View Full Version : Czech Republic 1-0 Ireland post match discussion thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8

blobbyblob
12/09/2007, 8:33 PM
Heart broken but the effort shown in this game cant go unnoticed. In fairness, an injury conspired to force Stan into putting Hunty on and a card happy ref conspired to take him back out. We were well worth 1-1.

If you think back over the last 20 years you wont find too many victories away to decent sides in competitive action and usually we bow out with a lack luster whine.

Cyprus was the difference in this campaign. Were two years off challenging for any campaign regardless of any manager. Harsh but true.

12/09/2007, 8:33 PM
Cunningham being a massive tool again

"Not the time to be assessing the manager's position"

"Qualification not important"

Dense idiot

12/09/2007, 8:35 PM
im sick of this im 21 a great time to travel to these tournaments and its ruined again, ill be collecting my pension when we reach another one

You will more than likely be pushing up the daisys :D

biscuit
brady,giles,dunphy all agree (even though brady felt bad about saying that) staunton should go...dunphy is making some great points lads...

Finlay Harp
Dunphy is a legend!

12/09/2007, 8:36 PM
Anyone worried that they're really agreeing with Dunphy? His points about the fans being taking for fools is spot on

12/09/2007, 8:37 PM
Dunphy is a legend!
Did you mean leg end?

eekers
12/09/2007, 8:37 PM
dunphy "would you let him drive the train to cork?" in reply to bill talking about stan training on the job.

rebelarmyexile
12/09/2007, 8:38 PM
I scared. I agree with Dunphy. Very Scary.

biscuit
12/09/2007, 8:39 PM
in fairness i thin k he says this because behind all the bullshi* he is a fan...he spoke passionatly there, that was nae put on. it hurts me cause i think fellas like richard dunne and shay deserve another major championship while they are playing their best stuff...FUK you delaney...and he still hasnt answered my email i sent the night of the cyprus game.

Dun Laoire
Fair play to Dunphy cause i certainly wouldnt let Staunton drive the train to cork. On a serious note though he is speaking exactly how we feel.

Finlay Harp
The man speaks the truth!

rebelarmyexile
dunphy "would you let him drive the train to cork?" in reply to bill talking about stan training on the job.

well stan has got a very exciting voice for the announcements. Reminds me of that Father Ted episode.

FarmHoop
Dunphy is a legend!

what a rant, says how we feel

eekers
Cunningham being a massive tool again

"Not the time to be assessing the manager's position"

"Qualification not important"

Dense idiot

former ireland international employed to give comment on the ireland team in 'too close to the his old mate the manager to give impartial comment' shocker

rebelarmyexile
12/09/2007, 8:40 PM
People are forgetting thats it is not Stans fault. the root of the problem is a certain Mr Delaney of Merrion Square.

FarmHoop
rio scores cracker for them

onceahoop
Fcuk it , I've to go to work. It's going to be a long night. Maybe it's just as well. Take my mind of the game.

Hibs4Ever
Fooking Scotland winning 1-0 in Paris!!! We've far better players than them, but they've a good manager :mad:

12/09/2007, 8:41 PM
Fair play to Brady for saying it was time for Stan to go, even if he's his mate and it hurts to say it

12/09/2007, 8:42 PM
"great battlings (sic) performance"
"didn't start well"
"no time to reflect on the result"
"we're in a rebuilding process"

:shake my head:

12/09/2007, 8:42 PM
Fair play to Brady for saying it was time for Stan to go, even if he's his mate and it hurts to say it

Yeah you could see it wasnt easy for him. but its his job.

**** off Delaney and thanks Stan but you're not good enough.

Finlay Harp
12/09/2007, 8:43 PM
Building process. Utter nonsense!

FarmHoop

at least hes sayin it

biscuit
...did you hear that??? the man is officially a muppet...just be honest stan please....

12/09/2007, 8:46 PM
iv a lump in my throat...it just aint fair...another major championship that we miss...why cant the people like delaney and the rest of that inept shower of ***** emply a man that will have some sort of knowledge of the game and not a diddering fool like that dundalk ****

its not unfair. We get what we deserve. As a country we deserve no success as we simply do not give a sh1t about Irish football. I know this probably isnt the time or the place but Irish people need to get up off their fat lazy arses and start supporting domestic club soccer if they want international success anytime in the next 20 years. The influx of foreigners to the premiership is killing our hopes of allowing English football to develop our players. The government with our "soccer mad taoiseach" needs to invest in domestic soccer. The FAI needs to ensure this happens. The Irish people need to get up and start being real football supporters. If the domestic game thrives, the international team thrives.

Look at our players - in the past there would be no Celtic fringe (occasionally good) player like McGeady near the squad, there would be no League One player in the squad - Jack and Mick barely played Championship players ffs. We can not rely on the Premiership anymore

Stan is not the problem. He shouldnt be there but he is not the problem. Irish football is ROTTEN from the inside out. From the FAI to the barstool.

