View Full Version : Emelka Onwubiko

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

greendeiseboy
23/02/2007, 8:07 AM
Surprised no one has picked up on this.

Nigerian born Emelha Onwubiko has been granted irish citizeship which will enable resume his irish under age international career.

Seemingly this lad is a good prospect and has his his heart set on playing for us rather than the country of his birth - a compliment to the country that he has chosen as his new home.

He has also reportedly attracted interest from abroad and is now free to go on trial with these clubs.

This raises a interesting question that given the amount of foreign nationals currently living here is it conceivable that in say 10 - 15 years time that we could field an international team where the majority of players representing us are doing so in the same manner as this young lad i.e. having no ancsteral link to ireland but happy and proud enough to play for us?

23/02/2007, 8:15 AM
I'm not being smart or bigoted but this shyte talk of 'ancestral link' gets my fcuking goat up. If thats the case there have been plenty of players who played for England whose ancestral link is more inclined to the Carribean or the Sub Saharan.
None of us gave a fcuk that Paul McGraths aul lad was a Nigerian. None of us gives a fcuk that Robbie Keane's folks are scanger Dubs. Once someone is eligible and gives his all playing for us thats more than enough. Whoring themselves about like some of our recent internationals is what gets peoples goat up.

As for this lad Emelka, if he's good enough to be a potential senior international in a few years then even more happy days. In terms of heritage and family this country is more fcuked up than most. It certainly isn't as simple as having 11 Irish born Irish men representing us. If we have a team of foreign 2gs foreign 3gs, Irish Poles, Irish Africans, Irish Czech and a few Kerrymen thrown in and it won us a trophy I'd be happy.

Reddladd
23/02/2007, 8:31 AM
If the day arrives in 10-15 years that we have 11 Emelha Onwubiko's playing for Ireland then that's the day that I stop going to Ireland internationals.

Collyontour
23/02/2007, 8:42 AM
If the day arrives in 10-15 years that we have 11 Emelha Onwubiko's playing for Ireland then that's the day that I stop going to Ireland internationals.

Ah come on. That's the sort of sh**e I'd expect from the BNP

23/02/2007, 8:43 AM

...and close the door behind you. May be we should adopt the Nazis aryan policy and insist on 4 generations of "untainted" Irish blood before we permit someone to don the green jersey. We now live in a multi-cultural society. Get used to it or join the National front :rolleyes:

Dr. Ogba
23/02/2007, 8:46 AM

Oh dear...:rolleyes:

greendeiseboy
23/02/2007, 8:49 AM
[QUOTE=Kingdom;629415]I'm not being smart or bigoted but this shyte talk of 'ancestral link' gets my fcuking goat up. If thats the case there have been plenty of players who played for England whose ancestral link is more inclined to the Carribean or the Sub Saharan.

i agree fully with what you are saying - and if thats what it takes to win us a trophy i've no problem with that. the point of the thread is merely to comment on a situation that could become a reality in the near future (not in a negative or racist way) and we should welcome it if and when it does

23/02/2007, 9:11 AM

I can understand where you're coming from, however, that comes across as pretty racist. I won't be attending another Irish game until the full squad is completely Irish men who I feel represent me!

23/02/2007, 9:19 AM
I'm far happier with this lad playing for Ireland than the likes of Andy Townsend or Matt Holland. This guy has contributed to the country.

I've met him through work and for the past 4 years he's been telling people he's going to play for Ireland.

As for the disgraceful comment above...

endabob1
23/02/2007, 9:36 AM

So much for the "New" Ireland! Why don't you stop going now after all Clinton Morrison isn't really Irish is he :rolleyes:

23/02/2007, 9:37 AM
We've had years of teams with many players with nothing but a tenuous (in many cases) ancestral link to Ireland, but you'd have a problem with players raised (and come 10 to 15 years) born in Ireland?

23/02/2007, 9:37 AM

Have a word with yourself, a disgraceful comment.:mad:

RogerMilla
23/02/2007, 9:43 AM
reddladd , we sure won't miss you , dont let the door bang yer hole

23/02/2007, 9:50 AM
Disgraceful comment redladd, haven't we treaded this territory before?

23/02/2007, 9:56 AM
Can this thread be thrown into rubbish? And if anyone knows Redladd can they give him a good kick up the hole and one for me as well.

23/02/2007, 10:14 AM
I think the thread should remain open if only so Reddladd can see that his opinion is very much in the minority.

23/02/2007, 10:17 AM
Ah come on. That's the sort of sh**e I'd expect from the BNP

The BNP stopped going to Ireland matches years ago ;)

Rossi
23/02/2007, 10:18 AM
id rather a Nigerian born Irishman than a plastic Paddy anyday

23/02/2007, 10:21 AM
I'm just going to stick up for reddladd here

Seriously the sheep like behaviour on here sometimes is pathetic :rolleyes:

He's entitled to his own opinion same as any of the good guys here :rolleyes:

If he feels a team of ahem (Searches for least possible offensive comment) different ethnicities doesn't represent him then fair enough that's his opinion and he's entitled to it

You don't have to actually follow Ireland by law do you??

RogerMilla
23/02/2007, 10:24 AM
now lim you know you can't defend it, come on sing along

we all dream of a team of Emelka Onwubiko's

23/02/2007, 10:27 AM
And we have the right to attack his opinion that black irishman shouldn't be allowed play for the team he supports (and you can dress it anyway you like, thats exactly what he's saying)

23/02/2007, 10:28 AM
now lim you know you can't defend it, come on sing along

we all dream of a team of Emelka Onwubiko's

I'm defending his right to an opinion

Besides anyone who would say for example a complete 11 of Nigerian born players would be fine by them has serious denial issues

Isn't it ironic the way political correctness can infringe on peoples human rights :p

23/02/2007, 10:31 AM
And we have the right to attack his opinion that black irishman shouldn't be allowed play for the team he supports (and you can dress it anyway you like, thats exactly what he's saying)

Indeed you do Dodge, just trying to bring a bit of balance to the debate :)

Besides stuff like:

if anyone knows Redladd can they give him a good kick up the hole and one for me as well.

doesn't exactly represent a strong counter-argument now does it

23/02/2007, 10:31 AM
I'm just going to stick up for reddladd here

Seriously the sheep like behaviour on here sometimes is pathetic :rolleyes:

He's entitled to his own opinion same as any of the good guys here :rolleyes:

If he feels a team of ahem (Searches for least possible offensive comment) different ethnicities doesn't represent him then fair enough that's his opinion and he's entitled to it

You don't have to actually follow Ireland by law do you??

Just cause most people here have a reasonable opinion it does not mean they are sheep. If thats the case anybody who believes in democracy is a sheep. One should grow out of just trying to be different for the sake of it after the age of 15.

Disgraceful comment from Redlad in my view.

23/02/2007, 10:32 AM
Besides anyone who would say for example a complete 11 of Nigerian born players would be fine by them has serious denial issues

Don't often say this but you're ****ing idiot if you actually think that. You have a fairly high opinion of yourself too. How ****ing ironic you're defending the rascist giving his opinion while you seem to think that you know EVERYONE's feelings on the matter.

co. down green
23/02/2007, 10:34 AM
Seriously the sheep like behaviour on here sometimes is pathetic

Whats pathetic is reddladd's post.

greendeiseboy
23/02/2007, 10:36 AM
I raised this thread to open a mature discussion on how ordinary football fans would debate this issue - it was not opened with the view to have a debate on racism.

The views i was hoping to be expressed were on the lines that here was a young lad who had to leave his homeland for whatever reasons regardless of his colour or creed and was only too glad to wear the green (irish) jersey of his adopted country.

and also to discuss how in the future that this would be a common occurence and not headline making.

unfortunately this thread has been hijacked by a mindless statement and regret now that i opened it.

23/02/2007, 10:37 AM
Don't often say this but you're ****ing idiot if you actually think that.

The thread has just been blessed with more well thought out argument :rolleyes:

How ****ing ironic you're defending the rascist

Funny, if I called someone a racist without proof I'd probably have a mod on to me

You have a fairly high opinion of yourself too.

Yup

23/02/2007, 10:38 AM
Seriously the sheep like behaviour on here sometimes is pathetic

Whats pathetic is reddladd's post.

Everything to do with Irish football in general is pathetic

Check out my sig :p

23/02/2007, 10:47 AM
unfortunately this thread has been hijacked by a mindless statement and regret now that i opened it.
But thats the nature of internet forums.

Lim til i die, why would you be banned for calling someone who doens't want black Irishman to play for Ireland a rascist? Seems pretty clear to me. But them I'm not stuck my own arse thinking I'm great for not being a sheep and try desparately to be controversial

My last post on the topic. Another mod can look after it...

Good look to the lad, seems he has a few more barriers to break down before he can get on with just playing football

23/02/2007, 10:49 AM
Just cause most people here have a reasonable opinion it does not mean they are sheep.
If thats the case anybody who believes in democracy is a sheep.

And anybody who doesn't is unreasonable?? That's pretty unreasonable

One should grow out of just trying to be different for the sake of it after the age of 15.

Wow that's pretty patronising. Luckily I don't know you well enough to respect you or I could find that upsetting :rolleyes:

Disgraceful comment from Redlad in my view

I think one of the points I was making (who the hell knows anymore) is why would everyone feel the need to come hairng in with the exact same opinions. Surely having your opinion vindicated once or twice in the thread would be enough to keep the mouse from the reply button :confused:

23/02/2007, 10:54 AM
Lim til i die, why would you be banned for calling someone who doens't want black Irishman to play for Ireland a rascist?

Surely you can't accuse someone of something so serious because of one remark on a forum??

Example: I'm a drunk driver and last night on my way home I ploughed through someones front wall and got out and ran off

There, got that off my chest. Are you gonna call the guards now??

But them I'm not stuck my own arse thinking I'm great for not being a sheep and try desparately to be controversial

Ya, that's why I'm of that opinion Dodge well spotted you read me like a book :rolleyes:

How do you know I'm not just another one of those nasty racists??

23/02/2007, 11:02 AM
OK final last post...

