View Full Version : Ian Wright (and TV pundits in general)

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6

beautifulrock
16/06/2006, 11:10 AM
Stuart Hall will have to check that out, a legend. Still does some BBC 5 live match reports. Over the top but highly enjoyable. I suppose if I said he used to do Its a Knockout as well that wouldnt help these young uns

LeixlipRed
16/06/2006, 11:14 AM
I know what Its a Knockout is. Ive never seen it of course :p . What was the French version of that called? Something "sans frontieres" afaik. Must have seen that on some Channel 4 special :D

16/06/2006, 11:14 AM
I can safely say that RTE are actually streets ahead of both BBC and ITV in terms of analysis and knowledge of the game.
Tyldsley (sp?) at the end of the first said that "England were finishing strongly" whereon T & T promptly had the best chance of the game!
All his commentary seemed to focus on was "wave after wave of England attack", nothing was made of the organisation and discipline of the opposition and their efforts to frustrate the English.

He was correct though. They did finish strongly.

"Streets ahead in terms of analysis and knowledge of the game" :eek: Dunphy who only has biases not knowledge. This second rate footballer has the audacity to attack players like Lampard and Gerrard. I can accept it from Giles, Brady and Souness - all great players in their day but not him. I repeat there was very little "analysis" of the England vs T & T game last night. Jeers and scoffing were the order of the day. I think it's embarassing to see that kind of glorying in England's woes (that aren't really woes at all). Considering that a lot of English people are working here now and probably tune into RTE's coverage, they must find it odd and probably a few find it upsetting. I think even Souness is taken aback by the attitude, especially that of Dunphy. As WB Yeats said, we've disgraced ourselves again. Analysis yes - jeering, sniggering and scoffing no. It was pathetic. I almost want England to do well now but even if they do, it will of course be down to the shortcomings of the opposition.

I also find it ironic bearing in mind that Giles apeared on the RTE saying that this old anti-English bias is a thing of the past. Hypocrite.

The national broadcaster has to be objective - alas the RTE panel from the Charlton, McCarthy and current era it never has been. It has just carried on with the poison dwarf entertaining the great unwashed with his vitriol aided by Laughing Bill - ah sure it's all great craic. Yet when the BBC get their buffoon in the shape of Wright, we see him for what he is.

In the land of the blind, the one eyed is king.

LeixlipRed
16/06/2006, 11:18 AM
I dont think Dunphy and Giles scoffing is aimed at the English people in general. Its aimed at the English media. They've frequently joked about the hype behind what is, at best, a mediocre team. And Souness might be taken aback but he has the most bigoted history of the 3 of them so I dont understand why he would be shocked. This is the man who wore t-shirts proclaiming his "love" for the Irish and refused to play certain irish players during his career in management

16/06/2006, 11:22 AM
DJ Spoony?? I checked their site and can only find mention of some guy called Stuart Hall who they have on it. No one else. Maybe they don't need pundits or any of that stuff. Why are they even bothering showing the games? Surely their audience would be way less than 100,000 people? probably way less than 50k too

I suppse he'd be one of those 'celebrity' fans then. have to say Stuart Hall's commentary is a good laugh... certainly a better option than Motson. thank God for that red button!

bluemovie
16/06/2006, 11:28 AM
some guy called Stuart Hall

Stuart Hall is a legend teetering on the edge of insanity. He used to present It's a Knockout and does BBC football reports in the same style - no difference to Stuart between a Premiership match and two sets of eejits dressed up as animals carrying buckets of water over a bouncy castle.

I gave ITV a chance for the England game yesterday because I couldn't face Ger Canning's "Beckham lofts it into the parralleogram". Was doing fine until they showed Rooney on the big screen after about 25 minutes: "Our Freddie Flintoff...our Johnny Wilkinson...our gamebreaker". Uughh. They just don't do humility. Having been humiliated for 80 minutes, Tyldsley spent the last few patronising T&T about how 'they'll have enjoyed their day out'. Sickening.

16/06/2006, 12:47 PM
Stuart Hall used to present a international TV game called "Jeux sans Frontiers" and is one of those radio football commentators who uses 8 words when 1 would do.

16/06/2006, 9:08 PM
'they'll have enjoyed their day out'. Sickening.
If he actually said that , it's incredible!:(

17/06/2006, 8:47 AM
I gave ITV a chance for the England game yesterday because I couldn't face Ger Canning's "Beckham lofts it into the parralleogram".

:D :D Now that brings back memories...

17/06/2006, 9:44 AM
I gave ITV a chance for the England game yesterday because I couldn't face Ger Canning's "Beckham lofts it into the parralleogram". Was doing fine until they showed Rooney on the big screen after about 25 minutes: "Our Freddie Flintoff...our Johnny Wilkinson...our gamebreaker". Uughh. They just don't do humility. Having been humiliated for 80 minutes, Tyldsley spent the last few patronising T&T about how 'they'll have enjoyed their day out'. Sickening.

I likewise watched ITV and can vouch for your assessment. I too found Tyldesley's commentary stomach-churning.

I can't say I'll derive a great amount of satisfaction from England's exit when it happens - Christ, I must be mellowing in my old age - but when it happens I'll have to tune in particularly to Tyldesley just to listen to him squirm. The least impartial, most little-Englander commentator of the lot, and that's saying something. That said, I can't see him accepting defeat graciously. And as for Ian Wright's anticipated response? God help us...

:ball: PP

LeixlipRed
17/06/2006, 11:50 AM
And as for Ian Wright's anticipated response? God help us...

I'd imagine it will be something like "If Sven hadda brought me son, Wrighty Junior, we wudve mashed those Argies. Innit!!!"

Emmet
17/06/2006, 12:18 PM
Agree completely about the English coverage of the WC so far ... having said that once they've been knocked out we'll have the usual backlash directed towards some individual on a scale that beggars belief. Two years ago it was Urs Meier, 1998 was Beckham ... I wonder who will be this tournament's lucky winner / scapegoat!

Btw - Rodney Marsh is doing work for Talksport alright - it shouldn't come as a huge surprise though because that two-bob operation is run by Kelvin MacKensie who was the Editor of the sun newspaper in 1989 when they ran that 'story' about the Liverpool fans at Hillsborough just days after the disaster.

stojkovic
17/06/2006, 4:03 PM
Stuart Hall - "AND HERE COME THE BELGIANS".

Legendary stuff.

17/06/2006, 8:28 PM
I have never seen worse commentary from ITV in my life. Did anyone hear David Pleat when De Rossi was sent off? "If it was in the box it would be understandable." Absolutely disgraceful. And then in the second half, with the score at 1-1, USA have a goal dissalowed. When the ball initially hit the net Tyldesley shouts out "EQUALISER". What a gobsh!te.

Also during RTE's half time analysis, the legendary Bill O'Herlihy came out with another one of his gems. "Lets take a look at McBride's goal now." Brilliant.:rolleyes:

Dazzy
17/06/2006, 9:11 PM
Also during RTE's half time analysis, the legendary Bill O'Herlihy came out with another one of his gems. "Lets take a look at McBride's goal now." Brilliant.:rolleyes:

What about all them FACTS at the end "THe FACT is Bill it was a penalty" did the Italians have a penalty! Giles is annoying all he can say was the fact is.

Closed Account 2
18/06/2006, 2:27 AM
I have never seen worse commentary from ITV in my life. Did anyone hear David Pleat when De Rossi was sent off? "If it was in the box it would be understandable." Absolutely disgraceful. And then in the second half, with the score at 1-1, USA have a goal dissalowed. When the ball initially hit the net Tyldesley shouts out "EQUALISER". What a gobsh!te.

Heard that too mate, classic error by the commentator. Don't think it was Tylsdley though. He was commentating on the Ghana v Czech Rep. match - but twice he referred to the Czech Republic as "Poland". Clive clearly struggles to remember the names the countries... well 32 is a big number.

18/06/2006, 7:07 AM
twice he referred to the Czech Republic as "Poland". Clive clearly struggles to remember the names the countries... well 32 is a big number.

And when it's not Ingerlund or ManYoo Tyldesley is far away from his usual frames of reference, hence the permanent comparisons to things of familiarity ("Falkirk reserves", etc.). It's so parochial it hurts. :rolleyes:

As for the twonk commentating in the YooEssEh game? It must have been Peter Drury. Think "Mini Me" from the Austin Powers films and you've got Drury in relation to Tyldesley. Slightly smaller and slightly less annoying. And that's the nicest thing I think I can say about him.

:ball: PP

Soko
18/06/2006, 9:09 PM
Anyone see Wright laughing his ass off at the Korean goal - more directly at Desailly. Lucky Marcell is quite a cultured man or he'd halve hammered him. Even Lineker and Hansen were embarrassed at the hyena

osgood was good
19/06/2006, 3:09 AM
Wright is an absolute disgrace and should be removed before somebody throws him one . Pleat has the most annoying voice on tv , Motty should step down and be replaced by Barry [the voice ] Davies , no doubt his intelligent commentry is badly missed . ITV just havnt a clue have they and Andy Townsend and McCoist are just car crash TV .

This from one of the Sunday papers....

Best wishes to Alan Shearer currently in a Berlin hospital having splinters removed from his arse after breaking the all-comers fence-sitting record .
.........Quality.

jockser
19/06/2006, 8:29 AM
Anyone see Wright laughing his ass off at the Korean goal - more directly at Desailly. Lucky Marcell is quite a cultured man or he'd halve hammered him. Even Lineker and Hansen were embarrassed at the hyena:D
im missing all this over here in germany though :(

19/06/2006, 9:00 AM
Anyone see Wright laughing his ass off at the Korean goal - more directly at Desailly. Lucky Marcell is quite a cultured man or he'd halve hammered him. Even Lineker and Hansen were embarrassed at the hyena

Certainly far less offensive than the RTE panel and chairman scoffing and jeering at England after the T & T game.

Also Hamilton after South Korea draw with France "who would have believed it ?". Laughing Bill after the same game "who would have believed it ?".
Well, errr, anyone who knows anything about football, has seen France's performances since winning the World Cup and the performances of South Korea over the past 4 years would well believe it. These guys give the "minnows" no credit for their performances - it's always down to the failings of the "bigger" team. On the earlier game I thought Australia did very well to close Brazil down and give them no space and hit them on the counter - but negative RTE condemn Australia as a mediocre team and put all the failings down to Brazil because they haven't lived up to their (ther panel's) expectations. There was not a word of praise for Australia.

19/06/2006, 9:09 AM
I think at the very least we can agree that though the RTE panel has its failings, it is still the least of many evils

19/06/2006, 9:39 AM
Australia are mediocre and RTE take look at nearly ever game with the view is there a potential winner amongst the teams. They are not really interested in the hard working journey men that is Australia. Owls fan if you hate RTE so much why dont you watch it.

In my view RTE are the best not because I agree with them but they give me something to agree or disagree with. That is the crucial difference between them and the British chanels. There is a lack of debate on the British chanels and they seem to forget also that they are broadcasting to Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Barry Davies retried from the BBC because he said they had lost the sense that they were a British Broadcasting Corporation and not an English Broadcasting Corporation.

Martin O Neill is good, Hansen is overated but is good most of the time except when commenting on England. Dowie and Mc Carthy are not bad also on the BBC in my view.

On ITV Pleat and Beglin are ok but the rest of them are rubbish with the exception of Curbishly and Allardyce.

RTE can be like a broken record and Giles Irwin and Cunnigham need to disagree with Giles and Dunphy a bit more just like Brady does when he is on. I think Souness has been great and its clear his failings as a manager are down to his lack of man mangement skills in my view.

Giles has a very old fashioned view of the way the game should be played. 90% of what he says is correct but he does not take into account the way the modern game is played etc. His view about keeping possession and tracking back and working hard and following your man are all correct but on the subtle issues of the game I think he is possibly out of date. But still RTE are far and away the best because they actually talk about tactics.

19/06/2006, 9:42 AM
Maybe, just maybe, RTE are the best because they obviously don't have bias in this World Cup.

19/06/2006, 9:44 AM
I think even when Ireland are in the world Cup RTE are not guilty of been biased in favour of Ireland. I am sure there are people here who would argue that during 1990 and 1994 they were overly critical of ireland and the manager etc. So that is one thing that RTE Panel could not be guilty of. I though Kerr was top class on the panel in the last world cup and so was Gerry Armstrong.

19/06/2006, 10:14 AM
Whats the story with Bill O'Herlihy and his "Okey Doke"?

I'm hearing bits of stories about some big bet on the he will/won't say it during the World Cup.
Anyone any idea?

Soko
19/06/2006, 10:29 AM
Certainly far less offensive than the RTE panel and chairman scoffing and jeering at England after the T & T game.

Also Hamilton after South Korea draw with France "who would have believed it ?". Laughing Bill after the same game "who would have believed it ?".
Well, errr, anyone who knows anything about football, has seen France's performances since winning the World Cup and the performances of South Korea over the past 4 years would well believe it. These guys give the "minnows" no credit for their performances - it's always down to the failings of the "bigger" team. On the earlier game I thought Australia did very well to close Brazil down and give them no space and hit them on the counter - but negative RTE condemn Australia as a mediocre team and put all the failings down to Brazil because they haven't lived up to their (ther panel's) expectations. There was not a word of praise for Australia.

RTE may be the most patronising analysts ever to hit the screen but Wright was a disgrace. Blatantly laughing his hole off 2 yards from Desailly after his team had conceded a late equaliser, this in post match analysis after time to calm down. It was cringe worthy and an embarrassment to the BBC to have that idiot working their presentation.

PaulB
19/06/2006, 10:37 AM
Who is DJ Spoony? I dont normally judge a person by their name but this guy sounds like a fool

Works for 5-Live as far as i know. Presents 606 on Wednesdays and Saturdays when Alan green is not around. Big Liverpool fan apparanetly, but usually talks a bit of sense..

19/06/2006, 12:49 PM
Australia are mediocre and RTE take look at nearly ever game with the view is there a potential winner amongst the teams. They are not really interested in the hard working journey men that is Australia. Owls fan if you hate RTE so much why dont you watch it.

In my view RTE are the best not because I agree with them but they give me something to agree or disagree with. That is the crucial difference between them and the British chanels. There is a lack of debate on the British chanels and they seem to forget also that they are broadcasting to Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. .

So do you think Australia's performance against Brazil was mediocre ? I thought they played really well, closed down Brazil and created some excellent chances. There was no praise for their performance. Why should RTE not be interested in the "hard working journey men that is Australia" if they put in a good performance? Is the World Cup only about Brazil and Argentina ?

There is no "debate" on RTE. It's just cynical criticism most of the time. And I haven't seen your response to the panel's reaction to the English game. If that was English TV about Ireland, there would have been national outrage in this country. Tabloid panelism (excuse the word) is what I'd call it.

I like Irwin, Cunningham, Souness and Giles who can talk a lot of sense but he's now just turning into a grumpy old man.

As for Wright laughing at South Korea equalising against France, Dunphy and the panel laughed at and ridiculed England and Sven - showed clippets and then scoffed and laughed at them. It was Ian Wrightism (another made up word) of the lowest order. Some would call it "debate".

Why do I watch RTE ?- I channel surf and try and catch them all. Same with commentaries. Houghton seems to have fallen in to the Andy Gray mode of "I'll spend the afternoon criticising the referee" and I was delighted when Giles supported the ref in the sending offs in the USA vs Italy game. The other two RTE commentators are good but Hamilton misses so much and always seems to think a goal lead is the end of things.

19/06/2006, 12:53 PM
Works for 5-Live as far as i know. Presents 606 on Wednesdays and Saturdays when Alan green is not around. Big Liverpool fan apparanetly, but usually talks a bit of sense..

The same ALan Green who said a few days ago "I am born in Northern Ireland and I can't understand how anyone from the UK is not supporting England". He must have led a very sheltered life in Northern Ireland.:eek:

19/06/2006, 1:01 PM
I was in Germany over the last few days so did not see the England game on RTE so cant say anything about their response. Also I would love if Brish TV hated our team and were Anti Irish. I hate their support of us and I dont want their patronising compliments. Sport is about rivalry and most teams in this neck of the woods would consider themselves rivals of England. I take pleasure in the Engish failures in tournaments esp. as they are so deluded that they think they may win it.

In my view Austrialia were ok against Brazil but ITV were over the top in their praise. It was more to do with failures on the Brazilan side in my view.

Soko
19/06/2006, 1:36 PM
Did you actually see the clip where Wright breaks out in uncontrolable laughter? The fact Dunphy lives with a smug grin at Englands misery doesn't hide the fact that that was appaling behaviour.

19/06/2006, 1:49 PM
Also I would love if Brish TV hated our team and were Anti Irish.

What a strange statement. Why would you want anyone to hate us ?

Sport is about rivalry and most teams in this neck of the woods would consider themselves rivals of England. I take pleasure in the Engish failures in tournaments esp. as they are so deluded that they think they may win it.

Time and time again the RTE Tabloid Panel has told us they are not supporters and are professional analyists. Their reaction to the English game was that of the anti English Irish supporter. I don't want England to win like many Irish people but I was embarrassed by our national broadcaster's reaction to the game. Critical analysis is valid, sneering and jeering is not. We ourselves are frequently unfair and biased in our comments (often going beyond criticism based of the underlying footballing perfformance). It is not unreasonable to expect other people including panelists and commentators to have similar leanings. But in their case their professional ethos requires them to express those views only in private. Clearly Dunphy and Co have lost their professional judgments (if he ever had one in the first place) maybe because of jealousy and spite at Engerland being at the World Cup and the (out of all proportion) hype in Engerland about their chances.

It's probably like a feeding frenzy when you have Laughing Bill and the four sharks together -they just want to add more and more nonsense and unprofessionalism to get the biggest reaction. Any insult will do.....

In my view Austrialia were ok against Brazil but ITV were over the top in their praise. It was more to do with failures on the Brazilan side in my view.

That's the Dunphy ethos. Hype a team up, say they'll win and when they put in a shoddy performance, blame the team and not credit the opposition for putting in a great display. Why not give credit when credit is due ? As least Giles said he loved the Koreans' attitude. I was also very impressed by the latter's support at the game - even when losing they kept going.

19/06/2006, 1:54 PM
As I said I did not see the RTE coverage of the England game so I cant comment. As I said I dont think its strange to prefer a healthy rivalry with the English rather than their patronsising support. They dont support Germany Argentina etc why cause they have rivalry with them. I wish it was the same for us.

19/06/2006, 1:59 PM
The only guys I'll listen to (i.e. full attention) is Gordon 'Velocity', O'Neill and Beglin. They just call it as they see it and have no pre hidden agenda. McCarthy is a right feckin moaner, Ronaldo the other day being an example when he tried a few tricks against Iran.

Hansen, Shearer and co sit on the fence and don't wanna upset the team nor their public. I'm surprised Lampard is spitting his dummy out over ex players making some observations about the England performances.......... they could have said an awful lot more.

Lastly, if John Motson retires this year I will celebrate. I don't wanna hear any more pointless statistics I just wanna enjoy the game!!!!

19/06/2006, 2:00 PM
As I said I did not see the RTE coverage of the England game so I cant comment. As I said I dont think its strange to prefer a healthy rivalry with the English rather than their patronsising support. They dont support Germany Argentina etc why cause they have rivalry with them. I wish it was the same for us.
Why would the english see us as rivals?? They don't see us as being anywhere near their standard so have no reason not to support us. As well as that a lot of English have Irish relatives which obviously influences it as well

19/06/2006, 4:09 PM
Did you actually see the clip where Wright breaks out in uncontrolable laughter? The fact Dunphy lives with a smug grin at Englands misery doesn't hide the fact that that was appaling behaviour.

Wright is a joke - we know that. He even got a job hosting some TV shows :eek: The BBC have seen that the RTE's Tabloid Panel over the years has worked so they have followed suit with a buffoon of their own to match ours.

According to our buffoon Spain would beat Brazil 5-0 if they played the same way again and Laughing Bill doesn't dare contradict this sort of nonsense. I wonder have Brazil ever lost 5-0 ?

My ideal panel would be: Souness, Giles, O'Neill & Lawrenson chaired by Barry Davies.

19/06/2006, 4:11 PM
Why would the english see us as rivals?? They don't see us as being anywhere near their standard so have no reason not to support us. As well as that a lot of English have Irish relatives which obviously influences it as well

I know I wish we were up there were we were seen as rivals, basically I wish Ireland were winning world cups.

19/06/2006, 4:13 PM
Wright is a joke - we know that. He even got a job hosting some TV shows :eek: The BBC have seen that the RTE's Tabloid Panel over the years has worked so they have followed suit with a buffoon of their own to match ours.

According to our buffoon Spain would beat Brazil 5-0 if they played the same way again and Laughing Bill doesn't dare contradict this sort of nonsense. I wonder have Brazil ever lost 5-0 ?

My ideal panel would be: Souness, Giles, O'Neill & Lawrenson chaired by Barry Davies.

Dunphy is so far over the top its unreal, he cant just criticise Brazil he has to say they are finished or in this case get beaten 5 -0, we all know its not going to happen. It makes for good TV for a lot of people and thats why he is on the panel. Most people I chat to dont agree with many of his views but find him entertaining to watch. You should not let him bother you too much, I am sure he is not thinking too much about yourself.

20/06/2006, 7:40 AM
Dunphy is so far over the top its unreal, he cant just criticise Brazil he has to say they are finished or in this case get beaten 5 -0, we all know its not going to happen. It makes for good TV for a lot of people and thats why he is on the panel. Most people I chat to dont agree with many of his views but find him entertaining to watch. You should not let him bother you too much, I am sure he is not thinking too much about yourself.

Ah, it's all clear to me now. We just get this person who launches into personal and sometime slanderous attacks on people, makes stupid and ridiculous predictions under the guise of being an "expert" and it's all in the name of entertainment for the Irish people. He's great craic sure what more matters :rolleyes: Strangely enough when we see an English version in the form of Ian Wright we can't stomach it, although Wright got the substitutions correct for the Spanish game, something Drunkphy is incapable of doing.

I see Souness was questioning Saudi Arabia's right to be at the tournament yesterday evening. At least Tunisia's performance against Spain put him back a bit from that line. And once again we had a manager taking off a forward when leading and playing 5 across the middle. Result: even more pressure and 3 goals for Spain. They just never seem to learn and us at home to Portugal under McCarthy always springs to mind when I see that being done.

beautifulrock
20/06/2006, 8:15 AM
[QUOTE=OwlsFan]Ah, it's all clear to me now. We just get this person who launches into personal and sometime slanderous attacks on people, makes stupid and ridiculous predictions under the guise of being an "expert" and it's all in the name of entertainment for the Irish people. He's great craic sure what more matters :rolleyes: Strangely enough when we see an English version in the form of Ian Wright we can't stomach it, although Wright got the substitutions correct for the Spanish game, something Drunkphy is incapable of doing

I think it has already been said Owlsfan if you dont like the RTE coverage DO NOT watch it. The general consensus here is that RTE are slightly ahead of the rest but if you cant stomach it, press the red button. TO be clear here I am not advocating any sneering etc of England by Dunph et al.

20/06/2006, 9:28 AM
As I said I did not see the coverage of the England game but Giles and Souness hinted last night after the Spain game that it may have been England bashing and that they were over the top. I would not say Ian Wright is the English version of Dunphy due to the fact that I dont find him entertaining. To be honest Dunphy does not bother me I know when to take him serious and when not too. He annoyed me when he was talking about a serious topic with David Mc Williams on the late late show, but when its football its all just entertainment anyway.

20/06/2006, 10:14 AM
Just reading through this whole thread now and noticed this

Don't think it was Tylsdley though. He was commentating on the Ghana v Czech Rep. match - but twice he referred to the Czech Republic as "Poland".

I know exactly why he did that - both times he said Poland soon after Jan POLAK ('Polack') had the ball. Which brings us back to the topic of latently/openly racist commentators.

Stephen Alkin was a disgrace at the end of the Ghana match, reeling out every cliché in the book:

"Oh those plucky Africans, they may be naive but they're so athletic, etc."
"Pele once said that an African team would win the World Cup and with a little more sophistication they would have by now blah, blah, blah.":(

Mark me down as another viewer fed up with the relentless negativity from the RTE panel - it's one thing not to get caught up in Sky-type cheerleading but IMO they lose credibility by being over the top in criticising the likes of Gerrard, Garcia, Kewell, the entire EPL (they're still in denial about Liverpool winning the Champions League). They gave the US a savaging after their battling backs-to-the-wall performance to stay in the world cup, laying into them for ruining the beautiful game because they wouldn't give up on the tournament without a fight. Brady - "Well the Americans are all like that anyway Bill, look at that carry-on in Iraq" :eek: I don't think I heard one word of criticism directed at the Italians for failing to beat those nine naughty Americans.

20/06/2006, 11:43 AM
They gave the US a savaging after their battling backs-to-the-wall performance to stay in the world cup, laying into them for ruining the beautiful game because they wouldn't give up on the tournament without a fight. Brady - "Well the Americans are all like that anyway Bill, look at that carry-on in Iraq" :eek: I don't think I heard one word of criticism directed at the Italians for failing to beat those nine naughty Americans.
Brady said that becuase one of the Americans (could have been McBride) said before the game they were "going to do it for the boys in Iraq". What Brady probably didn't know was that some of the US armed forces had come to the training camp that week to speak to the players and inspire them to play well for the rest of the tournament.

Beavis
20/06/2006, 11:54 AM
The same ALan Green who said a few days ago "I am born in Northern Ireland and I can't understand how anyone from the UK is not supporting England". He must have led a very sheltered life in Northern Ireland.:eek:
I heard that. He also said that it was disgusting that the Scotland fan interviewed wasnt supporting England and if he ever was to meet him he would have some very serious words to say. He's also one of the worst offenders for bias towards England. Basically,a right plonker and as you say it must have been a very sheltered life in Ulster.

tipp man
20/06/2006, 12:00 PM
"Stephen Alkin was a disgrace at the end of the Ghana match, reeling out every cliché in the book:"

I'm glad I'm not the only one who finds Stephen Alkin rubbish. I know he only gets wheeled out once in a while when RTE are stuck but he is the poorest commentator around. Why not give Jimmy Magee more games. Bad and all as he is he has to be better than Alkin. The only time I turn over to a British channel is when Alkin is commentating.

Roadend
20/06/2006, 12:59 PM
A couple of things
1) This harping on about Bill and the fact he doesn't contradict the lads, would you mind explaining to me how this essentially non-football background person is supposed to contradict panelsists who have been years in the game? What utter nonsese. He's not there to give his opinion and I wouldn't want it either, this is why I don't like Linekar as a presenter, granted he knows his stuff, but he doesn't ask questions that lead to debate, because he can't.
2) The scoffing at the England post match interviews, I scoffed at them myself. They were blatantly ignoring the fact they were absoultely awful, did not have the guts to admit it, but instead spoke about sticking to their gameplan. Why on earth shouldn't the panel cut to the chase and call these interviews for what they were, a load of tosh.

20/06/2006, 1:03 PM
Well said Roadend, I agree I think Bill O Herlihy does his job very well. He is there to ask the man on the street question. He could improve by being a bit more devils advocate but he is the best at that type of job in my view. Owls fan maybe you should switch to UKTV 2 From the times.

World Cup TV View: For World Cup diehards it's simply alarming that there are only three weeks left, although, admittedly, some are beginning to wilt a touch - or, worse, are suffering from two dead legs, so long has it been since they left the armchair.

When this happens a change is, of course, as good as a rest. So, with that in mind, we briefly deserted RTÉ/ITV/BBC yesterday and took ourselves off to the wilderness that is digital telly to watch the first of the day's games, Togo v Switzerland.

No, we'd never heard of UKTV G2 either, but there it was, positioned somewhere between The God Channel and Big Boobs TV.

If UKTV G2 is in the wilderness it's probably appropriate, then, that one of its World Cup co-commentators is none other than Ron "Big" Atkinson.

The channel's coverage of the World Cup is, apparently, aimed at male people between the ages of 16 and 34, which, as luck would have it, is the target market of one of the channel's sponsors, the splendidly named lads' mag Nuts.

Andy Goldstein was our presenter, his studio guests were Neil "Razor" Ruddock and Rod Liddle, the columnist who wishes he were Bob Geldof but isn't.

We use the word "studio" loosely here; they actually seem to be working out of one those €200 sheds you assemble all by yourself.

For example, when at one point Ruddock coughed, the "studio" shook like it had been hit by an earthquake that measured 7.9 on the Richter scale.

Although the echo that filled the air whenever our panellists spoke suggested that they could also have been in a public toilet. Either way, we're not, we'd assume, talking a gargantuan telly budget here.

Razor looked like he'd been out on the tear the night before and he appears to be a stone or seven overweight, so he's just as Liverpool fans will remember him in his prime.

We largely remember him for the time that he shared with the world his greatest source of amusement: being in bed with his wife and holding her head under the sheets while he broke wind.

Perhaps it's being overly delicate, but ever since reading that we've struggled to look Razor in the eye when he's appeared on our screens. And, when we caught up with him again yesterday, no matter how perceptive his analysis, that image was always going to cloud our view of him.

"We woz talking earlier and we said that 'argreaves is just there to break fings up, he ain't there to create nuffin'," he said to Andy when asked for his solution to England's midfield dilemma.

"Fanks, Rayzah," said Andy, before asking Liddle his thoughts on the Toga v Switzerland game.

"Switzerland started tearing them apart in a most un-Swiss-like manner, it's not what you expect - you expect clocks and money-laundering," said Rod.

"Fanks Rod," said Andy, before opening another in-depth analysis session with Razor on the subject of Spain.

"Well, you gotta fancy Spain, intya," he said.

"Fanks for that, Rayzah," said Andy, and that was kind of that.

Needless to say, with entertainment of that quality on offer, we returned for UKTV G2's next live game, Spain v Tunisia.

"Phil 'n' Fash are in the house!"

That's Phil Tufnell and John Fashanu to you and me.

"Ello, Fash. So, how d'ya fink England have been doing so far?"

"At the end of the day they've played two games and won both," said Fash, "and at the end of the day they're playing badly but winning."

"Fanks, Fash."

"Phil? Who's impressed you so far," asked Andy.

"Argentina and Spain, who we're seeing later on, have impressed me," said Phil.

"Argentina and Spain, who we're seeing later on, have impressed you?" asked Andy.

"Yeah," said Phil, who, like us, had spotted the echo problem.

"Fanks, Phil," said Andy, who then read out a text from "Madge in Winchester", who said she had "curtains the same as Phil's shirt".

"Fanks, Madge," said Phil.

Match-time. The players are in the tunnel. Fash points out that this is a crucial stage of the match.

"See, they're not even looking at each other, they're nervous."

"The game can't be won and lost in the tunnel, can it?" asked Andy.

"Oh, it can," said Fash. "There's so much psychological stuff going on there, if you see the way . . ."

Back to RTÉ. Souness and Gilesie are talking tactics and systems and the like. Na, it'll never catch on.

20/06/2006, 1:06 PM
The lad from Limerick,Conor McNamara, who works for Radio 5 Live is quite good. He's very enthusiastic, and not very cliche-ed like most of the rest and sounds the part....even if he is developing a slight Craig Doyle-esque english twang to the accent...

20/06/2006, 1:21 PM
The lad from Limerick,Conor McNamara, who works for Radio 5 Live is quite good. He's very enthusiastic, and not very cliche-ed like most of the rest and sounds the part....even if he is developing a slight Craig Doyle-esque english twang to the accent...

didnt he used to work for TV3? and isnt he ex 2FM DJ Michael MacNamara's (Mickey Mac) young fella? fair play to him...