View Full Version : Mayo Premier Division 2007
irishyop
16/08/2007, 11:24 AM
It is I think Bangors to lose, I think they will "survive" in Super League as they can play good football but I think Ballinrobe could be in for a "Glenhest" and the whips will come when they play the top 4 or 5 teams in the Super. But if they can get a few players who knows;
Relegation I reckon Fahy are certain to go down, just have loads of ugly players and no colored boots so its only fair ;)
Achill have really suprised me as have Swinford, this time last year they were contenders for the title.
Footy Mad
16/08/2007, 6:14 PM
Can't see Fahy goin down as they are one of the form teams in the Division. (Won 4 of the last 5). I agree that its goin to be difficult for Achill to stay up.
r.rover
17/08/2007, 12:35 PM
well lads,its lookin like bangor and ballinrobe to go up surley, if we beat s=f sunday we wont b too far behind (if!) the bottoms tight aldoh achill do look in trouble, as for whoever goes up comin straight back down again? i dno lads, claremorris are on 11 points and its possible they could survive on that! so its hard to say!!
Cloggs
18/08/2007, 1:18 PM
It is I think Bangors to lose, I think they will "survive" in Super League as they can play good football but I think Ballinrobe could be in for a "Glenhest" and the whips will come when they play the top 4 or 5 teams in the Super. But if they can get a few players who knows;
Relegation I reckon Fahy are certain to go down, just have loads of ugly players and no colored boots so its only fair ;)
Achill have really suprised me as have Swinford, this time last year they were contenders for the title.
surely we have the best looking players in the division!:Das for the boots-we def have a few lads wearing those cool looking coloured boots so we're well kitted out!back on the pitch i'd be hoping for a fahy win against s and f tomorrow but thought that they played very good football the last time we played them.if they can get a full squad out they're a good side.reckon bangor and ballinrobe will both be promoted.at the other end of the table i cant see ballyglass surviving.they were shocking against us last weekend.havent played as poor a team in a long time.heard reports that theres a big rift in their camp and a lot of the younger players have left the team.also heard that they're meant to be paying their centre half to play for them!big waste of money if you ask me!!think the other relegation place is between swinford and achill.depends on how the teams do against each other in the last few weeks of the season.
Cloggs
18/08/2007, 1:20 PM
Ballinrobe Town v Bangor Hibs. draw
Ballyglass v Swinford away
Fahy Rovers v Straide & Foxford Utd. home
Manulla ‘B’ v Castlebar Celtic ‘B’ draw
Westport Utd. ‘B’ v Achill Rovers home
juan pablo
19/08/2007, 11:23 AM
Big top of the table clash this afternoon between ballinrobe and bangor, hard to know how it will go, its great to see the return of damian walsh and enda reilly back into the team, as for the possibility of robe getting promoted and than coming straight back down again, along with the current team and the return of conor maloney- i think robe stand a chance of holding there own in staying up,
Allornothing
20/08/2007, 1:08 PM
Has anyone got results from weekend and/or fixture's for next weekend
Footy Mad
20/08/2007, 7:21 PM
Ballinrobe 0 - Bangor Hibs 0
Westport B 8 - Achill 0
Manulla B 5 - Celtic B 1
Fahy Rvs 0 - S&F United 0
Ballyglass 0 - Swinford 3
No Fixtures in this Division next week due to Touhy Cup Final between Bangor Hibs and Manulla B.
Ron Bergundy
21/08/2007, 1:20 PM
anyone got the updated premier table after the weekends games?
21/08/2007, 2:18 PM
anyone got the updated premier table after the weekends games?
A couple of places have it.
http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?leaguetable=1&report=1&reporttype=results&compid=4358&countyid=37&club_id=3994&sportid=8
http://www.soccerbot.com/mayo/tables/prem2007.htm
Footy Mad
23/08/2007, 10:07 PM
Swinford 0, Bangor Hibs 2. Hibs go back to the top of the league while Swinford still remain in relegation trouble
Footy Mad
26/08/2007, 5:41 PM
Touhy Cup Final
Manulla B 3 - Bangor Hibs 2
mandarin frogs
27/08/2007, 9:48 AM
Touhy Cup Final
Manulla B 3 - Bangor Hibs 2
Congrats to manulla B. Hard luck Bangor, although im sure promotion will soften the blow!:ball:
irishyop
27/08/2007, 9:55 AM
Well done Manulla, bit suprised at that result. But well done
juan pablo
31/08/2007, 11:12 AM
was a big upset with bangor losing to manulla 'b' last sunday,#
the league is drawing to a close with 4 games remaining, bangor surely looking comfortable to win the league, will all depend on the results between Ballinrobe Vs Westport and Bangor Vs Westport.
who's your money on??
as for who will be relegated, my prediction would be Achill & Ballyglass- possibly Swinford,ballinrobe play them at home last game of the season, if robe are still in the race for the league and swinford are facing the drop, what a match that will be!!
