View Full Version : It really bugs me....
29/09/2006, 12:41 PM
No matter where you go in Europe people will make an effort to speak to you in English when they come here we expect them to speak English.
Big difference between going somewhere for a week's holidays and going somewhere to live.
All this computer hacking is making me thirsty. I think I'll order a Tab.
In the space bar? [/nerd]
29/09/2006, 1:45 PM
I work in an office full of ‘smug marrieds’ and constant talk about their babies really get on my wick.
29/09/2006, 2:00 PM
I work in an office full of ‘smug marrieds’ and constant talk about their babies really get on my wick.
Awww are you jealous?
I constantly use elipses and don't apologise for it either...
Baby talk does annoy me. Also wedding planning in the office.
I hate that feeling you get on Sunday evening about 9pm knowing what tomorrow brings.
i hate when ure out on a thursday night and cant enjoy the countdown to friday end of work start of wekend cos of this no good facking hangover!
29/09/2006, 4:15 PM
Baby talk does annoy me. Also wedding planning in the office.
Thanks! A nod in agreement! not jealous but it wrecks my head.
The total lack of anything resembling planning in this country, and the fact that not one party seems interested in doing anything about it. Transportation and infrastructural planning are just non-existent most of the time.
I hate text speak as well.
Pat O' Banton
29/09/2006, 6:26 PM
People who rip open bags of crisps in pubs.
Toppers (who are probebly liars as well) - you know the type, if you say you once met, for example, Shane McGowan they would tell you they co-wrote 'Thousands are Sailing'
The standard of lager in non continental Europe.
Golf.
Razorlight, The Kooks, The Zutons last two singles, the Fratellies.
Ticket Touts :mad:
Golf
Russell Brand
Daily Mail and similar scum fascist papers
Big Brother and any similar reality TV that people try to engage you in conversation about, if you need to talk to me about that type of thing it means that we don't have enough in common to have conversation.
Golf
Fallowfield in Manchester during the first three weeks of Freshers. If students really need to know why they are unpopular they should stand back and watch this display of loud 'look at me' shouting.
People who clearly have no interest in football trying to engage you in conversation about the sport due to the fact that they think its fashionable. Fair play to those who say they don't really have an interest in the sport as they could just lie in to fit in.
Still an impassioned monologue about the delights of grounds in divisions beneath the premiership (even better non league) will scare any wannabe off.
30/09/2006, 8:20 AM
Golf.
Golf
Golf
Says the guy who sat with me in the Railway Tavern, Finsbury Park, London and watched the Ryder Cup 2004, cheering every putt the Europeans made. :p
Arsenal 2-2 Bolton in the early kick off?
You know what I'm talking about. ;)
Pat O' Banton
01/10/2006, 5:24 PM
Says the guy who sat with me in the Railway Tavern, Finsbury Park, London and watched the Ryder Cup 2004, cheering every putt the Europeans made. :p
Arsenal 2-2 Bolton in the early kick off?
You know what I'm talking about. ;)
I feared you might read that post, a mixture of beer and anti Americanism had got hold of me that day:)
01/10/2006, 7:04 PM
Hate people who play music on their mobile phones really loudly in train waiting rooms and on train journeys. Its always the r 'n' b dudes. Guys if you want to listen to music, how about some headphones and stop annoying the rest of us. :mad:
Billsthoughts
02/10/2006, 11:49 AM
Toppers (who are probebly liars as well) - you know the type, if you say you once met, for example, Shane McGowan they would tell you they co-wrote 'Thousands are Sailing'
serves ya right for hanging out with phil chevron
has this been mentioned already?
People who drive up your hole in an effort to make you speed up or get out of the way.I always just slow down.
and that hands down pants thing....thats seems to be all the rage what the f*ck is it about???
03/10/2006, 12:15 AM
When you ask for no mayonnaise on your sandwich and they put it on anyway.
The look of confusion on their faces when you tell them that you despise mayonnaise and want another sandwich.
Homosexual / racial slurs.
When people mix up Dundalk and Drogheda.
When people think Dundalk is in Northern Ireland.
03/10/2006, 9:27 AM
When you ask for no mayonnaise on your sandwich and they put it on anyway.
The look of confusion on their faces when you tell them that you despise mayonnaise and want another sandwich.
Homosexual / racial slurs.
When people mix up Dundalk and Drogheda.
When people think Dundalk is in Northern Ireland.
I think for the first time in my life am gonna agree with a Dundalk person on all of the above. Hate the way people always think Monaghan is in Northern Ireland too. And as for mixing Dundalk and Drogheda up, jeeze, it doesnt bear thinking!
03/10/2006, 11:20 AM
It really bugs me that am allergic to most pain killers & took one am not allergic to as such last nite coz my ankle was in agony and now have spent the whole day puking. Not fair.
03/10/2006, 3:21 PM
Starting work 9/10 at night. It wrecks your whole day, you can't really do much. I end up just sitting around waiting for work. 7 starts are alright, at least it's a decent amount of hours.
People who smoke at the bar. I don't serve them.
People who shout at the bar staff in order to get served (almost exclusively culchies). "here boy! here boy!". I tell them to **** off.
As mentioned before, women who take ages to get their money out of their handbag at the bar, and take ages to use an ATM.
Vegetarians.
Nutcase Christians.
People on buses who, whilst using headphones, play the music (usually heavy rock) at such a high volume that it keeps you awake.
People who have a poor knowledge of geography, particularly European geography.
04/10/2006, 7:59 AM
Vegetarians.
Oi! What did vegetarians ever do to ya?!
04/10/2006, 8:07 AM
Meat eaters that think you "need" to eat meat.
04/10/2006, 8:17 AM
People who couldn't/can't stand 'learnin bleedin Irish' and are first to despise the foreign invader and their legacy..
To be fair, Pineapple does have a decent knowledge of Irish.;)
To add to the list, the loudmouth auditor of the Law Society in UCD.
Aberdonian Stu
04/10/2006, 8:21 AM
Ah give Richie a break, he's Canadian so there's not much he can do about it.
04/10/2006, 8:26 AM
Ah give Richie a break, he's Canadian so there's not much he can do about it.
Oi what's wrong with Canadians??? I am an honourary one!
04/10/2006, 9:19 AM
To add to the list, the loudmouth auditor of the Law Society in UCD.
Law Society and L&H Hacks in general.
04/10/2006, 9:38 AM
Law Society and L&H Hacks in general.
C&E, B&L etc. etc.
04/10/2006, 9:45 AM
Oi! What did vegetarians ever do to ya?!
What did vegetables ever do to you?
Aberdonian Stu
04/10/2006, 10:02 AM
I've no problems with Canadians or society hacks of any variety and indeed have many friends who fit those moulds (as in are either Canadian or a society hack).
Billsthoughts
04/10/2006, 11:35 AM
Students who think the rest of the world gives a toss about their silly little worlds........
04/10/2006, 11:58 AM
Students who think the rest of the world gives a toss about their silly little worlds........
Grumpy aulfellas that give out about students enjoying themselves.
(Haven't been a student for a long time but they sure were great days)
Billsthoughts
04/10/2006, 1:04 PM
people who still wish they were students....
04/10/2006, 1:38 PM
people who still wish they were students....
Its true. Only this time I'd like to have more money than I did then. :cool:
04/10/2006, 3:14 PM
Totally agree with wws. Seen in girl shopping in town recently in her pyjames. IN ****ING TOWN! Borderline OK to go next door if your mate is OK, totally unacceptable elsewhere. Lazy...
Don't think its lazy in fact i'm convinced these people actually change into their PJ's to go out. It seems to be spreading too seen a few in Kilkenny the other week and loads in Limerick on Monday. It just reeks of common as muck council estate Girls acting like Sheep!
05/10/2006, 8:14 AM
Don't think its lazy in fact i'm convinced these people actually change into their PJ's to go out. It seems to be spreading too seen a few in Kilkenny the other week and loads in Limerick on Monday. It just reeks of common as muck council estate Girls acting like Sheep!
As always its a Monaghan United Fan who started this trend & all others follow! One of our fans was wearing her pj's on Strand Hill in Sligo last Sept. In fairness she had gone paddling and got her jeans soaking and only alternative was to put on her pjs but we have been blackmailing her with the pics since. She will be thrilled to know she is now a trend setter!
05/10/2006, 9:30 AM
Think you'll find they were actually silk kimonos, all classy women round here :p
Not sure if any of these have been mentioned already;
1. People(Usually women) who stand in line at the ATM and wait until they get to the machine before rustling though their handbag for their card.
2. When several people send ya the same funny :rolleyes: email. (How hard is it to look at the forward list from the person who sent it to you and see who else they sent it to?)
3. Vegertarians who preech about why its wrong to eat meat but think is grand to eat fish.
4. People who go on foreign holidays and don't see any of the country their in just sit on the beach or the pub all day.
Will probably think of more later
05/10/2006, 10:07 AM
3. Vegertarians who preech about why its wrong to eat meat but think is grand to eat fish.
Dont preach bout it and dont eat fish either.
05/10/2006, 10:28 AM
If they eat fish they are NOT VEGETARIAN. :p
So maybe I should add people who say they are vegetarian but eat fish.
05/10/2006, 10:30 AM
I totally agree there mr partisan. if it has a parent u dont eat it.
Aberdonian Stu
05/10/2006, 10:35 AM
Hell no!
Rovers'Til IDie
05/10/2006, 11:25 AM
Those phonewatch ads that just try and put a downer on every happy occassion....'just got a new job, well watch out because burglars will rob your house when you go to work'....'Its christmas, have a great time, but remember burlars are going to rob all your stuff'.... 'just had a ride ?, well burglars are downstairs taking your telly'.
I totally agree there mr partisan. if it has a parent u dont eat it.
Well, if you eat the parents first, is it then ok?
05/10/2006, 12:08 PM
Well, if you eat the parents first, is it then ok?
Ha ha! Eh no!
05/10/2006, 1:02 PM
'just had a ride ?, well burglars are downstairs taking your telly'.
And the bird you are lying beside is in on it. She wouldn't have went near you only for her criminal husband wanted to rob your TV :D
Lots of stuff about driving bugs me.
People who immediately move into the overtaking lane (I hate the term 'fast lane') when they're not overtaking anyone.
People don't turn on their headlamps when it is dark (like at dawn / dusk, or when it is raining) - the fact that they don't understand that it's not so you can see the road, but so that others can see you.
People who use parking lights when they should use their headlights (you know, those little ones at the side of the headlights)
People who drive around with their fog lights on just because they think it looks 'cool'. If someone behind me has their front fogs on I normally put my rear one on to try to get the point across.
If you're trying to get past a large truck (for instance), and the cars behind decide to overtake you and the truck before you get a chance to pull out (particularly annoying on dual-carriageways).
Not using indicators at roundabouts.
Blocking junctions (whether or not they have a yellow box - a little common sense would go a long way).
Tail-gating (if it's really bad, I just slow down)
There are undoubtedly more, but most are summed up by a lack of courtesy, and not thinking about what you're doing.
====
End of rant. God, that felt good!
06/10/2006, 9:17 AM
It bugs me that I have to look for a new job coz cant put up with sh*t from my boss. Imagine making me feel bad coz have a broken ankle. Git.
06/10/2006, 9:28 AM
It bugs me that I have to look for a new job coz cant put up with sh*t from my boss. Imagine making me feel bad coz have a broken ankle. Git.
Thats taking a long time to knit isn't it?
06/10/2006, 9:52 AM
It has knit & am starting to walk on it again but am still on crutches. My tendons are fecked at the mo so physio is making me take it a bit easier but havent missed work since after got the pin out. Had some complications after the anesthetic and was forced outta work for almost 2 weeks.
Rovers'Til IDie
06/10/2006, 10:21 AM
R.T.E. in general, but their radio stations in particular, for the (among many) following reasons.
1. License increase again
2. Repeats, repeats, repeats
3. Glorification of english premiership
4. When broadcastiong Drogheda v Start match on long wave (what century are we in ?) kept losing transmission, and Gabriel Egan had to use his mobile phone to commentate on the last few penalties. Its not siberia they were broadcasting from.
5. Siobhan Madigan, after reporting about Derry city before PSG game, said something like "there's 5 other british teams in UEFA cup action tonight."
6. Ridiculous salaries the presenters are on
7. No original programming ideas.
8. Pat Kenny always saying on his Friday radio show how great the Late late show is going to be. He's probably saying it right now.
9. Me, for not stopping listening to/ looking at RTE years ago.
06/10/2006, 11:51 AM
Don't forget Marty Whelan! :(
06/10/2006, 12:39 PM
Bugs me...
People who reply one word text messages to you.
Moody people who dont say good morning (mainly my office)
People who go all gooey over the word. “babies”
People who don’t get their rounds in
Rude bartenders, you should be grateful that im drinking here!
Arrogant bouncers
Arrogant bus drivers
06/10/2006, 12:46 PM
Rude bartenders, you should be grateful that im drinking here!
Have you ever been in Molloys off Talbot St?