Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Henry the cheat

Henry the cheat

Disgraceful behaviour last night by nicer than pie Thierry Henry. He said at the Champions league that maybe he should dive next time and next time against Puyol he did dive. Trying to get Puyol sent off by clutching his face. Viera was no better as a few times he went to the ref and did the booking gesture with his hand

Both players should miss the game against Brazil
    In Trap we trust

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Yes and no. It was a foul as he was body checked but obviously he feigned injury to his face after that but when in Rome, do as ..... etc. Everyone is at it. As for Viera looking for Puyol to be booked, that has become part and parcel of the game.

It's terrible that this has become part of the game but it is endemic. I never regarded Henry as being a saint and he certainly has proven not to be one. Fifa can do nothing about it - he can claim that he got a spasm in his face because of the foul or some such rubbish. They can do nothing about it.

That's the game these day. Shame but meanwhile most people will focus on the refs and continue to ignore how the players are dragging it down.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

That is why I am not having a go at the ref and in this case I am having a go against whiter than white Thierry Henry.

I thought it was a free to Spain to be honest as Henry barged Puyol in the box and so did Giles Irwin and Cunningham last night. 2 of them are experienced defenders and thought Puyol was doing the right thing. Henry won the free and tried to get Puyol sent off. He showed his true colours last night and maybe he should apoligise to Aragones now privately as well as publicly.
    In Trap we trust

214 Posts
    what did he say post match in the CL final? He is not a women and never dives? Something along those lines anyway.

2,796 Posts
    I thought it was a clear foul but Henry's reaction was cheating. I don't think Spain can complain about the validity of the free kick though. I reckon Henry was out to "get" Puyol from a sense of injustice from Paris in May.

I thought it was a clear foul also, to Spain and Irwin and Cunningham and Giles all agreed with me.

This is what he said.

"Next time I'll learn to dive maybe, but I'm not a woman"

Thierry Henry, after the 2006 Champions League final
    In Trap we trust

25 Posts
    Torres did fairly much the same thing but he's not a cheat or even getting a mention?

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    But it wasn't a dive. There was contact between the two - who ran in to who is open to question but it was the feigning injury that was the problem.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

25 Posts
    Seriously, Vieira brushed off his face and he went down like he'd been hit a thump, if that's not feigning injury I don't know what is. I'm not an Henry fan either, I accept he blatantly cheated, but he wasn't the only one.

Yeah Last night Viera and Henry were as bad as each other in my view. Torres went down in the box last night it was not a penalty but it was not a dive and Viera was straight up to the ref gesturing for him to be booked. As owls fan said he was not the only one but does not make it right.
    In Trap we trust

I also remembered that 'woman' thing last night. I was fuming. I was genuinely disappointed at how poor a loser Henry revealed himself to be after the Champions League final. What was the other thing he said, something like 'I look around and I see the Barca fans cheering but emmm...' Shrug of shoulders that was to be interpreted as 'their victory is hollow and tainted and it appals me to think a person could celebrate in that manner'. Then last night I thought well along with a being bad loser Henry reveals himself as a hypocrite and a cheat. I hope that FIFA take some action but I suspect they won't.

25 Posts
    I think we may be on about different incidents here

Quote Originally Posted by Roadend
    I think we may be on about different incidents here
    It was a different incident. The Torres incident you are referring to was nowhere near the penalty box. It was about half way right beside the dug outs. Viera put his hand up and barely touched Torres's face but he went down like a ton of bricks clutching his face. Aragones went mad when Viera wasn't booked and Viera put his finger to his lips telling Aragones to be quiet. Disgraceful from Torres. Henri was just as bad. Unfortunatley it is becoming more and more common in every game.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

No I am talking about an incident in the early part of the 1st half and Torres ran into the box and fell down through momentum it was not a penalty but it was not a dive. Viera was not inolved in the incident until he approached the ref and gestured to get Torres booked. That is the incident I am talking about in relation to Viera. The one in relation to Henry is the one that led to Frances 2nd goal from the free. Hope that clears things up from my point of view.
    In Trap we trust

Think ye are over reacting.
    Henry got hit in the chest and therefor it was a free kick.
    Can't defend him holding his face but the ref had already blowin for the free and has always gonna give Puyol a yellow,regardless of Henrys antics.

Thats not the way I saw it or Johnny Giles or Denis Irwin or Kenny Cunningham saw it. Puyol was running across and shielding the ball like any good defender should do. THe two players collided and Henry fell to the floor clutching his face when it was clear as day that he was not hit in the face. He was trying to get Puyol a red card when it was not even in a free in mine or 3 experts views but it was a free in other peoples views. Therefore I would classify it as a debatable free but Henrys behaviour was disgraceful and he is a cheat.
    In Trap we trust

Henry's behaviour was disgraceful. Fair enough, Puyol's attempt to block him was uncharacteristically clumsy, but that's no excuse to go down clutching his face. The most frustrating thing of all is that the block wasn't necessary as it was clear Pernía was going to reach the ball first.
    Greece 1 - 0 Germany
    Socrates (89)

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Thats not the way I saw it or Johnny Giles or Denis Irwin or Kenny Cunningham saw it. Puyol was running across and shielding the ball like any good defender should do. THe two players collided and Henry fell to the floor clutching his face when it was clear as day that he was not hit in the face. He was trying to get Puyol a red card when it was not even in a free in mine or 3 experts views but it was a free in other peoples views. Therefore I would classify it as a debatable free but Henrys behaviour was disgraceful and he is a cheat.
    Spot on, as the RTÉ lads said it wasn't even a free, as Puyol moved across Henry's path to shield the ball, Henry literally launched himself at Puyol's back. The reverse angle clearly showed it.

Then the little cheat fell clutching his face, Puyol was carded and France scored from the resulting free kick. But, hey, that's the modern game for you.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    Spot on, as the RTÉ lads said it wasn't even a free, as Puyol moved across Henry's path to shield the ball,
    Considering Pernia was going to get it first and Henry would have easily outstripped Puyol, I think you could safely say tjhat its obstruction and a free.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Thats not the way I saw it or Johnny Giles or Denis Irwin or Kenny Cunningham saw it. Puyol was running across and shielding the ball like any good defender should do. THe two players collided and Henry fell to the floor clutching his face when it was clear as day that he was not hit in the face. He was trying to get Puyol a red card when it was not even in a free in mine or 3 experts views but it was a free in other peoples views.
    That's Giles and Cunningham who wrote off France as more or less no hopers last night before the game and completely wrote off the immense Viera and the immense Zidane, yet at the end of the game typically wouldn't admit to having got it all wrong with regard to the useless Spain (one shot on goal, that a pen) and want Henry sent off retrospectively cos they were bitter as hell.

Puyol knew he had been beaten by Henry, stepped across and blocked him off. The free was a cert, the antics were very poor - end of. Ronaldinho, Becks, Alonso, Riquelme and so on and so forth do what Viera did with the card and while it's childish at best it's up to the refs to cut it out - a ref gave a yellow to a Serb and Montenegro player in the game v Holland, but it's not been repeated since. Blatter and co to blame in my book.

Bear in mind everybody that your thread starter is a huge Spurs fan.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast