View Full Version : Wes Hoolahan (M Cambridge Utd b.1982)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23

Crosby87
04/08/2015, 6:15 PM
Recent moves: O'Dea is playing in India?

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/

05/08/2015, 9:41 AM
So, is Norwich the official foot.ie irish forum EPL team of the season? Or is it still Stoke? Especially if Moseley Shoals breaks through...

Who are our Championship teams of interest?

I thought we had nailed our colours to the Go Ahead Eagles mast?

05/08/2015, 9:44 AM
I thought we had nailed our colours to the Go Ahead Eagles mast?

wrong forum

TheOneWhoKnocks
15/08/2015, 2:49 PM
GOAL! SUNDERLAND 0-2 NORWICH (Whittaker 37)

It gets better for Norwich! Alex Neil is yet to lose an away game, and it's looking good for him again! Lovely goal, Whittaker racing on to a return flick from Hoolahan and firing clean and true across Pantilimon

2nd assist of the season for Hoolahan.

http://www.skysports.com/football/sland-vs-norwich/341202

GOAL! SUNDERLAND 0-3 NORWICH (Redmond 57)

Dear, dear and thrice dear. Sunderland supporters are streaming out already as Redmond adds a third for Norwich! Another picture-book goal, Redmond playing a give-and-go with Hoolahan and sliding a finish inside the near post. Sunderland are statues, though, and again Cattermole gives it away in the passage of play leading up to it...

3rd assist of the season for Hoolahan. Thank god Dick Advocaat isn't managing him..

gastric
15/08/2015, 9:52 PM
Hoolahan has been brilliant this season so far. He is running the show and he is sheer quality. Good to see our Nathan Redmond score too TOWK!

16/08/2015, 3:21 AM
Hoolahan has been brilliant this season so far. He is running the show and he is sheer quality. Good to see our Nathan Redmond score too TOWK!Wor our lad Nathan lad

DeLorean
17/08/2015, 9:33 AM
Hoolahan was the BBC man of the match (http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/33832128)

Wes Hoolahan provided the killer pass for two of Norwich's goals and was composed in possession throughout

30/08/2015, 1:19 PM
Got nervous when I saw he'd been substituted early in the game against Southampton today, but it was only because Whitaker had been sent off and Wes was sacrificed to bring on Wisdom.

12/09/2015, 2:47 PM
Great assist for Wesley
https://streamable.com/r4e7
and i will add a goal to that too
https://streamable.com/y0x3

MeathDrog
12/09/2015, 3:15 PM
Add a goal to that too.

CraftyToePoke
12/09/2015, 9:12 PM
Of Norwich 8 goals this season he has scored one and had four assists so far.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/34160708

Olé Olé
12/09/2015, 10:36 PM
That is some statistic. He's playing some cracking stuff at 33. I really hope he manages to extend his PL career as it's a cruel reflection on his career that this is his 4th season there at the age off 33.

Not making any form of comparison between the pair (Duff is incomparable), but it's just a funny little contrast to note that the Duffer had 14 seasons in the PL at the same age.

Crosby87
12/09/2015, 11:16 PM
Some MLS team is going to swoop in for Wes in the twilight of his career.

DeLorean
13/09/2015, 7:40 PM
Of Norwich 8 goals this season he has scored one and had four assists so far.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/34160708

Just watched the highlights on MOTD there and they mentioned this too. He looked brilliant and Brady seemed very good also and unlucky not to score when he hit the post. He also made a brilliant tackle to keep it at 0-0. Hoolahan could have had another assist but Jerome hit the side netting. The Irish commentator on MOTD did the match and singled out Hoolahan in his interview with Alex Neil who was full of praise. Shearer and Ian Wright analysed his performance afterwards so well worth a watch for anybody who recorded it.

13/09/2015, 8:38 PM
Saw that. Wes and Brady were really good. Deserved the acclaim.

DeLorean
13/09/2015, 9:29 PM
He's moving very well for a 33 year old. There could be a few years in him yet.

13/09/2015, 9:43 PM
I'm in a running club here. My club mate is 54, resting heart rate 27 - seriously - and smashes out incredible times for any age, let alone 54. He reckons his late arrival in running means he has young legs. Another club mate, 62, says there's a theory that every runner has 7 peak years in him / her but it doesn't matter when they are. He's enjoying his purple patch having only taken it up 5 years ago. 19 mins for 5k for a 62 y/o. Wes is probably benefitting from the slower pace of lower league football and being used sporadically as he has risen up. In running terms, he still has young legs. I see a lot of Lubo Moravcik in him. He was still brilliant at 35. Also, Wes excelled from wide positions (where he started at Shels?) on Saturday, endorsing KK's view that we need to change shape with Wes starting wife and cutting in. He has the toolkit.

