View Full Version : Tonights Latest

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

21/07/2007, 7:55 PM
Once again it's up to the mighty Mons to restore the good name of Irish football.

Without them this league would be in bits.

21/07/2007, 8:11 PM
Kildare equalise, 1-1 now. Another goal:eek:

hoops1
21/07/2007, 8:13 PM
THE EL IT RAINS, noGOALS

21/07/2007, 8:13 PM
This is getting confusing at this stage.

21/07/2007, 8:23 PM
Longford beat UCD 1-0 with last minute goal. Delighted:D

Full time in all games now. All ended in draws apart from Longford.

21/07/2007, 8:48 PM
The first home game I miss all year :( !

Sonic
21/07/2007, 11:55 PM
Maybe you should keep away for a while. I mean that in the nicest way possible of course!;)

LeixlipRed
22/07/2007, 10:07 AM
The Bohs v Derry game was absolutely woeful. Not one piece of outstanding skill or technical ability was displayed at any point. Two players got in a scuffle and fell over. The only remotely exciting event

22/07/2007, 3:49 PM
technically todays latest few minutes left in drogs.we picked up a few lessons in defending over in italy it seemsAnother 0-0 to go along with last night's results:D

22/07/2007, 4:07 PM
Sounded like City unable to get past the parked bus :(

Injury list for City mounting with O'Donovan, O'Flynn & Woods, added to the Kearney & O'Callaghan.

22/07/2007, 4:10 PM
Sounded like City unable to get past the parked bus :(

Injury list for City mounting with O'Donovan, O'Flynn & Woods, added to the Kearney & O'Callaghan.How long are they out for? Miss our game in 2 weeks?:)

Dyl10
22/07/2007, 4:11 PM
Parked bus did its job again!
Good result for Drogs

harry crumb
22/07/2007, 5:34 PM
At least when Shels came to play us Fenlon made sure they played.

Doolin was happy with a 0-0 from the off and for long portions it was 11 Drogs players in their own half.

WAs up to City to break them down and we couldn't.

22/07/2007, 6:17 PM
Doolin was happy with a 0-0 from the off and for long portions it was 11 Drogs players in their own half.

He will probably play for 0-0 draw at home to the San Marino side too now has his away goal.

22/07/2007, 6:20 PM
Good result for Rovers on both sides IF they were to win tomorrow

kdjaC
22/07/2007, 6:25 PM
Good result for Pats IF they win tomorrow.

kdjac

swano
22/07/2007, 6:32 PM
Good result for Pats IF they win tomorrow.

kdjac

A draw it is then!

kdjaC
22/07/2007, 6:40 PM
A draw it is then!

It be 1-0 to someone to make it 6 goals in 6 Prem games.

Hopefully to pats.

kdjac

22/07/2007, 6:59 PM
Gutted really. Drogs came for the draw and got it. We badly missed Roy and Kearney but more annoyingly missed 2 absolute sitters :(

22/07/2007, 7:56 PM
WAs up to City to break them down and we couldn't.We could, and did. Unfortunately our chances fell to Denis Behan and Cillian Lordan. As much as I like the 2 lads, they aren't our best from 8 yards, though how behan missed his sitter I don't know.

Drogheda were pathetic, it is especially frustrating to draw with them, sitting on top of the league, never attempting to win the game and basically sitting back waiting for city players to come to them to kick them. Its a good thing kearney wasn't on the field, i'd have feared for his wellbeing, they were hard enough on colin bloody healy.

Dan Connor became the first keeper I've ever seen dive - in "simulation" terms, rather than what you'd expect. Twice. I wonder is it embarressing for a player at a supposed top club to come to the finest ground in the country, full of fans, and use those tactics - diving about, kicking opposition players, continually switching sides for goal kicks and tying laces before taking throws - at the start of the second half. It certainly seemed to get to Connors - his usual performance of gesturing to the fans and lashing out at opposition players, Lordan feeling the brunt of it this particular match.

