View Full Version : Ian Wright (and TV pundits in general)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

28/06/2006, 11:45 AM
Now now Bill or whatever you name is no need to bring the conversation to that level in here, thats for private messages.

28/06/2006, 11:57 AM
The Coke one is good though - particularly the spiv that jumps out of the wardrobe with the pencil moustache and flimsy jocks compared to the bald, fat husband with the huge briefs :D

Roadend
28/06/2006, 12:21 PM
I keep meaning to have a look at the wife, to see if she's do-able......

Billsthoughts
28/06/2006, 12:31 PM
Now now Bill or whatever you name is no need to bring the conversation to that level in here, thats for private messages.
Its Karen, (I just work for Bill!) and it would take more than a few buds!

frankbrett
28/06/2006, 12:55 PM
They annoy me as much as the 3 ad. that is on every single ad. break

seconded.
I will boycott all off their products and services, even though I can't afford them.

That music is doing my head in

28/06/2006, 2:03 PM
Its Karen, (I just work for Bill!) and it would take more than a few buds!

i am sure it would, At least half a bottle of decent red wine.

Billsthoughts
28/06/2006, 3:59 PM
:o :o

28/06/2006, 8:23 PM
I keep meaning to have a look at the wife, to see if she's do-able......

She just stares ahead at the television - late 30s I'd say (hard to judge the age of someone in a drawing :D )

28/06/2006, 10:07 PM
"France are a shambles". "They are run by a clique of 4 or 5 of the senior players". "Their manager hasn't a clue". "Bartez is a joke". "Spain will stuff them. You can bet your house on it Bill". Giles or Laughing Bill did not question any of these statements and agreed with them. I recorded them in anticipation of the banana skin on the way.

Just a few of the comments of our much beloved "expert" after the Togo game. Oh, I was sooooooooo disappointed that he wasn't around on the Panel last night to eat humble pie. History told us France would win that game. Spain the perennial flatterers to deceive and you could see the confidence coming back in to the French side after the Togo victory. All ignored but you expect that.

Very enjoyable game:D

Dunphy has been at that kind of thing for years. The only time I can remember him getting it right was when he predicted that Brazil would be beaten in 1982. He's been singing the same song ever since about numerous teams in the hope of a repeat. Of course pundits will get it wrong from time to time. Whats amazing about Humpty Dunphy is his unerring knack of calling it wrongly. It used to amuse me when he was on Champions league games with Brady, and Brady would inevitably get it right before the match, just as surely as Humpty would get it wrong. Remember, so far this world cup he has confidently predicted that Germany haven't a prayer(only to start using them as an example of one of the better sides since they beat Sweden) Brazil "aint gonna win no world cup Bill" and would be knocked out once they meet "better teams" (Spain would beat them by four or five, was one of his gems, yet who is in the quarter finals and who is on the plane home ?). He's right that England are muck(The only thing he's good for is slagging off Sven and David), but I for one wouldn't be that surprised to see them beat Portugal. Having said all that I still think the RTE panel are way ahead of the english channels. Giles has always been the best analyst around for my money, Brady is generally good too. The point that proves it I think is the contribution of Souness, who has been a revelation on RTE, where he has the freedom to say what he likes. And I don't think O'Herlihy is that bad. I've always got the impression that he listens to what the panel are saying during the game and frames his questions accordingly, which seems fair enough to me. And say what you like about him, at least he's not Gary Lineker.

29/06/2006, 8:42 AM
Remember, so far this world cup he has confidently predicted that Germany haven't a prayer(only to start using them as an example of one of the better sides since they beat Sweden) Brazil "aint gonna win no world cup Bill" and would be knocked out once they meet "better teams"
In fairness, every pundit was dismissing the Germans before the tournament kicked off. Even the Germans were saying this team was going to be an embarassment and wanted Klinsmann out after some fairly uninspiring results and performances in the run up to the World Cup. As for Brazil, I'm pretty sure they were everyone's pick before the world cup, which was hastily revised after the first series of games.

29/06/2006, 8:49 AM
In fairness, every pundit was dismissing the Germans before the tournament kicked off. Even the Germans were saying this team was going to be an embarassment and wanted Klinsmann out after some fairly uninspiring results and performances in the run up to the World Cup. As for Brazil, I'm pretty sure they were everyone's pick before the world cup, which was hastily revised after the first series of games.

I think if you look at people's predictions on this Forum alone, Brazil were not "everyone's" choice. They might yet win it though ;) . Choosing Brazil ignores the history of the world cup in Europe which is why I went for Italy with Germany (as the host and great WC pedigree) to do well.

I see George Hamilton earns 160k a year from RTE - what a dream job for that sort of money.

29/06/2006, 11:05 AM
Sorry, meant they were every pundit's picks. So what if Dunphy and the rest get it wrong? They're only human, and they still get it right more than the other choices we have. If you're so big on complaining about them, what pundit selection do you watch?

29/06/2006, 12:47 PM
See TonyD's comments above about Drunkphy's predictions.

I am sure the rest of the pundits get it no more right nor wrong than the rest of us.

29/06/2006, 1:02 PM
I think if you like a bet always bet against Dunphys predictions, you will probably do well from it. Maybe thats how he has made his money, by betting against whatever he says will happen on RTE.

rodoman
29/06/2006, 6:13 PM
The likes of Souness, Irwin, Cunningham, Leonardo, Shearer O'Neill, have all played the game at the highest level, and can give an insight to what goes on in big matches and deserve to be on panels.

Old big ears himself, a smarmy crisp eating w**ker who proved his worth on commentary when he said back in 1990 just before the Ireland game in the WC, that England were technically superior to us, and that we wouldn't be a problem to them.
Didn't all but a few of the Irish team play in the same league as that toolbag.

Giles, a no nonsense pundit, who's did all of the above, but was unlucky not to play in a WC final stage, more than likely because he had to play with that malignent begrudger Dunphy in the Irish team.

Dumbhy - well least said the better ;)

rodoman
29/06/2006, 6:14 PM
Oh yeah, forgot to say something about Ian Wright. :confused:
nuff said

30/06/2006, 11:59 AM
Old big ears himself, a smarmy crisp eating w**ker who proved his worth on commentary when he said back in 1990 just before the Ireland game in the WC, that England were technically superior to us, and that we wouldn't be a problem to them.
Didn't all but a few of the Irish team play in the same league as that toolbag.
He might be a smarmy crisp eater, but you can't say he couldn't hold his own on the pitch...

80 caps.......48 goals
One of the few to score over 20 goals in a season in Spain (21 in his first Barca season)
105 Goals with Everton & Spurs
PFA Player of the Year.

None of the above are to be sneezed at.......:ball:

30/06/2006, 12:04 PM
Lineker is a legend of a player, very underated in my view due to his post playing career

30/06/2006, 9:44 PM
Anyone hear John Giles call Peter Collins "Bill" twice this afternoon :D ?

Did the Panel of experts miss that the second Italian goal was offside ? No freeze frames but when the ball was kicked the Italian looked to be ahead of the Ukranian defender.

They have suddenly discovered Italy and Germany despite dismissing them as no hopers earlier on. That "suspect" German defence did very well - that's only 1 goal shipped in the last 4 games.

LeixlipRed
01/07/2006, 12:19 AM
Speaking of pundits....do those 2 American 'pundits' working for the Budweiser ads annoy the bejaysus out of anyone else, or is it just me??:confused:

I think everyone realised years ago that Americans dont get football. Budweiser havent copped on yet

osgood was good
01/07/2006, 2:50 AM
After the Argies/German game ,Drunkphy was ranting on about players with heart , agression and courage to take a game by the scruff of the neck when he did his usual ''How great Roy Keane is '' comment . He just has to take his head out of Keanes arse . Every opportunity Eamon gets , its Roy Keane this , Roy Keane that , im sure Keane has a pain in his h**e too at this stage. Then he decides to patronise Giles and Brady again , how great players like John Giles and Liam Brady were , didnt hide from their responsabilitys , never gave up, great readers of the game , courage, determination , ability to get their team focused , blah blah f****n blah.

I hope England win the WC just to **** him off . Ok maybe thats taking it a bit far but ya know what i mean.:p

01/07/2006, 8:18 AM
The funny thing about that is he used to write scurrilous articles in the Sunday Indo giving out about Brady's lack of commitment :rolleyes:

Well all the teams he has castigated are still there (Germany, Italy, England, Brazil, France). So Portugal is his last chance to get something correct.

01/07/2006, 1:44 PM
Anyone hear John Giles call Peter Collins "Bill" twice this afternoon :D ?

Did the Panel of experts miss that the second Italian goal was offside ? No freeze frames but when the ball was kicked the Italian looked to be ahead of the Ukranian defender.

They have suddenly discovered Italy and Germany despite dismissing them as no hopers earlier on. That "suspect" German defence did very well - that's only 1 goal shipped in the last 4 games.
In fairness, their defence is still brutal. :)

Hopefully more of this on Tuesday:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I1pS2IetgNU&search=italy%20vs.%20germany%2C%20friendly

Jon'o
01/07/2006, 6:36 PM
Anyone see ian wright before the ingurland game? they had a sketch with ricky gervase and someone impersonating rooney (a dwarf) and someone else meant to be crouch...

shortly after the sketch wright comes out with something along the lines of ''those little people crack me up ever time i see one''

cue an uneasy silence while wright shoves his foot in his gob :D

$Leon$
01/07/2006, 6:58 PM
shortly after the sketch wright comes out with something along the lines of ''those little people crack me up ever time i see one''
cue an uneasy silence while wright shoves his foot in his gob :D

Was watching it as well couldn't believe he acutally said it. With him on board it's like having one of the apres match lads after a feed of pints sitting beside Giles and Dunphy.
The fella playing Crouch in the sketch is Stephen Merchant - Ricky Gervais writting partner for all his work. He also made cameo appearance in The Office as The Ogg Monster in the comic relief episode.
Speaking of Crouch the Apres Match crew described him perfectly - A cross between Ryan Tubridy and a ladder

slow2anger
01/07/2006, 10:46 PM
Was watching it as well couldn't believe he acutally said it. With him on board it's like having one of the apres match lads after a feed of pints sitting beside Giles and Dunphy.

Had to laugh, what a remark. Like watching Only Fools & Horses in the 80's!

03/07/2006, 10:27 AM
Speaking of Crouch the Apres Match crew described him perfectly - A cross between Ryan Tubridy and a ladder

best description ive heard of him! :)

03/07/2006, 1:06 PM
A few questions I'd like Bill O'H to ask the RTE Panel of Experts. which he won't:

(a) After the France vs Togo game, Dunphy said "France are a shambles". "They are run by a clique of 4 or 5 of the senior players". "Their manager hasn't a clue". "Bartez is a joke". "Spain will stuff them. You can bet your house on it Bill". Giles or Bill did not question any of these statements and agreed with them. Are you prepared to revise your opinion of France, Mr D ?

(b) All the panelists tipped either Brazil or Argentina to win the World Cup. A South American team hasn't won in Europe since 1958. Do the panelists ignore all previous history when making their predictions and just go for the apparently best team of the moment like the man in the street?

(c) Bill O'H asked the panel before Spain and Argentina were knocked out, whether they had peeked too early as there was a history of this in the World Cup. Giles and the rest of the panel were dismissive of this idea despite the fact that history bears it out. Again do the panelists ignore all previous history when making their predictions and just go for the apparently best team of the moment.

(d) The Panelists have spent many minutes analysising the weakeness of the German defence. They have conceded one goal in the last 4 games. Are they prepared to revise their opinion?

(e) Dunphy wrote Italy, France and Germany off in his usual contemptuos manner at the start of the tournament. Is he prepared to revise his opinion :D ?

(f) Should RTE televise the Premiership and should Giles and Dunphy have their names linked to it since they perpetually attack the poor standard of the players and the quality of the football on offer despite the fact that on the Radio before the tournament started Dunphy predicted England as a good outside bet because of the "class of player they have like Terry, Lampard, Rooney and Gerrard".

(g) Why is it when the predictions go awry (e.g. England vs Ecuador), despite talking up the losers before the game, the losers are then castigated as being "mediocre" or "just happy to be there" ?

(h) Why is it, apart from the Roy Keane/Saipan affair, Giles and Dunphy agree on 95% of all matters ? Does this lead to lack of balance ?

03/07/2006, 1:13 PM
I have one question for you

(a) Why do you watch RTE if you dont like its coverage.

Clifford
03/07/2006, 1:14 PM
Couldn't have put it better myself Owls fan, you'll be waiting on those answers however as they are like Bertie and his croonies - accountable to no one. They are allowed spout all sorts of BS and all the sheep swallow it continually.

Viva la France

03/07/2006, 7:01 PM
Missed the aftermatch pundits after the English defeat. Did Wright make an ass out of himself again>>

03/07/2006, 7:13 PM
Missed the aftermatch pundits after the English defeat. Did Wright make an ass out of himself again>>
Dunno but he lashed into them at half time and predicted Rooneys sending off

03/07/2006, 8:09 PM
Speaking of pundits....do those 2 American 'pundits' working for the Budweiser ads annoy the bejaysus out of anyone else, or is it just me??:confused:
I think the boys on Apres match (http://www.rte.ie/sport/worldcup/apresmatch.html) agree with you. Click on Big sponsor.:D :D

04/07/2006, 6:57 AM
Anyone see Andy Gray, Roy Hodson and Richard Keyes yesterday evening ? Keyes, who knows even less than O'Herlihy, asked which players of the four semi-finalists would be an addition to the English squad ? They could only come up with 3: Henry, Rinaldo and Buffon. "It just goes to show" says Keyes.

I had to laugh - they've learned nothing.

04/07/2006, 7:01 AM

He was "gutted".

04/07/2006, 11:07 AM
I think that Denis Irwin and Kenny Cunningham were very much underused during this tournament, and are probably the ' future of Irish TV punditry '.....

Gilesy, although tactically very sound, really needs to become a little more animated, stop wearing all grey suits that perfectly match his grey hair and grey complexion, and develop a sense of humour.

Souness might see the success of this punditry lark and concentrate on it full-time. He's quite good at it for a black hun, and knows his stuff.

I can't warm to Brady at all...don't know why, just can't.

As for Eamo...............

04/07/2006, 11:15 AM
I think they are all good to be honest and they all have their own characteristics and the chemistry is good and there is some great debates. Best moment so far has been the debate on Riquelme. Only on RTE would you get such a debate. That moment alone is why RTE are the best in these Islands and football coverage in my opinion.

04/07/2006, 12:36 PM
As far as I remember that was the only "debate" -whether Riquelme was a good or great player. As for the rest they have pretty much been all singing from the same hymm sheet, although Dinny isn't afraid to express an opinion contrary to the perceived wisdom (e.g. France vs Spain). Your idea of a "debate" seems to be brash and attempted controversial statements which usually end up being wrong

We all know football is about opinions so how come the RTE panel nearly always has the same opinion, especially Giles and Drunkphy. Quite frankly I see very little debate - plenty uniform prejudiced opinion but not much debate. Since Brady and Drunkphy kissed and made up, even they now agree on most things.

Ian Wright is the BBC's version of Drunkphy (albeit not so articulate) - just says the first stupid thing that comes in to his head.

My choice Panel would be: Matt Cooper (Chair): Martin O'Neill, Dinny, Souness and Giles (without his love child beside him agreeing with nearly everything he says unless the K name is mentioned ;) ).

04/07/2006, 12:58 PM
Owls fan why do you watch Rte.

04/07/2006, 2:32 PM
I would have thought that self-evident: I like to see pundits, Drunkphy in particular, make a fool of himself and yet think he is the voice of Irish football or to use one of his favourite expressions "serious football people" when referring to himself and his surrogate father, John Giles. I also watch the other channels as well - the video recorder is an amazing piece of equipment you know but they don't interest me as much because they don't influence Irish public opinion, which Mutt & Jeff aided by Laughing Bill have tried to do down the years.

04/07/2006, 3:13 PM
Do you not think though they have provided a good antidote to the hysteria that followe the Jack Charlton reign and the blind loyalty that a lot of the Irish journalists showed. They were over the top in their criticisms in my view but no more over the top than the praise that was heaped upon Charlton by many members of the media.

04/07/2006, 3:36 PM
What's wrong with a bit of hysteria? God knows we waited 50 years or more for it so we were entitled to it when it arrived.

It would have done no harm if one of the panel was critical of Jack's/Mick's way - what got to me, and still does, is that both were of the exact same view and O'H offered no balance. Time and time again the both of them said the same thing (Dunphy being the more vindictive of course but no contradiction from anywhere). For almost 20 years we had an RTE panel with no balance and no alternative viewpoint. Now, a few more pundits are being introduced which at least breaks up the monolith that is Giles/Dunphy/O'Herlihy.

04/07/2006, 3:46 PM
Yes but the rest of the media was that balance. I agree RTE should have put someone in there that was a bit more pro Charlton. But I do not like hysteria. I think if eveybody agrees about something that is the time to worry and start disagreeing with them. It is important that there are people who go against the grain every so often. But every phone in show and tabloid and Gay Bryne and Joe Duffy and Cathal Dervan were in love with Charlton and turned a blind eye to some valid criticisms of Charlton. In my view Giles was very fair to Chartlon but Dunphy was over the top.

Aldini98
04/07/2006, 4:17 PM
Anyone hear Darragh Maloney and Trevor Steven the other night "Its hard to believe Zidane has never scored a free kick for France" :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

04/07/2006, 8:53 PM
I was over in America for the knockout stages and the commentators there say that it is good defending when a defender nudges an opponent in the penalty area to prevent them getting a header on goal. They also praised Ecuador when their wall moved forward about five yards when the ref turned his back against England, saying something like you have to do these sort of things to win matches.

05/07/2006, 9:08 AM
Laughing Bill to Giles after that great game last night: "Italy in the Final, John. Who would have believed it?" Bill thinks if the Panel rules someone out, the whole world thinks the same. Drunkphy has now discovered Italy after ruling them out as no-hopers earlier on. Perhaps he is klein4 on this Forum:

08/06/2006, 12:34 PM
First Team Join Date: Feb 2005

Competition is in Europe and it will be won by a European team. I'll go for Italy.

Certainly not klein4 :D

10/05/2006, 1:15 PM
klein4
Banned Join Date: Oct 2005

Italy are a mess. FACT. Expect them to be out by the 1/4 finals. possibly all ending in a big row

05/07/2006, 9:14 AM
Yeah fair play to Eirebhoy also who predicted great things for the Italians, I had a sneaky feeling for them also but I usually just go with that it wont be won by anybody who hyas not won it before and I felt that England Germany and France woudl not win it either which left me with Italy Arg and Brazil.

I thought the RTE Panel was good last night buy Owls fan you only ever concentrate on little aspects to what they say. I think all the good stuff they say goes over your head and you have trained yourself into spotting the little negatives and contradictions that the panel say.

I think Dunphy judged ITaly on Juventus and Milan in the champions League rather than looking at the work that Lippi was doing as a manager. One of the greatest managers of the last 20 years in my view. Forza Italia

05/07/2006, 12:28 PM
I also spotted you went for Italy ;) or Brazil.

RTE missed a lot of the emotional stuff on the pitch after the game. ITV had the panel (Andy T and Venables) talking over the pictures of devasted Germans and elated Italians while RTE had the lovely Giles and Drunkphy to look at - I hope they don't make the same mistake tonight or I'll have to channel surf again. I am hoping it is elated French and devasted Ports to set us a classic France vs Italy Final.

ColinR
05/07/2006, 2:23 PM
in fairness one pundit has italy backed - none other than ian wright.

of course, he only backed them after they won their semi-final :rolleyes: :
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/world_cup_2006/teams/england/5148832.stm

05/07/2006, 2:53 PM
Anyone see Andy Gray, Roy Hodson and Richard Keyes yesterday evening ? Keyes, who knows even less than O'Herlihy, asked which players of the four semi-finalists would be an addition to the English squad ? They could only come up with 3: Henry, Rinaldo and Buffon. "It just goes to show" says Keyes.

I had to laugh - they've learned nothing.

You're not serious? Bloody hell, even I didn't think they could be that blinded by patriotism! Ronaldo wasn't even in the semi-final!!

Put the question another way: how many of the semi-finalists' squads would the likes of Jenas, Carson, James, Bridge, Walcott and others get into? In fact extend it to the whole tournament, ex- Trinidad and a couple of others & the answer is the same: NONE :) But no "we've the strongest squad".