Crosby87
13/09/2015, 11:53 PM
Stutts did you ever hear of the book Born to Run by Christopher McDougall? It's about the people who run those 100 mile races and this tribe of people in south America who have endless stamina....it was fascinating. Book did very well.

14/09/2015, 4:26 AM
I'm in a running club here. My club mate is 54, resting heart rate 27 - seriously - and smashes out incredible times for any age, let alone 54. He reckons his late arrival in running means he has young legs. Another club mate, 62, says there's a theory that every runner has 7 peak years in him / her but it doesn't matter when they are. He's enjoying his purple patch having only taken it up 5 years ago. 19 mins for 5k for a 62 y/o. Wes is probably benefitting from the slower pace of lower league football and being used sporadically as he has risen up. In running terms, he still has young legs. I see a lot of Lubo Moravcik in him. He was still brilliant at 35. Also, Wes excelled from wide positions (where he started at Shels?) on Saturday, endorsing KK's view that we need to change shape with Wes starting wife and cutting in. He has the toolkit.

Pace is not really a big part of his game a lot of it is the mental aspects of it, being able to see a pass and make it, also mental pace,
being able to out think other players, ie I think for his goal both defenders expect him to pass and were more concerned with cutting
out his passing options, so he said, thank you very much and put it in the back of the net himself.

But I think stamina plays a part, he only tend to play about 70 mins, however maybe also his style is not suited to the
latter stages of the game when it tend to go more long ball and a taller guy tend to be preferred whether you are defending or
attacking.

14/09/2015, 10:19 AM

The best ive ever done is about 20:.. That is serious going. Granted I am not fit and in no way comparable but still!

14/09/2015, 10:22 AM
made the BBC team of the week...

I haven't a clue why Wes Hoolahan spent part of the game with his shin pad in his hand but it was during that period that the Republic of Ireland international found the inspiration to waltz through the Bournemouth defence and present Cameron Jerome with his first Premier League goal of the season.

From then on Hoolahan simply ran the show and was aptly rewarded for his efforts when he put the game well and truly beyond the visitors with a superb solo effort. Like picking Cherries.

dr_peepee
14/09/2015, 10:57 AM
Just watched the highlights on MOTD there and they mentioned this too. He looked brilliant and Brady seemed very good also and unlucky not to score when he hit the post. He also made a brilliant tackle to keep it at 0-0. Hoolahan could have had another assist but Jerome hit the side netting. The Irish commentator on MOTD did the match and singled out Hoolahan in his interview with Alex Neil who was full of praise. Shearer and Ian Wright analysed his performance afterwards so well worth a watch for anybody who recorded it.

I was listening to the 606 podcast and a Norwich fan waxed lyrical about Hoolahan but Savage and Fletcher barely acknowledged it, I thought. Spoke more about Jarvis and Redmond.

seanfhear
14/09/2015, 6:08 PM
made the BBC team of the week...

I haven't a clue why Wes Hoolahan spent part of the game with his shin pad in his hand but it was during that period that the Republic of Ireland international found the inspiration to waltz through the Bournemouth defence and present Cameron Jerome with his first Premier League goal of the season.

From then on Hoolahan simply ran the show and was aptly rewarded for his efforts when he put the game well and truly beyond the visitors with a superb solo effort. Like picking Cherries. Obviously using it as some sort of balance aid ! !. From now on there should be intermittent weighing of players during games to stamp out this sort of thing and checking for suspicious technology !

14/09/2015, 6:58 PM
Wars referred to as "Hot Lips" by Jeff Skelling on Saturday. You'd probably need to be of a certain age to get it.

Eminence Grise
14/09/2015, 8:31 PM
If Hot Lips was singing the chorus of the theme tune in Irish squads, that would explain some of the defending over the last few years.

back of the net
19/09/2015, 12:19 PM
Just watching Soccer Saturday here on Sky Sports News....the lads (all of them) are raving about Hoolahan .

All were shocked when they were told his age (33) .... as they were of the opinion that he should be playing for a bigger club as they thought he was younger

Just learned that in Norwich's last 14 wins ...Hoolahan started everyone of them

Also the panel were singing the praises of Robbie Brady... all very impressed with him as a player

20/09/2015, 4:27 PM
Dropped to the bench the Liverpool game.

Olé Olé
26/09/2015, 5:20 PM
Irish impact on the Norwich result today. First goal for Brady and Wes set up Redmond for the second. 5th assist of the season for Wes and he now tops the assist charts. Cracking stuff.

26/09/2015, 8:18 PM
I was going to say Wes did not do much, ie Redmond did most of the work himself, which he did from one point of view,
however looking at it again when Wes picks up the balls he pretty much has his back the Redmond and he wrong footed the
defence by flicking out a pass to him with the outside of his boot giving Redmond acres of space to run into.

So credit to Wes and Norwich, West Ham would have been second had they won so a good point away from home.

Olé Olé
30/09/2015, 9:30 AM
Guess who's joined top assister in Europe's top leagues: http://www.football365.com/news/numbers-and-stats-europes-top-five-leagues

Brazil and Bayern's €30m man isn't on his own with 5.

01/10/2015, 3:26 AM
Also note Damien Delaney.

Most clearances (per game)
Brede Hangeland (Crystal Palace) – 12.7
Bernardo (Sporting Gijon) – 11.6
Ervin Zukanovic (Sampdoria) – 10
Damien Delaney (Crystal Palace) – 9.8
Sebastien Bassong (Norwich City) – 9.6

But he is not the best for clearances for Palace by a good distance!!

01/10/2015, 8:58 AM
Also note Damien Delaney.

Most clearances (per game)
Brede Hangeland (Crystal Palace) – 12.7
Bernardo (Sporting Gijon) – 11.6
Ervin Zukanovic (Sampdoria) – 10
Damien Delaney (Crystal Palace) – 9.8
Sebastien Bassong (Norwich City) – 9.6

But he is not the best for clearances for Palace by a good distance!!
The Premier League doesn't really feature prominently in many of those lists, but it comes into its own when it comes to hoofing long balls down to the opposition box!

02/10/2015, 12:12 AM
The Premier League doesn't really feature prominently in many of those lists, but it comes into its own when it comes to hoofing long balls down to the opposition box!

Yea I was thinking pretty much the same thing myself, ie it is not necessarily the best list to feature on!

However Palace are joint 5th.

Note Norwich's Bassong is also on the list.

Also note PL teams pack the most dispossessed table!!

02/10/2015, 1:34 AM
Is Paul Green still top of the harrying table?

02/10/2015, 9:05 AM
Is Paul Green still top of the harrying table?

Released by Sheffield Wednesday when a youth - he must have been really bad. All joking aside, I think Green got undue stick from the anti-Trap lobby because of who Trap was not picking instead of him. He did ok when he played for us, especially away to Sweden. Now lost in the mists of the metropolis of Rotherham.

02/10/2015, 9:19 AM
Released by Sheffield Wednesday when a youth - he must have been really bad. All joking aside, .....

Joking?

I think Green got undue stick from the anti-Trap lobby because of who Trap was not picking instead of him. He did ok when he played for us, especially away to Sweden.

Green was a stopgap.

02/10/2015, 9:31 AM
Released by Sheffield Wednesday when a youth - he must have been really bad. All joking aside, I think Green got undue stick from the anti-Trap lobby because of who Trap was not picking instead of him. He did ok when he played for us, especially away to Sweden. Now lost in the mists of the metropolis of Rotherham.

This, he was picking Green, who is a solid pro and did what was asked of him, over Andy Reid who was a favourite of the fans, and press. Not saying he was right, far from it, but Green didn't deserve the majority of the criticism he did get

02/10/2015, 10:45 AM
Paul I'd disagree if I knew what you were saying.

02/10/2015, 10:55 AM
I can't edit?it keeps deleting my posts :(

I was trying to say green gave us something the other midfielders didn't and went against what the pro trap brigade used to defend trap and his system.

He was the little jack Russell in midfield that we needed. He was one of our better players for 27mins against Slovakia and did well against Sweden away too.

02/10/2015, 11:01 AM
For whatever qualities Green had, his inclusion in the team was somewhat disheartening. He became a symbol for Trapattoni's style of play, and lack of faith in the players at his disposal. Rather than seek to improve our style of play in the positive sense, Trapattoni became progressively more negative during his tenure in charge. Green's inclusion in the team exemplifies this. Our goals against record was not poor before Green's arrival on the scene, but our goals for record was. Green was brought in to make us more defensively sound, when the team was crying out for more creativity. I'd imagine that's why "most" had a problem with Green.

