Used elsewhere and by Stan. If they are saying he has problems then they are just that...problems. Who are we to say what they are and who are you to judge him without knowing any facts?

Q. Can you deny that you do not know the full story!?

A. No

11/10/2007, 12:39 PM
Its a pure cop out to say he was fearful of the reaction he would have gotten because he wouldnt have got any reaction apart from apathy!

Read my post again. I didn't say that. I said do you know if he is feeling like that? Answer = No. Therefore, you don't know the full story but feel well placed enough to know that 80,000 fans would have felt apathy for him :eek:

11/10/2007, 12:41 PM
Blah, Blah, Blah

Donal81
11/10/2007, 12:49 PM
VERY DISAPPOINTING ATTITUDE:(......this was his chance to "pay back" the loyalty and good feeling shown towards him during his recent personal crisis......who is advising him?:eek:

If I recall, there wasn't all that much loyalty or good feeling shown towards him on this site.

Morbo
11/10/2007, 12:57 PM
Mental illness is always scandalously stigmatized and ridiculed in this country. Usual macho bulls**t. We have a ridiculously high suicide rate because of this narrow-minded cultural attitude, and the lack of education from above.

[kenny cunningham] possibly so [/kenny cunningham] but if he is so depressed then how come he is still playing for MC and playing extremely well? As you said yourself Robbie played horribly after his father died because it obviously effected him so either S.Ireland isn't suffering from depression or he is still able to play very good football despite it, either way there should be no reason why he can play for MC but not Ireland.

11/10/2007, 1:02 PM

When backed against the wall you can't even come out with anything else. Victory is sweet.