The solution? It will take years no matter what direction it goes. My suggestion - start supporting the domestic game. Not just the barstoolers - EVERYONE - the Govt., the FAI, everyone. Sure we may finish third seeds this time round but its not going to be any better next time round.

Finlay Harp
12/09/2007, 8:49 PM
its not unfair. We get what we deserve. As a country we deserve no success as we simply do not give a sh1t about Irish football. I know this probably isnt the time or the place but Irish people need to get up off their fat lazy arses and start supporting domestic club soccer if they want international success anytime in the next 20 years. The influx of foreigners to the premiership is killing our hopes of allowing English football to develop our players. The government with our "soccer mad taoiseach" needs to invest in domestic soccer. The FAI needs to ensure this happens. The Irish people need to get up and start being real football supporters. If the domestic game thrives, the international team thrives.

Look at our players - in the past there would be no Celtic fringe (occasionally good) player like McGeady near the squad, there would be no League One player in the squad - Jack and Mick barely played Championship players ffs. We can not rely on the Premiership anymore

Stan is not the problem. He shouldnt be there but he is not the problem. Irish football is ROTTEN from the inside out. From the FAI to the barstool.

The solution? It will take years no matter what direction it goes. My suggestion - start supporting the domestic game. Not just the barstoolers - EVERYONE - the Govt., the FAI, everyone. Sure we may finish third seeds this time round but its not going to be any better next time round.

Well said.

FarmHoop
12/09/2007, 8:53 PM

Here Here

biscuit
12/09/2007, 8:55 PM
cant argue with you there mate...i think you know what i meant though -it was more how i felt!! the end of the RTE show summed it up there, list of Premier**** fixtures and then an add for the CL:rolleyes:

cavan_fan
12/09/2007, 8:57 PM
As I've said before little things make a big difference, we could easily have had a draw tonight even with a sending off.

Shoudl Stan go? Only if a better manager is available and that doesnt mean John Aldridge, John Sheridan, Kevin moran or anyone of that ilk. The minimum would be O'Leary. Stan is an improved manager on the beginning of the campaign. Don't sack him then see who wants the job and end up appointing Kenny Cunningham.

Is it due to a weak league. In a way yes, but there is no shortage of talent in the Irish team.

To me the significant thing was Duff's injury. I think with Duff fit we'd have got 4 points (3+1).

gwhite
12/09/2007, 8:57 PM
Scotland take 6 points off France, Wales hammer Slovakia. These are the kinds of things we should be doing with our squad. If Stan gave 2 fooks about Irish football he'd admit he's not up to it, stand down and give another coach the last 3 games to build for the 2010 WC qualifiers. He consistently refuses to play his best team and keeps duds like Kilbane and O'Shea in the starting 11. The chap is not management material.

cavan_fan
12/09/2007, 8:58 PM
Scotland take 6 points off France, Wales hammer Slovakia. These are the kinds of things we should be doing with our squad. If Stan gave 2 fooks about Irish football he'd admit he's not up to it, stand down and give another coach the last 3 games to build for the 2010 WC qualifiers. He consistently refuses to play his best team and keeps duds like Kilbane and O'Shea in the starting 11. The chap is not management material.

Kilbane was as good as anyone and I think the solution to ou problems at LB.

Hibs4Ever
12/09/2007, 9:01 PM

Agree with all taht except for the Kilbane bit. He's a good player, and its not just Stan who won't drop him, I think you'll find he's been 1st choice with a fair few of our managers.

I'd add McGeady to your choice of O'Shea. Neither should ever play for Ireland again :mad:

gwhite
12/09/2007, 9:01 PM
Well then he should've started him there had had Hunt on from the start. I admit he did better at left back but all he did at outside left was give the ball away.

rebelarmyexile
12/09/2007, 9:04 PM
Who to replace Stan? Prob should start a new thread for this is there is not already one. "world class manager"

12/09/2007, 9:06 PM
Oh well only another 2-3 years of this before Stan gets sacked. Guys who came out with credit tonight were Dunne, Doyle and Hunt (despite the dodgy sending off). Given was solid as we always get from him.

O'Shea, Kelly, Carsley and McGeady were poor. None of em are international class players and they struggled badly tonight. I thought Hunt brought a bit of bite to the team and livened us up but the sending off was the final nail in the coffin. I feel sorry for Stan, he's a nice fella but international managment is not for him, he's too stubborn to resign so we are gonna have to persevere for another 2/3 years. He'll ride out the criticism and come out with "we're building for the future" but I'd like to see some changes. Even if it's just to bring in a new right hand man to replace Bobby Robson.

Why were we so negative and uninspiring in the first 25 minutes? They looked clueless out there. I expected us to get at em and put some kind of pressure on the Czech's.