22/07/2007, 8:42 PM
Dan Connor became the first keeper I've ever seen dive - in "simulation" terms, rather than what you'd expect. Twice. I wonder is it embarressing for a player at a supposed top club to come to the finest ground in the country, full of fans, and use those tactics - diving about, kicking opposition players, continually switching sides for goal kicks and tying laces before taking throws - at the start of the second half. It certainly seemed to get to Connors - his usual performance of gesturing to the fans and lashing out at opposition players, Lordan feeling the brunt of it this particular match.I blame the ref letting them away with such tactics, Whelan was pathetic, he didn't see Robinsons elbow Healy yet made a big deal of making him go off for treatment, right when we had a corner too.
To add a mere 3 minutes at the end was an insult, we get these refs from time to time, a la Whoriskey the other night and then don't see them for months, presumably cos they've been demoted for being crap.
75% of free kicks today were for Drogheda, most were 50-50 balls or simulation. They got what they came for and Doolin doesn't care about attracting new punters to the EL, just results, who can blame him but the game in general is suffering as a result.

Aaron
22/07/2007, 8:53 PM
Dan Connor became the first keeper I've ever seen dive - in "simulation" terms, rather than what you'd expect. Twice. I wonder is it embarressing for a player at a supposed top club to come to the finest ground in the country, full of fans, and use those tactics - diving about, kicking opposition players, continually switching sides for goal kicks and tying laces before taking throws - at the start of the second half. It certainly seemed to get to Connors - his usual performance of gesturing to the fans and lashing out at opposition players, Lordan feeling the brunt of it this particular match.

He's a diving *****!! Last year at the Brandy, Pizza went up close to him with his head about a yard away, Pizaa nudged his head a little and Connor jumped 2ft up and 1ft back in the air. The linesman fair play to him saw this and hje was promptly booked. He is one of the biggest time wasters about in LOI football. He's an excellent keeper, if he'd cut all that crap out he'd be recognised as a top keeper more.

ndrog
23/07/2007, 10:21 PM
We could, and did. Unfortunately our chances fell to Denis Behan and Cillian Lordan. As much as I like the 2 lads, they aren't our best from 8 yards, though how behan missed his sitter I don't know.

Drogheda were pathetic, it is especially frustrating to draw with them, sitting on top of the league, never attempting to win the game and basically sitting back waiting for city players to come to them to kick them. Its a good thing kearney wasn't on the field, i'd have feared for his wellbeing, they were hard enough on colin bloody healy.

Jesus h christ ive heard it all now .Facts are that city are cronic and couldnt break us down .You had 2 chances in the entire game , and one of them happened to fall to fat boy Beehan who has to be one of the poorest players in the eircom leauge .Would he even do the job in the first division ? Doubt it .Your a one man team and when he fooks off to england your in trouble ,now that sicknote is back were he belongs ,on the treatment table .We went for a draw after a really hard few days travel , delayed flights ,seriuos heat and humidity , the players were knackerd . You were at home and it was up to you to break us down and score .You couldnt .Take your oil ;)

harry crumb
23/07/2007, 11:30 PM
If Drogheda win the league it will be a victory for negative, consevative football.

Personally I don't want to watch that kind of ****e.

Ive been more entertained this season by Sligo and Longford than from watching Drogheda, Bohs and Shamrock Rovers.

Stand up for Rico, McDonnell's early season team, Paul Cook, John Robertson. At least their teams have had a go this season.

23/07/2007, 11:35 PM
It's a results based game. Drogs, Rovers and Bohs are the top end which proves it works.

I remember we went to Turner's last year tried to play and got walloped 6-0 yet Rico praised us for trying to play football. Then a few weeks later we played a more conservative game and won 2-1 which pretty much kept us up. I know which performance I preferred.

This approach works. It's not pretty but if a manager wants to win which tends to be the general consensus this is an effective way of doing it.

DonO'Bate
23/07/2007, 11:46 PM
The league is becoming boring judging by this weeks results in the two divisions, only a handful of goals were scored, are managers afraid of winning matches rather than playing for draws, can't understand why this happening as their is still a long way to go in both divisions. This week's results reminds me of a hilarious sketch I saw by one of the Apres Match crew when he took the pi*** out of the Irish league results.

harry crumb
23/07/2007, 11:47 PM
Thought ye played well that night when yee won 2-1. was one of Gormley's first games and he had a young team out.

I'd add Bray to the list as well. Thought they were excellent against bohs last weak, lots of pace on the wings and Alan Cawley has been class this season.

Stephen Fox is past it though.

23/07/2007, 11:53 PM
Thought ye played well that night when yee won 2-1. was one of Gormley's first games and he had a young team out.
I know that the 6-0 was only Eddie's second game, after a 1-1 in Drogheda. The 2-1 was after he'd had a while with the team. It was a good performance but it wasn't attack minded. It was more counter attack and it worked. That's my point.

I'd add Bray to the list as well. Thought they were excellent against bohs last weak, lots of pace on the wings and Alan Cawley has been class this season.
Yes we have been playing some of the best football I've ever seen in the Carlisle and it's great to watch. And we're doing better so far than last season so I can't complain.

Stephen Fox is past it though.
Agreed.

DruggyDrog
24/07/2007, 12:48 AM
I like to come on to this excuse of a football forum every so often for research purposes, even though I swore I wouldn't do it ever again only a few short months ago. Good to see that the same muppets are posting exactly the same drivel as they have been doing for the last few years. Time to get a life lads, you know who you are.

ndrog
24/07/2007, 7:06 PM
If Drogheda win the league it will be a victory for negative, consevative football.

Personally I don't want to watch that kind of ****e.

Ive been more entertained this season by Sligo and Longford than from watching Drogheda, Bohs and Shamrock Rovers.

Stand up for Rico, McDonnell's early season team, Paul Cook, John Robertson. At least their teams have had a go this season.

typical response .We have played some great football this season ,We have also played some crap football and some really defensive football . So what . Ricos little rant today is hilarious .Lets focus on Drogheda utd rather than the fact that you couldnt beat us at home in a must win game for cork .We played derry off the park in the brandeywell and we destroyed Linfield in windsor ! But we never have a go . :D your a genious .

Aaron
24/07/2007, 7:27 PM
I like to come on to this excuse of a football forum every so often for research purposes, even though I swore I wouldn't do it ever again only a few short months ago. Good to see that the same muppets are posting exactly the same drivel as they have been doing for the last few years. Time to get a life lads, you know who you are.

So your saying its just like watching Brazil when watching Drogheda? Everyone has an opinion, if you dont like it you know where you can go;)

27/07/2007, 7:06 PM
Bray 0-1 Longford ( Mooney 15 mins) 21 mins gone
0-0 in all other games
Drogheda 2-0 Waterford ( Zayed 20 mins, Keddy 64 ) 69 mins gone
Shels 1-0 Dundlak ( Flood 17 ) 20 mins gone
Pats 1-0 Cork ( Guy 38mins ) 42 mins gone
Monaghan 2-0 Kilkenny ( Gannon 24 mins, Farrell 54 mins) 62 Mnis gone
Sligo 2-0 Shamrock ( Hughes 73 mins, Judge 77 ) 77 mins game

27/07/2007, 7:10 PM
If Longford were to get the win they'd be back in with a shout of avoiding automatic relegation. It'd be good to see them making a fight of it at least.

hallelujah we have a goal!

If Longford were to get the win they'd be back in with a shout of avoiding automatic relegation. It'd be good to see them making a fight of it at least.

Not for me:p

27/07/2007, 7:13 PM
Drogheda 1 up now too. They're flying in now.

27/07/2007, 7:14 PM
They're flying in now.

we're being spoiled :D

The Man Himself
27/07/2007, 7:17 PM
Drogheda 1 up now too. They're flying in now.

comon waterford ffs:eek:

27/07/2007, 7:17 PM
Just watching the Roves v Rovers game - Rovers seem to be just edging it (Sligo that is)

27/07/2007, 7:18 PM
Shels lead Dundalk

The Man Himself
27/07/2007, 7:19 PM
Just watching the Roves v Rovers game - Rovers seem to be just edging it (Sligo that is)

i hate rovers:confused:
i hope rovers beat them:rolleyes:

27/07/2007, 7:20 PM
i hate rovers:confused:
i hope rovers beat them:rolleyes:

I disagree. I hope Rovers win comprehensively.

The Man Himself
27/07/2007, 7:22 PM
I disagree. I hope Rovers win comprehensively.

no way man, rovers will hammer them.
rovers are s**t

27/07/2007, 7:24 PM
Pats 1-0. Guy.

27/07/2007, 7:26 PM
Shels lead Dundalk

Lims r 0-0 too :p stay the same would do me :cool:

27/07/2007, 7:35 PM
Monaghan lead Kilkenny 1-0.

27/07/2007, 7:58 PM
Apparently Bray-Longford is a great game with lots of open play and good football.

27/07/2007, 8:00 PM
Apparently Bray-Longford is a great game with lots of open play and good football.

Why did i have to bloody work tonight :mad::mad:

27/07/2007, 8:01 PM
It would seem your job is as demanding as mine :)

27/07/2007, 8:08 PM
It would seem your job is as demanding as mine :)

At least i'm getting to watch the footie. shouldnt complain really :ball: