View Full Version : Mayo Premier Division 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7]

Cloggs
28/09/2007, 1:37 PM
may i ask where you heard this information regarding the match not being played on the astro turf??

as for last sunday, yes we were missing two players due to suspension but no excuses, we played very poorly as we have been the last couple of games,
we are missing a number of players on sunday including myself so we will be doing well to even field a team one would think.

and so the mind games begin!!:D

irishyop
01/10/2007, 10:51 AM
Well some results yesterday!! Westport seem to have also had the nerves, Robe once against sh4t the kaks and are not in real trouble of even getting promoted this season. Achill gone it seems.

We beat Swinford 4-0 away yesterday, could have been a few more, they hit the bar with a free kick, bar that is was a good result for us.

FahyForever
01/10/2007, 5:22 PM
Fahy are nothing more then a mid table premier division outfit!i do agree with ya on one thing,whoever goes up super this year is going back down

When it's all to play for in the Premier Division now with Fahy Rovers, that famous Mid-table outfit, hammering early pace-setters Ballinrobe 5-1 yesterday. Last match of the season will decide the title holders as well as relegation places, as Westport B lost to S+F as Bangor won, whilst Swinford lost to Castlebar. We play Westport to see if we can put ourselves in contention for promotion (Westport can secure the title the same day) and Ballinrobe play Swinford to see if they will go up.

It's really hard to call. I think Manulla B will beat Ballyglass and in doing so relegate them. The last round of matches is in November and since Westport B can't play in the Connaught and F.A.I cups I think our match sharpness and the fact that they have never beaten us could see us through. It's going to be a cracker though. As for Swinford/Ballinrobe, it's anyone's guess. Ballinrobe are in freefall and have lost their last three games conceding 13 goals as they did it. Swinford got badly beaten yesterday too. If pushed I would go for Swinford but it's probably out of wishful thinking more than anything else.

We played at half -pace yesterday and still trounced Ballinrobe, who seemed to lose hope and let their heads down after half time. They got a good goal though and have a handy left winger. Their big centre back was useful too, and very physical. Rob Fadden got a hat-trick for us and Gary Goggins bossed the midfield. Both Tomas and Joe Keane should be in contention for the divisional team, as should David Feehan in goal, who was outstanding again yesterday. Anyone willing to predict the outcome?

juan pablo
02/10/2007, 3:49 PM
boy have we blown it, we had such a great start to the season and in fairness whatever happens this season, we went 13 games without a defeat conceding only 3 goals, its just a pity that our form has dropped as we should have the league all wrapped by now,

Looks like deja vu all over again with robe playing swinford in the final game of the season.
last season we played them knowing that a loss was us being relegated, other way around this year, if swinford are as determined as we were last season, we could be in for a tough match.

Fahy are a good side and possibly could do well in the Super League if promoted, think westport will be a tough game for ye as they have to beat ye for the title,

In fairness, i think its been a very exciting season in the Premier league, lots of surprises and upsets and its nice to see the climax that awaits us with #

Who will be crowned champions?
Promoted?
relegated??

Any thoughts?

r.rover
02/10/2007, 4:32 PM
yea ye have fairly blown it, but if ye were told at the start of the season that if ye win yer last game yel go up, id say yed have taken that!! as for us, i reckon we cud do ok in super league, but itl be very tough ta get anything off westport,we dont mind that they need to win the game, because it could have a reverse effect if they had the league wrapped up cause expectation would be on s then. so either way its all good, itl b day out reguardless ye mite pull together and beat swinford easy, they havnt exactly been goin well either. id love ta wish ye best of luck but.......

FahyForever
02/10/2007, 5:30 PM
boy have we blown it, we had such a great start to the season and in fairness whatever happens this season, we went 13 games without a defeat conceding only 3 goals, its just a pity that our form has dropped as we should have the league all wrapped by now,

Looks like deja vu all over again with robe playing swinford in the final game of the season.
last season we played them knowing that a loss was us being relegated, other way around this year, if swinford are as determined as we were last season, we could be in for a tough match.

Fahy are a good side and possibly could do well in the Super League if promoted, think westport will be a tough game for ye as they have to beat ye for the title,

In fairness, i think its been a very exciting season in the Premier league, lots of surprises and upsets and its nice to see the climax that awaits us with #

Who will be crowned champions?
Promoted?
relegated??

