View Full Version : Wales Away (17th November 2007) - Match Thread
08/02/2006, 11:03 AM
Post any info you have on this trip
08/02/2006, 3:17 PM
Poor Wales has only 6 views
I'm going to end up watching this in the home section, unfortunately.
08/02/2006, 3:34 PM
I'm going to end up watching this in the home section, unfortunately.Count yerself lucky to be there in the first place!;)
Haha, yeah I am lucky
Hopefully I can get some tickets for the home matches, or indeed tickets for wales .v. germany or the czechs.
Forever Dreamin
08/02/2006, 3:45 PM
Soper the home end could just be like Paris full of green especially if we dont play in Cardiff till Sep 2007 and theyre out of contention. Otherwise be grateful to get tickets!
You could be right, although I think the Welsh will be there for that one, in contention or not.
Most of the Welsh support are eggball lovers (hence a lack of atmosphere most of the time), so they'll treat the match like a six nations tie, I think.
Castle Barracks
08/02/2006, 4:01 PM
That's a bit of a myth,although that accusation could be levelled at us when things are going well!When they're not,then it's (genuine) footy fans only at the matches!You're quite right in stating though that you stand a much better chance of being able to obtain a ticket if we've no chance of qualifying any more!The rugger fans will be nowhere to be seen,or heard,by then!Wales & Ireland to qualify!
Saint Tom
09/02/2006, 12:17 PM
that'll be a cracking game, and plenty of local interest
09/02/2006, 3:16 PM
With this as the last game, there might be a better chance of home tickets maybe.
coislaoi
09/02/2006, 5:47 PM
Can't book flights for this yet. Ryanair only allow you to book one year ahead. Cardiff is a bítch to book accommodation for so I have booked that now. Found a nice hotel on the net. It's the Lodge by McDonald on Tyndall Street. It's only 1km from the stadium. It's working out at €90 a head for 2 nights (€45 per person per night).
zinedineontour
09/02/2006, 5:50 PM
Can't book flights for this yet. Ryanair only allow you to book one year ahead. Cardiff is a bítch to book accommodation for so I have booked that now. Found a nice hotel on the net. It's the Lodge by McDonald on Tyndall Street. It's only 1km from the stadium. It's working out at €90 a head for 2 nights (€45 per person per night).
where did you book that mate ??
coislaoi
09/02/2006, 7:29 PM
where did you book that mate ??
This is the e-mail confirmation address I got - reception@thelodgebymacdonald.activehotels.com <reception@thelodgebymacdonald.activehotels.com> It was first hotel I could get that would take an online booking for November 2007.
zinedineontour
09/02/2006, 7:45 PM
This is the e-mail confirmation address I got - reception@thelodgebymacdonald.activehotels.com <reception@thelodgebymacdonald.activehotels.com> It was first hotel I could get that would take an online booking for November 2007.
cheers mate booked for 2 nights
Bluetonic
28/02/2006, 1:15 PM
Just booked the same there as above. Hotel looks fairly decent and has pretty good reviews http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g186460-d582741-Reviews-The_Lodge_By_Macdonald-Cardiff_Southern_Wales_Wales.html
I like the idea of the 'double double' room!
Anyhow it's handy to have it sorted as you can just imagine the prices shooting up over there when they all come online for booking come a few months.
Chippy
16/03/2006, 1:23 PM
Thanks for the tip lads ..... that's another 6 of us booked into that hotel ...
deego11
25/04/2006, 12:04 PM
that looks like a great place have also booked a group of us in!
Word of warning lads ryanair are pulling out of Cardiff so dont book anything with them. Bristol is the next closest.
26/04/2006, 4:54 PM
Ehh nothing to look out for as you cant book it if they are pulling out of there.
Forever Dreamin
26/04/2006, 5:27 PM
Ryanair only allow you book 6 months in advance!!! Best way to travel is probably to Bristol or Birmingham and train! It's a bitch of a place to get to and according to the rugger buggers the best think about cardiff is the 530am train out of it!
Isn't Cardiff only 2 hours on the train from London?
27/04/2006, 9:14 AM
Lads if a air company is pulling out of a city there is no way you can book there anyway so not sure what the word of warning is for. Also the game is over a year and a half away so you could not book there anyway. They may be flying to Cardiff by the time the game is on.
27/04/2006, 11:09 AM
Ryanair only allow you book 6 months in advance!!! Best way to travel is probably to Bristol or Birmingham and train! It's a bitch of a place to get to and according to the rugger buggers the best think about cardiff is the 530am train out of it!
Think for yourself. Cardiff is a great spot.
The word of warning is obvious. Ryanair have pulled the Cardiff route.
27/04/2006, 11:30 AM
Lads if a air company is pulling out of a city there is no way you can book there anyway
Apparently, loads of people booked for the Heineken Cup final have been left stranded. :eek:
Forever Dreamin
27/04/2006, 6:34 PM
Think for yourself. Cardiff is a great spot.
The word of warning is obvious. Ryanair have pulled the Cardiff route.
Ill tell you what I think after we get back!! Probably fly to Birmingham and get the train... either way will spend a few nights to give it a try
a couple of lads i know used the travelodge central in cardiff for the recent championship playoff final and again for the fa cup finals
www.travelodge.co.uk they only take bookings a year or so in advance but allow you to cancel 24hrs before if needed and debit your card on departue, their room rates are fixed too and currently stand at £55 stg per night.
jurys cardiff is about £85 stg per night and again will only book a year in advance.
be warned though there are only 30 odd hotels and those who are planning to drive over? well there are really bad traffic restictions on match days.. if you park in the wrong place within town you'll find your self within a closed area that the police set up and you'll only be able to get out once the crowds have gone.
galwayhoop
27/06/2006, 9:26 AM
just booked the lodge by macdonald listed earlier on this thread. the place'll be hopping
casso36
28/06/2006, 2:10 PM
They are right!!!! Cardiff is a **** hole!!!! been there only a couple of times and pubs we were in ran out of Draught and them bottles we were drinking **** water after that!!! lol
zinedineontour
28/06/2006, 4:46 PM
always had a cracking time in cardiff. decent city and will be a cracking atmosphere that weekend
I rang both the lodge by mcdonald (as quoted earlier in the thread) and Jurys and was quoted £240stg per night for the 17th november single room only!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
29/06/2006, 12:46 AM
Isn't Cardiff only 2 hours on the train from London?
More like between 3 and 4 - depending what train you catch. Should usually be around 3hrs.
beautifulrock
29/06/2006, 8:18 AM
The train from London to Cardiff is 2 hours 15 mins. I used it for the Six nations game two years ago and it was jammed. Two hour queue on the way back that night as well. The ideal would be to stay over if at all possible.
Beavis
29/06/2006, 12:53 PM
HSS drive down sleep in car no messin
casso36
29/06/2006, 1:00 PM
always had a cracking time in cardiff. decent city and will be a cracking atmosphere that weekend
Zine,
You must have been locked for the weekends!!!!! lol:D
casso36
29/06/2006, 1:10 PM
No have been there good few times. Stayed in the Angel Hotel just beside stadium for worthington cup final and this years FA Cup final, and on both occasions ran out of beer ended up drinking Shorts!!!!
Great crack but we searched the town looking for entrance into bars, and were told sorry guys couples only!!! we told them that we were couples (gay lol) and still no chance. So ended up back in hotel on both occasions drinking shorts!!!!! Must say LOCKED!!!!!!! Lol.
:D :D
endabob1
06/09/2006, 1:25 PM
The train from London to Cardiff is 2 hours 15 mins. I used it for the Six nations game two years ago and it was jammed. Two hour queue on the way back that night as well. The ideal would be to stay over if at all possible.
Went to the Heineken Cup final on the train from London and it was packed with Irish, great craic but it's alway bedlam at Paddington and Cardiff staions. The train was supposed to be just over 2 hours there, ended up being almost 3, same coming back. Treat British rail timetables like a Dunphy review, there might me a grain of truth in there somewhere but there's a lot more bullsh!t:D
joe_barry80
01/11/2006, 8:55 AM
http://www.aerarann.ie/ go to cardiff from Dublin, Cork and Galway can`t get a price as its to early but try at the end of the month. Bmi baby go from Belfast
Golfer
13/11/2006, 6:41 PM
For Hotels log onto accor.com
they have Ibis Hotels in Cardiff Rates around £60 per room one is in the centre of town.
Jon'o
30/11/2006, 11:09 PM
hotels in cardiff are booking up fast... www.travelodge.co.uk are doing rooms for £91 stg, the hotel is central and 5 /10 min walk to the ground and into town
Jon'o
30/11/2006, 11:54 PM
hotels in cardiff are booking up fast... www.travelodge.co.uk are doing rooms for £91 stg, the hotel is central and 5 /10 min walk to the ground and into town
forgot to say, these rooms do not require prepayment, just pay on the day
was waiting on them to be released alright
the feckers have put them up too by £30 a night.....
normally charge stg£61/night....seems we as a country dont exclusively own the ripoff mentality :mad:
scousedub
04/12/2006, 8:17 AM
Holiday inn is available for £71 per room per night, i booked it last night. Hotel is very central and just around the corner from stadium. www.holidayinn.com
reder
04/12/2006, 11:13 AM
Why not do a day trip for this one. You can fly into Bristol return with ryanair and get the train to Cardiff central which is right beside the ground. Dont see the point in staying over myself, little or nothing to do in Cardiff really. You have to head elsewhere for a night out.
scousedub
13/12/2006, 9:45 PM
Aer arann flights have gone on sale to Cardiff for November. Rip off as usual, €245 return. Looks like Bristol will be the better bet.
theleprechaun
15/12/2006, 7:56 PM
was waiting on aer arann and just see today that they are 245e. i was just wondering where they the same price a few days earlier or was i yet again too slow. 245e what a joke! sure the flights to slovakia did not cost that much! and walse is just longside us. fleecing the fans as usual.
16/01/2007, 6:14 PM
prices of flights are gone mental so might just settle for using bus eireann, it was only 35 from limerick to cardiff the last time. its a rough journey but dont get any cheaper than this. it is too early to book it on eurolines.com as of yet, not sure if price will rise but worth a shot maybe
samabu92
29/01/2007, 12:51 PM
Got hotel this morning €41 per person a night. Riverbank hotel. 5-10 min walk into city centre and next door to stadium:)
05/02/2007, 2:36 PM
Just looking at this trip now. Was thinking of doing it one of two ways. Ferry and train is cheap €100 all in or thereabouts. Failing that (november crossings could be bad!) fly to London with BMI (currently at €100) and get a train to cardiff (only 2 hours and go every half hour). I can't see the flights to Bristol being cheap nor plentiful.
SuperDave
05/02/2007, 3:52 PM
Just looking at this trip now. Was thinking of doing it one of two ways. Ferry and train is cheap €100 all in or thereabouts. Failing that (november crossings could be bad!) fly to London with BMI (currently at €100) and get a train to cardiff (only 2 hours and go every half hour). I can't see the flights to Bristol being cheap nor plentiful.
Eurolines. €35 return to cardiff. Overnight, leaves dublin bout 830 on the friday evening and you could come back saturday or sunday night.
head the ball
06/06/2007, 7:53 PM
Cant find the Wales away match thread?
Maybe you guys already copped this on but anyway...
Just to let anyone know that BMIbaby have put their winter seats on sale from today Wed June 6.
Just booked flights from Belfast Int to cardiff, out Fri back Sun 18 Nov for all in €80 return each. (not sterling).
So far 4 of us have booked but I know they are going up in price already so anyone interested better be quick.
The times are excellent as well. Out fri 8.45am, back Sun 5.05pm.
Good luck.