View Full Version : Emelka Onwubiko
RogerMilla
23/02/2007, 12:05 PM
top class , now we just need to store it away until he makes his debut in the friendlies before we head off to world cup 2010 !!
cheifo
23/02/2007, 12:06 PM
So, anywho, exactly what club has Onwubiko been playing with up to now?
At last! and b)Is he any good?
RogerMilla
23/02/2007, 12:08 PM
If the day arrives in 10-15 years that we have 11 Emelha Onwubiko's playing for Ireland then that's the day that I stop going to Ireland internationals.
Maybe he's arguing against cloning.
brilliant!!
23/02/2007, 12:09 PM
Couldn't really give a toss about the national teams fortunes tbh but for what it's worth.......
I assuming he'd be paying tax while playing pro ball here (You never know though :p ) so whats the problem??
Are you actually claiming not to be racist? What a stupid comment.
Jamjar
23/02/2007, 12:16 PM
Are you actually claiming not to be racist? What a stupid comment.
A saying I really hate is......"political correctness gone mad"......BUT is every comment going to be construed as racist now ?
23/02/2007, 12:18 PM
BTW I've seen him play. For Ireland U18s last month. Started and look bright but got injured. Has been onoe of the star players in the Ireland set up for the past couple of years but unable to play in competitive fixtures.
Only went to see the two Pats lads play. Talking to people in the know and this lad is for real. unbelievably cocky but can back it up. He's been courted by Man City and a host of English clubs for several years now but was unable to go there due to his family's citizenship.
23/02/2007, 12:24 PM
A saying I really hate is......"political correctness gone mad"......BUT is every comment going to be construed as racist now ?
Do I have to put "this is not political correctness" after the end of my post? It can't be used an excuse for everything. We've fielded teams filled with foreign born players before. If Lim till i die doesn't want to support Ireland because of that then fair enough. Why he had to bring up tax dodging though is ridiculous. How he can back up Reddladd's post is rididulous.
Jamjar
23/02/2007, 12:31 PM
Do I have to put "this is not political correctness" after the end of my post? It can't be used an excuse for everything. We've fielded teams filled with foreign born players before. If Lim till i die doesn't want to support Ireland because of that then fair enough. Why he had to bring up tax dodging though is ridiculous. How he can back up Reddladd's post is rididulous.
1. Lim til I die said he wasn't interested in the national team, he didn't say why
there are lots of people who aren't interested in the national team
2. He didn't say he would tax dodge because he was Nigerian
3. He never backed up reddladds post, he just said he a right to express an opinion
23/02/2007, 12:33 PM
Do you think a Nigerian wouldn't be offended by his comment?
And I don't care what you say, of course he's backing up Reddladds post in some way.
"He didn't say he would tax dodge because he was Nigerian"
Oh, right...:rolleyes: Come on, it doesn't take a genius to work that one out.
23/02/2007, 12:45 PM
I'm just going to stick up for reddladd here
He's entitled to his own opinion same as any of the good guys here :rolleyes:
If he feels a team of different ethnicities doesn't represent him then fair enough that's his opinion and he's entitled to it
I'm defending his right to an opinion
Like Reddladds opinion it's not right but I'll fight tooth and nail for your right to express it ;)
In fairness I never said his opinion was right and I'd be inclined to agree with your reading of things
After all LTID has said, you say this...........
And I don't care what you say, of course he's backing up Reddladds post in some way.
Can you read? Or are just argumentative? Or just dim?
I dont care what you say. The cornerstone of any good debate.
23/02/2007, 12:57 PM
osarusan - I'm reading between the lines. Why would anyone feel the need to defend reddladd's right to an opinion?
"If the day arrives in 10-15 years that we have 11 Emelha Onwubiko's playing for Ireland then that's the day that I stop going to Ireland internationals."
We've had Townsend, Houghton, Cascarino, Aldridge and others all play in the same team. They probably wouldn't have stepped foot in Ireland if they never made it in football. Onwubiko is living here years, has an Irish passport, Ireland is his home and he'll probably die in this country. I can't see any reason why you'd be OK with Aldridge and the lads playing for us but you'd stop following the team if "we have 11 Emelha Onwubiko's playing for Ireland".
