View Full Version : Emelka Onwubiko

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

Nailer77
09/03/2007, 11:00 AM
my two cents... i moved here to Canada last year with my canadian fiancee. Her surname is Brcic and, probably obviously, she comes from a Croatian family. Both her parents left Croatia in the 70's and settled here with their eldest daughter who was aged 6/7 at the time. They had 3 more daughters while living here. The eldest is 40 and the youngest is 25.

All four of them consider themselves both Croatian and Canadian. They all speak Croatian pretty much fluently. The only boys in the family are their cousins who live in B.C. and they are fiercely Croatian, extremely nationalist. They insist that their future kids would play sawker for Croatia and not Canada. Ive mentioned to herself that if i have kids born here, theyll play for Ireland - not Croatia and deffo not Canada. Shes not concerned. Nice wan. :D

But i guess the point i am making is that the desire (or otherwise) of the next African-Irish generation and the generation after to play for Ireland will have alot to do with their parents and how their parents feel about Ireland and their experience integrating with Irish people and Irish culture and of course Irish people accepting certain aspects of African culture.

Exactly, its not set in stone. Of course the fact that Canada are generally pretty much muck at sawkerball means the decision is easier to make. Its a different story say in England or France or Portugal or Holland were these countries are considered world powers in football in comparison to the country of origin for many of these second generation immigrants. The lure of playing for a world footballing power as opposed to a small regional one may be too strong. Or even in the case of two football powerhouses. Look at Higuain the Madrid striker. I'm pretty sure he was born in France to French parents but reared in Argentina. When France called him up, he refused. He wanted to think about it as he obviously felt some connection the Argentina.

To make a final comparison with another sport. Look at the Joyce situation in cricket, he's Irish so why choose to play for England? For the sake of his career is why. People can criticise him and possibly rightly so but its just an example of how these future generations may see there future.

lopez
10/03/2007, 12:28 PM
You may read that again pal, it was a reference to what I'd said not you...And your 'always outbid the state' comment is about as final as my 'will likely' comment which I had the good grace to retract and admit that something less definite would have been more prudent. So again as I've said its a case that some might, some might not.
In the interests of reconciliation etc set by Bill and yourself I take back the obviously final statement of always.

Say a kid of Rwandan/Nigerian/Congolese/Albanian etc extraction is born and living here. They go to school here, they play football locally. Then they get picked up by a professional outfit. They play football at quite a high level, they get recognised by our national team scouts. They're asked to represent us. Do you think they'll just turn us down flat out? Or might they consider it given the bonuses that come with being an international footballer and given that they were born and raised here they might, just might, consider themselves Irish and not even have to think about it. If you can't see that that may be a possiblilty then you've a pretty limited black and white view of the world and discussing this any further with you is pointless.
I've already stated that it could be that Onwubiko could 'feels as Irish as Guinness. It could also be because he's thinks he's got no chance of getting into the Nigerian team.'

Did I say the holocaust was hyperbole??? Really?? Again read it properly (you seem to be having a bit of difficulty in that department). They're some pretty twisted words to be trying to out in my mouth lopez.I said it was blantant hyperbole of you to choose that as an example when there were far more moderate examples in the French/English/Portuguese/ nationals sides. Doesn't do much good to your extreme arguement though, but it might be an idea to leave muck like that out of the discussion.
A blow below the belt from me, so apologies. It's obvious you don't think that. However the point I was making was that history should teach us not to be complacent on matters like this. The fact that France, Holland and England have multi-coloured teams doesn't mean that racism is eliminated, in the same way as Jews were higly represented in German cultural life in 1907, only to be subject to Government sponsored murder within four decades.

And finally no I don't think I multcultural team is the answer to the racists, I don't recall saying anything of the like. Its you that seems to want to bring the politics of immigration into it. All I'm saying is that I've no problem with POSSIBLE future citizens of this country representing our national side regardless of their ethnic extraction.
The politics of immigration was brought into this debate by reddladd. I came in when the inevitiable sweeping statements about the Irish internationals born abroad started, and the disgraceful statement from Rossi that a Nigerian living in Ireland is more worthy of representing the country than a 'plastic paddy'. Obviously, according to both you and Billsthoughts, it's OK to question Reddlad's ignorance but not Rossi's.

It would appear its a problem for you though or is it? It'd help if you'd clear that up one way or the other.What is the problem I supposedly have? That I don't want blacks playing for Ireland? I've edited nothing on here so let's see what I've said.

About Reddlad's comments: 'I'd describe your statement as racist - because it clearly is that..' (Post#90)

About immigration: I wouldn't demonise people who show concern for immigration. There are numerous good reasons to question immigration - just as there are good reasons for it. (Post #90)

About Onwubiko playing for Ireland: 'It could be that he feels as Irish as Guinness. It could also be because he's thinks he's got no chance of getting into the Nigerian team. Ever thought of that one?' (Post #123)

In response to Charliesboots post '..The most important thing to me is that we have a team representing Ireland that want to represent Ireland as it is the country they associate themselves with. I couldn't give a sh!t if none were white, none were catholic once they felt Irish. That's how they would represent me, by being Irish too.' : That's good enough for most Irish football fans. (which I should have added, me too) (Post # 147)

I hope that 'clears that up' for you. Maybe next time you might care to read through the whole thread first.

10/03/2007, 2:52 PM
Ive mentioned to herself that if i have kids born here, theyll play for Ireland
If there's no doubt with your seed, time to stop the talking about the doing.

zenokelly
10/03/2007, 6:58 PM
Lads there is already 205 comments of garbage on this topic. Has anybody ever seen this lad kick a ball. He might never even play a game for any Ireland team so cut the craap and stop posting sh!te here.

lopez
10/03/2007, 8:51 PM
Lads there is already 205 comments of garbage on this topic. Has anybody ever seen this lad kick a ball. He might never even play a game for any Ireland team so cut the craap and stop posting sh!te here.You think this is cr*p? Take a look at the debates of Morrisson v Connolly or O'Dea v O'Brien arguments. Bit like which one you'd like to make love to: Claudia Schiffer or Salma Hayek. :rolleyes: Or maybe in the case of Morrison and Connolly, Mary Harney or Vanessa Feltz. :eek: :D

Nailer77
13/03/2007, 10:33 AM
In the interests of reconciliation etc set by Bill and
I hope that 'clears that up' for you. Maybe next time you might care to read through the whole thread first.

I'll certainly try to, some advice you might consider tryin to apply to your own posts aswell. Anyway we may leave it there.

28/07/2007, 3:14 PM
For those interested, he made his Bray debut last night. Played about 20 minutes in our 3-1 defeat to Longford. He showed some good touches. He wants to get on the ball. He loves to run with it too. He had one decent chance at an angle which he blasted towards the corner flag, straight across goal.

He's very skinny and short. I take it he's still growing and he'll bulk up hopefully. He isn't the best communicator and his eagerness to get on the ball might'nt help him much as a team player. There's certainly some talent and skill there.

28/07/2007, 10:01 PM
but is he still Irish!:)

(God Im tired...just after reading all those posts from the beginning)

Noelys Guitar
29/07/2007, 1:00 AM
Exactly, its not set in stone. Of course the fact that Canada are generally pretty much muck at sawkerball means the decision is easier to make. Its a different story say in England or France or Portugal or Holland were these countries are considered world powers in football in comparison to the country of origin for many of these second generation immigrants. The lure of playing for a world footballing power as opposed to a small regional one may be too strong. Or even in the case of two football powerhouses. Look at Higuain the Madrid striker. I'm pretty sure he was born in France to French parents but reared in Argentina. When France called him up, he refused. He wanted to think about it as he obviously felt some connection the Argentina.

To make a final comparison with another sport. Look at the Joyce situation in cricket, he's Irish so why choose to play for England? For the sake of his career is why. People can criticise him and possibly rightly so but its just an example of how these future generations may see there future.

Canada are a rapidly improving team. They have some very good players and should have beaten the US in their recent Gold cup game. I fully expect them to qualify for the next world cup and have "invested" in them doing so with Boylesports.

Noelys Guitar
29/07/2007, 2:18 AM
Did you see them at Lansdowne Road? If I had a Canadian granny I'd get in that team.

You will see what I mean come the next World cup. Football is booming in Canada. Toronto are the best supported side in the MLS. They have had to play with 3 or 4 "grannies" in the side for quite awhile but that is all changing. Guzman is a great player. As I say you heard it here first that Canada will qualify for the next world cup.

Noelys Guitar
29/07/2007, 2:43 AM
I believe ya Noely, but even Duff played well against them. They made him look like Maradona. Anyways, good luck to them if they're doing well. I just never see them on de telly or anything. I'll wait for a 'told ya so' pm in a few years time.

The Toronto team has some great fans Tuff paddy. Seriously good craic and very knowledgeable about football. When Beckham plays there he will get some welcome! Loads of shirts with ****HAM on them.

29/07/2007, 3:01 PM
Like Reddladds opinion it's not right but I'll fight tooth and nail for your right to express it ;)
i havent seen a single person deny him his right to say it. i've seen the majority point out his idiocy though.

29/07/2007, 7:41 PM
(God Im tired...just after reading all those posts from the beginning)

Holy carp are you serious? :eek:

29/07/2007, 8:44 PM
i havent seen a single person deny him his right to say it. i've seen the majority point out his idiocy though.

Missed the boat there ever so slightly Gavin :rolleyes:

Anyway do we all still think this Bray reserve can play for Ireland :p

Cymro
29/07/2007, 11:00 PM
I believe ya Noely, but even Duff played well against them. They made him look like Maradona. Anyways, good luck to them if they're doing well. I just never see them on de telly or anything. I'll wait for a 'told ya so' pm in a few years time.

We played Canada two or three years ago in a friendly at the Racecourse and won 1-0. It was a fairly one-sided encounter so unless Canada have really come on in leaps and bounds since then I don't think they will qualify for a world cup for a while. We haven't been able to do that for 50 years.

Also, on the subject of Canada/Toronto, good luck to Carl Robinson who's playing there at the moment. Really solid lad and a good player when he's at his best.

29/07/2007, 11:42 PM
Missed the boat there ever so slightly Gavin :rolleyes: i felt it important my considerable authority was added, to give closure :p

irishfan86
31/07/2007, 12:18 AM
I live in Canada and after the Gold Cup (CONCACAF's equivalent to the European Championship) they had, I too think they have a great chance at qualifying for the World Cup.

They scored a late goal which was called offside (later revealed to be an erroneous call by the linesman) which would have brought them into extra time against the US.

The short: they made it to the semi-finals and would have had a great chance of making the finals had the linesman made the correct call.

But it wasn't just the results in the tournament, they actually played fantastically.

I don't think there were any Canadian players in the gold cup squad that played at Lansdowne, but if you can get me the starting XI from that match I can let you know.

Bottom line, Canada is rapidly improving, and with the population here, I think regular World Cup qualification will soon be the norm.

31/07/2007, 12:23 AM
Guzman is a great player.
I thought he had declared for Holland?

Metrostars
31/07/2007, 12:39 AM
Canada is definetely an improving team. Good players like De Guzman, De Rosario, decent ones like Stalteri. But they're a bit like Wales, some great players but some awful ones too. Also, there's talk of another MLS team starting maybe in Montreal in a few years. But my question about Canadian soccer is why they dont have their own pro league?

irishfan86
31/07/2007, 1:05 AM
Canada is definetely an improving team. Good players like De Guzman, De Rosario, decent ones like Stalteri. But they're a bit like Wales, some great players but some awful ones too. Also, there's talk of another MLS team starting maybe in Montreal in a few years. But my question about Canadian soccer is why they dont have their own pro league?

With the exception of the Canadian Football League (American Football), the majority of professional sports teams in Canada participate in North American leagues, why would soccer be any different?

I think the vast distances between major cities in Canada make a national league unrealistic.

31/07/2007, 12:45 PM
Onwubiko in Under 19's (http://www.braywanderers.ie/index.php?id=600&backPID=551&tt_news=158)

Fair play to him.

sylvo
31/07/2007, 10:26 PM
id rather a Nigerian born Irishman than a plastic Paddy anyday

I've read through this thread but this is my favourite. post.

I would also have to say i'd hate to go back to the days when we had a team filled with all those plastic paddies, those days where sh1te, I mean getting to Euro 88 and World cups beating teams like England and Italy with those guys who would have died for the shirt from places like Yorkshire, London, Liverpool, Manchester and Glasgow, them days sucked.

Things are much better now, we don't have many 2 and 3g's playing for us, most people in the team have now been blessed with an Irish accent, we have a skanger as a captain who hasn't scored against a decent team in five years and looks like he couldn't give a toss about the shirt, the most headlines I read about him are what nightclub he's in with that farrking annoying bird of his, plus we have a boss from the wee county who has made us into a laughing stock. we may get thumped by teams from Holland to Cyprus plus struggle to beat San Marino but at least most of the team have Irish accents now. Farrrking great stuff man.

lopez
31/07/2007, 11:32 PM
...we may get thumped by teams from Holland to Cyprus plus struggle to beat San Marino but at least most of the team have Irish accents now. Farrrking great stuff man.
Leaf it owt!

Check out this diamond geezah on the thread 'Worst Irish international you have seen play'

At least Butler had a credible club career.

Noel Cambell in the 70's
He played with Fortuna Koln, some starts, some as a sub, for a season, I think they got walloped in every game he played.
Just one of those images from Dalymount that are indelibly printed on the brain, Cambell balooning the ball from midfield, fearless but useless.
He came on as a sub in the "Battle of Sofia" and got sent off the next minute.

Mind you unlike our captain and the waterford lad at Scum U, Noel at least kept his best performances for Ireland.

01/08/2007, 3:45 PM
I would also have to say i'd hate to go back to the days when we had a team filled with all those plastic paddies, those days where sh1te, I mean getting to Euro 88 and World cups beating teams like England and Italy with those guys who would have died for the shirt from places like Yorkshire, London, Liverpool, Manchester and Glasgow, them days sucked.

Things are much better now, we don't have many 2 and 3g's playing for us, most people in the team have now been blessed with an Irish accent, we have a skanger as a captain who hasn't scored against a decent team in five years and looks like he couldn't give a toss about the shirt, the most headlines I read about him are what nightclub he's in with that farrking annoying bird of his, plus we have a boss from the wee county who has made us into a laughing stock. we may get thumped by teams from Holland to Cyprus plus struggle to beat San Marino but at least most of the team have Irish accents now. Farrrking great stuff man.

get an education man
to be born outside of ireland doesnt mean you are not a red bloodied irish man.............Dev, Connolly, etc .......or Paul Mcgrath or Dave O leary

as someone who has relatives in england, with english accents (who would class themselves as irish) and who knows many British born irish people....i find the term 'plastic paddies" a bit insulting

I guess you must have been a bit of a loner when the whole country was celebrating in Italia 1990:rolleyes:

i couldnt give a flying feck where they are born from or what there feelings are about Ireland but as long as they do the business on the field then thats fine by me
and as long as they put on the green jersey they are irish men in my eyes regardless

shelbourne1904
01/08/2007, 3:52 PM
If the day arrives in 10-15 years that we have 11 Emelha Onwubiko's playing for Ireland then that's the day that I stop going to Ireland internationals.

Would u prefer the situation where Irish born people are too busy beating the crap out of each other in GAA clubs around the country to even care about representing their country at any sport.

Your not a priest,a civil servant or a christian brother are you???

" and then and only then let my nation take its place among the nations of the earth"

Paddy Garcia
01/08/2007, 4:39 PM
get an education man
to be born outside of ireland doesnt mean you are not a red bloodied irish man.............Dev, Connolly, etc .......or Paul Mcgrath or Dave O leary

.. to be fair to Sylvo I think this was written with a very hefty dose of irony.

sylvo
01/08/2007, 8:02 PM
get an education man

as someone who has relatives in england, with english accents (who would class themselves as irish) and who knows many British born irish people....i find the term 'plastic paddies" a bit insulting

I guess you must have been a bit of a loner when the whole country was celebrating in Italia 1990:rolleyes:

i couldnt give a flying feck where they are born from or what there feelings are about Ireland but as long as they do the business on the field then thats fine by me
and as long as they put on the green jersey they are irish men in my eyes regardless

Education maaan. Read the post caarefully, its full of clues about my feeling on the subject about people born outside of Ireland, then come back and i'll give you a big cyber hug and say things like'' aahh shucks, you didn't think that I don't like them 2gs man, and you'll say things like ''how the **** did I make that mistake''.

I'll give you a clue as to where I was born reared and how my accent sounds.

Question 1 What city is Soap opera Eastenders based.
Question 2 What city do Arsenal, Spurs, West AAAMMM, Chelsea, Fulham etc play.
Question 3 What city is going to proberly get itself in debt due to hosting the olympics in I think 2012.
Question 4 What city has the best Indian restaurant'' the spice of India'' based in Winchmore Hill (and how i miss it).

beautifulrock
01/08/2007, 9:16 PM

I'll give you a clue as to where I was born reared and how my accent sounds.

Question 1 What city is Soap opera Eastenders based.
Question 2 What city do Arsenal, Spurs, West AAAMMM, Chelsea, Fulham etc play.
Question 3 What city is going to proberly get itself in debt due to hosting the olympics in I think 2012.
Question 4 What city has the best Indian restaurant'' the spice of India'' based in Winchmore Hill (and how i miss it).

jaysus Sylvo I never knew you were from Glasgow, do you support the Celts then :)

lopez
01/08/2007, 9:52 PM
.. to be fair to Sylvo I think this was written with a very hefty dose of irony.If his irony was chilli powder he'd have made a curry that would make a Phal look like a korma. Sorry, just someone mentioned Ruby Murray.:o

sylvo
01/08/2007, 10:55 PM
jaysus Sylvo I never knew you were from Glasgow, do you support the Celts then :)

Ahhh Glasgow a city with one of the finest wine regions outside of the South of France, I can't give to much away about that grand old team, some don't like the mention of their name, but I have took a drive in the car on many occasions and taken a little drive along the M25,M1,M6 and M74, and lets just say my journey ended on some street called London Road. My journey now down to see Kildare County at Il Stadio via Stazione in Newbridge is not as long.

04/08/2007, 6:57 PM
Education maaan. Read the post caarefully, its full of clues about my feeling on the subject about people born outside of Ireland, then come back and i'll give you a big cyber hug and say things like'' aahh shucks, you didn't think that I don't like them 2gs man, and you'll say things like ''how the **** did I make that mistake''.

fair enuff i didnt get your sarcasim:)

sylvo
05/08/2007, 10:54 AM
fair enuff i didnt get your sarcasim:)

No probs amigo.

06/08/2007, 5:41 AM
No probs amigo.

looking back at it, i must have been asleep:o

gilberto_eire
06/08/2007, 5:10 PM
id rather a Nigerian born Irishman than a plastic Paddy anyday

here here....most havent even been here are only only playing for us cause they have no hope with england!!

06/08/2007, 5:19 PM
here here....most havent even been here are only only playing for us cause they have no hope with england!!

You are surely taking the p*ss and I claim my €5! :rolleyes:

Tell you what, you can have it back if you can name three of the current squad who fit your definitions...

:ball: PP

06/08/2007, 5:23 PM
You don't want him for Ireland.

He missed a sitter today against Drogs. It was the last minute, 2-1 to Drogs. Jay O'Shea had passed the ball back from the byline to the edge of the six yard box and Emeka simply passed the ball straight at O'Connor who didn't even notice he'd just stopped an equaliser. A few inches either side and he'd have been a hero. It was an unbelievable miss.

livehead1
06/08/2007, 5:25 PM
You don't want him for Ireland.

He missed a sitter today against Drogs. It was the last minute, 2-1 to Drogs. Jay O'Shea had passed the ball back from the byline to the edge of the six yard box and Emeka simply passed the ball straight at O'Connor who didn't even notice he'd just stopped an equaliser. A few inches either side and he'd have been a hero. It was an unbelievable miss.

Cos he missed a sitter? I recall Steve Stone missing a sitter for Forest and I woulda loved to have seen him play for Ireland if he was Irish, everyone makes errors.

06/08/2007, 5:26 PM
You have to see it to believe it.

He's surprisingly strong for his size atually. He was able to hold off Simon Webb whose about twice his size.

sylvo
07/08/2007, 10:45 PM

I'd rather a team with players born anywhere in the world who when they put on that jersey really care, like it was once upon a time, then some of the selfish ***** we have playing for us now. One or two in the squad it seems may well have chosen England as a first choice ( I wish Andy OBrien had stuck with that path) ,but with some of the gutless commitment shown by some of the current crop of home grown players born and reared on the auld sod, I wish some of them would **** off and throw their lot in with England also.

onephillyhughes
09/08/2007, 2:28 PM
If the day arrives in 10-15 years that we have 11 Emelha Onwubiko's playing for Ireland then that's the day that I stop going to Ireland internationals.

Going to Croker on Sunday?:rolleyes:

These lads, Nigerians, Poles, Lithuanians etc. actually live and work in Ireland. They're not like the plastics who've never set foot in Ireland. If someone comes here, is law abiding, works, and respects our country then in my opinion, he can call here home. This potential 11 Emelha's would all be Irish born. Does the colour of their skin mean they're not as Irish as you? You sound like a halfwit GAA fan.

Where in Ireland is Emelha from?

citizenerased
09/08/2007, 2:34 PM
dont agree with redladd and his extreme views, im all for multiculturalism.........but redlass is entitled to his opinion,,not liking the censorship on this board..in reality lads a good porportion of the country is racist

09/08/2007, 2:34 PM
Let's not go over this again. The thread is 6 months old. It's embarrassing bringing this thread up after the accusation I made.:o

09/08/2007, 2:37 PM
Let's not go over this again. The thread is 6 months old.

Seriously, anymore discussion NOT based on the lads performances will be deleted. Its been done to death in this thread and numerous others.

He played 52 minutes for the u19s on Tuesday before being replaced by Daniel Corcoran of St Pats...

onephillyhughes
09/08/2007, 2:58 PM
Where is he from and who is he playing for?

09/08/2007, 3:01 PM
Where is he from and who is he playing for?
From Dublin, plays for Bray.

onephillyhughes
09/08/2007, 3:08 PM
From Dublin, plays for Bray.

Thanks for that.

peadar1987
23/08/2011, 9:44 PM
**Blows dust off thread**

I'm guessing Emeka's Ireland hopes are probably a thing of the past by this stage, but does anyone know how he's getting along now? Last I heard he was warming the bench for Athlone, but that was a fair while back, and he doesn't appear to have a wikipedia page!

23/08/2011, 9:55 PM
I typed his name into Wiki the other day and his name came up as being part of the squad for Solihull Moors in the Southern Conference, afaik. He also had a spell in Spain with Celta's reserves, iirc.

theworm2345
23/08/2011, 10:33 PM
I typed his name into Wiki the other day and his name came up as being part of the squad for Solihull Moors in the Southern Conference, afaik. He also had a spell in Spain with Celta's reserves, iirc.
Don't think he's still at Solihull, I don't think he performed all that well for them last year though I'm not sure. I don't think he was even a regular in the Starting XI though I do remember him scoring a few goals. There was another player called "Emeka Obinkwbe" at Solihull too, I think they were meant to be the same person. I wasn't following all that closely though so I can't be too sure though.

TheBoss
23/08/2011, 11:35 PM

Yes, after he left Bray, he joined Celta's B side and was loaned to UD Samoza till the end of the season, and joined Solihull around November/December 2010.