Bangor to win League
bangor and Ballinrobe to get promoted,
Achill & ballyglass to go down!
irishyop
31/08/2007, 11:31 AM
Your not counting Westport to win the league there at all JP, why is that?
They could easily take 6 from 6 in them 2 matches I would think.
They have come out of no where really.
Do ye feel that ye have blown winning the league?
juan pablo
31/08/2007, 11:51 AM
Your not counting Westport to win the league there at all JP, why is that?
They could easily take 6 from 6 in them 2 matches I would think.
They have come out of no where really.
Do ye feel that ye have blown winning the league?
i don't think we have blown in, i just think bangor will win the rest of there games, i think whoever loses the westport vs ballinrobe game can rule themselves out for the league considering the remaining fixtures, i hope i am wrong though!!!
Ron Bergundy
31/08/2007, 2:24 PM
i don't think we have blown in, i just think bangor will win the rest of there games, i think whoever loses the westport vs ballinrobe game can rule themselves out for the league considering the remaining fixtures, i hope i am wrong though!!!
Dunno Dude,alot will tell with Ballinrobe and Bangor against Westport,If Ballinrobe get the 3 points against Westport (and expect they will) they will be in a commanding position as expect defenses in the bangor/westport game shuting up being pretty tite just like the bangor/ballinrobe game a few weeks ago and a draw is a realistic result!!Ballinrobe are far from out of the title race yet!!!
juan pablo
31/08/2007, 4:25 PM
Dunno Dude,alot will tell with Ballinrobe and Bangor against Westport,If Ballinrobe get the 3 points against Westport (and expect they will) they will be in a commanding position as expect defenses in the bangor/westport game shuting up being pretty tite just like the bangor/ballinrobe game a few weeks ago and a draw is a realistic result!!Ballinrobe are far from out of the title race yet!!!
I hope your right ron, i think after the unfortunate season ballinrobe had last year and in the way the lads regrouped this season and put the effort and hard work in from the start,even after losing a number of players than we do deserve to win the league,
now i am expecting posts back saying that i am wrong but only the players know themselves how hard they worked, sunday week will have a massive bearing on who wins.
by the way- we cant forget fahy rovers in this.!:p
we still have to play them away yet!
fahy- your views??- you regarded us as a poor team when we played ye, i think even i'll admit when saying it was probably our worst performance of the season but we are all looking forward to having another craic at ye in a few weeks time.
Cloggs
31/08/2007, 5:06 PM
I hope your right ron, i think after the unfortunate season ballinrobe had last year and in the way the lads regrouped this season and put the effort and hard work in from the start,even after losing a number of players than we do deserve to win the league,
now i am expecting posts back saying that i am wrong but only the players know themselves how hard they worked, sunday week will have a massive bearing on who wins.
by the way- we cant forget fahy rovers in this.!
we still have to play them away yet!
fahy- your views??- you regarded us as a poor team when we played ye, i think even i'll admit when saying it was probably our worst performance of the season but we are all looking forward to having another craic at ye in a few weeks time.
surely you're not saying that fahy are going to go up jp?:rolleyes:or are you saying that we might cause an upset or two along the way to deciding who'll take the league title?definitely think that we'll have a big say in who'll get the title-we owe bangor big-time for the drubbing we got from them earlier in the season and we have a number of players who are back playing with us who were missing for that game.add in that the game against westport is a local derby for us and the fact that we've already beaten them in the sports park leaves me thinking that we could beat them again.as for the game against your good selves-hard to call to be honest as we always have a good competitive match against yee with very little in any game that we've played.reckon we'll take yee though!!:D
i've no doubt that i've probably given us the kiss of death with my predictions!although i'd hope that we can manage to steer well clear of relegation at this stage of the season as a lot of the clubs below us have yet to play each other and will doubtlessly take points off each other.
bangor to win the league with fahy:D taking the second promotion spot!!ah no ballinrobe to also go up.achill and ballyglass to go down
well done to manulla b last weekend with the win in the cup final.
