View Full Version : Next Manager?
MervilleUnited
07/11/2006, 6:53 PM
If John Aldridge is in the ground tonight, get your cash on!:eek:
The word is that he is VERY interested in the Job, if a budget for flights to cover his media interests can be hammered out!:)
The Heat on this is at level HOT!
07/11/2006, 9:49 PM
that would be sweet....where did you hear that Merville?
07/11/2006, 9:51 PM
Aldridge could provide the singing before the game too:p
08/11/2006, 9:35 AM
at no extra cost some half time entertainment...sweet!
akearins
08/11/2006, 9:57 AM
If Marty Quinnn is even considered I am NOT BUYING A SEASON TICKET NEXT season. Did the MC not learn from their mistake in signing Tommy Cassidy.TC was the first manager signed by the MC since Keely and the the MC chose Don.No disrespect intended but they do not have the footballing knowledge to appoint a manager.So levae it to someone or some people who do.
I heard a lot of fans mentioning Pat Dolan last night but followed by "Sure we couldnt afford him" and "he wouldnt come because he is working with Setatnta sports". Maybe so but at least the MC might show some real courage and at least try and talk to him even if informally to gauge form the man himself what he is looking for or when he may be available from TV work.
So what if he may miss the odd evening training session to do his TV work it wouldnt be that often, remember we are in summer football champions league doesnt begin until september...
His wage, who knows what he is looking for.I believe he has the personality to sell sand to the arabs and would definitely be a prime candidate to draw the crowds back.
If he is not approached then you would have to agree with Lian Maloneys piece in this weeks weekender, either the MC show real ambition or just be happy with mediocracy in the league and good cup run.
Cost nothing to talk....
From what i heard previously Stephen Kennys representative approached Rovers after he left Bohs about the job here but was never even considered.. the rest is history
showgies
08/11/2006, 10:03 AM
Interesting to see Gerry Carr in the showgies last night wearing a nice managerial type coat and being warmly welcomed by a committee member. ;)
akearins
08/11/2006, 10:22 AM
No disrespect to gerry carr but if was appointed it would only be the cheapest option,more fiunancial than football
red bellied
08/11/2006, 10:36 AM
Marty Quinn is apparently staying put at Coleraine. Fat Pat and his side kick Roddy were spotted in O Connell Street yesterday.
08/11/2006, 10:44 AM
From what i heard previously Stephen Kennys representative approached Rovers after he left Bohs about the job here but was never even considered.. the rest is history
are you serious?
ffs!:mad: :(
Redzer
08/11/2006, 12:41 PM
I would not like to see Dolan coming within a donkeys roar of the Showgies.
If we had trouble funding SC squad, wait till you see what Dolan demands.
He would bankrupt the club. No way.
It's far more important to consolididate our position in the new FAI league( assuming we make the grade) than throwing money at managers and squads in order to win silverware.
It is a 12 team division for 2007, but the following year it's down to 10. That probably means the 2 bottom teams going straight down and the 3rd from bottom in some sort of play off.
We must learn to crawl before we walk. It's going to be tough for the next season or two. The last thing I want to see is us return to a lower division.
I would like to see another young progressive manager brought in, who would continue to build the team over the next 2-3 seasons. Eventually making the break through into the top 3 or 4 teams.
08/11/2006, 12:41 PM
O'Connell Street ?? Dublin, Limerick or Sligo. And fair play to the eagle eyed one who spotted the anonymous Pat Dolan.
08/11/2006, 12:44 PM
O'Connell Street ?? Dublin, Limerick or Sligo. And fair play to the eagle eyed one who spotted the anonymous Pat Dolan.
:D Good one!
Donegalred
08/11/2006, 1:17 PM
Heard anthony gorman is in for the job
red bellied
08/11/2006, 1:31 PM
Well Fat Pat heard O Connell Street was now accessible for him after been pedestrianised.
NaturalBornRed
08/11/2006, 2:32 PM
My cousin is a journalist in England for one of those celebrity magazines and he was saying that Collymore was spotted in Knock airport!! So maybe he could be in with a shout or else jus checkin out a few car parks!:D
akearins
08/11/2006, 2:37 PM
I would not like to see Dolan coming within a donkeys roar of the Showgies.
If we had trouble funding SC squad, wait till you see what Dolan demands.
