View Full Version : David McGoldrick F Notts County b.1987
Pages :
[
9]
Demesne Lad
29/10/2022, 3:47 PM
First half hat-trick for Derby today, at home to Bristol Rovers. James Collins got a fourth for Derby.
17/12/2022, 6:02 PM
Another hat-trick today. Jason Knight assisted one; Hourihane assisted Derby's other goal in a 4-0 win. So that's seven league goals, all scored in just three games.
Was about as nondescript an international as it's possible to be for us really, but he'd probably still have a look in in the squad about now given how badly off we are.
Fixer82
17/12/2022, 6:19 PM
Another hat-trick today. Jason Knight assisted one; Hourihane assisted Derby's other goal in a 4-0 win. So that's seven league goals, all scored in just three games.
Was about as nondescript an international as it's possible to be for us really, but he'd probably still have a look in in the squad about now given how badly off we are.
Nondescript??
He was often the best player on the pitch for us at a time when we were absolutely awful!
17/12/2022, 6:33 PM
Honestly remember little enough about him!
Seems to have started almost every one of Mick's qualifiers, and scored just the once. Two sub competitive appearances, a couple of friendlies, and that was his lot.
third policeman
17/12/2022, 6:58 PM
McGoldrick is a clever player, reminds me (don't laugh) of Firmino. Was definitely one of our better performers during an all too brief international cameo career. I noticed that Knight didn't start. Has he been injured? It would be a bit worrying if he's struggling to start in League 1. Also noticed that Tom Rogic appears to have displaced Molumby in the West Brom team.
17/12/2022, 7:17 PM
I'm not sure what the craic with Knight is actually.
From Soccerway, he came off after 70 minutes against Accrington in mid-October, having played pretty much every minute until then. But started against Man City U21s four days later in the EFL Trophy, came on as a sub against Newport in the Cup in late November. In between, he missed six league games and two FA Cup games - but did come on as a sub against Liverpool in the League Cup three weeks before that Newport game. He missed the November internationals too - technically Derby refused to release him, but probably they were monitoring an injury?
Then he's come on as a sub in the last three league games - so all that ties in with a spell on the sidelines and now struggling to get his place back in the team except for the Liverpool game right in the middle of all of that.
Edit - seems he's had a knee injury (https://punditarena.com/football/andrew-dempsey/derby-boss-jason-knight-injury-fears/), and presumably suffered a setback after the Liverpool game which saw him back on the sidelines again.
tommy_c12000
17/12/2022, 10:35 PM
McD ain’t an Irish international anymore. Did ok when he decided to play with us for those 14 games and one goal. For me, his league one exploits ain’t worth the amount of column inches been given across forums and social media
ontheotherhand
18/12/2022, 9:49 AM
Nondescript??
He was often the best player on the pitch for us at a time when we were absolutely awful!
Absolutely. He carried us at times during Mick's last reign. As average as he is in the grand scheme of things he would still be a cut above anything we can call on.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2019/1118/1092665-ireland-player-ratings-mcgoldrick-and-stevens-shine/
He was named Senior Men's player of the year for a reason and we miss him badly.
BOOMSHAKALAKA
18/12/2022, 11:31 AM
He was available under Kenny until he dropped him. Then he retired. Bad sign from the player but also the managers judgement.
Absolutely. He carried us at times during Mick's last reign. As average as he is in the grand scheme of things he would still be a cut above anything we can call on.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2019/1118/1092665-ireland-player-ratings-mcgoldrick-and-stevens-shine/
He was named Senior Men's player of the year for a reason and we miss him badly.
He started the phase of play which lead to our two best chances in that play off. Idah would have benefited massively I feel if McGoldrick had stayed on and Parrott probably would have remained with the U21s for their campaign.
Diggs246
18/12/2022, 12:23 PM
Still more then good enough for us
He was our play maker post wessi
18/12/2022, 12:41 PM
He was the focal point for the team up front when we didn't have a genuine target man in the squad. Was very disappointed when he decided to retire, right before the friendly against England.
ontheotherhand
19/12/2022, 9:33 AM
He started the phase of play which lead to our two best chances in that play off. Idah would have benefited massively I feel if McGoldrick had stayed on and Parrott probably would have remained with the U21s for their campaign.
