View Full Version : Next Manager?
roversforever
20/03/2007, 12:48 PM
lads i have been talking to some of the players and they have told me they want rob back.they want us fans to get a campaign going with bring back rob flags etc.they want him back because:
-"he's the best manager i've ever played for" - Sligo Rovers player
-his trainings were unbelievable
-training has reached walking pace under leo
-rob had great discipline in the squad,nothing now(esp. foyzer)
-players will all leave at end of season if nothing done
-choice will go back to germany sooner rather than later if nothing done
-rob is a great manager and will take over a big club some day.
-the club could get relegated if nothing is done.
lads all of this is from the players. they all feel the same and want him back.there is serious anger among some of them at the way he was treated.anybody prepared to help them out?
20/03/2007, 3:45 PM
lads i have been talking to some of the players and they have told me they want rob back.they want us fans to get a campaign going with bring back rob flags etc.they want him back because:
-"he's the best manager i've ever played for" - Sligo Rovers player
-his trainings were unbelievable
-training has reached walking pace under leo
-rob had great discipline in the squad,nothing now(esp. foyzer)
-players will all leave at end of season if nothing done
-choice will go back to germany sooner rather than later if nothing done
-rob is a great manager and will take over a big club some day.
-the club could get relegated if nothing is done.
lads all of this is from the players. they all feel the same and want him back.there is serious anger among some of them at the way he was treated.anybody prepared to help them out?
why not?
Red Soldier
20/03/2007, 4:04 PM
If this is the case we should get behind re-appointing Rob however in my view the likelihood of this occuring is not good.Firstly would he want to return? and secondly would the board have the balls to re-appoint him.
20/03/2007, 4:07 PM
If this is the case we should get behind re-appointing Rob however in my view the likelihood of this occuring is not good.Firstly would he want to return? and secondly would the board have the balls to re-appoint him.
why would he take the same sh*t from the board again?
roversforever
20/03/2007, 4:17 PM
all i know is the players want him back and they are completely behind us putting pressure on the board to make it happen.rob is doing nothing at hte moment and we need a manager.
20/03/2007, 5:20 PM
I heard they all loved him aswell...they were never so happy with trainigs, they were looking forward to trainings etc.
he wont be back though....1) he wouldn't work with the current board and 2) they current board couldn't make another holy show of themselves by re-appointing him
20/03/2007, 5:24 PM
do u know if any of the players have kept in contact with rob??
any1 got any suggestions? an online petition, song at a match or flag won't have any effect so don't waste ur time. got hit the board where it hurts....the balls! if a few ppl would threathen to withdraw from 400 club or stewarding duty unless the club would hold a meeting with a few of the players&supporters representatives we might get somewhere
20/03/2007, 5:30 PM
i must be honest i was wondering if he was any good myself and said either on this or the other forum that he wont last until july and i didnt think for some reason that he'd be any good....but having heard some of the players remarks about him im starting to wonder! he must have been good with the reports the players are giving about him!
It didnt pass me a thought that i ever wanted him back, but from what im hearing it might be worth something!
the only way you'll get through to them eejits on the committee is if a load of people go up and shock them at a meeting or something.....suprise them and demand answers
20/03/2007, 6:28 PM
i agree with what RT has said..trying to argue him back in isnt going to help...the main thing we as fans can do is get behind the team like in Galway
Redzer
21/03/2007, 9:56 AM
If the players want him back, this is not the place to say so. They have a captain. Let them ask for a meeting with the MC, and air their disagreement with the decision.
It would be a complete waste of time for the fans to start some campaign. It is up to the players to start it, and then we will give them our backing.
The man probably was a very good coach, but our club was not up to the standard he required. Saying that he should have been given the minimum of one season to prove his credentials. I would love to know the reasons he was not given a contract. It suggests total lack of respect or faith in the man.
kkontour
21/03/2007, 11:54 AM
If the players want him back, this is not the place to say so. They have a captain. Let them ask for a meeting with the MC, and air their disagreement with the decision.