Any thoughts?

Fair play, very reasonable synopsis. It's going to be a really exciting finale anyway. I agree that Westport will be a tough prospect, especially with the primarily A team players who have signed B. I think Dave Horkan is eligible and maybe Dave Horkan. Dont quote me on that though as I'm not sure. Even without David Horkan, who is a totally class act, they will be tough to beat. I felt they were unlucky against us in the last match and will be determined to win the league. We should have a full squad and plenty of willpower anyway. As for your game, it's even harder to call! Best of luck to ye anyway..

Allornothing
03/10/2007, 9:11 AM
Can anyone tell me what has happened to Ballinrobe they have lost the last 3 games and are really struggling. They were odds on for promotion all season.

juan pablo
04/10/2007, 1:48 PM
Can anyone tell me what has happened to Ballinrobe they have lost the last 3 games and are really struggling. They were odds on for promotion all season.

And we WILL get promoted, no question about that, yes we have faltered badly our last 3 games but still we would consider this a good season in comparison to last season,it is still disapointing knowing that a bit more consistency would see us winning the league but the Super League is where we belong and think that we will have enough to stay up next season, the 2 linesman can make all the difference in games, we have had so many goals disallowed for bad 'offside' calls this season that has cost us, as im sure EVERY club in the division has so its not just us,

few new faces coming back playing next year as long as we get promoted, so the future is still merry,

Love that photo of Dave Horkan and Gavin Dykes in the Mayo News, that photographer earned his wages this week!!

Cloggs
04/10/2007, 2:06 PM
And we WILL get promoted, no question about that, yes we have faltered badly our last 3 games but still we would consider this a good season in comparison to last season,it is still disapointing knowing that a bit more consistency would see us winning the league but the Super League is where we belong and think that we will have enough to stay up next season, the 2 linesman can make all the difference in games, we have had so many goals disallowed for bad 'offside' calls this season that has cost us, as im sure EVERY club in the division has so its not just us,

few new faces coming back playing next year as long as we get promoted, so the future is still merry,

Love that photo of Dave Horkan and Gavin Dykes in the Mayo News, that photographer earned his wages this week!!

so will these new faces that you're expecting to come back to the fold only come back if yee get promoted?where were they all year when yee needed them?surely if they wanted to play with the club then they should have gotten their act together and put in the same level of commitment this year that every other player has obviously done for the club throughout the course of what has been a great saeson for ballinrobe football club.if ballinrobe do get promoted (and i wouldn't be counting my chickens just yet!!-although you do seem pretty confident-and fair play a postive attitude!!;))whats going to happen to all the lads that got yee up then-just cast them to one side??

juan pablo
09/10/2007, 1:46 PM
so will these new faces that you're expecting to come back to the fold only come back if yee get promoted?where were they all year when yee needed them?surely if they wanted to play with the club then they should have gotten their act together and put in the same level of commitment this year that every other player has obviously done for the club throughout the course of what has been a great saeson for ballinrobe football club.if ballinrobe do get promoted (and i wouldn't be counting my chickens just yet!!-although you do seem pretty confident-and fair play a postive attitude!!;))whats going to happen to all the lads that got yee up then-just cast them to one side??

yeah we're gonna get rid of the whole team if we get promoted and start from the beginning,

Would ya Go AWAy, would ya!!!

Ron Bergundy
10/10/2007, 3:21 PM
Ballinrobe are going up super!!!Westport will beat their arch rivals fahy which has been a great 2nd half of the season for them

irishyop
10/10/2007, 3:39 PM
Are you on the happy juice again Ron ;)

What did we tell you about counting the chickens :)

Ron Bergundy
12/10/2007, 7:09 PM
Are you on the happy juice again Ron ;)

What did we tell you about counting the chickens :)

plenty of time for that when the robe go up my friend!if fahy don't go up they will finish fourth,could say round mid table as they have done for the last few seasons,mid table premier division outfit!:p

Allornothing
15/10/2007, 11:28 AM
Anyone know when the last fixture's take place.

15/10/2007, 12:01 PM
Fixtures Handbook has the final Premier Division Games on the 11th of November:) (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=6940&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&sportid=8&countyid=37&club_id=3994&compid=4358&from_date=15/10/2007&to_date=15/10/2008)

Cloggs
24/10/2007, 2:08 PM
as the season draws to a close who can people see being on the premier division team of the year?

FahyForever
24/10/2007, 9:08 PM
Joe Keane for a start. I know he plays for us but I have yet to see a better defender in the league. Missed the first few matches when we capitulated but been outstanding since. Our other candidates would be Gary Goggins, David Feehan and Tomas Keane. From the games I was at anyway. What players would other clubs put forward as their best this year?

renovater
29/10/2007, 12:16 AM
Joe Keane for a start. I know he plays for us but I have yet to see a better defender in the league. Missed the first few matches when we capitulated but been outstanding since. Our other candidates would be Gary Goggins, David Feehan and Tomas Keane. From the games I was at anyway. What players would other clubs put forward as their best this year?
Tell me are you going to still be in Milebush playing on da astro, if you were promoted, do you think clubs object to playing on the astro

FahyForever
31/10/2007, 4:33 PM
Renovator, in the unlikely event of us being promoted I think we would not be allowed to play on Milebush. Every other team would object and rightly so. It's a disadvantage to us playing there anyway, with a serious increase in injuries after constant play, particularly knee and ankle injuries. The sheer size of the pitch would suit the likes of Westport United and Ballina but in truth, nobody wants to play there. Don't get me wrong, we appreciate the league allowing us to play there and all, but the sooner we sort a different place sorted the better.

Cloggs
01/11/2007, 2:45 PM
Tell me are you going to still be in Milebush playing on da astro, if you were promoted, do you think clubs object to playing on the astro

i dont think that the other clubs could really argue the point of having to play there to be honest as its been passed by the mayo league to play on.i could be wrong there but i think thats the craic with it.so regardless of if teams didnt want to play there or not i think that they'd have to.again it is a rather big 'if' we get promoted to the super league anyway

juan pablo
02/11/2007, 11:49 AM
Hi all,

I hear Westport 'B' are going all out to win the league, was talking to a well known member of the club last night and was told that 3 players have arrived back from America and that a few first team players are eligible to play,

As for our own match against Swinford, we have it all to do aswell and know its not going to be easy.

As for Players of the season, its hard to name any from our team as everyone has given 110%.

We're out of all cups so have it all to play for next week.

FahyForever
07/11/2007, 4:25 PM
Any news on the Swinford camp for Sundays match against Ballinrobe? How are your squad fixed? Have you got GAA boys available? What's the determination like in camp? Personally, I think Donal benson should make the entire squad watch Braveheart the night before, dubbing the word 'England' for 'Ballinrobe' and 'English' for 'Ballinrobians' throughout. Possibly change the word "Freedom" for the catchier phrase "Status in the Mayo League Premier Division". I expect every man-jack of the proud Swinford contingent to arrive on Sunday smeared in face-paint and baying for blood (ok, maybe just victory). So come on, proud men from Midfield and Meelick, from Culmore and Killasser, they can take your lives, but they can't take your status in the Mayo League Premier Division!!!! AARRRRGGHHH!
(This will look particularly stupid if both Swinford AND Fahy get beaten.)

juan pablo
07/11/2007, 7:13 PM
We're quietly confident of getting the job done on Sunday despite the pressure that is on us, i would strongly fancy Westport to dispose of the ''Mid Table Premier Outfit'' as our mysterious friend Ron Burgundy would call ye!!!
However we will be taking the match very seriously and have been training well so we will wait and see, i could be red faced on Monday morning but i doubt it very much!!

Allornothing
08/11/2007, 7:55 AM
I live not to far from Swinford and know a couple of the boys down there they're prepared for the game but have lost an awful lot of there main 1st team either through injury or players moving abroad. And FAHY what are you on about "any GAA players available" if thats how Fahy gets through there tough games you should be ashamed of yourselfs. Stick with the players that have played all year and shown committment, not some GAA blown in's

mandarin frogs
08/11/2007, 8:01 AM
Any news on the Swinford camp for Sundays match against Ballinrobe? How are your squad fixed? Have you got GAA boys available? What's the determination like in camp? Personally, I think Donal benson should make the entire squad watch Braveheart the night before, dubbing the word 'England' for 'Ballinrobe' and 'English' for 'Ballinrobians' throughout. Possibly change the word "Freedom" for the catchier phrase "Status in the Mayo League Premier Division". I expect every man-jack of the proud Swinford contingent to arrive on Sunday smeared in face-paint and baying for blood (ok, maybe just victory). So come on, proud men from Midfield and Meelick, from Culmore and Killasser, they can take your lives, but they can't take your status in the Mayo League Premier Division!!!! AARRRRGGHHH!
(This will look particularly stupid if both Swinford AND Fahy get beaten.)

Brilliant! Good laugh to start the day. nice one FF. Good luck sunday:)

Cloggs
08/11/2007, 1:50 PM
I live not to far from Swinford and know a couple of the boys down there they're prepared for the game but have lost an awful lot of there main 1st team either through injury or players moving abroad. And FAHY what are you on about "any GAA players available" if thats how Fahy gets through there tough games you should be ashamed of yourselfs. Stick with the players that have played all year and shown committment, not some GAA blown in's

we've used the same lads throughout the entire course of the season.there are a couple of dual players who have played with us during the season but they haven't just turned up for the tough games.wouldn't do that to the lads that have stuck with us all year,unlike other teams ;) but we'll get on with what we have to do on sunday and see how we get on.fingers crossed we can get a result and hope that swinford could do us a favour:D

FahyForever
08/11/2007, 4:56 PM

I think it's a fair enough question to ask to any club who have a big Gaelic team in their area (such as Crossmolina, Charlestown, Swinford and some of the Belmullet teams like Inver). I'm not advocating reliance on dual-players, just acknowledging that they can be the difference for some of these clubs. It's certainly not how we get through our big games, as Cloggs just mentioned, but it's a vaild question.

sinabhuil
11/11/2007, 7:45 PM
Any results lads. How did Brobe do against Swinford?

Leveller
11/11/2007, 9:11 PM
Any results lads. How did Brobe do against Swinford?
The robe won 1-0
The port drew 1-1

FahyForever
12/11/2007, 2:44 PM
Good match yesterday between Fahy and Westport, Fahy should have taken it really, hit the bar and had two cleared off the line, whilst their goal was a gift from our keeper. Fair play to Westport though, they have the league title and are a good team, they weren't intimidated by the physical side of Fahy's game yesterday, and have some young players who will push for the A team soon. We are happy enough in a way too, considering we were bottom of the league half way through the season we did alright when we had our full team. Hoping to be contending for promotion next season and should have some players back too...

juan pablo
13/11/2007, 9:30 AM
Match Report up on website regarding Swinford Vs Ballinrobe.

FahyForever
14/11/2007, 4:08 PM
Was not in the humour to be particularly gracious on Monday's post (Season-sized hangover), so today I'd like to congratulate Westport United B on winning the league, and Bangor and Ballinrobe in achieving promotion. It was a strange season, with predictions going just about as awry as possible. Ballyglass and Achill were not really considered for relegation and Swinford were seriously disappointing. With Glenhest, Crossmolina, Urlaur and Kilmore entering the division it's going to be hard to call next year too. Interesting to see that only three points separated Fahy and both S+F and Manulla B, who defied odds to do so well and should consolidate that position next year. Will the current trend of newly-promoted teams doing well continue with Kilmore or Urlaur contending for the title next year? Both Claremorris and now Bangor have managed to go straight up twice on the bounce.

On Sunday's game, there was a few points I wanted to make. Firstly, I Damian Mc Grath had a really good game and seems to have developed his player-communication skills considerably. He was always in control of what was a fractious, high-tempo match, scattered with incident and tough calls. There was quite a few bookings, but I felt they were all justified and dealt with well. He explained his actions constantly and often diffused aggression in situations where other referee's tend to exacerbate it. Mc Grath has been criticised in the past of being arrogant, condescending, overly authoritive and inflexible in his imposition of the rules, but I think he got it spot-on Sunday. He had all the player's respect anyway. Say what you like, but surely we would all prefer to have officials who keep up with the play, are consistent with their decisions and are professional enough to remain totally unbiased?

In terms of Westport, I was impressed by Lee Keegan in midfield, he's very assured on the ball and seems ready to play at a higher level. Micheal Gibbons is a great addition to the team in goal too. I felt sorry for some of the younger players who either missed out on playing, or missed the squad entirely due to the inclusion of a few A teamers, but I'm sure the cup made up for that. They seemed happy enough drinking out of it in Walshe's that night anyway!

Lastly, it's great to see a decent crowd at a match in our division. Westport have a great following and they all turned out to support their B team Sunday, complemented by a strong Fahy contingent (although I didn't spot those 600 sheep who were supposed to make guests appearances!). The atmosphere was appropriate for a local derby which was hotly-contested. For Fahy, I thought Richard Needham was excellent in Midfield, winning almost everything he challenged for and working tirelessly throughout, whilst Joe Keane was flawless again at centre-half, controlling his area implaccably and showing his versatility and comfort in the air or on either foot.

Closing Time
14/11/2007, 4:41 PM
Well done to Utd B on becoming the third B team to win the premiership. Unlucky to Fahy the best team in the division along with Bangor.

juan pablo
19/11/2007, 11:47 AM
Well done to Utd B on becoming the third B team to win the premiership. Unlucky to Fahy the best team in the division along with Bangor.

I don't know what makes fahy one of the best teams in the division, they had a very poor start to the season whereas we went 13 games undefeated but towards the end of season, its fair to say both teams luck changed which seen us throw away winning the league, considering we were nearly relegated last season, i think robe have had quite a good season in comparison.

What do ye make of the Team of the Year??

Was expecting Joe Keane from Fahy to make it.

juan pablo
19/11/2007, 11:54 AM
Premier Division Team of the Year 2007

Michael Gibbons
Westport Utd. ‘B’

Colin Cameron Johnny Jordan Mark Basquill John Hennelly
Westport Utd. ‘B’ Straide & Foxford Utd. Manulla ‘B’ Manulla ‘B’

Michael Docherty Gary Goggins Alan McDonnell Paul Karluto
Bangor Hibs. Fahy Rovers Straide & Foxford Utd. Ballinrobe Town

J.P. O’Gorman Brian McHale
Ballinrobe Town Bangor Hibs.

Cloggs
21/11/2007, 2:51 PM
I don't know what makes fahy one of the best teams in the division, they had a very poor start to the season whereas we went 13 games undefeated but towards the end of season, its fair to say both teams luck changed which seen us throw away winning the league, considering we were nearly relegated last season, i think robe have had quite a good season in comparison.

was expecting him to aswell.was surprised that two lads from manulla b made it.how was the team decided in the end?in fairness to yee,i have to agree with your summation of both fahy's and ballinrobe's fortunes this year and as roy keane might say 'all creadit to yee' for reaching the super league.the division was well contested for the year and it was good to see that so many teams had something to play for at the end of it.haven't a chance to do so yet so just wanted to congratulate westport on winning the league title this year-we had a good knees up with them that night in westport!and also congratulations to both ballinrobe and bangor on getting promoted.heres hoping that next years as enjoyable!!:)

FahyForever
23/11/2007, 9:11 AM

It's nuts that the best player in the division doesn't make the team of the division. Make's you wonder how they select them. Westport A players who watched the match two weeks ago would tell you he is a different standard altogether, let alone some committee. Fair play to Edwin Mc Greal at the Mayo News for noticing the "glaring omission" as he put it himself.

As for JP and his endless put-downs of Fahy Rovers, it's time to give it a rest. Do the talking next year. It will be interesting to watch your season unfold. In the same way that it would be interesting watching a toy tractor entering a grand prix..

juan pablo
23/11/2007, 12:04 PM
It's nuts that the best player in the division doesn't make the team of the division. Make's you wonder how they select them. Westport A players who watched the match two weeks ago would tell you he is a different standard altogether, let alone some committee. Fair play to Edwin Mc Greal at the Mayo News for noticing the "glaring omission" as he put it himself.

As for JP and his endless put-downs of Fahy Rovers, it's time to give it a rest. Do the talking next year. It will be interesting to watch your season unfold. In the same way that it would be interesting watching a toy tractor entering a grand prix..

What exactly have i said that is a put down to Fahy rovers????, I was clearly stating that after ye're poor start to the league how ye bounced back and finished stronger than any team in the division, fair observation i think.

And i also do agree with you that Joe Keane should have been selected but that is just the way it goes, at least ye have one player that was selected in Gary Goggins so take a chill pill and relax like a good lad:D:D:D

juan pablo
29/01/2014, 9:26 PM
6 years later- enjoyed reading back on that season!!