That opinion he spoouted is rascist, therefore he's a rascist. If you said women shouldn't be allowed drive, you're a sexist (and/or mysogenist). If you said nobody born in Nigeria should work in the civil service, you're a rascist. It doens't mean you're going to set up an Irish KKK and burn crosses on their front lawn but it is rascist.

And roll your eyes all you want, I've read enough of your posts to have an opinion on you. It might be wrong but surely you wouldn't deny my right to have this opinion.

Billsthoughts
23/02/2007, 11:05 AM
he isnt expressing an opinion. he is just expressing his own prejudice and ignorance.as are you.:mad:(eh lim til I die that is...)

23/02/2007, 11:08 AM
And roll your eyes all you want, I've read enough of your posts to have an opinion on you.

Nice to know someones paying attention. I can set up a blog should you want to read more of my musings......

It might be wrong but surely you wouldn't deny my right to have this opinion

Of course I wouldn't

Like Reddladds opinion it's not right but I'll fight tooth and nail for your right to express it ;)

23/02/2007, 11:11 AM
he isnt expressing an opinion. he is just expressing his own prejudice and ignorance.as are you.:mad:(eh lim til I die that is...)

My beliefs are absolutely none of your business but I can assure you I know enough to know the world doesn't boil down to something as simple as :

Black = Bad
White = Good

Sheeeeeeeeeeeeesssssssssh

Nailer77
23/02/2007, 11:29 AM
Nice to know someones paying attention. I can set up a blog should you want to read more of my musings......

Of course I wouldn't

Like Reddladds opinion it's not right but I'll fight tooth and nail for your right to express it ;)

As admirable as your attempts are at defending free speach your on a loser here. redladd clearly has a problem with skin colour or names that are difficult to spell or else he'd have stopped supporting the Irish team donkey years ago when it was predominantly represented by British born 'Irish' internationals.

So while redladd is entitled to have his opinion and post it, we're all equally entitled to say its sh1te and brodering on racism, which it is. And that doesn't make us sheep either.

dr_peepee
23/02/2007, 11:32 AM
Coming over here.... Scoring our goals!

23/02/2007, 11:34 AM
As admirable as your attempts are at defending free speach your on a loser here. redladd clearly has a problem with skin colour or names that are difficult to spell or else he'd have stopped supporting the Irish team donkey years ago when it was predominantly represented by British born 'Irish' internationals.

So while redladd is entitled to have his opinion and post it, we're all equally entitled to say its sh1te and brodering on racism, which it is. And that doesn't make us sheep either.

In fairness I never said his opinion was right and I'd be inclined to agree with your reading of things

Tried to explain, the sheep thing above......... Oh never mind, it was flippant more than anything, I apologise people :o

23/02/2007, 11:34 AM
I wonder what would Reddlanger's opinion be or yours for that matter LTID if the boy was living here all his life, earning a decent crust playing pro football week in week out and was given the opportunity to play for us but turned it down because he wanted to play for Nigeria, Ghana, fcuking Togo or whatever? Reddladd would be spouting all shyte like ya hear everyday on the luas, or the train or the bus: 'freeloaders, scabs, fcukin fugees, take all the want but never give anything back'.
This shyte goes on all the time.

23/02/2007, 11:38 AM
I wonder what would Reddlanger's opinion be or yours for that matter LTID if the boy was living here all his life, earning a decent crust playing pro football week in week out and was given the opportunity to play for us but turned it down because he wanted to play for Nigeria, Ghana, fcuking Togo or whatever?

Couldn't really give a toss about the national teams fortunes tbh but for what it's worth.......

I assuming he'd be paying tax while playing pro ball here (You never know though :p ) so whats the problem??

23/02/2007, 11:47 AM
Couldn't really give a toss about the national teams fortunes tbh but for what it's worth.......

I assuming he'd be paying tax while playing pro ball here (You never know though :p ) so whats the problem??

Then why post in the national teams forum then. It could not be as a WUM could it.

RogerMilla
23/02/2007, 11:48 AM
i am having doubts now as i rack my brains trying to think up songs which can fit the young fellas name in...

23/02/2007, 11:50 AM
So, anywho, exactly what club has Onwubiko been playing with up to now?

Sligo Hornet
23/02/2007, 11:54 AM
Reddladd......shame on you!....perhaps you should "Be-on-your-Biko"!!;)

23/02/2007, 11:57 AM
Then why post in the national teams forum then. It could not be as a WUM could it.

There's a difference between not giving a toss whether they suceed or not and being curious about whats going on

If you must know what attracted me to this thread was the odd name on the youngfella :p

Oops, that's not racist is it??

RogerMilla
23/02/2007, 12:00 PM
right , argument over lads , who has seen him play?

Collyontour
Coming over here.... Scoring our goals!

Exactly:D

i am having doubts now as i rack my brains trying to think up songs which can fit the young fellas name in...

Heeeeeeeeey Onwubiko
OH AH
I wannnnnnnnna knnnnnnoooooooow ooooo
if you'll score a goal

Now don't let it be said I contributed nothing to this thread :p :)

Jamjar
23/02/2007, 12:05 PM

Maybe he's arguing against cloning.