It would be a complete waste of time for the fans to start some campaign....
People power got Conor O Grady back, but I think that getting Rob back would be a lot tougher. Conor wanted to come back, I doubt Rob would want to after the way he was treated by the MC.
red bellied
21/03/2007, 1:29 PM
New manager to be announced next week before UCD game. The MC are having a meeting tonight to decide who meets the short list for interviews. Names that have been mentioned for the job include four that have been talked about on the forum.
roversforever
21/03/2007, 1:42 PM
anybody see the star today????now the players have made the first move and stated that they want him back.the least we can do is gett behind them.they have spoken to toolan as well but he didn't want to know so it shows they are making the effort.
Kivlehan
21/03/2007, 1:49 PM
Good for the players, the fans should support them if they feel inspired to play for him. That is what it is all about. The board should put their ego aside and focus on positive results for the team.
red bellied
21/03/2007, 1:54 PM
anybody see the star today????now the players have made the first move and stated that they want him back.the least we can do is gett behind them.they have spoken to toolan as well but he didn't want to know so it shows they are making the effort.
In all fairness, why would the Farmer want to go back to the same s hite? Nothing has changed and wont until there is an overhaul of the MC. By the time this happens, (if it ever does) the Farmer will be just another footnote in the Rovers history.
Only1Rovers
21/03/2007, 2:34 PM
New manager to be announced next week before UCD game. The MC are having a meeting tonight to decide who meets the short list for interviews. Names that have been mentioned for the job include four that have been talked about on the forum.
Is the above a quote from the champion?
red bellied
21/03/2007, 2:46 PM
Just a brief summary of what was in the Champion.
Only1Rovers
21/03/2007, 3:05 PM
:ball:
Just a brief summary of what was in the Champion.
So what names were mentioned?
red bellied
21/03/2007, 3:13 PM
Phelan, Dykes, Vaudequin and Hutton names of interest expressed by the reporter not the MC. Toolan did say something along the lines, that he was suprisingly encouraged by the calibre of CV they received.
21/03/2007, 3:39 PM
they dont want him back,end of story
I hear two of those are not in the final 4, There is meant to be one name of an english based ex Irish player that i like the look of.
I don't think David O'Leary would be any good for us
akearins
21/03/2007, 6:00 PM
No offence but what football experience or backround knowledge has the MC in selecting a manager, should leave it to the experts.
Pick a panel of knowledgabel football personal and someone from HR in a large company.
MC should not be selecting the next mnager
neutrino
22/03/2007, 12:36 PM
Toolan did say something along the lines, that he was suprisingly encouraged by the calibre of CV they received.
he would say that anyway the bluffer. I'll never take that man at his word again after this debacle.
If the calibre of manager is one of vaudequinn, matthews or dykes then very long couple seasons ahead. Wouldnt know about Phelan. although he's said rovers a stepping stone - so he'd be lasting the usual year if he got any success. Anyway if the MC are appointing this time on their own - be afraid.
Saying that he should have been given the minimum of one season to prove his credentials. I would love to know the reasons he was not given a contract. It suggests total lack of respect or faith in the man.
Spot on. if it suited the MC to have whatever happened with Rob known then it would be straight out there. Instead a guilty silence looms.
red_away
23/03/2007, 9:21 AM
I have heard the new manager is LT!
Redzer
23/03/2007, 9:39 AM
Who? LT = Longford Town's Alan Matthews:confused:
showgies
23/03/2007, 10:00 AM
I heard they may give Leo the job for the rest of the season. I also heard a couple of the applicants......Jeff Kenna & Gary Waddock
Only1Rovers
23/03/2007, 10:25 AM
LT would have to get out of his contract he has with the FAI to take the job.
Rob was interviewed on RTE Radio ! the night of the Galway match and said that he would like to come back if an agreement with the committee could be reached. No hope of it happening though. LT has it
akearins
23/03/2007, 1:50 PM
Would LT be Liam Tuohy?
