View Full Version : Henry the cheat
He didnt cheat barca out of a goal, he clearly brought eto down and accepted the consequences, after puyol, ronnie & marques ran to the referee waving their hands in the air to issue a card, thats cheating!!
How was that cheating? It may be annoying but he was last man back and deserved the card.Cheating is what Henry did trying to get someone sent off for something that didnt happen.
He should have awarded a goal and left the team at 11 against 11, it would have been a whole different ball game then, henry gave his all that night and the extra man told in the end!! You obviuosly have a problem with arsenal or french players!!
Its not the refs job to make the game interesting. Arsenal got what they deserved, henry was rubbish that night however hard he tried and he was a terrible loser afterwards. I couldn't care less about arsenal or french players but Henry acted like a hypocrite last night and has done nothing at this world cup to live up to his superstar reputation
28/06/2006, 2:13 PM
Well said Micls, it seems that clifford and Dunphy if somebody crticises your beloved Henry than you make an allegation that they are biased against french or Arsenal players. I judge players on their reactions and behavriour I dont care what club they play for. Its is both Clifford and Dunphy that have brought that issue into it when its a non runner.
The ref should have given a goal and sent off Lehmann for the foul in my view. Lehmann did cheat Barca out of a goal he used unfair methods to stop them scoring, that is cheating in my view.
Arsenal play great football and are a joy to watch and i was glad they got to the final of the Champions League and it they had of been playing any other team other than Barca I would have liked for them to win.
Only seen the highlights but Henry was clearly cheating. He not the first player to do it & won't be the last. he is clearly no more honest than any other player & attempts to protray him as a saint clearly don't wash.
It was not blatant enough to justify any further action by FIFA. End of Story.
28/06/2006, 2:16 PM
Don't know anyone who would turn off after two mins, you forget I watched the pre game guff as well as the match (and there was a lot more than 2 mins at the end, cos there was an ad break and we all know what that entails on bog tv. I confess I went to the fridge at half time for a beer and a slash, not both at the fridge admitedly :D .
I'm happy to make my own mind up, not let Jonny do it for me.
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=33379
Yeah, clearly not a Spurs fan.
Ireland fan first and foremost and for that reason I wanted Robbie Keane and Andy Reid to play in Champions League football. Arsenal did not have any Irish players in their 1st team squad so thats why I was hoping for spurs to do it. If Arsenal had more Irish players they would have got my support simple as that really.
Dunphy
28/06/2006, 2:23 PM
Any other team than barca, sure barca had the look of the ref all the way through there european campaign, for example the chelsea game and the ac milan game, barca are a very good side there's no denying that and they have the second best player in the world after henry, Ronnie of course!! Look at him in the world cup he has done nothing, at least henry has scored!! Henry is an absolute legend, i would never judge a person on any 1 incident like use 2 are doing!! I would love to see him lift the world cup that would really get up aragones nose
It was not blatant enough to justify any further action by FIFA. End of Story.
I'd agree with that. If they were gonna go down that road they'd have had to start at the beginning of the toournament and we'd have a lot less players left playing at this stage
Clifford
28/06/2006, 2:28 PM
Well said Micls, it seems that clifford and Dunphy if somebody crticises your beloved Henry than you make an allegation that they are biased against french or Arsenal players. I judge players on their reactions and behavriour I dont care what club they play for. Its is both Clifford and Dunphy that have brought that issue into it when its a non runner.
No alligence to Henry at all wih me, I said it was very poor what he did it - but you want him sent off for that retrospectively yet start no thread about the obvious assault on Ronaldo on Sunday night by Boulahrouz, where was the topic claiming Figo should be classed as a cheat for the head butt? Or Deco is a cheat for not giving the ball back?
It stands out like a sore thumb why you are hitting him, no matter how eloquently you put it.
28/06/2006, 2:30 PM
Any other team than barca, sure barca had the look of the ref all the way through there european campaign, for example the chelsea game and the ac milan game, barca are a very good side there's no denying that and they have the second best player in the world after henry, Ronnie of course!! Look at him in the world he has done nothing, at least henry has scored!! Henry is an absolute legend, i would never judge a person on any 1 incident like use 2 are doing!! I would love to see him lift the world cup that would really get up aragones nose
If there is any bias then it is clearly coming from you. Henry is a top player along with Ronny and I feel Messi is going to join the two of them soon. Shevchenko is a great player also. Not sure when Barca had the look (sic) of the ref V Chelsea. Every club has decisions that go in their favour on the way to the winning the Champions League. Barca are clearly the best club in Europe at the moment as they combined winning their league, (probably the best in Europe) with winning the Champions League.
