View Full Version : Ian Wright (and TV pundits in general)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6]

05/07/2006, 4:04 PM
You're not serious? Bloody hell, even I didn't think they could be that blinded by patriotism! Ronaldo wasn't even in the semi-final!!

Put the question another way: how many of the semi-finalists' squads would the likes of Jenas, Carson, James, Bridge, Walcott and others get into? In fact extend it to the whole tournament, ex- Trinidad and a couple of others & the answer is the same: NONE :) But no "we've the strongest squad".

Meant Rinaldo not Ronaldo :o (which is the correct spelling ?) .

It was Keyes and Andy Gray and Sky nonsense at its best - one of the reasons RTE unfortunately goes to the opposite extreme. How many of the English team would have secured a place in the Italian team last night (Rooney and Gerrard perhaps) ?

Interesting letter in the Irish Times by an Englishman in Ireland:
WATCHING THE WORLD CUP

Madam, - How pleased I am that England's progress in the World Cup has come to an end. Not that I did not wish the team of my native country well in the competition. On the contrary, I had hoped to see the team give a better account of itself. But I am pleased because I will no longer have to endure the jibes of Irish soccer pundits on RTÉ television and in The Irish Times.

Messrs Giles, Dunphy and co I was able to switch off, but The Irish Times is
essential reading for me each day. No one can object to criticism - and
there are many aspects of England's performances, beginning with squad and
team selection, which have been rightly criticised. But biased reporting
which seeks to belittle and humiliate is a different matter. And I can't
think that readers who might enjoy poking fun at the football team of their
neighbour across the water will have been especially amused by Tom
Humphries's reports because of their repetitiveness in the above regard.

I know this kind of approach in Ireland is supposed to be an antidote to the
English tabloids' hype of their country's team, and I agree that these
newspapers are often a disgrace. I was in England last week: the atmosphere
was terrific, but in no sense did the ordinary fans feel that England had a
great chance of winning the World Cup, still less some sort of right to do
so. This did not dampen their enthusiasm, and it all reminded me of the
atmosphere in Ireland during the 1990 and 1994 World Cups. Jack Charlton's
teams won many a match playing ugly, and no one bothered about that.

Soccer pundits cannot have it both ways. If England is not a world class
soccer nation (a justifiable verdict), the England team cannot also be
scoffed at for displaying, in the match against Portugal, the very virtues
which have served Irish teams (North and South) well - courage and dogged
determination in the face of adversity and to compensate for technical
limitations.

If Tom Humphries's attitude to the England team is, as it were, "politically
correct", a distressing incident which happened to an acquaintance of mine
at the weekend is hardly a surprise. Having hung out a flag of St George on
Saturday, she had her front door and surrounding brickwork daubed with
oil-based green paint. - Yours, etc,

TONY WILLIAMS, Ashbrook, Dublin 3.

05/07/2006, 4:11 PM
Rivalry is good in sport in my view and we should not say sorry for cheering against the English team. Every rivalry in sport is based on proximity Sheffield Utd V Wendesday, Liverpool V Everton , Man Utd V City and so on. Its part of sport.

However attacking houses is not.

Billsthoughts
05/07/2006, 4:21 PM
He! He! Owlsfan is so silly with his hating of RTE yet he cant turn away. LOL!!!!!:D :D

05/07/2006, 4:27 PM
He! He! Owlsfan is so silly with his hating of RTE yet he cant turn away. LOL!!!!!:D
Well, did you ever watch something that is so bad, that you keep watching to see if it can get any worse? Kind of like that gatecrasher thing RTE has going on at the moment.:eek: :D

Billsthoughts
05/07/2006, 4:33 PM
I could watch Gatecrasher with the sound turned off and still get all the enjoyment I need from it......;)

05/07/2006, 5:02 PM
Seen the IT letter today & i agree that RTE Engerland bashing was over the top.

Anyone see the Ian Wright piece in Modern Art museum (can't remebmber the name) on BBC highlights show last night. Really strange although he seemed better suited as arts critic than football pundit :D

05/07/2006, 5:39 PM
He! He! Owlsfan is so silly with his hating of RTE yet he cant turn away. LOL!!!! :D

Two thoughts:

1. It's all relative - RTE may be shoite but the "competition" just doesn't bear thinking about. (Wright? Wrong.)
2. It's the equivalent of car-crash TV - you know what's coming, you watch it through your fingers but you just can't turn away...

On another note, did anyone watch ITV's coverage last night? Terry Venables has obviously been closely watching his parody on RTE's Apres Match, because it is obviously spot-on in its observations. "Umm, err, yeah, charisma, yeah, playing wif optimism those Eye-talians..."

Priceless. :rolleyes:

:ball: PP

05/07/2006, 6:41 PM
This is a quote from Adrian Durham on Talksport last night:

"I should be watching England's World Cup Final opponents tonight in the semifinal"

:o :D

05/07/2006, 9:53 PM
He! He! Owlsfan is so silly with his hating of RTE yet he cant turn away. LOL!!!!!

Isn't your name is a contradiction in terms :D :D

We are told by Drunkphy that France have a great defence. At the end of the programme the goalie is a clown (aitneann ciarog ciarog eille) - is not the goalie a critical part of the defence so he contradicts himself again:rolleyes:

Nice to see O'H actually querying the previously held bad opinions on France and Giles doing the usual "I can only comment on what I see, Bill". Drunkphy wasn't long is attacking France after the game, when before it he told us he had bet on them. Run with the hare, hunt with the hounds comes to mind.

Apres Match was brutal - I gather they will be the panel for the Portugal vs Germany game. Will anyone notice the difference ?

Clifford
05/07/2006, 10:11 PM
Evening.

Edit cos it's falling on deaf ears.

05/07/2006, 11:48 PM
Could someone tell me please when Martin O'Neill had a nationality transplant and became English....??

He's a sickening little turd..

Soper
06/07/2006, 12:08 AM
He's gone down in my estimation anyway.

06/07/2006, 8:40 AM
Could someone tell me please when Martin O'Neill had a nationality transplant and became English....??

He's a sickening little turd..

Well he did move to England for employment 35 years ago. It might be sickening that he couldn't pursue his football career in the Irish League or League of Ireland but that's hardly his fault is it:confused:

06/07/2006, 9:24 AM
Come on Owls fan The panel were spot on last night. You can only comment on what you see. France were rubbish for 4 years and showed no signs of improving so they were rightly castigated for it. They had the team to do it but they did not seem to have the work or team ethic to do it. Dunphy and Giles showed many examples of this.

Just cause France suddenly turn it around does not mean Dunphy and Giles were wrong in what they said. I think Giles and Dunphy put that point across last night well. As Giles says you can only comment on what you see. In my view anybody that predicted that France would get to the final having seen their first 3 games would not know anything about football. Alll the signs were there that they would go out as they were not working or trying hard. Its possible that they were so up for the game due to the racist comments alleged to Aragones but who knows.

Barthez is a clown and last night he proved it but he has done this for Utd and France before. I think you are been picky by pointing out a slight contradiction when Dunphy says France have a great defence but also that the keeper is a clown. Its obvious that when he says they have a great defence he means Thuram and Gallas and Sagnol and the protection of Makelele.

Bill O Herlihy did exactly what you have been asking for and you are stll not happy.

Roadend
06/07/2006, 9:26 AM
What was the discussion about whether Zidane should have teaken a run up to his penalty all about?

06/07/2006, 9:27 AM
Well he did move to England for employment 35 years ago. It might be sickening that he couldn't pursue his football career in the Irish League or League of Ireland but that's hardly his fault is it:confused:Irrespective of how long you live away from home, or where you have to go for employment, I feel you should always have pride in your own nation, and never refer to yourself as from another.

At the end of the day, we were lacking strike power, thats what cost us the world cup...

When Shearer and Hansen spoke about the 'embarrassment' of losing to a 'third rate' nation like Northern Ireland and smugly apologised to Martin for the slight, he shrugged his shoulders and said nothing...WIMP !!

Hope that helps with your confusion.

06/07/2006, 9:39 AM
O'Neill will end up like Lawro if he isn't careful. Shearer still thinks England have 9 world class players........ and how Hansen can make a joke about N Ireland is beyond me. The Scots are a shambles on the international scene.

Anybody hear Tydsley the other night going on about the English player in the Italian first 11? Somebody please shoot him!!!!

06/07/2006, 9:49 AM
Drunkphy wasn't long is attacking France after the game, when before it he told us he had bet on them. Run with the hare, hunt with the hounds comes to mind.
I didn't watch the after match analysis but are you saying you can't attack a team just because you put a bet on them? I don't mind you slating the RTE panel but you just pick points for the sake of it. I can only imagine the stick you'd be given Dunphy if he praised France just because he had a flutter on them.

06/07/2006, 9:57 AM
O'Neill will end up like Lawro if he isn't careful. Shearer still thinks England have 9 world class players........ and how Hansen can make a joke about N Ireland is beyond me. The Scots are a shambles on the international scene.

Anybody hear Tydsley the other night going on about the English player in the Italian first 11? Somebody please shoot him!!!!
I can guarentee you if he was born in Ireland RTE would've done the same.

Had to laugh at Shearer's assessment of the England squad alright. Only "Henry, maybe, Makele, Canavarro and eh, eh, maybe Zidane" would get into the England side apparently. I thk what he mean to say was only Ashley Cole and Wayne Rooney would get near any of the other 4 teams (probably english centre halves for the germans but thats it IMO)

06/07/2006, 10:09 AM
. Shearer still thinks England have 9 world class players........ !He actually had the audacity to say that only three or four like Henry, etc...would make the England team from what he's seen in the world cup.

I'd say:
Goalkeepers:Buffon, Lehmann, Van Der Sar, Casillas, Canizares, Dida.
Defenders:Zambrotta, Cannovaro, Gallas, Thuram, Sagnol, Ricardo Carvalho, Ayala, Senderos,
Midfielders: Vieira, Makelele, Zidane, Ribery, Pirlo, Figo, Rodriguez, Riquelme, Maniche, Kaka, Cambiasso, Robben, Cristiano Ronaldo
Forwards: Klose, Totti, Ronaldo, Crespo, Podolski, Tevez, Messi, Torre, Raul, Reyes, Van Nistelrooy, Van Persie, Shevchenko, Toni, Adriano, Saviola, Robinho, Saha, Villa, Larsson.....

Theres 47 who would walk on to the English team off the top of my head, and there are literally hundreds more....Given, Duff, Robbie Keane, God don't get me started...

06/07/2006, 10:19 AM
Bill O Herlihy did exactly what you have been asking for and you are stll not happy.

Possibly because I wrote in to RTE asking them to put those comments to the panel but they omitted the bit where I quoted Dunphy as saying the manager hasn't a clue and I did predict elsewhere that Giles would say "I can only comment on what I see, Bill" :D That's not true. Just because a team plays badly, it doesn't mean it's a bad team, have a bad manager and there is strife in the camp. Dunphy was back saying he hasn't a clue - not bad for a team to get to a WC Final with a manager who hasn't a clue.

I am no fan of Bartez and he can be eccentric at times, but any high balls he came for he gathered well and the saves he had to make, he did well apart from that one abberation. Describing him as a "clown" is typical Dunphy ott just as sneeringly calling Beckham "Sir David" on a number of occasions. Anyway, Man U fans would be better able to comment on his ability than I but do we really need pejorative comments like "clown" to keep the ratings up ?

On the Martin O'Neill thing, I didn't see it. Unfortunately Norn Iron must be rated among the third world football community so it was fair comment about a United Kingdom team and what was Martin to say ? We're not third world when they are. I assume Hansen was having a go at England by mentioned the defeat by Norn Iron.

06/07/2006, 10:31 AM
was wathcing At The Races Stateside last night and they were talking about the world cup and the pundits on ITV and BBC.
Some guy from Dundalk wrote in about RTE pundits and quoted a few Dunphy classics like "Barthez is a clown" and when Crookes was interviewing Sven after England were knocked out he described it as "the closest two men have ever come to having sex on TV.They couldnt beleive this happens as they never heard a so called pundit ever speak their mind.
They were saying "thats the way it shoould be over here"

Billsthoughts
06/07/2006, 11:34 AM
Isn't your name is a contradiction in terms :D :D

Cant believe you replied to me twice!
Must have hit a nerve!!!:D

06/07/2006, 12:06 PM
Cant believe you replied to me twice!
Must have hit a nerve!!!:D

Make that 3 times! Why wouldn't I reply to you ? I reply to all NeillMc's stuff as well. It's fun.

The Stars - there's speaking your mind and then there's saying the first abusive thing that comes in to your mind. I assume you like Ian Wright then as well since he "speaks his mind" ?

06/07/2006, 12:09 PM
I think the greatest thing about the RTE Panel is that they are willing to criticise teams that win matches. They look at performance and see does the team do the right things i.e. pass the ball well, keep possession, track back, defend well and continue to make runs off the ball and create space for one another. These are all basics of the game. Its possible to win one of matches not doing some of these but you will not wint a tournament unless you start doing it. France were not doing a lot of these things for a long time but started to do them against Brazil and Spain. Last night they went back to their old ways. I think RTE are good in that they dont get mislead by the result. Many stations would be full of praise for the French even though they gave a rubbish performance last night.

Billsthoughts
06/07/2006, 12:53 PM
Make that 3 times! Why wouldn't I reply to you ? I reply to all NeillMc's stuff as well. It's fun.

The Stars - there's speaking your mind and then there's saying the first abusive thing that comes in to your mind. I assume you like Ian Wright then as well since he "speaks his mind" ?
3 times!!!!
You love replying to me!!!:)

06/07/2006, 1:57 PM

Scotland have finished ahead of Ireland in the last 2 qualification campaigns. We finished 3rd and 4th and they finished 2nd and 3rd. Northern Irelands best finish was 4th.

06/07/2006, 3:05 PM
. Many stations would be full of praise for the French even though they gave a rubbish performance last night.

Well since you admit don't watch them, I am not sure how you know that. What they say is: poor performance but they're through to the World Cup Final :eek: Cup competitions are not about performances - it's about winning the trophy. Only grumpy old men like Giles and his adoring muppet beside him ignore the result and judge the performance only. We'd all love to see it being done with style but (cliche follows) at the end of the day, football is about results. Where now the flamboyant Spanish much adored by the panel ? Topping up their tans on the Costa del Sol.

06/07/2006, 3:08 PM
I never said I did not watch other stations. I said I tried not to watch ITV. Its not about style its about doing the right thing and performing well. Most people in Ireland prefer RTEs coverage and their style. You dont so switch off.

06/07/2006, 3:13 PM
Also if we were to just look at results there would be no point in having experts in. The job of an expert is to explain how certain results have come about and why a team is losing or a team is winning etc. If the experts just went on results they could just read out the results at 5 o clock on a saturday or 10pm on a Friday night and say great performance there by Bohs cause they won 2-nil

06/07/2006, 3:49 PM
I dont watch ITV cause I think their coverage is rubbish. .

I never said I did not watch other stations. I said I tried not to watch ITV. .

Tried not to watch - what's that ? You say "I mustn't watch Gabby Yorath, I mustn't watch Gabby Yorath" and then succumb ? :confused:

Most people in Ireland prefer RTEs coverage and their style..

Most people in Ireland also preferred Charlie Haughey. I am not a "most people" person as following the Owls clearly demonstrates. Is it also not surprising that most people watch their own station - doesn't mean they prefer it.

I didn't say "just look at the results". I said look at both - result and performance and measure each against the other instead of just focusing on the performance. We don't need the panel to tell us the result but likewise we don't need them to tell us it was a poor performance. But you're like your heroes - you exaggerate for the sake of effect.

06/07/2006, 3:58 PM
Not sure who my hero is I dont have heroes.

06/07/2006, 8:53 PM
Not sure who my hero is I dont have heroes.
How sad....Do I sense a lonely childhood?? ;)

07/07/2006, 6:55 AM

I used have a picture of Eamon Dunphy :eek: is an Irish jersey on my wall cut out from GOAL magazine - think the match was at Dalyer vs Hungary. He wasn't the only one I hasten to add - whenever SHOOT or GOAL had a picture of an Irish player, up it went on the wall. Anyone who wore the green in those days was a hero to me even though they and we might have been cr*p at the time.

07/07/2006, 8:03 AM
I used have a picture of Eamon Dunphy :eek: is an Irish jersey on my wall cut out from GOAL magazine - think the match was at Dalyer vs Hungary. He wasn't the only one I hasten to add - whenever SHOOT or GOAL had a picture of an Irish player, up it went on the wall. Anyone who wore the green in those days was a hero to me even though they and we might have been cr*p at the time.
Had one of Paddy Mulligan and Gerry Daly....not as bad as Dunphy !;) :D

Sandro
07/07/2006, 8:53 AM
http://liberoblog.libero.it/c/img66/cronaca/04/4522/2006/7/delpi_pizza322.jpg

07/07/2006, 12:03 PM

Actually I do have one and I met him quite recently after the Swiss game. I said to him I wish you were out there for us tonight and he said he wishes he was out there too.

Oooh Ahh Paul Mc Grath a true legend.

07/07/2006, 12:48 PM
And no finer a legend to have as a hero.

Getting back on topic...now that the tournament is coming to an end, who, for you, was the best pundit on all channels and why?

I'll set the ball rolling. For me it has to be Souness.:eek: He genuinely surprised me, and came across clear, well, and knowledgeably. I certainly valued his opinions and thought he was by far the most constructive.

Second place for me goes to a novice, one for the future, Denis Irwin. Same comments as Souness apply, and the 'auld Cork brogue is entertaining.

At the opposite ends; In second last place comes our own Eamo...he's an idiot lads, pure and simple.

And bottom of the pile comes the itinerant that this thread was named after....for so many reasons....too many reasons....:ball:

07/07/2006, 1:12 PM
Agree with you Mr Soap. I Think Souness has been top class and Irwin and Brady and Giles. Dunphy is a bit of a laugh and I dont take him too seriously really. I enjoy some of the nonsense that comes out of his mouth and for some reason he does not annoy me in the way that Ian Wright does. I think the RTE panel can be heavy going for some people so I think Dunphy is a good outlet of fun and frivolity on the panel but the best part is that Dunphy is trying to be serious when he is making the point but it comes out as Over the top nonsense a lot of the time.

07/07/2006, 1:54 PM
And bottom of the pile comes the itinerant that this thread was named after....for so many reasons....too many reasons....:ball:

I agree with whoever said Ian "Wrighty" Wright Wright Wright should become an art critic. He seemed genuinely interested in that art museum and kept the anticipated "Wot's this all about? Is this supposed to be art" comments to a minimum. Anything to keep him away from the football!

07/07/2006, 3:39 PM
Getting back on topic...now that the tournament is coming to an end, who, for you, was the best pundit on all channels and why?

I'll set the ball rolling. For me it has to be Souness.:eek: He genuinely surprised me, and came across clear, well, and knowledgeably. I certainly valued his opinions and thought he was by far the most constructive.

Second place for me goes to a novice, one for the future, Denis Irwin. Same comments as Souness apply, and the 'auld Cork brogue is entertaining.

At the opposite ends; In second last place comes our own Eamo...he's an idiot lads, pure and simple.

Agree with everything apart from the last line - I'd class the two idiots on a par with each other, except people actually listen to Dunphy.

I suppose the reason Souness was good was he is fresh from management (I use the word loosely) from the Premiership while Dinny and Cunningham have also just retired. It must be a long time since Messrs Giles and Dunphy kicked a ball in anger. I wonder why Souness did not appear for the two semis since they had used him for all the big games up to that.

Giles is good at commenting on what he has seen but he seldom expects the unexpected, which hardened football supporters are well used to. I have been disappointed with Brady. He used to disagree with the others - now he pretty much says the same thing.

Dunphy is a bit of a laugh :

Don't get me started. He is personal, vindictive....no I won't get started.

On the other sides, despite some misgivings above Martin O'Neill I quite enjoy him as well as Hansen and Lawro, although the former is a bit arrogant at times. Venables I can't take seriously any more after the Apres Match Sky phone in sketches and Andy T is ok.

07/07/2006, 10:13 PM
My favourite commentator has been Tylsley , I know a lot of people here dont like his style but I always enjoyed his comments and found him quite knowledgeable , my favourite comment of his was "Spain - the Kings of the ripped up betting slip"

10/07/2006, 7:37 AM
Amazed yet again - not by DUnphy saying at half time that Italy will dominate the second half :rolleyes:, since you can take it as read that whatever he says, the opposite will happen, but Brady's choice as the highlight of the World Cup: Giles and the creature to his far left went for great goals but Brady went for a picture of Beckham in tears and gloated at it and then used this as a vidication of the panel's attitude to England :eek: He said he wondered whether he was crying over his "drop in endorsements" but by choosing that as the "highlight of the World Cup, rather than vindicating the panel, it vindictated those like me who said their reaction to the England games was not analysis but over the top scoffing.

I have lost all respect for Brady after that. Pathetic and very disappointed in Brady - I would have expected it from Dunphy but not Brady.

10/07/2006, 9:39 AM
For feck sake Owls fan he had it there becaue Beckham represents in many ways everything that is wrong with the modern day footballer. Over paid over hyped and getting in the team for commercial reasons rather than footballing ones. To see him crying was a great moment also. I thought Dunphy went for the best moment also.

10/07/2006, 9:45 AM
To see him crying was a great moment also.

The Brady choice seemed like something the Apres Match team decided not to put in because it was too ridiculous.

"We've been castigated in the media for being England-bashers but this clip of Beckham vindicates what we were saying, Bill. He's crying like A LIT-TLE BABY GIRL, BILL!!! HE'S MADE A FOOL OF HIMSELF!"

10/07/2006, 10:48 AM
For feck sake Owls fan he had it there becaue Beckham represents in many ways everything that is wrong with the modern day footballer. Over paid over hyped and getting in the team for commercial reasons rather than footballing ones. To see him crying was a great moment also. I thought Dunphy went for the best moment also.

Unbelievable :rolleyes: The highlight of an ex-professional footballer's World Cup was the picture of another professional crying in the despair of defeat, of which incidentally there have been many other than Beckham. The envy and jealousy of Beckham seems to reach no bounds. Why would Sven, who was at the end of his contract, pick him for "commercial reasons" ? And is that Beckham's fault if he was. I am an ABU but I am well able to spot green eyed monsters when I see them.

Could you imagine if we had been there and Robbie Keane was in tears after we had been knocked out and on the BBC Ian Wright or Shearer said that was the highlight of his World Cup seeing Ireland lose and their captain in tears. Madness and pathetic and we'd be all outraged. It was purely anti-English that choice.

10/07/2006, 10:55 AM
ABU, surely the most sad people on earth.

Also your last point I would have no problem if Ian Wright or Alan Shearer made fun of us. We are rivals and as I said before I dont want their support. Brady does not like Beckham because he was captain of an over hyped team and he was not in the team on merit but their for commercial reasons. Martin O Neill did not take the England job as he would have been forced to play Beckham. When people like Beckhamf fail it is good for the game as he is a one trick pony. He was not the only one though as Lampard was rubbish also. I think Brady picked that moment as it represented something bigger than just the bare facts of the moment.

10/07/2006, 10:59 AM
There were rumours that one of the major questions asked in the interviews for the England job was would the candidate keep Beckham on as a captain? Obviously the FA understand that he would sell the most jerseys abroad, so they would want him in the side, regardless of form, talent, use, fitness, etc

10/07/2006, 12:04 PM
There were rumours that one of the major questions asked in the interviews for the England job was would the candidate keep Beckham on as a captain? Obviously the FA understand that he would sell the most jerseys abroad, so they would want him in the side, regardless of form, talent, use, fitness, etc

I understand that there were "rumours" but can you imagine any self respecting manager taking on the job with the FA picking the team for them ? Rumours are easily spread and hard to counter. Personally, I don't believe it and Brady's choice was only part-anti Beckham anyway, the rest was based on delight in English failure. I really think a so-called expert should be beyond such sentiments - the barstooler I can understand but not someone of Brady's stature on TV. The highlight of a World Cup was someone's failure and distress rather than something positive :rolleyes:

If the BBC had done something similar to Ireland, there would be questions raised in both Ireland and the Uk about racism and Paddy bashing and that's the truth.

We obviously haven't grown up as a nation yet. I usually want England to lose due to the "big neighbour" syndrome but RTE's reaction was way ott and Tabloidian (invented word) in its nature. Appeal to the lowest denominator and it works.

10/07/2006, 12:49 PM
Tabloidian (invented word)Patent it...good word.:)