View Full Version : Henry the cheat

28/06/2006, 8:55 AM
Disgraceful behaviour last night by nicer than pie Thierry Henry. He said at the Champions league that maybe he should dive next time and next time against Puyol he did dive. Trying to get Puyol sent off by clutching his face. Viera was no better as a few times he went to the ref and did the booking gesture with his hand

Both players should miss the game against Brazil

28/06/2006, 9:06 AM
Yes and no. It was a foul as he was body checked but obviously he feigned injury to his face after that but when in Rome, do as ..... etc. Everyone is at it. As for Viera looking for Puyol to be booked, that has become part and parcel of the game.

It's terrible that this has become part of the game but it is endemic. I never regarded Henry as being a saint and he certainly has proven not to be one. Fifa can do nothing about it - he can claim that he got a spasm in his face because of the foul or some such rubbish. They can do nothing about it.

That's the game these day. Shame but meanwhile most people will focus on the refs and continue to ignore how the players are dragging it down.

28/06/2006, 9:11 AM
That is why I am not having a go at the ref and in this case I am having a go against whiter than white Thierry Henry.

I thought it was a free to Spain to be honest as Henry barged Puyol in the box and so did Giles Irwin and Cunningham last night. 2 of them are experienced defenders and thought Puyol was doing the right thing. Henry won the free and tried to get Puyol sent off. He showed his true colours last night and maybe he should apoligise to Aragones now privately as well as publicly.

28/06/2006, 9:13 AM
what did he say post match in the CL final? He is not a women and never dives? Something along those lines anyway.

28/06/2006, 9:15 AM
I thought it was a clear foul but Henry's reaction was cheating. I don't think Spain can complain about the validity of the free kick though. I reckon Henry was out to "get" Puyol from a sense of injustice from Paris in May.

28/06/2006, 9:18 AM
I thought it was a clear foul also, to Spain and Irwin and Cunningham and Giles all agreed with me.

This is what he said.

"Next time I'll learn to dive maybe, but I'm not a woman"

Thierry Henry, after the 2006 Champions League final

Roadend
28/06/2006, 9:26 AM
Torres did fairly much the same thing but he's not a cheat or even getting a mention?

28/06/2006, 9:27 AM
But it wasn't a dive. There was contact between the two - who ran in to who is open to question but it was the feigning injury that was the problem.

Roadend
28/06/2006, 9:30 AM
Seriously, Vieira brushed off his face and he went down like he'd been hit a thump, if that's not feigning injury I don't know what is. I'm not an Henry fan either, I accept he blatantly cheated, but he wasn't the only one.

28/06/2006, 9:37 AM
Yeah Last night Viera and Henry were as bad as each other in my view. Torres went down in the box last night it was not a penalty but it was not a dive and Viera was straight up to the ref gesturing for him to be booked. As owls fan said he was not the only one but does not make it right.

Donadoni
28/06/2006, 9:59 AM
I also remembered that 'woman' thing last night. I was fuming. I was genuinely disappointed at how poor a loser Henry revealed himself to be after the Champions League final. What was the other thing he said, something like 'I look around and I see the Barca fans cheering but emmm...' Shrug of shoulders that was to be interpreted as 'their victory is hollow and tainted and it appals me to think a person could celebrate in that manner'. Then last night I thought well along with a being bad loser Henry reveals himself as a hypocrite and a cheat. I hope that FIFA take some action but I suspect they won't.

Roadend
28/06/2006, 9:59 AM
I think we may be on about different incidents here

Dotsy
28/06/2006, 10:25 AM
I think we may be on about different incidents here

It was a different incident. The Torres incident you are referring to was nowhere near the penalty box. It was about half way right beside the dug outs. Viera put his hand up and barely touched Torres's face but he went down like a ton of bricks clutching his face. Aragones went mad when Viera wasn't booked and Viera put his finger to his lips telling Aragones to be quiet. Disgraceful from Torres. Henri was just as bad. Unfortunatley it is becoming more and more common in every game.

28/06/2006, 10:43 AM
No I am talking about an incident in the early part of the 1st half and Torres ran into the box and fell down through momentum it was not a penalty but it was not a dive. Viera was not inolved in the incident until he approached the ref and gestured to get Torres booked. That is the incident I am talking about in relation to Viera. The one in relation to Henry is the one that led to Frances 2nd goal from the free. Hope that clears things up from my point of view.

28/06/2006, 11:38 AM
Think ye are over reacting.
Henry got hit in the chest and therefor it was a free kick.
Can't defend him holding his face but the ref had already blowin for the free and has always gonna give Puyol a yellow,regardless of Henrys antics.

28/06/2006, 11:44 AM
Thats not the way I saw it or Johnny Giles or Denis Irwin or Kenny Cunningham saw it. Puyol was running across and shielding the ball like any good defender should do. THe two players collided and Henry fell to the floor clutching his face when it was clear as day that he was not hit in the face. He was trying to get Puyol a red card when it was not even in a free in mine or 3 experts views but it was a free in other peoples views. Therefore I would classify it as a debatable free but Henrys behaviour was disgraceful and he is a cheat.

Over the post
28/06/2006, 11:49 AM
Henry's behaviour was disgraceful. Fair enough, Puyol's attempt to block him was uncharacteristically clumsy, but that's no excuse to go down clutching his face. The most frustrating thing of all is that the block wasn't necessary as it was clear Pernía was going to reach the ball first.

28/06/2006, 12:08 PM
Thats not the way I saw it or Johnny Giles or Denis Irwin or Kenny Cunningham saw it. Puyol was running across and shielding the ball like any good defender should do. THe two players collided and Henry fell to the floor clutching his face when it was clear as day that he was not hit in the face. He was trying to get Puyol a red card when it was not even in a free in mine or 3 experts views but it was a free in other peoples views. Therefore I would classify it as a debatable free but Henrys behaviour was disgraceful and he is a cheat.

Spot on, as the RTÉ lads said it wasn't even a free, as Puyol moved across Henry's path to shield the ball, Henry literally launched himself at Puyol's back. The reverse angle clearly showed it.

Then the little cheat fell clutching his face, Puyol was carded and France scored from the resulting free kick. But, hey, that's the modern game for you. :rolleyes:

Roadend
28/06/2006, 12:24 PM
Spot on, as the RTÉ lads said it wasn't even a free, as Puyol moved across Henry's path to shield the ball,

Considering Pernia was going to get it first and Henry would have easily outstripped Puyol, I think you could safely say tjhat its obstruction and a free.

Clifford
28/06/2006, 12:37 PM
Thats not the way I saw it or Johnny Giles or Denis Irwin or Kenny Cunningham saw it. Puyol was running across and shielding the ball like any good defender should do. THe two players collided and Henry fell to the floor clutching his face when it was clear as day that he was not hit in the face. He was trying to get Puyol a red card when it was not even in a free in mine or 3 experts views but it was a free in other peoples views.

That's Giles and Cunningham who wrote off France as more or less no hopers last night before the game and completely wrote off the immense Viera and the immense Zidane, yet at the end of the game typically wouldn't admit to having got it all wrong with regard to the useless Spain (one shot on goal, that a pen) and want Henry sent off retrospectively cos they were bitter as hell.

Puyol knew he had been beaten by Henry, stepped across and blocked him off. The free was a cert, the antics were very poor - end of. Ronaldinho, Becks, Alonso, Riquelme and so on and so forth do what Viera did with the card and while it's childish at best it's up to the refs to cut it out - a ref gave a yellow to a Serb and Montenegro player in the game v Holland, but it's not been repeated since. Blatter and co to blame in my book.

Bear in mind everybody that your thread starter is a huge Spurs fan.

smellyfeet
28/06/2006, 12:53 PM
Henry has just put his foot in it by doing what he did last night..I know it goes against everything he said about him not being a diver BUT he did get a free for it and France got a goal from the free kick..Hes rubbing his hands now!!

Nearly every playing in the Tournament has dived at somestage, some more than others. but the fact is that it has gone way out of control and at this stage it will never change but only get worse. Even half tackle's players are rolling around in AGONY and holding up the game and when they finaly get up off the ground there's another player at it...IT'S ONLY GOING TO GET WORSE..

But saying that it's really only the World Cup that has been bad for Diving and going out of there way to get players booked/sent off

28/06/2006, 12:56 PM
It was certainly a foul by Puyol. He didn't shield the ball, he changed his path to stop Henry from running. He took his opponent out off the ball.

Here is the incident:
http://www.yourfilehost.com/media.php?cat=other&file=Puyol_Yellow_Henry_Fakes_Injury.zip

One angle makes it looks like Henry barged into him but the first angle clearly shows it was Puyol who commited the foul.

As for Henry, I can't stand the guy and that dive won't do his reputation any favours.

Dunphy
28/06/2006, 1:01 PM
I am an Arsenal fan, i agree with you 110% about Henry's incident last night, he shouldn't of done it. It was a free kick and puyol was always going to get booked, but what Henry done was a disgrace. Lets not forget the spanish managers racial remarks about Henry last year, i think what goes around comes around, diving and racisim should be thrown out of football!!

Roadend
28/06/2006, 1:05 PM
I thought you were a Utd. fan?:confused:

28/06/2006, 1:05 PM
Aragones apoligised for his remarks will we see Henry do the same. Does not look like it.

28/06/2006, 1:06 PM
It was certainly a foul by Puyol. He didn't shield the ball, he changed his path to stop Henry from running. He took his opponent out off the ball.

Here is the incident:
http://www.yourfilehost.com/media.php?cat=other&file=Puyol_Yellow_Henry_Fakes_Injury.zip

One angle makes it looks like Henry barged into him but the first angle clearly shows it was Puyol who commited the foul.

As for Henry, I can't stand the guy and that dive won't do his reputation any favours.

Bit of a dodgy link there Eirebhoy, some nice girls in my area though. Cheers.

28/06/2006, 1:06 PM
Aragones apoligised for his remarks
he was obliged to in fairness.

Bit of a dodgy link there Eirebhoy, some nice girls in my area though. Cheers.
haha. :D

Dunphy
28/06/2006, 1:08 PM
Aragones should of been sacked after his remarks!! Henry is the best striker in the world!! I'm an arsenal fan, i'm new to all of this!!

28/06/2006, 1:10 PM
That's Giles and Cunningham who wrote off France as more or less no hopers last night before the game and completely wrote off the immense Viera and the immense Zidane, yet at the end of the game typically wouldn't admit to having got it all wrong with regard to the useless Spain (one shot on goal, that a pen) and want Henry sent off retrospectively cos they were bitter as hell.

What station were you watching? All three said they were wrong at half-time and said France were the better side. They said the same again at the end with Cunny Kenningham admitting that he was hopelessly wrong about France.

I thought they were very magnaminous towards Les Bleu. More than I would have been anyway. Zidane and Viera weren't 'immense' by any stretch, Spain were quite simply rubbish.

28/06/2006, 1:12 PM
Well Reyes came out and said that Aragones is not a racist and that Henry knows that Aragones is not a racist. I would prefer to look at the actions of a man rather than a one off comment in a heated and private situation. I think if we are to be sacked for waht we say in private i think a lot of us would be out of a job. That is not saying that racism is ok but I would not like to hang someone just for a one off remark said in private. Esp when he said sorry for it.

Dunphy
28/06/2006, 1:14 PM
What does Kenny Cunningham know in all fairness?

28/06/2006, 1:16 PM
Yeah have to agree , rubbish post there by Clifford in my opinion. France looked very weak for the last 4 years, so Giles and Cunningham used this as evidence to back a Spain win. Irwin had a sneaking feeling that the experience of France would see them through along with their strong back line. Irwin proved to correct. At half time Giles and Cunningham said that France were the better team as they were working harder and defending much better. Giles had flagged the 2 Spanish full backs and they were rubbish last night.

I dont look for predictions from the pundits but good informed analysis which is what we got last night from 3 Irish footballing legends and Peter Collins.

Donal81
28/06/2006, 1:16 PM
If it hadn't happened to Puyol, the worst diver of them all, I'd be disgusted. As it is, I found it hilarious. Puyol is the worst kind of imaginary card-waving chancer who tries to get opponents sent off while diving all over the pitch. He's pure filth. So, good riddance to him and it was a foul anyway. But it wasn't a booking and Henry's reaction was disgraceful. At least it showed everyone a different side to the bloke, which is good. He's probably dived plenty of times and gotten away with it so maybe refs, in their infinite wisdom for booking players who dive, will take a harsher look at him next season. Speaking of which, two players got booked in the Brazil-Ghana game, Adriano being one. I only saw the highlights but I'm sure he thought twice about diving again.

Dunphy
28/06/2006, 1:18 PM
Henry is quoted as saying today "puyol apoligised to me for the challenge" so he admitted his guilt that it was a clear foul, however henry's actions after the challenge left a lot to be desired! There is no better striker in the world than him at the moment, i think he should be remembered for his masterclass football and not just one incident. France were the better team last night!!

28/06/2006, 1:19 PM
I think the Henry incident is one that is very hard for refs to spot but I think retrospective yellow cards should be given out for that sort of thing. Henry should have a booking going into the Brazil game at least in my view. That way a player may get away with it in a game but would not get away with it after video evidence has proved them to be a cheat like Henry and Viera were last night.

28/06/2006, 1:20 PM
Henry is quoted as saying today "puyol apoligised to me for the challenge" so he admitted his guilt that it was a clear foul, however henry's actions after the challenge left a lot to be desired! There is no better striker in the world than him at the moment, i think he should be remembered for his masterclass football and not just one incident. France were the better team last night!!

how can we believe what this cheat says. HE should also be remembered for his cheating last night and his response to seeing Arsenal getting beaten by the better team in Paris a few weeks ago. Barc were the better team that night but we did not hear any of that from saintly Henry. His slurs against ETO and Ronny that night were terribe and showed him up for what he is.

28/06/2006, 1:22 PM
From BBC.

Puyol insisted the referee had made the wrong decision, adding: "If anything it was a foul by Henry."

Donal81
28/06/2006, 1:23 PM
From a different angle, which tracks the runs Puyol and Henry make, you can see Henry run in behind Puyol and head after the ball. Puyol, meanwhile, ran across Henry's path without going for the ball. He was not shielding the ball - he didn't have it to shield - and was playing the man, not the ball. An obvious foul, I would have thought. But it was not a booking, except maybe one for Henry. Still, Puyol's done it enough times. Sorry, I have serious issues with the bloke. :)

28/06/2006, 1:24 PM
What does Kenny Cunningham know in all fairness?

probably a lot more than you or me. He was a great centre back and great organiser and played at the highest level in England and for Ireland for ten years. A very good player for ireland and always gave it 100%. I think he is good on the RTE panel but probably lacks a bit of a charisma at this stage but that will come.

28/06/2006, 1:25 PM
i think he should be remembered for his masterclass football and not just one incident. France were the better team last night!!

But he was useless last night. That incident was the only thing off note he did apart from standing around in an offside position. If he really is the best striker in the world the World Cup is the place to prove it.....he hasn't been so far

Clifford
28/06/2006, 1:27 PM
What station were you watching? All three said they were wrong at half-time and said France were the better side. They said the same again at the end with Cunny Kenningham admitting that he was hopelessly wrong about France.

I thought they were very magnaminous towards Les Bleu. More than I would have been anyway. Zidane and Viera weren't 'immense' by any stretch, Spain were quite simply rubbish.

I must have gone for a beer at half time!! At the immediate end they certainly did not highlight anything other than the free kick incident, once before the break and then again straight after it, at which point I turned them off, bitter fools. If they later admitted they were wrong then fair play.

So Spain all of a sudden became rubbish, nothing to do with the French stopping them from playing? Irwin highlighted it before the game the midfield tackling department would be Frances and it was.

Viera was immense, so was Zidane. I love football for all it's differing opinions. ;)

Dunphy
28/06/2006, 1:29 PM
Barcelona weren't the better team before Lehmann was sent off, what Henry said that night was true, Larrson was the main star that night when he came on, he changed the game for barcelona!! Henry is not the only player that over reacts in football, look at torres last night with vieria that was a disaster!! Henry can over react over and over but i will still remember him for his class football!!

Clifford
28/06/2006, 1:38 PM
Yeah have to agree , rubbish post there by Clifford in my opinion. France looked very weak for the last 4 years, so Giles and Cunningham used this as evidence to back a Spain win. Irwin had a sneaking feeling that the experience of France would see them through along with their strong back line. Irwin proved to correct. At half time Giles and Cunningham said that France were the better team as they were working harder and defending much better. Giles had flagged the 2 Spanish full backs and they were rubbish last night.

I dont look for predictions from the pundits but good informed analysis which is what we got last night from 3 Irish footballing legends and Peter Collins.

Cheers Spurs fan, want to highlight again what you think of Henry? Been waiting for this one for a long time have we?

I never said a word about Irwin earlier so no need to tell me what he said.

I never said a word about half time, I referred to the end of the game and did later admit to turning them off after their tirade against the free kick, when it looked like their usual bull would not extend to saying they were wrong yet again. I learned to be so pedantic by reading your posts. :p

28/06/2006, 1:41 PM
Lehman was sent off pretty early in that game from what I remember but over the 90 minutes Barca were clearly the better team. Lehman was sent off because he tried to cheat Barca out of a goal. It worked in that he did stop them scoring but he was sent off and rightly so. That came from a good move by Barca so Barca shoudl get credit for that and Lehmann was rightly sent off.

Henry was right in what he said about Larsson but he was not right in what he said about the other 2 great players having a go at their personality as well as their performance that night. In my view Iniesta was the player that changed the game in that match but Larsson was immense also. ETO scored that night and Henry did not and missed 2 great chances yet Henry still feels the need to have a go at ETOs performance and personality.

Then last night he cheats and tries to get a fellow player sent off despite saying before that he never dives and maybe next time he will but he is not a woman.

Clifford I am not sure your views on the pundits should be even considred as you have not admitted you did not see the half time break and that you missed a lot of the full time analysis. Its best not to comment on things until you have seen the full picture I would have thought. You saw a small bit at the end where they looked at the most controversial aspect of the game and the goal that changed it and you did nto like what they said so you switched off. Correct me if I am wrong but thats what it appears to me. This is pretty standard in TV coverage of football games. They loook at the standout incidents before they then talk about the game in general. After you switched off they said Viera and Zidane were good but Ribery and the French defence were the really standout performances. I would agree but peopel know Viera and Zidane so its easier to say they were the ones who played well as they are famous.

Clifford
28/06/2006, 1:47 PM
Clifford I am not sure your views on the pundits should be even considred as you have not admitted you did not see the half time break and that you missed a lot of the full time analysis. Its best not to comment on things until you have seen the full picture I would have thought. You saw a small bit at the end where they looked at the most controversial aspect of the game and the goal that changed it and you did nto like what they said so you switched off. Correct me if I am wrong but thats what it appears to me. This is pretty standard in TV coverage of football games. They loook at the standout incidents before they then talk about the game in general. After you switched off they said Viera and Zidane were good but Ribery and the French defence were the really standout performances. I would agree but peopel know Viera and Zidane so its easier to say they were the ones who played well as they are famous.

Was only making a comment on what I saw indeed, very well observed. Don't lose any sleep over it Spurs man. So on the above logic, unless you've seen every min of every comment by the rte team, are you allowed comment either?

I know exactly how good Ribery and the rest are cos I backed France at 14 to one ages ago to have a good World Cup. I just happened to highlight Viera and Zizou because the so called pubdits and Glies wrote them both off totally and that is criminal to do in light off their respective talents. I wonder why you hate Viera so much as well?

28/06/2006, 1:48 PM
Cheers Spurs fan, want to highlight again what you think of Henry? Been waiting for this one for a long time have we?

I never said a word about Irwin earlier so no need to tell me what he said.

I never said a word about half time, I referred to the end of the game and did later admit to turning them off after their tirade against the free kick, when it looked like their usual bull would not extend to saying they were wrong yet again. I learned to be so pedantic by reading your posts. :p

Would not call myself a Spurs fan and I am not sure what that has go to to with anything said here. I have said before that Henry is a great player in the English Premiership. I used to think he was a nice guy and a fair player. But over the last 2 months I have seen him in a different light. I have not waited for anything as I did not know he had this side to his character. I wish I was wrong and that he was the guy I thought he was but I was wrong on that count, he is a cheat.

I know you never mentioned irwin but I was letting other people know who may have missed the coverage what was said on RTE last night by the whole panel and not just 2 of the panel. The RTE panel was very fair to both teams last night and I wanted to get that point across. I like to see things in the bigger picture and not just look at the 2 minutes and then swithc off cause I dont have the attention span to wait or because it gets too complicated for me to understand.

28/06/2006, 1:51 PM
Was only making a comment on what I saw indeed, very well observed. Don't lose any sleep over it Spurs man.

I know exactly how good Ribery and the rest are cos I backed France at 14 to one ages ago to have a good World Cup. I just happened to highlight Viera and Zizou because the so called pubdits and Glies wrote them both off totally and that is criminal to do in light off their respective talents. I wonder why you hate Viera so much as well?

Again not sure what the fact that you think I support Spurs when I dont has to do with it.

Viera dives, spits, assaults and fouls and tries to get players booked. He probably personifies everything that is wrong about the game today in my view. He is not the only one that does things like that but very few players tick all the boxes. I know Johnny Giles is no fan of his for that reason also.

if you are hinting that both players play or played for Arsenal i would also say both players are black, both are from france. So maybe I hate them because of all those reasons but no I dont like Viera because of his actions, simple as that.

smellyfeet
28/06/2006, 1:59 PM
"puyol apoligised to me for the challenge" so he admitted his guilt that it was a clear foul, !!

What is he apoligising for:confused:

Its not like he gave it to he chest high is it?

Clifford
28/06/2006, 2:02 PM
Would not call myself a Spurs fan and I am not sure what that has go to to with anything said here.

I like to see things in the bigger picture and not just look at the 2 minutes and then swithc off cause I dont have the attention span to wait or because it gets too complicated for me to understand.

Don't know anyone who would turn off after two mins, you forget I watched the pre game guff as well as the match (and there was a lot more than 2 mins at the end, cos there was an ad break and we all know what that entails on bog tv. I confess I went to the fridge at half time for a beer and a slash, not both at the fridge admitedly :D .

I'm happy to make my own mind up, not let Jonny do it for me.

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=33379

Yeah, clearly not a Spurs fan.

Dunphy
28/06/2006, 2:02 PM
He didnt cheat barca out of a goal, he clearly brought eto down and accepted the consequences, after puyol, ronnie & marques ran to the referee waving their hands in the air to issue a card, thats cheating!! He should have awarded a goal and left the team at 11 against 11, it would have been a whole different ball game then, henry gave his all that night and the extra man told in the end!! You obviuosly have a problem with arsenal or french players!!