02/10/2015, 11:23 AM
contemporaries

02/10/2015, 11:25 AM
Feck. He wasn't a like for like replacement but he did more than his contemporaries did in traps system, he proactively tried to break down opposition attacks by harrying and chomping and trying to get tackles in.

DeLorean
02/10/2015, 11:30 AM
For whatever qualities Green had, his inclusion in the team was somewhat disheartening. He became a symbol for Trapattoni's style of play, and lack of faith in the players at his disposal. Rather than seek to improve our style of play in the positive sense, Trapattoni became progressively more negative during his tenure in charge. Green's inclusion in the team exemplifies this. Our goals against record was not poor before Green's arrival on the scene, but our goals for record was. Green was brought in to make us more defensively sound, when the team was crying out for more creativity. I'd imagine that's why "most" had a problem with Green.

His inclusion was no more disheartening than what was already there though, and I agree with Paul that he was a different and arguably more effective type of player than the alternatives. I think he was a default reference point for people who liked to have a go at the Irish team, mainly because he came from relative obscurity, his club status and probably even his general appearance. Anybody who actually took notice of him in the games he played for us could hardly have had many complaints. I think Andy Reid & co. being left out is a slightly separate matter, if that's what you're referring to, as very few managers would trust him as part of a two man midfield anyway. If the likes of Reid or even Hoolahan were to be accommodated, it wasn't likely to be at Green's expense anyway.

What I remember finding disheartening was Whelan falling straight back into the side instead of Green, just days after he played an important part in one of our much better midfield performances in Stockholm.

02/10/2015, 12:22 PM

Most could see he was below the standard required. He struggled to pass the ball, let alone control it. Green broke up weak play by the opposition but added zero creativity to our play. His inclusion in the team actually hampered our ability to be creative.

Yard of Pace
02/10/2015, 12:59 PM
What I remember finding disheartening was Whelan in the side .

Wait? He still is? Aaaarrrggghhhh!!

DeLorean
02/10/2015, 1:10 PM
Most could see he was below the standard required. He struggled to pass the ball, let alone control it. Green broke up weak play by the opposition but added zero creativity to our play. His inclusion in the team actually hampered our ability to be creative.

Around the time he was used, any creativity we had came from our wingers anyway, with or without Green in the side. We had some of our better midfield performances (post Stephen Reid) with Green in the team, most notably the trips to Armenia and Sweden. Blaming him for our lack of creativity is baffling given how little Whelan, etc. offered in that department.

I agree he's below the 'ideal' standard required.

DeLorean
02/10/2015, 1:12 PM
What I remember finding disheartening was Whelan in the side .

Wait? He still is? Aaaarrrggghhhh!!

I think he's lived a charmed life myself but I do think he's had a couple of really good performances this year, particularly against Poland and Georgia.

02/10/2015, 2:26 PM
Around the time he was used, any creativity we had came from our wingers anyway, with or without Green in the side. We had some of our better midfield performances (post Stephen Reid) with Green in the team, most notably the trips to Armenia and Sweden. Blaming him for our lack of creativity is baffling given how little Whelan, etc. offered in that department.

I agree he's below the 'ideal' standard required.

I'm not blaming Green for our lack of creativity, merely remarking his inclusion in the side did not help the team's creativity. He said himself the following:

"Obviously with Trapattoni giving me my chance, I’m very grateful,” he said. “It was a bit more of a sitting role under himself.
The way Martin wants you to play now, it’s high tempo, breaking things up in their third. We are really pressing as a team now and it would be great for me to do that. http://www.the42.ie/ireland-italy-craven-cottage-1499882-Jun2014/

The central midfield partnership were asked to sit in position by Trapattoni. Trapattoni did not encourage the chosen partnership to be "playmakers". That's why Green's inclusion in the team was disheartening. Trapattoni desired to limit the creativity of our central midfielders and playing Green ensured that because his ability on the ball was not the best.

DeLorean
02/10/2015, 2:54 PM
Fair enough... that was just par for the course under Trap though, not really a stick for so many to beat Green with, but I know what you're saying.

02/10/2015, 8:48 PM
Ya and that was actually my point that was traps horrible system supposedly but yet green actually didn't do that so it was good and/or surprising that he was picked and therefore strange that people used it as a further stick to beat trap with when they all knew the type of system trap played and told those in it to sit deep. It also sort of went against what the pro trap argument was and defending players like whelan and Gibson etc from the usual suspects (recently popped up under DG case in point)because it nullified their points completely as when a player who can play it does it rather effectively.