Cant see it being Mathews as he has a good job in Dublin and isnt full time with Longford, and if the champion is correct they said that the club is selecting the manager Wednesday gone.
So presume they have?
We would have to pay Longford compensation, he is still under contract with Longford and we would be in breach of the rules by approaching him.
So id rule him out
So who else would LT be?
No doubt the club MC will go with the affordable option which will not necessarily be the best option.
showgies
23/03/2007, 2:06 PM
Liz Taylor?
Lee Travino?
Liv Tyler?
Larry Tompkins?
Leon Trotsky?
Liza Tarbuck?
Midgit
23/03/2007, 2:50 PM
Leo Tierney???
Thats my guess.
showgies
23/03/2007, 3:19 PM
Leo Tierney???
Thats my guess.
Hmmmm not too sure, I still think Liza Tarbuck could do a good job! Her dad could do the pre-match motivational talk
Fivesilver
23/03/2007, 4:13 PM
He (http://espn.go.com/sportscentury/features/00016487.html) should be well able to motivate them anyway.
roversman
24/03/2007, 10:39 AM
we want lisa
Shiba
24/03/2007, 10:49 AM
No offence but what football experience or backround knowledge has the MC in selecting a manager, should leave it to the experts.
Pick a panel of knowledgabel football personal and someone from HR in a large company.
MC should not be selecting the next mnager
Totally agree with these comments perfect sollution for this problem.MC couldnt pick their nose's never mind a manager.
Toolin is a bluffer and comments like "Managers come, Managers go" are not good enough anymore we need a more professional attitude from your Chairman there is no place for his arrogance anymore.
Also feel there should be more transperancy as regards what went on with McD out of respect to the supporters as it is us who are paying through the turnstiles.
25/03/2007, 4:03 PM
Former Ireland internatinal Terry Phelan has denied he is on verge of becoming Sligo Rovers new manager.
The ex-Manchester City man has been coaching New Zealand side Otaga United and had been linked with the job at the Showgrounds but hs says timing doesn't suit.
I hear Leo was offered the job & turned it down.
Philly
25/03/2007, 7:05 PM
Gavin Dykes?
25/03/2007, 7:15 PM
Gavin Dykes?Don't be stupid.
Gavin Dykes?
Know for a fact he didnt go for it.
25/03/2007, 8:19 PM
he told me himself a few months ago he wont touch the job
Philly
25/03/2007, 8:20 PM
Just though he might be a possibility.
You can have John Ryan if you want...
25/03/2007, 8:34 PM
he told me himself a few months ago he wont touch the joband I'd hope the feeling is mutual. Dykes will never manage Sligo Rovers, with any luck!
red bellied
25/03/2007, 9:24 PM
Former Ireland internatinal Terry Phelan has denied he is on verge of becoming Sligo Rovers new manager.
The ex-Manchester City man has been coaching New Zealand side Otaga United and had been linked with the job at the Showgrounds but hs says timing doesn't suit.
From the Ocean Fm website.
25/03/2007, 10:38 PM
From the Ocean Fm website.Already posted that on previous page!
red bellied
26/03/2007, 10:56 AM
Already posted that on previous page!
Under the influence :D
Heard this morning Tierney turned down the job because of his long term contract with the FAI.
Believer
26/03/2007, 12:21 PM
Why would the job be offered to a goalkeeping coach with no experience of working with professional players?
26/03/2007, 12:32 PM
Maybe because he knows the players , know Sligo Rovers and the league.
Just playing Devil's Advocate.
Only1Rovers
26/03/2007, 1:51 PM
Under the influence :D
Heard this morning Tierney turned down the job because of his long term contract with the FAI.
maybe he turned the job down because he has a bit of sense....?
showgies
26/03/2007, 3:04 PM
Just heard he is reconsidering, and will let them know perhaps tomorrow.
I think he is worth taking a chance on.........for the 3 games I saw this season, he has them performing well with plenty of workrate......