I'm not even gonna start slagging off JOS positioning for the goal.

gwhite
12/09/2007, 9:11 PM
The thing with Stan is, if he resigns now he might still be remembered as the great servant to Irish football who won 102 caps. If he stays he'll be remembered as the clueless pleb who took us into the footballing doldrums. We'll be 4th seeds in our WC group and, unless something drastic happens, many more qualification groups to come. It'll be a long time before we ever get to taste another WC/EC Finals.

12/09/2007, 9:12 PM
"We are in a building process. I said that from day one. It's coming along nicely," said the Irish manager.

Low and behold he comes out with this beauty.

12/09/2007, 9:15 PM
Is it due to a weak league. In a way yes, but there is no shortage of talent in the Irish team.

how can you say that? There is a chronic shortage of talent if this is the best we can pick. Shay Given and Robbie Keane (sometimes) and maybe Finnan are the only world class players in there. The absent Duff hasnt been world class in about 4 years. The rest are bottom of premiership, Championship and League One bog-standard players.

Nick Colgan - Barnsley
Colin Doyle - Birmingham City
Shay Given - Newcastle United
Wayne Henderson - Preston North End
Richard Dunne - Manchester City
Steve Finnan - Liverpool
Kevin Foley - Wolverhampton Wanderers
Stephen Kelly - Birmingham City
Paul McShane - Sunderland
John O’Shea - Manchester United
Lee Carsley - Everton
Jonathon Douglas - Leeds United
Darron Gibson - Manchester United
Stephen Hunt - Reading
Stephen Ireland - Manchester City
Kevin Kilbane - Wigan Athletic
Aiden McGeady - Celtic
Alan O’Brien - Hibernian
Darren Potter - Wolverhampton Wanderers
Andy Reid - Charlton Athletic
Kevin Doyle - Reading
Robbie Keane - Tottenham Hotspur
Andy Keogh - Wolverhampton Wanderers
Shane Long - Reading
Daryl Murphy - Sunderland

Why are Scotland beating France? Because they have a decent domestic league with 2 teams that qualify regularly for the CL. That allows them to nurture and develop their talent. Until the FAI come along and try to take it off them.

Why are Wales worse than us (with a very similar standard squad)? They have an even worse domestic league than us. Due to an agreement made with the english FA back in the 50's (i think) which coincidentally was the last time that Wales had a successful international team.

How can everyone just ignore the problem when its so f*ckin obvious? Blame Stan or O'Shea or whoever if you want but its not going to make a blind bit of difference until we get football at home sorted out. Mark my words.

biscuit - sorry man, i knew what you meant but i had to say what i did.

12/09/2007, 9:15 PM
O'Shea, Kelly, Carsley and McGeady were poor. None of em are international class players and they struggled badly tonight.

Ah but Staunton would've been lynched if he dared leave out Carsley any further just a few short games ago..when he was the popular "solution":rolleyes:

hoops1
12/09/2007, 9:16 PM
Fooking Scotland winning 1-0 in Paris!!! We've far better players than them, but they've a good manager :mad:

Wouldnt agree with that Scotland now have some decent footballers

chuckie
12/09/2007, 9:18 PM
but there certainly no better than us

Hibs4Ever
Wouldnt agree with that Scotland now have some decent footballers

and so do we......

FarmHoop
SkStu is right,but ive always said the same to those who dont go to games and all i get is why would i when its ****!

12/09/2007, 9:19 PM
Ah but Staunton would've been lynched if he dared leave out Carsley any further just a few short games ago..when he was the popular "solution":rolleyes:

I'd be surprised to ever see him wear the green shirt again. We might as well give Potter/Gibson a go against Germany. As Stan says we're building for the future :cool:

I noticed Whelan giving Carsley a lot of stick for not making himself available for the ball. I was more bothered that he wasn't picking up the runners from MF nor tidying up the MF.

12/09/2007, 9:20 PM
and well done to Scotland. Fantastic result, by sounds of it they were well organised at the back.

mackannovic
12/09/2007, 9:21 PM
Not Stans fault he's in the situation but he should do the honourable thing in admitting he's not the man for the job and step down. 102 caps stands for nothing in this job, it doesn't give ye managerial know-how. He knows he's on a learning curve but he should also know he's doing the country a disservice persuing his apprenticeship in a job with the expectancy of the nation to succeed.

Scratchy
12/09/2007, 9:22 PM
More of the same I'm afraid and it's just not good enough. Full stop.

Cymro
12/09/2007, 9:24 PM
Yeah, excellent result for Scotland, I hope they make it. That way Alan Hansen will be doubly disappointed next summer, with hilarious consequences as usual. :D

But seriously, it would be excellent to see them in the finals, particularly when you think of the group they've had. Most people (myself included) gave them no chance in hell.

12/09/2007, 9:27 PM
good result for you tonight Cymro. Go easy on us in Cardiff!!!