Ron Bergundy
04/09/2007, 3:09 PM
another near top table clash with Westport Utd B entertaining Ballinrobe on sunday?Both teams need to win if they want to push Bangor all the way,a draw and afraid its all over as expect bangor to avail of the three points on offer to them this weekend and they could open a nice gap on their chasers!any thoughts on the Mayo F.A premier div team of the year???expect Ballinrobe and bangor to clean up here,any notable exceptions from westport??Fahy???
irishyop
04/09/2007, 4:00 PM
another near top table clash with Westport Utd B entertaining Ballinrobe on sunday?Both teams need to win if they want to push Bangor all the way,a draw and afraid its all over as expect bangor to avail of the three points on offer to them this weekend and they could open a nice gap on their chasers!any thoughts on the Mayo F.A premier div team of the year???expect Ballinrobe and bangor to clean up here,any notable exceptions from westport??Fahy???
I wud expect it to be them 2 to dominate, I personally cannot think of anyone who stood out from the other teams.
juan pablo
05/09/2007, 12:00 PM
i think whoever manages to win the league deserves to get the team of the year, its anyone's title now between the 3 top teams, sunday could decide all between westport and ballinrobe,depending on bangor's result also
westport will have to be the slight favourites playing at 'HOME' and all!!
Cloggs
05/09/2007, 4:55 PM
certainly the team will,and should,be made up mainly of the top three teams.how exactly is the team of the year picked anyway?who is it that decides who gets on it?personally i think that joe keane who plays at centre half for fahy should be a shoe in for making the team.he missed the first few games of the season but since he's come back into our team he's been in excellent form-man of the match in almost every game for us.honestly feel he should be on the mayo side.our captain gary goggins and pat mcnally would be our other main candidates for being picked for the team of the year but in all likeliness the team will probably be picked out of a hat??!!:confused:
Footy Mad
05/09/2007, 5:39 PM
certainly the team will,and should,be made up mainly of the top three teams.how exactly is the team of the year picked anyway?who is it that decides who gets on it?personally i think that joe keane who plays at centre half for fahy should be a shoe in for making the team.he missed the first few games of the season but since he's come back into our team he's been in excellent form-man of the match in almost every game for us.honestly feel he should be on the mayo side.our captain gary goggins and pat mcnally would be our other main candidates for being picked for the team of the year but in all likeliness the team will probably be picked out of a hat??!!
The team is picked by all the clubs in the Division. Each club must nominate 3 players(and they must also state the position they play in) from their own team and I'm not sure if its 5 or 6 players from the any of the other clubs in the Division and the players who are nominated the most make the team. I'm not sure but I think the referees get to pick eleven players as well and The League itself will then get the final say.
Ron Bergundy
07/09/2007, 1:04 PM
heres a few plyers that shud be there???what ya think? Ballinrobe-M Walsh,D Walsh,S o Malley,Jp o Gorman,S Ryan,Bangor-M Sweeney,T Moran,B mchale,S Bradley,G Sweeney,Fahy-Goggins, keane,havn't seen westport play so dunno much about them,S+f bound to have a few?super league last year sure,Whats happened Swinford this year??injuries or just not working for them,shame if they get relegated
Footy Mad
09/09/2007, 6:40 PM
Welcome Inn Hotel Premier Division Round 15
Bangor Hibs. 2 v 6 Fahy Rovers
Castlebar Celtic B 1 v 2 Ballyglass
Straide & Foxford Utd 0 v 1 Manulla B
Swinford 5 v 1 Achill Rovers
Westport Utd B 4 v 1 Ballinrobe Town
juan pablo
09/09/2007, 8:30 PM
westport 4 - 1 Ballinrobe Town
well, what can we say, the scoreline really doesn't justify our performance today, lads bitterly disapointed with the loss, a lack of concentration for 10 mins cost us 2 goals and heads went down after that, we started playing towards the last 15 mins and got a goal back but another error in defense, settled the scoreline,
Fahy- what an end of the season awaits us, great result for ye against bangor, in one way ye did us a favor and in another ye are now 7 points behind us, with still a game against us to go,bangor vs westport in 2 weeks will surely decide the league.
