View Full Version : What Should the LDMC be Doing for Clubs ?
Pages :
[
8]
Old keeper
11/12/2006, 8:21 AM
Not sure that is a good enough explanation although I do appreciate you taking the time to respond referees at that level should not have to do two games a day as most of them are not fit enough for it or are just in it for the money. A big push is required for referees in the league is required it is very hard to attract players to lower league clubs two players have left our club in the recent past due to the standard of refereeing at that level. Also I just read the ldmc website where it stated that only 4 Junior games 1 youth and 1 U17 went ahead considering the weather we have had that means 6 pitches in the league are ruined and if we get a long period of frost will be umplayable for a long time. I watched a game today that was a complete farce the ref should never have let it go ahead but I dont blame him someone in the ldmc should make a decision when it is that bad and call them all off and stop ruining peoples weekends especially when some people are attending christmas parties the night before and taking it easy, getting up early in the morning only to be told by a ref that its off. Why oh why do they insist on playing these games when come march or april the league is finished and people end up with 5 months of good weather with no football to play can you see any logic in this??
Hi
If referees did not do two games a day we would not be able to sustain the league in its current format
The LDL has a system in place for home teams to inspect their pitch on the Saturday and notify the FS if they think it is unplayable, So the clubs who opted to play HAD the opp to have their games called off but decided for THEIR own reasons to play.
The MFA and FAI games are out of our control and are down to the REF on the day.
Your comment re "especially when some people are attending christmas parties the night before and taking it easy, getting up early in the morning only to be told by a ref that its off" as I said the club had the option of inspecting their pitch on the Sat but did not avail of this, so I would take it up with the club.
Referees have a system for assesment and this is applied to all refs so your comments re fitness are mute (not that all refs are as fit as they could be but nor are players)
As for being in it for the money! Refs are paid a set amount to cover expenses and to my mind it's worth it to keep playing.
On previous occasions when blanket decisions were made to call off games, a lot of clubs were angry as their pitches were playable and would not have sustained damage. So it looks like a no win situation for the LDL on this one
northsiderkid
11/12/2006, 10:46 PM
Many thanks for your reply although I think we will agree to disagree regarding referees. It is good to hear some of your comments and I think credit must be given to you for the time and effort that you put in to it. I hope im not annoying you too much regarding referees but if you get a chance could you let me know how often they are assesed ive never been involved in a game when an assesor was there.
To mitresize5 not many teams in the lower leagues have the luxury of been able to pay thousands of pounds on their pitch and the standard is bad enough without having to put up with the kind of the conditions we do at this time of year. Then in march or april we are twiddling our thumbs as our league is over and the sun is shining and we cast our minds back to weekends like the one just past when it was impossible to pass the ball 10 yards without it getting stuck in the puddles and mud and ask ourselves why.
MitreSize5
12/12/2006, 7:22 AM
To mitresize5 not many teams in the lower leagues have the luxury of been able to pay thousands of pounds on their pitch and the standard is bad enough without having to put up with the kind of the conditions we do at this time of year. Then in march or april we are twiddling our thumbs as our league is over and the sun is shining and we cast our minds back to weekends like the one just past when it was impossible to pass the ball 10 yards without it getting stuck in the puddles and mud and ask ourselves why.
im not saying anything about teams in lower leagues havin to call off games because of bad weather, it happens. what i was saying is why should there be a blanket call off of all matches when some clubs can play matches on pitchs they have invested heavily in
larrywhite
12/12/2006, 9:11 AM
And how many teams travelled to pitches on Sunday last only for the ref to call the game off? It was obvious on Saturday that most pitches would be unplayable and yet our A team still had to travel only for the ref to call it off.
It would be nice if the home clubs were more helpful towards towards visitors. Three times in the last 3 years we have travelled out to county venues only for the pitch to be in a horrendous state and the ref calling it off. Nothing worse than wasting 3 hours of 15/16 peoples time for absolutely no reason.
Jock MIB
12/12/2006, 9:37 AM
Old Keeper have the ldmc ever thought about summer soccer and have winter breaks before at meetings or will this be a non starter..? just curious;)
ShelsLimerick
12/12/2006, 9:52 AM
Old Keeper have the ldmc ever thought about summer soccer and have winter breaks before at meetings or will this be a non starter..? just curious;)
We're in the middle of our winter break. Haven't played since Autumn and won't have another game until Spring.:confused:
ffffff
12/12/2006, 10:22 AM
the way things are at the moment , we are better off havng an indoor league....!!! maybe renting an aul hall and playing a few matches!!!!
with the weather this morning- I can't see any matches this week end either
Old keeper
12/12/2006, 11:13 AM
HI jOCK
Summer soccer is a disaster in the leagues that have adopted it and will prove difficult to sustain the numbers over the summer with interfirm and other events.