I am not judging Henry on one incident, i am judging him on his behaviour over the last few months and more specificlaly after the defeat to Barca and the incident last night.
Why woudl Henry lifting the World Cup get up Aragones nose.
28/06/2006, 2:34 PM
No alligence to Henry at all wih me, I said it was very poor what he did it - but you want him sent off for that retrospectively yet start no thread about the obvious assault on Ronaldo on Sunday night by Boulahrouz, where was the topic claiming Figo should be classed as a cheat for the head butt? Or Deco is a cheat for not giving the ball back?
It stands out like a sore thumb why you are hitting him, no matter how eloquently you put it.
I think I said in another thread that the tackle on Ronaldo was a disgrace and it was The guy should have gone, so should have Figo both of them are cheats for that sort of action in my view. I thought Decos one was a bit innocuous really but probably deserved a booking for not giving the ball back.
I cannot start a thread on every player but someone who paints himself as whiter than white (pardon the obvious paradox) I feel lit should be hightlighted that they are not what they seem when the actions clearly show that.
henry great player and one of my favourites up until quite recently.
Dunphy
28/06/2006, 2:38 PM
After the racial comments he made about him and the reaction to vieria catching torres in the face last night, i think arragones doesn't like the french in general and them winning the world cup would annoy him an awful lot!!
Henry is a legend, don't judge him on his comments, reactions or remarks he makes, Judge him on his football!!!
Clifford
28/06/2006, 2:40 PM
I cannot start a thread on every player but someone who paints himself as whiter than white (pardon the obvious paradox) I feel lit should be hightlighted that they are not what they seem when the actions clearly show that.
But Henry was two days after all those other terrible, cheating, horrific incidents, you could have started one on them and then carried it on today after he fell over dramatically......
Henry is a legend, don't judge him on his comments, reactions or remarks he makes, Judge him on his football!!!
Il judge him on all of them. And he was useless last night a point you keep ignoring. The cheating was the only thing he did that helped his team
28/06/2006, 2:52 PM
But Henry was two days after all those other terrible, cheating, horrific incidents, you could have started one on them and then carried it on today after he fell over dramatically......
No matter what topic somebody starts a thread on you could always argue why dont they start another thread. I started the thread on Henry today cause I thought his behaviour last night was terrible and I had the chance to start a thread. As I am in work its not always possible and the incident was discussed in another thread so did not want to start duplicate threads. However this morning there was no thread on Henrys actions and I had the time so I started the thread.
Also I am like Micls in that I will take it all into account and hope to form a fuller picture of Henry, Great player but certainly in my view not a person who is a nice as he once seemed. Not as honest and fair as he liked to paint out before. Great player though.
Clifford
28/06/2006, 3:07 PM
Of course ^^
Pleasure being spoken to by you.
Dunphy
28/06/2006, 3:50 PM
Just to let all use guys know there is an interview with henry on rte website stating that aragones never apoligised for his racial remarks and that the best way to answer his remarks was a victory for france last night!! In other word up yours aragones!!
I thought he apologised publicly :confused:
28/06/2006, 3:54 PM
This is from Sky Sports website. I find it hard to see Puyol saying sorry and then coming out and saying it was not a fould, that does not add up for me.
Spanish star Carles Puyol was understandably upset following Spain's World Cup exit and he accused Thierry Henry of cheating.
Despite going ahead against France, the Spanish imploded and went down 3-1 in Hannover as Les Bleus booked a quarter final tie with Brazil.
"I am very unhappy about the knockout from the World Cup, principally because of the illusion we had given to the fans," he said.
"There is pain, but in football you get these things."
Puyol was unhappy about the foul that was given against him on Henry, which led to France's second goal from Patrick Vieira.
"The foul that provoked the game to become 2-1 was not true," he bemoaned.
"Henry is a star, a very intelligent one and he tricked the referee - the decision was unjust.
"France are not superior to us, they only played a type of match to counter-attack.
"I believed in Spain, but the reality is hard.
"My season was positive with Barcelona but now with Spain it is unhappy."
Henry was quick to deny any wrong doing over the incident with Puyol.
"I don't cheat. People can say whatever they want to say, but if any team has been cheated since the beginning of the tournament it's France," he said.
"Look at the replay, their left-back was going to take the ball and Puyol came across me and blocked me.
"Puyol came up to me afterwards and apologised so how is that cheating? Spain's left-back Mariano Pernia was going to win the ball, so I don't know why Puyol cut across me, but he did.
"If that's basketball that's a good block, but we're not playing basketball. In my head I'm not a guy who does go down or cheats."
28/06/2006, 3:55 PM
This is from the RTE website, Henry at no point says that Aragones did not apologise for the comments, thats rte putting that in.
Thierry Henry insists France's win over Spain was the perfect answer to Luis Aragones.
The Spanish coach, who racially insulted Henry in a remark to his Arsenal team-mate Jose Antonio Reyes two years ago, has never apologised for the comment.
Following France's 3-1 victory in Hanover last night, Henry said: 'A lot of people were speculating about Aragones and I don't want to talk about it because there is no point. But the best answer was the win.'
After his remark, Aragones was fined by the Spanish FA - who were criticised at the time by Henry for their leniency - and the Arsenal captain was also less than impressed with Spanish fans booing and whistling during the French national anthem.
He added: 'I think you should respect the national anthem of another country. They do whatever they want to do. But I thought it was a bit below par. Everybody found that a great shame.'
France's struggle for goals in the group stage led to many critics writing off their chances, but Franck Ribery, Patrick Vieira and Zinedine Zidane all scored to beat much-fancied Spain.
Henry, 28, said: 'We got a lot of stick for not scoring in the group stage. What I would say is that we just grew up in the tournament. I'm not saying we are going to win it.
'Zinedine also got a lot of criticism and it was good that he scored the third goal.'
Les Bleus face Brazil in the quarter-finals
Dunphy
28/06/2006, 4:21 PM
I was just pointing out the fact that he has never apoligised to Henry, he should have got the sack when he made those comments!!
Clifford
28/06/2006, 4:24 PM
Jesus pot kettle and black Carlos Puyol mate, have a look at your own diving record. Top drawer you are at it, great defender though.
I'm now awaiting the "Pablo the dirty cheat" thread and Puyol to be quoted in it as saying Pablo tricked the referee.
So Neil what you are implying is we must believe Puyol above Henry?
28/06/2006, 4:25 PM
No I dont think we can believe either as they both dive and are both cheats.
Jesus pot kettle and black Carlos Puyol mate, have a look at your own diving record. Top drawer you are at it, great defender though.
I'm now awaiting the "Pablo the dirty cheat" thread and Puyol to be quoted in it as saying Pablo tricked the referee.
So Neil what you are implying is we must believe Puyol above Henry?
We know both are cheats but the reason Henry's got to me more is because of the hypocrisy of it. He comes out giving out after the Cl final saying he wouldn't dive like that cos he's not a woman(:confused: ) and then goes ahead and does it to win the game
28/06/2006, 4:30 PM
Well Said Micls you have hit the nail on the head there. Both are cheats.
Clifford
28/06/2006, 4:31 PM
No I dont think we can believe either as they both dive and are both cheats.
Excellent.
28/06/2006, 8:31 PM
This is from the RTE website, Henry at no point says that Aragones did not apologise for the comments, thats rte putting that in.
Thierry Henry insists France's win over Spain was the perfect answer to Luis Aragones.
The Spanish coach, who racially insulted Henry in a remark to his Arsenal team-mate Jose Antonio Reyes two years ago, has never apologised for the comment.
I think Aragones was in some part responsible for the much better French performance. According to Hamilton he said before the game that Spain were a much better side than France and he had done no packing because he knew they'd be staying on for the next round. Comments like that combined with the earlier incidents must have been enough to fire up the French old-timers.
ITV raved about Zidane - I thought his performance was mixed but much improved nonetheless.
Karlos
29/06/2006, 3:01 AM
My life is so less complicated, now that I choose to not reply directly to any of the large amount of garbage spewed about Henry and Arsenal on www.foot.ie at every opportunity while the actions of other players and/or teams are consistantly ignored. :rolleyes:
This was obviously never going to be a an objective thread from the get-go. Only a newbie to the land of foot would have missed that.
If you want my advice (and you probably don't!), don't get involved at all.
I have seen the light and am a new man.....so much so that I believe we should even bring back Klein4.....all is forgiven! :D :)
Clifford
29/06/2006, 10:28 AM
From the bbc, quite glad now Spain are gone - if of course we're allowed to believe it.
France coach Raymond Domenech has alleged that his players were subjected to racist taunts by Spanish fans before Tuesday's second-round match.
He said: "When I arrived with the bus there were fans making monkey chants."
The claim seems certain to reignite the racism row that has plagued Spanish football in recent years.
In 2005 Spain coach Luis Aragones was fined for making racist remarks about France's Thierry Henry and players have suffered racist abuse in La Liga games.
Aragones' comments about Henry were the most high-profile and Henry was clearly delighted that France were able to beat the Spaniards in Hanover on Tuesday.
The Arsenal striker said: "A lot of people were speculating about Aragones and I don't want to talk about it because there is no point.
"But the best answer was the win."
The first responsibilities lie with the national associations
Sepp Blatter
In November 2004 Fifa fined the Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) £44,750 after several England players were racially abused during a friendly match in Madrid.
And last year Real Zaragoza and Racing Santander fans racially abused Barcelona forward Samuel Eto'o during league matches and were subsequently fined by the RFEF.
Domenech's claims come on the day that Fifa warned they will suspend national associations who fail to impose tough new rules on racism that come into force in July.
Fifa president Sepp Blatter said the regulations - including docking points from clubs and countries whose fans are guilty of racism offences - were mandatory.
Blatter stated: "The first responsibilities lie with the national associations and if they are not doing what is expected of them then Fifa's executive committee must intervene.
"The power and the responsibility lies with Fifa and the suspension of a federation is the ultimate sanction available to the disciplinary committee."
He added: "This is a fight against a devil that still exists, unfortunately, in our sport."
Over the post
29/06/2006, 10:32 AM
Henry is a sore loser. He missed several sitters in the CL final and instead of assuming his responsibility, preferred to blame Puyol. I do think Puyol fouled him when blocking him, but Henry's theatrical reaction showed that he hadn't forgotten their previous encounter.
Aragones is a senile t¡t but I don't think he's racist. "Black sh¡t" isn't an accurate translation of "negro de mierda", the term he used; "f*cking black" would be a far more faithful translation, but the tabloid press obviously prefer the former, more incendiary, version.
Mind you, aside from whistling during the French anthem, apparently the Spanish fans also gave their usual monkey chants when the French players arrived at the Stadium.
I've lived in Spain for over ten years and would dearly love to see Spanish football get its act together, but the players are too innocent on the pitch and the fans too ignorant off it.
29/06/2006, 10:38 AM
No doubt that Henry is not the only player who has dived or cheated at this world cup and he has not been the worst culprit. However I will say that I expected better of him and his behaviour over the last 2 months has gone down in my estimation. I have spoken to a few Arsenal fans who have agreed with me on this. My motivation for this was not anti Arsenal or Anti Henry or Anti Black i was just suprise and dissappointment that a great player and what I thought was a great person has become a cheat like so many other players.
29/06/2006, 10:41 AM
This was obviously never going to be a an objective thread from the get-go. Only a newbie to the land of foot would have missed that.
No thread is objective by its nature, its an expression of opinion by people who have formed that opinion by living their live. Their live is influenced by both outside and internal influences. Nurture and nature as it is often put. My morals are influenced by my parents my friends and the culture that I live in. I bring all of those influences when I post on this thread. Therefore a thread by its very nature cannot be objective unless its a statement of fact i.e a list of results of world cup matches. Now that would not make very interesting reading. None of your posts are ojective either Karlos, and wait a minute not one post in this whole forum is objective unless it states basic hard facts which I woudl say less than 1% of posts do.
29/06/2006, 12:10 PM
Don't forget Neil, when it comes to things relating to Arsenal, I'm a neutral and objective.
Karlos
29/06/2006, 9:59 PM
No thread is objective by its nature, its an expression of opinion by people who have formed that opinion by living their live. Their live is influenced by both outside and internal influences. Nurture and nature as it is often put. My morals are influenced by my parents my friends and the culture that I live in. I bring all of those influences when I post on this thread. Therefore a thread by its very nature cannot be objective unless its a statement of fact i.e a list of results of world cup matches. Now that would not make very interesting reading. None of your posts are ojective either Karlos, and wait a minute not one post in this whole forum is objective unless it states basic hard facts which I woudl say less than 1% of posts do.
Wow Neil....that was insightful but unnecessary. All I am saying is that if you are so apalled by this sort of thing then this should have been the last in a long line of threads in this world cup. Predictably it wasn't. :rolleyes:
ColinR
30/06/2006, 7:52 AM
Wow Neil....that was insightful but unnecessary. All I am saying is that if you are so apalled by this sort of thing then this should have been the last in a long line of threads in this world cup. Predictably it wasn't. :rolleyes:
haven't commented on this thread to date, but i think it is fair to say that henry has been easily the biggest 'star' to be unmasked as a cheat so far, and accordingly gets a thread. if you look at the 2002 threads, amid all the roy keane threads the only one about a cheat is rivaldo. there was other cheating in that world cup, but rivaldo was the biggest name to be caught on camera deliberately trying to get an opponent sent off. 4 years on, henry is the biggest name that is caught cheating on camera.
he probably doesn't deserve a reputation for it, because off the top of my head, i cannot remember him ever diving for arsenal, but he will now be always known as an amazing and brilliant footballer, but also a dirty cheater.
30/06/2006, 8:11 AM
Henry cheated once and people want to mark him for life. Mentioning Roy Keane there, is it forgotten that he was the first or one of the first to be booked for a blatant dive in the the penalty area?
30/06/2006, 9:08 AM
Not sure what you are getting at here. I cannot post on every player as I simply dont have the time. I have answered this question already. The reason I posted was timing but it was also the fact that Henry has been so outspoken about diving in the game. In addition he still denies he dived. I think Arsenal fans get very touchy when you dare criticise their players. I wish people would take off their Man Utd, Or Spurs or Liverpool or Arsenal hats when commenting on football and try to look at incidents in a fair and balanced manner. oh to Finish Ginola was a diving ****er also.
30/06/2006, 9:44 AM
Henry did not dive - of that there is no doubt I think since there was clearly contact between the players. What he did was feign injury to his face.
30/06/2006, 10:41 AM
Semantics. I would class feigning injury and diving in the same category and feigning injury is possibly worse.
hoops1
30/06/2006, 11:45 AM
IMO we are to naieve when it comes to "cheating"
As far as im concerned Henry done what benefited his team its his duty to do what ever he can to win.If someone sticks a leg out in the box go down
if someone catches you after missing the ball in a tackle go down like a ton of bricks get him booked sent off even better.Its your responsibility to your team mates and manager the sooner we cop on the better.Managers encourage it believe me in this country and england we just arent as good at it.
Divers and cheaters are the modern day hard men they use cunning and deceit instead of physical intimidation
Its an art in itself if a very black one
30/06/2006, 12:01 PM
Well I dont like it and it should be stamped out of the game, the same way that the hard men were stamped out of the game and ruined the 1990 world cup, are you watching Mick Mc Carthy
30/06/2006, 12:24 PM
Semantics. I would class feigning injury and diving in the same category and feigning injury is possibly worse.
Not semantics at all. A dive and feigning injury are two totally different things, albeit both are cheating. It is also important in the context of the game since if it was a dive, a free kick should not have been awarded and France would not have scored.
30/06/2006, 1:03 PM
I think it was not a free and it should not have been awarded and I am not the only person who thinks that.
Marked Man
30/06/2006, 2:44 PM
Henry done what benefited his team its his duty to do what ever he can to win.If someone sticks a leg out in the box go down
if someone catches you after missing the ball in a tackle go down like a ton of bricks get him booked sent off even better.Its your responsibility to your team mates and manager
You seem to be confusing duty with self-interest.
Karlos
30/06/2006, 8:21 PM
I wish people would take off their Man Utd, Or Spurs or Liverpool or Arsenal hats when commenting on football and try to look at incidents in a fair and balanced manner.
Amen to that. Lead by example, I say! :) :D
Anyway, I'll leave yis to it. :)
03/07/2006, 10:35 AM
The only hat I have is the Ireland ha Fair play to France by the way hope they win the tournament now.
Clifford
03/07/2006, 1:31 PM
Peeps into forum, sit's and waits for Rooney the Cheat and Ronaldo the cheat threads to be started by outraged football observers....dum de dum.....
Karlos
03/07/2006, 1:38 PM
Peeps into forum, sit's and waits for Rooney the Cheat and Ronaldo the cheat threads to be started by outraged football observers....dum de dum.....
You'll have a long wait as everyone has taken off their 'hats' at Neil's request! :D :)
ColinR
03/07/2006, 1:45 PM
both lived up to their stereotypes, and played as expected. henry's mask was dropped and we got to see that he is a cheat like van nistlerooy, gerrard, robben etc. the difference is the hypicrosy of henry leads to this thread.
03/07/2006, 1:48 PM
I dont understand the sensitivity regarding Henry.
Clifford
03/07/2006, 1:59 PM
I don't understand the vitriol for once holding his face when struck. That's all.
03/07/2006, 2:06 PM
Where is the vitriol.