Yeah agreed. He also did good work between midfield and attack. Almost played the role of a 10 at times. Had a few friends who thought he should be played in midfield. Didn't agree myself but there were games where he looked very comfortable dropping deep and making things happen.
elatedscum
19/12/2022, 12:37 PM
He was available under Kenny until he dropped him. Then he retired. Bad sign from the player but also the managers judgement.
That’s just not true. He started the only game he was fit to start under Kenny. The first game against Bulgaria he was injured for, he was in the squad but was injured (a foot injury). The second game a few days later, he was only fit to be on the bench and played the last 20 mins.
The next squad in October, he played against Slovakia and pulled out injured after that. Then he retired before the November camp, as he felt he wasn’t gonna be around beyond the euros.
19/12/2022, 12:52 PM
That’s just not true. He started the only game he was fit to start under Kenny. The first game against Bulgaria he was injured for, he was in the squad but was injured (a foot injury). The second game a few days later, he was only fit to be on the bench and played the last 20 mins.
The next squad in October, he played against Slovakia and pulled out injured after that. Then he retired before the November camp, as he felt he wasn’t gonna be around beyond the euros.
Ah yes, but mustn’t let the facts get in the way of any opportunity to Kenny bash.
19/12/2022, 2:26 PM
Looking back over the thread it seems some people felt that Kenny should have worked hard to convice McGoldrick to stay on, not that we really know he didn't: such things are not done in public.
Diggs246
19/12/2022, 3:09 PM
Looking back over the thread it seems some people felt that Kenny should have worked hard to convice McGoldrick to stay on, not that we really know he didn't: such things are not done in public.
I think when you have no confidence in someone ( kenny) then he won't get the benefit of the doubt. He may well have flown over to try change his mind
But, as one of his doubters I doubt it!
BOOMSHAKALAKA
19/12/2022, 7:58 PM
So he wasn't fit but Kenny threw him on for 20 minutes? Even if what you say is true, it's still not putting a good reflection on Kenny.
19/12/2022, 8:20 PM
He was fit enough to play 20 minutes. If he wasn't fit, he wouldn't have been in the squad
BOOMSHAKALAKA
19/12/2022, 8:39 PM
He was fit enough to play 20 minutes. If he wasn't fit, he wouldn't have been in the squad
If he was fit, you start him. Either he wasn't fit and Kenny threw an injured player on in desperation or he dropped him.
19/12/2022, 8:52 PM
There's a difference between being fit and being match fit. If he wasn't fit, he wouldn't be in the squad.
BOOMSHAKALAKA
19/12/2022, 8:57 PM
There's a difference between being fit and being match fit. If he wasn't fit, he wouldn't be in the squad.
He wasn't in the squad a few days earlier because of injury. It's looking more like Kenny decided to take a risk out of desperation.
19/12/2022, 9:08 PM
or, he had recovered from the injury that kept him out of the team against Bulgaria
BOOMSHAKALAKA
19/12/2022, 9:27 PM
or, he had recovered from the injury that kept him out of the team against Bulgaria
Hmmm but not recovered enough to start. Anyway, it's all irrelevant now. It was a pity he only got 14 games for Ireland.
elatedscum
19/12/2022, 10:00 PM
Jesus Boom….
At every level of the sport, you’ll have physios clear you to play a certain number of minutes when rehabbing an injury. You do a fitness test, you’re not cleared to play. A few days later, you get told 20 or 30 minutes. A few days later you might be up to 45 or 60 minutes. It’s often about incremental build of load after an injury.
BOOMSHAKALAKA
20/12/2022, 6:51 AM
Jesus Boom….
At every level of the sport, you’ll have physios clear you to play a certain number of minutes when rehabbing an injury. You do a fitness test, you’re not cleared to play. A few days later, you get told 20 or 30 minutes. A few days later you might be up to 45 or 60 minutes. It’s often about incremental build of load after an injury.
None of us were there so no point speculating on the physios report. I just don't think that an injury prone player, coming back from an injury gets risked if we weren't losing against Finland.
20/12/2022, 7:32 AM
None of us were there so no point speculating on the physios report.
Says you, who then immediately goes speculating on the nature of his injury?
BOOMSHAKALAKA
20/12/2022, 3:26 PM
Says you, who then immediately goes speculating on the nature of his injury?
He was injured according to reports. He was thrown on when we were losing to Finland a few days later. I don't see any speculation there.
20/12/2022, 3:50 PM
He was lacking match fitness (https://www.balls.ie/football/stephen-kenny-david-mcgoldrick-447001) - so 20 minutes makes sense.
He was injured for the away game a month later.
BOOMSHAKALAKA
20/12/2022, 5:54 PM
He was lacking match fitness (https://www.balls.ie/football/stephen-kenny-david-mcgoldrick-447001) - so 20 minutes makes sense.
He was injured for the away game a month later.
It says he was coming back from injury in that article.
I thought he was dropped by Kenny. It seems though that he was an integral part of his plans. This again goes against the myth that Kenny was building for 2024.
Diggs246
20/12/2022, 6:24 PM
I thought he was dropped by Kenny. It seems though that he was an integral part of his plans. This again goes against the myth that Kenny was building for 2024.
Boom is this u by any chance on twitter ?!
This guy tweets once a day "No Stephen kenny has not been sacked today"
( and nothing else) at first i thought weird
Now I realise he's a comedy genius
https://mobile.twitter.com/KennySacked
20/12/2022, 6:29 PM
It says "Kenny said that McGoldrick's lack of match fitness means he will not be in the starting XI."
A lack of match fitness is often because someone's coming back from injury.
Which is different to being actually injured.
Jaysus - he's damned if he does and damned if he doesn't with you, isn't he? Kenny drops McGoldrick - bad call. He wants to play him? Bad call - not building to the future.
This is the kind of tedious stuff that gets in the way of the genuinely valid stuff that can be in your posts as well.
BOOMSHAKALAKA
20/12/2022, 7:13 PM
Boom is this u by any chance on twitter ?!
This guy tweets once a day "No Stephen kenny has not been sacked today"
( and nothing else) at first i thought weird
Now I realise he's a comedy genius
https://mobile.twitter.com/KennySacked
Tiochfaith ár lá!
BOOMSHAKALAKA
20/12/2022, 7:22 PM
It says "Kenny said that McGoldrick's lack of match fitness means he will not be in the starting XI."
A lack of match fitness is often because someone's coming back from injury.
Which is different to being actually injured.
Jaysus - he's damned if he does and damned if he doesn't with you, isn't he? Kenny drops McGoldrick - bad call. He wants to play him? Bad call - not building to the future.
This is the kind of tedious stuff that gets in the way of the genuinely valid stuff that can be in your posts as well.
The match against Finland was 3 days after the Bulgaria game in which McGoldrick was ruled out injured.
I didn't say picking McGoldrick was a bad call, people are quick to attribute things and try to put words in people's mouth. I was just showing what Kenny stated post Luxembourg defeat was complete bull. There was no building for 2024, he was picking the best team he thought he had available to him.
20/12/2022, 7:32 PM
Does every player on the pitch have to be involved in building for the future? Because I'd argue you can build for the future while acknowledging that our options up front were so woejusly ****e that McGoldrick could still be considered a starter.
I also think you're still missing the point of "coming back from injury" tbh. If he was unavailable for selection, why didn't his club withdraw him for example? And he played the next league game for his club. So - it does seem he was coming back from injury, which is conducive with coming off the bench but not starting.
BOOMSHAKALAKA
20/12/2022, 7:46 PM
Does every player on the pitch have to be involved in building for the future? Because I'd argue you can build for the future while acknowledging that our options up front were so woejusly ****e that McGoldrick could still be considered a starter.
I also think you're still missing the point of "coming back from injury" tbh. If he was unavailable for selection, why didn't his club withdraw him for example? And he played the next league game for his club. So - it does seem he was coming back from injury, which is conducive with coming off the bench but not starting.
But he practically picked the exact same team as McCarthy picked for his first 10 games. That's why the building for the future excuse was and is nonsense. You don't pick 32 and 33 year old players in 2020 if you're building for Euro 2024. People seem to be coping onto this fact now after the recent friendlies but it was obvious 2 years ago.
Again, no one here knows how fit he was or otherwise. I thought he was dropped but it was pointed out that he was injured. If he was injured for the game 3 days previously then he probably shouldn't and wouldn't have been risked if we weren't losing. That's all I'm saying. I think it's time we moved on.
20/12/2022, 7:52 PM
Again, no one here knows how fit he was or otherwise. I thought he was dropped but it was pointed out that he was injured. If he was injured for the game 3 days previously then he probably shouldn't and wouldn't have been risked if we weren't losing. That's all I'm saying.
So you acknowledge that this is wrong -
I agree it does sound like he probably wouldn't have been thrown on had we not been losing. But it's the above that's being disputed. But if you're retracting that, then that's fine.
BOOMSHAKALAKA
20/12/2022, 8:18 PM
So you acknowledge that this is wrong -
I agree it does sound like he probably wouldn't have been thrown on had we not been losing. But it's the above that's being disputed. But if you're retracting that, then that's fine.
You were disputing that I was speculating on the injury which I was not. All the other stuff had already been sorted.
But yeah, the whole McGoldrick selection issue adds to the evidence that exposes Kenny as a spoofer. Building for 2024 he was not.
20/12/2022, 8:52 PM
Well you continued to dispute it for a while after ("So he wasn't fit but Kenny threw him on for 20 minutes? Even if what you say is true, it's still not putting a good reflection on Kenny"; post #418)
I don't agree bringing him off the bench against Finland reflects badly on Kenny. It probably wouldn't have happened had we been winning, but he was on the bench to be brought on, so...
BOOMSHAKALAKA
20/12/2022, 9:05 PM
Well you continued to dispute it for a while after ("So he wasn't fit but Kenny threw him on for 20 minutes? Even if what you say is true, it's still not putting a good reflection on Kenny"; post #418)
I don't agree bringing him off the bench against Finland reflects badly on Kenny. It probably wouldn't have happened had we been winning, but he was on the bench to be brought on, so...
I've said a few times, none of us were there so we don't know how injured, fit or otherwise he was. I'm not sure why you've got issues with all this. I think you need to let it go.
Maybe you have a comment on Kenny claiming to build for 2024 but only after selecting what he thought were full strength teams for his first 10 games?
21/12/2022, 10:58 AM
We know he was fit enough to play 20 minutes at the end of the game. We know enough about football that if he wasn't cleared by the physio he wouldn't have been in the squad.
We know this was more than two years ago now and bringing it up now isn't currently relevant to either the player or the international side. At best, all it serves to do is expose whatever your opinion is of the current managerial setup
21/12/2022, 11:30 AM
Expose? aha, finally we know :)
23/12/2022, 2:46 PM
Maybe this 20 mins against Finland conversation has been exhausted. Let's move on.
04/02/2023, 9:39 PM
First Irish player to score three hat tricks in one season in British football since Anthony Stokes in 2006/07
https://twitter.com/irish_abroad/status/1621997168310501377
Do youse think McGoldrick would still do a job for us? He’s in ridiculously good form this last couple of seasons. It would be great to still have him around the squad.
Eirambler
04/03/2023, 3:41 PM
I've kind of moved on from him given he's down in League 1 now, but I do wonder what might have been if he had gotten his act together earlier in his career and also sorted out his Irish eligibility earlier. He could have been a serious asset to us throughout the 2010s.
Razors left peg
04/03/2023, 3:46 PM
Do youse think McGoldrick would still do a job for us? He’s in ridiculously good form this last couple of seasons. It would be great to still have him around the squad.
Kenny was asked that this week on OTB and said there's no chance.
I've zero interest in him at this point. He could have helped us in last couple years and wouldn't. He's playing in L1, not like he was extending his Champions League career or something by quiting international football
Yeah, I’m not starting a campaign or anything. Was more just wondering if he’d still add value to us even just to be around the squad. But as you point out he probably just doesn’t really give a toss about us.
Agree with Eirambler above too. He wasted a lot of time getting his paperwork sorted for us and I think would have been useful for us then.
CraftyToePoke
04/03/2023, 4:06 PM
If you watch Kennys OTB interview, I think he left something unsaid about Didsys exit, just an opinion, but an interesting moment in the conversation.
Did he depart the scene around the time of that storm in a thimble about the Irish history video lesson ? Or have I got that wrong
McGoldrick has four kids and they're Nottingham based, it's why he turned down Middleborough to sign with Derby. Wouldn't blame him for stepping back from international football to spend more time with his family and pretty sure read somewhere that he separated from his partner before he retired from Ireland which played a role.
Pity it turned out the way it did because he'd still do a job for us but think he was injured for most of last season anyway.