The winter break is a good Idea and has been mooted but as I always say have your club suggest it to the committee, this will allow the issue to gain momentum otherwise it will not be entertained.
Limeref
12/12/2006, 8:12 PM
Not sure that is a good enough explanation although I do appreciate you taking the time to respond referees at that level should not have to do two games a day as most of them are not fit enough for it or are just in it for the money. A big push is required for referees in the league is required it is very hard to attract players to lower league clubs two players have left our club in the recent past due to the standard of refereeing at that level.
Northsiderkid
The reason referees do two games a day is because, unfortunately, there are not enough referees.
You think its hard to attract players, its even harder to attract referees, especially when you discover the fee involved, €37.50 for over 90 minutes of abuse :eek: not to mention the other preperation that goes into matchdays including travel (my closest game this season has taken me 30 minutes to get to the venue)!
I have travelled extensively over the last 3 years and have seen over 100 different referees and I can honestly say the standard in Limerick is probably the highest in the country and I include Dublin referees in that assessment.
At the rate we’re going, in five years time there will be no Division 3A/B or 4A/B due to the lack of referees and maybe even 2A/B may suffer. Limerick has lost a number of referees in the last five years, Kevin O'Driscoll, Tony Markam, Neol Dunphy, Declan Earls, Joe Hannon, Derek Olseen, Dave Brosnan and Imelda O’Hannlon off the top of my head and no new blood has come in to replace them.
I can honestly say it is not for money that I referee, and I would consider myself reasonably fit, the reason I got involved was to give something back to the game after an enjoyable but un-remarkable career :D
Many thanks for your reply although I think we will agree to disagree regarding referees. It is good to hear some of your comments and I think credit must be given to you for the time and effort that you put in to it. I hope im not annoying you too much regarding referees but if you get a chance could you let me know how often they are assesed ive never been involved in a game when an assesor was there.
Over the last 2 seasons I have been assessed five times, on two occasions I was unaware that an assessor was present and only discovered the fact when an assessment sheet came through the door, nearly all the time the player don't know that the assessors are present, so maybe you were involved in a game where an assessor was there? ;)
Limeref
larrywhite
13/12/2006, 8:50 AM
Derek Olsson...thats a laugh. He didnt leave the game...he left the country...allegedly. :D
As for assessors...havent seen any this season but last season I saw one at probably 4 games involving one of our two teams and have seen them plenty of times over the years so they are definitely around. As Mr.G.Adams once said "They havent gone away you know". ;)
Super Rovers
19/12/2006, 3:27 PM
ye all can slag refs as much as ye want but how many of ye out there have had the balls to ref a match. it is clearly 1 of the hardest jobs there because in someone's opinion they are wrong.
i know that i give ref hassle during matches roaring at them but afterwards i go shake their hand and thank them.
is it so hard to understand that a ref has a nightmare every now and then, its not like as a player you have a man of the match performance everytime you go out on the field.
Old keeper
02/01/2007, 9:56 AM
Can any of you give some feedback on the new division pages! the Premier 1A and 4B have been changed, the rest will be once the feedback is in. Be brutally honest as the changes are easier to make now rather than later.
ffffff
02/01/2007, 10:31 AM
Can any of you give some feedback on the new division pages! the Premier 1A and 4B have been changed, the rest will be once the feedback is in. Be brutally honest as the changes are easier to make now rather than later.
to be fair it is excellent - very well laid out, easy to read etc
eg. you can go to a teams previous results in a second and know their exact form.
I presume the goals for and against colum will not mean much at the end of the season cos not sure how accurate it is......
but fair play -
any news on the text service for results
Old keeper
02/01/2007, 11:25 AM
to be fair it is excellent - very well laid out, easy to read etc
eg. you can go to a teams previous results in a second and know their exact form.
I presume the goals for and against colum will not mean much at the end of the season cos not sure how accurate it is......
but fair play -
any news on the text service for results
Thanks for the feedback
When all the divisions are up the text service will be put live
Hoops 1967
02/01/2007, 11:28 AM
Hi Old Keeper,
Just some questions I have...
What happened to the future fixtures, not next weeks but the fixtures for the rest of the season?
Will the previous cup winners be added?
Will the divisional top scorers be added?
Previously it stated when and why games were called off, what happened to this?
By the way happy new year!
Old keeper
02/01/2007, 11:44 AM
Hi Old Keeper,
Just some questions I have...
What happened to the future fixtures, not next weeks but the fixtures for the rest of the season?
Will the previous cup winners be added?
Will the divisional top scorers be added?
Previously it stated when and why games were called off, what happened to this?
By the way happy new year!
Thanks for the feedback
The full fixtures will be available from tomorrow as a download and clubs will be able to view all their fixtures for the rest of the season when the format is finalised.
When the cup draws are made there will be a page showing the cups history and winners
No plans at the moment for top scorers
Games that are off will have reasons going forward and the downloads will still indicate the reasons for the previous games being off
ShelsLimerick
02/01/2007, 12:27 PM
Wrong result for 3rd December in Div 4b.
Croom United B 6 1 Shelbourne
Game was already played on 8th October.
Old keeper
02/01/2007, 3:26 PM
Wrong result for 3rd December in Div 4b.
Croom United B 6 1 Shelbourne
Game was already played on 8th October.
Not only the wrong result but a totally wrong fixture!!
Thanks for spotting that, its fixed now
Mercurial Vapor
02/01/2007, 3:34 PM
Not only the wrong result but a totally wrong fixture!!
Thanks for spotting that, its fixed now
Also OK, the Division 1A result for 17/12/'06 should be Mungret 3-0 Hill Celtic.
Keep up the good work.
Old keeper
02/01/2007, 4:28 PM
Also OK, the Division 1A result for 17/12/'06 should be Mungret 3-0 Hill Celtic.
Keep up the good work.
Thanks, That result is also updated
ffffff
04/01/2007, 9:40 AM
Hi OldKeeper / lads,
any news of any matches off cos of the Oscar Traynor
thanks
silvercircle
04/01/2007, 11:27 AM
Thanks, That result is also updated
Old keeper,
can you confirm is Derek Mccarthy eligible to play for Pike in the FAI ...MJC according to posts on the ballymun fc web site local soccer rules do not apply in cup compititions FAI rules apply...therefore he would not be eligible.:confused: :confused:
Old keeper
04/01/2007, 12:31 PM
Old keeper,
can you confirm is Derek Mccarthy eligible to play for Pike in the FAI ...MJC according to posts on the ballymun fc web site local soccer rules do not apply in cup compititions FAI rules apply...therefore he would not be eligible.:confused: :confused:
Hi Can thell you that the FAI cup rules apply in the FAI competition not local rules (you can download a copy of the FAI Junior cup rule book on downloads section of www.ldmc.ie)
The player will also need to be transferred inside the alloted time to play and have all the assocated documentation
gaidin
05/01/2007, 9:12 AM
Hi Can thell you that the FAI cup rules apply in the FAI competition not local rules (you can download a copy of the FAI Junior cup rule book on downloads section of www.ldmc.ie)
The player will also need to be transferred inside the alloted time to play and have all the assocated documentation
The updated website looks very good. Ye should be commended for a good job on developing the website. The only thing I would ask for would be a little gap in the results so that the results for each weekend are separate from the next weekend of results. Just for clearer reading really.
Also would it be possible to put up the LDMC rules on the download section where the fai and munster junior rules are.
Hoops 1967
05/01/2007, 12:27 PM
Hi Old Keeper,
Just like to say thats its good to see the wembly youths playing at Jackman Park, I think some midweek junior games should be played there to help with the back log of fixtures.
When is the first round of the Lawson cup been played?
Any idea when the draw for the lawson and divisional cups is on?
Old keeper
05/01/2007, 1:31 PM
Hi Old Keeper,
Just like to say thats its good to see the wembly youths playing at Jackman Park, I think some midweek junior games should be played there to help with the back log of fixtures.
When is the first round of the Lawson cup been played?
Any idea when the draw for the lawson and divisional cups is on?
I agree that more teams should play in the park
The cup draws have yet to be made and no date has been fixed for them yet. my personal opinion is that the draws should be made as soon as possible.
the only 1
05/01/2007, 5:42 PM
Old keeper,
well brendan hughes played for fairview dis year im sure pike will have there homework done
ffffff
08/01/2007, 2:43 PM
Hi Old Keeper can you put up the fixtures for the rest of the season - they were on the old LDMC web format but not on the new one
cheers
summervilleman
08/01/2007, 2:47 PM
Any ideas old keeper if that match with summervillle and hill celtic will go ahead on thursday night???
ShelsLimerick
09/01/2007, 8:02 AM
Old Keeper,
Has any decision been made about a cup competition for the lower divisions?
Old keeper
09/01/2007, 8:47 AM
Old Keeper,
Has any decision been made about a cup competition for the lower divisions?
Not yet but most of the committee are aware of the issues surrounding the lower divisions, Will post when it has been discussed.
ffffff
10/01/2007, 10:14 AM
Not yet but most of the committee are aware of the issues surrounding the lower divisions, Will post when it has been discussed.
Hi Old keeper,
question.............
like was done before X-mas............. for league fixtures on Sundays when the weather is bad during the week, why don't the LDMC fix the matches for home or away...so if home team pitch is unplayable on the Saturday then the match is switched to the away team for the Sunday ( providing they have not played each other already)..this would ensure more matches are played.
Leagues ae falling behind and players are only crying out for a game in lower divsions, cos of Oscar traynor, bad weather before x-mas etc. It seems to me that more matches will be called off this week, at least the above idea would increase the opportunity of them being played . Some teams have not played in over 2 months
just an idea......anyway this could happen a betwen november and January??????????????
Old keeper
10/01/2007, 10:50 AM
Hi Old keeper,
question.............
like was done before X-mas............. for league fixtures on Sundays when the weather is bad during the week, why don't the LDMC fix the matches for home or away...so if home team pitch is unplayable on the Saturday then the match is switched to the away team for the Sunday ( providing they have not played each other already)..this would ensure more matches are played.
Leagues ae falling behind and players are only crying out for a game in lower divsions, cos of Oscar traynor, bad weather before x-mas etc. It seems to me that more matches will be called off this week, at least the above idea would increase the opportunity of them being played . Some teams have not played in over 2 months
just an idea......anyway this could happen a betwen november and January??????????????
Hi
The origional proposal was for this to apply in first round games but I will pass the suggestion on to the FS
ffffff
10/01/2007, 10:54 AM
Hi
The origional proposal was for this to apply in first round games but I will pass the suggestion on to the FS
hiya
as usual thanks for the speedy reply....there is actually 1st round games outstanding this week and the followng week..some teams have 2-3...
cheers
Old keeper
10/01/2007, 11:01 AM
hiya
as usual thanks for the speedy reply....there is actually 1st round games outstanding this week and the followng week..some teams have 2-3...
cheers
Hi F
well it still applies for first round games
ffffff
10/01/2007, 11:02 AM
Hi F
well it still applies for first round games
thanks again
Old keeper
10/01/2007, 10:41 PM
Following meetings of all the committees who are represented in Soccer Limerick, the group has been given the green light to apply to the FAI for a 1st Division license. Separate meetings of the Ladies, Schoolboy/girl and Junior soccer committees have granted their approval for the group to proceed with the license application. The details of the application and the structure will be presented to the constituent clubs of each committee in the very near future, at that stage local clubs will have an opportunity to contribute to the overall structure and get details of the benefits that will accrue to all clubs from having a seamless transition from schoolboy/girl right up to senior soccer. The basis of the application is a mix of Soccer Limerick and business investors with the emphasis being on full participation by all investors. Plans are well advanced to have widespread participation in the club not only from the local soccer leagues but also from the many loyal and enthusiastic supporters of soccer in Limerick. It is proposed that the team will play out of Jackman Park in the heart of the “Treaty City”, Soccer Limerick will also be looking to ensure that the development of all soccer infrastructure in the Limerick area is speeded up and developed to satisfy the needs of all grades in the game. The group is convinced that the proposals and structures contained in it’s application are the basis for a sustained approach to soccer at all grades and will ensure the stability of senior soccer in limerick, to this end Soccer Limerick extends an open invitation to any other entity’s who have expressed an interest in applying for a license to contact us with a view to ensuring that whoever is successful in their application will be supported by all the other applicants. We would hope that any remaining obstacles to keeping Senior soccer in Limerick are now removed and the process be allowed to run it’s course.
-End-
MitreSize5
11/01/2007, 9:57 AM
Old keeper Im not trying to be snide or anything here but how do the ldmc think they can run a LOI team when they can't get their house in order with all the in fighting at the moment .. surely ye should be getting yer own house in order first
Old keeper
11/01/2007, 10:38 AM
Old keeper Im not trying to be snide or anything here but how do the ldmc think they can run a LOI team when they can't get their house in order with all the in fighting at the moment .. surely ye should be getting yer own house in order first
Hi Mitre
It's actually a very good point!
However the LDMC will not be running a LOI team the jist is that the LDMC Schoolboys and Ladies will facilitate the running of a senior club by allowing the infrastructure and development that already exists to be utilised by the new group who will run the club, The local leagues will have strong representation on the board of the new club but will not be involved in the day to day running of the club this will be done by the clubs management committee appointed by the board. The benefits to local soccer are huge with returns from extra coaches available at schoolboy and youth level and also the development of a fully seated Jackman park, with other developments in infrastructure for the regional development centre to include allweather pitches and training facilities for all grades.
The clubs will have a say in the progress of this very soon and any points in relation to clubs having misgivings can and will be addressed. Regarding the infighting in the LDMC it's sad that it is happening but the chance to secure senior soccer in Limerick was one point that ALL the committee were behind.
If you want any further details PM me and I will be glad to fill you in
3 Heroes
14/01/2007, 8:25 PM
It's Ireland in Winter, you'll be lucky to play 3 games between now and February:mad:
Well, any takers on whether I was proved right?
Jock MIB
14/01/2007, 8:26 PM
hey old keeper long time no speak,
looking at new website looking good but division 1b is not looking right.
is it divisional cup games next weekend or is it league games?
holycrossjock
Old keeper
14/01/2007, 9:38 PM
hey old keeper long time no speak,
looking at new website looking good but division 1b is not looking right.
is it divisional cup games next weekend or is it league games?
holycrossjock
Hi Jock
I have not finished the updates yet on the divisions between 1b and 4a I will soon. Next week is League as no cup draws have yet been made.
ffffff
17/01/2007, 11:49 AM
hi Old keeper ....
any news on the local cups /lawson cup ? - when do you think they will be made
cheers
f
ShelsLimerick
17/01/2007, 12:33 PM
Well, any takers on whether I was proved right?
We've played one game since October 29th.
Old keeper
17/01/2007, 4:30 PM
hi Old keeper ....
any news on the local cups /lawson cup ? - when do you think they will be made
cheers
f
Hi There have been some discussions on the dates for the cup draws but these need to be made at a delegate meeting, a date for the delagate meeting has been requested by the FS and this should be within the next week or two.
3 Heroes
17/01/2007, 7:28 PM
We've played one game since October 29th.
Jeez that's bad form:(
larrywhite
18/01/2007, 11:09 AM
Jeez that's bad form:(
Thats ridiculous. We are nearly as bad though, having played our last game on November 12th. We did have one start on December 01st but it was abandoned when an opposition player broke his leg on a pitch that should not have been played on.
Just shows that my idea for the lower leagues having a winter break is easily achievable.
Poloman
22/01/2007, 2:12 PM
We havent had a match since 11th November in 4B. Thats 2 and a half months!!! And counting.....
Please Old Keeper I really hope something is being done about the lower divisions as mentioned earlier as myself and about 8 team-mates are thinking of chucking it in altogether as whats the point of playing in a league when we dont have games for this long, then are expected to play a match together. Its a disaster. we have lost al interest really :(
I will say it again the simple answer is to amalgamate the bottom four divisions into 3A, 3B and 3C.. this will give teams more matches.
Everyone I have spoken to in my league from other teams and those divisions agree. Its not hard to do and we would gladly play in 4B for the rest of our lives if it just meant more games. We only play for the love of the game. Either that or we will apply to be the representatives of Limerick37... your call :rolleyes:
Old keeper
22/01/2007, 2:43 PM
We havent had a match since 11th November in 4B. Thats 2 and a half months!!! And counting.....
Please Old Keeper I really hope something is being done about the lower divisions as mentioned earlier as myself and about 8 team-mates are thinking of chucking it in altogether as whats the point of playing in a league when we dont have games for this long, then are expected to play a match together. Its a disaster. we have lost al interest really :(
I will say it again the simple answer is to amalgamate the bottom four divisions into 3A, 3B and 3C.. this will give teams more matches.
Everyone I have spoken to in my league from other teams and those divisions agree. Its not hard to do and we would gladly play in 4B for the rest of our lives if it just meant more games. We only play for the love of the game. Either that or we will apply to be the representatives of Limerick37... your call :rolleyes:
Hi Polo
I can feel your frustration, I had my first game in almost the same lenght of time yesterday and as a player in the lower divisions I know exactly what you are speaking of. I think that the introduction of the cups and possibly a new way to play them off will help the situation and I look forward to the FS proposals in this regard. It would not be a bad idea to have a meeting of the team managers of the lower divisions to discuss this so get your quills out and ask your clubs to request a meeting with the FS and LS.
I will ask my own club to write this week.
Poloman
22/01/2007, 2:54 PM
Cheers mate but our manager is about as useful as Schevchenko so we are trying to get a new manager next season or we all walk. He doesnt even attend training. Thanks for the feedback though. Nice to know someone does give a xxxx.
PS Great work on the website.. its great seeing the results for the whole season so far!!!! Top man.