I'd love to know how he'd have felt if Dave Rodgers got Irish citisenship and played for us. If he'd had made the same comment if this was a thread on Rodger's then I apologise.
cheifo
23/02/2007, 1:00 PM
Does he play for a club at the moment,anybody know?
23/02/2007, 1:07 PM
osarusan - I'm reading between the lines. Why would anyone feel the need to defend reddladd's right to an opinion?
Maybe you should just read the actual lines.
It is clear, I felt, from reading LTIDs posts that he did not support the point, but did feel that he (Redladd) is entitled to his opinion.
You said however, that he supported it in some way which you did not specify. The actual lines supported my view on it, I think.
Why would LTID feel he needed to defend it? I dont know, but given that people have recommended it be binned, some people seem to feel that opinions they dont feel comfortable with should be taken out of sight. LTID may well disagree with that.
23/02/2007, 1:09 PM
Maybe you should just read the actual lines.
Reading the actual lines I think the joke he made is racist. I can only imagine the reaction across the world if George Bush made it.
Cheifo, he plays with Belvedere in the DDSL. He coulnd't be signed on any pro deal before Tuesday's decision (not being allowed to work and all).
Oh and of course redladd is entitled to his opinion, thats why its still here.
23/02/2007, 1:19 PM
This was the original post.........
I wonder what would Reddlanger's opinion be or yours for that matter LTID if the boy was living here all his life, earning a decent crust playing pro football week in week out and was given the opportunity to play for us but turned it down because he wanted to play for Nigeria, Ghana, fcuking Togo or whatever? Reddladd would be spouting all shyte like ya hear everyday on the luas, or the train or the bus: 'freeloaders, scabs, fcukin fugees, take all the want but never give anything back'.
This shyte goes on all the time.
This was the reply...........
I assuming he'd be paying tax while playing pro ball here (You never know though :p ) so whats the problem??
This is your comment.......
Reading the actual lines I think the joke he made is racist. I can only imagine the reaction across the world if George Bush made it.
I dont think so. I think the joke is that lots of Irish players, such as those living in England all their career, would not have paid tax, and perhaps this guy would find a way to do likewise.
Either way, I dont see how it can be construed as racist.
But LTID, where are you?? You need to reply.
I knew I shouldn't have looked in the Ireland forum, just knew it.....
Anyway I think Osarusan has hit a hole in one on the point LTID was trying to make all along so there's no need for me to go on about it :)
Now I know Galway fans hang on LTID's every word, but I think you'll find that if George Bush makes any unscripted comment it causes a reaction across the world, mainly because he's the President of the US, not because of the comment. LTID is a little bit off of having that kind of influence I'm afraid
23/02/2007, 1:28 PM
I dont think so. I think the joke is that lots of Irish players, such as those living in England all their career, would not have paid tax, and perhaps this guy would find a way to do likewise.
If that's the case then fair enough. Certainly didn't read like that to me and still doesn't. He didn't mention anyone living in England. If Eircom league players are known for getting away with paying tax I didn't know that. Anyway, it's Friday. I'm finished with this debate. :)
...Disgraceful comment from Redlad in my view.I found this sweeping statement just as insulting as Reddneck's.
id rather a Nigerian born Irishman than a plastic Paddy anydayYou should sit down and read about the number of 'Plastic Paddies' that fought and died for the independence of your country
...rascist...If you are going to throw such an emotional label around like that, it would help if you could spell it. ;) Personally it's Reddneck's right to express an opinion, it's others to argue against it - just as I am happy to do with imbeciles like Rossi on the subject of 'Plastic Paddies' - not just call for the thread to be binned, or simply call him racist. The fact is he hasn't replied, shows that this wouldn't take much effort.
Good luck to Mr. Onwubiko. I doubt however we'll ever see an Ireland team full of 'Nigerians', which is more the pity following that sh*te in San Marino.
I knew I shouldn't have looked in the Ireland forum, just knew it.....Ditto. :D
If you are going to throw such an emotional label around like that, it would help if you could spell it. ;)
Stupid fat fingers
Personally it's Reddneck's right to express an opinion, it's others to argue against it -
As above, his opinion is still here and nobody has stopped him from expressing it.
23/02/2007, 1:44 PM
This was the original post.........
This was the reply...........
This is your comment.......
I.
To be honest I was on about the boy playing pro football in Ireland. The fuss seems pretty silly to me. Redladd made what could be construed as a racist remark about the boy and his ilk, LTID appeared to be acting the bollax when he really was just muddying the waters.
And while we're on the subject, Rossi, wtf was your post about? You'd rather 11 irish born nigerians than 11 plastic paddies? Whats the difference ffs? Its as if all of the irish born with irish ansestors here are better than the rest. Scratch the surface a bit and I'd love to see how many people would come back with attitudes changed.
cheifo
23/02/2007, 1:44 PM
Thanks Dodge, will be interesting to see who the lad signs for especially if hes got a bit of quality.
Lads if this guys so good how come he hasn't signed for any decent club yet? I mean if he's quality wouldn't a scout for any decent English team have picked up on him by now?
Reddladd
23/02/2007, 1:48 PM
Just to clarify a few points with regard to my post.
From the reaction on this board it’s certainly rattled most of you.
That post was my opinion, not yours so get over it and don’t take it personally which some of you seem to be doing judging by your reaction. I think the reaction from the various posters says as much about the respective poster as it does about me. It’s my view of things not yours!
There also appears to be a lot of you who know me quite well considering your well chosen words. I am a member of a right wing political party and I’m a ‘scanger’ to quote one intelligent contributor. A couple of other individuals using schoolyard type remarks like ‘give him a good kick up the hole’ also says a lot more about them and how they deal with someone else’s opinion.
Having looked back through some of the messages at least one poster sees that you are entitled to have an opinion without having the whole board attacking you. Sheep were mentioned but wolves are more appropriate.
If you are offended by my opinion you could choose to ignore it.
At no point did I insult Emelka Onwubiko personally or refer to his colour, though many of you imply that I did. I responded to a post about the likelihood of having an Irish international team of players whose parents are from countries other than Ireland. My opinion on that has not changed despite what the rest of the board thinks!
Lastly, I’ve seen it time and time again on this board where people are reminded to attack the post not the poster however it’s obvious, from this thread, that contributors are selective with this rule!
Thanks Dodge, will be interesting to see who the lad signs for especially if hes got a bit of quality.
Think he's bound for the UK. Still a bit of paperwork to be done on his passport etc. Will probably head over there in the summer. Mightn't work out though
23/02/2007, 1:50 PM
I think it was pointed out he couldn't move country or work due to citizinship issues.
23/02/2007, 1:59 PM
But LTID, where are you?? You need to reply.
The comment Eirebhoy (Indeed :rolleyes: ) refers to was of course a joke about some of the ahem, shady accounting practises at some Eircom League clubs down through the years.
In fairness to him it could have went over the heads of many of the posters in the Ireland forum ;) He's still an idiot for accusing me of racism though
Thanks to all the Limerick fans for the support, I'll meet ye over on the ********** forum in an hour :)
23/02/2007, 2:01 PM
I’m a ‘scanger’ to quote one intelligent contributor.
At no point did I insult Emelka Onwubiko personally or refer to his colour, though many of you imply that I did. I responded to a post about the likelihood of having an Irish international team of players whose parents are from countries other than Ireland.
One person used the word scanger and that was me. And I didn't refer to you as a scanger. This is what I said:
None of us gave a fcuk that Paul McGraths aul lad was a Nigerian. None of us gives a fcuk that Robbie Keane's folks are scanger Dubs. Once someone is eligible and gives his all playing for us thats more than enough.
I shouldn't have given the example of Robbie Keane. But I wasn't referring to you. Easy to lose the run of yourself and just say what you want. Your post was at best xenophobic and at worst racist. No doubt you have the relevant documents to prove you're 100% Irish all the way back through the years yeah?
23/02/2007, 2:05 PM
I found this sweeping statement just as insulting as Reddneck's.
Ditto. :D
Whats wrong with my comment then.
23/02/2007, 2:11 PM
J
If you are offended by my opinion you could choose to ignore it.
!
I dont think ignoring opinions that offend oneself are the way forward. Opinions that are offensive should be challenged etc not ignore. My opinion was that your comment was disgraceful and I stand by that. Do you have a right to post on this forum and give this view, of course you do but up to a point that it becomes clearly racist and then I am sure the mods or the gardai could be brought into it as freedom of speech is not universal and there are restrictions. I dont know if you are a racist but I think your comments were disgraceful but I also think reaction was over the top. This was not helped by a clear WUM in LimtilIdie. You have given a reaction to other peoples reaction to your comments but I think it may be helpful if you justified your initial comment to maybe give some reason or background to why you think this.
23/02/2007, 2:16 PM
This was not helped by a clear WUM in LimtilIdie.
Oh Dear :rolleyes:
Want to go have a look at the previous page where osarusan and jebus managed to decipher the deep and hidden meaning behind my posts?? :rolleyes:
Jamjar
23/02/2007, 2:19 PM
2 black lads walk into a bar................
This joke has been interupted on behalf of all right thinking citizens, please move towards the main forum whilst we isolate this problem, thank you for your cooperation.
23/02/2007, 2:35 PM
The comment Eirebhoy (Indeed :rolleyes: ) refers to was of course a joke about some of the ahem, shady accounting practises at some Eircom League clubs down through the years.
ok, apologies. Jamjar, do you seriously not think my interpretation of the joke is racist? Stop with this political correctness gone mad rubbish.
Nailer77
23/02/2007, 2:39 PM
This one caught fire nice and quick. And redladd your opinions they may be and you're entitled to post them but don't expect people to just ignore them. Whatever way you try to dress it up now its clear that being Irish to you does not involve being born in this country and is more about were your parents come from or maybe something else. Whether you like it or not thats the way this country's going and I'd suggest you'll have to get used to our national side being represented by African/Irish, Polish/Irish, Romanian/Irish etc, and its no different to being represented by the likes of Townsend, Cascarino, Morrison or McAteer, in fact I'd suggest someone born and raised in the country has every right to call themselves Irish despite colour or creed.
23/02/2007, 2:44 PM
LTID is not being racist but I feel he is making a mistake in feeling he needs to defend Redladd. Redladd has the right to make a racist comment just as we have the right to tell him to go _______ himself. Redladds post was not deleted or binned so no one was taking away that right.
23/02/2007, 2:48 PM
Anyways....
I think we'll find in the years to come that a lot of Irish-born players with an immigrant background will not declare for us.
23/02/2007, 2:48 PM
LTID is not being racist but I feel he is making a mistake in feeling he needs to defend Redladd. Redladd has the right to make a racist comment just as we have the right to tell him to go _______ himself. Redladds post was not deleted or binned so no one was taking away that right.
No, but the idea of a deletion / binning was been mooted. This was what LTID objected to.
He not defending Redladd, just freedom of speech, no matter how unpopular, and in this case, wrong.
Jamjar
23/02/2007, 2:53 PM
Anyways....
I think we'll find in the years to come that a lot of Irish-born players with an immigrant background will not declare for us.
What would make you come to that conclusion.
Whats wrong with my comment then.I see what you mean. Bad posting on my behalf. I meant the post by Rossi as much a disgraceful comment as Reddladd's, not yours. :(
...At no point did I insult Emelka Onwubiko personally or refer to his colour, though many of you imply that I did...Oh come on. What exactly were you trying to say about a team of 'Nigerians'. If they were Ghanaians, would they be better? Even if they were fine role models for both black and white? I don't know many white Nigerians (mixed race another thing), do you?
I'd describe your statement as racist - because it clearly is that - but I wouldn't demonise people who show concern for immigration. There are numerous good reasons to question immigration - just as there are good reasons for it. Trouble is you've gone in with boots flying without arguing the rights and wrongs.
BTW, lads. Could we stop the sh*te about the Garda being dragged in. No one's advocated racial hatred and I'm sure the Garda have better things to do.
...Whatever way you try to dress it up now its clear that being Irish to you does not involve being born in this country and is more about were your parents come from or maybe something else...I think the players (of foreign ancestry) may also think of themselves as foreign. I remember an article in the Sunday Times about the Italian community (along with the Chinese, only one of note in Ireland back then) supporting Italy against Ireland in the 1994 WC.
I wouldn't want to get caught up with this team of the future. What is more important is learning the mistakes of Britain, France and Holland regarding immigration and multi-culturalism.
What's also clear is, close the gates to the rest of the world tommorow and I guarantee in a century, there'd be no black people, just the Irish would have got slightly more tanned.
Anyways....
Fecking rascists!!!
23/02/2007, 3:00 PM
What would make you come to that conclusion.
It is quite common that players with an immigrant background chose to play with their parents/ grandparents country of birth.
What would make you come to that conclusion.The same thing that makes me, and many other 'plastics', plenty who post on this forum, do not feel any affiliation with the country of our birth.
23/02/2007, 3:02 PM
At no point did I insult Emelka Onwubiko personally or refer to his colour, though many of you imply that I did. I responded to a post about the likelihood of having an Irish international team of players whose parents are from countries other than Ireland.
Can I just ask what reason you think Onwubiko wants to play for Ireland and not Nigeria?
Nailer77
23/02/2007, 3:09 PM
I I think the players (of foreign ancestry) may also think of themselves as foreign. I remember an article in the Sunday Times about the Italian community (along with the Chinese, only one of note in Ireland back then) supporting Italy against Ireland in the 1994 WC.
I wouldn't want to get caught up with this team of the future. What is more important is learning the mistakes of Britain, France and Holland regarding immigration and multi-culturalism.
What's also clear is, close the gates to the rest of the world tommorow and I guarantee in a century, there'd be no black people, just the Irish would have got slightly more tanned.
Some might, most probably wouldn't though an article in the Times from 1994 is hardly hard evidence, the countries changed a lot since then. Uts an irrelevant point anyway, someone born and raised in this country is Irish until they choose otherwise.
Metrostars
23/02/2007, 3:26 PM
Reddladd has the right to express his views as he has. But we also have the right to question them. In my view his comments are racist. If the lad was a white kid with the last name of Murphy, Kelly or O'Brien but his parents happen to be from Boston, I doubt he would have made the same comments as he did about Onwubiko.
Some might, most probably wouldn't though an article in the Times from 1994 is hardly hard evidence, the countries changed a lot since then.
Its evidence that certain people's identity is never necessarily with their country of birth.
Uts an irrelevant point anyway, someone born and raised in this country is Irish until they choose otherwise.You obviously missed the referendum of December 2004.
23/02/2007, 3:34 PM
Reddladd has the right to express his views as he has. But we also have the right to question them. In my view his comments are racist. If the lad was a white kid with the last name of Murphy, Kelly or O'Brien but his parents happen to be from Boston, I doubt he would have made the same comments as he did about Onwubiko.
No, he would have said this.
If the day arrives in 10-15 years that we have 11 Emelha Murphys, Kellys, or O'Briens playing for Ireland then that's the day that I stop going to Ireland internationals.
Nailer77
23/02/2007, 3:43 PM
Its evidence that certain people's identity is never necessarily with their country of birth.
Which is why I said 'some might'. And regardless of a referendum I said people born and raised in this country will likely consider themselves Irish and rightly so and as such can represent our national side without feeling like a foreigner, they certainly have as much right to do so as someone who had a granny from Mayo.
So no its not evidence and its less valued when you consider its 13 years old and that since 94 the country has changed beyond belief.
23/02/2007, 3:46 PM
His threads already way bigger than the David Connolly one :D