View Full Version : Ian Wright (and TV pundits in general)
23/06/2006, 12:57 PM
I had a listen to the rte panel in the recent 2 days. Owl's comment about Dunphy being lost when the discussion went beyond him was spot on. The more I see him the more he looks like a spitting image puppet of himself.
The weak link is Bill, he can't chair a decent discussion. He hasn't the nous to spot someting intelligent immediately and lead the debate. I think the time delay with him is due to him having to be prompted about the relevant points on his earpiece.
A censorious Giles, Souness, Brady and the dulcet tones of co- commentater Stevens is a good balance.
frankbrett
23/06/2006, 1:02 PM
No!! He never :eek: I saw the clip of Andy Townsend on his feet at ITV punching the air and Des Lynam (Irish apparently) sitting looking on with little emotion but never the Giles' one possibily because I was on my knees on the floor wiping all the beer stains off the new carpet before the wife came home. I watched it at home with a few friends and the bottles, tins and glasses went flying :( Any link ?
Giles and Brady going mad after the equaliser was used in RTE's 2002 world cup montage (to the music of that Feeder song) I think.
23/06/2006, 2:06 PM
Stuart Pearce is with ITV for this World Cup.
23/06/2006, 2:38 PM
Stuart Pearce is with ITV for this World Cup.
I meant ITV - humble apologies but how do you know if you never watch it :p
23/06/2006, 3:01 PM
I read in the paper the various TV lineups for the World Cup. In addition I have been in pubs during the World cup where I dont have a choice what coverage they show.
23/06/2006, 10:05 PM
Do you not know when your leg is being pulled :confused: ?
Very confident predictions by Drunkphy and Giles that Spain will beat France. Bearing in mind that Spain didn't win their group to get to the World Cup and had to go through the play offs and don't have a great record against France (according to Desailly), I wouldn't be that confident. On the showing so far perhaps, but as Jimmy Greaves says etc etc
Both also predicted Ecuador to beat England. If they are wrong and England win, be ready for Ecuador are a "mediocre" side.
Drunkphy also had to quote Keane in the context of France/Swiss qualifying on how far you can go if you believe and prepare. Not sure what the point was since in every previous World Cup we also got out of our group every time. Laughing Bill's stinging reposte was "Hmmmmm.":rolleyes:
Brazil were also described as a "mediocre" team and both suggested Angola might beat them. Both Drunkphy and Giles had tipped Brazil to win the World Cup.
Let the contradictions continue. Watch this space ;)
23/06/2006, 10:08 PM
Did they actually predict Angola to beat Brazil or did you make a typo?
Metrostars
24/06/2006, 3:39 AM
Here are some funny comments by the commentators on ESPN:
"A game that had been controlled by Argentina has turned 360 degrees."
"Portugal and Angola, neighbors..."
"That gives a whole new meaning to Bend it like Beckham, folks"
"Nakata is the Terrel Owens of this Japanese team"
"...and great disappointment for Australia."(after their first game 3-1)
"Oh Man! I thought that baby was in there!"
"Ecuador are the Denver Broncos of international soccer."
"He just has no chance to win that 50-50 ball in the air"
"In Brazil, they say soccer is like a religion... And they mean that as a compliment."
"Cambiassa, and that means change in spanish...."
"I like the Brazilian names because they're so much fun to say.......Say 'Kaka'. You're smiling, aren't you?"
"and the Serbs are ready for the free kick" (During the Croatia-Japan game)
Tommy-Smythisms:
"You don't need an umbrella when there is a hole in your shoes"
"If you are playing this game and you have two feet you have to remember to use them"
Main commentator: "Here's an interesting fact. The first oil well in the history of the world was drilled by a Pole."
Smyth: "Really? I had always heard it was drilled by a bit."
"He has more moves than Mariah Carey" on Christiano Ronaldo
24/06/2006, 4:09 PM
Did they actually predict Angola to beat Brazil or did you make a typo?
Both predicted Angola to win - might have a change of heart in the cold light of day.
ruben_sosa
24/06/2006, 7:57 PM
Giles is brilliant at analysing games as they happen. His knowledge of world football isn't great
someone should tell Johnny that it's "Argentina" not "Argentinia" :rolleyes:
worst pundit i've seen so far is jay-jay okocha, i've heard better english from spanish students on the 29A.
25/06/2006, 8:23 AM
Now, what did yesterday bring.
We had Drunkphy, not one to make sweeping or rash statements, say "every referee in the tournament is useless". I know all ex-footballers dislike referees but even for Drunkphy this was pushing the boat out. He then went on about the Fifa edicts which was fair enough tying their hands but to say the referees are uselss, these being the best in the world, is like saying every referee in the world is useless. An impossible job made even harder by clowns like him. The "referee spoilt the german/ Sweden game" by sending off the Swede. DOh, it might not have been a great decision but the game was over by then as a spectacle. And does the player not bear some responsibility when on a yellow to avoid needless offences like the one he commited - no mention of that. Blame the ref.
After the panel had spent 20 minutes attacking the German defence, which hasn't conceded a goal in 270 minutes of football, Laughing Bill said he had read some where that the Argentinian defence was suspect. Drunkphy scoffed and mentioned that this defence has Heinze "one of the best defenders in the world who plays for Manchester United" ((yeah, like Rio and John O'Shea)). This player then proceeded to lose his marker for the Mexican goal and should have been sent off when he failed to control a pass from his keeper and hacked down the Mexican forward. Best in the world ok, Drunkphy:eek: .
25/06/2006, 5:27 PM
Both (Drunkphy and Giles) also predicted Ecuador to beat England. If they are wrong and England win, be ready for Ecuador are a "mediocre" side.
All very predictable :D :D :D
The RTE Panel is of course the purveyors of truth - every other panel is full of bullsh*t. Amazing how I could predict the bullsh*t from the RTE Panel a few days in advance.
All very predictable :D :D :D
The RTE Panel is of course the purveyors of truth - every other panel is full of bullsh*t. Amazing how I could predict the bullsh*t from the RTE Panel a few days in advance.
Thats because they're consistent. England are a poor side and Ecuador are worse. Are you trying to say they're wrong?
26/06/2006, 8:59 AM
I thought it was funny that before the game the RTE panel warned us that the English were under-estimating this Ecuador team, forget the game against
Germany. Ecuador are a good side and England could be in trouble against them etc. After the game we were told that England had only beaten a bunch of no-hopers.
They are not consistent at all. We were also told Germany were a bunch of no hopers by the Panel. Now they're singing their praises when anyone who knows anything about football could tell you that Germany at home in a World Cup, no matter even if they put out a team of John O'Sheas, would be there or there abouts.
You're talking things to the extreme. Some said they had no hope. Brady said they'd score lots off goals but defence was suspect. He's right. Over on the other channels, nobody gave Germany anychance at all. You're trying to nitpick here. No pundit gets everything right, RTE get more right than most.
26/06/2006, 9:34 AM
Owls fan as I said before if you dont like it turn off. Simple as that.
placid casual
26/06/2006, 2:23 PM
best commentator on RTE : Jimmy Magee - infectious enthusiam and always likely to include a boxing analogy at some stage in a game.
best commentator on BBB: Steve Wilson - good on facts & figures and seems to enjoy the game in fromt without talkin shi-ite
UTV- forgetaboutit.
best commentator on BBB: Steve Wilson - good on facts & figures and seems to enjoy the game in fromt without talkin shi-ite
Yeah he's good but had an unfortunate case of the Hamiltons in the Argentina/Mexico game when the ref OBVIOUSLY booked a guy for kicking it away. TV even showed a replay of him doing so but Wilson continued to talk about ref booking a guy through mistaken identity. Een when he was booked in injury time "he should be off now..."
Aldini98
26/06/2006, 3:51 PM
Yeah he's good but had an unfortunate case of the Hamiltons in the Argentina/Mexico game when the ref OBVIOUSLY booked a guy for kicking it away. TV even showed a replay of him doing so but Wilson continued to talk about ref booking a guy through mistaken identity. Een when he was booked in injury time "he should be off now..."
yeah I spotted that too !!!!
27/06/2006, 9:25 AM
Is Lawro English or Irish? Once again last night he was "we" when talking about England. I know he has a well paid job for the BBC but his arse kissing of the ING ER LAND team at times makes me reach for the sick bucket.
27/06/2006, 9:29 AM
Well, he was born, reared, educated and worked all his life in Ing er land as you put it.
FarBeag
27/06/2006, 9:41 AM
Lawro while commentating on the Ecuador match the other day.
'' We are passing it well. ''All we need now it the Hollywood pass for the first.''
There were quite a few other references made. I will leave it at this.
27/06/2006, 9:45 AM
But at some point in his life he must have decided "I need an Irish passport to play for Ireland". When he appears on RTE I'm sure has his Irish hat on but how many nationalities can one man have?!
27/06/2006, 9:49 AM
I think its grand that Lawrenson should be going for England but calling them we is a bit much in my view. But fair play he has a grand old life for himself. Handy number and he wants to keept it going.
Is Lawro English or Irish? Once again last night he was "we" when talking about England. I know he has a well paid job for the BBC but his arse kissing of the ING ER LAND team at times makes me reach for the sick bucket.
He's both. Chances are if I was born in England with an English mother or father I'd have a soft spot for them. No big deal
cheifo
27/06/2006, 11:13 AM
Well said Dodge.Commonsense.
27/06/2006, 11:14 AM
Exactly. While it does grate slightly since we consider him one of ours, it is perfectly understandable.
27/06/2006, 11:18 AM
Well let him be English for this WC but when we qualify for the Euros and RTE comes running I'm sure he'll have his Irish tricolour waving in the background.
27/06/2006, 11:22 AM
Please God :D
27/06/2006, 11:26 AM
I'm optimistic after seeing the Czechs struggle in Germany, expect Sir Bobby to be wheeled into the dugout to help Stan with tactics!!!
Billsthoughts
27/06/2006, 12:39 PM
Its disappointing to read all the negativity directed at the RTE panel by some people on this thread. We should be proud that we are able to compete with a much bigger broadcasting corporation with much more resources at their disposal and still provide a superior product. As one poster said if you dont like it switch it off.
27/06/2006, 12:43 PM
Well said Bill, however, payment of licence fee allows one to moan and criticise in my book.....
Billsthoughts
27/06/2006, 12:51 PM
Am not sure if much of your licence fee goes towards this. Surely advertising revenue during the World Cup would cover the cost of dunphy et al? am not sure if moaning is the way to go about it anyways.......you should go up to Pat Kennys house and take whatever takes your fancy...........you paid for it.......and got very little in return!
27/06/2006, 1:04 PM
Ring Joe Duffy if you are not happy that gets things done in this country as far as I can see.
27/06/2006, 3:53 PM
At work so didn't see the Tabloid Panel before the Ghana vs Brazil game. Did Drunkphy and Giles stick with their prediction made earlier in the week of a Ghana win ? If they did and Brazil win, wait to hear about the failings of Ghana and "they're just happy to be there".
And for those of you who worship at the shrine of Laughing Bill, despite his inabilty to introduce balance or perspective, here's an interview of self praise you'll enjoy.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/worldcup/oherlihyb.html
28/06/2006, 7:35 AM
"France are a shambles". "They are run by a clique of 4 or 5 of the senior players". "Their manager hasn't a clue". "Bartez is a joke". "Spain will stuff them. You can bet your house on it Bill". Giles or Laughing Bill did not question any of these statements and agreed with them. I recorded them in anticipation of the banana skin on the way.
Just a few of the comments of our much beloved "expert" after the Togo game. Oh, I was sooooooooo disappointed that he wasn't around on the Panel last night to eat humble pie. History told us France would win that game. Spain the perennial flatterers to deceive and you could see the confidence coming back in to the French side after the Togo victory. All ignored but you expect that.
Very enjoyable game:D
ColinR
28/06/2006, 7:48 AM
i think for entertainment purposes, rte should engage owlsfan as a pundit alongisde dunphy, and just let the rest of us sit back and watch the sparks fly :D
28/06/2006, 7:54 AM
Andy Gray thought that goal sizes should be increased by a foot (height and width) because there hasn't been many 2nd round goals so far in the WC. And then comes along France-Spain last night. His reasoning behind this wisdom is that goalkeepers are much bigger nowadays.........
His 2nd point on last nights Sky Sports News slot was that Zidane should be dropped from the team playing Spain.
I just love it when the critics are shown up!!!
28/06/2006, 8:53 AM
Lads I said this before, football makes a fool of people. Lots and lot sof people thought this French team were finished. They have not played wellfor about 4 years. Just cause they turn in a great performance out of the blue and Zidane plays well for the first time for France in ages does not mean the pundits are fools. On the evidence of the tournament so far Spain were the much better side than France. However Last night France were much better organised and much better at the back and thats what won the game for them.
That and a little bit of cheating from Henry too.
I am sure there are many people on these boards who dont think England will win against Portugal and that Beckham should be dropped. However if England win and Beckham plays well does that mean these people do not have clue about football. No I judge a pundit on what they say about a game once it has been played rather than what they say about a game that is about to be played.
28/06/2006, 9:23 AM
Andy Gray thought that goal sizes should be increased by a foot (height and width) because there hasn't been many 2nd round goals so far in the WC. And then comes along France-Spain last night. His reasoning behind this wisdom is that goalkeepers are much bigger nowadays.........
His 2nd point on last nights Sky Sports News slot was that Zidane should be dropped from the team playing Spain.
I just love it when the critics are shown up!!!
He nevertheless predicted a French win :D .
I am sure there are many people on these boards who dont think England will win against Portugal and that Beckham should be dropped. However if England win and Beckham plays well does that mean these people do not have clue about football. No I judge a pundit on what they say about a game once it has been played rather than what they say about a game that is about to be played went on and predicted a French win - one of the few.
I would say they haven't a clue about football if they keep misreading games, keep getting the predictions wrong and continue to make fools of themselves.
If we follow your logic we shouldn't bother with the 30 minute intro and have them explain to us what happened - as if most of us can't see that already. It is interesting that Giles isn't as dogmatic when Drunkphy isn't at his shoulder. After the Togo game he agreed with everything the latter said about France. In the build up to the Spanish game, he was far more cautious and suggested Spain would win, just.
Fair dues to Dinny - he voted against the other 3 in the studio and went for a France win. A break in the consensus at last.
That has been my main problem with the RTE Panel over the years. Other than the Keane affair, Giles and DUnphy supported by O'H have sung from the same hymnn sheet almost without exception on Charlton, McCarthy, Liverpool (in the CL when they won it), the Premiership, you name it - always agreeing with each other. No balance, no contrary opinion.
Roadend
28/06/2006, 9:28 AM
Andy Gray thought that goal sizes should be increased by a foot (height and width) because there hasn't been many 2nd round goals so far in the WC.
Is he at this craic again? He said the same when Utd. went out to Volgograd or Vladikavkaz a few years back. The man is an utter clown.
28/06/2006, 9:33 AM
He is just saying the goals should be slightly made bigger. He has a point in that through evolution people have got taller and talller. The dimensions of the goals were set out when the average height of a man was about 5ft 7 now it is pushing 6ft and for a keeper its about 6ft 2. So if they were to slightly alter the size it would be no bad thing.
Roadend
28/06/2006, 9:35 AM
In fairness, wou'd have to extend them by ten foot each way to accommodate the Ghanians....and Lampard.......
28/06/2006, 9:38 AM
In fairness, wou'd have to extend them by ten foot each way to accommodate the Ghanians....and Lampard.......
:D very true. Hell even Gary Doherty has a chance of scoring if the goals are that big!
28/06/2006, 9:40 AM
He nevertheless predicted a French win :D .
I would say they haven't a clue about football if they keep misreading games, keep getting the predictions wrong and continue to make fools of themselves.
If we follow your logic we shouldn't bother with the 30 minute intro and have them explain to us what happened - as if most of us can't see that already. It is interesting that Giles isn't as dogmatic when Drunkphy isn't at his shoulder. After the Togo game he agreed with everything the latter said about France. In the build up to the Spanish game, he was far more cautious and suggested Spain would win, just.
Fair dues to Dinny - he voted against the other 3 in the studio and went for a France win. A break in the consensus at last.
That has been my main problem with the RTE Panel over the years. Other than the Keane affair, Giles and DUnphy supported by O'H have sung from the same hymnn sheet almost without exception on Charlton, McCarthy, Liverpool (in the CL when they won it), the Premiership, you name it - always agreeing with each other. No balance, no contrary opinion.
I think you are right that it is good that Brady Souness Irwin are there to break it up but I do think that RTE did not invest much in the past. I am thinking that for Italia 90 they only really had Giles and Dunphy and possibly Shay Brennan at times not sure who else. OVer the last 5 years they have added Brady and a few others. They should keep Irwin in my view but I expect him to be Roy Keanes assistant or coach when he enters management.
28/06/2006, 10:39 AM
:D :D Didn't see the Ghanian game but Lampard's attempts have been awful so far but who knows ?
28/06/2006, 10:52 AM
Speaking of pundits....do those 2 American 'pundits' working for the Budweiser ads annoy the bejaysus out of anyone else, or is it just me??:confused:
Roadend
28/06/2006, 10:55 AM
They annoy me as much as the 3 ad. that is on every single ad. break
28/06/2006, 11:13 AM
Yeah both of them wreck my head, I hate Bud anyway but even if I liked it I think I would give it up after this world cup. This is a terrible thing to say but somebody who drinks Budweiser goes down in my estimation. So far I have done ok using this ideology.
Billsthoughts
28/06/2006, 11:25 AM
This is a terrible thing to say but somebody who drinks Budweiser goes down in my estimation. So far I have done ok using this ideology.
I bet you have.......;) ;)