Exactly my point lets stop double guessing and go and see what his demands are not just simply guessing that we are not able to afford him.Pat Dolan is a proven LOI manager,so we go for another inexperienced manager whose first words are "I se this as a stepping stone"Goodbye
"He would bankrupt the club. No way."
Didnt bankrupt St.Pats quite the opposite he invested a lot of his own money into the club.Didnt bankrupt Cork either.
True story about Dolan.When at Pats Nick Wallace from wexford wanted to invest €250,000 into the club.Wallace is heavily involved in youth football in Wexford and sponsors all youth sides,a millionaire over his passion is soccer.Pats board at the time rejected it Doaln couldnt understand it and this was the end of his love affair with Pats.Dolan did however persuade Wallace to invest the €250,000 in Cork which he did.Doesnt sound like thats bankrupting a club
"It's far more important to consolididate our position in the new FAI league( assuming we make the grade) than throwing money at managers and squads in order to win silverware."
Isnt thats why we are in senioir football at all to win silverware, other wise if we lack ambition go semi pro and take it easy in the first division.Winning silverware shoild be the ultimate goal for us.By doing so we will attract more media attention a larger fan base and so become more commercially attractive to investors than simply slummimg it in mediocracy
My personal feeling is that Dolan will not even get a look in or be approached simply because he will be too much for the club MC to handle.He would be his own man with his own ideas.
Everyone will have opinions on who shoudl get the job and that has to be respected but lets base it on facts not fiction of what might happen if.
OR will we go again with an unknown quantity and hope he can do a job for the maximum 3 years or become more stable and appoint an Irish manager that can give the club stability...
Only1Rovers
08/11/2006, 3:09 PM
My cousin is a journalist in England for one of those celebrity magazines and he was saying that Collymore was spotted in Knock airport!! So maybe he could be in with a shout or else jus checkin out a few car parks!:D
DISASTER, Here's hoping we get someone who is respected in football and socially.
08/11/2006, 9:13 PM
I can't believe some people even want Pat Dolan. The man may be good at the start but he ruins every club he touches!
Midgit
09/11/2006, 9:57 AM
I agree Pat Dolan would be a disaster!!!
Guts&Glory
09/11/2006, 10:14 AM
IMO there are very few Irish passport holding managers that do or wish to stay/last at clubs and provide stability at that club for a long term future.
....and fewer still who would stay in Ireland if given the chance by a UK club.....Stephen Kenny, Roddy Collins et al anyone?
If a manager comes into a club and says I have a 5 year plan to get this club into the Premier League but it may take 3 yrs in the 1st division to get the team together and then stabilise us in the Premier would there be many/any MC's or Chairmen saying ya thats the guy for us??
I doubt it as the pressure is for instant results and payback as clubs need to get progress quickly so as to not be left behind or as we see in Dublin City, Limerick, Shels (pursuing Europe costs with expensive squad) and possibly several other clubs, if you believe what is printed rumoured and end up going bust when its too late.
Redzer
09/11/2006, 10:47 AM
That tale about Dolan and Wallace, with his millions has been doing the rounds for years. First St. Pats, then Cork, Waterford and Limerick was also mentioned. Probably were a few more as well. I would not hand over our club to these guys.
I stand corrected but that money was never invested in any of the clubs. It’s just bull**** talk by Dolan.
There is no proof that any club Dolan went on to became more stable, quite the opposite in fact.
Don’t be naive; he talks himself up to anyone foolish enough to listen. Why is he not managing a team now? He will say it’s because of his media commitments, but how often is he on television? He applies for every job going. If he was that good he would be fighting clubs away. I never remember him having a good word for us; I guess that will change now.
I think Siempre Red should be given a change with his experience and contacts we would be in Europe in no time.......
Countyman on the Kildare County forum has passed on the word.
I'm sure he wil be honoured by your nomination.
Sligoman and Rogue Trader to be his back room team.:D
10/11/2006, 7:27 AM
I hope one of them will be able to drive the white van for him:)
He might settle for a white team bus.;)
Giller just agreed a 1 year extension with Dundalk!
10/11/2006, 10:37 AM
good!
Da Real Rover
10/11/2006, 5:51 PM
So do you think waterford would have been better off without Pat Dolan, better off in the first division??? bcause he did save waterford from relegation.
10/11/2006, 6:11 PM
So do you think waterford would have been better off without Pat Dolan, better off in the first division??? bcause he did save waterford from relegation.and look at them now, do you want that?:rolleyes:
Midgit
10/11/2006, 9:18 PM
Heard rumuors about the ex-Dublin manager getting the job!!!
Anybody else hear this?
10/11/2006, 9:29 PM
Heard rumuors about the ex-Dublin manager getting the job!!!
Anybody else hear this?Dublin Gaa manager?
11/11/2006, 10:52 AM
and look at them now, do you want that?:rolleyes:
The club was in a mess before Dolan took over.
11/11/2006, 11:43 AM
The club was in a mess before Dolan took over.Dolan is a short term solution. In the long term, he's not worth it!
06/03/2007, 6:36 PM
time to resurrect this one now lads... who will it be?
06/03/2007, 6:39 PM
heres one for ye lads...it'll be mark hutchinson!
06/03/2007, 6:47 PM
id like gerry carr as assistant anyways..
akearins
07/03/2007, 9:15 AM
Cannot believe people are saying pat Dolan ruins every club he goes to, are ye for real. Show me which clubs he has ruined...
When pats couldn’t afford him as a player (needed money to move from Harolds cross back to Richmond park) he was given a part time post in the Pats administration and later marketing. He worked with Brian Kerr and generated finances to support his team which won the league in 1996 also generated the finances to move back to Richmond Park....
Took over as manager and won the league in 1997/1998, and remember they drew with Celtic 0-0 at Parkhead in Champions league. When he took over chief executive he had the balls to appoint Liam Buckley, who previously resigned when he wasn’t given the managers job when Dolan got it after Kerr.
This was done for the best interest of the club no personalities clash here.
With Cork in his first season he took them to 3rd in forts season, 2nd in his second season as well as beating Malmo and Mijmegan before Nantes knocked them out of InterToto cup, He parted with Cork after a run in with club chairman over unprofessional working condition for him and his players...
Fair play
Apart from success with every club he has managed he also has done exceptional work in rebranding (Cork REBEL ARMY and Pats SUPER SAINTS) the clubs and generating finances to support a successful club...
Ruining clubs.......I don’t think so
Now he is with Wexford youths so couldn’t see him leaving them to come here but maybe if the management had any forward vision (and would allow such a huge personality take the running of the club) tout the proposal of forging links with Wexford Youths, I mean they will have probably have some of the best young players in the country (remember Dolan brought Hawkins, Morgan, Molloy and Murphy to pats after winning the youth tournament with Ireland).I believe under Dolan we would be a solid Premier division club which would be the stepping stone for these youth players to progress from the First division and from here who knows....
Ridiculous to say Dolan ahs ruined any club all he has ever done is bring success and raise profile of any club he has worked with
akearins
07/03/2007, 9:16 AM
Cannot believe people are saying pat Dolan ruins every club he goes to, are ye for real. Show me which clubs he has ruined...
When pats couldn’t afford him as a player (needed money to move from Harolds cross back to Richmond park) he was given a part time post in the Pats administration and later marketing. He worked with Brian Kerr and generated finances to support his team which won the league in 1996 also generated the finances to move back to Richmond Park....
Took over as manager and won the league in 1997/1998, and remember they drew with Celtic 0-0 at Parkhead in Champions league. When he took over chief executive he had the balls to appoint Liam Buckley, who previously resigned when he wasn’t given the managers job when Dolan got it after Kerr.
This was done for the best interest of the club no personalities clash here.
With Cork in his first season he took them to 3rd in first season, 2nd in his second season as well as beating Malmo and Mijmegan before Nantes knocked them out of InterToto cup, He parted with Cork after a run in with club chairman over unprofessional working condition for him and his players...
Fair play
Apart from success with every club he has managed he also has done exceptional work in rebranding (Cork REBEL ARMY and Pats SUPER SAINTS) the clubs and generating finances to support a successful club...
Ruining clubs.......I don’t think so
Now he is with Wexford youths so couldn’t see him leaving them to come here but maybe if the management had any forward vision (and would allow such a huge personality take the running of the club) tout the proposal of forging links with Wexford Youths, I mean they will have probably have some of the best young players in the country (remember Dolan brought Hawkins, Morgan, Molloy and Murphy to pats after winning the youth tournament with Ireland).I believe under Dolan we would be a solid Premier division club which would be the stepping stone for these youth players to progress from the First division and from here who knows....
Ridiculous to say Dolan ahs ruined any club all he has ever done is bring success and raise profile of any club he has worked with
07/03/2007, 9:18 AM
Ill refer you to this thread Alan to show what fans of Cork City and Pats think of him
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=36319&highlight=dolan
akearins
07/03/2007, 9:55 AM
cheers Gustavo read these comments and true there is a pro and Anti Dolan camp in every club he went to...but thats the same in any club towards any ex manager(well not every manager we all loved McStay)I know Rovers fans who hated Cotteril,werent too happy with Sanzhez and look at Connors won us league but hated by all....Thats football all about opinions all respected.
Fo me its no argument he is the man to ignite the fans enthusiasm for the club and football in Sligo and beyond...would prefer to have him than another unproven apprentice just waiting to jump ship to England once they serve their apprenticeship with us...
We need an Irish manager to remain with us for more than 2 seasons or else we will just continue the revolving door scenario...
Every club has highs and lows no one is dominant now, was Shams in the 80's, Shels in the 00's Derry were in the mix in the late 80's and then they slump..
All we want is success and I believe we cn get it with Pat....but as I said it all opinions and all should be taken on board
Shiba
08/03/2007, 10:10 PM
Lets have Gerry Carr!!!
Please lets get F**kn Serious.We need this club to go forward!
Shiba
08/03/2007, 10:19 PM
That tale about Dolan and Wallace, with his millions has been doing the rounds for years. First St. Pats, then Cork, Waterford and Limerick was also mentioned. Probably were a few more as well. I would not hand over our club to these guys.
I stand corrected but that money was never invested in any of the clubs. It’s just bull**** talk by Dolan.
There is no proof that any club Dolan went on to became more stable, quite the opposite in fact.
Don’t be naive; he talks himself up to anyone foolish enough to listen. Why is he not managing a team now? He will say it’s because of his media commitments, but how often is he on television? He applies for every job going. If he was that good he would be fighting clubs away. I never remember him having a good word for us; I guess that will change now.
This Wallace fella Ye are all talking about is now manager of new boys Wexford youths.As for Dolan I think he be a good man for the job.As he has a great interest in the league of ireland and not looking to to it as a stepping stone.As for ripping of clubs,SC dne enough of it when with us so that be nothing new to the club.
neutrino
09/03/2007, 8:12 AM
Dolan is a short term solution. In the long term, he's not worth it!
And since when has any manager appointed by rovers been a long term solution ? most managers have left us within two years.
so who is the long term solution. you seem to argue alot of points but never produce an alternative.
I think dolan would be as good as any. but it's purely speculation cos MC will not appoint someone they cant control or at least try to control.
There is not alot out there to appoint. The only person I can think to give a shot to could be Stephen Henderson of Cobh. And that would maybe be a bit of a gamble.
The other alternative to is ask Gerry Cassidy to help out again. but after recommending McDonald and seeing what happened - he might not be best pleased.
If only people involved in rovers werent alienated through the years. i'd like to see a system of former players brought in to coach kids and work their way up through the club - at least then you'd have the option to appoint good people from within.
atfconline
09/03/2007, 8:17 AM
Heard last night that the manager of a certain red and black club is on his way to Sligo :eek:
red metal
09/03/2007, 8:36 AM
Heard last night that the manager of a certain red and black club is on his way to Sligo :eek:
By read the sun today would not be surprised!Seems to be a bit of hassle in the longford camp aswell!I think Alan Mathews would do a good job for us!
Willow Park under 16's manager is going to Sligo :eek: ;)
dublinred
09/03/2007, 8:53 AM
Mancini ?
09/03/2007, 10:21 AM
Sean Connor
Aaron
09/03/2007, 10:36 AM
Felix Healy was mentioned
Bravo
09/03/2007, 10:38 AM
By read the sun today would not be surprised!Seems to be a bit of hassle in the longford camp aswell!I think Alan Mathews would do a good job for us!
IMO Good manager, but I don’t think he has showed much loyalty, seems that he let Longford go in anticipation of him moving to Shels & when Shels went tits up deserted them aswell, Nice fella!
09/03/2007, 11:36 AM
And since when has any manager appointed by rovers been a long term solution ? most managers have left us within two years.
so who is the long term solution. you seem to argue alot of points but never produce an alternative.
I think dolan would be as good as any.You ask any Cork, Pat's or Limerick fan what they think of Dolan. Then get back to me if you still think he'd be good.
Anyway, Dolan is a media man now, theirs more money in it for him.