Ron Bergundy
12/09/2007, 4:02 PM
westport 4 - 1 Ballinrobe Town
well, what can we say, the scoreline really doesn't justify our performance today, lads bitterly disapointed with the loss, a lack of concentration for 10 mins cost us 2 goals and heads went down after that, we started playing towards the last 15 mins and got a goal back but another error in defense, settled the scoreline,
Fahy- what an end of the season awaits us, great result for ye against bangor, in one way ye did us a favor and in another ye are now 7 points behind us, with still a game against us to go,bangor vs westport in 2 weeks will surely decide the league.
Great result for the port!What happened bangor?they at home aswell,heard goggins scored three,Ballinrobe wanna be careful fahy breathing down their necks,shock of the season if they pipped the robe to the other promotion place,the top 2(robe and bangor) for most of the sason running out of steam???Westport in pole position,there league to lose now!
r.rover
12/09/2007, 4:47 PM
robe need to win one more game to go up, we(fahy) will be hopeful to beat them anyways, but we may not, wev celtic robe and port left and are confident of wining all three
Ron Bergundy
12/09/2007, 5:47 PM
robe need to win one more game to go up, we(fahy) will be hopeful to beat them anyways, but we may not, wev celtic robe and port left and are confident of wining all three
its a big ask off ye,whatever about robe and celtic b,westport will be a tough assignment and also they'll need the points for the league,having said that ye have shown great form in the last 6 or 7 league games so ya never know,alarm bells i hear are ringing in ballinrobe and i'm sure they'll get back on track with a win over S and F,be some finish tho if ballinrobe are visiting ye just four points ahead!
r.rover
14/09/2007, 11:16 AM
i guess were jus happy the b in the shake up, at the start of the year thought we mite go down, westportb havent ever beatin us, so we hope it goes to a final day of season jus for the craic and banter wel have with them, but sumthin tells me theyl have it wrapped up by then
FahyForever
17/09/2007, 1:50 PM
Hey lads, not been online in a while and thought I might give my tuppence-hapenny worth on the season. I know this will sound very biased but I think that with their full squad Fahy are the best team in the division. The result against Bangor wasn't a shock to me in the slightest. We lost three games in a row early in the season which effectively lost us a promotion chance and in those games we were without our keeper (David Feehan, who has been outstanding since his return) and best player (Joe Keane, who absolutely has to make team of the season, being head-and-shoulders over every other back in the division). In those three matche we conceded 12 goals. We have only conceded 11 in the last eight games. I know every team has injuries and has to deal with them, but I honestly feel we lost it ourselves.
As for the others, Westport were the best team I saw, and deserve to win the league in my opinion. they play by far the nicest football in the division and have a good mix of young players and more experienced ones. Chris Ryder impressed me a lot last time I saw him and I think he can realistically break into the first team soon. I never watched Bangor and so can't really comment but I hear their striker is a handfull. Ballinrobe were under par the first time we played them but will surely beat S+F to gain promotion.
No offence to either team, but I still struggleto see them stay up in the Super League without serious recruitment. It's been a good season though, in that it's come down to the wire. Best of luck to all involved in the last few games.
Ron Bergundy
20/09/2007, 4:16 PM
Hey lads, not been online in a while and thought I might give my tuppence-hapenny worth on the season. I know this will sound very biased but I think that with their full squad Fahy are the best team in the division. The result against Bangor wasn't a shock to me in the slightest. We lost three games in a row early in the season which effectively lost us a promotion chance and in those games we were without our keeper (David Feehan, who has been outstanding since his return) and best player (Joe Keane, who absolutely has to make team of the season, being head-and-shoulders over every other back in the division). In those three matche we conceded 12 goals. We have only conceded 11 in the last eight games. I know every team has injuries and has to deal with them, but I honestly feel we lost it ourselves.
As for the others, Westport were the best team I saw, and deserve to win the league in my opinion. they play by far the nicest football in the division and have a good mix of young players and more experienced ones. Chris Ryder impressed me a lot last time I saw him and I think he can realistically break into the first team soon. I never watched Bangor and so can't really comment but I hear their striker is a handfull. Ballinrobe were under par the first time we played them but will surely beat S+F to gain promotion.
No offence to either team, but I still struggleto see them stay up in the Super League without serious recruitment. It's been a good season though, in that it's come down to the wire. Best of luck to all involved in the last few games.
your right its completely biased!i'm sure westport,bangor and ballinrobe would all think that they would have won the league ages ago if not for injuries and players returning and so on!welcome to the world of football its not scripted!!!Best teams usually finish first and definately not fourth!not 5 or 7 points off getting caught in a relegation battle!!!fahy are nothing more then a mid table premier division outfit!i do agree with ya on one thing,whoever goes up super this year is going back down
irishyop
23/09/2007, 9:58 PM
Celtic B lost 2-0 to Fahy, had a good first half a lot of chances which should have been taken but Fahy took over and deserved their win.
Robe, what were ye at? Fahy are screaming down your neck now
theboy
23/09/2007, 10:44 PM
Celtic B lost 2-0 to Fahy, had a good first half a lot of chances which should have been taken but Fahy took over and deserved their win.
Robe, what were ye at? Fahy are screaming down your neck now
s&f were way to strong for the robe according to the supporters, s&f took charge from the start and had it under control right through. it seems that s&f had there strongest team out all year. they might have had a different season if they had that team out all year.
still looking like the robe are going up. but cant see them lasting or bangor. there just not good enough.
the grape vine
25/09/2007, 12:57 PM
anyone any toughts on the second team to go down, looks like achill already gone!!! its pretty tight !!
irishyop
25/09/2007, 1:12 PM
We wud want to get the finger out, 2 points off the drop now, have Swinford and then Achill
Allornothing
26/09/2007, 7:38 AM
Id say Ballyglass to go down with Achill they got Bangor and Manulla left cant see them winning either. I was talking to Swinfod about there 4-0 loss to Manulla and they were missing half the first team. I think they'll pull through but they got tough games against Cbar & Ballinrobe. Whats everone else think.
r.rover
26/09/2007, 8:58 AM
i hope swinford have their full team for last day of the season!!! and beat robe(no offence robe) but ya know how it is...
that ways if we beat ye and even draw with wport b (i tink!)wer up! havin said that, im sure itl b a good game this sunday against ye!
irishyop
26/09/2007, 9:00 AM
Where is that match on Sunday, what games have ye left now?
r.rover
26/09/2007, 9:06 AM
i heard las nite that were playin it in the sports park, cause ballinrobe dont wanna play in astro turf, which is fair enuf, were happy to go along with that, might not be true though. were playin westport b on last day of season then, and ballinrobe have swinford, who need points!!
irishyop
26/09/2007, 9:14 AM
Well if you are to do it, it will be the hard way!
r.rover
26/09/2007, 9:17 AM
thats for sure!!! cant really see it happenin but who knows...
Ron Bergundy
26/09/2007, 1:33 PM
i heard las nite that were playin it in the sports park, cause ballinrobe dont wanna play in astro turf, which is fair enuf, were happy to go along with that, might not be true though. were playin westport b on last day of season then, and ballinrobe have swinford, who need points!!
dunno if thats true,ballinrobe down training on the astro turf pitch in castlebar last night
Ron Bergundy
26/09/2007, 1:35 PM
anyone any toughts on the second team to go down, looks like achill already gone!!! its pretty tight !!
achill gone and ballyglass to follow,some of the ballyglass team are not even on speaking terms
Cloggs
26/09/2007, 1:54 PM
i'd have to agree with the general consensus that it has to be achill and ballyglass.neither were up to much all year and look to have a serious rebuilding job on their hands to even think about a promotion push back to the premier.hopefully we won't be round in the division to play them!;)whats the word on the grapevine in the ballinrobe camp jp?is it true that we're down to play yee in the sportspark on sunday next?heard that yee had a lot of suspensions when yee played straide last sunday-any truth in that?huge game sunday between ourselves and ballinrobe-how do people see it going??
r.rover
26/09/2007, 1:54 PM
dunno if thats true,ballinrobe down training on the astro turf pitch in castlebar last night
jus got confirmation there, the fahy-robe game is on alrite in the sports park! 11am
juan pablo
26/09/2007, 2:17 PM
jus got confirmation there, the fahy-robe game is on alrite in the sports park! 11am
may i ask where you heard this information regarding the match not being played on the astro turf??
as for last sunday, yes we were missing two players due to suspension but no excuses, we played very poorly as we have been the last couple of games,
we are missing a number of players on sunday including myself so we will be doing well to even field a team one would think.
r.rover
26/09/2007, 2:21 PM
may i ask where you heard this information regarding the match not being played on the astro turf??
as for last sunday, yes we were missing two players due to suspension but no excuses, we played very poorly as we have been the last couple of games,
we are missing a number of players on sunday including myself so we will be doing well to even field a team one would think.
was talkin to the westport utd lads las nite and thats what they were sayin, then heard it from a few of our lads tday, mayb its all bull****, wel soon know i guess!